Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 207 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

207 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

207 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
111
4 stars
49
3 stars
15
2 stars
12
1 stars
20
1-20 of 181 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 181 total reviews
1-20 of 181 reviews
Spacious, easy set up, keeps you dry
6/24/2011

Customer review by Teriberiboo

5.0 stars 6/24/2011 by Teriberiboo
by Teriberiboo

Bought the tent, went camping with the family of 5. VERY easy to put up, VERY spacious inside. It rained...it kept everyone dry for the most part. The door flap wasn't completely closed and some rain came in and collected into my husband's boot (!!!) While we were cozy and dry our friend's tent got all soggy and puddly. :( poor friend... Also, just wanted to point out that there's a little mud mat entrance thing you step on before you go in, the friend was laughing and joking about that, but it did in fact keep the tent cleaner inside, hers got a little icky. It was a cinch to take down too. The only trouble I had was getting all of the air out of the tent to fold back small enough to fit into the pouch...but it was done!

Was this review helpful? (247) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Teriberiboo
Columbia, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
6/11/2011

Customer review by 4inmn

5.0 stars 6/11/2011 by 4inmn
by 4inmn

I can totally recommend this tent. It may be sufficient for winter camping or some hard core stuff, but I don't think it was made with that in mind. We are "good weather campers" and it was great for us. When we got the tent, we sealed the seams and sprayed some extra waterproofing from Walmart on the tent. We had one night of rain, no rainstorm, but steady rain all night long. Everything stayed dry except for one spot we had neglected to seam seal. We have never been tenting before, but this tent was so easy to set up! We tried it once before leaving on our trip and when we arrived at the campground, we set it up in the dark within 10 min. It is easy to put back as well, just make sure that all the windows and the door is open and you get all the air out while folding it up. That way it is really easy to put back into the bag. We also had one night with wind gusts of up to 20 mph, the rain fly stayed on and the tent withstood it all, but we did have four extra stakes on the tent.

Was this review helpful? (159) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
4inmn
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
5/31/2011

Customer review by libra1969

4.0 stars 5/31/2011 by libra1969
by libra1969

We set up this tent on the beach which is very very windy and this tent was pretty sturdy. Before I bought this tent, I bought 2 tents and both broke down on the same day by the wind so i end up returning it and exchanged it with this tent... I absolutely keeping this one. I only give this tent a 4 star because I haven't tried it on the rain yet. But so far I'm happy with it, happy with the size and price.

Was this review helpful? (194) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
libra1969
North Padre Island, Corpus Cristi, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Was tested in a heavy rain.
6/23/2011

Customer review by Moonkin

5.0 stars 6/23/2011 by Moonkin
by Moonkin

Super quality, takes 10 min to set up buy 2 people. Was tested in a heavy rain in the mountains, chinks of ice were falling from the sky- inside the tent was dry and safe. We were 2 people inside- lots of room for everything u can think off ( Even to store some firewood so it don't get wet if its raining for a few days). I can see this tent to be very roomy for 4 adults- with lots of space to walk around the tent. You can fit 6 adults with some backpacks- wont be much room to move around really. I don't see how its possible to sleep 8 in it- no way. You can stand up inside the tent, it has 2 small pockets on the inside to store flashlight, bug spray etc. Zippers quality is awesome- so easy to open/close door and windows. Was not tested in heavy wind yet, so cant say anything about it.

Was this review helpful? (146) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Moonkin
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
The REAL review.. (Read Mine)
5/29/2012

Customer review by BMOREcamper

4.0 stars 5/29/2012 by BMOREcamper
by BMOREcamper

I am an avid camper, and have been camping since I was in cub scouts (I'm 29 now). I wanted to write a good review, because the ones on here were incomplete. Summary: This tent holds up pretty well, and I reccomend. Here are a few good points: * Cost friendly (At $89 dollars at walmart, you get a good deal) * Kept us dry (It rained for about 12 hours, and I only saw a drop or two) * Kept the bugs out (My lady appreciated that) Here are the neutral points: * Takes two people to setup (Don't even think you can do it alone) * Not sure it will last me 20 years like a Kelty tent would. I expect to get 4 or 5 good uses Here are the bad points: * Zippers most certainly catch the material from time to time. * Does not come with a foot print. (Buy A Tarp!) * Rain Fly should be a tad larger, but it was sufficient (See above) * Tent stakes could be better (Buy the Coleman tent stakes from Walmart at $4) Overall you can trust this particular model. I believe it is a tent made just for walmart, and Ozark Trail does not have a website. I also recomend buying the O2 Cool battery operated fan. The box says it will run for 24 hours on a set of D batteries, but it lasted us about 30 straight hours on Rayovac Alkiline batteries. Also, the Ozark trail sleeping bags are better than the Coleman ones. Coleman bag ripped on day 2. As for the reviews from people who said their tent leaked.. if the rain cover is on properly, and the guy lines are tied down, and windows are closed, you are fine. If you are that worried, buy some seam sealer (Coleman) ** Make sure to set it up BEFORE your camping trip. Ensure that all pieces are in the bag, and that the tent is not damaged. You should do this with any tent, regardless of where it came from. *** Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (94) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BMOREcamper
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
Fantastic Tent
7/10/2011

