Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 56 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

56 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

56 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
23
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 stars
8
1-20 of 52 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 52 total reviews
1-20 of 52 reviews
Decent for the price
7/16/2011

Customer review by pmatulew

4.0 stars 7/16/2011 by pmatulew
by pmatulew

This is reasonably priced for the size. I liked that it has standard fiberglass poles and no proprietary plastic fittings or special parts that would be hard to replace later on. We had it over a normal size picnic table and there was still plenty of room to walk all the way around. The sides are more vertical than I expected and there is lots of head room. Materials are average quality. Screen it fine weave to keep the bugs out. Build quality gets a B+. There are a couple spots where the stitching is not as perfect as it might be but it's functional. There is a reasonable amount of solid material on top to keep the rain off but you will most definately need to purchase some seam sealer or it will be dripping everywhere. Not a big deal and only takes a few minutes to do. There are flaps of material all the way around the bottom that are meant to conform to the ground better to help keep critters out. The tie-back loops in the corners are are half as long as they need to be and are useless. There is nothing in the center to hang anything from, I sewed a loop out of ribbon. This product is a handful to setup by yourself especially if the wind is blowing. I would recommend at least two people. Feed and bow one pole at a time and keep the zippers zipped while trying to raise it or it will be flopping all over. Definately stake it down and guy it out to keep it from blowing away. The way the poles come together at the corners is a little weird and doesn't support the roof as well as it should. I may stitch some velcro flaps to the heavy material of the corner pockets to help lash it together a little better.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pmatulew
Sayre, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not sturdy
7/30/2011

Customer review by MrD01

3.0 stars 7/30/2011 by MrD01
by MrD01

I bought this just before 4th of July - It was fairly easy to set up by myself and it has allot of coverage as far as shade but It hasn't held up at all , Less than a month and one top pole has broke - the top will flex all the way to ground in any wind -- and the slot on top that the pole slides into has torn-- we have not had any storms nor unusual winds since the 4th so it's just not built good. The top poles should come all the way to the ground like the end ones. Can't find my receipt now so I'm out $80 plus dollars. Fairly cheap -- but you get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrD01
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Better than Expected!!!
7/2/2012

Customer review by a65hoosier

5.0 stars 7/2/2012 by a65hoosier
by a65hoosier

My wife and I were tired of being attacked by bugs when preparing and eating meals during our camp trips, so we purchased this screenhouse at our local Walmart after doing some research and reading reviews. I set it up first in the backyard first for practice/weather sealing and then took it on it's first trip to a state park this last weekend. The fabric material and stitching/mesh screening were decent for the price and had no issues. The shockcorded poles (2 red and 4 black went together easily and held up fine. Here are some of my thoughts: 1. Do a practice setup before taking it out. The 2 red poles go in the red marked sleeves in a X pattern forming the "roof" and the black poles go in the other sleeves forming the "walls". The end of each red pole goes in a velcro pocket and do not actually connect/touch the black poles. I studied the picture before setting it up. After the first time, setup goes very quickly. 2. After reading reviews noting the leaking at the top 18" center square, I sprayed CampDry on it several times before use. During our trip, it rained and everything under the canopy portion stayed dry. But remember, it is a screenhouse and the walls slope slightly. Our picnic table stayed dry-an area of about 9x9 ft. 3. It can be set-up by one person, but the job is much easier with two. 4. As with any camping gear, know how to setup/take down and take your time. Nothing should be forced. Re-stake/adjust if zippers are tight. 4. Comes with cheap metal "sticks". Buy larger, stronger, true tent stakes to replace the ones that come with it. I used metal 8" nail type stakes with the plastic tops. Properly used, good stakes will keep most anything from blowing away during high winds. 5. I found it easier to use the zippers with one hand if one side of the zipper door was staked down. I used one of the cheap stakes that came with the screenhouse. To keep from trying to use this 'staked down' doorside, we put a cooler/stuff by it. 6. Take down was easy, put poles into the bag, and rolled the screenhouse around the polebag. Everything fit back into the carrying bag very easily. All in all, we were pretty pleased with the performance of this product for the price we paid. It exceeded our expectations. At first, we thought the neon green color would look out of place in the woods, but it grew on us and looked good at camp. The color made it easy to locate our campsite at night-a green glow when lit from the underside!. We had several other campers stop and admire it during our stay-including non-tent folks, asking where we got it, etc. And it was the only one in the park--which was neat too! Recommended - if you are looking for a screenhouse, give this one a look and a try.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
a65hoosier
Noblesville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Very Large, but not perfect
5/31/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 5/31/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This new 14x14 screen house was the largest, most reasonably priced, square-sided screen house we could find. It easily housed an extra large picnic table, our folding table for cooking gear, totes, coolers, etc.. and left plenty of room to navigate around. The only problem is when the rain started... I'm used to rain coming into the sides of a screen house, but this is the first time I've had one leak from the roof. The top of the screen house has a square about 18"x18" where the four panels come together. When subject to rain, this area was the source continuous dripping of water directly into the middle of the screen house. You could clearly see the rain flowing through the seams. We made an ad-hoc gutter system using clothes pins and a plastic garbage bag to funnel the water into a bucket, and that was barely helping. We're going to have to try and seal the seams, using some type of seam sealer, but in case that fails we plan to purchase a large tarp to put over the top for when the weather turns wet.

Was this review helpful? (108) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Gurnee, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Great for non wind environment
6/24/2011

Customer review by jwilly13

2.0 stars 6/24/2011 by jwilly13
by jwilly13

I bought this screen house with the intent on using it at the beach. Every year someone buys the ole 10x10 or 9x9 square and it just is not enough so 14x14 sounded great. That was my intent, It did not happen. We assembled this once prior to a beach run we made and it was great. Plenty of headroom, I am 6'4" I could walk in without ducking and in the center was at least 8' of clearance. The screen material was a bit cheap and already had a tear or two. Overall easy to put together took about 15-20 minutes from opening the box to finish. That was at home with no wind. We made a beach run prior to our week at the beach and it was a nightmare from the start. The top of the tent while trying to assemble acted like a parachute and we had to fight to get it assembled. Once up the process reversed and the wind almost collapsed the the doors to a 5' opening. we are not talking 15- 20 mph gusts we are talking 5-10 mph at the most. the stakes provided are too short and i sat with the tent the whole time for fear of it taking flight. By the way 14 x 14 is the footprint but the actual shade roof is roughly 9x9 so I didnt accomplish much even if the wind wasnt there. I took it back and bought the nicest 10x10 i could find with reinforced frame and extra corkscrew stakes. If your planning a trip to the woods and need a screened area this might be for you. it is not meant for the beach or any kind of wind environment.

Was this review helpful? (88) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jwilly13
tampa florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Money well spent
7/31/2012

Customer review by Kookiekreature

4.0 stars 7/31/2012 by Kookiekreature
by Kookiekreature

Used for the first time after our old rigid-legged screenhouse failed to survive the derecho of 6/29/12 in West Virginia. I bought this style screenhouse because of the flexible rib structure, which is much like the rib structure of our tent that did survive the derecho. This screenhouse is very light weight to pack, but has proved to be very durable after surviviing a week of thunderstorms and heavy rain. We only had one little plastic ring break on one of the guy-lines. The rings really aren't necessary anyway if you know how to tie a decent loop. This screenhouse definitely takes two people to set up properly and quickly. The stakes that came with it are pretty useless in high winds, so I suggest using the larger spike-type tent stakes to keep it in place like I did. Don't expect it to stay in one place if you don't. The shape of the roof allows for more coverage than most other screenhouses and does not get "baggy" when it rains. This is one sunscreenhouse that actually fits back into the original bag.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kookiekreature
Almost Heaven West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Screenhouse/pool cover
6/19/2011

Customer review by Papawsplace

5.0 stars 6/19/2011 by Papawsplace
by Papawsplace

We bought a 12" easyset pool 3 weeks ago and have had problems keeping unwanted items out of it so I thought this screen house would be excellent. Tell you what...it works really good...its big enough when set next to the pool on two sides to leave room to get into and out of the pool with the door closed and have room for the pool filter and pump to be inside too. The shade top helps to keep sun/heat off the water as its already 90 degrees and the screen sides cut the sun back about 30-40% to help control temp and sunburn. It sets up easy if the wind is not too bad and comes with extra excitement at no extra charge... if the wind catches it just right the roof inverts and slaps the pool then reverts back to normal..kinda cool being it is a pool cover for me but not so cool if We had a table set up and it started a food fight on its own...hate to think about mashed taters flying everywhere..I wouldnt advise another reviewer to cook inside this unless you had the top tied up to somthing..All in all I think its a cool screenhouse..easy to setup and much larger than the easy up 4 leg units. Relate setup to a tent..its the same but with screen sides. Also I would advise some coleman 10" tent stakes for this as the small wire stakes that come with it are a little puny..the colemans are less than $3 a package (4) and you need 12-16 of them. I plan to keep this up til I take the pool down so time will tell how it lasts.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Papawsplace
Central Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
all I need
5/6/2011

Customer review by hartam

4.0 stars 5/6/2011 by hartam
by hartam

This was everything I expected and more. You see the dimensions, but don't realize how big it really is until you set it up. I put it up myself the first time in half an hour. ( counting reading the directions) Next time it'll be half the time. Very easy, now to see how it is if it rains.....

Was this review helpful? (37) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hartam
Kokomo, In.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Very Spacious
8/31/2011

Customer review by jwest200984

4.0 stars 8/31/2011 by jwest200984
by jwest200984

I like this screenhouse. I would recommend you spray it over with insect repelent and have some Citrunellus candle around. I had to sray it over with bug repellent, but the "doors" stayed open for awhile, because we had a Luau party, and People where in and out of it. Bees seem to be attracted to it, possibly because of its bright green color. The tent provides lots of space, I have a patio table on one side with four chairs (for the party I had 8 chairs at the table, and plenty of room in tent for it!) and on the other side I had two big tables (for food) and still had room for a oval coffe table (for presents). I had two large coolers stored under the tables, and you had room to pull them out and get your drinks. Be sure you stake it down! The wind will pick it up if you dont, wouldnt recommend for windy enviroment activites.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jwest200984
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Poor design.
7/26/2014

Customer review by MLI1

1.0 stars 7/26/2014 by MLI1
by MLI1

This screen tent is a good size, plenty of room. The overall design of this tent is poor. Be prepared if the wind gusts over 5mph to put on your safety helmet because the poles will flex and it will snap inward, even with extra tiedowns. This would not be a problem if your 3 feet tall. Installing extra tiedowns on the 4 side poles will help slightly, but then be prepared for the top set of poles to do the exact same thing except it will drop to within 2 feet of the ground. It won't go that far if someone is standing/sitting in it, they will prevent it from coming all the way down. Also if it rains the 4 corner pockets will fill with water and this will add an additional 4-5 lbs of weight to the tent top as there is no way for it to drain out. Note that I am not a novice I have been camping for over 35 years, had several different brands,sizes and shapes of screen tents this is the worst design I have ever come across. It seems to be sewn well but the engineering of this tent was poor from the beginning.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MLI1
Would recommend to a friend? No
After a MacGyver fix, nearly perfect for us
6/17/2011

Customer review by thanekew

4.0 stars 6/17/2011 by thanekew
by thanekew

We bought this screenhouse to go over/around a 12'x3' ring-top pool 3 weeks ago. The shade has dropped the water temperature (near 100 deg weather), the mosquitos, flying ants and horseflys are non-existent and we can even stay in the pool in the rain. There is enough room on one end for the pump and a table (for drinks). Overall a great idea and great purchase The only complaint that I have is that during the first storm that we had after we put it up, one of the roof fiberglass poles broke near the peak (but inside the sleeve). I made a MacGyver fix with a piece of PVC and duct tape. Nearly good as new.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thanekew
Central, Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Huge Screenhouse
5/29/2011

Customer review by katydid28

4.0 stars 5/29/2011 by katydid28
by katydid28

Met my expectations, this is huge! With a family who camps several times during the summer, this is going to be well used. Held all camp gear (two coolers, 4 totes for gear, 5 chairs and a card table with room to spare. Love the vent on the roof, thinking I will be able to use it to cook under in case of bad weather. The one complaint I have would be it does not have a place to hang a light, guess I will have to get a magnetic one.

Was this review helpful? (33) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
katydid28
KANSAS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Excellent purchase for money, did well in rain
7/8/2011

Customer review by CautiousFamily

5.0 stars 7/8/2011 by CautiousFamily
by CautiousFamily

Very happy with this purchase, I will buy another when this one meets its demise. Happiness ------------------------------------------------------ Bought it to take to Michigan. Setup on slope and only anchored 3/4 of the stakes and no extra guy lines. One day had 2 hours of steady light rain and that night had torrential downpour overnight for about 1 hour, by torrential, I mean turning a hose directly on the tents/screen house. I has little expectation of this being waterproof and brought a plastic drop cloth to put over it. During the downpour, the roof didn't leak as another review indicated. I did spend the time sealing the seams but forgot to seal the topmost which was indicated as a problem by another buyer. In spite of this everything seemed dry. I liked the two entrances and the house fit the picnic table really well. Plus we had a baby seat stuck on the end and there was still a bit of space to move on that end. On the other end we cooked/worked. The size at first seemed monstrous but after using it I'm pretty happy we got such a large one. Seeing how people have to squish into a smaller one to eat, I was happy being able to comfortably work and eat. Sadness ----------------------------------------------------- After the trip, I did manage to setup the screen to dry by myself but two people makes it significantly easier. The stakes provided are pretty pittiful and are cut off square, making insertion quite difficult in a few spots, hence why I didn't anchor it in all places. I sharpened these following the trip to avoid this problem in the future. The outside box and bag had been cut by a utility knife at the distribution center likely when the crate was unloaded. No damage to the screen house itself, but I'm big on cases for items. Summary ------------------------------------------------------------------------ I was quite surprised this worked as well as it did given the significantly lower price than other comparable products. Granted I'm sure a multi-hundred dollar one would be better, but I'm not one to spend huge amounts of money when something might be easily damaged.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CautiousFamily
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/9/2011

Customer review by 123dg

5.0 stars 6/9/2011 by 123dg
by 123dg

Easy set-up, is possible with one person but better with two. Wish I had purchased it sooner, keeps the bugs away while camping. Only fault is the puny tent pegs that come with it. Invest in a heavier duty set. It did very well in a nighttime thunderstorm.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
123dg
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
You Get What You Pay For...
7/19/2012

Customer review by dedeaux4u

1.0 stars 7/19/2012 by dedeaux4u
by dedeaux4u

I bought this screenhouse to use at a picnic in a park. My husband attempted to put it up and one of the rings ripped off so not only were we unable to use it but we had to deal with a 97 degree day fighting direct sun! This screenhouse sounds like a good deal but it's very cheaply made and of very low quality. The stakes that come with the screenhouse were pretty flimsy so I had to purchase about 5 more sturdy stakes. I would not recommend buying this. Instead, invest a little more money and get something of a better quality and more dependable. This item literally went from the box to the trash.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dedeaux4u
Schaumburg, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great if wind is less than 5mph
9/30/2013

Customer review by GroupCamping

1.0 stars 9/30/2013 by GroupCamping
by GroupCamping

Pros: The space is very roomy, we could fit 14 people under it for lunch with a picnic table It has very attractive neon green coloring with black trim It held out the rain pretty good, only one minor drip at a seam on the roof It was only $58 at Walmart the day I bought it Cons: You get what you pay for - A gentle wind of about 15mph broke a pole, 2 guy lines, and a guy line ring The stakes are pathetic, and had to be re-staked a couple times. Get the 10" Coleman stakes We had to tether the side against the head-wind with a rope to a picnic table, it just cannot handle much wind at all!! Took it back to Walmart that night. I did more research on screen houses and there is a Wenzel Sun Valley screen house (12x12) that has great reviews on its durability. It's $119 on Amazon.com with free shipping. I have a Wenzel Silver Star II tent from 1997 that has held up really well over the years, so I'm looking forward to another good product from them.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GroupCamping
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Defective product
6/14/2012

Customer review by Chelleymae

1.0 stars 6/14/2012 by Chelleymae
by Chelleymae

I gave this product a rating of one because I could not give it a rating of zero. I purchased this screenhouse for our desert lake trip over Memorial Day weekend. The construction of the tent was flimsy at best and consisted of way too many skinny little poles which kept giving way as we attempted to erect the screenhouse, resulting in a slight injury to an extremely sensitive part of my significant others' body. After he was able to regain his composure, and as we were anchoring the very last corner of the screenhouse, we noticed that the anchor was completely missing - it had never been sewn to the tent. Needless to say, after all of that strife, we could not put the tent up and we went without shade the entire weekend, which resulted in my getting a vicious sunburn. I am very disappointed in this product, and I will not be purchasing Ozark Trail products in the future. Do yourself a favor and pay the extra 50 bucks for a nice canopy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chelleymae
Glendale, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Good value
7/23/2011

Customer review by xine98

4.0 stars 7/23/2011 by xine98
by xine98

Purchased for a week long camping trip in the Colorado mountains. The screen house held up well in the daily thunderstorms. We had no issues with leaking. But, this IS a screen house, therefore we had no expectation that it would be waterproof. It takes two people to put it up, but is relatively quick & easy.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
xine98
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
4/8/2012

Customer review by sgmgac

4.0 stars 4/8/2012 by sgmgac
by sgmgac

Good size screen house. We bought this for camping but it workd good at the beach. Screen house stayed staked in even in very strong winds.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sgmgac
Beaufort SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Solid Buy
7/15/2011

Customer review by mckins69

5.0 stars 7/15/2011 by mckins69
by mckins69

Our family purchased the screenhouse just before our annual camping trip to Yosemite. We found it very simple to set up. It provided cover for the table at our campsite, with plenty of room left to move around. We had one bad night of rain during our visit, but the screenhouse pulled through brilliantly without any leaks. I am very pleased and would recommend it to those with the same needs.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mckins69
Hayward, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 52 total reviews
1-20 of 52 reviews