Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 22 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

22 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

22 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
15
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
5
1-20 of 20 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Solved a problem for me
2/15/2011

Customer review by lancefrei

5.0 stars 2/15/2011 by lancefrei
by lancefrei

I have a MacBook Pro with a slot-loading dvd writing/reading drive. It stopped reading discs reliably and would only write, so I thought I had a bad drive. I did some research on the Internet and found many people had used the Memorex OptiDisc to clean the laser on their drives, fixing that problem. The Apple manual says not to use cleaning discs in their slot-loading drives, but I figured I had nothing to lose since it wasn't working properly anyway. Bought the OptiDisc, put it in the slot a couple of times and let it spin. It ejected it and then I tried writing and reading dvds. The dvd drive works perfectly now. There are cheaper cleaning discs out there. But I knew others had success with the Memorex brand so I figured I'd stick with that rather than try another one. The others may work just fine, but I have no experience with them. This appears to have gotten the drive working without me having to replace the drive, so I'm quite pleased with this. Remember, the Apple manual says not to put these in your dvd drive, so you do so at your own risk. All I can say is you can read on the Internet that lots of people have done it and have had success. I'm one of those.

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lancefrei
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
Memorex OptiDisc cleaner
12/26/2010

Customer review by buyimpact

5.0 stars 12/26/2010 by buyimpact
by buyimpact

It does the job, and the price isn't bad for retail. There are cheaper ways to get a cleaning solution if you're buying preemptively, but if you need to run to Walmart immediately for a quick fix, this price is fine. It works as intended. Players that play automatically from hardware (CD players, older DVD players and Bluray players with the appropriate firmware) play fine. To address the reviewer with low stars, you don't simply jam in the disk and expect Windows(or Mac, or any operating system used to be difficult for argument) to start playing the tracks. Optical drives will have a headphone jack to listen to the drive the same was that we used CD players for. If you're a laptop user with a slim drive or your drive has no port, just let the disk spin around to do its job. Proper usage prevails every time.

Was this review helpful? (28) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
buyimpact
Marion, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
works great
4/4/2012

Customer review by WallyWorldShopperKnox

5.0 stars 4/4/2012 by WallyWorldShopperKnox
by WallyWorldShopperKnox

Just put it in the DVD player and started it. It is an audio CD. Tracks 1 to 3 tell you what it's doing while cleaning the player. After that the cleaning is finished, but you can continue with track 4 and do an optimization/diagnostics. My DVD player worked fine after just one time running tracks 1 to 3. I tried several DVDs and they all worked fine. It previously had difficulty just recognizing a DVD, and some DVDs wouldn't play at all. Very happy with this product.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WallyWorldShopperKnox
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Excellent product
12/18/2010

Customer review by Melveno

5.0 stars 12/18/2010 by Melveno
by Melveno

If the problem is a dirty lens, this is your product: inexpensive, put in, press play, done. If this product does not work for you, then the problem isn't the cleanliness of your laser lens. I have a BD player with two lasers. One for audio/DVD and the other for BlueRay only. BD wouldn't play, other would, so problem was firmware update (done), or laser dirty or out of focus. $9 later and a clean laser, BD are playing. To your other reviewer: you gotta be smarter than the equipment you use.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Melveno
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
WORKS LIKE A CHARM!
12/11/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/11/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

My XBOX 360 has been having that "open tray/disc error" for the longest time. I used to think that it was because my discs were scratched, but in the end I found out that wasnt the case. I literally just went to Walmart and picked this bad boy up, popped it in my 360, and after 5 minutes it was cleaner than a whistle. I put in the two games that were never reading and now they both read on the first time. If you are a gamer like me, do not send in your 360 to MS, just buy this Memorex Lens Cleaner and your problems will be fixed. PS If it doesnt read the first time, eject it and put it back in. The first time I put it in, it didnt read, but the second time I put the lens cleaner in it did its magic :)

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worked perfectly for me!
3/24/2014

Customer review by woodlandsgal

5.0 stars 3/24/2014 by woodlandsgal
by woodlandsgal

I could not play anything on my DVD player anymore. Everything stuck, got hung up and would not advance. Drove me crazy. Decided to try this product before I started researching new DVD players and voila! First DVD I played after using this product ran smoothly with no problems at all. However, the 2nd DVD I played, hung up again. So, I cleaned it again and it worked. So, even though the Memorex Opt Disc works great, I still might have to get a new DVD player...ugh! I highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
woodlandsgal
The Woodlands, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
exceeded expectations completely
12/6/2012

Customer review by thebigbB

5.0 stars 12/6/2012 by thebigbB
by thebigbB

having had trouble with magnavox dvd/vcr recorder ie:couldnt read disc, no disc, dvd wouldn't record or finalize,timer would not record,etc. installed the disc and nothing, machine even said playback not possible, i thought oh no just what i had read from an earlier review so i ejected and thought well i got a jvc home theater might as well try it. again on screen was nothing but on the machine was some numbers 4 and something i don't remember. this time i just hit play again nothing on screen but vocals came on telling me about the disc and what it was going to do. i let it run thru, finished it ejected it and tried it back into the magnavox again nothing on screen but it was reading and the numbers came up on front of machine as it had on the jvc. i hit play again voice cameon finished the cleaning,put in dvd that would not work earlier and wow all that was wrong suddenly worked. it now reads ,formats,records (one touch & timer) and plays back. i had hoped to salvage this machine but after having used other disc cleaners, even manual cleaning i was dubious.it worked just remember nothing appears on screen while disc does it's work.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thebigbB
aurora, in.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Restored an old system sounds
1/12/2013

