Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 201 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

201 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

201 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
134
4 stars
52
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 stars
3
1-20 of 159 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 159 total reviews
1-20 of 159 reviews
Dell Inspiron 17.3 (Red)
12/28/2010

Customer review by TennesseeDave

5.0 stars 12/28/2010 by TennesseeDave
by TennesseeDave

This laptop is just awesome!! Cheaper from Walmart than buying directly from Dell....they said it was because of Walmart's volume buying power. That's fine with me- the savings are passed on to the customer. I can't say anything bad about this laptop. The screen is large and bright and Windows 7 is great and runs smoothly and without any issue on this. Oh, and the sound is superb with the SRS Premium Sound! I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a decent laptop at a great price!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TennesseeDave
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing Computer!
1/20/2011

Customer review by emilywright

5.0 stars 1/20/2011 by emilywright
by emilywright

This Dell 17R laptop is fantastic! As a fulltime student, I need a reliable laptop. The size of the screen on this laptop is amazing, it allows me to focus better while completing homework because my eyes do not get distracted with what is going on around me. I use this computer as my desktop at home, and it is so reliable, I have not had one problem with it since I bought it. The processing speed and capacity to download are so fast compared to my older Dell laptop. Watching a movie on HD makes a huge difference, in fact watching movies on my computer is BETTER than my HD flatscreen television. Another fantastic feature is that the volume turns up really loudly, so you do not even need to attach speakers in order to watch a movie. (Amazing right??))) The charger for this computer lights up in blue, so you know that the computer is plugged in and charging. I would recommend this computer to anyone and everyone!

emilywright
Toronto, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it!!!
1/21/2011

Customer review by HaBa

5.0 stars 1/21/2011 by HaBa
by HaBa

I bought this laptop, ultimately to replace my 10 year old desktop that was on its last leg. I got it with the upgraded processor and video card. The HD screen is beautiful and crisp. The number keypad was a great surprise that I didn't realize I was getting, especially since I do accounting work from home and now don't have to use my USB keypad. Although it's HUGE (I was used to my husband's 15-inch Dell) it's relatively lightweight - lighter than my husband's, and quite thin. My only complaint, if there is one, is that the lid doesn't latch. Not a real biggie for me, but it could be a concern for someone else. Just a note on the speakers - I did read some reviews about them being "on the bottom." They aren't exactly on the bottom - they're underneath the front lip. So, even sitting flat on a desk or table, they are not covered up. I have had no issues with them, even cranking up the volume on a song a couple days ago, and the sound was great. If you're looking for some amazing surround sound, etc., then I would guess you would be buying a gaming computer anyway.

HaBa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Refurbished but Good!
6/8/2011

Customer review by Eric1973

4.0 stars 6/8/2011 by Eric1973
by Eric1973

I needed a new laptop as the video card on my old Inspiron died. I decided to go with Dell again and again went with a refurbished laptop instead of new as I was able to get more hardware for less money. PROS The Inspiron 17R Laptop came in a timely manner and it has been awesome since I turned it on. It has a great amount of memory and a great processor to really give me the speed I desire. With The VGA output I can hook it up to my flat screen and enjoy online videos on my big screen TV. CONS I knew getting a refurbished Laptop meant there might be some form of "Cosmetic" damage, and, Yes, on the right side corner it is cracked from where it had obviously been dropped, This was not mentioned in the description when I purchased it and at first I was kinda leery about it, but in the last few months I have had it, I hardly notice it now. Review I am really pleased with this purchase and at how much better Windows 7 is than Vista. It is definitely worth looking into a refurbished model if you are on a budget but want to get something with some power under the hood.

