Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 175 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

175 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

175 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
64
4 stars
55
3 stars
18
2 stars
12
1 stars
26
1-20 of 151 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 151 total reviews
1-20 of 151 reviews
great product
11/28/2010

Customer review by littleshophaul

5.0 stars 11/28/2010 by littleshophaul
by littleshophaul

it was twice as clear as my other tv. i even put it in my living room and stuck my vizio in the bedroom

Was this review helpful? (176) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
littleshophaul
almira wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very satisfied customer
12/7/2010

Customer review by HipMamaLala

5.0 stars 12/7/2010 by HipMamaLala
by HipMamaLala

This tv delivers a high quality led image. It may not be the "best" for gaming, but our family doesn't care, and it is only $499 - you need to pay more for higher quality. If you want great quality without breaking the bank - buy this tv. We put it in our living room that gets natural light from all sides and made our last tv high glare. There is no reflection at all. You can stand on the side of the tv and still see a high quality image. As for the comments about it not turning on and the remote not working - there is an on-off switch on the back that needs to be turned on. The power button in the front is for the standby mode. If people are not used to this type of feature, and do not read the directions, they will not realize they have to turn it on on the back of the panel. We went to Element's website, and were also very impressed with the low amount of power used to run this tv. It is very economical. I reccomend this tv for other famililies out there, who want a high quality picture, without the high price. Better pic than our 46" Toshiba.

Was this review helpful? (87) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HipMamaLala
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmarts Item description=WRONG
12/4/2010

Customer review by Sparky1983

3.0 stars 12/4/2010 by Sparky1983
by Sparky1983

Received this TV after purchasing it on cyber Monday, and boy was it a huge disappointment. I realize I shouldn't expect much from a LED under 500$, but one of the selling points was the fact that the item description states it has Netflix streaming capabilities....which unfortunately it does not. No ethernet port...no wireless=one unhappy customer. Technically it false advertisement. I've contacted Walmart.com and the rep said would bring it to his supervisers attn. and that I could return the product to a local Walmart. I will probably keep it because its not a huge issue for me since I have a Xbox, ps3 and Wii that can stream Netflix, but for some...buyer beware. As for the picture quality its hard for me to review considering I have a high end Samsung LED in the living room. Picture is bright, the colors are rich, however the black images... not so great. There is considerable light leaking from the LED backlight. Also I purchased the TV mainly for our upstairs game room, and 6.5ms response time unfortunately causes some ghosting or blurring when playing. Overall I would say the image quality is fair. Sound on the other hand, Ive heard better sound quality from the external speaker on my cell phone. Make sure you have a sound bar or surround sound ready and waiting if you purchase this TV, because the first thing thing you are gonna do is turn the volume off and pray you never have to hear the monotone, flat, irritatingly bad sound again. This TV is about what you would expect from this price point. Unless the 1.8 inch depth is a must have, there are much better non led LCD's with better specs for around the same price and the lack of internet connectivity was a let down.....hope this review helps.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sparky1983
Lubbock, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
incredible value!
1/17/2011

Customer review by mx5002

5.0 stars 1/17/2011 by mx5002
by mx5002

i purchased this tv more than a month ago. at the time of the purchase there was only one review with 5 stars. now i notice that there are many negative reviews. i bought it for $ 499 and now the price is just $449 which makes it an even more incredible value. a 42 inch lcd with led would normally sell at a minimum of $799. this tv is the best deal on the internet! the picture is beautiful and beyond my expectations. i use it every day for at least 5 hours per day. the sound is ok with plenty of volume but it will not please audiophiles but it certainly satisfies me. don't be misled by these negative reviews.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mx5002
tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Picture Quality Great, Sound Poor
2/3/2011

Customer review by Fordman03

4.0 stars 2/3/2011 by Fordman03
by Fordman03

I bought this tv from walmart's online store. And, although it's got a great picture quality, the sound is very poor. Perhaps it's just my tv, but anything and everything we listen to sounds like it's coming from a can. I recently purchased a surround sound system to help with this problem, so now we just leave the tv sound off so it doesn't sound so bad. So, if you are looking for a tv with it all, for a great value, then by all means buy this tv.... but get a surround system too, otherwise you won't fully enjoy it!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fordman03
Bettendorf, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent TV replacement for the cost.
12/9/2010

Customer review by Hardeep

4.0 stars 12/9/2010 by Hardeep
by Hardeep

Overall your getting what you pay for. This is an excellent tv to get if your replacing and old plasma or small LCD TV. This TV offers great picture quality if you can get the color setting properly adjusting which I'm still having difficulty doing, and finding the settings online is nearly impossible. The sound quality is great for small bedrooms or living rooms. Nothing exceptional without a surround sound. It does have a few features, but does not have the WIFI that it stated in the description and specification prior to purchasing it. The price is great and overall item is a definite recommendable, but remember it's not as big as some of the other name brand companies that offer just a little more. If you don't mind these minor specifications, then this is a perfect buy. I'm completely satisfied with my item except for the default color settings and the lack of WIFI which I was really looking forward to.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hardeep
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Second Element
2/26/2011

Customer review by monique2254

5.0 stars 2/26/2011 by monique2254
by monique2254

This is my second Element flat screen. I upgraded from a 32 LCD. I really don’t know what the hub bub is with all the bad reviews. This is an excellent brand for the cost. The reason why I bought another Element is because of its picture quality. People need to understand that every channel is not goin to be in HD, so of course the picture is not going to display well. The best HD channels are really your local channels. When channels are in HD the picture quality is superb on this flat screen. As for the sound, it’s as great as the picture quality, this TV has multiple sound and picture functions plus it has a surround sound function. For the buyer who said the system wouldn’t turn. This flat screen does not have buttons only a on and off stand by switch on the right side in back. The switch has to be on in order to power on the TV. The basic controls for operating such as turning on the TV are at the right bottom. Their kinda like a touch screen function, but you don’t touch the screen you’re tapping on the power button on the frame, or you can just use your remote to power on. Another feature this flat screen has is a swivel base.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
monique2254
Douglasville,Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
I love, love, love my LED tv!!
12/29/2010

Customer review by SMoon

5.0 stars 12/29/2010 by SMoon
by SMoon

This is my first "big-screen" LED tv and I was pleasantly surprised at the quality!! It looks great in my compact living room and the picture quality is great - thanks to my HD cablebox and DVD player. The sound is nice also, tho there are times when it's too high or too low so requires sound adjusting. I'm surprised by the negative reviews, but thankfully I haven't experienced any major problems. It's ultra thin in my opinion and overall a great buy!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SMoon
NY, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
What to expect of this tv
12/14/2010

Customer review by bloodyjoker

3.0 stars 12/14/2010 by bloodyjoker
by bloodyjoker

when i bought this tv the only reason was it was a led tv, and i thought the picture would be great. but i was wrong. the picture was not bad but not "led". i think any lcd would be good as this one is. it blurr when the screen change to fast. not recomended for gamers who play FPS. people said sound was horrible but when you put on surround sound it wasnt that bad. if you dont have hd programs then the picture would be horrible, 42 inchs is a big tv and regular shows just dont look right on a screen that big. and also this 'led' tv, which is pretty skinny is heavyer than some lcd. over all there is nothing special about this "led" tv. you could get a better one for cheaper or the same size. i recommend the Vizio 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, E420VO.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bloodyjoker
va
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works good but has a few issues
3/21/2011

Customer review by skymac22

3.0 stars 3/21/2011 by skymac22
by skymac22

This TV is very bright and works great with my DVR (HDMI) my Blue Ray (HDMI) and my Wii (Componet) The only down fall is on the black screen you can see light coming from the 4 corners. The speakers are also kind of weak, I noticed right a way a difference from my old TV but they work for our needs. The only other problem is hooking up a surround sound system. The TV does not have a proper audio out put, and I found that by running the sound from the blue ray to the TV and the surround sound that the delay in the TV gives it almost a echo kind of sound. I'm goign to try again with a better surround sound system this summer.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
skymac22
Fargo, ND
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Remote Does not work!!!
12/7/2010

Customer review by Steve34pro

3.0 stars 12/7/2010 by Steve34pro
by Steve34pro

After one day of use the remote does not work. I did all the trouble shooting replaced the batteries and it still does not work. Good tv though but worthless remote.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Steve34pro
Wood River IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Cheap but terrible
12/26/2010

Customer review by scrapaholic30

1.0 stars 12/26/2010 by scrapaholic30
by scrapaholic30

Purchased this tv in hopes that it would be what we wanted. But the picture was awful. On each end it magnified the image making a person look bigger than what they were. The sound was awful. The sound sounded like it was coming from a radio or when you hook your laptop up to your tv to watch a movie from there. If you want a tv that is cheap and don't care about the sound or picture quality then this would be for you. But if you want better sound and better quality do not get this tv.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
scrapaholic30
Would recommend to a friend? No
please pick a different tv
1/19/2011

Customer review by critters210

1.0 stars 1/19/2011 by critters210
by critters210

i gave this tv a 1 star rating across the board, hoping to lower the overall rating so I could possibly save someone from making a huge mistake. We already made the mistake by not taking the advice of nearly half of the reviewers on here. The sound was somewhat similar to the transistor radio my great grandfather used to carry around in his pocket. The picture really wasn't that great either. But the sound was worse. I cant believe that any company would could put a product on the shelf with this kind of quality. I had absolutely NO PROBLEMS returning the tv to the store. Walmart was great about that. Do some research and read reviews before choosing your tv. Good luck!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
critters210
Apollo, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Stay away from it
12/9/2010

Customer review by wapitimeadow

1.0 stars 12/9/2010 by wapitimeadow
by wapitimeadow

Shipping from Walmart is easy. TV arrived, set it up and turned it on. Nothing. It didn't work. No power. The TV looked pretty sitting on the cabinet, but who wants to look at a dead TV? I can't tell you about the picture quality, because the quality of the TV itself is so bad it wouldn't even power up. Walmart no hassle return is a blessing and that is what I quickly did. I'm staying with a known name brand. The old saying "Sometimes a deal is too good to be true", well that saying fits this TV.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wapitimeadow
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV for the money
1/12/2011

