Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 150 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

150 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

150 reviews | 4 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
83
4 stars
29
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 stars
23
1-20 of 145 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 145 total reviews
1-20 of 145 reviews
Best $35 ever spent
7/13/2016

Customer review by SunnyDaze

5.0 stars 7/13/2016 by SunnyDaze
by SunnyDaze
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Read all the reviews before buying and took the advice of several...as long as the pack is full and the top is flush (tight/snug fit) there are no problems....what a great trip we had without any worries and more space for the kids with this packed on top....endured severe wind & rain....everything was dry and secure....best investment ever for a 8 - 10 hour road trip....

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SunnyDaze
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
one time use only
6/22/2016

Customer review by cheapbutnottoocheap

3.0 stars 6/22/2016 by cheapbutnottoocheap
by cheapbutnottoocheap
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This cargo topper is only OK. We took it on our trip from Minnesota to Orlando ( 1500 miles). I checked the straps at every stop we made. the straps held pretty good I had to tighten them only a little bit. We didn't hit much rain so I cant verify how water tight it is. We did not use it on our return trip, because the wind ripped the fabric up. It may need to be stuffed to capacity or the top needs a redesign to be able to pull the top of the bag tight so it doesn't whip in the wind. For $30 not to bad of a product but I would only recommend it for a one time use. I also recomend making sure to find a way of getting the top tight so there are no loose spots that may rip in the wind. good luck.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cheapbutnottoocheap
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hard to handle
7/17/2016

Customer review by Gierbo

1.0 stars 7/17/2016 by Gierbo
by Gierbo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If you gonna use it, make sure just load pillows, sleeping bags or anything extra light. Is almost imposible to load this thing on the roofrack full, and is almost imposible to pack it already on top bc gonna need a carry a ladder with you to do it that way. This thing has any kind of support for easy packing or loading. It is just a really huge, bulky bag. PS make sure your are in the shadow bc the material get extremely hot impossible to handle in sunlight.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gierbo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/29/2011

Customer review by Bbbbbp

5.0 stars 8/29/2011 by Bbbbbp
by Bbbbbp

We recently drove from PA to NC for vacation. We have a Jeep Patriot and are a family of 5. We needed more storage space for luggage. After researching we purchased this soft top carrier because of the price and it's guarantee to be waterproof. Our jeep only has side rails. I purchased some wench straps to secure the bag as the straps that are included appeared inadequate. On the way to NC we drove through some of the heaviest rain I have ever experienced. It rained so hard we had to drive 35 in a 70 mph zone for at least 45 minutes. When we arrived at the beach I expected the worse. I was surprised that no water had penetrated the carrier. All our clothes and other accessories were dry. We were able to fit 4 large duffle bags, 2 backpacks, 3 boogie boards, and 2 beach chairs in the carrier with room to spare. The carrier made no noise during travel and there appeared to be no compromise in our gas mileage. This bag was worth it's weight in gold. I highly recommend this product. Why pay $400.00 for a hard top carrier when you can get the same performance out of this carrier at under $50.00. Excellent value and worth every penny!

Was this review helpful? (192) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bbbbbp
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very roomy
7/21/2016

Customer review by merk

5.0 stars 7/21/2016 by merk
by merk
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Walmart associate

Bought this for our vacation. Very roomy and our luggage did not get wet!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
merk
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Walmart associate
No problems with it.
12/2/2015

Customer review by JCfromJaxFL

5.0 stars 12/2/2015 by JCfromJaxFL
by JCfromJaxFL

Purchased it for a long Thanksgiving trip from Jax, Fl. to NY= 1050 miles each way. Read many of the good and bad reviews here and was worried it wouldn't perform. I even purchased the roof top mat. Dropped it on a Enclave which had cross bars but the side bars were now rails so you cannot hook something to it. Anyway it worked like a charm. Used all 4 straps provided evenly on bag over (crossbars) roof of SUV and because of the reviews here,(there were good reviews also but gotta prepare for the worse) used 4 40 inch bungie cords on the bag also. kept checking on it all thru the trip north bound and home bound and no problems. it was worth the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (29) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JCfromJaxFL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Tore as soon as we drove the car on freeway
7/13/2016

Customer review by yvette

1.0 stars 7/13/2016 by yvette
by yvette
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

we went on a vacation and as soon as we got on the freeway it started to get little holes with the air we had to take our stuff out and put them in out truck I truely dont recommend this product

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yvette
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Reese Rainproof Cargo Bag
7/16/2012

Customer review by cajunjake

2.0 stars 7/16/2012 by cajunjake
by cajunjake

Bought two of these bags. Used the first bag for two different trips from GA to Tampa, FL and it performed well. Purchased a second bag (identical Reese Bag) for a subsequent trip and needed more storage room. I noticed halfway into my drive down that the bag was ripped open in the back - not sure why this bag fell apart. It appears it is due to cheap plastic material used to manufacture this bag. Tomorrow i plan to return this second bag back to the store for a refund. i have mixed feelings about whether to recommend this bag or not. Pros: Cheaper than the competition On the surface the bag appears to be made well, with heavy duty zippers. Definitely water proof, as long as the bag doesn't fall apart. Con's: Suspect plastic material used to make this bag. 1 of 2 bags has literally fallen apart (and the tear DID NOT occur at a stress point (i.e. where the straps connect to the bag; nor at a seam, or where the zipper is attached to the bag) I will next look for a "canvass" type cargo bag, hoping this will perhaps be a stronger bag than one that is made out of plastic.

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cajunjake
Warner Robins, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Good product of wasn't used back in box!!!
6/26/2016

Customer review by Checkitfirst

3.0 stars 6/26/2016 by Checkitfirst
by Checkitfirst
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this product and it worked good considering I paid for a used product and wasn't aware until I was already getting ready to leave town. Walmart should check there products before they put them back on shelf!! Still had sand in it from previous owner. Too late now for us had to use now I paid for a used product!! It worked well for us on trip though!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Checkitfirst
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent product
1/26/2016

Customer review by Awesome

5.0 stars 1/26/2016 by Awesome
by Awesome

We bought this for a trip from New Mexico to Iowa, we moved there and had more than our van could carry, it was a last minute kind of purchase. It worked GREAT! Held a lot, kept it all dry, on the 1000 mile trip we went though wind, rain, and snow, plus -0 temps, it held up great, and not a sign of leakage.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Awesome
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Did the job!
7/24/2016

Customer review by Cheryl

5.0 stars 7/24/2016 by Cheryl
by Cheryl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got this as I was helping my daughter move from Rhode Island to Florida. We each got one and they worked out perfect for our needs. We had help with the straps to secure it to the roof. Very secure straps. We never had to worry about it coming loose or blowing off. Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cheryl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Right for us
7/19/2016

Customer review by SEBnj

4.0 stars 7/19/2016 by SEBnj
by SEBnj
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought this bag for a trip from NJ to NC. It was great! It held a lot of stuff and the clips held tight both trips. We hit some rain storms and things stayed pretty dry, although some water leaked in near the zipper. It was nothing major tho, and I was surprised how well it worked for such a low price. After the return trip, we did find a small hole in the bag, which could also account for the leak. It was perfect for our needs.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SEBnj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product
12/30/2010

Customer review by GLRB

5.0 stars 12/30/2010 by GLRB
by GLRB

Great topper...My family just traveled from Florida to Va and back through snow and rain with no issues. We were able to pack in 3 small bags of clothes, a pack n' play, and two small/medium sized suit cases. I was initially concerned as the manual instructs you to attach to crossbars and we do not have any on our 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee luggage rack but it worked fine just attaching to the side bars... Easy to use and packs away small when done (comes with storage bag that takes up approx 10"x12"x6"). Would recommend to anyone traveling with family!

Was this review helpful? (284) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GLRB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great product
5/3/2016

Customer review by PattiP1

5.0 stars 5/3/2016 by PattiP1
by PattiP1

Drove 1000 miles thru wind & rain. Arrived at destination everything was perfectly dry & tie downs were all still tight. Would highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PattiP1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Terrific Rooftop Cargo Bag!
7/22/2013

Customer review by TexasTeenwolf

5.0 stars 7/22/2013 by TexasTeenwolf
by TexasTeenwolf

I researched several more expensive rooftop cargo options at various sporting goods stores and then came across this item at Walmart. Stop looking, save your time, and buy this one! This cargo bag is a great value and made of a thick high-quality vinyl/plastic material (not a nylon mesh like many others). It was easy to install and fit perfectly in the rack on top of our Chevy Tahoe. It zips on two sides, so there's always a way to access it once it's up on the roof. The first time I used it was on a 10-hour road trip, with rain, and it was excellent. Afterward, everything was dry! The best thing about it is, after your trip, you can hose off the bugs and dirt, wipe it off, fold it up, and store it away easily.

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TexasTeenwolf
Waco, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag
7/19/2016

Customer review by chris

1.0 stars 7/19/2016 by chris
by chris
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This bag made it the first leg of our trip. About 300 miles and when we took it off the top at the hotel the bag was clearly coming apart. Do not buy its a piece of junk.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chris
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/16/2013

Customer review by 2Whites2KJKs

4.0 stars 8/16/2013 by 2Whites2KJKs
by 2Whites2KJKs
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very roomy. We were able to put 4 airline sized carry-on suitcases and my husbands large duffle bag into the carrier with room to stuff a few small items for our trip to the shore. With a family of six this was important as there really isn't space in the vehicle. We then used it to carry 3-40 packs of water, 6 cases of soda, and all the plates, cups, bowls and utensils to our family reunion. More than served its purpose. In addition, we did have rain on both trips and had no issue of wet luggage. The only reason I did not give it a perfect rating is because one of the plastic feeds on one of the straps broke when attaching it on the day of the reunion. Fortunately we always carry Ratchet straps which, perhaps, should have come with it anyway. Overall we are very satisfied to date with our few uses, and I'm certainly hopeful it stands the test of time for future uses.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2Whites2KJKs
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Durable, well built, weather resistant
7/19/2016

Customer review by WorkingTraveler

5.0 stars 7/19/2016 by WorkingTraveler
by WorkingTraveler
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Found this cover to be very versatile. The straps snug it around the contents. Covered zipper to keep out moisture. Heavy grade construction.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WorkingTraveler
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
fell apart
4/13/2016

Customer review by Acker

1.0 stars 4/13/2016 by Acker
by Acker

We put it on the roof and pulled out in the morning, a 12 hour drive. When we arrived it had small holes in the part facing the front of our van. We took it off and stored it in the van for the week of our vacation. When we went to put it back on the roof for our trip home, the zipper was messed up. Put it on to leave and stopped half-way through the trip, our stuff was sliding around inside. We removed it and the stuff inside was wet, all of our suitcases were wet. We drove through some light rain, not a down pour, but our things were all wet. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (10) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Acker
Would recommend to a friend? No
Wet luggage
3/19/2016

Customer review by creechonwheels

2.0 stars 3/19/2016 by creechonwheels
by creechonwheels

We bought this product after a visit with family meant heading home with a lot more stuff than we'd brought. It was fairly easy to install and load on the luggage rack of our Dodge Caravan before we left for our 500 mile journey home. We checked the straps at every stop, and weren't worried by a few small rainstorms because the material seemed quite thick and water resistant. When we got home, we discovered that the top of the bag had completely shredded in the wind and that our stuff had gotten wet. If you use this bag, I would try stuffing things in to completely fill the space so the bag can't move in the breeze.

Was this review helpful? (11) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
creechonwheels
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 145 total reviews
1-20 of 145 reviews