Eric1973
Columbia,TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A few little problems
2/20/2011

Customer review by Tester2111

4.0 stars 2/20/2011 by Tester2111
by Tester2111

I recieved this laptop as a Christmas gift. It worked very well, but after a few days, it started to freeze. It does this randomly, but if i close it and wait about 5 minutes, it will go into sleep and I just sign back in. The strange thing I thought is that normally, if i close the laptop, it will turn the screen off and go directly to sleep normally, but when the screen freezes, it will not turn off the display. The other problem is the location of the speakers on the bottom of the computer facing down. Now, i can a large area to the right of my right hand that only has stickers. Why there couldn't be a speaker there is completely beyond me. The third thing is the keyboard. F1-12 Keys seem to only be intended for secondary use compared to the volume, skip, play brightness, battery, wireless and screen usage functions. Now I am a teenager that is not a hardcore gamer, but i imagine that their use should be more of a priority. The bottom two grievences seem to be concerns that cannot be fixed because of bad designwork. But the freezing is probably something software related that i am working on fixing.

Tester2111
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No wonder people flock to Walmart
9/30/2011

Customer review by Gotay

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by Gotay
by Gotay

A great product for anyone at a fantastic price!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gotay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not Blown Away
1/7/2011

Customer review by GothicHippy

4.0 stars 1/7/2011 by GothicHippy
by GothicHippy

Ive had my laptop 3 days now. First of all the speakers are nothing to brag about they are on the bottom of the laptop and adequate but nothing I would gloat over. The CD drive when you shut it likes to just open right back up on its own. The webcam is not that great and it likes to add a bunch of weird noises at the beginning when you make a video. The 6 cell battery lasted aprox 2 hours before being depleted so I have no idea where the 6 hour reference came from? Other then that its adequate. I got the I3 and its fast alright, I love the chrome cover around the keyboard which is a man sized keyboard. The gloss outside is not a pure black it has like grey lines running though it. The screen is amazingly clear, however the colors seem not at vivid as I would like. It is heavy too, and pretty big so keep that in mind.

GothicHippy
CNY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wireless card is slow, screen is shiny, etc.
2/4/2011

Customer review by LisafromSeattle

2.0 stars 2/4/2011 by LisafromSeattle
by LisafromSeattle

* The wireless card is painful. I might as well work off of my iPhone since it downloads webpages faster and doesn't cut out. If you close the lid the wireless automatically shuts down and I have to use the "troublshoot wireless" EVERY time I open up the lid again. This means an extra two minutes every time I want to do anything online. * The screen is shiny so there is a glare. What happened to the flat screens? * The function keys are difficult to use. They're half-sized keys. F1...F12 are in tiny, dark blue type on black keys, so I have to raise the laptop and squint to read which key I want. If you want to use a function key you also have to press a function key. * Windows 7. Ugh. My old Inspiron has XP. * With all the issues, I'm tempted to set my new Inspiron aside and go back to my 6 year old Inspiron.

LisafromSeattle
Seattle
Would recommend to a friend? No
Awesome System for the Price
1/26/2011

Customer review by NoHabloEnglas

4.0 stars 1/26/2011 by NoHabloEnglas
by NoHabloEnglas

I bought this not looking for, or expecting, a powerhouse. I am far from disapointed in it, it's a great laptop for what I'm going to use it for. Pros: Keyboard is really nice, feels solid, looks really good, was surprisingly thin and light, track pad is nice but could be bigger, web cam, price, speakers, over-all quality and performance Cons: the intel graphics are weak but do the trick for watching movies etc., the screen is a good size and resolution I just wish it had better colour depth but it is very bright and the right shift key is small (takes some getting used to) Summary: For most people this laptop will do great, if you need more graphics power the ATI card should do fine for casual gaming. Specs: Intel Core i3 370m 4GB DDR3 RAM 500GB SATA drive Intel HD intergrated graphics

NoHabloEnglas
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Highly recommended
1/6/2011

Customer review by dawgface

5.0 stars 1/6/2011 by dawgface
by dawgface

A great laptop at a great price. I shopped everything everywhere (including the manufacturers' sites) and this was the best combo of quality, dependability, features, performance and price. After using it for a couple of weeks I couldn't be more pleased. Shipped free to my door too.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dawgface
GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1st Laptop ever
1/1/2011