Customer review by SugarFantasyDreams

5.0 stars 1/12/2013 by SugarFantasyDreams
by SugarFantasyDreams

I have a 10 disc boombox that i was getting disappointed in the way it played my cds until I used this cleaner. When I use it at least once a week it makes my cds sounds very clear. Thanks Memorex for making such a product so that my 10+ old boombox now has new life!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SugarFantasyDreams
Lynn, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great optimization tools!
3/19/2013

Customer review by techwreck

5.0 stars 3/19/2013 by techwreck
by techwreck

The cleaner is great, but the tools on tracks 5-14 are particularly helpful in higher end sound systems. I use the "in phase/out of phase" speaker utility as well as the pink noise generator and Dolby sound check to diagnose problems that have nothing to do with the DVD/CD player itself. Nice add-on to the product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
techwreck
Dinuba, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Worked once only and didn't last
4/4/2014

Customer review by frugalWI

2.0 stars 4/4/2014 by frugalWI
by frugalWI

The first time I put it in my DVD player it seemed to work just as expected. My player that was not reading discs was able to read a disc just fine immediately after using this. However, the very next day I had the same problem as before, with my DVD player not reading discs. I tried putting this lens cleaner disc in again, and it couldn't even be read. Either the product is faulty or my player's issue is more than just a dirty laser lens.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
frugalWI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor product
3/20/2012

Customer review by BigBillJohn

1.0 stars 3/20/2012 by BigBillJohn
by BigBillJohn

Used one time on CD player and it hasn't worked since. Would not buy again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigBillJohn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
unreadable
12/12/2010

Customer review by tallguyohio

1.0 stars 12/12/2010 by tallguyohio
by tallguyohio

I read lots of reviews of how this product worked without a hitch. I had been burning lots of cd's and dvd's lately and noticed that some of my dvd'd and cd's were skipping at some point during play. All of the reviews that I read said this disc did a thorough and exellent job (for the exception of a few) including me. Well I have a home theater system thats less than two years old. Well needless to say my DVD player will not read the disc. Disc is unreadable. So I put it in my computer drive and the audio instructions would play but not in my home theater dvd player. Maybe its just some DVD players. I'm not going to buy another product of Memorex.

Was this review helpful? (4) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tallguyohio
Ashtabula, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
It worked on my Wii!
2/28/2014

Customer review by Sherritasworld

5.0 stars 2/28/2014 by Sherritasworld
by Sherritasworld

I didn't think it was doing anything because I kept getting the error message that it could not read the disc so I just sat there and did it over and over and over, for probably a good half-hour or more. Finally, my friend asked me just to try another disc and see if it worked and it did! Haven't had any problems with it since! Wahoo!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sherritasworld
Midwest, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
Inexpensive but effective
11/16/2014

Customer review by MN1964Brain

5.0 stars 11/16/2014 by MN1964Brain
by MN1964Brain

I used a product similar to this for years but borrowed it to someone and never got it back. Had recent problems with known good DVDs so bought and used this cleaning disc on the player. Seems to have done the job and the price is right, especially if one can either find it in their local store or have it sent site-to-store for pick-up during regular shopping trip. Reviewers who have had problems either have faulty hardware/software or are otherwise using the cleaning disc incorrectly. If this cleaning disc either doesn't work or resolve your problem, then you most likely have faulty hardware/software. NOTE: Depending on one's computer configuration, one may have to start playback after the cleaning disc is inserted.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MN1964Brain
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
It worked!
11/23/2014

Customer review by GmaMaine

5.0 stars 11/23/2014 by GmaMaine
by GmaMaine

Our older DVD player was having trouble playing discs we rented. Some didn't play at all, some would spontaneously pause and skip. Ran this in the player and haven't had the problem since! Product works great and EASY to do!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GmaMaine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful Product
12/28/2014

Customer review by HappyinAlabasterAL

5.0 stars 12/28/2014 by HappyinAlabasterAL
by HappyinAlabasterAL

This disc was extremely easy to use - just put it in the unit and push Play. It worked well and was everything I had hoped it would be. It doesn't make my DVD recorder record every time, but it does record more times than it did before. I'm not sure if the recording problem is the brand of disc or something in the unit. It's several years old.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyinAlabasterAL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It does not do DVDs
6/27/2014

Customer review by Doryeg

2.0 stars 6/27/2014 by Doryeg
by Doryeg

According to the description this cleaner will do CDs and DVDs, however it only does CDs which is not what I needed it for. I'm very dissappointed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Doryeg
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Would not even load!!!
11/21/2014

Customer review by bikerdeb

1.0 stars 11/21/2014 by bikerdeb
by bikerdeb

Going to return this... did not work... would not load in my Samsung Blu-ray DVD player!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bikerdeb
Would recommend to a friend? No
Bogus
1/6/2015

Customer review by skate133

1.0 stars 1/6/2015 by skate133
by skate133

Disc would not load into my mini stereo component system. Keep getting "NO DISC" when I tried to load it into my system.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
skate133
Would recommend to a friend? No
samsung blu-ray
3/14/2015

Customer review by sciencenut

1.0 stars 3/14/2015 by sciencenut
by sciencenut

This will not even play in my Samsung DVD player. The package states it is not for car players either.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sciencenut
Would recommend to a friend? No