Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 56 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

56 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

56 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
23
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 stars
8
1-20 of 52 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 52 total reviews
1-20 of 52 reviews
Very Large, but not perfect
5/31/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 5/31/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This new 14x14 screen house was the largest, most reasonably priced, square-sided screen house we could find. It easily housed an extra large picnic table, our folding table for cooking gear, totes, coolers, etc.. and left plenty of room to navigate around. The only problem is when the rain started... I'm used to rain coming into the sides of a screen house, but this is the first time I've had one leak from the roof. The top of the screen house has a square about 18"x18" where the four panels come together. When subject to rain, this area was the source continuous dripping of water directly into the middle of the screen house. You could clearly see the rain flowing through the seams. We made an ad-hoc gutter system using clothes pins and a plastic garbage bag to funnel the water into a bucket, and that was barely helping. We're going to have to try and seal the seams, using some type of seam sealer, but in case that fails we plan to purchase a large tarp to put over the top for when the weather turns wet.

Was this review helpful? (108) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Gurnee, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Great for non wind environment
6/24/2011

Customer review by jwilly13

2.0 stars 6/24/2011 by jwilly13
by jwilly13

I bought this screen house with the intent on using it at the beach. Every year someone buys the ole 10x10 or 9x9 square and it just is not enough so 14x14 sounded great. That was my intent, It did not happen. We assembled this once prior to a beach run we made and it was great. Plenty of headroom, I am 6'4" I could walk in without ducking and in the center was at least 8' of clearance. The screen material was a bit cheap and already had a tear or two. Overall easy to put together took about 15-20 minutes from opening the box to finish. That was at home with no wind. We made a beach run prior to our week at the beach and it was a nightmare from the start. The top of the tent while trying to assemble acted like a parachute and we had to fight to get it assembled. Once up the process reversed and the wind almost collapsed the the doors to a 5' opening. we are not talking 15- 20 mph gusts we are talking 5-10 mph at the most. the stakes provided are too short and i sat with the tent the whole time for fear of it taking flight. By the way 14 x 14 is the footprint but the actual shade roof is roughly 9x9 so I didnt accomplish much even if the wind wasnt there. I took it back and bought the nicest 10x10 i could find with reinforced frame and extra corkscrew stakes. If your planning a trip to the woods and need a screened area this might be for you. it is not meant for the beach or any kind of wind environment.

Was this review helpful? (88) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jwilly13
tampa florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
all I need
5/6/2011

Customer review by hartam

4.0 stars 5/6/2011 by hartam
by hartam

This was everything I expected and more. You see the dimensions, but don't realize how big it really is until you set it up. I put it up myself the first time in half an hour. ( counting reading the directions) Next time it'll be half the time. Very easy, now to see how it is if it rains.....

Was this review helpful? (37) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hartam
Kokomo, In.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Huge Screenhouse
5/29/2011

Customer review by katydid28

4.0 stars 5/29/2011 by katydid28
by katydid28

Met my expectations, this is huge! With a family who camps several times during the summer, this is going to be well used. Held all camp gear (two coolers, 4 totes for gear, 5 chairs and a card table with room to spare. Love the vent on the roof, thinking I will be able to use it to cook under in case of bad weather. The one complaint I have would be it does not have a place to hang a light, guess I will have to get a magnetic one.

Was this review helpful? (33) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
katydid28
KANSAS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Screenhouse/pool cover
6/19/2011

Customer review by Papawsplace

5.0 stars 6/19/2011 by Papawsplace
by Papawsplace

We bought a 12" easyset pool 3 weeks ago and have had problems keeping unwanted items out of it so I thought this screen house would be excellent. Tell you what...it works really good...its big enough when set next to the pool on two sides to leave room to get into and out of the pool with the door closed and have room for the pool filter and pump to be inside too. The shade top helps to keep sun/heat off the water as its already 90 degrees and the screen sides cut the sun back about 30-40% to help control temp and sunburn. It sets up easy if the wind is not too bad and comes with extra excitement at no extra charge... if the wind catches it just right the roof inverts and slaps the pool then reverts back to normal..kinda cool being it is a pool cover for me but not so cool if We had a table set up and it started a food fight on its own...hate to think about mashed taters flying everywhere..I wouldnt advise another reviewer to cook inside this unless you had the top tied up to somthing..All in all I think its a cool screenhouse..easy to setup and much larger than the easy up 4 leg units. Relate setup to a tent..its the same but with screen sides. Also I would advise some coleman 10" tent stakes for this as the small wire stakes that come with it are a little puny..the colemans are less than $3 a package (4) and you need 12-16 of them. I plan to keep this up til I take the pool down so time will tell how it lasts.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Papawsplace
Central Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent purchase for money, did well in rain
7/8/2011

Customer review by CautiousFamily

5.0 stars 7/8/2011 by CautiousFamily
by CautiousFamily

Very happy with this purchase, I will buy another when this one meets its demise. Happiness ------------------------------------------------------ Bought it to take to Michigan. Setup on slope and only anchored 3/4 of the stakes and no extra guy lines. One day had 2 hours of steady light rain and that night had torrential downpour overnight for about 1 hour, by torrential, I mean turning a hose directly on the tents/screen house. I has little expectation of this being waterproof and brought a plastic drop cloth to put over it. During the downpour, the roof didn't leak as another review indicated. I did spend the time sealing the seams but forgot to seal the topmost which was indicated as a problem by another buyer. In spite of this everything seemed dry. I liked the two entrances and the house fit the picnic table really well. Plus we had a baby seat stuck on the end and there was still a bit of space to move on that end. On the other end we cooked/worked. The size at first seemed monstrous but after using it I'm pretty happy we got such a large one. Seeing how people have to squish into a smaller one to eat, I was happy being able to comfortably work and eat. Sadness ----------------------------------------------------- After the trip, I did manage to setup the screen to dry by myself but two people makes it significantly easier. The stakes provided are pretty pittiful and are cut off square, making insertion quite difficult in a few spots, hence why I didn't anchor it in all places. I sharpened these following the trip to avoid this problem in the future. The outside box and bag had been cut by a utility knife at the distribution center likely when the crate was unloaded. No damage to the screen house itself, but I'm big on cases for items. Summary ------------------------------------------------------------------------ I was quite surprised this worked as well as it did given the significantly lower price than other comparable products. Granted I'm sure a multi-hundred dollar one would be better, but I'm not one to spend huge amounts of money when something might be easily damaged.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CautiousFamily
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/9/2011

Customer review by 123dg

5.0 stars 6/9/2011 by 123dg
by 123dg

Easy set-up, is possible with one person but better with two. Wish I had purchased it sooner, keeps the bugs away while camping. Only fault is the puny tent pegs that come with it. Invest in a heavier duty set. It did very well in a nighttime thunderstorm.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
123dg
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Decent for the price
7/16/2011

Customer review by pmatulew

4.0 stars 7/16/2011 by pmatulew
by pmatulew

This is reasonably priced for the size. I liked that it has standard fiberglass poles and no proprietary plastic fittings or special parts that would be hard to replace later on. We had it over a normal size picnic table and there was still plenty of room to walk all the way around. The sides are more vertical than I expected and there is lots of head room. Materials are average quality. Screen it fine weave to keep the bugs out. Build quality gets a B+. There are a couple spots where the stitching is not as perfect as it might be but it's functional. There is a reasonable amount of solid material on top to keep the rain off but you will most definately need to purchase some seam sealer or it will be dripping everywhere. Not a big deal and only takes a few minutes to do. There are flaps of material all the way around the bottom that are meant to conform to the ground better to help keep critters out. The tie-back loops in the corners are are half as long as they need to be and are useless. There is nothing in the center to hang anything from, I sewed a loop out of ribbon. This product is a handful to setup by yourself especially if the wind is blowing. I would recommend at least two people. Feed and bow one pole at a time and keep the zippers zipped while trying to raise it or it will be flopping all over. Definately stake it down and guy it out to keep it from blowing away. The way the poles come together at the corners is a little weird and doesn't support the roof as well as it should. I may stitch some velcro flaps to the heavy material of the corner pockets to help lash it together a little better.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pmatulew
Sayre, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Better than Expected!!!
7/2/2012

Customer review by a65hoosier

5.0 stars 7/2/2012 by a65hoosier
by a65hoosier

My wife and I were tired of being attacked by bugs when preparing and eating meals during our camp trips, so we purchased this screenhouse at our local Walmart after doing some research and reading reviews. I set it up first in the backyard first for practice/weather sealing and then took it on it's first trip to a state park this last weekend. The fabric material and stitching/mesh screening were decent for the price and had no issues. The shockcorded poles (2 red and 4 black went together easily and held up fine. Here are some of my thoughts: 1. Do a practice setup before taking it out. The 2 red poles go in the red marked sleeves in a X pattern forming the "roof" and the black poles go in the other sleeves forming the "walls". The end of each red pole goes in a velcro pocket and do not actually connect/touch the black poles. I studied the picture before setting it up. After the first time, setup goes very quickly. 2. After reading reviews noting the leaking at the top 18" center square, I sprayed CampDry on it several times before use. During our trip, it rained and everything under the canopy portion stayed dry. But remember, it is a screenhouse and the walls slope slightly. Our picnic table stayed dry-an area of about 9x9 ft. 3. It can be set-up by one person, but the job is much easier with two. 4. As with any camping gear, know how to setup/take down and take your time. Nothing should be forced. Re-stake/adjust if zippers are tight. 4. Comes with cheap metal "sticks". Buy larger, stronger, true tent stakes to replace the ones that come with it. I used metal 8" nail type stakes with the plastic tops. Properly used, good stakes will keep most anything from blowing away during high winds. 5. I found it easier to use the zippers with one hand if one side of the zipper door was staked down. I used one of the cheap stakes that came with the screenhouse. To keep from trying to use this 'staked down' doorside, we put a cooler/stuff by it. 6. Take down was easy, put poles into the bag, and rolled the screenhouse around the polebag. Everything fit back into the carrying bag very easily. All in all, we were pretty pleased with the performance of this product for the price we paid. It exceeded our expectations. At first, we thought the neon green color would look out of place in the woods, but it grew on us and looked good at camp. The color made it easy to locate our campsite at night-a green glow when lit from the underside!. We had several other campers stop and admire it during our stay-including non-tent folks, asking where we got it, etc. And it was the only one in the park--which was neat too! Recommended - if you are looking for a screenhouse, give this one a look and a try.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
a65hoosier
Noblesville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
After a MacGyver fix, nearly perfect for us
6/17/2011

Customer review by thanekew

4.0 stars 6/17/2011 by thanekew
by thanekew

We bought this screenhouse to go over/around a 12'x3' ring-top pool 3 weeks ago. The shade has dropped the water temperature (near 100 deg weather), the mosquitos, flying ants and horseflys are non-existent and we can even stay in the pool in the rain. There is enough room on one end for the pump and a table (for drinks). Overall a great idea and great purchase The only complaint that I have is that during the first storm that we had after we put it up, one of the roof fiberglass poles broke near the peak (but inside the sleeve). I made a MacGyver fix with a piece of PVC and duct tape. Nearly good as new.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thanekew
Central, Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good value
7/23/2011

Customer review by xine98

4.0 stars 7/23/2011 by xine98
by xine98

Purchased for a week long camping trip in the Colorado mountains. The screen house held up well in the daily thunderstorms. We had no issues with leaking. But, this IS a screen house, therefore we had no expectation that it would be waterproof. It takes two people to put it up, but is relatively quick & easy.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xine98
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
4/8/2012

Customer review by sgmgac

4.0 stars 4/8/2012 by sgmgac
by sgmgac

Good size screen house. We bought this for camping but it workd good at the beach. Screen house stayed staked in even in very strong winds.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sgmgac
Beaufort SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Very Spacious
8/31/2011

Customer review by jwest200984

4.0 stars 8/31/2011 by jwest200984
by jwest200984

I like this screenhouse. I would recommend you spray it over with insect repelent and have some Citrunellus candle around. I had to sray it over with bug repellent, but the "doors" stayed open for awhile, because we had a Luau party, and People where in and out of it. Bees seem to be attracted to it, possibly because of its bright green color. The tent provides lots of space, I have a patio table on one side with four chairs (for the party I had 8 chairs at the table, and plenty of room in tent for it!) and on the other side I had two big tables (for food) and still had room for a oval coffe table (for presents). I had two large coolers stored under the tables, and you had room to pull them out and get your drinks. Be sure you stake it down! The wind will pick it up if you dont, wouldnt recommend for windy enviroment activites.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jwest200984
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very big, very affordable, very nice
6/10/2012

Customer review by Cornbeefandcabbage

4.0 stars 6/10/2012 by Cornbeefandcabbage
by Cornbeefandcabbage

This weekend camping was the maiden voyage with our new Ozark Trail screenhouse. The mosquitos were out en-mass and hungry and ferocious. I was so glad that we bought this screen house for this trip or we would have been eaten alive by the mosquitos and flies. I set the screenhouse up by myself. We were in a big wooded campsite typical of beautiful Wisconsin, so I did not have to deal with blowing wind while I set up the screenhouse. It took me about twenty minutes to set up myself for the very first time. I think two experienced people could set it up in about ten minutes. There are six large segmented frame poles. It is somewhat color coded because the red poles go on the top in the red-edged sleeves and the black poles go in the green sleeves. The instructions were not good, so it helps if you are good with figuring these kinds of things out. The photo of the screenhouse was more useful at setting up the screenhouse than the instructions, so have it ready and study it as you set it up. I suggest, you have a Sharpie permanent marker ready and when you get the tent set up properly, go around and number the poles to the sleaves so you can set up easier the next time. The screenhouse kept out the bugs. It also provided good shade and if it had rained, it would have provided enough protetion to cover the picnic table and more. This screenhouse is large enough to easily hold a full 9 foot picnic table typical at Wisconsin and other state parks. Lovely. Many people passed by our campsite and complimented our large and attractive screenhouse. The screenhouse had rain-fly protected vents at the top to keep it cool which I thought was good. There are no hooks at the top, however for hanging a lantern or fan which would have been nice. It is big enough to hold a large picnic bench, several coolers, and at least four or five chairs. One thing I will point out is that because it is so large, you will almost surely have to set at least part of it up on the gravel driveway part of the campsite. It is hard to pound stakes into packed gravel so get yourself a pack of the stout long-spike-nail type pegs like Coleman makes AND bring a mallet to pound them into the gravel. You will need to secure the screenhouse to the ground because it is lightweight and big like a giant umbrella, so the wind will naturally push it around or worse. In addition to the grommets at each corner for pegs, there are also sidewall guy-lines to run anchor lines, so I felt the design is intelligent in providing for windy conditions. Inside the tent there are four long loops actually provided for opening and holding the screen doors, but you can use these to tie to coolers or other heavy items INSIDE the screenhouse to act as hold-down weights. All in all, I am very happy with this screenhouse.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cornbeefandcabbage
west coast and midwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Top 500 contributor
Not sturdy
7/30/2011

Customer review by MrD01

3.0 stars 7/30/2011 by MrD01
by MrD01

I bought this just before 4th of July - It was fairly easy to set up by myself and it has allot of coverage as far as shade but It hasn't held up at all , Less than a month and one top pole has broke - the top will flex all the way to ground in any wind -- and the slot on top that the pole slides into has torn-- we have not had any storms nor unusual winds since the 4th so it's just not built good. The top poles should come all the way to the ground like the end ones. Can't find my receipt now so I'm out $80 plus dollars. Fairly cheap -- but you get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrD01
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
You Get What You Pay For...
7/19/2012

Customer review by dedeaux4u

1.0 stars 7/19/2012 by dedeaux4u
by dedeaux4u

I bought this screenhouse to use at a picnic in a park. My husband attempted to put it up and one of the rings ripped off so not only were we unable to use it but we had to deal with a 97 degree day fighting direct sun! This screenhouse sounds like a good deal but it's very cheaply made and of very low quality. The stakes that come with the screenhouse were pretty flimsy so I had to purchase about 5 more sturdy stakes. I would not recommend buying this. Instead, invest a little more money and get something of a better quality and more dependable. This item literally went from the box to the trash.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dedeaux4u
Schaumburg, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Solid Buy
7/15/2011

Customer review by mckins69

5.0 stars 7/15/2011 by mckins69
by mckins69

Our family purchased the screenhouse just before our annual camping trip to Yosemite. We found it very simple to set up. It provided cover for the table at our campsite, with plenty of room left to move around. We had one bad night of rain during our visit, but the screenhouse pulled through brilliantly without any leaks. I am very pleased and would recommend it to those with the same needs.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mckins69
Hayward, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Hunk of JUNK!
4/2/2012

Customer review by TriciaNTulsa

1.0 stars 4/2/2012 by TriciaNTulsa
by TriciaNTulsa

I bought this yesterday and when we were setting it up one of the bendable poles split down the center and the cord came out. Returned it right away. Usually I'm impressed with the quality of ozark trails products, but not this time!

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TriciaNTulsa
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Fabulous Product
6/26/2012

Customer review by DAYTON50

5.0 stars 6/26/2012 by DAYTON50
by DAYTON50

We purchased a much more expensive outdoor screen house to cover our Grandsons' sandbox. It fell apart in the first rain storm. This one arrived before promised and was put together in under 15 minutes. It has withstood wind and rain and is very sturdy. I was concerned it would be too short, but is well over 7' inside. The Grandchildren love the bright colors and we love sitting outside without bugs and sun.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DAYTON50
Dayton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great for covering pool!
7/3/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/3/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this to cover our 14x14 Intex pool. It is a snug fit but just perfect! Now if the kids play ball it will stay in the pool and the pool stays much cleaner. I did not have any problem putting it together. Did 90% by myself and the last step bending the poles into position my daughter (9) helped. Quick and easy. With the help of two 9 yr olds and a 6 yr old we lifted it and put it over the pool. The pool ladder fits right in the zippered opening. I can't close it over the ladder but that is fine by me. Instead of using the stakes to tie it down I tied it to decking and cement blocks so I am sure it won't blow away. Great buy for the money!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
St. Pete, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 52 total reviews
1-20 of 52 reviews