Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 162 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

162 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

162 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
79
4 stars
57
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 stars
13
1-20 of 136 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 136 total reviews
1-20 of 136 reviews
Good value, dont expect wonders
12/16/2013

Customer review by 1MCA1

4.0 stars 12/16/2013 by 1MCA1
by 1MCA1

Good: Price, Clear images, decent power, accessories (lenses, tripod), lightweight, easy to assemble and use Bad: touchy (fine adjustments have a lot of play to them even while tightened so just focusing or tracking objects its easy to lose it completely), no horizontal fine adjustment, "red-dot finder" only ideal for closer objects (I might just need to adjust it a bit though), box is misleading you wont see Jupiter or galaxies as it shows. Overall: I say its a decent telescope for the price, I'm happy with it as is my wife who's never even looked through a telescope before this one. Attached is a picture of the moon on the night I got it, clarity issues come from taking a picture with a bad camera phone through the lens and not the telescope itself

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1MCA1
Avondale, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Perfect for the price
12/18/2011

Customer review by PVMJ

4.0 stars 12/18/2011 by PVMJ
by PVMJ

EXCELLENT FOR THE PRICE; PERFECT FOR ENTRY LEVEL; THE GOOD: PRICE AN EASY TO USE, THE BAD: FIXED AZIMUTH ITS HARD TO GET. I UPLOADED A PICTURE OF THE MOON, THE CONDITIONS WHERE REALLY BAD AND I HAD A BEAUTIFUL VIEW OF THE MOON. GET IT KNOW FROM WALMART BEFORE THE PRICE CHANGE!

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PVMJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good first telescope or intermdiate telescope.
1/19/2014

Customer review by astrocuck

4.0 stars 1/19/2014 by astrocuck
by astrocuck
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The optics on this telescope are quite good. I looked at the full moon with this telescope witch for a refractor is a good test of the objective lens quality. Only a slight ring of false color around the extreme edge of the field of view was seen. The lunar disk showed up sharp and distinct all the way up to the edge where this slight amount of chromatic aberration appeared. The amount of false color was indeed minimal and quite acceptable. I then turned the telescope to the planet Jupiter and was easily able to see the moons of Jupiter and the Equatorial Cloud Belts on the planets surface clearly with no chromatic interference. I found the slow motion tracking control to be a very good and useful feature of this scope, however the scope does suffer from a tripod that in my opinion could be a little taller. Overall I find this telescope to be a good choice for either beginner or even a somewhat advanced astronomer, Like myself, to purchase.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
astrocuck
chicago illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great telescope
11/28/2010

Customer review by ScienceSam

5.0 stars 11/28/2010 by ScienceSam
by ScienceSam

I have looked at several telescopes before buying this. For the price, it is a great deal. The 70mm size is much bigger than the usual 60mm telescopes out there. You can really see the craters on the moon, and Jupiter was an awesome sight. it was also easy to use. I have been interested in astronomy and other sciences but this price got me to make a purchase. I am quite a shopper but when i compared the features of this telescope to others out there, I decided on this. I was not disappointed. In fact, I was impressed. It came with several eyepieces and I did not need to purchase additional items. This was a lot of fun. Great product!

Was this review helpful? (399) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ScienceSam
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
excellent for price
12/14/2013

Customer review by imki

4.0 stars 12/14/2013 by imki
by imki
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Now for this price I definitely did not expect much but this did surprise me. The construction is mostly plastic but that's okay cause it is cheap, The tripod is amazingly good quality, and the quality of the image seen is very nice but remember it's plastic so it can be better. Overall great for kids and as this was my first telescope buy I can't compare much but I do own two DSLR's and am impressed at the distance I can view with this (I can take a picture through the very small eye piece with my DSLR). Toys had also proven to be useful in shooting range sighting for extreme distances and extreme remote bird or animal watching but the most you can do is gaze at the moon as the stars are only a big dot anyways. Galaxies are oh so much further away lol! Overall a great buy for around the house and you don't have to worry about it as much as if it was an expensive one. Great for getting the younger ones interested in more complex wonderful things.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
imki
Trinidad
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A stunning value.
12/1/2012

Customer review by LordTyger

5.0 stars 12/1/2012 by LordTyger
by LordTyger

I was a bit skeptical of the possibility of a quality scope for under $40. But, I figured I could just return it in-store if I was unsatisfied. I was pleasantly surprised by the optics included. I took it out on a night of mediocre "seeing" (full moon, slightly hazy) and was very impressed by the views of Jupiter. It's moons resolved sharply, and banding on the planet was clearly visible. (Enough so that I could tell the red spot was not facing Earth at the time). I also quickly found the Orion Nebula (albeit washed out by the full moonlight) and was pleased with the red-dot finder's ease of use overall. The moon had some color fringing, but nothing too distracting. And the lunar views were impressive. As a terrestrial scope, it performed well. The right-side up mirror does it's job, and the sharpness and clarity are more than adequate. The weak spot of this package was definitely tripod/mount. A slight breeze will give shake your view, and any touch or bump will leave the scope quivering for far too long. I'll work on that problem, there may be some DIY fix. When shopping for a beginner's scope, there's always a fear of going too cheap and providing a dismal experience that would discourage a budding astronomer. I can honestly say that should not be the case here. I use mine as a grab-and-go backup to my 10" reflector, and as a daytime spotting scope. In that, it has far exceeded my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LordTyger
SW MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome for money
1/19/2011

Customer review by IngaTG

5.0 stars 1/19/2011 by IngaTG
by IngaTG

This telescope is an awesome value for the price. We got this for my daughter, who is just now getting into astronomy. It is very powerful and we are able to view constellations, planets, the moon, etc. very clearly and with great detail. It's a bit complicated at first, and can be overwhelming for someone just looking to pull it out and view stars...yes, you can look at the moon without much work, but to figure out the lenses and angles, etc. was a bit daunting. Quite a powerful little 'scope for the money!

Was this review helpful? (84) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IngaTG
Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
A Lovely Beginner's Telescope
12/26/2010

Customer review by Bright83

5.0 stars 12/26/2010 by Bright83
by Bright83

We bought this telescope as a gift for our 7 year old son. It's taking some time to get him used to the idea of going out into the cold to look at the stars but when he does he seems to enjoy it greatly. Assembly was very easy. We only had minor difficulties which were solved with a small adjustable wrench. (The bracket for the slow motion rod was not facing the right way.) The software that comes with it is very nice. We simply installed it and it knew where we were located, the date, and the time and used that data to show us a view of the night sky. This is sure to be a cherished item in our family for years to come!

Was this review helpful? (27) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bright83
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product - great value
3/31/2011

Customer review by BoxersRFun

5.0 stars 3/31/2011 by BoxersRFun
by BoxersRFun

We bought this for my teenage son. I was a little cautious based on some of the reviews given previously, but we proceeded with our purchase. The day it arrived, my son already had it put together by the time I got home. He thought he was missing a piece based on the instructions, but on closer inspection there was an addendum to the instructions regarding the starfinder and everything was there. He loves it - it's great - and you can't beat it for the price.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BoxersRFun
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Powerseeker 70 AZ telescope
12/31/2010

Customer review by rlb1955

5.0 stars 12/31/2010 by rlb1955
by rlb1955

Great telescope and great price!! I bought this for my 11 year old and she absolutely loves it! I would definitely recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rlb1955
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
4/20/2011

Customer review by frankjb

5.0 stars 4/20/2011 by frankjb
by frankjb

Quality scope for the money,probably the the best scope you can get under $100.00.Can see Saturns rings,nice views of moon.Walmart deal cannot be beat,with extra eyepiece and red dot finder.

Was this review helpful? (65) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
frankjb
Parma Hts. Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Value!
12/31/2010

Customer review by crimson8107

5.0 stars 12/31/2010 by crimson8107
by crimson8107

This telescope was a great value! The same telescope sold on other sites for more than double the price. It comes with 3 different lenses and is easy to put together. I'm amazed at all of the things you can see. My son was interested in astronomy so I wanted to get him a decent telescope to see if it was something he wanted to stick with. I looked at MANY other scopes in this price range but they were more like toys. This was perfect!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crimson8107
Utica, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nice backyard telescope
1/2/2011

Customer review by atmyCmputr

5.0 stars 1/2/2011 by atmyCmputr
by atmyCmputr

Bought before Christmas at a great price. Site to store delivery was quick. It's perfect for this family's backyard celestial viewing. In our rural location, this telescope can also be used for watching wildlife at a distance.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
atmyCmputr
SE Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
12/3/2011

Customer review by Stacey89

5.0 stars 12/3/2011 by Stacey89
by Stacey89

I just got this telescope from the black friday special, an excellent buy for only 39.99. I would have paid 80 for it though. the company does a great job at packing the telescope and the bonus software and red light finder make it so simple to focus. the software automatically pulls your location to show where things are in relation to you. this is extremely helpful to beginners like me. this telescope is definitely a great buy and a must have!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stacey89
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great telescope for teens
1/2/2012

Customer review by Jada1989

5.0 stars 1/2/2012 by Jada1989
by Jada1989

My children received this telescope for Christmas and it is a big hit. They were amazed at being able to see such a great view of the moon. I would recommend this telescope to everyone. Good price, good product. Overall, im happy!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jada1989
Tampa, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product, great price!
12/30/2012

Customer review by DukeofEarle

4.0 stars 12/30/2012 by DukeofEarle
by DukeofEarle
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My 8-year-old grandson asked Santa for telescope for Christmas. I knew this might be "above his age level" and too complex to keep his attention, but the price was about $20 lower than any other retailer's and I hoped he'd grow into it. When he tore off the wrapping paper and saw the picture on the box, he exclaimed, "I don't like this present. I LOVE IT!!" Set-up definitely required adult help and careful reading of the instructions, but only took about 15 minutes. First look was at the nearly full moon on Christmas day afternoon. All he could say was "Wow!" That night he saw Jupiter, and is looking forward to future sightings of planets and constellations. I would give it 5 stars if the instructions were more complete with better descriptions. We had to use trial and error to figure out the red-dot image finder, and which eye-piece to use, but it wasn't difficult to the point of frustration or anger -- just a minor irritation. If he breaks it I'll probably buy another just like it. At WalMart's price of $39.99, you can't go wrong.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DukeofEarle
Victoria, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
What a great deal!!!
1/1/2011

Customer review by RenaissanceOnlineShopper

5.0 stars 1/1/2011 by RenaissanceOnlineShopper
by RenaissanceOnlineShopper

I have been interested in astronomy for a long time so I tend to monitor the web sites of the major telescope manufacturers, esp. Celestron. I saw this telescope first on the Celestron site. Then when I happened to see it on the Walmart and it contained two additional accessories that I wanted and was offered at a less expensive price, I just couldn't pass it up. Thank you Walmart. The scope is great. You made my year!!!

Was this review helpful? (41) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RenaissanceOnlineShopper
Albany, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Amazing!!
5/7/2012

Customer review by SilkShop

5.0 stars 5/7/2012 by SilkShop
by SilkShop

I LOOOOOOVE this telescope. It is my first telescope so I can't judge it harshly on what features it does not have. I looked at the moon though it one night and WOW! I have NEVER seen the moon like that before. It was like we were right up on it. To me, this is an amazing telescope. In years to come when I become more knowlegable I am sure that I will purchase a better telescope. But I love this one and plan to always keep it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SilkShop
Texas
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Very poor quality
12/22/2011

Customer review by Batman4u

2.0 stars 12/22/2011 by Batman4u
by Batman4u

Bought this telescope on Black Friday for my 9 year old. The specs vs price seemed like a great value. Brought it home. Assembly was very easy. The user guide included in the box only describes the assembly process and not how to use the scope and find the target using the laser guide. Had to search online to find the user guide. After few initial viewing and adjusting, the tripod's azimuth lock became loose and the scope could not be locked on the target. Took it back to Walmart and exchanged it for another one. Right out of the box, one of the bolts that attaches the scope to the tripod could not be tightened. Same problem, the scope could not be locked on a target. It was full moon and we could not see the craters, we tried all the three lenses and the magnifier that came with the product. Ended up returning it back.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Batman4u
fremont ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Cheap, not trouble free
12/12/2012

Customer review by DealHunter123

2.0 stars 12/12/2012 by DealHunter123
by DealHunter123
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Based on relative good reviews about this product I bought it at Walmart.com for $38 for my son. The setup is very easy. However I could not see anything unless I move the eyepiece away from the diagonal reflector or use the barlow lens. I suspect mines is a bad unit of the product. Yesterday there was a rare break of cloud in my area. With the barlow, I was able to see Saturn with ring. The image is very fuzzy. I have been in contact with Celestron about the issue and waiting for their reply.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DealHunter123
Corvallis, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 136 total reviews
1-20 of 136 reviews