Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 111 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

111 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

111 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
65
4 stars
23
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 stars
15
1-20 of 106 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 106 total reviews
1-20 of 106 reviews
Great Product
12/30/2010

Customer review by GLRB

5.0 stars 12/30/2010 by GLRB
by GLRB

Great topper...My family just traveled from Florida to Va and back through snow and rain with no issues. We were able to pack in 3 small bags of clothes, a pack n' play, and two small/medium sized suit cases. I was initially concerned as the manual instructs you to attach to crossbars and we do not have any on our 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee luggage rack but it worked fine just attaching to the side bars... Easy to use and packs away small when done (comes with storage bag that takes up approx 10"x12"x6"). Would recommend to anyone traveling with family!

Was this review helpful? (249) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GLRB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
8/29/2011

Customer review by Bbbbbp

5.0 stars 8/29/2011 by Bbbbbp
by Bbbbbp

We recently drove from PA to NC for vacation. We have a Jeep Patriot and are a family of 5. We needed more storage space for luggage. After researching we purchased this soft top carrier because of the price and it's guarantee to be waterproof. Our jeep only has side rails. I purchased some wench straps to secure the bag as the straps that are included appeared inadequate. On the way to NC we drove through some of the heaviest rain I have ever experienced. It rained so hard we had to drive 35 in a 70 mph zone for at least 45 minutes. When we arrived at the beach I expected the worse. I was surprised that no water had penetrated the carrier. All our clothes and other accessories were dry. We were able to fit 4 large duffle bags, 2 backpacks, 3 boogie boards, and 2 beach chairs in the carrier with room to spare. The carrier made no noise during travel and there appeared to be no compromise in our gas mileage. This bag was worth it's weight in gold. I highly recommend this product. Why pay $400.00 for a hard top carrier when you can get the same performance out of this carrier at under $50.00. Excellent value and worth every penny!

Was this review helpful? (126) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bbbbbp
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Buy
6/15/2011

Customer review by muktalorton

5.0 stars 6/15/2011 by muktalorton
by muktalorton

I bought this about a month back from Walmart. This is an excellent piece of roof top carrier for that price. We went from Virginia to Michigan and at some point it was really raining, but we didn't find any leakage. Huge space inside to put lots of big items(don't forget your roof capacity). Easy to install (infact there is nothing to install).

Was this review helpful? (98) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
muktalorton
lorton, va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Met needs
1/9/2011

Customer review by samdogsmom

3.0 stars 1/9/2011 by samdogsmom
by samdogsmom

The carrier accomplished what we needed - more room in our vehicle. We had many suitcases and lots of Christmas presents to carry. The carrier was easy to use, was sturdy and got everything there safely. We did notice 30% less gas mileage - not very aerodynamic. We drove from Indiana to Minnesota.

Was this review helpful? (75) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
samdogsmom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Reese Towpower Car Top Rainproof Bag
5/14/2011

Customer review by DeanneD

5.0 stars 5/14/2011 by DeanneD
by DeanneD

Excellent product for the money. This car top bag is huge and very durable..this made my move to california doable..

Was this review helpful? (63) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DeanneD
Huntington bch,ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
GREAT! AND RAIN PROOF!
8/15/2011

Customer review by wigglymom0508

5.0 stars 8/15/2011 by wigglymom0508
by wigglymom0508

At the last minute before our vacation a week ago we purchased this product. This was our first time using any type of roof top bag. My husband easily put this on our Hyundai Tuscon - it's as easy as setting it on top and loading it up, then tying the straps to secure it. He did a good job tying it, but I was still paranoid it would fly off as we were going 80mph down the highway! We crisscrossed bungee cords in an "X" over top of the bag (hooked to our roof top rails) as an extra measure to secure it and it worked absolutely perfect. Barely wiggled at all the entire trip. We did have to tighten the straps whenever we stopped for gas or break. They weren't ever close to being completely loose, but a small pull to tighten them. We had a medium sized storage bin, large piece of luggage, 3 boogie boards, and some odds and ends pieces -- and still had room to spare. We put the bag on the rooftop the night before we were leaving, and it rained. We had to open the bag to finish loading (not raining at that point) and found that it was completely dry inside. As we got on the road, it rained, hard, for the entire 4 hrs we drove that day. I was very nervous thinking of the other reviews I had read on here that it was NOT rain proof...It continued raining all day/night and again rained a lot on our travels the following day. From the time we packed the bag (Sat a.m.) we did not open it until Monday afternoon. IT WAS COMPLETELY DRY!! I definately recommend this product -- my husband and I were talking we were glad we didn't spend hundreds of dollars on a roof top carrier when this $40 one worked so well! We did leave it and the stuff in it on our vehicle the two nights we stopped at a hotel, and also for an extended period in downtown Baltimore and Washington DC. We locked the zippers with a luggage lock. But anyone that really wanted to mess with it could have untied it, cut it with knife, etc.

