Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 51 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

51 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

51 reviews | 3 out of 5

55%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 stars
17
1-20 of 49 total reviews
55%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 49 total reviews
1-20 of 49 reviews
NOT WEATHER PROOF!!
5/6/2011

Customer review by rollbackdiva

1.0 stars 5/6/2011 by rollbackdiva
by rollbackdiva

my husband and I purchased this cargo bag and attached it securely atop our suv for a 6 hour road trip. we were able to fit all of our stuff in this bag BUT we ran into some rain on our road trip. By the time we made it to our destination all of our clothes and other cargo were WET!!

Was this review helpful? (157) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rollbackdiva
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
So worth it!!!!!
7/24/2011

Customer review by troyxoamanda

5.0 stars 7/24/2011 by troyxoamanda
by troyxoamanda

We bought this to use on our trip from North Carolina to St. Augustine, Fl... about a 7ish hour drive and we were VERY pleased!! My parent's-in-law were highly skeptical and they love it now! We fit 2 large suitcases, a duffel bag, two beach chairs, pool noodles, and a boogie board with a little more room to spare. It didn't shift at all during the ride and we did go through some rain, and nothing was wet when we arrived in FL. The only advice would be to make sure you have a chair or something to stand on if you are vertically challenged to reach the top of your car comfortably. hehe Other than that.... SO worth the buy!!!! ALSO!!! for the people wandering about how it effects gas mileage, we usually can go around 360ish-miles on a tank, we got about 340ish-miles when we had to stop. TONS cheaper than having to take another car!!!

Was this review helpful? (73) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
troyxoamanda
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
It actually is a very good product!
8/4/2011

Customer review by DDAKRD

5.0 stars 8/4/2011 by DDAKRD
by DDAKRD

Looked at the reviews and decided against purchasing this. A moment of desperate need and low budget had me running into a WalMart to get it. Easy to use, haven't had the torn seams or zippers or loops, the belts and buckles all are in good order, not like the reviews I had read. Haven't used in bad weather. We stuff sleeping bags, pillows and blankets for 5 people in here, along with whatever else doesn't fit the car. Works great. I always have a tarp in the car, so if it rains, I'll just use it on the bag. The first time we used it, the straps were buckled straight and it made wind noise which we couldn't hear if we had the radio up a bit. Easily fixed by twisting the side straps a couple times as we buckled. The front and back straps didn't have any problems. I've used the bag 6-8 times in the past couple months. Packs nicely, don't notice too much wind resistance, nothing torn or broken or problematic. Actually a very nice set up, especially for the price.

Was this review helpful? (39) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DDAKRD
Reno, Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Did exactly as promised.
6/28/2011

Customer review by Mamaofamonkey

5.0 stars 6/28/2011 by Mamaofamonkey
by Mamaofamonkey

We purchased this for a vacation trip to the beach. It was very easy to attach and held all our beach toys, towels, umbrellas and even a 3 ft plastic pool. We had a short rain shower while driving and it kept everything dry. I highly recommend this car top bag. You get so much extra space for an extremely reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? (34) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mamaofamonkey
Central NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Would not buy
7/14/2011

Customer review by dazmah

1.0 stars 7/14/2011 by dazmah
by dazmah

Went on a 8 hour trip with three small suitcases. By the time we got to where we were going the cargo bag was torn and everything was wet.

Was this review helpful? (18) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dazmah
Ludington, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Excellent quality
5/26/2014

Customer review by Drakemama

5.0 stars 5/26/2014 by Drakemama
by Drakemama

We were very pleased with the size and quality of this item. It even held up traveling through rain!! Great price too!!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Drakemama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not a good buy
8/25/2011

Customer review by busyworkinmom

1.0 stars 8/25/2011 by busyworkinmom
by busyworkinmom

This product is for the top of a car/van, BUT says ok for (weather), but once I got it... IN SMALL PRINT ON BOX IT SAID NOT to use in RAIN! How can a roof rack for a car/van not be used during RAIN???? I couldn't use for my family trip cause a week away from home and in another state... Who knows if it will rain???

