Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 31 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

31 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

31 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
26
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 27 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews
Great ATF for my 2003 Hyundai
6/26/2012

Customer review by ykor

5.0 stars 6/26/2012 by ykor
by ykor

This ATF so far is working fine on my 2003 Hyundai Santa Fe as a replacement for original SP-III ATF. Shifting is smooth again, but I replaced the whole fluid. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ykor
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Product at a great price!
9/3/2011

Customer review by Sackattack

5.0 stars 9/3/2011 by Sackattack
by Sackattack

I know several people that use this Maxlife ATF, and every one of them love it. I use it in some of my cars and I have not been disappointed. Although I do use Amsoil ATF and Mobil1 ATF in some of my other vehicles, the Maxlife is the best bang for the buck by far.

Was this review helpful? (43) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sackattack
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Awesome transmission fluid at a great price!
8/3/2012

Customer review by lightbrigade

5.0 stars 8/3/2012 by lightbrigade
by lightbrigade

I replaced the transmission filter and flushed/replaced all of the old fluid with three gallons of Valvoline Max Life in a 2006 Ford Fusion SE with a FRN5 transmission. The Max Life was the recommended fluid according to Valvoline tech support. The FRN5 fluid from the dealer is $11.00 per quart, but I purchased the Max Life for one third the cost from Walmart.com. The Max Life is working great as a replacement fluid with smooth shifts, and improved gas mileage.

Was this review helpful? (23) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lightbrigade
New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Workd for my Honda Odyssey
4/21/2014

Customer review by shopguy4

5.0 stars 4/21/2014 by shopguy4
by shopguy4

The fluid that came with my transmission was not holding up to the heat that is generated by that particular transmission. I needed a higher quality fluid, so I did heavy research on the subject and I discovered this product. It is highly recommended by others just like myself having the same problems. I used 11 quarts on a complete flush and added an in-line magnetic filter. I could not be happier, it solved my problems, and I have a better smoother shift. I suggest that after the flush a computer reboot will be helpful. Simply unhook the battery and then re-hook. Maxlife Dex/Merc is a fluid that I recommend to anyone, especially Honda Owners.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shopguy4
La Quinta CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Excellent product.
7/27/2012

Customer review by Yokota

5.0 stars 7/27/2012 by Yokota
by Yokota

I have used Valvoline MaxLife Dex/Mec Automatic Transmission fluid since 2002 with no problems at all. My vehicle (Chevy SUV) has over 200,000 thousand miles clocked with the Trans fluid being changed every 35K. The transmission has no problems and shifts smooth. I also use the Max Life in my Toyota Avalon & Toyota 4 Runner. Excellent product & price.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Yokota
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
HAPPY CUSTOMER
5/6/2012

Customer review by HarleyBoySE

5.0 stars 5/6/2012 by HarleyBoySE
by HarleyBoySE

This item worked very well for my car....What a Dif

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HarleyBoySE
BEST TRANSMISSION FLUID ON THE MARKET!!!
11/21/2013

Customer review by ZAGAT

5.0 stars 11/21/2013 by ZAGAT
by ZAGAT

VALVOLINE MAXLIFE is without a doubt the best transmission fluid on the market especially for older cars that have over 75,000 miles on it. I've had my orginal transmission now on my 2003 Pontiac Grand Am GT Sedan for 187,000 miles and it runs like new. I started using this VALVOLINE MAXLIFE when my car reached 75,000 miles on it and it has continued to run flawlessly ever since. I also use VALVOLINE MAXLIFE oil and that too is phenomenal.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ZAGAT
Jericho, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Dexron III Substitute
8/3/2013

Customer review by Fattburger

5.0 stars 8/3/2013 by Fattburger
by Fattburger

Just put a gallon of this into my 2003 Subaru which calls for Dexron III. Car's shiftng seems smoother and quieter with no hesitation. Label also says you can use this in 2005+ Subies calling for Subaru HP fluid although I can't attest to its effectiveness in that application, but in my 2003 it works great. Smells like an environmental disaster but once its in the sump you won't notice it and I guess it's proof the additive package is different than your typical Dex. Hard to find in most Walmart stores but worth tracking down, great value for the price especially in older high mileage cars.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fattburger
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Pru
3/21/2013

Customer review by petepete22

5.0 stars 3/21/2013 by petepete22
by petepete22

Great Product but my nearby Walmart store location quit stocking the 1 gallon jugs of Valvoline MaxLife ATF . It is inconvenient to travel to other Walmart location that have iy. Please stock it a all Walmart locations that have an automotive department. .

Was this review helpful? (8) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
petepete22
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The price is right
2/5/2014

Customer review by halfbreed68

4.0 stars 2/5/2014 by halfbreed68
by halfbreed68

Good price verses what other brands cost. Can't really evaluate now,as I only put it in my car yesterday. Will see. A main point: Containers of the same product are labled differently. Have same product and upc #,but one says fully synthetic,one says nothing,one says blend. Very confusing, Valvoline needs to fix this.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
halfbreed68
Loris,SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
THE BEST TRANSMISSION FLUID ON THE MARKET!
11/24/2013

Customer review by korkel

5.0 stars 11/24/2013 by korkel
by korkel

i have been using this fluid for the last 15 years, and never had a transmission fail me yet! they want 10 bucks a quart at the local auto stores. i got it off walmart.com for 4.25 a quart! they dont always have it in stock so when they do buy as many as you can or you will end up waiting for more or paying threw the nose at your local auto stores.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
korkel
lakefield, mn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Look,you just simply cannot get a better..........
5/27/2012

Customer review by Docjay

5.0 stars 5/27/2012 by Docjay
by Docjay

Look,you just simply cannot get a better or comparable high quality product at this price....and if you happen to find one (and i searched high & low for 1!!) they'll match the price, im thinking they call that a 'no brainer'!! Seriously folks , if you want to compare darn near anything side by side, from Publix,WinnDixie and other common Fl Supermarket or Auto Accesories,Pet foods ,it goes on and on,I was not at all surprised that my local SuperCenter had exactly what I needed at the very best price!( as usual!!).Delivered right to my door, 2 gallons,shipping cost - 94 cents!

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Docjay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Product lives up to its reputation
6/11/2012

Customer review by stickem

5.0 stars 6/11/2012 by stickem
by stickem

Comes highly recommended and rightfully so.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stickem
Tucson, Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Better shifting than Dexron VI in my 1998 Altima
5/7/2013

Customer review by Coblerz

5.0 stars 5/7/2013 by Coblerz
by Coblerz

I changed my 1998 Nissan Altima to Walmart brand Dexron VI (from Dex III) and the shifting improved. Then I discovered I had torqued the new strainer filter way too tight and got nervous, so I dropped the pan again to re-torque. This time I refilled with Maxlife and the shifting was even better than with the VI. Also, all shudder went away and has never come back for going on two years now.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Coblerz
MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Top O The Line
11/9/2014

Customer review by LeroyP111111

5.0 stars 11/9/2014 by LeroyP111111
by LeroyP111111

This is the best trans fluid.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LeroyP111111
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for high mileage
3/1/2014

Customer review by babyangelb30

5.0 stars 3/1/2014 by babyangelb30
by babyangelb30

Makes the cars run great :-) Much better than they were :-)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
babyangelb30
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value for synthetic
3/27/2014

Customer review by DoItMyselfToSave

5.0 stars 3/27/2014 by DoItMyselfToSave
by DoItMyselfToSave

Ordered through various Walmart locations in order to get the total amount needed for the transmission fluid change. My transmission was long over due for a fluid change. Seems like shifting is a little smoother and I don't hear the engine as loud as I did before on the highway (maybe it's not working as hard). So far so good!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DoItMyselfToSave
Miami, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The full synthetic version max life is great!
5/24/2015

Customer review by hondoman45

5.0 stars 5/24/2015 by hondoman45
by hondoman45

To clarify, this review is for the full synthetic Maxlife atf. The picture here is not accurate, but the price is. Others have mentioned this in their reviews, but I've never seen the container pictured on Walmarts website at any of their stores. I've been using this for some time now in different vehicles with no issues, and it appears to work as well as the Amsoil signature series atf I had been using until it became cost prohibitive for me to continue using with multiple cars. I do a complete flush using the trans cooler lines as well as draining the pan. Amsoil has info on how to do this and it isn't hard to find sites that offer similar advice. Basically, this atf does the same job as Amsoil for less than half the price. I love Amsoil but it costs an arm and a leg with all the cars I am servicing. Thanks Valvoline for a great value in a premium atf! BTW, don't despair if you can't find this at every Walmart, as only a couple of stores carry it where I live. Their website shows where it is available.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hondoman45
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
maxlife in fleet trucks and cars, even in my boats
7/2/2014

Customer review by FALCON75

5.0 stars 7/2/2014 by FALCON75
by FALCON75

maxlife oil I love it.. I use it on my fleet trucks(10) and cars(35), my boats(3) and toy's(4# I use to play. long time user and it never failed me. im a d.i.y. man and everything can be fix or repaired. I recommend this line in new and old cars trucks and OTHER APP. you can use this on it not about the price but it helps when you changing 11 1/2 QT per + A POP#vic.). let just say it in my top 3 choose because the weather im in. summer most of the year 75-125 degree I don't see winter unless im going into the summit. so I need something to control heat. HEAT And FRICTION engine and transmission num. 1 enemy. I give it 5stars. *pro. help all the seal out, keep parts clean, and it last longer#brake down oil# *con. wish they made filter to match. other then that non.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FALCON75
SACRAMENTO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Cost Effective with Accurate Unit Measurements
10/20/2014

Customer review by NJHandy

4.0 stars 10/20/2014 by NJHandy
by NJHandy

I found the purchase price of the gallon container more reasonable than purchasing individual quart containers. The unit measurements on the side of the container made it much easier to refill my transmission.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NJHandy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews