Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 28 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

28 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

28 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
5
1-20 of 27 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews
Not For The Novice
5/21/2011

Customer review by PapaSanders43

2.0 stars 5/21/2011 by PapaSanders43
by PapaSanders43

Back-up camera was advertised as "wireless" on both WalMart's website and the instructions. Instructions also said "installs in minutes". In fact this camera was not wireless, a hole was required to be drilled in car body and extensive wiring was required. Also, installation would have taken at least 2-3 hours. I returned the product.

Was this review helpful? (101) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PapaSanders43
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works as advertised
11/11/2011

Customer review by VJRocky

3.0 stars 11/11/2011 by VJRocky
by VJRocky

I installed this camera on my Jeep. The camera view and clarity is good, however the camera monitor picks up ambient signals from other local cameras in the form of partial images or just snow on the screen as you drive, especially near shopping centers where store surveillance systems are active and on similar frequencies. The camera monitor has a constant blinking blue LED which can be annoying at night. The monitor can be turned off, but then you lose the automatic view when backing up. This device requires considerable knowledge to wire into the existing vehicle backup light harness. There is a wireless transmitter that must be wired to the backup lights for the camera to operate when the vehicle is placed in reverse. Then there are the connecting wires that should be hidden behind the vehicle panels. Not for novices.

Was this review helpful? (54) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VJRocky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
About as I expected.
9/15/2013

Customer review by TechItemShopper

4.0 stars 9/15/2013 by TechItemShopper
by TechItemShopper

I had a Peak 2 1/2" monitor that wasn't in vivid color and didn't display any area beyond the width of the car. It was difficult to see and generally useless. I replaced that monitor with this one. Problem solved. This also gives me a spare old monitor and a new camera for emergengy use. I wish I'd bought the larger 3 1/2" unit to begin with, Lesson learned.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TechItemShopper
Waterford, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great after market camera!
2/2/2014

Customer review by SargeMac

4.0 stars 2/2/2014 by SargeMac
by SargeMac

Purchased to install on my Honda Odyssey. Installation was very simple and easy. Took maybe 30 minutes to install. Really makes backing up and parking much easier. Only problem is sometimes when driving passed places with automatic door openers the monitor will flicker on.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SargeMac
Huntsville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works greate
8/24/2013

Customer review by 2snakes

5.0 stars 8/24/2013 by 2snakes
by 2snakes

Wire hookup can be challenging if you do not have a wire diagram of your vehicle.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2snakes
New Fairfield,ct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/11/2013

Customer review by HARRY111

3.0 stars 1/11/2013 by HARRY111
by HARRY111

ON A SUBURBAN IT REQUIRES A GREAT DEAL OF TIME AS THE TAIL GATE IS WHERE THE LISCENSE PLATE IS AND THE BACK UP LIGHTS ARE ARE NOT CLOSE. TIME REMOVING PANELS AND REPLACING.... 4 HR.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HARRY111
PENNSYLVANIA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great camera for a after market product
4/16/2014

Customer review by Nomad1700

5.0 stars 4/16/2014 by Nomad1700
by Nomad1700

Easy to install. it took more time to run the wires in a safe location than it did to install the camera. About 40 minutes to install the camera and hook up the monitor. About 1 and 1/2 hours to do the whole job. Sweet : - )

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nomad1700
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bad camera
4/30/2014

Customer review by none888888888888888888888

1.0 stars 4/30/2014 by none888888888888888888888
by none888888888888888888888

Does not work most the time, can not get a clear pic.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
none888888888888888888888
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Priced right, Installs easily
10/21/2014

Customer review by AZCOWBOY47

5.0 stars 10/21/2014 by AZCOWBOY47
by AZCOWBOY47

Works great, installs easily and with very little effort. Only thing I did different was to power the camera with the running lights rather than the back up lights. This way, I can have use of it anytime I want. It allows me to check on my trailer hitch, chains and etc as I'm traveling.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AZCOWBOY47
Southwest Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent camera everyone should have one!
9/13/2014