Customer review by CarlVH

5.0 stars 1/1/2011 by CarlVH
by CarlVH

I can used the Internet and other Software on my own time. I love Dell company for its great knowledge in the Laptop field. After a great deal of researching a Laptop, We decide to get the Dell Inspiron 17.3" Laptop. I love the big screen, my favorite color (Peacock Blue), plenty of software to learn, Great Big Hard Drive (500 GB), Great fast Processor Intel Core- ie-370, Great big RAM (4G), great Webcam built-in, good speakers, love the great keyboard and love the new Windows 7 as my Operating System. Now in 2011, I can teach my Mother of how to used this great & powerful Dell Laptop. This Laptop is great in price and value!!!! Con: I had to get a matching blue wireless mouse with this Laptop, because I didn't like using the touch pad.

CarlVH
Petersburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just what I wanted
10/26/2011

Customer review by sandypooh71

5.0 stars 10/26/2011 by sandypooh71
by sandypooh71

I have a few medical issues that keeps me from being as mobile as I use to be. I been looking for a nice laptop that I could use for school that was lite and easy to set up instead of the big desktop my sister has to put up and take down everytime i used it. And at a good price. I got it. The laptop is lite, easy to handle. not alot of cords to plug in. The right size everything I needed. There is the problem wiith the battery life. Battery does not stay charge very long. I had to get a mouse becasue I just could not use the touchpad. Over all , it is a great investment. My sister was so jealous, she got herself one too. We now set up laptop to laptop and do our school work, play games and check emails together.

sandypooh71
Morth Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My Only Computer
9/22/2011

Customer review by mizcattitude

5.0 stars 9/22/2011 by mizcattitude
by mizcattitude

I bought this computer to replace my desktop, and I haven't been disappointed. I particularly wanted to try the new i5 Core Processor, and as I'd hoped it runs fast and trouble-free. Never a problem with overheating, mine is on 10-12 hours a day. I use it for surfing, social networking, research, listening to music, and streaming video. The screen is bright and beautiful, the keyboard is comfortable and efficient with the separate numeric keypad, and I love the brushed styling. My only complaint has been that the case doesn't feel quite solid. Neither does the CD/DVD burner when it opens and closes. Battery life is excellent. All in all, this is my fourth laptop, and I couldn't be happier.

mizcattitude
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Inspiron N7010, N5010, N4010
3/13/2013

Customer review by TheFoodTrust

5.0 stars 3/13/2013 by TheFoodTrust
by TheFoodTrust

I have the N7010 and it is great! These are great systems. Meant primarily for home usage. I purchased a couple for a company that I was working for, one for the executive director, and another for general usage. And they work well. I even installed Windows 7 Enterprise on one and it functions just as smooth. This is my go to system for when I have projects where the only software for it is Windows and have never had an issue with it. Far better than a cheap Acer or E Machine computer. But if you need a computer that is seriously business geared, I suggest that you purchase from the latitude line of Dell computers. They have the additional slots to add cards and other peripherals.

TheFoodTrust
Philadelphia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
11/25/2011

Customer review by hust

5.0 stars 11/25/2011 by hust
by hust

This laptop is a great and easy to use laptop, the screen size huge, I love it, there aren't any cons to the laptop as far as I'm concerned, and the colored tops are a really neat and thoughtful idea, as I like red , but later if I want to give it to the wife or kid and they want a different color these lids pop off and they can put there favrite color lid on or get a custom one, before you could buy a laptop of a certain color but were stuck with that color , well not anymore that is another great thing i love about Dell and the goal to provide the customer with products they want and how they want them , thanks Dell, I ,love my Inspiron 17R laptop best one I've ever had!!

hust
Norman,OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great laptop
2/21/2011

Customer review by Fitzy

4.0 stars 2/21/2011 by Fitzy
by Fitzy

Love our new laptop...the only complaint I have is the keyboard. There is a new key beside the left shift key which is another [|\] key. Not sure it's really necessay. It throws me off as I'm always hitting this key instead of the shift key first. On all the keyboards I've previously worked with, the letter Z is always beside the left hand shift key. On this one it's a duplicate of the [\|] key located at the end of the 2nd row plus it has a couple new characters which I'm not familiar with yet..still working out the newness. Other than that, very satisfied. Love the ability to use skype with the built in camera to keep in touch with friends and family.

Fitzy
Port Hope Ontario Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
All around awesome 17R
8/17/2010

Customer review by jcrew25

5.0 stars 8/17/2010 by jcrew25
by jcrew25

I bought this 17R a few weeks ago and I have to say it is great. Probably one of the best ones I've gotten to use. This is my first bought and owned laptop from dell and I can't wait to see what they will create with future inspirons, it can only get better. The screen is awesome and the video quality is great. Word processing is a thing a beauty with this Inspiron. This laptop is great for home use, as a student, or on the go. My only regret is that i didn't get the inspiron with the optional blue ray disc drive I would highly recommend that even for the price. Windows 7 is simply amazing its a "cake walk" compared to Vista. Thanks dell -Jim

jcrew25
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My Little Baby
5/10/2011

Customer review by Jusfoolin

5.0 stars 5/10/2011 by Jusfoolin
by Jusfoolin

Simply put I love my pink Dell Laptop. Along with my SD card I have tons of space and I partitioned my hard drive and now have multiple drives. You should never keep anything you care about on the root anyway, hackers have a chance of getting it and the other drives are a better way to keep my files organized. It works great for my online college classes. Simply put I just love it! Oh not to mention it has awesome sound a bunch of cool port that I have yet to even use but I will get around to that later. Cmon get you a Dell and refurbished don't even worry about it Dell will take good care of it just like a new one but without the huge price.

Jusfoolin
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does the Job at an affordable price.
7/6/2011

Customer review by Poeju84

4.0 stars 7/6/2011 by Poeju84
by Poeju84

Great machine for the right price. Formerly I was a fan of the Studio series as it has more bells and whistles than the standard Inspiron models. But the computing power and beautiful screen are just fine on this machine. I needed speed and portability and that's what this machine comes up with. If you don't need a thousand different outputs, expansion bays and all that stuff than this is probably your best option. I had a little trouble with some of the touch pad controls. Advanced features didn't seem to work and got stuck, shutting them off took care of this. I don't need the two finger swipes and resizing like an smartphone anyway.

Poeju84
Plymouth, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works as a good DTR
1/20/2011

Customer review by HBDCsDAD

4.0 stars 1/20/2011 by HBDCsDAD
by HBDCsDAD

I've been using this laptop for a bit under 2 months now as a Destop Replacment, mostly for work. Does what I need it to do with out the hassles of a true desktop computer. Since I work on a construction site I need the portability of a laptop with the power of a desktop. Has all the features that I needed. E-SATA/USB combo, 3 USB ports, HDMI out, and built in bluetooth. PROS: Powerful enough that I can have Outlook, Word, Excel, Acrobat Pro, and TurboCad all running at the same time. I did upgrade to the faster CPU and the Radeon 5450 because I knew that I would need the extra horsepower to do this. CONS: GLOSSY! while do like the brushed aluminum (it IS plastic) look all the glossy really does need to go, including the screen. If you are in bright sunlight it can be hard to see. 5400 RPM hard drive. OTHER: I do recommend this laptop for those who need something that has a good amount of power. Just be aware that the battery life isn't great. I can get about 2 1/2 hours on this when at home just browsing the web and using Outlook with full screen brightness. At work it stays plugged in so I can't comment on battery life with everything running. If your going to use it like I do I highly recommend that you get the best CPU that you can and the dedicated video card. And if it is an option a 7200RPM hard drive. Oh and get the advanced warranty.

HBDCsDAD
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 159 total reviews
1-20 of 159 reviews