Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 45 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

45 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

45 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
25
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
8
1-20 of 44 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews
High Power for Beginners, But Good RWS 34 Clone
11/22/2011

Customer review by PelletPlinker

4.0 stars 11/22/2011 by PelletPlinker
by PelletPlinker

The Airhawk is basically a near perfect clone of the much more expensive Diana RWS 34 Air Rifle, with a great copy of the T05 Diana trigger. Current RWS 34 rifles have a slightly better T06 trigger, but the T05 clone is very nice indeed. Parts, for example springs and seals, are interchangeable. Like most high power spring air rifles, it is a good idea to clean the stock screw threads and holes with alcohol, dry, reassemble with blue lock-tite and leave for 24 hours before shooting. Good idea for the nice fiber optic rear sight to barrel screws too! These rifles recoil and if you don't take care to reassemble with lock-tite, accuracy will suffer as the screws loosen up. No powerful spring rifle shoots well with too light a pellet. This rifle is NOT compatible with Gamo PBA Raptors or similar. This rifle was made for dome pellets weighing about 8 to 9 grains. Try some Crosman Premier 7.9 Domes, JSB exact, etc. Light pellets shoot too fast, will damage the piston seal due to not offering enough resistance to the spring, and will not be accurate in this rifle anyway. Heavier pellets may not break 1000 fps, but they hit harder. However there is an upper end too. This rifle is not suitable for pellets weighing over 10 grains either - too heavy is not good for the spring in a rifle with this power range. Don't expect flat head "wad cutter" or "pointed" pellets to be accurate much past 10 or 15 yards, but they are great for short range! The Airhawk is the real deal. Shooting a spring rifle of this power well takes some getting use too and requires using the right pellets. Unlike a firearm, the pellet is still in the barrel before the spring recoil is gone in a break barrel air rifle. The more powerful the spring air rifle, the more important it is to have a consistent hold on it every shot, or accuracy will suffer. You don't want a death grip, just a nice slightly firm, consistent hold. It can help not to pull the forearm of the rifle in too tight against your shoulder, but instead let it mostly rest on your outstretched hand. Like any product, there are some duds out there. But many purported accuracy issues are more likely due to lack of familiarity with high power spring air rifles or using inappropriate pellets than the product itself. This is a very nice, well made rifle for the price, even considering the scope mounts and scope that it comes with are nearly throw aways. This rifle deserves better scope rings so the scope does not slide back under recoil, and a better airgun rated AO scope for close range targets. But then it would cost more. The Airhawk Elite is a better value if you want a scope, but it comes with a heavier thumb hole stock and higher price too. There are better air rifles for much more money, but this is one of the best values in the "mass" market in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? (75) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PelletPlinker
SE United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good buy
11/30/2013

Customer review by Nickhorse

4.0 stars 11/30/2013 by Nickhorse
by Nickhorse

I got the wood stock. Long and heavy but after shooting a tin of pointed crossman pellets the gun proved to be accurate and hard hitting with open sights. Shot a 3/8 in. phone book up and went thru 1/4 in plywood behind it. Removed the breech o ring with a dental pick and shimmed under it before putting it back in place with a washer punched from a plastic lid because the breech o ring was not protruding from the breech when new. no big deal. Plastic sights didn't move easily on wind age but I sort of pushed them while turning the wheel and got them set. Sights work ok but don't look very durable. overal seems lke a good gun and I like it. Considered the crossman vantage due to lighter weight on specs.

