Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 219 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

219 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

219 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
1-20 of 191 total reviews
Would recommend to a friend



1-20 of 191 total reviews
1-20 of 191 reviews
Awesome computer

Customer review by ZaMama

5.0 stars 12/10/2010 by ZaMama
by ZaMama

Super fast processor for a great price...I am in heaven. Processes photoshop effects in a snap and can handle large files. I only wish I had bought it sooner. If you are looking for a processing powerhouse this is the computer for you!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Very good computer!

Customer review by Peanut1990

5.0 stars 12/20/2010 by Peanut1990
by Peanut1990

Very easy to hook up even with satellite internet. Works as advertised. nice appearance. This is my forth dell product over 30 years. Hoverever the packaging was not impressive, I had to clean before installing and the starter for office 2010 was just a tease, for the price should have installed Home and Student. Overall very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Would recommend to a friend? Yes

Customer review by SolarBear

5.0 stars 4/5/2011 by SolarBear
by SolarBear

Pros With its quad core i7 CPU and 8GB of memory this is a very fast system, capable of running many simultaneous applications without any noticeable slow down. It is massive step up from the 6 year old system it replaced.It runs relatively quietly and goes into standby mode when idle for a while, which I like, and it has just enough USB ports at the front to connect my Ipod, camera, etc. Cons The keyboard and mouse did not have the same quality feel as previous items I was used to but this was easily remedied. Review Well worth considering if you want a good value powerful system.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very happy

Customer review by Dellxps8100fan

5.0 stars 2/10/2011 by Dellxps8100fan
by Dellxps8100fan

super computer !

Would recommend to a friend? Yes

Customer review by Shano

5.0 stars 7/8/2011 by Shano
by Shano

Have had the product for a few weeks, runs smoothly and is totally what i expected. Good for Uni work; running University Stats Prgrams and day to day Uni work. Within a Students Budget. =D

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dell Studio xps 8100

Customer review by Marlee

5.0 stars 9/15/2010 by Marlee
by Marlee

This was the second Studio xps computer that we purchased. The first was the xps 9000 which had some issues and kept crashing. We sent that back immediately (after playing the Dell Shuffle). We then purchased the Studio XPS 8100 with the dual cd option, the 1gb Radeon Vid Card. Even with the lower PS, which at first did not make me happy, I am very satisfied with this purchase. This is the quietest computer I have ever owned. Its solid, win7 home premium is a winner, and so far have had NO problem. We love it. Good job, Dell!!

Northwestern Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great gift from my children

Customer review by serenity4u78

5.0 stars 4/14/2010 by serenity4u78
by serenity4u78

My computer went out and my children purchased this for me. It does everything that I need and more. I really got it to track our family history and store pictures. It is also very fast and I am not used to clicking on the internet icon and it being there almost immediately. With my old computer I had to wait and wait. My grandchildren can play games on it. My oldest granddaughter can do her homework and assignments on it. I just love my computer! Also it was very easy to put together. The setup time was like 30 minutes and I was ready to go!

North Little Rock, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Studio XPS 8100 -high performance desktop

Customer review by Gigabite

5.0 stars 9/15/2010 by Gigabite
by Gigabite

Studio XPS 8100 is high performance desktop with reasonable price. DELL customer service team is so impressive.

Madison WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Better than ever

Customer review by lewisvp

5.0 stars 1/14/2010 by lewisvp
by lewisvp

I am a software developer and have been buying Dells for years. Usually I have bought behind the curve, but with current prices, this year I went with near state of the art. What a great machine, smooth as silk, running two screens, streaming entertainment while pushing pushing hard on a development task. Love to be able to say I have a terabyte disk. That used to run a company not too long ago. Could not be happier.

Philadelphia PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Exceeded my expectations

Customer review by Al3x

5.0 stars 12/31/2010 by Al3x
by Al3x

I received my studio XPS 8100 on the 28th of December,2010. First I opened the case to see how easy/difficult it would be to upgrade certain things in the future (ram, psu, cooling system) realized that it would be a piece of cake since the components have some breathing room. I immediately upgraded my OS to Ultimate from the stock Home Premium. My system is an XPS 8100 with the i7 870 processor with 12GB's of ram and the Nvidia GTS240 video card. The computer is very quiet (IMO) and is very responsive. I have immediate plans to upgrade my power supply from the stock unit which is 350watts (for my pc's specs it has held up well),I just want to prepare for future upgrades, therefore, I will be getting a 750watt unit very soon. I ran the ram stress tests and it passes it without any increase in fan noise which is a definite plus. My previous system would scream to high heaven when over 50% to capacity. My task now is to treat the computer right so that the performance can maintain itself as close to peak as possible. I doubt I will end up regretting anything that I have written in this review. It appears to me that this system will hold up very well. If you purchase this computer with the right balance of specs and have the capacity to conduct some basic upgrades (that are not options via Dell) you can get this PC to perform like a Alienware for a fraction of the cost. Hope you guys have a similar experience. After proof-reading this review I feel as if I am advocating for Dell on an internal level (which is not the case), with all honesty, to sum it all up, the system is great!

New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Work Computer

Customer review by Eros18

5.0 stars 12/29/2010 by Eros18
by Eros18

I got my Studio XPS 8100 not to long ago, and there is nothing bad I can say about this machine. This computer is the best computer I have ever owned. It's the first Dell computer that I have ever bought and I was truly surprised at how well build it was. I already knew from the specs I chose that this was going to be a great machine, but I was amazed at the speed. The only think I would have done differently would have been to upgrade the Operating System. So far I am really pleased with this product.

Windsor, Ontario
Would recommend to a friend? Yes

Customer review by fsjshane

5.0 stars 11/18/2010 by fsjshane
by fsjshane

simple to purchase and use. Priced right. Performs well.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
dell studio xps 8100

Customer review by Blake

5.0 stars 8/30/2010 by Blake
by Blake

i purchased my studio xps 8100 a few months ago and i have been really happy with it. i got mine with an Intel core I7 860, 6gb of ram 1 t HDD, Nvidia GTX 260 and a 24 inch monitor. this computer is lightning fast, movies, pictures and games run flawlessly and word preprocessing is just too easy for this machine. windows 7 is a easy to use and the 24 inch monitor is crystal clear and there is no glare at all. I use my computer for gaming and it plays the latest games well. i can play most new games like Battlefield: bad company 2, Modern warfare 2, Fallout 3 and Oblivion on high to max settings and it plays all my old games on max settings as well! on windows 7 you can rate your computers performance. this was my results processor- 7.5/7.9 RAM- 7.5/7.9 Graphics- 7.1/7.9 Gaming Graphics- 7.1/7.9 hard disk- 5.9/7.9 I really like this PC and would recommend it to anyone who wants a fast PC for everything!

Sydney, Australia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love my new Dell

Customer review by cherokeebelle

5.0 stars 9/9/2010 by cherokeebelle
by cherokeebelle

I love my new Studio XPS 8100 desktop with 21.5" monitor. It makes doing my classwork and job searches a lot more enjoyable than the 5 year old laptop I was using. The portable mouse and keyboard has become a must too! I was impressed with the speed of it's arrival and the ease of setting it up. Dell had everything covered for me.

Wichita Ks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Simply perfect

Customer review by Serdar

5.0 stars 8/27/2010 by Serdar
by Serdar

- Amazingly quiet, I simply can't say if it is sleeping or running. - After I received it, I also added an Intel SSD as the system disk and this is now the best performance I have ever seen on a desktop computer. Windows 7 performance score is 7.1. - The case was also very easy to open and customize. - USB ports on top are super convenient.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Another Winner

Customer review by DiehardDell

5.0 stars 2/11/2010 by DiehardDell
by DiehardDell

I have been using Dell desktops for the past 15 years or more and have never been disappointed in their products, service or cost. The 8100 is another example of a great value. The Intel i5-750 processor along with 8gb of ram and Microsofts new operating system make this a very quick and responsive machine. No waiting!!! The unit is super quiet, the 22" flat panel hd monitor is crisp and bright. I bought this during a three day special and consider this to be one of the best values at that time.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful Computing Experience

Customer review by LovesHisDell

5.0 stars 9/3/2010 by LovesHisDell
by LovesHisDell

I have used many different desktops and laptops at work and home and nothing compares to the Studio XPS 8100 in performance. It smokes... I bought the Intel i7-870 processor, 12 GB of SDRAM, nvidia GeForce GTS240 graphics card, with 1 TB storage. What else could you want at such a great price? I have had it for 3 weeks now and it has performed flawlessly. I purchased my last Dell destop 10 years ago for about the same price and it is still working fine today even though it can't play some of the newer games. I expect this desktop to last just as long. I also got a flat panel monitor that had a built in web cam. The instructions for cabling that were included with the monitor were not correct but easily corrected with a call to support. The installed FastAccess Facial Recognition software leaves something to be desired. While active, I was not able to use the webcam with any other cam software such as Google video Chat or Skype. I was able to still use the Dell Web Cam Central application but don't have much use for it. Overall, Very satisfied with this purchase and would recommend it to anyone looking for a high performance computer.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Stealth Computer

Customer review by Medievalark

5.0 stars 1/14/2010 by Medievalark
by Medievalark

I have owned computers since the original IBM PC in the mid-80s and have even built my last two. I am neither a geek nor a gamer and so my demands from a computer are modest enough. That said, the Studio XPS 8000 has been the easiest to set up and a real pleasure to use. It just sits in the background and lets me do my work, rather than itself being an issue or the center of attention. I am very satisfied with it.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fantastical Device!

Customer review by Craig2703

5.0 stars 4/1/2010 by Craig2703
by Craig2703

An awesomely fast machine, handles anything I've thrown at it. I play Sims 3 on max settings and get an average of 200 fps, thats gotta be fast right? Delivery was around 10 days early which was great because i couldn't wait any longer! Keyboard that came with it was faulty as the letter o and l didn't work but when i phoned up i was greeted with exceptional customer service and a new keyboard was shipped and arrived the next day! Excellent quality smooth performance havn't had a single problem yet! or ever will at this rate!!!

Widnes, North West England
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Solid Performer

Customer review by PreviousCustomer

5.0 stars 9/15/2010 by PreviousCustomer
by PreviousCustomer

I was looking for a solid performer to replace my old Dell desktop purchased in 2002. I considered the Inspiron 580 but decided I wanted more size and power. The machine has been a solid performer so far. Nothing negative.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 191 total reviews
1-20 of 191 reviews