Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 60 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

60 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

60 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

58%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
16
4 stars
16
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 stars
18
1-20 of 58 total reviews
58%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 58 total reviews
1-20 of 58 reviews
Excellent value and performance
7/8/2016

Customer review by kharndt

5.0 stars 7/8/2016 by kharndt
by kharndt

Bought this bag at the last minute before heading out for 4th of July holiday. It traveled 500 miles, mostly on interstate at 80+mph speeds. Upon return home, it looks almost the same as when I took it out of the box. Seams are still perfect, straps haven't unraveled, it's a little dusty but it performed like a champ. What value! I definitely recommend! Note that in the picture accompanying this review, there is a bungee on the bag. This is because I misplaced one of the straps.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kharndt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worked Great for US
7/17/2013

Customer review by vckcm

4.0 stars 7/17/2013 by vckcm
by vckcm
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We used this bag for a family camping trip. The add said that it is "weather-resistant" but I found on the manual that it is not the same as "weather-proof" since it said that we needed to put our belongings in plastic bags to keep the rain out as the bag was not "water-proof". I felt that was a little misleading, but it didn't rain, so we were fine. Otherwise, the bag performed remarkably well, has ample storage space for our needs, tied down nicely to our car, which only has the cross bar luggage wrack, but it stayed right in place. I needed a step ladder to pack it, but my husband is tall enough that he could do it without any problems. When we left the campsite, I couldn't help him load, so we packed it before putting it on the car and had one of my strong relatives help my husband lift it on. That worked better than trying to pack it on top of the car. I loved that it had a little storage bag and that it folds down to almost nothing. We can store it with our camping equipment and use it every time we go.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vckcm
Wasco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It actually is a very good product!
8/4/2011

Customer review by DDAKRD

5.0 stars 8/4/2011 by DDAKRD
by DDAKRD

Looked at the reviews and decided against purchasing this. A moment of desperate need and low budget had me running into a WalMart to get it. Easy to use, haven't had the torn seams or zippers or loops, the belts and buckles all are in good order, not like the reviews I had read. Haven't used in bad weather. We stuff sleeping bags, pillows and blankets for 5 people in here, along with whatever else doesn't fit the car. Works great. I always have a tarp in the car, so if it rains, I'll just use it on the bag. The first time we used it, the straps were buckled straight and it made wind noise which we couldn't hear if we had the radio up a bit. Easily fixed by twisting the side straps a couple times as we buckled. The front and back straps didn't have any problems. I've used the bag 6-8 times in the past couple months. Packs nicely, don't notice too much wind resistance, nothing torn or broken or problematic. Actually a very nice set up, especially for the price.

Was this review helpful? (61) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DDAKRD
Reno, Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Good Deal
5/5/2016

Customer review by Yakboy

4.0 stars 5/5/2016 by Yakboy
by Yakboy

NOT WATERPROOF. IT SAYS SO ON THE BOX AND IN THE LISTING! But...It's a Great Deal! I use mine for camping gear . You can pack your stuff in plastic bags or dry bags. I used mine 10 hours of driving in and out of rain at 70+MPH. Great for Lawn chairs and life jackets. DO NOT STRESS ZIPPERS...EVER! You must be smarter than the thing your dealing with. I bought two just in case.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Yakboy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
We purchased this for vacation...
7/6/2016

Customer review by Lleasure05

1.0 stars 7/6/2016 by Lleasure05
by Lleasure05
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Our 8 hour drive from PA to NC for vacation there were tiny holes in the carrier when we arrived. We took the carrier off when we were at our beach house. On the way home half we through the fabric started to rip. By the time we got home the rip was larger and the liner inside was shredded through out the carrier. I guess you get what you paid for but I wish I would have saved the money and bought something more durable. Would not purchase this again and would not recommend for anyone I know to buy it either

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lleasure05
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So worth it!!!!!
7/24/2011

Customer review by troyxoamanda

5.0 stars 7/24/2011 by troyxoamanda
by troyxoamanda

We bought this to use on our trip from North Carolina to St. Augustine, Fl... about a 7ish hour drive and we were VERY pleased!! My parent's-in-law were highly skeptical and they love it now! We fit 2 large suitcases, a duffel bag, two beach chairs, pool noodles, and a boogie board with a little more room to spare. It didn't shift at all during the ride and we did go through some rain, and nothing was wet when we arrived in FL. The only advice would be to make sure you have a chair or something to stand on if you are vertically challenged to reach the top of your car comfortably. hehe Other than that.... SO worth the buy!!!! ALSO!!! for the people wandering about how it effects gas mileage, we usually can go around 360ish-miles on a tank, we got about 340ish-miles when we had to stop. TONS cheaper than having to take another car!!!

Was this review helpful? (89) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
troyxoamanda
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
It Got the Intended Job Done
6/24/2016

Customer review by Shilo2636

4.0 stars 6/24/2016 by Shilo2636
by Shilo2636
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The bag was for my youg daughter who is moving. She has a compact SUV with limited room but has a roof rack. For under $20 and reading the reviews I was skeptical if this bag would work. The materials were better than anticipated. It loaded easily and the four tiedows were sufficient to keep in place however I also used two kayak tie downs over the top and under/over the rack. The bag and it's contents made it the 849 mile journey unscathed. She will be bringing back home for another trip this month.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shilo2636
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Reese Towpower Car Top Weather-Resistant Bag
7/15/2016

Customer review by bBron

5.0 stars 7/15/2016 by bBron
by bBron
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We went on vacation and instead of using a suite case for everyone, we put the clothing in one of those storage bags. With the air out, the bag was able to hold more items. I purchased two and did not need both. One bag was used for 5 people. GREAT!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bBron
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
worked well for me
8/27/2012

Customer review by 4444444girl

5.0 stars 8/27/2012 by 4444444girl
by 4444444girl

we hit a little bit of light rain nothing got wet, plenty plenty of room in it for most of your stuff very little if packed rite will be in your van or truck only cooler and things for the road. tip is to pack the back of it with example the bike cart that folds down and a stroller then pack the corners with school bags or duffel bags to square it off and keep doing that to get the most out it. when tying it down tie the whole stapes till not much is loss then its more secure and you wont hear that rocks hitting the roof sound the whole trip. this year was the first time ever using one and i wondered why didnt i think of this years ago. also online you can buy it for 25.00 and free site to store shipping very cheap and elbow room saver. and dosnt effect on the gas not at all i found. i have a 2000 ford wind star and only took 3rd of a tank to get to va beach from lansdale pa. great deal over all.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
4444444girl
lansdale pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Not water resistant
7/16/2016

Customer review by Stephanie

3.0 stars 7/16/2016 by Stephanie
by Stephanie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's not water resistant, you must pack in plastic first. Otherwise the bag works just fine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stephanie
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
NOT WEATHER PROOF!!
5/6/2011

Customer review by rollbackdiva

1.0 stars 5/6/2011 by rollbackdiva
by rollbackdiva

my husband and I purchased this cargo bag and attached it securely atop our suv for a 6 hour road trip. we were able to fit all of our stuff in this bag BUT we ran into some rain on our road trip. By the time we made it to our destination all of our clothes and other cargo were WET!!

Was this review helpful? (172) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rollbackdiva
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Excellent quality
5/26/2014

Customer review by Drakemama

5.0 stars 5/26/2014 by Drakemama
by Drakemama
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We were very pleased with the size and quality of this item. It even held up traveling through rain!! Great price too!!

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Drakemama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Did exactly as promised.
6/28/2011

Customer review by Mamaofamonkey

5.0 stars 6/28/2011 by Mamaofamonkey
by Mamaofamonkey

We purchased this for a vacation trip to the beach. It was very easy to attach and held all our beach toys, towels, umbrellas and even a 3 ft plastic pool. We had a short rain shower while driving and it kept everything dry. I highly recommend this car top bag. You get so much extra space for an extremely reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? (40) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mamaofamonkey
Central NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Water resistant...not waterproof
3/1/2013

Customer review by theREDsubmarine

3.0 stars 3/1/2013 by theREDsubmarine
by theREDsubmarine

This item is weather-resistant as said in the title, not waterproof as said in the description. Besides that, this thing is great!!! It holds a lot for the price and despite the weather proofing issue, it's pretty sturdy considering it literally withstood a hurricane. For the price, I'd say it's worth it!! I moved from Miami, FL to New Orleans, LA and threw a bunch of my stuff on top of my car in this thing. It's fabric so it can accomodate oddly shaped things unlike other car toppers I've used. A day after I arrived in New Orleans, hurricane Isaac hit and literally drenched this thing while it was still strapped to my car. I had placed my stuff in garbage bags inside of it. Only a few items were wet after the storm. After hanging it out to dry, I stuffed it in the little bag (super compact!) that it came with and stashed it in my closet. I've pulled it out to use a bunch of times for camping trips, etc.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
theREDsubmarine
New Orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
NOT WEATHER OR RAINPROOF BUYER BEWARE
7/29/2011

Customer review by SAVEDBYGODSGRACE007

1.0 stars 7/29/2011 by SAVEDBYGODSGRACE007
by SAVEDBYGODSGRACE007

I purchased this item from my local Walmart to use for our camping gear - sleeping bags, towels, clothing ect. I followed the directions and installed it on the roof of our van making sure it was closed and strapped down properly then it started to rain. We left for our trip after the rain stopped then when we arrived to our campsite I opened the bag to find everything wet and water standing in the bottom of the bag . It wasn't even raining that hard out . I cant imagine what a down pour would have done to it. Everything had to be dried out before use. After returning from camping I immediately returned this to the store . I would not recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SAVEDBYGODSGRACE007
Northern Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great bag, economy zippers
2/19/2014

Customer review by Consumer1991

4.0 stars 2/19/2014 by Consumer1991
by Consumer1991

I saw a few reviews saying the zippers broke... they do break. I on the other hand was over stuffing it to the limit with vacuum sealed clothes. after an hour or so messing with the zippers i managed to get them secure. it is not rain proof (hence the vacuum sealed clothes) but very roomy. ( about a 100 articles of clothing , 3 queen comforters, a pack and play, iron, knife bag ect) About to take it on a 4 day moving trip from nevada to new jersey. lets hope all goes well!

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Consumer1991
las vegas, nv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
not a good buy
8/25/2011

Customer review by busyworkinmom

1.0 stars 8/25/2011 by busyworkinmom
by busyworkinmom

This product is for the top of a car/van, BUT says ok for (weather), but once I got it... IN SMALL PRINT ON BOX IT SAID NOT to use in RAIN! How can a roof rack for a car/van not be used during RAIN???? I couldn't use for my family trip cause a week away from home and in another state... Who knows if it will rain???

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
busyworkinmom
MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Would not buy
7/14/2011

Customer review by dazmah

1.0 stars 7/14/2011 by dazmah
by dazmah

Went on a 8 hour trip with three small suitcases. By the time we got to where we were going the cargo bag was torn and everything was wet.

Was this review helpful? (24) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dazmah
Ludington, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Great for the Money!
1/10/2012

Customer review by landman52

4.0 stars 1/10/2012 by landman52
by landman52

Keeps in small bag. We keep $1 painters plastic cloth in bag to use if we need waterproofing for our contents. Easy to install. Frees up a lot of space in small SUV!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
landman52
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/18/2013

Customer review by ALLWETDUKE

1.0 stars 6/18/2013 by ALLWETDUKE
by ALLWETDUKE
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

ITEM IN BOLD LETTERS SAYS WEATHER RESISTANT.WHEN I RECEIVED THE BAG IN TINY TINY LETTERS IT SAYS NOT RAINPROOF.WHAT?I MUST BE IGNORANT BECAUSE WEATHERPROOF TO ME MEANS IT PROTECTS YOUR ITEMS FROM EVEN RAIN.CONSUMER BE AWARE.

Was this review helpful? (13) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ALLWETDUKE
MIDLOTHIAN IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 58 total reviews
1-20 of 58 reviews