Customer review by Gagles

5.0 stars 1/12/2011 by Gagles
by Gagles

Great Picture and amazing value. Sound leaves a lot to be desired but I found that on even on other brand LED or LCD TV's that I looked at. Easily fixed with the addition of a Vizio sound bar purchased at Walmart for $98. For all the reviewers that returned the TV for no power there is an on off switch on the back of the TV.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gagles
Lyndhurst, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So Far So Good - if you go for 1080P!
4/16/2011

Customer review by Chris2002Rocklin

5.0 stars 4/16/2011 by Chris2002Rocklin
by Chris2002Rocklin

I just ordered mine online for delivery, but I had a friend connect a notebook to look at picture quality in the most demanding scenario; still image at full HD, which means fully 1920 x 1080 pixels. I thought I would post this note because I notice confusion EVERYWHERE about convergence of LCDs for HDTV versus computer displays. The only confusion comes from 2 things; 1 is that for HDTV, especially after the HD conversion of over the air signals, the aspect ratio fixed at 16:9. Since PCs and Mac have always been able to take whatever the hardware and its driver can come up with, wisely we all are used to quoting both dimensions. Now that we have HD, by far the most often discussed dimension is the number of horizontal scan lines. By virtue of the aspect ratio constraint, the number of horizontal lines always implies both it and the vertical lines as well. But this leads to confusion because all you ever hear is either 1080P or 720P (I am not going to talk about P or I here). I know who is confued because time and again I hear people wondering why "some" TVs do just fine woth PC display whiile others don't. Gee, do you think maybe the number of pixels counts? Since these same people seem aware that a 1920 x 1080 PC display is better quality than a 1280 x 720, why don't they realize that by "some" TVs, are obviously going to be "those TV capable of rendering 1080P?" So the answer is that HDTVs that top out at 720P are just like the old monitors that could only render 1280 x 1024 or whatever. By the way, the earliest LCDs were not always multi-scan, meaning that even though they might have been capable of very high quality display at say, 1280 * 1024, they may not have been able to down-convert, I think is the term people use. But all HDTVs can do this at least to 720P. The reason this is important is that although video generally does look good at 720P and most media is not even available yet at 1080P there is a very good reason why you should pay more for the higher capability; Most people are getting larger screens than before and as impressive as they are, when the excitement wanes, you would be left with a TV that will not "scale" up with media programming that will probably get better. If there is no way you might be among those that will have access to this, OK, save a little money, but I think it much more likely that new programming will come out and convergence with PCs will become easier to accomplish and if any of that happens, you are going to find out that the 720P TV you bought does not scale up at all. Those with 1080P will take their web browsers and pull up highly detailed images (still images are much more revealing than motion video), you will see that these TVs are nice, but if you are going to invest in something, at least consider that you may regret limiting yourself to 1280 * 720, which is - to 720P. See if your computer can drop down to that resolution and at least that way you know what the 720P TVs are capable of doing. When my TV is installed, I will take some pictures at both 1080P and 720P still images. I'm using these for video editing workstations, and Radeon video cards are now so flexible that I have everything on 1 keyboard and mouse (2 PCs and 4 displays). Go for 1080

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chris2002Rocklin
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great picture and price
3/21/2011

Customer review by stang117

5.0 stars 3/21/2011 by stang117
by stang117

The picture quality is great. nice features plenty of hdmi inputs. speakers arnt the best but a cheap soundbar fixed that. they arnt unbearable. can see edge lit leds but no more than any other edge lit led on a black screen. im impressed with the outcome for the price. 1080p movies and games look great.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stang117
Amarillo, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice TV at a great value.
3/23/2011

Customer review by AnotherWalmartian

5.0 stars 3/23/2011 by AnotherWalmartian
by AnotherWalmartian

This TV has great picture quality, but not the best sound. I sort of knew this reading many of the other reviews, but that didn't matter to me since I was planning to connect it to an entertainment system anyways.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AnotherWalmartian
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great LED tv
2/25/2011

Customer review by chefc

4.0 stars 2/25/2011 by chefc
by chefc

my wife and i bought this tv to replace the living room plasma tv. we didnt like the plasma tv because it had to much glare ( if you had the windows open you couldnt see a thing) so we bought this one. and its a great buy. also you have to READ THE INSTRUCTIONS about flipping the switch to turn it on. the sound quality is pretty good it has the same sound quality as our smaller LED bedroom tv. the picture is awesome. if you stand really close you can see how it blurs but when you sit back on the couch the picture is awesome.the tv is also very slim. so in all the tv is a great by. we are very happy with our purchase of this LED tv.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chefc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
2/8/2011

Customer review by Haylight

3.0 stars 2/8/2011 by Haylight
by Haylight

This TV is a great TV for the bedroom. Had to go back and purchase a Visio sound bar in order to hear the programs without it sounding like you were in an empty room. Volume only goes to about 15 and will not go any louder. Other than the sound issues and the extra $100.00 for the sound bar, it is ok.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Haylight
Maricopa, Az.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 151 total reviews
1-20 of 151 reviews