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
busyworkinmom
MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great bag, economy zippers
2/19/2014

Customer review by Consumer1991

4.0 stars 2/19/2014 by Consumer1991
by Consumer1991

I saw a few reviews saying the zippers broke... they do break. I on the other hand was over stuffing it to the limit with vacuum sealed clothes. after an hour or so messing with the zippers i managed to get them secure. it is not rain proof (hence the vacuum sealed clothes) but very roomy. ( about a 100 articles of clothing , 3 queen comforters, a pack and play, iron, knife bag ect) About to take it on a 4 day moving trip from nevada to new jersey. lets hope all goes well!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Consumer1991
las vegas, nv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
6/18/2013

Customer review by ALLWETDUKE

1.0 stars 6/18/2013 by ALLWETDUKE
by ALLWETDUKE

ITEM IN BOLD LETTERS SAYS WEATHER RESISTANT.WHEN I RECEIVED THE BAG IN TINY TINY LETTERS IT SAYS NOT RAINPROOF.WHAT?I MUST BE IGNORANT BECAUSE WEATHERPROOF TO ME MEANS IT PROTECTS YOUR ITEMS FROM EVEN RAIN.CONSUMER BE AWARE.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ALLWETDUKE
MIDLOTHIAN IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
NOT WEATHER OR RAINPROOF BUYER BEWARE
7/29/2011

Customer review by SAVEDBYGODSGRACE007

1.0 stars 7/29/2011 by SAVEDBYGODSGRACE007
by SAVEDBYGODSGRACE007

I purchased this item from my local Walmart to use for our camping gear - sleeping bags, towels, clothing ect. I followed the directions and installed it on the roof of our van making sure it was closed and strapped down properly then it started to rain. We left for our trip after the rain stopped then when we arrived to our campsite I opened the bag to find everything wet and water standing in the bottom of the bag . It wasn't even raining that hard out . I cant imagine what a down pour would have done to it. Everything had to be dried out before use. After returning from camping I immediately returned this to the store . I would not recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SAVEDBYGODSGRACE007
Northern Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great for the Money!
1/10/2012

Customer review by landman52

4.0 stars 1/10/2012 by landman52
by landman52

Keeps in small bag. We keep $1 painters plastic cloth in bag to use if we need waterproofing for our contents. Easy to install. Frees up a lot of space in small SUV!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
landman52
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worked Great for US
7/17/2013

Customer review by vckcm

4.0 stars 7/17/2013 by vckcm
by vckcm

We used this bag for a family camping trip. The add said that it is "weather-resistant" but I found on the manual that it is not the same as "weather-proof" since it said that we needed to put our belongings in plastic bags to keep the rain out as the bag was not "water-proof". I felt that was a little misleading, but it didn't rain, so we were fine. Otherwise, the bag performed remarkably well, has ample storage space for our needs, tied down nicely to our car, which only has the cross bar luggage wrack, but it stayed right in place. I needed a step ladder to pack it, but my husband is tall enough that he could do it without any problems. When we left the campsite, I couldn't help him load, so we packed it before putting it on the car and had one of my strong relatives help my husband lift it on. That worked better than trying to pack it on top of the car. I loved that it had a little storage bag and that it folds down to almost nothing. We can store it with our camping equipment and use it every time we go.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vckcm
Wasco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Terrible and horrible
1/4/2012

Customer review by xZiZiBaEx

1.0 stars 1/4/2012 by xZiZiBaEx
by xZiZiBaEx

It riped after 2hours of driving! If I hadn't tighten it right I might have lost everything that was stored in the bag! Not only that but what if something fell of while I was driving!?! Might have caused an accident!!! Don't buy this terrible thing!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xZiZiBaEx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
It tore :(
6/16/2014

Customer review by Theresa2014

1.0 stars 6/16/2014 by Theresa2014
by Theresa2014

After only 5 hours into our trip, it tore. There was no reason for it, we had nice traveling weather. At this price I wasn't expecting miracles, but I did expect it to be intact for the full 15 hour trip. Not happy with it at all, and I will be returning it asap.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Theresa2014
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not what I would have expected.
8/31/2011

Customer review by OlderMale

1.0 stars 8/31/2011 by OlderMale
by OlderMale

My wife and I bought this for a trip to Dallas, Texas and after about 12 hours the side was ripped out and we had to put everything in our car. I was not a happy camper with this product at all.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OlderMale
Portage, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
poor quality
7/8/2014

Customer review by malow

1.0 stars 7/8/2014 by malow
by malow

Zipper came undone as soon as I tried to lift the bag after packing it. It did not have a lot of heavy items in it, just blankets, bed sheets, pillows and towels that I took on a trip for my girls to go to summer camp.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
malow
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good quality Cargo Bag
8/13/2014

