Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 160 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

160 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

160 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
106
4 stars
29
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 stars
14
1-20 of 136 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 136 total reviews
1-20 of 136 reviews
Great product
12/6/2010

Customer review by gbabesmom

5.0 stars 12/6/2010 by gbabesmom
by gbabesmom

I got this machine on black Friday. I am new to sewing with a machine. Actually, I have not used one since 7th grade. Everything was simple to understand. The enclosed dvd was a great help. I started making Christmas gifts the first day I got it. It includes 2 extra needles and three bobbins. The threading was a breeze and winding the bobbin was easy, also. I really enjoy this machine and I would recommend it to anyone who is interested in learning to sew.

Was this review helpful? (375) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gbabesmom
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Little Machine!
12/13/2010

Customer review by HugsNStitches

5.0 stars 12/13/2010 by HugsNStitches
by HugsNStitches

I had my friend pick this up for me on Black Friday as our local store was sold out. I was nervous afterwards as I read some of the reviews. I got the machine today and it is exactly what I have come to expect from Brother, a great little machine! I opened the box, threaded the machine, and sewed fleece scarves right away. This machine powered through three layers of fleece without straining. I am shocked at how quiet it is! I am very impressed. Sure, this machine does not have a lot of fancy options, but it is a great starter machine or back-up machine. I personally own 4 other machines and wanted this to save the wear and tear on my more expensive machines as I teach my son to sew. As a home economics teacher and someone who sews every day, I love this machine!

Was this review helpful? (171) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HugsNStitches
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Black Friday Special.
11/27/2010

Customer review by JustAGirl1337

5.0 stars 11/27/2010 by JustAGirl1337
by JustAGirl1337

The Tuesday before Black Friday, I looked at the Walmart site and checked out the sales at my local store. Having very minimal experience with sewing machines in the past and wanting to pick back up the hobby, I noticed this machine for only 50$. There was a stack of about 20 when I got to the store and quickly picked up a box. When I opened it, I got what I expected. A very sturdy and small sewing machine. It was a little heavier once out of the box (if that makes much sense) and does not come with a carrying case and the handle which to move the sewing machine isn't on top (which would be the only drawback I can currently think of). Threading the machine was very simple and the manual for the machine was very descriptive. It also comes with an instructional DVD I've yet to look at for the lack of need to. I did a few practice stitches in various materials and the machine runs very smooth. I would recommend for an amateur seamstress, like myself, or anyone looking for an inexpensive but powerful sewing machine.

Was this review helpful? (143) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JustAGirl1337
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Great for beginner--me
4/24/2011

Customer review by BibliophileKnitSew

5.0 stars 4/24/2011 by BibliophileKnitSew
by BibliophileKnitSew

Could be great for a seasoned seamstress, I cannot rate that :) it is a great and sturdy little machine, especially for the price! Everyone was telling me I would gave to fork out $150-$200 for a "good" machine. I'm happy to have proved them wrong. Love the tutorial disc, über helpful! I was able to set it up and sew a quick little project in the first 30 minutes (that includes taking it out of the box!) I def. recommend this for a "virgin" seamer, such as myself. Yes, as in never touched a sewing machine before. The word bobbin was something kids did for apples at Halloween. Yeah. That beginner.Oh, and as for the light issue that others have mentioned, I've used mine several times and had no problem. There must be some faulty ones out there, but come on, it's walmart.....exchanges are far from impossible ppl.

Was this review helpful? (119) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BibliophileKnitSew
Sugar Land, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good beginner machine, great price
1/24/2011

Customer review by Molly5girl

5.0 stars 1/24/2011 by Molly5girl
by Molly5girl

I was worried after I bought two of these machines for my girls (8 and 10), after reading some of the initial reviews. When I opened the box, the machine seemed sturdy and nice looking. We set up the machine and it was easy to use and perfect for a beginner, not too many confusing buttons etc. My 8 year old was able to make a pillow and use the zig zag to put an initial on, she was so excited and proud. The machine ran smoothly and quickly and we had no problem. We opened the second machine a few weeks later with the same outcome. My 10 year old made bean bags by herself. She previously had a 3/4 size kenmore which was the same price and had no light and a lot less features. So yes, I am really pleased with these machines and I would recommend them.

Was this review helpful? (36) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Molly5girl
Salt lake city
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
they would never use this on PR
2/7/2011

Customer review by kconover

1.0 stars 2/7/2011 by kconover
by kconover

I very rarely write product reviews, however I am writing as a warning especially to beginners about how strongly I recommend against purchasing this product. I understand its inexpensive, which is the only thing going for it. I can not believe that project runway allows this unfunctional, poorly made product to carry its name. They would never use this on PR. Here were my issues: I am a beginner. I know nothing about sewing. I wanted to make curtains and pillows out of some fabulous fabric I purchased. the first time I tried to use it, the tension was so out of whack that it wouldn't even hold a stitch. I had a sewing pro friend come over to help me adjust it and learn the basics. We tried every single setting and still the stitches wouldn't hold. On top of that the bobbin jams almost once per minute, and the fabric gets stuck underfoot. Extremely annoying, as you then have to untangle thread, pull out your seam ripper and remove the stitches, remove and replace the bobbin, and most likely rethread the machine, as the needle comes unthreaded quite often. I called brother customer svc and they recommended taking it to a shop 50 miles away to be repaired- not an option- as it was brand new! It also says it has 20 stitch functions; it has only 2. It is surely not strong enough to do zippers, or any fabric heavier than cotton. I tried a flannel and it was a disaster. As a beginner, the last thing I would want is for you to become too discouraged and quit. Sewing is fun! Get a great machine you can grow into. I recommed the brother cs5000I, it has 70 stitch functions, 5+ feet for different projects, and over 800 great reviews online. For a hundred bucks more you could have a machine that will last many years. Walmart did return my faulty machine with no questions asked, so I gladly purchased a replacement from them, knowing if I had any problems I could return that one as well. Happy sewing! I hope this review is helpful!

Was this review helpful? (38) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kconover
Northern KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excedes my expectations!
5/27/2011

Customer review by wisegram

5.0 stars 5/27/2011 by wisegram
by wisegram

I am having fun learning how to use all the stitch patterns on the machine. I love the speed control button and the way the machine always stops when with the needle down so I don't lose my place on the material. It's my first new machine in 30 yrs and I love it.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wisegram
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Dont Waste Your Money
4/2/2011

Customer review by HRS0401ECU

1.0 stars 4/2/2011 by HRS0401ECU
by HRS0401ECU

I bought this sewing machine for $50 thinking that it would be a good beginner sewing machine, because it was very basic, and cheap. first off you need to take this machine apart and oil it before you even get started, and the only way you would know this is if you go on the brother website. I spent hours trouble shooting and fixing this machine.. and maybe less than an hour actually sewing on it. This machine jammed like it was its job... thread would get twisted up in places that most experienced sewers thought was impossible to get thread stuck in... My mother, who has been sewing for over 40 years had a hard time using it. So I brought it to a repair shop to see if it was me or the machine that was the problem. and to quote the repair man "its definitely not you, this machine is poorly built and there is nothing you or i can do to improve its performance. Basically You get what you pay for. I told the repair man that I was going to just give this machine to my sister and he asked me if I hated her... I think that says it all right there

Was this review helpful? (25) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HRS0401ECU
Netcong NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent!
5/18/2011

Customer review by DottieKC

5.0 stars 5/18/2011 by DottieKC
by DottieKC

I purchased this having never touched a sewing machine before in my life. I've never even sewn anything by hand. This machine was easy to thread, the instructions were easy to understand, and it works great! I put 2 or 3 relatively straight lines into a cloth, and jumped right in on my first project. I cut up an old pair of pants (used the buttonholes it came with) and made a handbag. I don't think I could have done it by myself if the machine hadn't been so ridiculously easy to use. It is a very basic machine though. Straight stitch and zigzag is all it does so if you're looking for something more complex get a different machine.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DottieKC
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Best Value
7/25/2011

Customer review by keywestflamingo

5.0 stars 7/25/2011 by keywestflamingo
by keywestflamingo

Received the machine in days of ordering. Been sewing for maybe 50 years. Have used every brand out there. No need to read any booklets, directions were printed right on the machine. Very easy to thread, used every stitch available and could find nothing bad to report about this great little sewing machine. It is quiet, sturdy, steady, the bobbin and top thread had perfect time for a strong stitch, used different fabrick thickness, used stretch fabric and the machine worked much better than exspected. Perfect size for my apartment size kitchen, light weight, good size foot controller, long cord and light bulb in right place. My most recent machine I bought maybe 4 yrs ago at about the same money and when I started having problems I put it in the trash and bought this machine. I use it almost every day.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
keywestflamingo
Key West, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
PLEASE READ - THIS IS A BEGINNER'S MACHINE
11/2/2012

Customer review by Pitchick5

5.0 stars 11/2/2012 by Pitchick5
by Pitchick5

My mother is a seamstress and I was not interested in sewing until recently. When I decided to purchase a machine to learn on, my mother helped me select my machine. She kept saying that I did not need many features to begin, just a straight stitch and zig zag. so when I saw this machine, I asked her to take a look at it, she was sure that this would be perfect for me. So, I got this machine. She is unable to teach me as much as I like, so I began attending a local sewing club - ladies of all sewing levels meet weekly to sew, chat and assist learners like me. I bring my machine to the group and they all agreed with my mother. In order to learn the basics, they felt this machine was great to begin. I have made numerous items for my home and clothes for myself. I did have some issues with tension - NOTE: the bobbin tension is a little tight on this machine, but I do not recommend that a beginner adjust it. If possible, take the machine to a store or ask someone experienced to adjust as the turn needed for adjustment is so slight. The manual tension will require some play to get right. overall, I am having a ball with my machine and doing everything I want to do with it. There are a few things I will leave you with. 1. all machines require tweaking before sewing - you will not be able to use the same tension setting for everything you sew. 2. make sure that you are buying the correct machine for your skill - if you have experience, this machine will not have the features you need, if you are beginner, this is a great intro 3. make sure that you take an intro to sewing class - craftsy.com has online sewing classes that will show you how your machine works in addition to learning to sew. (Unpaid, unsolicited endorsement). Understanding how the machine works takes the scary away. 4. Make sure that you maximize your money. I was able to buy a more expensive machine to start, and in fact planned to buy one for $200.00 - the features were similiar to this one and I was ok with that price. I found this while researching christmas gifts. I saved $150.00 getting this one and everything I have made so far looks great. The machine sews what you create! Great construction begins and ends with you. If you pay attention to detail, what you paid for the machine will not matter - people will be amazed that you made it! Enough typing...buy this machine and get sewing!!!! Have Fun!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pitchick5
La Plata, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
JUNK
11/28/2010

Customer review by deepbugging

1.0 stars 11/28/2010 by deepbugging
by deepbugging

Bought on black friday broken on saturday. Very poorly made! To lightweight to sew anything but cotton, fleece strained the motor and it is no longer running. I think the timing may be off now as well. I will be returning it shortly. My wait in line to buy it was longer than the run time I got out of it!

Was this review helpful? (25) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
deepbugging
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Exactly what I was looking for
1/10/2011

Customer review by JessicaD

5.0 stars 1/10/2011 by JessicaD
by JessicaD

I bought this for myself for Christmas and it is just what I was looking for. It does many different stitches as well as embroidery. Very eassy to set up and not too heavy. Perfect for beginners. Right out of the box I made fleece hats and scarves and am getting ready to make little fleece, silky blankets. Love it!!!

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JessicaD
Lockporrt, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
A great little machine!
2/7/2011

Customer review by Robin588

5.0 stars 2/7/2011 by Robin588
by Robin588

I bought this on a whim as I left my other Kenmore machine at home while I'm visiting my son. I must say I'm surprised at how steady, quick and accurate the stitching is! It's really fast too! I sew a lot of clothes, and never use decorative stitches (I use a serger to finish edges) and this one can really be used as my primary machine! I highly recommend it to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Robin588
Akron, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good for Basics
12/7/2010

Customer review by IndieCraft

4.0 stars 12/7/2010 by IndieCraft
by IndieCraft

I am currently just beginning to learn to sew so i bought this machine at the Black Friday sale. Yes, it is not an amazing machine. it only does zig zag and straight but it works well for a beginner. I have used it a handful of times already on different types of fabric and it has worked great.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IndieCraft
St. Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Was okay
12/18/2010

Customer review by Anotherlook

3.0 stars 12/18/2010 by Anotherlook
by Anotherlook

I only gave this machine 3 stars because it didn't have a long stitch to pick from. The longest stitch it can do is pretty short. It's not a big deal, except when you just want to baste something and then rip that seam out later. Other than that it worked fine just for simple sewing.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Anotherlook
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Perfect for Starters
12/20/2010

Customer review by ExpertShopper321

4.0 stars 12/20/2010 by ExpertShopper321
by ExpertShopper321

Perfectly suited for beginners. It is very to use and provided documentation in DVD format is good enough to get started. Good Quality and Best Value for Money.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ExpertShopper321
Pleasanton, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Excellent Performer!
6/15/2011

Customer review by OccumsRazor

5.0 stars 6/15/2011 by OccumsRazor
by OccumsRazor

This machine is a great performing, and very easy to use....it is also and excellent value! If your looking for a sewing machine that gets the job done, and dont need a bunch of extra stitches, and enhancements, look no further....this will absolutely put a smile on your face!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OccumsRazor
Springfield, VT.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
AWESOME MACHINE!
3/28/2011

Customer review by mrsroseflower

5.0 stars 3/28/2011 by mrsroseflower
by mrsroseflower

I would definately recommend this to everyone who wants a great sewing machine! It has all the features any new sewer needs to get started! AWESOME MACHINE!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrsroseflower
Edon, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
GREAT BUY
4/30/2011

Customer review by dadmomdog

5.0 stars 4/30/2011 by dadmomdog
by dadmomdog

GREAT MACHINE FOR THE PRICE.. DOES ALL I NEED IT TO DO..

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dadmomdog
Hereford,Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 136 total reviews
1-20 of 136 reviews