Was this review helpful? (37) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nickhorse
West ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great airgun way better than what i exspected
2/9/2013

Customer review by extremeairgunner

5.0 stars 2/9/2013 by extremeairgunner
by extremeairgunner

its good hunting gun for squirrel rabbits birds has alot of power this gun is great

Was this review helpful? (41) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
extremeairgunner
Seven springs NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
More fun than I deserve
4/5/2013

Customer review by PNOTUNER

4.0 stars 4/5/2013 by PNOTUNER
by PNOTUNER

This AirGun is hard to sight in but shoots very well and is easy to pump and load. I watched some videos to see how to charge and load it. I bought my Air Hawk used from a nice young man without the scope. So I tried to shoot using the 'fiberoptic' sights. No good. the front sight is so high that when you adjust up the rear sight it get too loose. I bought a BSA scope and put it on to discover that the gun aims down and left more than you should adjust a scope. So I filed the front scope mount ring to move the front of the scope down and left to where the barrel is pointed, using a triangular file. When I got it close then I could zero it in with the adjuster screws. I can see the front sight through the scope so it gives me an extra point of reference to aim with. This gun is powerful and loud, unless you shoot lead pellets such as Crossman Premier hollow points. Light Alloy pellets like SSP's actually break the sound barrier out of this airgun and make a loud CRACK sound. Yes it was extra work sighting it in, but I like a challenge. If you don't, I recommend the Crossman Fury at about the same price.

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PNOTUNER
Houston, Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great buy for the money....
4/12/2014

Customer review by Rifleman0512

5.0 stars 4/12/2014 by Rifleman0512
by Rifleman0512

But, unlike the negitive reviews, take a little time to assemble and clean, yes, clean the rifle. This is a $75 mass produced pellet gun. Ruger along with all the firearm companies don't clean them like they need to be to enchance their proformance. If they were a percision,well oiled and honed rifle, they would cost thousands. Mount your scope correctly and use "blue" Loc-Tite, thread lock. Then clean the rifle. Factory oils are heavy and collect dirt. Use a good lubricant. Then sight it in. I bore sighted mine, and had it zero'd in, in 4 shots. The next 6 were within an inch and a half of each otber at 35 yds. I'm really surprised how accurate it is. I'm sure it will only get better as it breaks in. Visit YouTube for scope mounting and gun cleaning video. I found them to be very helpful. Good luck and shoot straight.

Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rifleman0512
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Ruger Air Hawk with scope...
11/27/2011

Customer review by captain77450

5.0 stars 11/27/2011 by captain77450
by captain77450

Excellent value. Very accurate. After dialing in scope, at 25 yards, 20 shots inside a 50 cent piece on a very windy day. REQUIRES adult supervision, in my opinion. This is NOT a toy. It will probably kill animals. Easily puts pellets through a 5/8" plywood. May not be legal in city limits. Your neighbors will call the police.

Was this review helpful? (30) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
captain77450
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
I got a bad one.
5/4/2014

Customer review by toojung2die

1.0 stars 5/4/2014 by toojung2die
by toojung2die

I got unlucky. I knew a lot about this airgun before buying it. It is a clone of the Diana RWS Model 34, made in China for Ruger. I already own a RWS model 34 and I was looking forward to seeing what I would get for 1/4 the cost. I couldn't resist at this price. The Air Hawk generally gets rave reviews. With a little tune up they can be made to shoot very well. Out of the box they are better than average. I was happy with the fit and finish on the Air Hawk I received. The barrel was very dirty. I ran over a hundred patches though it before the patches came out clean. After cleaning out the black gunk the patches started to come out rust brown. Bad sign. I also discovered there was a tight ridge in the barrel about 1" in from the breech. Another bad sign caused by bad machining of the barrel. The crown was very uneven and rough but I can correct that. It took about 20 shots before the gun stopped dieseling. Then I shot some strings over the chrono. It averaged 900 fps using 8.3 gr RWS Superdome pellets. Very good. But I had to adjust the iron sights to the extreme to compensate for a POI very low and very far left. Not good. I recrowned the muzzle hoping that would straighten out the shots. No fix. After several hundred shots down the barrel the groups were no better than 2'' at 50 feet. I concluded this gun had a defective barrel and returned it for a full refund to Walmart after four days. I would still recommend this airgun. I know a lot of people who have one and love it. I think I got unlucky and got one with a barrel that never should have left the factory. I may buy another and try again. Maybe my luck will improve.

Was this review helpful? (27) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
toojung2die
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Simply a fantastic gun
12/22/2011

Customer review by Ordie69

5.0 stars 12/22/2011 by Ordie69
by Ordie69

I picked this rifle up today for some back yard plinking and am astounded at the quality. I have a ruger 22 long rifle and this feels the exact same when shooting. After zeroing the scope and sighting the weapon at 45' and 165' (about 20 minutes) I am consistently hitting a 3/8' pattern at 165'. This is not a toy. It is a quality rifle with some serious power.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ordie69
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
exellent for a small game hunter
12/2/2013

Customer review by bobcathunter

5.0 stars 12/2/2013 by bobcathunter
by bobcathunter

great gun works very well. the scope wasn't sighted in and I took it off and after that the gun sighted in very nicely. easy to open and shoot.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bobcathunter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Not to bad 2nd time around
11/29/2011

Customer review by ttkk08

4.0 stars 11/29/2011 by ttkk08
by ttkk08

I picked this gun up after returning the Crosman Recruit ( which was worthless ). I got the open sights to sight in very well but the scope was horrible. I took it back and exchanged it out and the new one shoots very well so far. The scope on it actually was very easy to sight in as well as the open sights. This gun shoots pretty hard and will easily kill small pests and probably a little bigger pests with a precise shot. The best ammo for this is made by RWS. The PBA RAPTOR did not shoot very well for me at all...to erratic.

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ttkk08
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great gun
6/8/2012

Customer review by LuckOfTheIrishman

5.0 stars 6/8/2012 by LuckOfTheIrishman
by LuckOfTheIrishman

I bought the gun six months ago, dialed in the scope and it's deadly accurate and very fast. The only complaint I have is Ruger should have elevated scope rings so you can use the open sights.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LuckOfTheIrishman
Casa Grande, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
75$, beautiful stock and full metal, accurate
4/20/2014

Customer review by rco1234

5.0 stars 4/20/2014 by rco1234
by rco1234

This gun has beat all of my expectations. Looks. The actual stock had a beautiful finish over deep grain. Not a flaw. The metal was perfect. Rich and not a scratch. I think the only piece of plastic on this gun is the safety. Shoots. The Airhawk shoots very hard. Don't waste time tying any pellet under 8 grains. RWS 8.3 grain domes shoot a perfect hole at 15 yards, but even they are too light for distance shooting. To reach out 50, 75, even 90 yards and get a decent group...try a 10 grain pellet. I've found that Crosman 10.5 heavy domes work well. True, these pellets are slowed to more like 800 fps, but they do allow you to hit your target with an energetic wallop. I shot a pop can on its side and from the bottom over and over yesterday from 75 paces and a 10 mph wind. I want to emphasize that this gun is not a toy. It could injure or kill someone, it is heavy and requires some strength to use. Please do not buy this for your 12 year old. Negatives. The scope and it's rings are seriously okay...if you move them to a pumper or pcp (which I did). Otherwise, use the very accurate open sites or put a better scope and rings on it. The rings, let me explain, are not firn enough to hold a scope in place on a magnum like this with serious kick. Kick. I shot about 300 pellets yesterday. Today I have a bruise on my shoulder. The gun pounds that pellet out and pounds your shoulder back. All but the most expensive springers will hit you just as hard at this level of power. The gun is heavy. Just be aware. Around 9 pounds with scope. I can walk with it, but getting a good shot requires that I balance on something. Shoot about 500 to 750 pellets before the gun shoots it's best. That sounds like a lot, but it will get better with each shot. Breaking the barrel is easier than I expected (about 30 pounds), feels more like 20 pounds. I don't have any problem. Well worth the money. You will keep this gun and use it as a favorite.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rco1234
Las Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome springer, worth every penny...
5/24/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/24/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I did a lot of research before opting for the rugger air hawk. After shooting it the first time for about 30 minutes, I couldnt understand why this gun has some negative reviews on some sites. Anyways, this thing shoot straight right out of the box (mine did at least, and that with regular 7.9gr pellets). Yeah the scope is cheap but it work. Set up a target, mount the scope and shoot. Ajust the scope accordingly (up and down or left and right until you get it right. I take a bit of work. It took me about 30 minutes to find the sweet spot. Im not at the dime or quarter size target yet but after setting up the scope, I consistantly hit a dollar bill size target at 30 yard. Not bad for a beginner and on the first day with the gun. Some say its made in China so what? What isn't? IPhone, iPad, nike....etc. all about quality control which is pi highly tight to the brand. Apple will not let China put out cheap products under their name/license. Buttom line buy this, try it with different ammo...what do you have to lose anyway? You have 90 days return window.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Tacoma, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great trigger and overall quality for the price
4/27/2014

