Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 36 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

36 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

36 reviews | 4 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
15
4 stars
15
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
5
1-20 of 34 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews
This is a very good product.
10/3/2013

Customer review by Rosco222

4.0 stars 10/3/2013 by Rosco222
by Rosco222
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Only issue I have is the lack of proper shipping material when this was sent to me from the Walmart warehouse. The charger was put in a box twice the size of the charger with no (ZERO) packing material and of course it bounced around quite a bit en route to my home. The first unit was damaged and I had to send it back. After discussing this with Walmart personnell, the replaced unit still came back with zero packing material. I am out of town now and have not had a chance to check it to see if it also is damaged.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rosco222
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works, but ...
5/5/2011

Customer review by Mike5046

4.0 stars 5/5/2011 by Mike5046
by Mike5046
Walmart associate

The good: Works fine out of the box. Fully automatic, with maintain (float) mode. Has a cool automatic desulfation mode for batteries that haven't been charged for a long time. Good, hefty transformer. The bad: The clips don't open quite wide enough for the clamps on a post-type battery. You can get them on there, but it's a pain. They're tin-plate instead of the traditional copper, not sure how this will hold up. The claim of 30A charging is misleading: operating in 30A mode, it cycles on and off and won't finish much faster than 12A mode (despite claims to the contrary in the manual), so it's really only a 2/12 charger with 100A start.

Was this review helpful? (27) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mike5046
Raleigh NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Walmart associate
2/11/2011

Customer review by womanwithdisabledspouse

5.0 stars 2/11/2011 by womanwithdisabledspouse
by womanwithdisabledspouse

I have already used this charger several times to get the tractor started, charge a pickup battery that is not used much, and trickle charge and start my car. It is pretty much idiot proof! There's a light to tell it is charging, charged or needs checked. A read out of what percent charge the battery has, and other good features. I can finally quit asking my neighbor for help!

Was this review helpful? (36) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
womanwithdisabledspouse
SW MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
A great battery charger for the price!
4/4/2012

Customer review by guesswhocares

5.0 stars 4/4/2012 by guesswhocares
by guesswhocares

Easy to use charger, just connect to battery terminals and plug the power cord into wall outlet. Select battery type and charge speed and it takes care of the rest. It has a cool desulfation mode that it goes into automatically if it detects a sulfated battery. the charger works with 12V standard, Deep Cycle, AGM Gel Cell batteries or 6V standard batteries. The 100 amp emergency start mode is for use WITH a weak or run down battery in the vehicle. The alligator clips are huge and easy to handle. There is plenty of room to store the cables on the unit. All around a super nice charger for the price.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
guesswhocares
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great product!
11/22/2013

Customer review by BatChargerDude

5.0 stars 11/22/2013 by BatChargerDude
by BatChargerDude
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This thing is awesome, it saved me a couple of batteries which my other chargers couldn't even charge. I thinking this one is the best bang for the buck in terms of features because it goes up to 100/30 Amp full blast which will charge up a completely empty battery within an hour or two. However, the healthiest way to charge a battery is on the slow trickle (2Amp) so if you have time, use that one to preserve the longevity of the battery.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BatChargerDude
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Didn't work out of the box.
5/18/2014

Customer review by BedrockConstructionLLC

1.0 stars 5/18/2014 by BedrockConstructionLLC
by BedrockConstructionLLC
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Seemed like a robust charger, but could not get it to work. All lights came on including the LED display 888. Choices for modes seemed to be stuck on all modes. Tried it on multiple batteries, good ones and questionable. Same deal, just doesn't work. I have tried a fully automatic charger in the past and ended up throwing that away too. My thoughts are: If automatic chargers are only good when charging a good battery, than they are not for me. I need to force charge a battery that's in trouble. So, I returned this one and bought one that has both manual and automatic modes. Old school Schumacher SE-125A 2/15/125 Amp Automatic / Manual Battery Charger with Engine Start.This one works like a charm, even when I need to force power to an older battery.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BedrockConstructionLLC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So far so good
12/8/2011

Customer review by REV1977

4.0 stars 12/8/2011 by REV1977
by REV1977

Works as stated but not convinced on the jump start charge setting. If the car is dead. Better to let it charge on 30amp for a few minutes. All in all it does what I need it to do.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
REV1977
Harvest, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Doesn't show charge current.
4/25/2014

Customer review by ghghghghghgh

4.0 stars 4/25/2014 by ghghghghghgh
by ghghghghghgh
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The battery charger works well and has some nice features; however, it does not show how much current is being applied during the charge. Instead, it shows percentage of charge. Also, the voltage shown is to the nearest volt and is not accurate. The cables are nice and the clamps are very nice. Having membrane switches makes it rainproof to a certain extent.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ghghghghghgh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dead on Arrival
7/5/2013