Was this review helpful? (34) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wigglymom0508
west virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Terrific Rooftop Cargo Bag!
7/22/2013

Customer review by TexasTeenwolf

5.0 stars 7/22/2013 by TexasTeenwolf
by TexasTeenwolf

I researched several more expensive rooftop cargo options at various sporting goods stores and then came across this item at Walmart. Stop looking, save your time, and buy this one! This cargo bag is a great value and made of a thick high-quality vinyl/plastic material (not a nylon mesh like many others). It was easy to install and fit perfectly in the rack on top of our Chevy Tahoe. It zips on two sides, so there's always a way to access it once it's up on the roof. The first time I used it was on a 10-hour road trip, with rain, and it was excellent. Afterward, everything was dry! The best thing about it is, after your trip, you can hose off the bugs and dirt, wipe it off, fold it up, and store it away easily.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TexasTeenwolf
Waco, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Absolutely no complaints
8/21/2011

Customer review by txcs

5.0 stars 8/21/2011 by txcs
by txcs

I used this roof bag for a 1400 mile trip through thunderstorms and extreme heat (110+) over a three day period. I was able to pack two large suitcases, several medium and large size space bags full of clothes and 3 boxes of shoes into this bag. Everything was dry when I arrived at my destination. I didnt see much decline in MPG due to the bag. I recommend this product to anyone looking to add more storage space for their trip.

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
txcs
WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Holds more than we thought and no leaks
6/2/2014

Customer review by psdsgt

5.0 stars 6/2/2014 by psdsgt
by psdsgt

900 mile trip with some rain, no leaks and everything stayed dry and secure. Very happy with this product

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
psdsgt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LEAKS!!
4/27/2011

Customer review by okeydokeynokey

1.0 stars 4/27/2011 by okeydokeynokey
by okeydokeynokey

Purchased car topper to use for upcoming vacation. Husband and I pulled it out of package, securing it to vehicle as instructions specified. Before loading luggage into carrier (and while all rainflaps were velcroed down and zippers closed) we had some rain. Shortly after the rain let up, we began to put our luggage into the carrier only to realize it had leaked!!! - - - A LOT!! We called the customer service number located on the bottom of the package only to speak w/ a representative ("Kim") who totally cared less and insisted that their products were only "weatherproof" - not the GUARANTEED RAINPROOF their packaging states! "Kim" also insisted that the included instructions clearly stated to place all luggage into "bags," however, I had my instructions in hand while speaking with her and told her, "No, your instructions say nothing about bagging luggage - period!" She then said their website stated to do this and, again, insisted their products were only "weatherproof." My packaging states, in 4 places - "Gauranteed Rainproof." Luckily we were still within Walmart's 90 day return policy and could return it for a refund. Will never purchase another REESE product again!!

Was this review helpful? (37) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
okeydokeynokey
VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Reese Rainproof Cargo Bag
7/16/2012

Customer review by cajunjake

2.0 stars 7/16/2012 by cajunjake
by cajunjake

Bought two of these bags. Used the first bag for two different trips from GA to Tampa, FL and it performed well. Purchased a second bag (identical Reese Bag) for a subsequent trip and needed more storage room. I noticed halfway into my drive down that the bag was ripped open in the back - not sure why this bag fell apart. It appears it is due to cheap plastic material used to manufacture this bag. Tomorrow i plan to return this second bag back to the store for a refund. i have mixed feelings about whether to recommend this bag or not. Pros: Cheaper than the competition On the surface the bag appears to be made well, with heavy duty zippers. Definitely water proof, as long as the bag doesn't fall apart. Con's: Suspect plastic material used to make this bag. 1 of 2 bags has literally fallen apart (and the tear DID NOT occur at a stress point (i.e. where the straps connect to the bag; nor at a seam, or where the zipper is attached to the bag) I will next look for a "canvass" type cargo bag, hoping this will perhaps be a stronger bag than one that is made out of plastic.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cajunjake
Warner Robins, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great value; even larger size than I expected!
7/15/2012

Customer review by Wookiefoot

5.0 stars 7/15/2012 by Wookiefoot
by Wookiefoot

Absolutely no problems with this product! Held everything it needed to with room to spare. From reading other reviews, (some negative), I would advise that you pack the edges with only soft or rounded items- use common sense. Try to pack it evenly to keep as much of the rounded box shape as possible. Follow the directions!!! We will definitely use this again and recommend!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wookiefoot
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
9/8/2011

Customer review by Shops4Me

1.0 stars 9/8/2011 by Shops4Me
by Shops4Me

I did research about cartop carriers like this one before I bought it and I thought that we were getting a good deal for the price. Well, we loaded up for our trip and started our drive. When we made our first pit stop, about 2 hours into our trip, we got out and checked the carrier to find that the front corners were already ripping open. Needless to say, we were not happy at all and would definitely not recommend this to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (16) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shops4Me
Salt Lake City, UT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Total Disappointment
9/1/2011

Customer review by DCGranni

1.0 stars 9/1/2011 by DCGranni
by DCGranni

Three hours into a 12-hour road trip (with grandkids), the bag was in shreds. I don't know how it happened as we made sure we followed all directions; used the enclosed straps to secure the bag to both side rails and cross rails. Had we not made a rest stop when we did, we might have lost our luggage. That was probably the only positive - our lugggage was still in what was left of the bag. Unfortunately, I won't be purchasing any more Reese products.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DCGranni
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Great for the price!
6/9/2014

Customer review by Flyingshoe

4.0 stars 6/9/2014 by Flyingshoe
by Flyingshoe

Waterproof thick material. Washed easily Easy to lift up, attach and remove. Would fit on almost anything Great size Goes flat nicely on top of car Wished the zipper was nicer. Heavy duty but hard to zip. Wished straps had a 'lock'or catxh to keep it from slipping looser. Did well over long hours but was slightly looser in wind.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Flyingshoe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/16/2013

Customer review by 2Whites2KJKs

4.0 stars 8/16/2013 by 2Whites2KJKs
by 2Whites2KJKs

Very roomy. We were able to put 4 airline sized carry-on suitcases and my husbands large duffle bag into the carrier with room to stuff a few small items for our trip to the shore. With a family of six this was important as there really isn't space in the vehicle. We then used it to carry 3-40 packs of water, 6 cases of soda, and all the plates, cups, bowls and utensils to our family reunion. More than served its purpose. In addition, we did have rain on both trips and had no issue of wet luggage. The only reason I did not give it a perfect rating is because one of the plastic feeds on one of the straps broke when attaching it on the day of the reunion. Fortunately we always carry Ratchet straps which, perhaps, should have come with it anyway. Overall we are very satisfied to date with our few uses, and I'm certainly hopeful it stands the test of time for future uses.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2Whites2KJKs
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exceeds my expectations
11/30/2013

Customer review by 90DegreesSouth

5.0 stars 11/30/2013 by 90DegreesSouth
by 90DegreesSouth

I bought the Reese KarPak 15 cu. ft. Rainproof Soft Sided Car Top Carrier to bring a few items back from my in-laws' house. I had moderate expectations, but was really pleased with how it performed, so we used it for luggage for our Thanksgiving trek to south Florida this year. It rained for 8.5 of the 10 hours we drove on the interstate, often in torrents. I had placed each piece of luggage in a heavy-duty contractor garbage bag just in case of leaks. When we unloaded everything there was only a thimble-full of water in the carrier, and that may have occurred while we were opening the carrier since it was still raining. All the luggage was completely dry, so it gets an A+ for being rainproof. On the way back I took advantage of the early morning light traffic to make some time, and even at 85-90 mph, the carrier was very secure and surpisingly quiet. Yes, there was some wind noise, but not that much. I was particular about tying the loose ends of the straps so that there would be no slapping at highway speeds. Initially I felt like it would need some additional straps to secure the load, and if you have something particularly large or heavy, maybe you do, but our three rollaboard suitcases the four integral straps were all we needed. Just for clarification, our car has front and rear lateral #side-to-side# roof bars. By following the crease lines I have been able to fold it small enough to fit back into the included storage bag. As another poster has mentioned, you will want to make sure the bag is reasonably warm before trying to use it in order to avoid fighting with the zippers while loading. The material does get stiffer when it is colder. Overall, I am really pleased with how well this low-cost car top carrier has performed.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
90DegreesSouth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
Great value
4/18/2014

Customer review by ajem

5.0 stars 4/18/2014 by ajem
by ajem

I have not had an opportunity to use the car top storage bag, however, we were very impressed with the quality. It has a heavy duty zipper that goes down two sides, with a vinyl flap that covers the zipper, to further insure no water gets in. The vinyl is very heavy duty. The bag is large and I'm sure it will hold much of our stuff. I am very pleased with the purchase and look forward to using it soon.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ajem
Augusta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/31/2011

Customer review by AlexandraN

4.0 stars 7/31/2011 by AlexandraN
by AlexandraN

I received the bag in the time expected. I purchased 5 suitecases from walmart and all fit in the bag and even left space available for more. I was very surprised and impressed that the ties did not come undone. We drove from Naperville, IL to Wisconsin Dells and everything was fine. The only reason I did not rate it a 5 is because it was a bit of a hassle getting the bags in and out of the bag. My husband at first did not realize the zippers zipped around the bag, but even though it did, it was still a bit of a struggle. it did the job and it did well, so even though it was a struggle for him, I think it did its purpose and we are content!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AlexandraN
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Lifesaver
1/4/2013

Customer review by Pmip

5.0 stars 1/4/2013 by Pmip
by Pmip

I bought this at 4 am in December in Michigan on a trip to Florida after we realized we didn't have enough room for all the luggage. It held 3 large suitcases and 2 duffles bags. It held up to winter conditions and a 2200 mile round trip at 80 mph. Great product highly recommended!!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pmip
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
1-20 of 106 total reviews
1-20 of 106 reviews