Customer review by Daoliviart

4.0 stars 8/13/2014 by Daoliviart
by Daoliviart

This is a pretty good quality bag which held up well for me. One thing that might help you decide what to buy...the size of your load is important. These bags do well when over two thirds to completely full. If you have small loads then you will get lots of movement and will need to tie the bag down very tightly. If you plan on carrying loads in the future just go ahead and buy a solid cargo carrier. These bags can be a pain to keep adjusting during a trip should you not get it right the first time. I think this one was 10 to 11 cubic feet and that was more than I could ever use. We put in a very large tent, air mattress, 2 sleeping bags, three camping chairs, wood, pillows etc. with still some room. There is some wind drag and mileage loss but that's how it goes for anything on your roof. Our first trip was short 1.5 hours, and this worked great for that. The next trip I only filled it a third of the way and had to use extra cords to secure it , it is really big. This thing kept coming lose and making noise in the wind, flapping, howling etc. finally I stuffed everything in the car and just put up with lack of space....no more problems. These do good filled up. The bag itself held up well, no rips and breaks, solid good material. It can be used over and over. I didn't encounter rain so can't comment about that.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Daoliviart
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/13/2011

Customer review by SDRuf

3.0 stars 10/13/2011 by SDRuf
by SDRuf

For $25 it was well worth it! Easy to pack & tie down and fold up and put back in the storage bag. I'm more of a visual person, so it was smaller than I expected. But we fit a Graco baby stroller, a couple bags with beach towels, sand toys and several misc. items. It's advertised as Weather Resistant which I took as water resistant. My daughter read the instructions which say it's NOT water resistant and suggested putting items in garbage bags, which we did. Thank god because it rained the entire drive, from the Keys to Jacksonville. It leaked a little, less than I thought it might. I'm going to spray it with water proofing and hopefully that will solve that.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SDRuf
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
just spent 7 hours on road and 460 miles
7/1/2013

Customer review by projectracerx

4.0 stars 7/1/2013 by projectracerx
by projectracerx

so, i too got this last minute, late last night, got home, strapped to roof and begin loading. in all fairness i've been eying reviews for about a month now, for the price i can afford to throw it away, my tools i can not though! i've helped a number of fiends move the past few years and worked for fedex ground, so in all fairness, i also really know how to pack stuff. my car is a pontiac vibe, factory roof rack. i did as follows: 1. unboxed and placed between rails on roof so the zipper is fully closed toward the rear passenger side of vehicle and keeping the zipper shielded from wind. 2. as i used this to carry a number of tools i loaded my ratchet set front driver side, impact hammer front passenger side of the bag, i kept the front load height low and at a progressive slope to the rear, my small shop vac in the back, hammers, nail guns, jig saw, sander, drill set, bits ect. were loaded on top of the hammer drill and 150 piece ratchet set, the heaviest items on bottom and squaring out the bag. 3. use the included straps as directed. 4. use 2 RATCHET straps and attach to front and rear rack cross bars as an 'X' over the top of the bag. THE BAG HELD UP FINE! I HAD NO ISSUES WITH THE BAG AT ALL OR THE STRAPS. BASED ON THE REVIEWS I WOULD NOT JUST USE THE INCLUDED STRAPS AND DO SUGGEST USING ADDITIONAL RATCHET STRAPS FOR SECURING! i read the reviews and the listing "weather resistant", i dont know what thats supposed to mean but so long as it doesnt rip apart then i can throw a tarp on under the ratchet straps if i ever need to. *the way i positioned my bag, the front hood side said reese and the hatch rear side also said reese but the zipper closes on that side. it did feel like a little less mpg, but keep in mind that this allows you to crry more and u probably will adding more weight to the vehicle. i'm not in a rush, found a "mega bus" and stayed behind that for a while to improve mpg. route was from sacramento to san bernadino, ca

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
projectracerx
sacramento, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
worked well for me
8/27/2012

Customer review by 4444444girl

5.0 stars 8/27/2012 by 4444444girl
by 4444444girl

we hit a little bit of light rain nothing got wet, plenty plenty of room in it for most of your stuff very little if packed rite will be in your van or truck only cooler and things for the road. tip is to pack the back of it with example the bike cart that folds down and a stroller then pack the corners with school bags or duffel bags to square it off and keep doing that to get the most out it. when tying it down tie the whole stapes till not much is loss then its more secure and you wont hear that rocks hitting the roof sound the whole trip. this year was the first time ever using one and i wondered why didnt i think of this years ago. also online you can buy it for 25.00 and free site to store shipping very cheap and elbow room saver. and dosnt effect on the gas not at all i found. i have a 2000 ford wind star and only took 3rd of a tank to get to va beach from lansdale pa. great deal over all.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
4444444girl
lansdale pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
1-20 of 49 total reviews
1-20 of 49 reviews