Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 47 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

47 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

47 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
26
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
8
1-20 of 46 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 46 total reviews
1-20 of 46 reviews
Ruger Air Hawk with scope...
11/27/2011

Customer review by captain77450

5.0 stars 11/27/2011 by captain77450
by captain77450

Excellent value. Very accurate. After dialing in scope, at 25 yards, 20 shots inside a 50 cent piece on a very windy day. REQUIRES adult supervision, in my opinion. This is NOT a toy. It will probably kill animals. Easily puts pellets through a 5/8" plywood. May not be legal in city limits. Your neighbors will call the police.

Was this review helpful? (33) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
captain77450
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Awesome springer, worth every penny...
5/24/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/24/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I did a lot of research before opting for the rugger air hawk. After shooting it the first time for about 30 minutes, I couldnt understand why this gun has some negative reviews on some sites. Anyways, this thing shoot straight right out of the box (mine did at least, and that with regular 7.9gr pellets). Yeah the scope is cheap but it work. Set up a target, mount the scope and shoot. Ajust the scope accordingly (up and down or left and right until you get it right. I take a bit of work. It took me about 30 minutes to find the sweet spot. Im not at the dime or quarter size target yet but after setting up the scope, I consistantly hit a dollar bill size target at 30 yard. Not bad for a beginner and on the first day with the gun. Some say its made in China so what? What isn't? IPhone, iPad, nike....etc. all about quality control which is pi highly tight to the brand. Apple will not let China put out cheap products under their name/license. Buttom line buy this, try it with different ammo...what do you have to lose anyway? You have 90 days return window.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Tacoma, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
High Power for Beginners, But Good RWS 34 Clone
11/22/2011

Customer review by PelletPlinker

4.0 stars 11/22/2011 by PelletPlinker
by PelletPlinker

The Airhawk is basically a near perfect clone of the much more expensive Diana RWS 34 Air Rifle, with a great copy of the T05 Diana trigger. Current RWS 34 rifles have a slightly better T06 trigger, but the T05 clone is very nice indeed. Parts, for example springs and seals, are interchangeable. Like most high power spring air rifles, it is a good idea to clean the stock screw threads and holes with alcohol, dry, reassemble with blue lock-tite and leave for 24 hours before shooting. Good idea for the nice fiber optic rear sight to barrel screws too! These rifles recoil and if you don't take care to reassemble with lock-tite, accuracy will suffer as the screws loosen up. No powerful spring rifle shoots well with too light a pellet. This rifle is NOT compatible with Gamo PBA Raptors or similar. This rifle was made for dome pellets weighing about 8 to 9 grains. Try some Crosman Premier 7.9 Domes, JSB exact, etc. Light pellets shoot too fast, will damage the piston seal due to not offering enough resistance to the spring, and will not be accurate in this rifle anyway. Heavier pellets may not break 1000 fps, but they hit harder. However there is an upper end too. This rifle is not suitable for pellets weighing over 10 grains either - too heavy is not good for the spring in a rifle with this power range. Don't expect flat head "wad cutter" or "pointed" pellets to be accurate much past 10 or 15 yards, but they are great for short range! The Airhawk is the real deal. Shooting a spring rifle of this power well takes some getting use too and requires using the right pellets. Unlike a firearm, the pellet is still in the barrel before the spring recoil is gone in a break barrel air rifle. The more powerful the spring air rifle, the more important it is to have a consistent hold on it every shot, or accuracy will suffer. You don't want a death grip, just a nice slightly firm, consistent hold. It can help not to pull the forearm of the rifle in too tight against your shoulder, but instead let it mostly rest on your outstretched hand. Like any product, there are some duds out there. But many purported accuracy issues are more likely due to lack of familiarity with high power spring air rifles or using inappropriate pellets than the product itself. This is a very nice, well made rifle for the price, even considering the scope mounts and scope that it comes with are nearly throw aways. This rifle deserves better scope rings so the scope does not slide back under recoil, and a better airgun rated AO scope for close range targets. But then it would cost more. The Airhawk Elite is a better value if you want a scope, but it comes with a heavier thumb hole stock and higher price too. There are better air rifles for much more money, but this is one of the best values in the "mass" market in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? (84) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PelletPlinker
SE United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Simply a fantastic gun
12/22/2011

Customer review by Ordie69

5.0 stars 12/22/2011 by Ordie69
by Ordie69

I picked this rifle up today for some back yard plinking and am astounded at the quality. I have a ruger 22 long rifle and this feels the exact same when shooting. After zeroing the scope and sighting the weapon at 45' and 165' (about 20 minutes) I am consistently hitting a 3/8' pattern at 165'. This is not a toy. It is a quality rifle with some serious power.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ordie69
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not to bad 2nd time around
11/29/2011

Customer review by ttkk08

4.0 stars 11/29/2011 by ttkk08
by ttkk08

I picked this gun up after returning the Crosman Recruit ( which was worthless ). I got the open sights to sight in very well but the scope was horrible. I took it back and exchanged it out and the new one shoots very well so far. The scope on it actually was very easy to sight in as well as the open sights. This gun shoots pretty hard and will easily kill small pests and probably a little bigger pests with a precise shot. The best ammo for this is made by RWS. The PBA RAPTOR did not shoot very well for me at all...to erratic.

