Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 192 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

192 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

192 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
128
4 stars
38
3 stars
4
2 stars
8
1 stars
14
1-20 of 173 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 173 total reviews
1-20 of 173 reviews
More modern than most battery chargers
7/16/2016

Customer review by IDKhow

3.0 stars 7/16/2016 by IDKhow
by IDKhow
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The battery charger looks good and has all LED readouts. A quick scan of the instructions tells what each readout means. Actually pretty simple. Several features, including a desulfinating setting and a starting setting are handy. The desulfination stops itself when complete then charges the battery. If it's not usable, the charger will tell you so. The starter setting is 80amps. Older chargers typicaly had a setting of 50 amps. I like the automated features for charging and maintaining a charge when your battery is not in use for long periods. Now to see if it outlasts the warranty.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IDKhow
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Stunning Effectiveness
10/24/2013

Customer review by ePlum

5.0 stars 10/24/2013 by ePlum
by ePlum
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had no intention of writing a product review for Walmart but after witnessing the success of the Diehard 80/20/10/2 at resurrecting a 2 year dead battery back to full life, I had no choice but to pass on my advice - buy this if you want your money's worth! I originally purchased this (via online order/ship to store, which worked great and helped me avoid checkout lines) to maintain intelligently through the winter the newish deep cycle marine battery I bought in the spring. But before hooking up to the good battery, I thought I would put the Diehard to the test of its claimed ability to sense a bad battery and start a desulfation process. Sure enough, when I hooked it up the Diehard told me the battery was at 0% (in spite of being "charged" a few times 6 months ago). It then went to work, and stalled at 20% charge, but did not flash a failure so I let it continue to work. 2 hours later it jumped to 76%, but stalled there again, with no failure indications. I rode it out for 4 more hours while it sat at that number and then it suddenly started climbing bit by bit all the way to 100% Voila a new backup battery. How can you beat that?

Was this review helpful? (129) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ePlum
Northern Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It was love at first charge.
2/13/2015

Customer review by Michael

5.0 stars 2/13/2015 by Michael
by Michael

After 20 years with a charger that had a small needle gauge that was non-informational, this die-hard charger is like a star-wars gaget. I have a 69 Mustang, a 71 Alfa Romeo Spyder, a 73 Cougar, and two family cars. Batteries are constantly in need of attention to keep them in top form. The fast 20amp charge gets things moving, when 100% the charger switches to maintain. Switch to 2amp to bring it up to a true 100%. It took 20 hours to go from 0 to 100 on my Alfa battery. I can now see which batteries are draining faster and need closer attention. Start mode can get the car started, follow the instructions. Alternator check showed the Cougar needed help, re-built alternator was the fix. The Mustang shows 85% after weeks sitting, now i know thats normal and needs just a small topping up. Easy carry handle, all wires neatly tucked in back make this charger a pleasure to store and use. Its a great charger, if it can last 5 to 10 years i'll call it an excellent charger.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Michael
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great piece of equipment
9/29/2013

Customer review by Randjh

5.0 stars 9/29/2013 by Randjh
by Randjh
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

So far, this battery charger is one of the best that I have owned and I have had quite a few. Right away, I charged all of my boat batteries, which two were Deep Cycle and one was for the engine and it did very well. Then I charged two more Deep Cycles in my RV and the standard battery for the engine. No problems so far. I really like the carry handle and the size is about what I expected for a 20 amp charger. I have not tried the 80 amp start function, but I am sure that it works well on smaller batteries for motorcycles or maybe a half charged car battery. I highly recommend this battery charger and the price is great also.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Randjh
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Happy with the product
11/28/2011

Customer review by DavidsonJR

5.0 stars 11/28/2011 by DavidsonJR
by DavidsonJR

I have not had this item very long, but have used it about five times and, although I can not yet vouch for its durability, it seems well built and works as advertised. My only complaint is the operator's manual leaves a little to be desired - specifically, I could not find what it meant when the yellow charging light was flashing and had to call customer service (which was knowledgeable and helpful). I was advised that it meant the charger was in the desulfation mode. The manual does not state this anywhere. Also, the manual states the voltage display is not available during charging and that the charger will default to BATTERY %. My charger showed a voltage reading and did not default to BATTERY % making me think I might have a defective unit. Nope, according to customer service, the manual is wrong and will be corrected.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DavidsonJR
Ridgecrest, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Works so far... Unit received wasn't new
4/4/2014

Customer review by MississippiShadetreeMech

2.0 stars 4/4/2014 by MississippiShadetreeMech
by MississippiShadetreeMech
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Arrived in beat up box, loose inside, very clearly had been used previously... Dirty, scratched terminal ends, cords unraveled, etc. Upon testing, works as it should so far in 10 amp setting, needed it immediately or would have brought back to local store for refund. Glad I purchased replacement plan as I'm nervous about why I was sent a used item and why it was returned in the first place.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MississippiShadetreeMech
Jackson, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does the Job
1/25/2014

Customer review by Druid113

4.0 stars 1/25/2014 by Druid113
by Druid113
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The charger is pretty much plug it in and make the simple connections and switch it on. You get an LED reading of Percent Charged and Voltage. It turns off automatically and gave my dead auto battery a second chance. The first attempt on slow trickle charge gave a false completion reading and turned off. The car started but it did not fully charge the battery. I used a quicker charge and it brought it back to life @100%. Also this is not portable in the sense that you can carry it in your trunk for roadside emergency starts= you need a nearby 110V plug. The power cord could be longer. I needed an extension cord.

Was this review helpful? (25) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Druid113
Novato, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Car Charger
10/21/2013

Customer review by LnWolf33

5.0 stars 10/21/2013 by LnWolf33
by LnWolf33
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This 12 Volt car charger does a great quick job of charging batteries quickly and has a digital read out that shows how much charge your battery has. I had a battery at 61% and it completely charged it to 100% in about 2 hours. The only draw back is that it is only for 12 volt batteries, but for the price it does a great job, it also tells you the state of condition of your alternator in your vehicle. Best car charger that I have ever owned.

Was this review helpful? (39) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LnWolf33
Yelm, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for the Money.
4/10/2013

Customer review by rontows

5.0 stars 4/10/2013 by rontows
by rontows
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Haven't used it but 6 times. All is OK. All the bad reviews about baby sitting this thing is weird. Yes, the % charge goes to 97 or 98%, then holds there for awhile. It happens on old batteries more than new. If it says 98% charged, I just unplug the battery and go about my business. If you want to leave it on a battery ALL the time, go buy a battery tender or similar...that is what they are made for. This is a charger, not a tender!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rontows
south carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
fills all our charging needs.
3/12/2011

Customer review by ashvillehostess

5.0 stars 3/12/2011 by ashvillehostess
by ashvillehostess

We have a small farm and lots of different batteries. Most of the time one of them is dead. We need quick start as well as trickle charge. It is a great product. It is the second one we have owned. Lightning got the other one. Unplug it when not in use!!

Was this review helpful? (68) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ashvillehostess
Ashville, Al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
it charges but the gauge is not accurate and might
10/12/2012

Customer review by louye

2.0 stars 10/12/2012 by louye
by louye

it charges but the gauge is not accurate and it might overcharge.let me explain.i have a few battery's i like to keep charged.i put this on all of them,let it sit for a while and it climbed to about 67 to 69 percent.i then came back later and it said the same for hours.i unhooked a clamp and then hooked it back up and it said 95 percent full?it did this on every battery.the battery's start boiling and since this thing thinks its not charged all the way it keeps charging even when the battery's are full.basically this needs to be monitored like a manual charger.i am getting a manual one because the micro processed technology is not good enough yet.maybe in a few years they will get it down right but its not there yet.

Was this review helpful? (19) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
louye
denver co
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent product
1/21/2014

Customer review by petelea

5.0 stars 1/21/2014 by petelea
by petelea
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This charger has even more options on it than expected or stated in online description. We are VERY satisfied with it. Already used it and very happy with its performance so far. Big test will be this summer on marine battery, but am sure it will perform with excellence. Great product at a more than reasonable price!!

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
petelea
Great Falls, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good luck......you may need it.
9/10/2013

Customer review by Alvacslusuction

3.0 stars 9/10/2013 by Alvacslusuction
by Alvacslusuction
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

OK, yes, it does seem like a value, especially if you consider its cost per pound and what it is suppose to do. But that is just about where the good news ends for me. It is an "automatic" charger and, accordingly, you never really know what it is doing to the battery while it's "charging." Based on a hydrometer read during the charge process, the hydrometer indicated a 75% charge (and yes, it is an accurate hydrometer) however, the charger's digital read out indicated 100% charge and yet it continued to pump 10 to 20 amps into the battery seemingly indefinately (even after the hydometer indicated a 100% charge), unless, of course, the operater (you) interviens and unplugs the unit (apparently, not as automatic of a charger as it aspires to be, or maybe it's a charger on steroids, or it just can't let go because it is, after all, a Die Hard). Also, you will always know when it is charging because it has a high pitched zinging sound emitting from an internal cooling fan of some sort -- sounds like it's getting ready for take-off. Who knows, you may like it. Somebody must be buying and using this charger; however, apparently the engineer who designed it, probaly didn't. But I would give him an "A" for effort.

Was this review helpful? (14) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Alvacslusuction
az
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Manual said it has a loud buzz, it told the truth
1/22/2014

Customer review by focusedheat

2.0 stars 1/22/2014 by focusedheat
by focusedheat

Works fine but way too loud, even if turned off. I've got a 200 amp charger that doesn't have any transformer noise. Any thing vibrating that much isn't going to last long term, it's going back.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
focusedheat
SE MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Awesome value and awesome Charger
12/1/2013

Customer review by Hommie014

5.0 stars 12/1/2013 by Hommie014
by Hommie014
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I own several older or antique cars and when they sit around for a while the batteries have the tendency to loose some of it's power, now I just plug in my charger put it on the boost mode and you are ready to fire it up!! Or if you are charging a battery that has been dead for a while, just put the charger on it's lowest setting ( 2 amps ) and let it charger for a while and watch how a dead battery comes back to life. Dollar for dollar this is the best charger for it's value. I even dropped my charger accidently from on top of the fender of one of my cars and it survived without a scratch. Now that's a true value for your dollars!!

Was this review helpful? (39) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hommie014
Hollywood, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/6/2011

Customer review by grecian

5.0 stars 3/6/2011 by grecian
by grecian

This product has a lot of features that other chargers do not have and at a good price.

Was this review helpful? (37) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grecian
Lock Haven PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great deal!
7/11/2011

Customer review by ProudGrampa

5.0 stars 7/11/2011 by ProudGrampa
by ProudGrampa

This charger works great so far! I have used it on regular, deep cycle, and AGM batteries - puts them all at 100%! Nice to see the voltage level too. Like Ron Popeil says about his rotisserie, just "Set it and forget it!" Charges and maintains - and at a price well below the comparable models from the more well known competition. I checked a lot of reviews, and too many of the mainstream charger models seemed to have unexplained failures.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ProudGrampa
Prescott, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
HEAVY THING
10/24/2011

Customer review by gitwood

4.0 stars 10/24/2011 by gitwood
by gitwood

IT DOES HAVE A HANDLE THOUGH AND IF YOU HAVE A STONE DEAD BATTERY YOU WILL NEED TO USE THE 2 AMP CYCLE NO MATTER WHAT KIND OF BATTERY IT IS I DO LIKE THE DIGITAL DISPLAY AND THE COMBINATION OF CHARGE CYCLES THIS SHOULD BE A ONCE IN A LIFETIME BUY OR I HOPE SO AS I HAVE A CHARGER THAT IS OVER 30 YEARS OLD AND IT STILL WORKS BUT THE GUAGE IS LONG DEAD SO I UPGRADED TO THIS AS BATTERY TECHNOLOGY IS ADVANCING BY LEAPS AND BOUNDS (AND IT DONT DO 6 VOLT TOO BAD) I HAVENT USED THE STARTING MODE YET BUT THE CLAMPS LOOK LIKE THEY SHOUD HAVE NO TROUBLE HANDLING A JUMP. IT IS A VERY NICE UNIT I WOULD RECOMMEND TO MY FRIENDS

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gitwood
HUNTINGTON TEXAS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good product
11/10/2011

Customer review by JhonT

5.0 stars 11/10/2011 by JhonT
by JhonT

I have only use this charger for a short time but it has perfomed as described. Bought it to keep my travel trailer battery charge over the winter months when it is not being used. Does a great job, would recomend it to others.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JhonT
Mountins of Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice charger
3/31/2016

Customer review by YukonGrizzly

4.0 stars 3/31/2016 by YukonGrizzly
by YukonGrizzly

A quality battery charger at a fair price.. Shipping would have been quicker via the Pony Express

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YukonGrizzly
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 173 total reviews
1-20 of 173 reviews