Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 34 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

34 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

5 stars
13
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
12
59%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 33 total reviews
Very handy
3/10/2011

Customer review by handsome135

5.0 stars by handsome135

I keep in the trunk of car . The beauty is ,I can recharge as I drive w/male to male cord ,ordered separately . It is ready all the time . Price is great for a very usable product !

Was this review helpful? (28) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
handsome135
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Was not there when I needed it.
9/5/2013

Customer review by Bulegila

1.0 stars by Bulegila

You buy these products as insurance for when trouble hits...this product was no insurance at all! I went camping and had the radio on most of the weekend...I didn't worry because the worst case scenario would be using my new Schumacher XP500. I started the car numerous times but accidentally left car door open the last time and ran down the battery. No problem, I told my friends we were in good shape,pulled out my Schumacker Jump starter and hooked it up. Nothing. I knew I had charged it in preparation of the camping trip...Tried turning the nob (since they don't have any indication if it is on or off.) Waited some more. Nothing. I had to go track down the head of the camping area and I paid him $30 to jump start my car. 3 hours later I was finally out of the park. This is the first and only time using this and if you are like me, you don't plan on using it much either, hopefully only once or twice in the next 5 years. So those few times you need it, it had better work. This one didn't.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Bulegila
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Mine is a lemon
6/25/2012

Customer review by jfuzz2

1.0 stars by jfuzz2

I have tried three times to use it to start my batteries. Not once have I been able to get it to even begin to start them. One of which is on my riding lawn mower...tried two different times and nothing! Yes I charged it before eaqch use...like 24 hours or a little more then that. I got a green light each time. Even cleaned the cables. Still, nothing...I know it is the starter because my neighbor brought his over and it kicked right off. I need it to work now more than even since I have very recently lost my husband. What a disappointment it has been!!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
jfuzz2
McCamey Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
8/10/2011

Customer review by RoyTheTech

5.0 stars by RoyTheTech

This jump starter works really well. It jump started my Jeep when it was completely dead. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (14) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
RoyTheTech
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Ahh, innovation!
4/4/2011

Customer review by Falcon4

5.0 stars by Falcon4

So refreshing to see a company putting some thought and design into a product that had otherwise been taken for granted. I had been looking for a new pack since my old one died - it was always nice to be able to help when I saw someone stuck with a dead battery! My old pack was huge, though, and frustrating to use with its "automatic sensing" switch that wouldn't turn on unless it saw a battery present (umm, what if I want to power something?). This pack has none of those issues. It's small, and it has a real switch! Plus, here's the part I like the most: platered in "charge me and keep me charged!" notices. All battery packs work best when they're kept charged, but many people still live with some serious misconceptions about battery usage. The manufacturer goes through some lengths to make sure people are aware of keeping the battery charged, and that its onboard charger (like all modern chargers manufactured after about 2000) doesn't overcharge the battery. Kudos to Schumacher for that. Aside from that, its onboard charger is pretty neat, draws less than 15 watts (I did my initial charge with a 15w PocketPower pack due to...). The only issue is that the onboard charger has no cord, so it somehow expects you to be able to dangle the pack from the wall outlet, or mount a power strip to it, or something... I can't figure out how they expect it to work, but it doesn't work too well without adding a standard extension cord to plug it in. I was surprised it didn't include such a cable (most "bulky" USB drives, for example, include a 3" or 5" extension cord just for that reason). But overall I'm really impressed! Great value, great product. Go for it.

Was this review helpful? (13) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Falcon4
Fresno, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Won't charge heavy duty batteries
11/15/2013

Customer review by Geotheleo

1.0 stars by Geotheleo

I recently purchased this product for the purpose of jump starting the battery in my SUV. The battery had been losing it power and I sometime needed to jump it. I charged the jump starter for the proscribed time the instructions said. When I used the completely charged unit it didn't charged nor jumped my battery as I had hope. I asked my neighbor to let me use his and he bought over a charger that had a 750 amp and behold! His 750 amp jump starter jumped my SUV. All my unit was able to do was give my vehicle enough juice to turn on the interior lights in my SUV for about 20-30 minutes before losing it charge.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Geotheleo
Chicago, Il.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Not enough power.
2/17/2012

Customer review by tjbrule

2.0 stars by tjbrule

This model did not have enough power to start my V8. It tried, so it probably would be sufficient for starting a 4 cylinder. I took it back to Wal-mart and got the 750 model, which starts my V8 without any problems.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
tjbrule
Would recommend to a friend? No
PIECE OF JUNK!!!
10/16/2013

Customer review by WPyron

1.0 stars by WPyron

it says it in the title..JUMPSTARTER,....you expect it to do just that! NOPE! if your battery dies...it will turn the lights on....(YAY). but actually turn the engine over?!?!? not a chance....here's to another piece of junk I've wasted my money on!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
WPyron
Denver,CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
As good as pu___
7/26/2011

Customer review by gmcboys

5.0 stars by gmcboys

It is light weight for the power you get & it has a 12 outlet & a 5 volt USB outlet so you can charge MP3 players or cell phones.. I GIVE THE HIGEST GRADE & IT WAS JUST 39.95 & for .99 for 2 day fedex delivery.. Can't beat WALMART!!!!!!!! gmcboys

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
gmcboys
Atlanta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
Don't order if you need to use right away.
3/10/2014

Customer review by 8108

3.0 stars by 8108

Product is good but, to charge in the car you need a Male-to-Male adaptor cord which Wal-Mart does not sell in stores or on line. You can get one from the manufacturer for $9.95 plus shipping in 4 to 6 weeks.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
8108
Monroe, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/27/2011

Customer review by rgsch

1.0 stars by rgsch

I never got a a manual with this product. I charged the unit and it shows to have a charge but when I turn it on by rotating the round dial on the front I get nothing. I tried this on my car when it was dead and nothing. I also but a voltage meter on it and it showed nothing. Is ther a trick to turn this unit on?

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
rgsch
Shulenburg TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Not enough juice
12/17/2013

Customer review by P4u1K

1.0 stars by P4u1K

This product claims 500A, which should be enough to start a car. The description claims 7A-hr battery, or about 50 seconds of life at 500A. My test case was simple: Jetta TDI (4 cyl, but diesel) with a weak battery in need of replacement. Like clockwork this car with this bad battery fails to start when parked outside at -10F and is hard to start below 5F. In the cold, the energy expended by the glowplugs and high compression ratio should make this similarly difficult to start as some V8s. Unfortunately my experience with the XP500 was that simply plugging the jumper leads into the low/dead battery and moving the switch to "On" was enough to lower the booster pack charge indicator from a healthy green to a low-on-charge amber. Of course the car didn't start and the Shumacher XP500 needed to be plugged back in to recharge. A volt meter measured 7.5v before and after connecting the XP500. :-/ I ended up getting a larger (18A-hr) battery pack but with only 400A peak current (and integrated air compressor) from a competitor. It worked on the first try, turning the engine over effortlessly, under the same conditions I tested the XP500. Maybe the Schumacher is enough when you leave the lights on overnight in your Honda in the summer. But for cold weather starts or larger engines, get something with a higher Amp-hour rating.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
P4u1K
Fargo, ND
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
It did the job
3/4/2014

Customer review by Raptozilla

5.0 stars by Raptozilla

I purchased this about 10 months ago and finally got a chance to use it. I own a 1992 Paseo, and when I went to start it one day, the engine turned over a few times and the battery ran out of juice. I went to the trunk, got the XP500 out, connected it to the battery, and the engine started right up after making sure I had a good connection to the battery. I had been recharging it on the first of the month every month whether I used it or not. When I finally got a chance to use it, it had been sitting in the trunk for 30 days, and I was ready to charge it again, but even though it had not been charged in the last 30 days, it still started the engine. I realize that the electrical demands of such a small car are not what larger vehicles require, so the fact that my car is a small car may have been a factor in the success. In any case, it performed flawlessly on my car when I needed it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Raptozilla
Delray Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
A great tool
4/16/2011

Customer review by bigcoffeeinsb

5.0 stars by bigcoffeeinsb

Wow! This jump starter is a godsend. First it is lightweight and not very big in size. I hooked it up to my battery and within 10 secs the car started up. I have seen other jump starters that after you hook it up you waited a minute or longer before you could start the car. Not so with this unit. Its fast! I highly recommend this unit.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
bigcoffeeinsb
Santa Barbara CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1/10/2012

Customer review by cowgirl89

5.0 stars by cowgirl89

easy to use and enuff juice to jump our big tractors!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
cowgirl89
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Never worked
4/12/2012

Customer review by deanx

1.0 stars by deanx

I have carefully charged and maintained this unit over three months, and it has never provided enough amps to start a car, not even a garden tractor. Each time I had to hook up real jumper cables and everything worked fine. Even freshly charged this unit has never performed when needed in a pinch, which is why one buys one of these. This was a real disappointment compared to the 7 y.o. and well used 300A unit it replaced.

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
deanx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Doesn't seem to jump the car
3/7/2013

Customer review by stuckpixel

1.0 stars by stuckpixel

I have a 99 300m that is having some battery issues. I bought this with the intention of having a backup in case my battery decided to give me fits (battery access on the 300m is horrible, have to remove a wheel to get access to it). It would appear that this is only good if your battery can hold a bit of a charge. I was not able to turn my car over at all with this hooked up from a full charge. I was able to quickly and easily jump my car from my wife's car however. Thankfully I know what I need to do to fix my battery problem -- but this will be getting returned to walmart as it appears to be a nothing more than a very expensive USB charger/Flashlight for my purposes.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
stuckpixel
Circle Pines, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Not enough power
10/26/2012

Customer review by Davplys

1.0 stars by Davplys

Did not even come close to starting an F150 which still had lights and bells. My fault for trusting the opinion of an associate if it would have enough coold cranking power for a truck.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Davplys
Winnemucca Nv
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Fantastic product!
3/15/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars by An anonymous customer

i bought this yesterday after using a friends jumper cables and trying to jump my car, with no luck. i charged it for about 12 hours (over night) and just used it to jump my car ('02 Eclipse). started on the first try. using an extension cord to charge this product is probably best, the prongs are sticking straight out of the back of the unit, but i just stacked some books under it and plugged it straight into the wall. quick initial charge (even though it says 36 hours for initial charge) easy to use, so much better then jumper cables because no one has to be around when you need a jump. definite must have.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Fayetteville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Well worth the money
2/12/2014

Customer review by LakeBandit

4.0 stars by LakeBandit

I bought this a couple years ago and have used it multiple times on vehicles and the lawn tractor. Has saved me on several occassions when batteries were acting up as a backup plan. The only complaint and why I gave it 4 stars is because the plug to charge it is not the best. It broke during the cold winter while trying to plug in to charge it. I have actually had someone take it apart and put a small cord for plugging in on it. Works great. I have even used the air compressor to put air in a camper tire after sitting all winter and it was low on air.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
LakeBandit
Big Lake, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 33 total reviews