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ttkk08
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great gun
6/8/2012

Customer review by LuckOfTheIrishman

5.0 stars 6/8/2012 by LuckOfTheIrishman
by LuckOfTheIrishman

I bought the gun six months ago, dialed in the scope and it's deadly accurate and very fast. The only complaint I have is Ruger should have elevated scope rings so you can use the open sights.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LuckOfTheIrishman
Casa Grande, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
very nice
11/26/2015

Customer review by Charlie

5.0 stars 11/26/2015 by Charlie
by Charlie

very nice

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Charlie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
still new
11/19/2015

Customer review by buford

4.0 stars 11/19/2015 by buford
by buford

this gun has a good amount of power its i little hard to break the barrel but the only thing that took me off guard was its loud it sounds like a .22 going off could not believe this was a pellet gun

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
buford
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
5/27/2012

Customer review by PaulNC68

5.0 stars 5/27/2012 by PaulNC68
by PaulNC68

The Ruger Air Hawks are probably one of the best deals on a mid powered air gun you'll find. The build quality is better than average for an air rifle in this price range and the ratio of defective units to good performing units is low. These are Chinese XISICO XS25 versions of the RWS 34 and are a very good clone with very similar performance. These rifles are even better in a professionally tuned configuration, http://flyingdragonairrifles.org/XISICO_XS25.html , and can perform as well as the RWS 34 once given only the basic attention.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PaulNC68
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Powerful and Good Looking
4/21/2014

Customer review by JE76

5.0 stars 4/21/2014 by JE76
by JE76
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Nice looking pellet gun. Has a lot of power and good weight to it. I like that it comes with a scope and iron sight, if you don't want to use the scope.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JE76
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent for an adult
11/20/2013

Customer review by richiest

5.0 stars 11/20/2013 by richiest
by richiest

This rifle is very accurate even with included budget scope. Takes a bit of strength to break barrel but the hitting power and fps is excellent.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
richiest
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Horrible
8/21/2015

Customer review by Benson

1.0 stars 8/21/2015 by Benson
by Benson

I bought this gun thinking it would be a good gun to shoot blackbirds. For the first couple weeks I had it I loved it. I got it sited in at 20 yards. I kept shooting it and the scope starting sliding back. I thought it was just the scope rings so I bought new rings and tightened it has hard as I could shot it a couple times and it just kept sliding back. So now I don't use it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Benson
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent pellet gun
9/5/2014

Customer review by SLCairgun

5.0 stars 9/5/2014 by SLCairgun
by SLCairgun
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had this item shipped directly to my house. Box was a little bit crumpled, but the rifle was in good shape. Nice stock (looks great), feels very comfortable shouldered. Scope is not the best, but for the price paid adequate. I have had this rifle now for a little over a week. I am starting to get quarter size groups at 30yds. I think it will improve with break-in.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SLCairgun
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
bad gun
10/22/2011

Customer review by Hey15Jay

1.0 stars 10/22/2011 by Hey15Jay
by Hey15Jay

I shot it about 200 times and hit about 20 out of 200. This gun shoots very erratic. I tried it with the scope and with just the sites and it still didn't shoot straight every time. It has power but not accuracy.

Was this review helpful? (15) (46)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hey15Jay
NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
too loud
5/11/2014

Customer review by myview245

2.0 stars 5/11/2014 by myview245
by myview245
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It supposed to be a quit air gun. But the sound is as loud as shooting 22. All you neighbors will hear it loud and clear.

Was this review helpful? (1) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
myview245
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
What a surprise
11/26/2014

Customer review by Fred45510

5.0 stars 11/26/2014 by Fred45510
by Fred45510

Powerful, shoots straight and nice craftsmanship. Can't beat it for the price. Not a toy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fred45510
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great
8/31/2014

Customer review by tundraSR5

5.0 stars 8/31/2014 by tundraSR5
by tundraSR5
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

great air rifle

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tundraSR5
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Don't waste your money
9/9/2013

Customer review by robcam817

1.0 stars 9/9/2013 by robcam817
by robcam817
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

You'd expect the Air Hawk to hold at least a 1" group at 25 yards. Not even close. Wouldn't hold a 4" group. Pathetic.

Was this review helpful? (0) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
robcam817
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/9/2011

Customer review by mustang123

1.0 stars 12/9/2011 by mustang123
by mustang123

Item arrived damaged.

Was this review helpful? (0) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mustang123
Ponchatoula, La.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
I got a bad one.
5/4/2014

Customer review by toojung2die

1.0 stars 5/4/2014 by toojung2die
by toojung2die
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got unlucky. I knew a lot about this airgun before buying it. It is a clone of the Diana RWS Model 34, made in China for Ruger. I already own a RWS model 34 and I was looking forward to seeing what I would get for 1/4 the cost. I couldn't resist at this price. The Air Hawk generally gets rave reviews. With a little tune up they can be made to shoot very well. Out of the box they are better than average. I was happy with the fit and finish on the Air Hawk I received. The barrel was very dirty. I ran over a hundred patches though it before the patches came out clean. After cleaning out the black gunk the patches started to come out rust brown. Bad sign. I also discovered there was a tight ridge in the barrel about 1" in from the breech. Another bad sign caused by bad machining of the barrel. The crown was very uneven and rough but I can correct that. It took about 20 shots before the gun stopped dieseling. Then I shot some strings over the chrono. It averaged 900 fps using 8.3 gr RWS Superdome pellets. Very good. But I had to adjust the iron sights to the extreme to compensate for a POI very low and very far left. Not good. I recrowned the muzzle hoping that would straighten out the shots. No fix. After several hundred shots down the barrel the groups were no better than 2'' at 50 feet. I concluded this gun had a defective barrel and returned it for a full refund to Walmart after four days. I would still recommend this airgun. I know a lot of people who have one and love it. I think I got unlucky and got one with a barrel that never should have left the factory. I may buy another and try again. Maybe my luck will improve.

Was this review helpful? (28) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
toojung2die
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 46 total reviews
1-20 of 46 reviews