Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 219 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

219 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

219 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
147
4 stars
57
3 stars
10
2 stars
3
1 stars
2
1-20 of 191 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 191 total reviews
1-20 of 191 reviews
A great buy for power home users!
1/26/2010

Customer review by hvaz3

5.0 stars 1/26/2010 by hvaz3
by hvaz3

System =Intel® Core™ i7-860 processor; 8GB DDR3 memory; DL DVD±RW/CD-RW drive; 1TB hard drive; wireless network mini card; Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit Pros Price, speed, dependability! This new dell replaces my 10 year old dell which is still working fine, just a bit slow and of course can NOT run Win 7. I really needed to update my computer as the apps I use daily were very taxing on the old dell and my patience. I knew I would be pleased with the performance however I am totally blown away by the fantastic performance of this system! Cons The ONLY con I have is that 4 USB ports on the back of the system are not enough. Keyboard, mouse, printer, scanner, external backup hard drive, web cam, are fairly normal items to have. With all these plugged in using the 2 ports on the TOP the system appears to have antennas. I have a 4 port USB 2.0 card on order. Review If you are looking for a value priced, durable PC Brand, that has plenty of performance for quite demanding software applications, this is IT!

hvaz3
Loveland, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
XPS 8100
9/9/2010

Customer review by newmr2

4.0 stars 9/9/2010 by newmr2
by newmr2

Ached over the 8100 vs 9100. Decided on 8100 because I wanted the TV card. I use my PC like a TIVO. Got the I7 with the upgrade processor. No complaints at all. Read where people said it was loud. Only sound I can hear now is my typing and my wife talking to me in the background. Unfortunately for me, I am concentrating on typing this, so later when she says she told me something while I was typing, I will have no idea what she said. Just told her what I typed. She agreed that I need to concentrate on typing this review, but continues to talk to me. Speed is excellent. Have not tried any games other than Hoyle card games. I guess when you hit 55, you need the fastest game card you can get, but you don't play any games anymore. Seems like the only PC games are killing games like Call of Duty and stuff like that. Not my cup of tea. Only real game I play is Civ 4, and can't wait for Civ 5. That will be the 1st game I play on this PC. That's it. I'm happy with this PC, but I can't tell a real gamer how it handles games like Crysis or other PC eating games.

newmr2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
dell studio xps 8100
8/30/2010

Customer review by Blake

5.0 stars 8/30/2010 by Blake
by Blake

i purchased my studio xps 8100 a few months ago and i have been really happy with it. i got mine with an Intel core I7 860, 6gb of ram 1 t HDD, Nvidia GTX 260 and a 24 inch monitor. this computer is lightning fast, movies, pictures and games run flawlessly and word preprocessing is just too easy for this machine. windows 7 is a easy to use and the 24 inch monitor is crystal clear and there is no glare at all. I use my computer for gaming and it plays the latest games well. i can play most new games like Battlefield: bad company 2, Modern warfare 2, Fallout 3 and Oblivion on high to max settings and it plays all my old games on max settings as well! on windows 7 you can rate your computers performance. this was my results processor- 7.5/7.9 RAM- 7.5/7.9 Graphics- 7.1/7.9 Gaming Graphics- 7.1/7.9 hard disk- 5.9/7.9 I really like this PC and would recommend it to anyone who wants a fast PC for everything!

Blake
Sydney, Australia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
fast computer but cd/dvd rom drive worthless
12/7/2010

Customer review by mckinnon2

3.0 stars 12/7/2010 by mckinnon2
by mckinnon2

I purchased this computer because my old 7 year Windows XP computer gave out on me and I needed a new one NOW but I didn't have a lot of money to spend. I bought it right out of the box and did not upgrade it in any way. Pros: This computer is fast and quiet. More than adequate memory and storage. I really wanted an I7 processor but couldn't afford one, so I was happy to be able to get this with an I5! Cons: My main problem with this computer is the CD/DVD ROM drive that came with is computer. I would give it a score of only 3 out of 10! It can ONLY play music CD's and simple games. If I play a movie DVD - the movie is REALLY stuttery, starting and stopping. If I play a simple game CD - the computer shuts down any time it comes to a complicated scene. And worse if I try to play a COMPLICATED game - it completly freezes up! I play WORLD OF WARCRAFT and I cannot even DOWNLOAD the game! The moment I pop the disk in - the computer freezes! So, overall this is a good computer for the money. I WOULD buy this computer again but I would put in a better CD/DVD ROM drive!

mckinnon2
Murfreesboro, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome computer
12/10/2010

Customer review by ZaMama

5.0 stars 12/10/2010 by ZaMama
by ZaMama

Super fast processor for a great price...I am in heaven. Processes photoshop effects in a snap and can handle large files. I only wish I had bought it sooner. If you are looking for a processing powerhouse this is the computer for you!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ZaMama
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Studio XPS 8100
11/17/2010