Customer review by BigKahunaMia

1.0 stars 7/5/2013 by BigKahunaMia
by BigKahunaMia

I have had a couple of other basic Diehard chargers in the past and they all worked great for years. I recently decided to purchase this more complex unit thinking it would be nice to have more options available but upon a great disappointment finding this unit not working right out of the box, I think I will go back to the basics.... Now my problem is that I'm stuck with either paying for return shipping or standing in line at the return counter.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigKahunaMia
Miami, FL.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
2nd one dead
6/27/2012

Customer review by McVitie

1.0 stars 6/27/2012 by McVitie
by McVitie

After returning the first one, I ordered a replacement. Arrived promptly with the box looking in great shape. But something inside the charger had come loose and punched through the front panel that contains the tactile buttons. 2 ordered, 2 dead on arrival. I am done with this junk. Ordered something similar from Amazon. I only wish they sold this one in the store so it could be checked out prior to buying. Avoid this product is my opinion.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
McVitie
NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
3/7/2011

Customer review by jim4x

5.0 stars 3/7/2011 by jim4x
by jim4x

well designed , very compact,will use it offten to maintain the battery on our dirt race car

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jim4x
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
amazing contained charger
2/13/2014

Customer review by simplecaringhelpful

5.0 stars 2/13/2014 by simplecaringhelpful
by simplecaringhelpful
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am more than impressed by this charger. And in time I will know longevity?

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
simplecaringhelpful
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Charges Everything
8/19/2014

Customer review by PKELLY8879

5.0 stars 8/19/2014 by PKELLY8879
by PKELLY8879
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Die Hard Platinum does everything from 2 amp trickle charging/maintaining small batteries for things like atvs to jump starting trucks with 100 amp engine start. Buy this product (black case platinum) and not the blue case platinum because this one charges 6 volt batteries and has 100 amp jump start instead of 80 amp. It's only 5 dollars more.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PKELLY8879
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent charger for the price
5/30/2012

Customer review by GasCityGuy

4.0 stars 5/30/2012 by GasCityGuy
by GasCityGuy

This is an excellent charger for the price. As an ex-mechanic, I can see the value of this charger. i have used it 5 or 6 times already, and it has performed perfectly. It is well made for a wide variety of uses. It is very heavy for its overall size, so it means they didn't spare or skimp on the inner workings.The only flaw with it is... the handle has a very rough and sharp edge on the underside that could cut or scrape the hand. Overall, I highly recommend this battery charger. Finally, with a name like Diehard, you know you can't go wrong.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GasCityGuy
Northern, In.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great for farm use
7/3/2014

Customer review by cbproweb

5.0 stars 7/3/2014 by cbproweb
by cbproweb
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

hook it up, plug it in, watch a minute or so to see if you get any 'messages' from the charger, then go do whatever is next on your list. it's that simple. has worked so far on : car, farm truck (charges 2 big batteries together, still 12v), tractor, lawn mower, 4 wheeler... there is no danger of overcharging, thermal runaway, or hooking up the cables wrong (it tells you if you do!). built for convenience; cord and cables store in charger back. seems to be built rugged. VERY GLAD I CHOSE TO GET THIS ONE!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cbproweb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Performed flawlessly on a fishing trip,
7/27/2014

Customer review by Prvrph

5.0 stars 7/27/2014 by Prvrph
by Prvrph
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Performed flawlessly on a recent fishing trip. It recharged the battery rapidly, showed level of charge without over-charging. My only complaint was Walmart did not ship the battery with enough packing materials and it could have been damaged like other customers have complained about other models purchased online from Walmart. You would think they would read their own reviews and take corrective action.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Prvrph
Jefferson City Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Recent purchase.
5/16/2012

Customer review by alabamauser

5.0 stars 5/16/2012 by alabamauser
by alabamauser

I have just purchased this item, but did set it up and plug it in to see if it worked properly. The features on this charger are excellent and it will do anything you need to do. Has testing capabilities which helps you know what you need to do or not do with your battery. Instructions are clear and very easy to follow. Chargers functions are well marked and easy to read. All in all seems to be a quality item, typical of DieHard products.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
alabamauser
alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
I understand the other comments.
9/14/2014

Customer review by shoveyournicknamerules

4.0 stars 9/14/2014 by shoveyournicknamerules
by shoveyournicknamerules
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Product seems to work as advertised. Ordered online and the box was beat to hel* and back. Face plate has some obvious dings from the poor packaging and handling, but seems to work so far.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shoveyournicknamerules
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
DID NOT LAST
8/11/2014

Customer review by papatim46

1.0 stars 8/11/2014 by papatim46
by papatim46
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Used this for about 3hours. Then there was a little snap and it quit charging. However all indicator lights indicated it was working but no output. I was hoping this charger would be my answer for charging the RV batteries.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
papatim46
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great performance so far (a little loud).
7/22/2014

Customer review by peccha

4.0 stars 7/22/2014 by peccha
by peccha
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Seems to work fine . The fan is much louder than I expected, I'm not sure if that is normal or not. The packing for shipping was very careless (no protection, just bouncing around loose with no packing material)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
peccha
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews