Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 16 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

16 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

16 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-15 of 15 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Tracfone's SVC...user friendly option.
11/29/2010

Customer review by Limas12

4.0 stars 11/29/2010 by Limas12
by Limas12

This is the phone also known for being Tracfone's Senior Value Cellphone. As more seniors are discovering the convenience of cellphones, and specifically prepaid options, so providers are starting to cater to their specific needs. One of my mom's friends have this SVC, and so my mom decided she should have one too! She asked me to look into it, and it seemed perfect for her needs, so I purchased it for her. She's been using it for 2-3 months now, and I'm amazed at how quickly she's got the hang of it. I've checked it out and I can understand why. The font is large, the screen bright and the sound clarity good. It's quite a compact flip phone, so she can easily keep it on her. There are light up icons on the outside of the phone to let you know when you've got a message or missed call, which I think is nice for practical purposes, though I think she just likes it for the gizmo effect!;) It has 911 location assist, but what probably sets it apart for seniors, is the easy navigation menu- couldn't be simpler. Of course the other benefit is that it's a Tracfone, so rates are as low as $7 (though with her growing confidence with the phone, I don't see it staying that low). No contract is needed and there is no bill to deal with. I can also easily keep tabs on how many minutes she has left, as it is displayed onscreen. This has been a valuable choice and I would recommend it to others looking for a simple, reliable and budget friendly option.

Was this review helpful? (139) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Limas12
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
it is a TRAC phone ~ one of the BETTER trac phones
12/28/2010

Customer review by not2manyhares

4.0 stars 12/28/2010 by not2manyhares
by not2manyhares

Trac phones come with a sad reputation"cheap and toss". This one is better than we expected. Registered it on line and added the cell phone minutes for the first time. EASIEST way to do it. took about 10 minutes. NEGATIVES: phone locked once and said only 911 calls allowed~ I simply shut off the phone and it "reset" itself and worked perfect. PLUS: LARGE EASY TO READ NUMBERS WHEN YOU DIAL~ one of the BEST features, nice easy keyboard, flips open so harder to turn on by accident. excellent sound quality. ODD thing: we ordered this on the Walmart website it stated it would not work in our area: it worked perfect~ I would give this 4 out of 5 for ease of use TOP viewing of dialed numbers and ease of set up on line.

Was this review helpful? (57) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
not2manyhares
Goshen Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Ideal for my needs
12/12/2010

Customer review by GranJax

4.0 stars 12/12/2010 by GranJax
by GranJax

The description and statistics are all stated here, so I will not mention them all again, only highlight the ones that really make a difference to me. I find it wonderful that the screen text is so easy to read, as it's something I've had problems with on previous phones. It is also such an easy phone to operate if you read the onscreen prompts...takes one to exactly where you need to be. The phone is also quite compact, so I can slip it into my pocket and don't need to worry so about forgetting it on a counter-top or table when I'm out. The one thing I do avoid on the phone is anything to do with the internet. I've heard it can be costly, and I don't really understand how it works with a cell phone, so I rather just stick to my home computer. As mentioned by the other reviewer, a huge plus for me too, is that it is a Tracfone. My monthly budget for my cellphone is so much lower than what it was on a contract, with me paying around $10/month. I did purchase the double minutes for life card, which at least gives me a decent amount of minutes for the same low price. I also don't have the problem of all the add-ons one seems to get with a bill. I can also hear the callers very clearly and haven't yet had a problem with connecting a call. This has been a good call as far as I'm concerned and am very happy with the phone and service.

Was this review helpful? (43) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GranJax
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Cellphone made easy.
12/30/2010

Customer review by PlatinumLined

5.0 stars 12/30/2010 by PlatinumLined
by PlatinumLined

My mom uses this phone-it's the Senior Value cell from Tracfone. At 66, she's nowhere near the age of only using a phone for emergencies, so I was looking for something that was still a capable texting phone, but easy on the eyes and not confusing to navigate. This phone has large text and a bright screen and the navigation menu is so easy to operate. Battery life seems to be good and it's lightweight and compact. She's had it for about 4 months now, and is not missing her old phone at all. I will be honest here and say the standard $20 airtime card (over 3 months) just didn't provide enough minutes for her needs, so went for the 1 year, double minutes for life card, thereby upping her monthly minutes, as well as meaning we didn't have to top up quite so frequently. It's proven to be a valuable purchase for a lady that uses her phone, but not excessively. Cost is kept down to about $10/month, Tracfone has good coverage and she no longer has the worry of a bill. I'd definitely recommend it as a hassle-free option.

Was this review helpful? (38) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PlatinumLined
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great phone for my 11 yr old son wanting 1st phone
6/30/2011

Customer review by GeorgiaMommaof2

5.0 stars 6/30/2011 by GeorgiaMommaof2
by GeorgiaMommaof2

I bought this for my 11 year old son who travels back and forth to his dad's house, and wanted a cell phone to be able to call us and his friends here at home. He LOVES it! The price is right, the phone is a good quality Samsung phone, has been durable for the last almost month now that he has had it, and was super easy for me to set up.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GeorgiaMommaof2
Buford, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Samsung Tracfone
2/3/2011

Customer review by Star1992

4.0 stars 2/3/2011 by Star1992
by Star1992

I was pleased with the price of this TracFone;I received it using Site-to-Store, so I paid no shipping. My overall impression of its looks and use is generally favorable--it works. However, the navigation keys around the center key is hard to use unless one has dainty fingers, which I do not. It is also hard to set the loudness of open/close tones,(mine is too soft) and I cannot figure out how to turn off the vibration when I receive a call (I only want the ring.) I only use my Tracfone occasionally/when I am unable to use our home phone; and I think Tracfone could do a much better job explaining how to use this item for us once-in-awhile users.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Star1992
Pleasanton, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Practical and functional
1/23/2011

Customer review by SatisfyMe

5.0 stars 1/23/2011 by SatisfyMe
by SatisfyMe

I use my cell phone for making phone calls, and I find this phone to be totally satisfactory for my purpose. There is not a lot of bells and whistles to get in the way and complicate the use of the phone.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SatisfyMe
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/2/2011

Customer review by Menogal

5.0 stars 10/2/2011 by Menogal
by Menogal

I've always used pre paid phones (tracfone). I had replaced a tracfone a few months ago with another tracfone, but had many issues with it and the Tracfone company. I decided to give tracfone one more chance and bought this (tracfone) phone from Walmart, knowing that their return policy is lenient, if need be. For the money (less than $10), it is a wonderful phone. It is basic, but I get good reception and no problems with text messages. It does what I need it to do and of course I only purchase minutes if I need them. If I do decide to purchase another tracfone in the future, I would consider Walmart before buying directly from tracfone, again!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Menogal
Newtown Square, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not what it pretends to be
11/28/2011

Customer review by grandmabestlittlehelper

1.0 stars 11/28/2011 by grandmabestlittlehelper
by grandmabestlittlehelper

I was looking for a cellphone for my grandmother so that if she has a problem while out and about she could get in touch with me or my husband. I wanted something she could use once maybe twice a year in case of an emergency so I looked at go phones and came across this one. Sure it looks easy enough but then you realize that you are doing something with a basic contract. No, there's not a charge every month but I might as well have gotten her something from T-Mobile at this rate. She'll be paying for minutes she's not going to use and have to buy "service extension". This is stupid I just want not to have to worry about her and now this is just adding to it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
grandmabestlittlehelper
Arnold, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Nice phone for a senior citizen
8/8/2011

Customer review by NanaBRS242

5.0 stars 8/8/2011 by NanaBRS242
by NanaBRS242

My new phone was easy to "get started", although they gave me a # that is NOT my area code. Watch out for that, if you buy one. The numbers are large and easy to read, and the menu is easy to access and follow. Over all, a nice flip-phone. Sound quality is also good.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NanaBRS242
Southern Central PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Extremely Nice Basic Cell Phone
10/4/2011

Customer review by MizGail

5.0 stars 10/4/2011 by MizGail
by MizGail

I rate this phone as Excellent on a cost versus features basis. I paid $9.88 plus shipping--so $13 total. I only needed/wanted a basic cell phone and wasn't concerned about text messages or online capability. This phone has both. It's quite easy to add and retrieve address book info, voice messages, and so forth. Once I got in the swing of how to navigate its menu system, it's a breeze. Also, the display counts down available minutes and plan time that is left so you never have to wonder when it needs to be reloaded. The battery has a reasonably long charge life, especially in stand by mode so you don't have to keep plugging it in. My opinion of Tracfone as a service is still out--haven't had it long enough yet. So far, I'm on the fence.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MizGail
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent
4/5/2011

Customer review by PrintBuddy

5.0 stars 4/5/2011 by PrintBuddy
by PrintBuddy

great phone works great

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PrintBuddy
Wilmington DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/9/2011

Customer review by EEKEEKEEK

5.0 stars 10/9/2011 by EEKEEKEEK
by EEKEEKEEK

GOOD. We will buy another one for my sister-in-law

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EEKEEKEEK
Long Beach, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1/18/2012

Customer review by BJB3

5.0 stars 1/18/2012 by BJB3
by BJB3

Works great. Not hard to figure out. Loud enough but not too loud.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BJB3
Braidwood, Ill.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good cheap phone.
2/16/2012

Customer review by Bouvguy

4.0 stars 2/16/2012 by Bouvguy
by Bouvguy

Phone works well, sounds is good and has more than just basic functions. Bad part is registering the phone. You have to register either online or from another phone. After registering it can take an hour or more for the phone to start working.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bouvguy
Lexington, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days