Customer review by BurningDesireFriar

5.0 stars 9/13/2014 by BurningDesireFriar
by BurningDesireFriar

I purchased this camera about a week ago because I got very tired of backing my truck up to my trailers. Having to get out of the truck, see how far off I was and then get back in the truck, back up again over and over until I was lined up and could attach the trailer to the truck. It was a real pain in the neck! With this new PEAK Backup Camera it makes this procedure a snap! Very easy to install. I used an old cigarette lighter plugin and spliced it on to the power end of the camera, works great! If you are somewhat of a prankster like myself it is a great way to freak your friends out that do not know you have the camera installed! I come at top speed in reverse after asking them to help me backup to the trailer and stop perfectly in place to attach trailer! I get a great laugh every time hehee… Anyway {DO NOT TRY THIS BACKUP TRICK YOURSELF} I am a professional… Cheers, enjoy this product I certainly do…

Was this review helpful? (8) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BurningDesireFriar
COLORADO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
High Quality Image
2/12/2015

Customer review by CJTC

5.0 stars 2/12/2015 by CJTC
by CJTC

This was relatively easy to install. The wireless feature eliminates the need to feed wires from the license plate to the front of the dash. The picture quality is excellent. The mount for the video screen limits the placement of the unit.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CJTC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Blinks Constantly
6/22/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 6/22/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

It would be much more useable if the camera didn't blink so much. I haven't done trouble shooting but it was installed by the book :(

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
VT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easier to install than I thought
1/4/2015

Customer review by Jakeytoo

4.0 stars 1/4/2015 by Jakeytoo
by Jakeytoo

I reluctantly got this backup cam for my wife for Christmas, because she wanted one. I say reluctantly because I was the one that had to install it and after reading some of the installation woes of some of the reviewers here, I was not eager to do so. Working on vehicles outdoors in the winter is NOT one of my favorite things to do, fortunately the weather was fairly nice two days after Christmas and we had nothing planned. This cam was installed on a 2008 Hyundai Santa Fe and took about an hour. The time would have been cut shorter if I would not have had to research the wiring of the Santa Fe. I had to remove 5 screws for the rear hatch panel and pop it loose. Drill a 1/2 inch hole just behind where the camera was going to mount. I used the grommet supplied and sealed around the grommet and wires with silicon to further weather proof. Tapped into the hot and ground wire for the backup lights using the provided quick splicers ( I will remove those and do a proper splice with solder sometime in the spring). Mounted the transmitter inside the rear hatch with included zip ties. Replaced the panel on the hatch, plugged in the monitor and done. The hardest part is finding a good spot to mount the monitor. So far it seems to be a decent little camera and my wife is thrilled with it. She feels much better knowing she can see what is directly behind her and outside of the area visible by the rear view mirror.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jakeytoo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Camera for price
1/18/2015

Customer review by Gahntr

1.0 stars 1/18/2015 by Gahntr
by Gahntr

Camera works great once installed.Took longer to install because wires were not long enough to install Transmitter inside cab extended cab 2006 Chevy Silverado.I had to splice wires to extend them.I know a little about electronics so had no problem.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gahntr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Peak back camera
5/24/2015

Customer review by JoeC

1.0 stars 5/24/2015 by JoeC
by JoeC

A good product, The display could be a little brighter. The olny thing missing is an audio alert.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JoeC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product!
7/6/2014

Customer review by MrCleaninGville

5.0 stars 7/6/2014 by MrCleaninGville
by MrCleaninGville

Great product! Took about one hour to install. Works a lot better than i thought.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrCleaninGville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
peak 3.5 inch backup camera from walmart.com
1/30/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 1/30/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Took 2-3 hours to install on chevy hhr. had to drill hole near license plate and take off inside panels to run wires to backup light. Setup on dash was easy and the camera works great. I put electric tape over the annoying blue flashing light. Shipment by Walmart was prompt.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hard to install.
11/24/2014

Customer review by bigg8

3.0 stars 11/24/2014 by bigg8
by bigg8

It took three hours to install on my Explorer. I thought I learned how to do it but it then took three or four hours to install on my Pick up. Instructions were sparse. It works fine now that it is installed. "Installs in minutes" means "hundreds of minutes".

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bigg8
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
5/29/2012

Customer review by camperman2

4.0 stars 5/29/2012 by camperman2
by camperman2

ease put in an works good

Was this review helpful? (5) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
camperman2
Hale MO.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Peak 3.5 Backup Camera
6/6/2015

Customer review by ToyPuller

5.0 stars 6/6/2015 by ToyPuller
by ToyPuller

Before the backup camera was installed I had to get out and in of my car to get lined up with my trailer. Now I am able to line up perfectly on the first try. I only have to get out of my car once to hitch-up. What a time and stress level saver.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ToyPuller
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews