Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 104 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

104 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

104 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
42
4 stars
28
3 stars
9
2 stars
9
1 stars
16
1-20 of 101 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 101 total reviews
1-20 of 101 reviews
Nice printer, but wireless is a pain
5/7/2011

Customer review by CFT94105

2.0 stars 5/7/2011 by CFT94105
by CFT94105

I bought this printer because my husband wanted the wide-format option. It's a good printer and if it were plugged into my computer, maybe I wouldn't have any complaints, but the truth is that it can be glitchy when you want to do something as simple as a wireless scan. I can never get the wireless scan to work and I often get general error messages on the printer that only require a power off/on to correct, but are still annoying. Following the directions on the screen don't help and in general the options you receive when you double click on the computer on your pc are never much help. The troubleshoot function never works and there just seems to be a lack of helpful directiions as to how to do stuff like wireless scan. Even hitting the "estimated ink levels" gives me an error. It's a shame that a printer that seems to be physically fine has so many software issues. And yes, I did verify that it was compatable with my windows os and I am running a five month old, top of the line, HP PC.

CFT94105
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
fast, and easy to use
6/28/2013

Customer review by artgal63

4.0 stars 6/28/2013 by artgal63
by artgal63

I purchased this printer on recommendation of HP Support. As an artist I wanted a larger format printer to do my own note cards and small prints on. The printer is faster than my old one, It does a good job for most of what i want but there are several features that I do not like. It does not have a custom paper size, and if you put a different size paper in, it will refuse to print on it. Also the top paper tray is cumbersome to fool with and don't like the stops on the end of it as it bows larger papers up at the end of printing. I wish they would invent some ink cartridges that actually use most all the ink! My initial cartridges are only half way out of ink and I am getting roller lines across the paper already. I have some XL to put in and hopefully, that will last longer. For a relatively inexpensive printer it does the job, but have not had it long enough to see how well it holds up. Set up was easy and the wireless works great and fast.

artgal63
Western North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Pleased, except for the ink usage and cost
5/28/2012

Customer review by dbuc

4.0 stars 5/28/2012 by dbuc
by dbuc

This is a good product although it's a little noisy and seems to use much more ink than my last injet. I only had it a couple of weeks when I first replaced all of the cartridges. I am a small business owner and although the number of documents I print and copy hasn't increased my expenses have.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dbuc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Easy to set up and use
4/11/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/11/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

So far this printer is proving to be at least as good as the other 3 HP inkjet-type printers I have owned over the last 15 years. I bought it for the 11x17 paper handling abilities. The other features (scanning, fax, wireless) are icing on the cake. Unpacking, physical setup, software installation, and connection to my home wireless network were all very straightforward. Scanning and printing are quick and work perfectly. I only have 2 minor issues (jus' goes to show you that there's always *something*): - the stitching software doesn't have the ability to recognize scans that overlap and stitch them at the overlap point instead of stitching them at the edges of the scans. But, there are other programs available that deal with the overlap. - The electric motor in the printer is loud. But that's one of the compromises that keeps the price reasonable. I am impressed with it. I hope that I'll be thinking the same things about it in a year.

An anonymous customer
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Excellent Product
12/26/2010

Customer review by ShoppingFools

5.0 stars 12/26/2010 by ShoppingFools
by ShoppingFools

This HP all in one printer is just awesome!. Bought it for the wife for Christmas. She does allot of crafting and need a bigger format printer as opposed to a regulae 8.5 x 11 sheet of paper. This printer is just awesome. She can do her 12x12's etc. I would recommend this printer in a heartbeat. Thank You HP for manufacturing such a versatile printer.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShoppingFools
Ortonville, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great printer!!!
3/4/2011

Customer review by Jcadas

5.0 stars 3/4/2011 by Jcadas
by Jcadas

This printer is sweet!!! Prints on a wide variety of papers & films. Surprisingly high quality prints. Extra easy set up through my wireless network... I didn't even have to plug it into my computer!!! It's cool that I can print from my iphone wirelessly!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jcadas
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Overall a good product,,,but,,,,
12/12/2012

Customer review by AKJBike

4.0 stars 12/12/2012 by AKJBike
by AKJBike

I got the Office Jet 7500A and it appears to be a very good machine. It is bigger than I thought it would be ( I hadn't seen it and bought it over the phone from HP) I had excellent help setting it up from a man (Ben in Manilla) who was most patient and made it a great experience. I was having a problem with it ,,,,it would take 6-7 minutes to respond for a print request from my Macbook (wireless) . I spoke today with Richard (in HP Tech support) and he advised to change a setting on it, also recommended turning it off if I would not be using it for long periods. Made good sense to me. Perhaps this is something that you might want to include in your notes for new buyers, so that they don't become frustrated. I am very Happy with your Tech Support, and my last two experiences with them ,,,I would rank them right up there with Apple Tech Support,,,,and that is quite high praise!

AKJBike
Trout Lake, WA 98650
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Not overjoyed with this printer
10/22/2011

Customer review by Windwitch

3.0 stars 10/22/2011 by Windwitch
by Windwitch

Love the wireless aspect. Love the wide format capability. BUT: 1. Colors are not true! 2. Scanner is not great and the scan application is less than acceptable. My other scanner used HP Solution Center. That is fantastic! 3. I was constantly getting "paper type mismatch" error and finally had to permanently disable the sensor that lets you put it any paper size. Even so, I still have trouble with that. I have another wide format printer which I believe is obsolete (9800) and yet does a better job of printing color pics than the 7500. When I bought the 9800 I had a pricey photo quality printer, and I just needed large document printing. That "good" printer is dead and now I don't have anything that does a good job on photos of any size. I could have bought a photo printer and been better off. I have been a staunch HP printer proponent, but now, I'm disappointed.

Windwitch
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Great value
12/13/2011

Customer review by merlot78

4.0 stars 12/13/2011 by merlot78
by merlot78

I really like this printer even though it is larger than I expected. The price was unbelievable and saved me almost a hundred dollars.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
merlot78
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Features and performance for the Price
9/12/2012

Customer review by vonR

5.0 stars 9/12/2012 by vonR
by vonR

I have owned several HP Printers. They keep leaving me and going to college with my kids. I bought this printer due to the features, particularly the Wide-Print capabilities. I am a Project Management and work from home. Many of the plans and logs I use to manage my work is too small when crammed on an 8.5X11 page. I can now print all the columns I need and at a size that is comfortable to view. One of my children is an artist, and she sends me photos of her drawings from College. I have been able to print them on high quality tablet size paper and they are suitable for framing. Likes: Real Faxing, Wide Print, Regular Print, Copy, and Scan capabilities. Easy Setup, high quality products. Dislike: None Would Like: Duplexing would be useful, but I knew it did not have this going in. Note: This is a large printer. Make sure you have the table space.

vonR
Fairfax, Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
7500A Wide Format
6/4/2013

Customer review by whatifdenver

1.0 stars 6/4/2013 by whatifdenver
by whatifdenver

The 7500a wide format was easy to setup but the first software installation failed and then successfully installed on the second try. HP’s software installed the “Bing” toolbar without my permission and tried to install some sort of tracking software that my virus protection stopped! This printer was purchased for the sole purpose of printing 9” x 12” envelopes & 8.5” x 5.5” index cards. HP has seen fit not to allow custom paper sizes in the current driver version. So if you need to specify custom paper sizes which are not already in their paper size list, you’re out of luck! Additionally the printer had trouble picking up the index cards. I printed two color status test pages (on 24lb bond paper) and the color output was poor… not that this is a good test of its color printing capabilities. Not recommended at least for my use.

whatifdenver
Centennial, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Very Glitchy
2/17/2011

Customer review by StreetSmarts

3.0 stars 2/17/2011 by StreetSmarts
by StreetSmarts

This makes at least a dozen or more HP printers I have owned and installed. This is, by far, the worst ever! I have had to reload the software at least a dozen times because my HP Win 7x64 machine couldn't stop trying to change the connection mode every time I booted up. I gave up on both Ethernet and wireless connections as both constantly lost connection, and went with USB, thereby eliminating my ability to connect off my HP laptop. To finally get things to work off the USB cable, I had to remove from the registry all traces of the 7500A left behind by HP's uninstall program, and reload the 113 MB software. Print speed is fast, but print color quality with photographs is pale by comparison to my old HP C7280. Colors are not as brilliant as with the 7280, and color adjustments are constantly needed to make things look normal. The most frustrating part is the print settings are almost impossible to change and store, as they keep defaulting over to factory settings. This could be a super printer based on speed and the wide format (which is why I bought it in the first place), but HP needs to do a lot more work on the software. The way I see it, you have a 5 star printer with 1 star software.

StreetSmarts
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Not Reliable
12/17/2011

Customer review by Warsawref

2.0 stars 12/17/2011 by Warsawref
by Warsawref

I'm on my third 7500 E910A AIO - the other two had problems that required sending them in and being replaced on warranty within in the first six months with a REFURBISHED model - NOT a NEW one! The replacement looks exactly the same but I bought a new one and expected a new replacement. The problems I had were because of the printer freezing up the first time and the first replacement had a power issue and wouldn't power on after the first scan. The second replacement has worked okay so far but it still freezes up from time to time and I have to turn it off to reset before it works again. The features are very good - it's nice to be able to Copy, Fax, Scan, and print all in one machine. It's a large product that takes up allot of room on the shelf.

Warsawref
Warsaw, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Overpriced - Underperforming
3/29/2011

Customer review by falconreid

1.0 stars 3/29/2011 by falconreid
by falconreid

My wife and I are extremely disappointed with this product. The print quality has been nothing short of terrible. The scanning interface is extremely limited. The scanning quality is also far less than anticipated, especially for the price. Anytime we try to print grayscale, it gives us greens or blues. I have reset the factory defaults several times and the problems remain. About the only feature that my wife has found useful is the scan to pdf. I however have tried using it for scanning old photographs and I often have to scan several times before the quality I need shows up. The nice feature of the ability to print from anywhere in the house is greatly diminished by the fact that we can never count on it to print correctly.

falconreid
Boulder, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
At first it was a bust, but then...
3/8/2011

Customer review by DFarley

5.0 stars 3/8/2011 by DFarley
by DFarley

I am using my 7500A with Windows 7. When I first purchased the printer it worked great! But then I started using different size paper and began getting the "paper-size" errors like everyone else posted here. But then I figured out that the printer compares where the paper guider is set (the moveable gray thing in the paper tray) and the actual paper that comes through the feed. I had it set on 11x17 when I had 81/2 x 11 paper in the tray, thus the error. Also if you're using AutoCAD, make sure both your "Page Set-up Manager" is set on the same size of paper you select when you print. Hope this helps anyone who already has the printer and think it's broken. It's NOT!!! Like most other machines, it was user error... ; P

DFarley
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Nice
9/3/2011

Customer review by skrdownhill

4.0 stars 9/3/2011 by skrdownhill
by skrdownhill

I've been using the printer for about a month now and am very happy with it. I haven't had the chance to use different paper sizes with it, however it prints/copies/scans very easily and quickly. It takes some time to get the features set up, but it's easy to do. Unlike other HP printers I've had in the past that offered an option to manually duplex print, this one doesn't have an option making it a bit confusing. You would think you could just print the odd pages, turn them around, then print the even pages, but the page ordering gets messed up. Other than not easily being able to save paper by duplex printing, I am very happy with this printer and look forward to being able to print 11x17's.

skrdownhill
Denver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Fair but it does not maintain the margins as set.
10/26/2012

Customer review by Taki30

3.0 stars 10/26/2012 by Taki30
by Taki30

The product seems to be alright; however, I find that it does not keep the margins as put into the printing box, especially for items being printed on wide format (11 x 17). This was the problem I also had with the HP 7000. The other problem I find is that in certain instances the printer makes a lot of noise before printing. I also have a HP Photosmart AIO 309g on the same computer. When I installed the HP Officejet 7500 it did away with my scanning icon in my Apple Dock. Now I have to go through System Preferences to be able to use the scanner on the HP Photosmart. The only reason I purchased the HP Officejet 7500 was because of its wide format capability.

Taki30
Greensboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
The printer was easy to set up.
6/5/2013

Customer review by Dan9

5.0 stars 6/5/2013 by Dan9
by Dan9

I found the printer setup relatively easy. I connected it to the network with a cable. It found a good IP address and the computers found it and print to it. The process was not quite so easy when I tried to connect to it in my virtual XP configuration. It works after first setup but when I go out of the virtual XP mode and go back in the print job dissapears or fails. After it has been on for about a week, it forgot how to use its document feeder. I shut it down and restarted it. Then the document feeder worked. We will see if it continues to work. Print speed and quality are good. I have not yet tried photographic paper in it..

Dan9
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Read the reviews
12/6/2010

Customer review by EasyToPlease

3.0 stars 12/6/2010 by EasyToPlease
by EasyToPlease

I have installed many printers in my career without more than a minor problem. This was the first exception. Because it does not ship with an Ethernet cable, you must install it on your wireless network - or, have your own appropriate cable. Like most users, my wireless router is my cable Internet gateway. Problem. You cannot install the wireless without the WEP key for the router. Trying to get this info out of Comcast was nearly a futile enterprise until I lucked out and got a knowledgeable young man in Comcast tech support who knew which user names and passwords to try to get into the router (a previous tech transferred me to Cisco/Linksys where I was cut off after a long wait). Then, off to print a photo in 13 x 19 format for my first time. Problem. No option for that size paper on this printer's paper size options. Only after reading all the Help files and then opening a tech support chat session with no result was I directed to the HP site - the tech had no idea. Then only after reading the info there was I able to determine that "Super B" means "13 x 19". Stupid me. HP doesn't bother to indicate sizes for several other paper descriptions. Too much trouble, I suppose. Further, no custom size option appears. When I finally printed my photo, the expensive photo paper jammed in the last inch of printing. I am still weighing whether to return this machine.

EasyToPlease
Silver Spring, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
One of three
10/26/2011

Customer review by daisythehorse

5.0 stars 10/26/2011 by daisythehorse
by daisythehorse

This is my third printer! I use all of them. This one I just installed and it was a snap. I wanted a wide format for scrap booking. I just printed a couple of photos on it one from the scanner and one from my program. Both were tremendous, so I know my scrap pages I will print will be excellent. I wanted a wide format and debated about just the wide format printer. However I like bells and whistles, and this all in one has plenty plus my husband can fax. Love HP products I have a 600s touch smart computer hooked to the 7500a by wireless. They work great together plus it is quite fast on a very low signal.

daisythehorse
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
1-20 of 101 total reviews
1-20 of 101 reviews