Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.5out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 | 49 reviews
5 stars
36
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
Sort by: 
1-20 of 41 reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews
4/22/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
One reason I bought this model is the desulfation mode. There is no explanation at all in directions on desulfation. I called customer service 3 times and received 3 different answers to the same questions. The reason I'm doing this review is to explain the process to others so you understand before you purchase this charger or you will know what is going on after you purchase it. There are no buttons, lights, or display items for desulfation mode. It goes into this mode automatically during normal charging. Best I could put together from the last girl I talked to, that seemed to know what she was talking about, was this... If charging process seems to have "froze" then it is desulfating. Say your putting a battery on charge real quick to top it off the last few %, it will seem to lock up for what could be hours with no indication of what it's doing or how long it will take. Let's say you put it on and it reads 90%. You can watch it work it's way up to say 97%. You think your about finished but it just sets on 97% for 8 more hours because it's desulfating. I've charged a total of 9 batteries of different varieties since my purchase. 5 car, 1 truck, 1 deep cycle trolling, 1 tractor, and 1 ATV battery. It works great and I love the automatic "plug and forget" nature of the charger. No worries of checking on it everytime you turn around so you don't overcharge/damage your battery. The one real fault I see is the desulfation mode needs to be a true "separate mode" you can use when you decide to. The directions need to explain the desulfation mode also.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (104)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Slick!
8/15/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Compared to my old bulky transformer 6/2 charger, this one runs circles around it. It uses newer technology eliminating the bulky transformer, resulting in very compact and lightweight unit. Yet it delivers almost 3 times the output as the old one. Being used to seeing the old analog amp meter, the digital display showing % charge was different at first glance... but it soon became apparent that this is a much better way to truly see how the charging is progressing. Only 2 buttons to set: One selects the type of battery (standard, AGM or GEL), and the other selects the charge rate (2-10-15). Bingo! I charged a new 700 cca battery from 67% charged to fully charged in about an hour at the 10 amp rate. As the charge got to 100%, the charger automatically sensed it and switched to the 2 amp "maintaining" rate. No worries about overcharging and cooking a battery. One "little" feature which I love is the fact that it has built in cord wrap arms for wrapping the cords for storage. A little thing, but oh so convenient. Very few manufacturers ever provide means for storing cords with a device... thanks Schumacher! The owners manual is very thorough and explains different anomalies that may show up and the proper course of action for each. Very helpful. So far, I see no "cons" other than the fact that the indicator LEDs are hard to see in bright sunlight... but all digital devices have that drawback. The "&charge" lcd display, however, is quite visible even in the sunlight. I was always uncertain with my old charger... and concerned that I might be doing more harm than good from potential overcharging. But this new smart charger gives peace of mind. That alone is worth the investment.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (77)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Exceptional item for the price!
7/10/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Wanted a marine battery charger that wouldn't break the bank, but still give me the slow charge of a higher priced item. Well I found it with the Schumacher XCS15, along with a digital gage to let me know when my battery is fully charged. Extended battery life at a low price, can't ask for much more!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (46)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works as advertised
7/4/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Charged to large marine batteries from 1/2 charge to full charge with no problems just as the instructions said. I like the voltage and percent charge feature on readout. Very versatile charger.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (31)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Lots of Potential
9/30/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I like this charger. Only have two things that could make it better. 1. It does not have an off button. Needs to be unplugged to turn off. 2. If you have it set in a certain mode (Deep cycle slow charge, for example) if the power to the charger goes off it will default back to the factory setting of regular battery full charge when power is restored. Other than that it seems to work great.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
1/23/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchase the charger on-line which I seldom do but was surprize how easy it was and delivered to the store. I pick it up with no problems, read the instructions and started using it. Now I know if the charger is working and it's cut off automatically. I use it and is very satified.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very good - Fast, convenient, multi-functional
1/10/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It is very light (obviously no transformer), and the visible indication of the % of charge and auto shut-off is very convenient. The basic instructions could be a little clearer, but it is pretty much intuitive. For example, it is normal for the fan to run for a while after the charge is completed. (On deep cycle marine batteries it is best to use the slower charge for a complete chage per the inst.) I think it is a great little charger to have around the house for car, marine, and other misclelleaneous battery usage. If it lasts for 5 years, I'll be a very happy camper.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The Best
12/10/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I'm actually re-buying this charger as my first one got rained on while plugged in (opps). I use it at a "battery-tender" for my motorhome's engine battery. Has selections for different types of batteries, slow/fast charge, and "tender" mode. Great item. Set it and forget it (just be sure it's totally out of the rain)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Don't trust the nay sayers!!!
7/30/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I recently purchased my Charger and was limited on where and when I could get it because my need was immediate, so I purchased it from my neighborhood Walmart. This purchase came after a lengthy review and reading all like products on- line and in the store which included asking the Walmart mechanic if this will charge a fully dead battery. The answer was," yes, just place it on the lowest setting". When I got it home I then sat down and read all the reviews, which made me nervous (the negative ones). I then read the instruction manual which needed more information, but I must say when taken in account with the positive reviews where some real smart reviewers knew what they were talking about, it helped me to not reach the same negative assumptions they had made. This machine is a Battery Charger- Set it and Forget it!! That simple, the electronics is almost fool proof, I did say almost; right. You just read the manual and the reviews written on 8/15/11 and 4/22/12; these reviews explain functions that will make you think the unit is not operating properly, but it is. This machine works better than the reviews give it credit for and I'm so glad since I purchased it while being in a bind. It charged batteries from my 48V Golf cart that was not being charged by the automatic charger that came with the cart. ( you know that some chargers can not charge fully dead batteries and have to sense a voltage before they start the charging process.) You won't have to worry about that with this unit. Please review my other reviews on Amazon. Thank you.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best you could buy
1/10/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is by far the best Charger on the market for the money. The three settings, Standard, Gel, and AGM provides the versatility needed to charge any battery on the market today. It automatically detects a 6 or 12 volt battery and will automatically desulfinate batteries that you formerly didn't know needed it which makes for a much longer battery life. I've used this unit for over 2 years now to charge deep cell boat batteries, AGM- both charge and maintain, and standard batteries, some of which are over 7 years old and still chugging.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent!
8/31/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was a bit hesitant to buy this one due to being a plastic cased charger (unlike metal ones I am used to). However this charger is the BEST one I have ever used! It charges my 6vdc batteries charged perfectly. And KEEPS them there. Very kewl!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Dead on Arrival
8/15/2012
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I plugged in the charger as per the instruction manual. The charger seemed to be working because the fan was on but the LED lights were not lit. I called Schumacher customer service and they guided me thru connection, testing, etc. Their conclusion was to return the charger to Walmart and get another one. The new one is working. I will update in a month or so with any new comments.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Simple and Works well so far
11/3/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My previous charger seemed to be going out and it was time to replace it. I use this charger for charging my two boat marine batteries (Starting and Trolling motor). It is simple, quiet, compact, and seems to get the job done in a timely manner. Time will tell on durability but for now I wouldn't have any problem recommending this to a friend.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
does the job, works ok for me
8/22/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
first time buyer, needed chager for electric trolling motor, came in 3 days, used 3 times so far and works well. Easy to use. If it keeps working would buy another.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Charger for the Price!
6/23/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My husband bought this charger for his boat and he really likes it. It charges his boat batteries fast and the automatic shut off is what he was looking for. I would recommend this product to any looking for a good charger for the price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works Great
5/30/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have only had this a few weeks now but I have charged my Marine battery a few times since then and this works very well. Quick charging and simple operation.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Plug and go
7/17/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is easy out of box plug in and go operation. Everything is automatic, EXCELLENT unit.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
15A charger
5/11/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The item arrived at my door step within 4 days. It works great and was easy to use. I would highly recommend this charger
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
8/19/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Unit was defective and I had to purchase a different model. The unit would not recognize the battery voltage and only charged my 12 volt batteries as 6 volts. Also would not go into the backup mode after it finished charging.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Exactly as advertised, Great Charger
3/23/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Bought to keep my deep cycle batteries charged, and it has rejuvenated an old car battery that we had given up on, this a great charger, don't pass this one up if you need a quality charger.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640664, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-10.1.1, SHA-cd91c60c037ec69024941e99664518ad4edafe94, CID-