Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 51 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

51 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

51 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
45
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 47 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 47 total reviews
1-20 of 47 reviews
The full synthetic version max life is great!
5/24/2015

Customer review by hondoman45

5.0 stars 5/24/2015 by hondoman45
by hondoman45

To clarify, this review is for the full synthetic Maxlife atf. The picture here is not accurate, but the price is. Others have mentioned this in their reviews, but I've never seen the container pictured on Walmarts website at any of their stores. I've been using this for some time now in different vehicles with no issues, and it appears to work as well as the Amsoil signature series atf I had been using until it became cost prohibitive for me to continue using with multiple cars. I do a complete flush using the trans cooler lines as well as draining the pan. Amsoil has info on how to do this and it isn't hard to find sites that offer similar advice. Basically, this atf does the same job as Amsoil for less than half the price. I love Amsoil but it costs an arm and a leg with all the cars I am servicing. Thanks Valvoline for a great value in a premium atf! BTW, don't despair if you can't find this at every Walmart, as only a couple of stores carry it where I live. Their website shows where it is available.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hondoman45
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great
7/10/2016

Customer review by Leo77

5.0 stars 7/10/2016 by Leo77
by Leo77
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought 3 of these and Did drain fill 3 times with this and trans is shifting super smooth. I might do one more just to make sure all fluid has been replaced. I figure about 90% is new now. Drain fill takes a little longer but you don't shock the transmission with all fresh fluid all at once. Drain fill, drive about 100 miles, drain fill, another 100 and one more time so the trans slowly cleans itself out and gets used to new fluid.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Leo77
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent alternative to expensive import ATF
4/19/2016

Customer review by desolder

5.0 stars 4/19/2016 by desolder
by desolder

My 2007 Nissan Xterra just passed the 100K mark. I decided to do a full ATF flush since I haven't been doing the partial drain-and-fills that Nissan recommends every 30K. A full flush requires about 3 gallons (12 quarts). The local Nissan stealership wanted $16/qt, for a total of $192. That's outrageous!!! As usual, Walmart came to the rescue. Their Valvoline MaxLife Multi-Vehicle ATF is compatible with Nissan Matic-J and Matic-S, which is what my Xterra requires. An entire gallon (4 quarts) cost only slightly more than a single quart of OEM ATF does at the stealership. After doing the flush, my transmission shifts as good as new. The old fluid was getting worn out and the shifts were starting to get jerky. I'm glad I did the fluid change. Thanks Walmart and Valvoline for providing an excellent, cheaper alternative to expensive OEM ATF.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
desolder
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A high tech product!
8/24/2016

Customer review by photomark

5.0 stars 8/24/2016 by photomark
by photomark
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'm using it on our BMW 525i, thanks to Valvoline high tech formula, this transmission fluid is compatible with all imports.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
photomark
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Valvoline atf
8/17/2016

Customer review by BokoBoko

5.0 stars 8/17/2016 by BokoBoko
by BokoBoko
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Best price on the market, used it on my BMW's automatic transmissions as recommended subtitude to the dexron 4, change your transmission oil before it brakes. GM transmissions are serviseble and need to be serviced.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BokoBoko
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is the best ATF for the money!
11/28/2015

Customer review by SeattleZach

5.0 stars 11/28/2015 by SeattleZach
by SeattleZach

I've used this on my 2007 Hyundai Entourage minivan and my 2004 Toyota Camry for the last 5 years. For both vehicles, I will do a pan drain and fill at every 30k miles. With the price of a 1 gallon jug at Walmart, it makes it a real good maintenance deal. I can always tell when I have a fresh batch because the transmission is just smooth as silk. I would recommend this stuff to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SeattleZach
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy pickup and substantial savings
7/1/2016

Customer review by Duwayne

4.0 stars 7/1/2016 by Duwayne
by Duwayne
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

New service , and it works great

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Duwayne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Full Synthetic at a great price
8/6/2016

Customer review by Carlops

5.0 stars 8/6/2016 by Carlops
by Carlops
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great for my power steering and transmission.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Carlops
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
BEST TRANSMISSION FLUID ON THE MARKET!!!
11/21/2013

Customer review by ZAGAT

5.0 stars 11/21/2013 by ZAGAT
by ZAGAT
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

VALVOLINE MAXLIFE is without a doubt the best transmission fluid on the market especially for older cars that have over 75,000 miles on it. I've had my orginal transmission now on my 2003 Pontiac Grand Am GT Sedan for 187,000 miles and it runs like new. I started using this VALVOLINE MAXLIFE when my car reached 75,000 miles on it and it has continued to run flawlessly ever since. I also use VALVOLINE MAXLIFE oil and that too is phenomenal.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ZAGAT
Jericho, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Max life transmission fluid
3/14/2016

Customer review by quickdraw1ss

5.0 stars 3/14/2016 by quickdraw1ss
by quickdraw1ss

this transmission fluid takes the place of Dexron vi and is a great value. Time will tell if it's as good as they say it is. Before I put it in the transmission was slipping. I've only had it in the car for 3 weeks and it's already reduced slippage in the transmission from 4 times to one time in 3 weeks.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
quickdraw1ss
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
THE BEST TRANSMISSION FLUID ON THE MARKET!
11/24/2013

Customer review by korkel

5.0 stars 11/24/2013 by korkel
by korkel
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

i have been using this fluid for the last 15 years, and never had a transmission fail me yet! they want 10 bucks a quart at the local auto stores. i got it off walmart.com for 4.25 a quart! they dont always have it in stock so when they do buy as many as you can or you will end up waiting for more or paying threw the nose at your local auto stores.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
korkel
lakefield, mn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great alternative to expensive Toyota T IV and WS
6/9/2016

Customer review by Albuquerqueman

5.0 stars 6/9/2016 by Albuquerqueman
by Albuquerqueman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I use it in all my Toyotas and Lexuses. I've total 4 of these.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Albuquerqueman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great ATF for my 2003 Hyundai
6/26/2012

Customer review by ykor

5.0 stars 6/26/2012 by ykor
by ykor

This ATF so far is working fine on my 2003 Hyundai Santa Fe as a replacement for original SP-III ATF. Shifting is smooth again, but I replaced the whole fluid. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (39) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ykor
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Trans Fluid
3/21/2016

Customer review by Handmyat46

5.0 stars 3/21/2016 by Handmyat46
by Handmyat46

Works great in my wife's car makes her car shift a lot better and smoother

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Handmyat46
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Dexron III Substitute
8/3/2013

Customer review by Fattburger

5.0 stars 8/3/2013 by Fattburger
by Fattburger

Just put a gallon of this into my 2003 Subaru which calls for Dexron III. Car's shiftng seems smoother and quieter with no hesitation. Label also says you can use this in 2005+ Subies calling for Subaru HP fluid although I can't attest to its effectiveness in that application, but in my 2003 it works great. Smells like an environmental disaster but once its in the sump you won't notice it and I guess it's proof the additive package is different than your typical Dex. Hard to find in most Walmart stores but worth tracking down, great value for the price especially in older high mileage cars.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fattburger
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
HAPPY CUSTOMER
5/6/2012

Customer review by HarleyBoySE

5.0 stars 5/6/2012 by HarleyBoySE
by HarleyBoySE

This item worked very well for my car....What a Dif

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HarleyBoySE
Workd for my Honda Odyssey
4/21/2014

Customer review by shopguy4

5.0 stars 4/21/2014 by shopguy4
by shopguy4

The fluid that came with my transmission was not holding up to the heat that is generated by that particular transmission. I needed a higher quality fluid, so I did heavy research on the subject and I discovered this product. It is highly recommended by others just like myself having the same problems. I used 11 quarts on a complete flush and added an in-line magnetic filter. I could not be happier, it solved my problems, and I have a better smoother shift. I suggest that after the flush a computer reboot will be helpful. Simply unhook the battery and then re-hook. Maxlife Dex/Merc is a fluid that I recommend to anyone, especially Honda Owners.

Was this review helpful? (23) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shopguy4
La Quinta CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Great product and great price
12/19/2015

Customer review by Ivan

5.0 stars 12/19/2015 by Ivan
by Ivan

I used the Valvoline Max Life ATF for a drain and fill on my 2008 Acura MDX. Transmission runs smoother with this fluid than with the old fluid I had in there. This fluid meets the manufacturers specifications for both Honda and Nissan which plus many others.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ivan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Alternative to FRN5 and ATF-MV
8/28/2015

Customer review by ttwheelsquad

5.0 stars 8/28/2015 by ttwheelsquad
by ttwheelsquad

If you own a Mazda5 (or Mazda3) and you don't want to be stuck using the factory (and expensive) atf from the dealer, get this! I've done 2 of my 3X drain/fill so far and have already noticed improvements. Will know for sure in a year after seeing how the color holds up, but with how much everyone else has had good luck with this, I have no doubt it will last longer than the factory atf.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ttwheelsquad
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Product at a great price!
9/3/2011

Customer review by Sackattack

5.0 stars 9/3/2011 by Sackattack
by Sackattack
Top 500 contributor

I know several people that use this Maxlife ATF, and every one of them love it. I use it in some of my cars and I have not been disappointed. Although I do use Amsoil ATF and Mobil1 ATF in some of my other vehicles, the Maxlife is the best bang for the buck by far.

Was this review helpful? (45) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sackattack
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
1-20 of 47 total reviews
1-20 of 47 reviews