Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 39 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

39 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

39 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
34
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 35 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews
This is the best ATF for the money!
11/28/2015

Customer review by SeattleZach

5.0 stars 11/28/2015 by SeattleZach
by SeattleZach

I've used this on my 2007 Hyundai Entourage minivan and my 2004 Toyota Camry for the last 5 years. For both vehicles, I will do a pan drain and fill at every 30k miles. With the price of a 1 gallon jug at Walmart, it makes it a real good maintenance deal. I can always tell when I have a fresh batch because the transmission is just smooth as silk. I would recommend this stuff to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SeattleZach
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product and great price
12/19/2015

Customer review by Ivan

5.0 stars 12/19/2015 by Ivan
by Ivan

I used the Valvoline Max Life ATF for a drain and fill on my 2008 Acura MDX. Transmission runs smoother with this fluid than with the old fluid I had in there. This fluid meets the manufacturers specifications for both Honda and Nissan which plus many others.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ivan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The full synthetic version max life is great!
5/24/2015

Customer review by hondoman45

5.0 stars 5/24/2015 by hondoman45
by hondoman45

To clarify, this review is for the full synthetic Maxlife atf. The picture here is not accurate, but the price is. Others have mentioned this in their reviews, but I've never seen the container pictured on Walmarts website at any of their stores. I've been using this for some time now in different vehicles with no issues, and it appears to work as well as the Amsoil signature series atf I had been using until it became cost prohibitive for me to continue using with multiple cars. I do a complete flush using the trans cooler lines as well as draining the pan. Amsoil has info on how to do this and it isn't hard to find sites that offer similar advice. Basically, this atf does the same job as Amsoil for less than half the price. I love Amsoil but it costs an arm and a leg with all the cars I am servicing. Thanks Valvoline for a great value in a premium atf! BTW, don't despair if you can't find this at every Walmart, as only a couple of stores carry it where I live. Their website shows where it is available.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hondoman45
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Max life ATF
2/6/2016

Customer review by Hart

5.0 stars 2/6/2016 by Hart
by Hart

Good stuff at a low price

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hart
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great ATF for my 2003 Hyundai
6/26/2012

Customer review by ykor

5.0 stars 6/26/2012 by ykor
by ykor

This ATF so far is working fine on my 2003 Hyundai Santa Fe as a replacement for original SP-III ATF. Shifting is smooth again, but I replaced the whole fluid. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (36) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ykor
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Workd for my Honda Odyssey
4/21/2014

Customer review by shopguy4

5.0 stars 4/21/2014 by shopguy4
by shopguy4

The fluid that came with my transmission was not holding up to the heat that is generated by that particular transmission. I needed a higher quality fluid, so I did heavy research on the subject and I discovered this product. It is highly recommended by others just like myself having the same problems. I used 11 quarts on a complete flush and added an in-line magnetic filter. I could not be happier, it solved my problems, and I have a better smoother shift. I suggest that after the flush a computer reboot will be helpful. Simply unhook the battery and then re-hook. Maxlife Dex/Merc is a fluid that I recommend to anyone, especially Honda Owners.

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shopguy4
La Quinta CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
THE BEST TRANSMISSION FLUID ON THE MARKET!
11/24/2013

Customer review by korkel

5.0 stars 11/24/2013 by korkel
by korkel
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

i have been using this fluid for the last 15 years, and never had a transmission fail me yet! they want 10 bucks a quart at the local auto stores. i got it off walmart.com for 4.25 a quart! they dont always have it in stock so when they do buy as many as you can or you will end up waiting for more or paying threw the nose at your local auto stores.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
korkel
lakefield, mn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Product at a great price!
9/3/2011

Customer review by Sackattack

5.0 stars 9/3/2011 by Sackattack
by Sackattack
Top 500 contributor

I know several people that use this Maxlife ATF, and every one of them love it. I use it in some of my cars and I have not been disappointed. Although I do use Amsoil ATF and Mobil1 ATF in some of my other vehicles, the Maxlife is the best bang for the buck by far.

Was this review helpful? (44) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sackattack
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
HAPPY CUSTOMER
5/6/2012

Customer review by HarleyBoySE

5.0 stars 5/6/2012 by HarleyBoySE
by HarleyBoySE

This item worked very well for my car....What a Dif

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HarleyBoySE
BEST TRANSMISSION FLUID ON THE MARKET!!!
11/21/2013

Customer review by ZAGAT

5.0 stars 11/21/2013 by ZAGAT
by ZAGAT
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

VALVOLINE MAXLIFE is without a doubt the best transmission fluid on the market especially for older cars that have over 75,000 miles on it. I've had my orginal transmission now on my 2003 Pontiac Grand Am GT Sedan for 187,000 miles and it runs like new. I started using this VALVOLINE MAXLIFE when my car reached 75,000 miles on it and it has continued to run flawlessly ever since. I also use VALVOLINE MAXLIFE oil and that too is phenomenal.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ZAGAT
Jericho, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Dexron III Substitute
8/3/2013

Customer review by Fattburger

5.0 stars 8/3/2013 by Fattburger
by Fattburger

Just put a gallon of this into my 2003 Subaru which calls for Dexron III. Car's shiftng seems smoother and quieter with no hesitation. Label also says you can use this in 2005+ Subies calling for Subaru HP fluid although I can't attest to its effectiveness in that application, but in my 2003 it works great. Smells like an environmental disaster but once its in the sump you won't notice it and I guess it's proof the additive package is different than your typical Dex. Hard to find in most Walmart stores but worth tracking down, great value for the price especially in older high mileage cars.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fattburger
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent product.
7/27/2012

Customer review by Yokota

5.0 stars 7/27/2012 by Yokota
by Yokota

I have used Valvoline MaxLife Dex/Mec Automatic Transmission fluid since 2002 with no problems at all. My vehicle (Chevy SUV) has over 200,000 thousand miles clocked with the Trans fluid being changed every 35K. The transmission has no problems and shifts smooth. I also use the Max Life in my Toyota Avalon & Toyota 4 Runner. Excellent product & price.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Yokota
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Awesome transmission fluid at a great price!
8/3/2012

Customer review by lightbrigade

5.0 stars 8/3/2012 by lightbrigade
by lightbrigade

I replaced the transmission filter and flushed/replaced all of the old fluid with three gallons of Valvoline Max Life in a 2006 Ford Fusion SE with a FRN5 transmission. The Max Life was the recommended fluid according to Valvoline tech support. The FRN5 fluid from the dealer is $11.00 per quart, but I purchased the Max Life for one third the cost from Walmart.com. The Max Life is working great as a replacement fluid with smooth shifts, and improved gas mileage.

Was this review helpful? (26) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lightbrigade
New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Alternative to FRN5 and ATF-MV
8/28/2015

Customer review by ttwheelsquad

5.0 stars 8/28/2015 by ttwheelsquad
by ttwheelsquad

If you own a Mazda5 (or Mazda3) and you don't want to be stuck using the factory (and expensive) atf from the dealer, get this! I've done 2 of my 3X drain/fill so far and have already noticed improvements. Will know for sure in a year after seeing how the color holds up, but with how much everyone else has had good luck with this, I have no doubt it will last longer than the factory atf.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ttwheelsquad
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Volvo XC70
8/9/2015

Customer review by AKAMick

5.0 stars 8/9/2015 by AKAMick
by AKAMick

The transmission appeared to need a rebuild, harsh, slamming shifts, slippage, which would have been extremely expensive. Decided to flush the transmission through the cooler return line, two quarts out, two new in, after eleven quarts, and an added transmission oil cooler, the transmission is shifting like it should. Maxlife ATF meets the factory requirements for the car, and is a reasonable price compared to the factory Volvo ATF.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AKAMick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worked great
11/9/2015

Customer review by Thomas

5.0 stars 11/9/2015 by Thomas
by Thomas

Worked great

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thomas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
maxlife in fleet trucks and cars, even in my boats
7/2/2014

Customer review by FALCON75

5.0 stars 7/2/2014 by FALCON75
by FALCON75

maxlife oil I love it.. I use it on my fleet trucks(10) and cars(35), my boats(3) and toy's(4# I use to play. long time user and it never failed me. im a d.i.y. man and everything can be fix or repaired. I recommend this line in new and old cars trucks and OTHER APP. you can use this on it not about the price but it helps when you changing 11 1/2 QT per + A POP#vic.). let just say it in my top 3 choose because the weather im in. summer most of the year 75-125 degree I don't see winter unless im going into the summit. so I need something to control heat. HEAT And FRICTION engine and transmission num. 1 enemy. I give it 5stars. *pro. help all the seal out, keep parts clean, and it last longer#brake down oil# *con. wish they made filter to match. other then that non.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FALCON75
SACRAMENTO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Pru
3/21/2013

Customer review by petepete22

5.0 stars 3/21/2013 by petepete22
by petepete22

Great Product but my nearby Walmart store location quit stocking the 1 gallon jugs of Valvoline MaxLife ATF . It is inconvenient to travel to other Walmart location that have iy. Please stock it a all Walmart locations that have an automotive department. .

Was this review helpful? (9) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
petepete22
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good stuff
10/14/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/14/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I like it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great value for synthetic
3/27/2014

Customer review by DoItMyselfToSave

5.0 stars 3/27/2014 by DoItMyselfToSave
by DoItMyselfToSave
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Ordered through various Walmart locations in order to get the total amount needed for the transmission fluid change. My transmission was long over due for a fluid change. Seems like shifting is a little smoother and I don't hear the engine as loud as I did before on the highway (maybe it's not working as hard). So far so good!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DoItMyselfToSave
Miami, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews