Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 33 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

33 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

33 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
10
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 stars
6
1-20 of 32 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews
Works as advertised
11/11/2011

Customer review by VJRocky

3.0 stars 11/11/2011 by VJRocky
by VJRocky

I installed this camera on my Jeep. The camera view and clarity is good, however the camera monitor picks up ambient signals from other local cameras in the form of partial images or just snow on the screen as you drive, especially near shopping centers where store surveillance systems are active and on similar frequencies. The camera monitor has a constant blinking blue LED which can be annoying at night. The monitor can be turned off, but then you lose the automatic view when backing up. This device requires considerable knowledge to wire into the existing vehicle backup light harness. There is a wireless transmitter that must be wired to the backup lights for the camera to operate when the vehicle is placed in reverse. Then there are the connecting wires that should be hidden behind the vehicle panels. Not for novices.

Was this review helpful? (68) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VJRocky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
could be better
2/7/2016

Customer review by maverick

2.0 stars 2/7/2016 by maverick
by maverick

Transmitter keeps losing contact. Needs to be very close to receiver. Might as well purchased a wired unit.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
maverick
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent camera everyone should have one!
9/13/2014

Customer review by BurningDesireFriar

5.0 stars 9/13/2014 by BurningDesireFriar
by BurningDesireFriar
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this camera about a week ago because I got very tired of backing my truck up to my trailers. Having to get out of the truck, see how far off I was and then get back in the truck, back up again over and over until I was lined up and could attach the trailer to the truck. It was a real pain in the neck! With this new PEAK Backup Camera it makes this procedure a snap! Very easy to install. I used an old cigarette lighter plugin and spliced it on to the power end of the camera, works great! If you are somewhat of a prankster like myself it is a great way to freak your friends out that do not know you have the camera installed! I come at top speed in reverse after asking them to help me backup to the trailer and stop perfectly in place to attach trailer! I get a great laugh every time hehee… Anyway {DO NOT TRY THIS BACKUP TRICK YOURSELF} I am a professional… Cheers, enjoy this product I certainly do…

Was this review helpful? (10) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BurningDesireFriar
COLORADO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not For The Novice
5/21/2011

Customer review by PapaSanders43

2.0 stars 5/21/2011 by PapaSanders43
by PapaSanders43

Back-up camera was advertised as "wireless" on both WalMart's website and the instructions. Instructions also said "installs in minutes". In fact this camera was not wireless, a hole was required to be drilled in car body and extensive wiring was required. Also, installation would have taken at least 2-3 hours. I returned the product.

Was this review helpful? (114) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PapaSanders43
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works greate
8/24/2013

Customer review by 2snakes

5.0 stars 8/24/2013 by 2snakes
by 2snakes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Wire hookup can be challenging if you do not have a wire diagram of your vehicle.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2snakes
New Fairfield,ct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great after market camera!
2/2/2014

Customer review by SargeMac

4.0 stars 2/2/2014 by SargeMac
by SargeMac
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Purchased to install on my Honda Odyssey. Installation was very simple and easy. Took maybe 30 minutes to install. Really makes backing up and parking much easier. Only problem is sometimes when driving passed places with automatic door openers the monitor will flicker on.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SargeMac
Huntsville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
About as I expected.
9/15/2013

Customer review by TechItemShopper

4.0 stars 9/15/2013 by TechItemShopper
by TechItemShopper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had a Peak 2 1/2" monitor that wasn't in vivid color and didn't display any area beyond the width of the car. It was difficult to see and generally useless. I replaced that monitor with this one. Problem solved. This also gives me a spare old monitor and a new camera for emergengy use. I wish I'd bought the larger 3 1/2" unit to begin with, Lesson learned.

Was this review helpful? (23) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TechItemShopper
Waterford, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Priced right, Installs easily
10/21/2014

Customer review by AZCOWBOY47

5.0 stars 10/21/2014 by AZCOWBOY47
by AZCOWBOY47
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works great, installs easily and with very little effort. Only thing I did different was to power the camera with the running lights rather than the back up lights. This way, I can have use of it anytime I want. It allows me to check on my trailer hitch, chains and etc as I'm traveling.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AZCOWBOY47
Southwest Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bad camera
4/30/2014

Customer review by none888888888888888888888

1.0 stars 4/30/2014 by none888888888888888888888
by none888888888888888888888
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Does not work most the time, can not get a clear pic.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
none888888888888888888888
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/11/2013

Customer review by HARRY111

3.0 stars 1/11/2013 by HARRY111
by HARRY111
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

ON A SUBURBAN IT REQUIRES A GREAT DEAL OF TIME AS THE TAIL GATE IS WHERE THE LISCENSE PLATE IS AND THE BACK UP LIGHTS ARE ARE NOT CLOSE. TIME REMOVING PANELS AND REPLACING.... 4 HR.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HARRY111
PENNSYLVANIA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
High Quality Image
2/12/2015

Customer review by CJTC

5.0 stars 2/12/2015 by CJTC
by CJTC

This was relatively easy to install. The wireless feature eliminates the need to feed wires from the license plate to the front of the dash. The picture quality is excellent. The mount for the video screen limits the placement of the unit.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CJTC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easier to install than I thought
1/4/2015

Customer review by Jakeytoo

4.0 stars 1/4/2015 by Jakeytoo
by Jakeytoo

I reluctantly got this backup cam for my wife for Christmas, because she wanted one. I say reluctantly because I was the one that had to install it and after reading some of the installation woes of some of the reviewers here, I was not eager to do so. Working on vehicles outdoors in the winter is NOT one of my favorite things to do, fortunately the weather was fairly nice two days after Christmas and we had nothing planned. This cam was installed on a 2008 Hyundai Santa Fe and took about an hour. The time would have been cut shorter if I would not have had to research the wiring of the Santa Fe. I had to remove 5 screws for the rear hatch panel and pop it loose. Drill a 1/2 inch hole just behind where the camera was going to mount. I used the grommet supplied and sealed around the grommet and wires with silicon to further weather proof. Tapped into the hot and ground wire for the backup lights using the provided quick splicers ( I will remove those and do a proper splice with solder sometime in the spring). Mounted the transmitter inside the rear hatch with included zip ties. Replaced the panel on the hatch, plugged in the monitor and done. The hardest part is finding a good spot to mount the monitor. So far it seems to be a decent little camera and my wife is thrilled with it. She feels much better knowing she can see what is directly behind her and outside of the area visible by the rear view mirror.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jakeytoo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
nice camera
11/9/2015

Customer review by ed2337

5.0 stars 11/9/2015 by ed2337
by ed2337

easy to install and at a great price...thanks walmart!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ed2337
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great camera for a after market product
4/16/2014

Customer review by Nomad1700

5.0 stars 4/16/2014 by Nomad1700
by Nomad1700
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to install. it took more time to run the wires in a safe location than it did to install the camera. About 40 minutes to install the camera and hook up the monitor. About 1 and 1/2 hours to do the whole job. Sweet : - )

Was this review helpful? (9) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nomad1700
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Review
10/9/2015

Customer review by Donald

4.0 stars 10/9/2015 by Donald
by Donald

Bought this to repair my already installed Peak back up camera.... changing the transmitter fixed it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Donald
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
CAmery a bust
9/28/2015

Customer review by Quinn

1.0 stars 9/28/2015 by Quinn
by Quinn

The installation was straight forward enough but even with an associates degree in electronics the camera never once functioned at all

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Quinn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Peak back camera
5/24/2015

Customer review by JoeC

1.0 stars 5/24/2015 by JoeC
by JoeC

A good product, The display could be a little brighter. The olny thing missing is an audio alert.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JoeC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice low budget camera
9/18/2015

Customer review by Bill

5.0 stars 9/18/2015 by Bill
by Bill

The camera works well and has a nice sharp image. The only downside for me is the fact that I can't see my trailer hitch. Aside from that, I'm very pleased with this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bill
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
backup camera mounted for rear trailer monitor
5/13/2015

Customer review by robert

3.0 stars 5/13/2015 by robert
by robert

I bought installed on rear top of 25 ft camp trailer to monitor jet ski trailer and rear view behind camper when moving power by clearance lite. the distance from top of transmitter to dash cam receiver in car approx. 40 ft unfortunly image comes and goes with distortion, I purchased extension cable, to move transmission antenna to front of trailer so distance to dash cam in car closer maybe 20 ft. have not had chance to install to see if improvement. probably would work real well if just mounted to rear of car.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
robert
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works like I thought
8/15/2015

Customer review by David

4.0 stars 8/15/2015 by David
by David

This does exactly the way I wanted it too. It helps me backing up by truck and hitching up my travel trailer.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
David
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews