Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 98 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

98 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

98 reviews | 4 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
62
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 stars
17
1-20 of 95 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 95 total reviews
1-20 of 95 reviews
Poor quality control at packing plant, came dented
2/28/2014

Customer review by AverageTomDickHarry

2.0 stars 2/28/2014 by AverageTomDickHarry
by AverageTomDickHarry
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Product seems to work as described, but this charger continues to be damaged at manufacture before they put in box. This indicates poor quality control and lack of quality of workers at manufactures place. This is not damaged in shipping, box perfect, and unit itself seems to be ok quality of materials (have not tried the 75 amp start feature as of yet, but the other functions seems to work ok for the short period of time I've owned it). But this particular manufacturer, Diehard, really needs to get a handle on its quality of handling and stop mishandling the products causing damage to the unit. There has been many complaints of dented merchandise with this brand, not just this model, but many of the models of Diehard. Some in front of the casing, some on the bottom where my damage was and can't sit right. The hassle of returning and replacing, many times with just another that is damaged and dented is not the expectation of a consumer buying a new supposedly quality product. That is why I'm giving it only a two star rating.

Was this review helpful? (28) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AverageTomDickHarry
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
diehard battery charger
9/28/2016

Customer review by gfawkes

1.0 stars 9/28/2016 by gfawkes
by gfawkes

Okay, I thought that I would give it a try since it had all the features I needed at a reasonable price, even though there were so many reports of items arriving damaged. Item was unpacked and lo and behold, there was a massive dent in one side. I'm not talking about a "ding". This dent was so bad, there were internal components exposed. How this was ever cleared to put in a box is a mystery. Right back to the store for a refund. I don't know what's going on at their factory, but it can't be good.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gfawkes
Would recommend to a friend? No
Diehard charger
11/15/2016

Customer review by Matt

1.0 stars 11/15/2016 by Matt
by Matt
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I can't rate it because I've bought it twice and couldn't use it because it was damaged when I opened the box.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Matt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good charger, excellent value
7/23/2016

Customer review by cek510

5.0 stars 7/23/2016 by cek510
by cek510
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I previously owned a Sears charger that lasted around 30 years before giving up the ghost, so I was happy to try this Diehard charger based on past experience. Interestingly, this unit weighs about twice as much as my old unit. I don't know why, but I'll assume it's a good thing. I've used this new charger to charge a completely dead car battery with completely satisfactory results. I think this is an excellent value for a fully automatic charger. Unlike some other reviewers, I can report that my unit arrived in excellent condition in a factory carton.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cek510
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good charger for the price
12/18/2016

Customer review by Griz

4.0 stars 12/18/2016 by Griz
by Griz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

works well. The cords are brittle in cold weather so have to be careful with them. clamps are better than some on the market.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Griz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Product
2/12/2017

Customer review by DieselBubba

5.0 stars 2/12/2017 by DieselBubba
by DieselBubba
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Charger works perfectly. I had to use the 75 amp starter part the other day and it got me going quickly providing the necessary amp boost I needed to start my F350 Diesel on a cold day. I'm very pleased with this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DieselBubba
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect
2/14/2017

Customer review by BoneFish

5.0 stars 2/14/2017 by BoneFish
by BoneFish
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Exactly what I needed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BoneFish
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It will charge a completely dead battery
7/2/2014

Customer review by JWHa

5.0 stars 7/2/2014 by JWHa
by JWHa
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It will charge a completely dead battery unlike most smart chargers and do it quickly. For a dead battery start out on the 12 amp setting then reset to the 2 amp setting when the charger begins to cycle on and off the 12 amp setting. Allow the charger to remain on the 2 amp setting until fully charged. Charging the battery completely helps to both save the alternator and the possibility of getting stranded later Nice metal case, heavy clamps and analog type meter all are a plus on this charger.

Was this review helpful? (75) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JWHa
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
came damaged as all the rest
2/4/2017

Customer review by coco

1.0 stars 2/4/2017 by coco
by coco

My unit came damaged as everyone elses it seems. I tried to return it and they would not take it. had to come back home and start the whole thing over. I'm still trying to do it and cant find a proper link. stay away.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
coco
Would recommend to a friend? No
Diehard 75/12/2 amp Charger
7/27/2016

Customer review by Cheng

3.0 stars 7/27/2016 by Cheng
by Cheng
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Received charger in original box but packed upside down. Cords not coiled correctly. Obviously had been at least opened or used. Instruction booklet arrive in the box with what look like coffee stains . Purchased extended warranty. needed charger right away and seemed to operate correctly. Not pleased with receiving used merchandise and paying for new.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cheng
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
QC Issues
7/25/2016

Customer review by Swede

1.0 stars 7/25/2016 by Swede
by Swede
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Came to pickup damaged and returned immediately. The package was not damaged so quality control missed it. You should read your reviews because that's where it was brought to my attention. This will definitely affect future purchases.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Swede
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great addition !!
1/26/2016

Customer review by CheapMark

5.0 stars 1/26/2016 by CheapMark
by CheapMark

After owning a 6/2 and a 10/2 over the years I was shopping for another 10/2. Nice that it could spark a V-8 usually in just a few minutes when I l stumbled across this unit at 15 bucks cheaper than the "S" brand AND had 2 more amps plus 75 amp jumpstart. Sold me in an instant. Shipping was 11 days. The reviews were that it's a good unit but sometimes beat up at the factory with dings. Yes it was underpackaged but in perfect condition. This functions quite nicely, and I love the end of an era old school solid state design, analog gauge, metal shell. One negative is not having an off switch. I gave it 4 stars as it hasn't passed the longevity test yet......

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CheapMark
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
DieHard Battery Charger
1/3/2011

Customer review by OSDCrusher

5.0 stars 1/3/2011 by OSDCrusher
by OSDCrusher

I bought this battery charger to use with my 1988 K5 Blazer because it sits in the garage sometimes for prolonged periods of time. I also bought it incase the battery fails to start the truck, which hasn't happened yet. I've only used it to charge the battery for a few minutes 2 or 3 times and it's worked great so far.

Was this review helpful? (43) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OSDCrusher
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
POOR
11/16/2016

Customer review by AAADA

2.0 stars 11/16/2016 by AAADA
by AAADA
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Just like many other reviews, the charger was damaged in the box. Sears need to look at their quality control.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AAADA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
DieHard Battery Charger
1/27/2016

Customer review by RacerBoy

5.0 stars 1/27/2016 by RacerBoy
by RacerBoy

I only used it once but it worked perfectly and charged up the battery from extremely low voltage with no problem. There was no damage to the product when I received it and it showed up in the time frame that was listen for shipping. This model is a little larger than the model that doesn't come with the jump start feature but is still small enough for easy transport. I highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RacerBoy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice piece
9/25/2015

Customer review by chevnup

5.0 stars 9/25/2015 by chevnup
by chevnup

Wow! This charger is nice. OK, first off, I was skeptical at the price, and after reading some of the negative reviews on this, thought I too would have an inferior item. Rest assured folks, this charger is indeed new, not used, or re-boxed. Lucky me maybe, no dents, scratches, or evidence of previous bad things. Thank you Wal-Mart. Now then, the owners manual spells out everything ya need to know. Handy-to-read directions are on top of the unit. The 120v power cord seems heavy duty enough, and the 12ga. jumper cord is a nice feature also. The clips are larger than the cheaper chargers. What am I saying ? At $35 bucks, THAT is a cheap price people. I put this thing to work as soon as I un-boxed it. No problems. Get you one of these before they are all gone. It really is a nice piece

Was this review helpful? (11) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chevnup
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good choice of charging settings..Not degital!
2/2/2014

Customer review by ooLu

4.0 stars 2/2/2014 by ooLu
by ooLu
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great choice of settings, Not digital was the reason to purchase this charger. A heavy built & nice battery cable connections.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ooLu
Lakewood, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A 2011 Christmas Gift for the Man of the House
1/22/2012

Customer review by Calico325

5.0 stars 1/22/2012 by Calico325
by Calico325

This little giant-of-a battery charger/starter sure did come in handy when our 1994 Pontiac Grand Am's Die Hard battery did just that...died REALLY hard. My husband just plugged the unit in, connected the cables, and the old car cranked right up! An hour later, we have a new car battery and nothing but praises for our (his :) Die Hard Battery Charger with Emergency Engine Start. The price was right; I ordered online and had it delivered here at home. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone desiring a battery charger with the reassurance of a quick emergency start without long, heavy jumper cables.

Was this review helpful? (36) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Calico325
East Central Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
This is a great charger for the money
5/9/2015

Customer review by Reese

4.0 stars 5/9/2015 by Reese
by Reese

They should stick this. It took a long time to arrive at store for in store pick up. Better than the plastic digital chargers they stock which I have not had good luck with. They are fragile and over heat.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Reese
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
diehard battery charger
3/5/2016

Customer review by Bill

5.0 stars 3/5/2016 by Bill
by Bill

The charger seems to be a good product. Looks well built. I have used it to start my tractor and plan on keeping all my batteries charged.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bill
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 95 total reviews
1-20 of 95 reviews