Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 63 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

63 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

63 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
57
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 59 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 59 total reviews
1-20 of 59 reviews
The full synthetic version max life is great!
5/24/2015

Customer review by hondoman45

5.0 stars 5/24/2015 by hondoman45
by hondoman45

To clarify, this review is for the full synthetic Maxlife atf. The picture here is not accurate, but the price is. Others have mentioned this in their reviews, but I've never seen the container pictured on Walmarts website at any of their stores. I've been using this for some time now in different vehicles with no issues, and it appears to work as well as the Amsoil signature series atf I had been using until it became cost prohibitive for me to continue using with multiple cars. I do a complete flush using the trans cooler lines as well as draining the pan. Amsoil has info on how to do this and it isn't hard to find sites that offer similar advice. Basically, this atf does the same job as Amsoil for less than half the price. I love Amsoil but it costs an arm and a leg with all the cars I am servicing. Thanks Valvoline for a great value in a premium atf! BTW, don't despair if you can't find this at every Walmart, as only a couple of stores carry it where I live. Their website shows where it is available.

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hondoman45
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Always good
2/5/2017

Customer review by Frank

5.0 stars 2/5/2017 by Frank
by Frank
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good stuff man puff,puff pass

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Frank
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Happy with the result. Cheaper than GM fluid
11/21/2016

Customer review by lxc1227

5.0 stars 11/21/2016 by lxc1227
by lxc1227
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I replaced 2 transmission cooler lines and did a pan drop/filter replacement and needed about 2 gallons of Dexron VI ATF. The auto parts store sells the quart-bottle only so I bought this gallon-jug at Walmart. My car is a 2008 Chevy Impala with 180,000 miles (dealer performed flush at 50K & 100K) and had no issue other than the cooler lines are rusty at bottom ends. I measured the drained fluid (about 6 qts) and refilled with 6.5 qts of this. The car still runs smooth and again no issue I can tell. I do have a ScanGauge that displays the transmission fluid temperature, where the temp would go up to 200 or so and now it reads 160 at most. It may be because the outside temperature is lot colder... I am pretty happy with the result.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lxc1227
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
**Toyota Tacoma WS compatible
10/1/2016

Customer review by TACO007

5.0 stars 10/1/2016 by TACO007
by TACO007
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased and used 4 gallons of this Valvoline Max High Milage ATF to flush and replace fluid in my 2007 Toyota Tacoma 4.0L 5 speed AT at 185,000 miles. It is Toyota WS ATF compatible!!! and in my research has a higher temp rating than the OEM Toyota WS fluid, this higher temp rtating keeps the ATF fluid from breaking down over time especially useful if you tow with your truck as I do! It also has some additives that "help" with conditioning seals, valves, etc in AT in high Milage trucks. Best of all...I paid $17.80/gallon ordering online and picking up at Walmart store near me. That's CHEAP considering my mechanics price was close to $9.00 a quart!!!! I am mediately could notice the difference my truck in shifting and smoothness. It's been about a month now and I'm still very happy with the product!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TACO007
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good stuff
11/2/2016

Customer review by molebuster

5.0 stars 11/2/2016 by molebuster
by molebuster
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The best ATF for most cars.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
molebuster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent alternative to expensive import ATF
4/19/2016

Customer review by desolder

5.0 stars 4/19/2016 by desolder
by desolder

My 2007 Nissan Xterra just passed the 100K mark. I decided to do a full ATF flush since I haven't been doing the partial drain-and-fills that Nissan recommends every 30K. A full flush requires about 3 gallons (12 quarts). The local Nissan stealership wanted $16/qt, for a total of $192. That's outrageous!!! As usual, Walmart came to the rescue. Their Valvoline MaxLife Multi-Vehicle ATF is compatible with Nissan Matic-J and Matic-S, which is what my Xterra requires. An entire gallon (4 quarts) cost only slightly more than a single quart of OEM ATF does at the stealership. After doing the flush, my transmission shifts as good as new. The old fluid was getting worn out and the shifts were starting to get jerky. I'm glad I did the fluid change. Thanks Walmart and Valvoline for providing an excellent, cheaper alternative to expensive OEM ATF.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
desolder
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good for Toyota WS ATF
10/5/2016

Customer review by YCLiu

5.0 stars 10/5/2016 by YCLiu
by YCLiu

I am not a big fan of Valvoline. However, I could not find Toyota WS compatible from other brands, so I had no choice, instead of buying it to flush my 2007 Toyota Sienna transmission at 66K from my local Walmart store. Later on, I drained and refilled my 07' Sienna transmission at 97K. I don't feel anything wrong so far. My 07's Sienna transmission is running smooth. Only thing I can say... This ATF is good.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YCLiu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Product
10/19/2016

Customer review by Money

5.0 stars 10/19/2016 by Money
by Money
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have used this in all of my vehicles which include a 2004 Honda Odyssey, 2005 Ford F-150 and 2012 Kia Forte Koup. I have had no issues and it is readily available for a great price at Walmart. I usually do a transmission service with each engine oil change just to keep the fluid fresh. What many folks do not realize is that "Lifetime Transmission Fluid" means life of the warranty.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Money
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great alternative to expensive Toyota T IV and WS
6/9/2016

Customer review by Albuquerqueman

5.0 stars 6/9/2016 by Albuquerqueman
by Albuquerqueman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I use it in all my Toyotas and Lexuses. I've total 4 of these.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Albuquerqueman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great
7/10/2016

Customer review by Leo77

5.0 stars 7/10/2016 by Leo77
by Leo77
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought 3 of these and Did drain fill 3 times with this and trans is shifting super smooth. I might do one more just to make sure all fluid has been replaced. I figure about 90% is new now. Drain fill takes a little longer but you don't shock the transmission with all fresh fluid all at once. Drain fill, drive about 100 miles, drain fill, another 100 and one more time so the trans slowly cleans itself out and gets used to new fluid.

Was this review helpful? (23) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Leo77
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good stuff
2/3/2017

Customer review by Dfaf

5.0 stars 2/3/2017 by Dfaf
by Dfaf
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good for a wide variety of cars.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dfaf
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good product
11/27/2016

Customer review by chino

5.0 stars 11/27/2016 by chino
by chino
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

good price also

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chino
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product.
10/16/2016

Customer review by Jimmy

5.0 stars 10/16/2016 by Jimmy
by Jimmy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was afraid I'd mess up my tranny by replacing 1 gal of the old fluid with new fluid but not only did it not ruin the tranny but it actually improved the shifting.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jimmy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Dexron III Substitute
8/3/2013

Customer review by Fattburger

5.0 stars 8/3/2013 by Fattburger
by Fattburger

Just put a gallon of this into my 2003 Subaru which calls for Dexron III. Car's shiftng seems smoother and quieter with no hesitation. Label also says you can use this in 2005+ Subies calling for Subaru HP fluid although I can't attest to its effectiveness in that application, but in my 2003 it works great. Smells like an environmental disaster but once its in the sump you won't notice it and I guess it's proof the additive package is different than your typical Dex. Hard to find in most Walmart stores but worth tracking down, great value for the price especially in older high mileage cars.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fattburger
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good stuff
1/24/2017

Customer review by Slimpickins

5.0 stars 1/24/2017 by Slimpickins
by Slimpickins
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Replaced let's see how many miles I go...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Slimpickins
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is the best ATF for the money!
11/28/2015

Customer review by SeattleZach

5.0 stars 11/28/2015 by SeattleZach
by SeattleZach

I've used this on my 2007 Hyundai Entourage minivan and my 2004 Toyota Camry for the last 5 years. For both vehicles, I will do a pan drain and fill at every 30k miles. With the price of a 1 gallon jug at Walmart, it makes it a real good maintenance deal. I can always tell when I have a fresh batch because the transmission is just smooth as silk. I would recommend this stuff to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SeattleZach
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BEST TRANSMISSION FLUID ON THE MARKET!!!
11/21/2013

Customer review by ZAGAT

5.0 stars 11/21/2013 by ZAGAT
by ZAGAT
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

VALVOLINE MAXLIFE is without a doubt the best transmission fluid on the market especially for older cars that have over 75,000 miles on it. I've had my orginal transmission now on my 2003 Pontiac Grand Am GT Sedan for 187,000 miles and it runs like new. I started using this VALVOLINE MAXLIFE when my car reached 75,000 miles on it and it has continued to run flawlessly ever since. I also use VALVOLINE MAXLIFE oil and that too is phenomenal.

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ZAGAT
Jericho, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product and great price
12/19/2015

Customer review by Ivan

5.0 stars 12/19/2015 by Ivan
by Ivan

I used the Valvoline Max Life ATF for a drain and fill on my 2008 Acura MDX. Transmission runs smoother with this fluid than with the old fluid I had in there. This fluid meets the manufacturers specifications for both Honda and Nissan which plus many others.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ivan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
THE BEST TRANSMISSION FLUID ON THE MARKET!
11/24/2013

Customer review by korkel

5.0 stars 11/24/2013 by korkel
by korkel
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

i have been using this fluid for the last 15 years, and never had a transmission fail me yet! they want 10 bucks a quart at the local auto stores. i got it off walmart.com for 4.25 a quart! they dont always have it in stock so when they do buy as many as you can or you will end up waiting for more or paying threw the nose at your local auto stores.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
korkel
lakefield, mn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Workd for my Honda Odyssey
4/21/2014

Customer review by shopguy4

5.0 stars 4/21/2014 by shopguy4
by shopguy4

The fluid that came with my transmission was not holding up to the heat that is generated by that particular transmission. I needed a higher quality fluid, so I did heavy research on the subject and I discovered this product. It is highly recommended by others just like myself having the same problems. I used 11 quarts on a complete flush and added an in-line magnetic filter. I could not be happier, it solved my problems, and I have a better smoother shift. I suggest that after the flush a computer reboot will be helpful. Simply unhook the battery and then re-hook. Maxlife Dex/Merc is a fluid that I recommend to anyone, especially Honda Owners.

Was this review helpful? (26) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shopguy4
La Quinta CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
1-20 of 59 total reviews
1-20 of 59 reviews