Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.9out of 5 stars
4.9 out of 5 | 80 reviews
5 stars
73
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
Sort by: 
1-20 of 76 reviews
1-20 of 76 reviews
The full synthetic version max life is great!
5/24/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
To clarify, this review is for the full synthetic Maxlife atf. The picture here is not accurate, but the price is. Others have mentioned this in their reviews, but I've never seen the container pictured on Walmarts website at any of their stores. I've been using this for some time now in different vehicles with no issues, and it appears to work as well as the Amsoil signature series atf I had been using until it became cost prohibitive for me to continue using with multiple cars. I do a complete flush using the trans cooler lines as well as draining the pan. Amsoil has info on how to do this and it isn't hard to find sites that offer similar advice. Basically, this atf does the same job as Amsoil for less than half the price. I love Amsoil but it costs an arm and a leg with all the cars I am servicing. Thanks Valvoline for a great value in a premium atf! BTW, don't despair if you can't find this at every Walmart, as only a couple of stores carry it where I live. Their website shows where it is available.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (36)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Happy with the result. Cheaper than GM fluid
11/21/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I replaced 2 transmission cooler lines and did a pan drop/filter replacement and needed about 2 gallons of Dexron VI ATF. The auto parts store sells the quart-bottle only so I bought this gallon-jug at Walmart. My car is a 2008 Chevy Impala with 180,000 miles (dealer performed flush at 50K & 100K) and had no issue other than the cooler lines are rusty at bottom ends. I measured the drained fluid (about 6 qts) and refilled with 6.5 qts of this. The car still runs smooth and again no issue I can tell. I do have a ScanGauge that displays the transmission fluid temperature, where the temp would go up to 200 or so and now it reads 160 at most. It may be because the outside temperature is lot colder... I am pretty happy with the result.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good works for my car full synthetic.
9/21/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Works for 2010 Malibu. Shifting started better. Overdue for change at 120k miles.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome product! Saved lots of money!
9/13/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Super smooth transmission and much quieter! This works for 2nd generation Prius (2004 - 200). I actually called Valvoline to confirm. I drained and filled transmission twice. Now my car drives so smooth and quiet. So much cheaper than going to dealer! If you have a hybrid, call Valvoline to verify if you can use it. Generally this product is not for hybrids, but there are a few exceptions including the Prius.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Much better than Toyota WS!
4/30/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have two Toyota's. A 2008 and 2009, both call for WS atf. Have used Valvoline Maxlife atf in both and big difference in smoothness and quietened transmissions. Toyota WS flash point is only 175*C, while Maxlife flash point is 202* C. Since heat is number one problem with transmission breakdown. I strongly recommend you drain out your Toyota WS fluid and replace it with a much better atf fluid like Valvoline Maxlife. You will be pleasantly surprised at how much your transmission will like it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent alternative to expensive import ATF
4/19/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My 2007 Nissan Xterra just passed the 100K mark. I decided to do a full ATF flush since I haven't been doing the partial drain-and-fills that Nissan recommends every 30K. A full flush requires about 3 gallons (12 quarts). The local Nissan stealership wanted $16/qt, for a total of $192. That's outrageous!!! As usual, Walmart came to the rescue. Their Valvoline MaxLife Multi-Vehicle ATF is compatible with Nissan Matic-J and Matic-S, which is what my Xterra requires. An entire gallon (4 quarts) cost only slightly more than a single quart of OEM ATF does at the stealership. After doing the flush, my transmission shifts as good as new. The old fluid was getting worn out and the shifts were starting to get jerky. I'm glad I did the fluid change. Thanks Walmart and Valvoline for providing an excellent, cheaper alternative to expensive OEM ATF.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
**Toyota Tacoma WS compatible
10/1/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I purchased and used 4 gallons of this Valvoline Max High Milage ATF to flush and replace fluid in my 2007 Toyota Tacoma 4.0L 5 speed AT at 185,000 miles. It is Toyota WS ATF compatible!!! and in my research has a higher temp rating than the OEM Toyota WS fluid, this higher temp rtating keeps the ATF fluid from breaking down over time especially useful if you tow with your truck as I do! It also has some additives that "help" with conditioning seals, valves, etc in AT in high Milage trucks. Best of all...I paid $17.80/gallon ordering online and picking up at Walmart store near me. That's CHEAP considering my mechanics price was close to $9.00 a quart!!!! I am mediately could notice the difference my truck in shifting and smoothness. It's been about a month now and I'm still very happy with the product!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very happy
9/7/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Did a 4x drain/refill (drained and refilled tranny 4 times) on my '02 Honda Accord and so far (about 2k miles) the tranny is shifting nice and smooth, pretty much as it was when I used the genuine Honda DW-1 fluid. The price (currently $17.87/gal.) is much better than DW-1. A gal. (4 individual quarts) of DW-1 would have cost about $28-30.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It is good trans fluid
9/8/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is not 100% synthetic it's base is crude oil but one of the cheapest in it class good stuff
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent replacement for Toyota WS
8/30/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I used this to change the fluid in my 2009 Tundra and my 2007 Tacoma, and both of them now shift as good as new. I believe this fluid is actually better than oem since its fully synthetic.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great alternative to expensive Toyota T IV and WS
6/9/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I use it in all my Toyotas and Lexuses. I've total 4 of these.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Dexron III Substitute
8/3/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Just put a gallon of this into my 2003 Subaru which calls for Dexron III. Car's shiftng seems smoother and quieter with no hesitation. Label also says you can use this in 2005+ Subies calling for Subaru HP fluid although I can't attest to its effectiveness in that application, but in my 2003 it works great. Smells like an environmental disaster but once its in the sump you won't notice it and I guess it's proof the additive package is different than your typical Dex. Hard to find in most Walmart stores but worth tracking down, great value for the price especially in older high mileage cars.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (24)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Valvoline MaxLife Multi-Vehicle ATF
8/28/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I like the priced - used it on My Honda Accord 2007 ATF -Z1
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
GM Dexron VI Application
8/24/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Used twice now for my 2013 Sonic requiring Dexron VI. Performs well in transmission. Over 50k miles of use.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
2008 Sequoia better than WS oem ATF Toyota
3/18/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My Sequoia has over 200K now on transmission an thanks to Maxlife in it with no problems an hoping for another 200k . My local walmart has it in stock most of the time but from time to time it does sell out, so check on-line make sure it's on the Shelf. An it's no wonder they sell out because best ATF for the money . Buy the Gallon jugs for best bang for you bucks..... Thanks to Maxlife an Walmart the Toyota Sequoia will stay on the road for years to come.... Dublin,Ga
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
BEST TRANSMISSION FLUID ON THE MARKET!!!
11/21/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
VALVOLINE MAXLIFE is without a doubt the best transmission fluid on the market especially for older cars that have over 75,000 miles on it. I've had my orginal transmission now on my 2003 Pontiac Grand Am GT Sedan for 187,000 miles and it runs like new. I started using this VALVOLINE MAXLIFE when my car reached 75,000 miles on it and it has continued to run flawlessly ever since. I also use VALVOLINE MAXLIFE oil and that too is phenomenal.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (24)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good for Toyota WS ATF
10/5/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am not a big fan of Valvoline. However, I could not find Toyota WS compatible from other brands, so I had no choice, instead of buying it to flush my 2007 Toyota Sienna transmission at 66K from my local Walmart store. Later on, I drained and refilled my 07' Sienna transmission at 97K. I don't feel anything wrong so far. My 07's Sienna transmission is running smooth. Only thing I can say... This ATF is good.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This is the best ATF for the money!
11/28/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've used this on my 2007 Hyundai Entourage minivan and my 2004 Toyota Camry for the last 5 years. For both vehicles, I will do a pan drain and fill at every 30k miles. With the price of a 1 gallon jug at Walmart, it makes it a real good maintenance deal. I can always tell when I have a fresh batch because the transmission is just smooth as silk. I would recommend this stuff to anyone.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (24)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Workd for my Honda Odyssey
4/21/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The fluid that came with my transmission was not holding up to the heat that is generated by that particular transmission. I needed a higher quality fluid, so I did heavy research on the subject and I discovered this product. It is highly recommended by others just like myself having the same problems. I used 11 quarts on a complete flush and added an in-line magnetic filter. I could not be happier, it solved my problems, and I have a better smoother shift. I suggest that after the flush a computer reboot will be helpful. Simply unhook the battery and then re-hook. Maxlife Dex/Merc is a fluid that I recommend to anyone, especially Honda Owners.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (33)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
HAPPY CUSTOMER
5/6/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This item worked very well for my car....What a Dif
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642855, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-