Customer review by MickyB

3.0 stars 11/17/2010 by MickyB
by MickyB

Most things work as expected - it's fast and does what it should. BUT it has been one of the most frustrating experiences ever getting everything running smoothly. On Day 1 and 2 I installed a whole load of software and all appeared to go well until on Day 3 it refused to start and couldn't self repair - the only option was a complete factory reset - 2 days of my life lost! The next time I restarted the computer after each install and all the software installed properly....so this was a Dell problem, not my software. I also had a few programs which installed but wouldn't run properly.....but they were fine on XP. Try the Compatibility mode.....useless. I read about running XP in virtual mode....but now needed to upgrade Windows 7 from Home to Professional (at more expense) to be able to download virtual XP. With this installed, all the old programs do work, but why can't the Compatibility mode do this if that's what it's there for? Getting this computer to do what my old Dell running XP did was a real battle.....and in this day and age it really shouldn't be like this!

MickyB
Paignton
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Almost Perfect
7/17/2010

Customer review by WhiteLight

5.0 stars 7/17/2010 by WhiteLight
by WhiteLight

First off, a brief of my specs. 2TB Hard Drive Nvidia Geforce GTS240 8MB RAM Intel i7-860 Windows 7 Home PROS: I recieved my Dell XPS 8100 a few days ago, (shipping time 2 days) and so far it has been exceptional. It has far exceeded my expectations, and I would certainly recommend this PC. I use it mainly for gaming and video editing, and the games I have tried out on it so far have nearly all run at the highest specs available. (Fallout 3, L4D2, Mass Effect 2) It's nearly completely silent, so ignore the bad reviews about the sound, and so far everything has been working perfectly for me. Windows 7 in 1080p looks fantastic, and the general white/black design of the Dell XPS looks stylish and modern, one of the main reasons I actually bought this PC. Connected to it is the Dell AY410 speakers, and delivers quite a kick at great value. CONS: The only worry I have about this is how hot it gets after a while, but thats around 9-10 hours straight, so it isnt too much of a problem. VERDICT: The Dell XPS 8100 is certainly a great buy, and I've recommended it to most of my friends. 10/10 from me.

WhiteLight
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ok but a few inconveniences to deal with initially
8/19/2010

Customer review by MargaretA

3.0 stars 8/19/2010 by MargaretA
by MargaretA

While the computer is overall very good, the optical drive that I received with my computer package - a Blu Ray disc drive - was not working properly at all with Blu-Ray discs, with the Power DVD software that was pre-installed, nor with any other "review" versions of other Blu Ray software available. After about 2 hours with technical support, trying to convince them that its not the software but the hardware; and after having to pick up a completely different BD drive that Dell sent as a replacement; after the installation etc... I still had to purchase a more premium software package to use the BD drive. You would think that Dell would test the hardware they put into the computers, with the software that is avaialble or that they are pre-installing. Other people who had purchased the same computer package had similar problems as noted on forums, so this wasn't an isolated issue. So the experience is so-so, but now that I'VE fixed the problem, it's running OK. Given that I'm in PR and understand the power of branding and word-of-mouth buzz, I'm definitely not going to be a brand ambassador for Dell.

MargaretA
Mississauga, Ontario
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent compact desktop with high performance
12/1/2010

Customer review by namefunnel

5.0 stars 12/1/2010 by namefunnel
by namefunnel

This is an excellent high performance desktop. The Intel i7 quad processor with hyperthreading is very fast, but it doesn't need the huge heat sinks that older quad processor chips required. The case itself is not intended for rapid hardware changes - it uses screws to hold components in place, and it's a tight fit for my fingers to make changes such as pushing in extra SATA cables. There is only 1 open slot (perhaps you could add a modem?). You can add a second hard disk and a second DVD/CD drive, but that's it. I've expanded the disk storage beyond this by adding eSATA and USB drives (eSATA is about twice as fast as USB on this machine). I like the power button on top along with two USB ports and mic and headphone jacks. The ATI graphics card is powerful enough for the engineering work I do (though I would have prefered an nVidia card in order to use their CUDA library). With 2 disk drives you could reconfigure the machine for RAID, but I haven't wanted to try this. At the moment I have about 7 Tbyte of storage on this machine (2 internal drives, 4 external) with 2 DVD drives, and it is very stable so I am very happy.

namefunnel
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dude, I got a DELL!
9/15/2010

Customer review by GDnBB54

5.0 stars 9/15/2010 by GDnBB54
by GDnBB54

I have been a PC user now for over ten years, and prior to this, I had always exclusively owned Compaq PCs. I became familiar with Dell through the computers that were in my workplace, and those computers took a beating and always performed perfectly. Even though this was the case, I was still a bit reluctant to purchase anything other than what I had in the past, but I have to say that since I've had my Dell Studio XPS 8100, I have been thoroughly impressed by the speed and overall functionality of this PC. To say that I would recommend a dell to others looking to buy a new PC would be a gross understatement. I wholeheartedly recommend a Dell to anyone looking to buy a new computer and I can say without hesitation that it would be the best decision they could possibly make...Thanks Dell for your great product and unsurpassed customer service!

GDnBB54
Dixon, IL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Studio 540 - Solid Machine
4/14/2010

Customer review by RealGeek

5.0 stars 4/14/2010 by RealGeek
by RealGeek

So my wife's machine has been giving her intermittant blue screens and she was fed up. She is a power user and has mail, a couple of spreadsheets, 20 internet browser sessions, streaming music and instant messenger up all at the same time. So I bought her a Studio 540 with E7600 processor, 6 gig, RAM, and XFI sound card for her music. also got Dell 21.5 inch monitor with built in web cam She is extrememly pleased with the machine. It is fast and has handled everything she has thrown at it. Black glossy piano finish was also much easier on the eye than her last case. Hard drive activity light is in a good spot and easy to see. Monitor was nothing short of outstanding! Colors are vivid, black quality was good and there were no dead pixels. Was pleased that it came with a real DVI cable and 4 USB ports. Only thing lacking was the machine came with 6 USB ports and would like to have had more since I ended up adding a USB hub. On the flip side it had firewire ports for our external firewire drive. All in all a pleasant purchase. Order completion time of almost 30 days tried my patience but it was a special order and worth the wait.

RealGeek
Dallas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful Computing Experience
9/3/2010

Customer review by LovesHisDell

5.0 stars 9/3/2010 by LovesHisDell
by LovesHisDell

I have used many different desktops and laptops at work and home and nothing compares to the Studio XPS 8100 in performance. It smokes... I bought the Intel i7-870 processor, 12 GB of SDRAM, nvidia GeForce GTS240 graphics card, with 1 TB storage. What else could you want at such a great price? I have had it for 3 weeks now and it has performed flawlessly. I purchased my last Dell destop 10 years ago for about the same price and it is still working fine today even though it can't play some of the newer games. I expect this desktop to last just as long. I also got a flat panel monitor that had a built in web cam. The instructions for cabling that were included with the monitor were not correct but easily corrected with a call to support. The installed FastAccess Facial Recognition software leaves something to be desired. While active, I was not able to use the webcam with any other cam software such as Google video Chat or Skype. I was able to still use the Dell Web Cam Central application but don't have much use for it. Overall, Very satisfied with this purchase and would recommend it to anyone looking for a high performance computer.

LovesHisDell
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
An Outstanding Deal
7/23/2010

Customer review by brocky3

5.0 stars 7/23/2010 by brocky3
by brocky3

I recently purchased the Studio XPS 8100 through the "scratch and dent" section of the Dell Outlet. Since I do Solid Modeling design for a living on my home computer, I needed one with an upper end video card and plenty of RAM. It came equipped with Windows 7, the i7 processor, 8GB of RAM, a 1TB hard drive and a ATI Radeon 5770 video card with 1GB of RAM. I saved $290 by going this route compared to ordering "new". The computer was never used and didn't have a mark on it. So much for the savings and on to the performance. Though the graphics card isn't Radeon's top model, the performance when doing my solid modeling work is exceptional. It is super quiet and super fast for the amount of video "number crunching" the computer has to do. I also do a little gaming and the computer handled any game I threw at it. Very, very satisfied!

brocky3
Jersey Shore
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Upograde to this computer
5/6/2010

Customer review by darby

5.0 stars 5/6/2010 by darby
by darby

I replaced my 2002 Dell Dimension 8200 with this new Dell Studio XPS 8100 and am very glad I did. The ole Dimension was limping along, getting hung apps and very slow even with additional memory. I avoided the Windows Vista debacle and waited for the Windows 7 and am glad I did that too. This new computer is very fast (got it with 8GB RAM and the I Core 5). It takes a while to set up (fully) and is running well with the Windows 7 which is very intuitive and a joy to use. I am adding Logitek Z2300 speakers to get the sound I want. I am running a D-Link DIR-655 router and it all synchs perfectly with my Ipod Touch. When computers run fast and true, it makes life better in a way. I used a Belkin transfer cable and it made the process very smooth. This new set-up actually saves me time as I get though my tasks much more quickly.

darby
western PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent so far
11/17/2010

Customer review by JMKgolfnut

5.0 stars 11/17/2010 by JMKgolfnut
by JMKgolfnut

I bought this to be a quasi-server for development and testing with virtual machines. I didn't need a full blown server, and was looking for something more reasonable in price, willing to sacrifice performance if necessary. So I settled on the XPS8100 as a well configured but not quite server class machine. So far it's been fantastic! I upgraded to the i7 processor and 12gb RAM, and it's great. I removed all of the pre-loaded OS and reloaded from scratch Win7 Pro - no issues whatsoever with drivers etc. I actually loaded VMware's ESXi successfully (only needed to add a second nic card) but in the end, I reverted back to Win7 Pro for day to day business purposes. It's lightning fast and so far doing exactly what I purchased it for. I'm running multiple VMs at once no performance issues - excellent!

JMKgolfnut
Southwestern Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Speed and Integration
2/11/2010

Customer review by RangerSkip

5.0 stars 2/11/2010 by RangerSkip
by RangerSkip

Pros I am so glad I decided on the Dell Studio XPS 8000 instead of the bigger, bulkier 9000 series. The 8000 has all the features, speed and power that I need for my requirements. I am impressed with how quiet it is compared to my 7-year old Gateway PC. And the transistion from Win XP to Win 7 has gone quite smoothly up to this point in time. The machine ended up shipping out a couple of days earlier than the projected date so that was a pleasant surprise. Cons The HP 23" wide screen monitor I purchased to go with the XPS 8000 is a better fit and more stylish than the comparable priced Dell monitor would have been. Overall, I am quite pleased and impressed with my new Dell PC. I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone wanting to buy a new computer.

RangerSkip
Gulf Breeze, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
my sons PC
7/5/2010

Customer review by redtop03

5.0 stars 7/5/2010 by redtop03
by redtop03

I ordered this PC for my son,he helped me design it to his liking....he is into gaming and plays WOW all the time,he loves it,I don't know anything about gaming but it seems to be a great PC and super fast with the I5 processor,4 gigs of ram,and an awesome video card....Windows 7 is awesome too... Dell builds awesome PCs...I still have the first one that I ordered 8 yrs ago and it's still going strong,I used it for about 5yrs and ordered my Inspiron 530 which is about 3yrs old now and it too is still going strong...I didn't think it would be possible to build a faster PC than my Inspiron but the Studio XPS 8100 will blow it away as my Inspiron 530 did my old Dimensions 4600 which will still do about anything that I need it to do...just a bit slower :)

redtop03
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Value for Money
1/6/2011

Customer review by PRL5908

4.0 stars 1/6/2011 by PRL5908
by PRL5908

Pros Fast, powerful 4 core processor and blazing ATI graphics card make this a great option for editing video without breaking the bank account. I was able to purchase this desktop/screen combo and a netbook for travel for what I would have paid a competitor for just the tower. A real plus is how quiet it is. Dell has opened up lots of venting so they can use a lower speed fan instead of the howlers that come in some other high powered desktops. Cons Although it is pretty easy to set up it comes pre loaded with some annoying software extras (I won't mention brand names) that have to be uninstalled to be truly useful. And could someone write a decent user manual? (I don't think any company does a good job on this) Overall Great value for money

PRL5908
New Westminster, BC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dell Studio XPS SX8100
2/3/2010

Customer review by LittleMikey

5.0 stars 2/3/2010 by LittleMikey
by LittleMikey

Dell system replaced a 15 year old Gateway Select computer that amazingly ran XP, but with applications now coming out for the Windows 7 programs, it was time to update the old super slow putter. I’ll just keep it as a server backup. The Dell is super fast, graphics clear and crisp, and the features are just fantastic. The ATI Radon graphics card with the double monitor setup is great, as well as all the peripherals that can be added simply as a plug and play. USB's all over the place, front, back and top. Never can have enough of those. Trying the new Windows 7 as compared to XP, but with anything new, there is always an adjustment. Very pleased with the Dell as well as the Dell tech support. Fully recommend the 8100 to anyone.

LittleMikey
Missoula, Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ninja PC
2/2/2011

Customer review by MW67

5.0 stars 2/2/2011 by MW67
by MW67

I wanted to replace my 5 year old PC with something that could play modern games (e.g. GTA IV / COD Black Ops) at something other than minimum detail and painfully slow frame rate. The XPS8100 fitted the bill, and with the savings from the Boxing day discount deal, I upped the spec to include a 1GB GeForce GTX 460, and 8GB memory. I can now play GTA IV in awesome detail. All other activities such as browsing, document creation, photo processing are handled with ease, and I no longer need to force log off the rest of my family as the memory / CPU power mean we can all stay logged on simultaneously. It's also very quiet compared with my old computer, with little or no fan noise. Overall - very pleased with the product.

MW67
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 191 total reviews
1-20 of 191 reviews