Customer review by raventree78

4.0 stars 4/27/2014 by raventree78
by raventree78

well made, very solidly built. nice fit and finish. scope is not up to the quality of the rifle. warning the first shot is LOUD like 22 rimfire loud. this is due to dieseling and goes away with the first 10 or so shots. this is definitely a keeper and will get better with use as it wears in. smooth shot cycle.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
raventree78
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lighter than Expected
4/15/2014

Customer review by Beesnbears

5.0 stars 4/15/2014 by Beesnbears
by Beesnbears

The rifle was picked up in store. I brought it home and had to try it out. The trigger is very smooth and the stock fit my adult hand/shoulder. The mechanism was easy to open and load. It was lighter than I expected having used in the past a buddy of mines Daisy Powerline model. That unit was very heavy. I am very pleased. When fired it sounds like a 22 rifle due to the velocity of the projectile. If you are looking for a stealth firing rifle, this is not for you. You will need to look for a slower fps performer than this one which fires at 1200 fps.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Beesnbears
Asheville NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excelent value for the sale price !!
5/2/2014

Customer review by DnVP

5.0 stars 5/2/2014 by DnVP
by DnVP

This is a quality product. This is a powerful pellet rifle. After zeroing in, with quality pellets, it is very accurate. My only negative comment was inadequate padding material in shipping.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DnVP
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good fun! Good value!
12/29/2013

Customer review by Blessed4Eternity

4.0 stars 12/29/2013 by Blessed4Eternity
by Blessed4Eternity

This gun has a beautiful finish and is very well made especially for the price range. The included scope is lesser quality than the gun itself thus my 4 star rating, but for the price just to get a scope with this gun was a plus. Great for target practice for all teens and adults. Bought this one for my Dad who has been a marksman for 65 years and he loves us! His neighborhood has become more populated and he hesitates to shoot his .22 now. Probably going to get one for myself to play with in the back meadow with my spouse target shooting too!

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Blessed4Eternity
Tolna PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/27/2012

Customer review by PaulNC68

5.0 stars 5/27/2012 by PaulNC68
by PaulNC68

The Ruger Air Hawks are probably one of the best deals on a mid powered air gun you'll find. The build quality is better than average for an air rifle in this price range and the ratio of defective units to good performing units is low. These are Chinese XISICO XS25 versions of the RWS 34 and are a very good clone with very similar performance. These rifles are even better in a professionally tuned configuration, http://flyingdragonairrifles.org/XISICO_XS25.html , and can perform as well as the RWS 34 once given only the basic attention.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PaulNC68
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Powerful and accurate
4/18/2014

Customer review by FromKentucky

5.0 stars 4/18/2014 by FromKentucky
by FromKentucky

This air rifle is a good value. After about 25 rounds I was shooting quarter size groups at 20 yards right out of the box.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FromKentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Powerful and Good Looking
4/21/2014

Customer review by JE76

5.0 stars 4/21/2014 by JE76
by JE76

Nice looking pellet gun. Has a lot of power and good weight to it. I like that it comes with a scope and iron sight, if you don't want to use the scope.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JE76
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews