Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 184 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

184 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

184 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
123
4 stars
36
3 stars
3
2 stars
8
1 stars
14
1-20 of 165 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 165 total reviews
1-20 of 165 reviews
Stunning Effectiveness
10/24/2013

Customer review by ePlum

5.0 stars 10/24/2013 by ePlum
by ePlum
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had no intention of writing a product review for Walmart but after witnessing the success of the Diehard 80/20/10/2 at resurrecting a 2 year dead battery back to full life, I had no choice but to pass on my advice - buy this if you want your money's worth! I originally purchased this (via online order/ship to store, which worked great and helped me avoid checkout lines) to maintain intelligently through the winter the newish deep cycle marine battery I bought in the spring. But before hooking up to the good battery, I thought I would put the Diehard to the test of its claimed ability to sense a bad battery and start a desulfation process. Sure enough, when I hooked it up the Diehard told me the battery was at 0% (in spite of being "charged" a few times 6 months ago). It then went to work, and stalled at 20% charge, but did not flash a failure so I let it continue to work. 2 hours later it jumped to 76%, but stalled there again, with no failure indications. I rode it out for 4 more hours while it sat at that number and then it suddenly started climbing bit by bit all the way to 100% Voila a new backup battery. How can you beat that?

Was this review helpful? (119) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ePlum
Northern Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Automatic Battery Charger
1/12/2016

Customer review by TheFireInspector

5.0 stars 1/12/2016 by TheFireInspector
by TheFireInspector

ALWAYS buy an AUTOMATIC battery charger. It is a few bucks more, but is not likely to cook your battery!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheFireInspector
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great piece of equipment
9/29/2013

Customer review by Randjh

5.0 stars 9/29/2013 by Randjh
by Randjh
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

So far, this battery charger is one of the best that I have owned and I have had quite a few. Right away, I charged all of my boat batteries, which two were Deep Cycle and one was for the engine and it did very well. Then I charged two more Deep Cycles in my RV and the standard battery for the engine. No problems so far. I really like the carry handle and the size is about what I expected for a 20 amp charger. I have not tried the 80 amp start function, but I am sure that it works well on smaller batteries for motorcycles or maybe a half charged car battery. I highly recommend this battery charger and the price is great also.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Randjh
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Happy with the product
11/28/2011

Customer review by DavidsonJR

5.0 stars 11/28/2011 by DavidsonJR
by DavidsonJR

I have not had this item very long, but have used it about five times and, although I can not yet vouch for its durability, it seems well built and works as advertised. My only complaint is the operator's manual leaves a little to be desired - specifically, I could not find what it meant when the yellow charging light was flashing and had to call customer service (which was knowledgeable and helpful). I was advised that it meant the charger was in the desulfation mode. The manual does not state this anywhere. Also, the manual states the voltage display is not available during charging and that the charger will default to BATTERY %. My charger showed a voltage reading and did not default to BATTERY % making me think I might have a defective unit. Nope, according to customer service, the manual is wrong and will be corrected.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DavidsonJR
Ridgecrest, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Diehard Automatic Charger
1/23/2016

Customer review by Eddie

4.0 stars 1/23/2016 by Eddie
by Eddie

I've had the oppurtunity to use the charger and it works as described

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Eddie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It was love at first charge.
2/13/2015

Customer review by Michael

5.0 stars 2/13/2015 by Michael
by Michael

After 20 years with a charger that had a small needle gauge that was non-informational, this die-hard charger is like a star-wars gaget. I have a 69 Mustang, a 71 Alfa Romeo Spyder, a 73 Cougar, and two family cars. Batteries are constantly in need of attention to keep them in top form. The fast 20amp charge gets things moving, when 100% the charger switches to maintain. Switch to 2amp to bring it up to a true 100%. It took 20 hours to go from 0 to 100 on my Alfa battery. I can now see which batteries are draining faster and need closer attention. Start mode can get the car started, follow the instructions. Alternator check showed the Cougar needed help, re-built alternator was the fix. The Mustang shows 85% after weeks sitting, now i know thats normal and needs just a small topping up. Easy carry handle, all wires neatly tucked in back make this charger a pleasure to store and use. Its a great charger, if it can last 5 to 10 years i'll call it an excellent charger.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Michael
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Would Recommend
1/10/2016

Customer review by KT10

4.0 stars 1/10/2016 by KT10
by KT10

Did the job.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KT10
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Car Charger
10/21/2013

Customer review by LnWolf33

5.0 stars 10/21/2013 by LnWolf33
by LnWolf33
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This 12 Volt car charger does a great quick job of charging batteries quickly and has a digital read out that shows how much charge your battery has. I had a battery at 61% and it completely charged it to 100% in about 2 hours. The only draw back is that it is only for 12 volt batteries, but for the price it does a great job, it also tells you the state of condition of your alternator in your vehicle. Best car charger that I have ever owned.

Was this review helpful? (38) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LnWolf33
Yelm, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
have had three... two are defective
10/19/2015

Customer review by Fred

2.0 stars 10/19/2015 by Fred
by Fred

I bought one of these last summer (2014) and it works really great... restored several older batteries well and smart-charges them. So I ordered another one. It never worked... the entire display board was always lit up without any numbers displayed and it did not charge any of the 5 boat batteries I have. Followed ALL directions in the Manual that came with it. I returned it and ordered another one. Ditto. Doesn't charge and the display lights are all lit with no responsive controls working. No charge. When they work... 5+ stars!! But one out of three is not good. Something on the newer production units are haywire. The Tech Help folks from DieHard (phone # on the charger) could not give me an answer either. I am returning this one to Walmart also. Too bad. Should I try yet another one? Hmmm? DieHard, are you listening? Is production Quality Control missing?

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fred
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works so far... Unit received wasn't new
4/4/2014

Customer review by MississippiShadetreeMech

2.0 stars 4/4/2014 by MississippiShadetreeMech
by MississippiShadetreeMech
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Arrived in beat up box, loose inside, very clearly had been used previously... Dirty, scratched terminal ends, cords unraveled, etc. Upon testing, works as it should so far in 10 amp setting, needed it immediately or would have brought back to local store for refund. Glad I purchased replacement plan as I'm nervous about why I was sent a used item and why it was returned in the first place.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MississippiShadetreeMech
Jackson, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does the Job
1/25/2014

Customer review by Druid113

4.0 stars 1/25/2014 by Druid113
by Druid113
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The charger is pretty much plug it in and make the simple connections and switch it on. You get an LED reading of Percent Charged and Voltage. It turns off automatically and gave my dead auto battery a second chance. The first attempt on slow trickle charge gave a false completion reading and turned off. The car started but it did not fully charge the battery. I used a quicker charge and it brought it back to life @100%. Also this is not portable in the sense that you can carry it in your trunk for roadside emergency starts= you need a nearby 110V plug. The power cord could be longer. I needed an extension cord.

Was this review helpful? (22) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Druid113
Novato, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for the Money.
4/10/2013

Customer review by rontows

5.0 stars 4/10/2013 by rontows
by rontows
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Haven't used it but 6 times. All is OK. All the bad reviews about baby sitting this thing is weird. Yes, the % charge goes to 97 or 98%, then holds there for awhile. It happens on old batteries more than new. If it says 98% charged, I just unplug the battery and go about my business. If you want to leave it on a battery ALL the time, go buy a battery tender or similar...that is what they are made for. This is a charger, not a tender!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rontows
south carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product to have
12/3/2013

Customer review by BigTexer

4.0 stars 12/3/2013 by BigTexer
by BigTexer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'm going to cut to the chase: a little bit loud (louder than normal) when operating. I purchased this item to charge my boat batteries that are in the garage. So I guess the noise doesn't really bother me. It really did charge my standard 12v battery from 70% to 100%. Really easy to operate. Overall great product for usage of 1-8 times a year. I would not recommend this to someone using this item excessively. Doesn't seem like it would handle stress that well based on how it sounds and how it's built. Built kind of cheap.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigTexer
Monterey, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
fills all our charging needs.
3/12/2011

Customer review by ashvillehostess

5.0 stars 3/12/2011 by ashvillehostess
by ashvillehostess

We have a small farm and lots of different batteries. Most of the time one of them is dead. We need quick start as well as trickle charge. It is a great product. It is the second one we have owned. Lightning got the other one. Unplug it when not in use!!

Was this review helpful? (68) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ashvillehostess
Ashville, Al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Diehard charger
12/28/2015

Customer review by Vincentt1

1.0 stars 12/28/2015 by Vincentt1
by Vincentt1

Very loud when operating. Wouldn't charge a battery which was drained but good. No on /off switch.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vincentt1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works very well
12/29/2015

Customer review by TDS1

5.0 stars 12/29/2015 by TDS1
by TDS1

Great product Easy to use

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TDS1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works Great
11/30/2013

Customer review by RVperson

5.0 stars 11/30/2013 by RVperson
by RVperson
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Our car was completely dead, and this charger (using the quick start function) started it right up.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RVperson
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent product
1/21/2014

Customer review by petelea

5.0 stars 1/21/2014 by petelea
by petelea
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This charger has even more options on it than expected or stated in online description. We are VERY satisfied with it. Already used it and very happy with its performance so far. Big test will be this summer on marine battery, but am sure it will perform with excellence. Great product at a more than reasonable price!!

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
petelea
Great Falls, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
it charges but the gauge is not accurate and might
10/12/2012

Customer review by louye

2.0 stars 10/12/2012 by louye
by louye

it charges but the gauge is not accurate and it might overcharge.let me explain.i have a few battery's i like to keep charged.i put this on all of them,let it sit for a while and it climbed to about 67 to 69 percent.i then came back later and it said the same for hours.i unhooked a clamp and then hooked it back up and it said 95 percent full?it did this on every battery.the battery's start boiling and since this thing thinks its not charged all the way it keeps charging even when the battery's are full.basically this needs to be monitored like a manual charger.i am getting a manual one because the micro processed technology is not good enough yet.maybe in a few years they will get it down right but its not there yet.

Was this review helpful? (19) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
louye
denver co
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/2/2013

Customer review by Fire19

5.0 stars 9/2/2013 by Fire19
by Fire19
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Best charger I have bought and you can't beat the price. It's size allows you to easily move it around and store it. I like this one a lot better than my $200 charger. I was a little unsure on its capability to jump start a vehicle but I tried it and my car started up right away.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fire19
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 165 total reviews
1-20 of 165 reviews