Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 19 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

19 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

19 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

53%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
4
1-19 of 19 total reviews
53%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great charger
12/2/2010

Customer review by GuruOfAllThings

5.0 stars 12/2/2010 by GuruOfAllThings
by GuruOfAllThings

My old automatic 10 amp died so I bought this one. It is awesome. It not only goes through all three modes to charge it will even desulfate your old batteries that are completely dead! Then it even tests your alternator in the car while running! Auto detects 6 or 12 volts. Wont even spark when you put the wires together because it runs a test before it even starts charging. Once it charges the battery it drops to maint mode. The start function doesnt start till you turn the key so you dont have to run from the battery to the key like the old models. This is just an awesome charger you will not be dissapointed.

Was this review helpful? (79) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GuruOfAllThings
Northern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works...sort of...
3/13/2011

Customer review by cburnscrx

3.0 stars 3/13/2011 by cburnscrx
by cburnscrx

Well, it started my car, but as another poster said, forget about seeing anything on the display. I am not talking about bright sunlight, but any daylight at all. It's too bad because if you could see it, I'd be more inclined to give it a more favorable review. But since I can't tell what mode it's in, I have to say I would not buy it again.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cburnscrx
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Schumacher XC75 75/20/10/2-Amp Battery Charger
2/17/2011

Customer review by Salez00

4.0 stars 2/17/2011 by Salez00
by Salez00

Works good, with my battery completely dead, and set on Start, it started in about 3 minutes. I don't like the lit displays, they're impossible to see if there's any light outside.

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Salez00
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Schumacher XC75... can't see LCD mode
3/13/2011

Customer review by GoRvn

2.0 stars 3/13/2011 by GoRvn
by GoRvn

Works OK... but you will struggle to see LCD mode in daylight, which is frustrating and essential. Suggest shop around for another model.

Was this review helpful? (14) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GoRvn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
Great Charger. One problem.
10/9/2011

Customer review by JustPlainJoe

5.0 stars 10/9/2011 by JustPlainJoe
by JustPlainJoe

I can say compared to my old reliable Schumacher charger from 20 years ago this thing is a really nice advanced battery charger. Nothing to think about when using and you can't accidentally connect the cables up backwards or inadvertently strike the positive and negative together. You do not have to be a mechanic to know how to use. It will do all the work knowing what type of battery it's hooked to and displays the charge percentage. Only complaint is with the L.E.D. in well lit areas or daytime use. It's very difficult to see which mode the unit is in on the 4 left side "Charge Rate" L.E.D. indicators. It could simply be my unit and I hope so. During the day I cannot tell what mode the charger is in without shading. I would like a zip up bag to put it in when not in use. A real value. Nice charger. A+.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JustPlainJoe
Roseville, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Battery Charger
2/5/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/5/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have used this on several batteries types and I'm very satisfied. Has all the bells and whistles one could need. 75A start feature works great also!. I should have owned one a long time ago like this one.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Edmore, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Works great, but hard to see lights in sunlight.
10/9/2011

Customer review by KevAg

3.0 stars 10/9/2011 by KevAg
by KevAg

Overall, this charger does what it's supposed to. It charges well, and the LED display gives you a quick glance at how complete the charge is as a percentage. My only complaint is that the lights for battery type and charge speed (along with others) are covered by tiny pictures, and therefore are completely washed out by sunlight. The LED display is also hard to read in the sun, but you can at least put your hands around it for shade in order to view it. The others, however, are still extremely hard to discern. If the manufacturer would use brighter LEDs and not cover them with unnecessary icons, it'd be much easier to use.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KevAg
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
awesome little charger
6/4/2011

Customer review by ak47jay

5.0 stars 6/4/2011 by ak47jay
by ak47jay

I have an high end audio system in my car and need to keep my battery charged and this charger dose it well.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ak47jay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
It seems to do the job, just not well
4/2/2012

Customer review by Bearsnob

2.0 stars 4/2/2012 by Bearsnob
by Bearsnob

I bought this to replace a charger that is old and nearing the end of its useful life. It took almost eight hours to charge my large deep cycle battery on the 20 amp setting. My other charger does that in under four hours at 20 amps and just over two hours at 35 amps. Part of the problem is that the 20 amp setting isn't really 20 amps. It is some sort of weird combination of 10 amps and 20 amps. When the fan speed goes up, it is charging at 10 amps. When fan speed goes down, it is charging at 20 amps. It keeps alternating back and forth. Don't even get me started on the fact that it probably needs a higher fan speed when charging at 20 amps. Also, it is advertised as having a built in desulfating feature. But the package says nothing about that and the manual only makes a brief mention of it. Nowhere does it tell you what the charger is doing to desulfate the battery. But I was able to figure it out. Normally a smart charger will charge at 14.4 volts. There is a process called "boiling the battery" that is sometimes used to recondition batteries. To do that, you need to charge at 15 volts or more. It is generally not recommended to boil your batteries often. Once every month or two is fine, and only for about two hours. This charger does it every time and there is no way to turn it off. I don't know if that is bad for the battery. What I do know is that this charger caused my maintenance free battery to boil over. As it was nearing full charge, the battery acid started flowing out of the top of the battery and I lost a few ounces. It would have been much worse if I had not been there to catch it soon after it started boiling over. Another interesting thing about this charger is that it supposedly tells you the percentage of charge as it is charging the battery. It was at about 77 percent when I accidentally knocked one of the cables loose. So I unplugged it and then restarted the charge. It now said the battery was 96 percent charged and, as it turned out, 96 percent was about right. So the 77 percent reading was way off. Maybe there was something wrong with the unit I purchased, but I don't think so. I think it is just a bad device. Because they try to make the whole process so automatic that all you have to do is push one or two buttons, and because the display tells you so very little about what is happening, I think many people just don't know that this charger is doing things that seemingly make no sense. But even if I am wrong and the unit I got was not working right, there is still a big problem. Unless you have your multimeter handy, and know how to use it to test the battery and the charging process, how do you know if the charger is working properly? There is no way to know. I can't recommend this charger to anyone. Fortunately, it was an easy return at my local Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bearsnob
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not all that.
10/12/2011

Customer review by jimmer818

1.0 stars 10/12/2011 by jimmer818
by jimmer818

Charger cant determine difference in 6 or 12 volt battery if batteries are completely dead, stops when charged at 100% on 6 volt on a 12 volt.

Was this review helpful? (7) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jimmer818
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/18/2011

Customer review by fargo5

5.0 stars 6/18/2011 by fargo5
by fargo5

This is one of the best chargers that I have owned in many years,I can trust it to fully charge the Battery and shut down. this takes the worry out of over chargeing.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fargo5
Malad City Id
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/20/2013

Customer review by Moose907

1.0 stars 1/20/2013 by Moose907
by Moose907

I walked into the store, picked this up and checked out (big mistake)! I didn't get it out of the box for two weeks till I needed it one morning at 0600, fortunately with the Tahoe in the heated garage. No instruction sheet in the box (Strike 1). I looked at the control panel, little pictures of a bunny, a snowflake, a boat, a turtle and an engine (Strike 2). It can't be that hard. Hook it up. plug it in and 5 minutes later the Tahoe slowly cranks but won't start (Strike 3)!. I get out the old Schumacher model SE-1250, hook it up and coax it to life. 1 minute later the Tahoe spins to life and my wife is off to teach the children for another day. Evidently it works for some folks but when daily temps are falling below -40, I can't have a unit that requires "interpretation", doesn't have an ammeter and won't get an engine (Chev 350) started in short order!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Moose907
North Pole, AK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Not a 2 amp charger
2/7/2012

Customer review by cebowde

4.0 stars 2/7/2012 by cebowde
by cebowde

When I received this it was a 75/20/10/3 amp not a 2 amp. The difference? Will not charge a motor cycle battery (max 2 amp). Other than that it is hard to see outside and does what it claims to well.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cebowde
southwest, mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Walmart associate
only worked for chargu=ing battery 3 times
3/20/2013

Customer review by JSd302

1.0 stars 3/20/2013 by JSd302
by JSd302

It died after 3 uses, I returned it. Walmart has a great return policy. All I can say for this product, not good!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JSd302
Jackson, MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
ok, so it works
2/28/2011

Customer review by qualityguy2

2.0 stars 2/28/2011 by qualityguy2
by qualityguy2

Yes, it works- it charges batteries- that's what it does. Here's what it doesn't do- come with comprehensible directions. They are absolutely miserable- although, after 40 minutes of wading through gibberish, you find out that all you have to do is hook it up and push 2 buttons. There is absolutely no excuse for such an awful manual. And another thing, there is absolutely no way to see the "mode," LEDs, which are essential, in daylight. Again, no excuse. Otherwise, this thing is fine. Haven't shopped around, but I would probably look for something else. Oh well.

Was this review helpful? (6) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
qualityguy2
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Dead out of Box
3/30/2013

Customer review by Chucklington

1.0 stars 3/30/2013 by Chucklington
by Chucklington

All the lights were were dimly working, and the cooling fans whirred up, but no voltage output. Item seemed to have already been used, returned and restocked as the cable ties were off and it had that layer of garage grime and dirt already on it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chucklington
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Must be plugged in to jump start!
12/10/2010

Customer review by Jess9178

4.0 stars 12/10/2010 by Jess9178
by Jess9178

I bought this product because I was having trouble with my charging system in my car. It works great to charge the battery, however, in order to jump start your car, it has to be plugged into a wall. Since I live in an apartment, this didn't work out like I'd hoped... I was hoping to keep this in my trunk in case I got stuck. Other than that, it's great.

Was this review helpful? (15) (54)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jess9178
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
cheaper than a new battery
5/25/2013

Customer review by spamfreemwc

5.0 stars 5/25/2013 by spamfreemwc
by spamfreemwc

Every spring when I try to start my ride-on mower I discover that the battery has died over the winter. With the Schumacher's start option I just connect it up, plug it in and the engine starts without problem. Even if I use it just once per year for the initial season start it's cheaper than buying a new battery.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
spamfreemwc
MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Charger works great - Lights are a dismal failure
3/9/2013

Customer review by M1STERT

4.0 stars 3/9/2013 by M1STERT
by M1STERT

I use this for my Boat and RV and as a winter battery maintainer for multiple batteries. It has worked great for 2 years now. The indicator lights are a big failure. The only way to see them is to hood the unit with a towel to get it out of any light. I would have given it an excelent except for the indicator lights.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
M1STERT
Pueblo, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week