Customer review by Dynamo47

5.0 stars 7/10/2011 by Dynamo47
by Dynamo47

I bought this tent to essentially replace our popup camper which requires a costly repair. We needed a tent big enough for the family but easy enough for myself and my 9 year old and his friends to help setup and break down. I tried it last night at a friends yard and I literally could set it up by myself in about fifteen minutes. There are two huge black rods that essentially "frame the tent. Once the pins are in the rest is easy. The smaller orange poles go across, hook the tent hooks to it and done. A nice touch was the shoe mat that went outside the tent. It helped to keep debris outside. There were light winds and I didn't even stake the tent down and the tent didn't move an inch. There was no rain in the forecast so I left the top off. The mesh openings provided a ton of ventilation and made for a great way to see the stars. We kept up the side windows and despite temps in the 90's during the day it was cool at night. Inside is huge! We setup up two queen size mattresses and there was still room to move around. There are a couple of mesh pockets to put keys, wallet, phone for easy acces. I normally don't write reviews unless I feel strongly (either positive or negative) about a product. This is a great family tent that I would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (85) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dynamo47
Spring City, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Value Great Tent
7/25/2011

Customer review by Mommyrock79

5.0 stars 7/25/2011 by Mommyrock79
by Mommyrock79

We research LOTS of tents and even purchased a few including the Coleman Stockton 8 person tent. The Coleman Stockton is the most comparable to this Ozark Trail 8 person. The Ozark was MUCH FASTER and EASIER to put up. Less polls, less stakes. Also, the Ozark stays upright on it's own without the stakes. We put the Ozark up with winds blowing about 10 to 15 mph. Piece of cake. Tent stayed upright with no problems. Polls are sturdy and the tent material is tough. The flooring is exactly comparable to the bottom of the Coleman. It's a great tarp bottom. We set the Ozark up on wet grass and the floor stayed dry. I sprayed the tent down with our hose and the inside stayed completely dry as well and that was before I sealed the seams. This is just a great tent and the price makes it even better. I reviewed ALL the negative comments and I just think those who made negative comments don't understand the "roughing it" part of camping and possibly had expectations that were too high. This is not a "you get what you pay for" tent. You get way more than you pay for. Oh and PLENTY of room for 4 adults plus luggage. 6 adults would fit but as per usual with tents, 8 adults would be really cramped.

Was this review helpful? (48) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mommyrock79
Citrus Heights, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
water proofing, overall quality...
7/2/2011

Customer review by Robertgw

4.0 stars 7/2/2011 by Robertgw
by Robertgw

the tent is VERY easy to set up, very spacious inside and you can stand up straight. the sitched slot for an electric cord is a great idea, and the tent is well ventilated. i just got mine today and sat it up in the yard. as far as leaks go, in my experience, there is no such thing as a "leak proof" tent. too many factors involved in their manufacturing to guarentee something like that. i checked all the seams and did see light in some of the stiching, which means, "potential" leak. i bought the recommended coleman sealer and sealed it. with the bottom seam about 6 inches above the bottom of the tent, it was easy enough to seal, as well as up the seams in the corners to just under the rain fly. sealing the corners was a little more difficult but if you take an artist's brush, and work the sealer into the corners, i had it done in less than half an hour. well worth the extra time to do in advance of using the tent. the only thing i didnt like about the tent was the generic stakes they provide with the tent, and i wont use them, as they wont stay in the ground. i bought real stakes to use with mine and i reccomend doing so to anyone else. overall... great value and we cant wait to use ours!

Was this review helpful? (40) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Robertgw
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/24/2011

Customer review by Mommy2Emma

4.0 stars 6/24/2011 by Mommy2Emma
by Mommy2Emma

We attempted to camp last weekend and were excited to use our new tent. We are a family of 5 with a baby, a 2 yr old and a 4 yr old. The tent met our expectations as far as size. We had adequate space for our queen size air mattress, the pack-n-play, and space for our other children to lay their blankets and sleeping bags. We also had additional space for our gear. Unfortunately, we did not get to use our tent for very long because we had pretty bad thunderstorms while we were camping. The first night, we stayed dry. The 2nd day, the rain was at a downpour and the wind was pretty bad. The tent was sturdy and did not shake in the wind. However, we did not spray our tent prior to camping and we had a significant amount of leaks in the back corners of the tent. We liked this tent for the roominess but are unsure if it will withstand rain in the future.

Was this review helpful? (33) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mommy2Emma
KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Great tent, great price
7/10/2011

Customer review by houzepw

5.0 stars 7/10/2011 by houzepw
by houzepw

My wife and daughter bought this tent for me as a fathers day gift. We set it up on a 95 degree day with no fights in less than 5 minutes! only 5 poles to set up (4 if you don't use the rain fly.) It was big enough for our king air bed and my daughters twin with room to spare.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
houzepw
No KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great.....Until it rains....
6/7/2011

Customer review by hrslvr05

1.0 stars 6/7/2011 by hrslvr05
by hrslvr05

We bought this tent on a weekend camping trip after our tent we owned broke when we went to set it up. At first, we were really impressed with the quality and size of the tent considering the price. It set up very easily and quickly and seemed to be sturdy. The first night was great and we were 100% satisfied. The tent was well ventilated and it stayed nice and cool. The second night was a different story. We had a small rain storm with minor winds pop up, so thinking that it would stay dry we put all of our stuff in the tent, firewood and all. While we were arranging stuff in the tent we picked up a pillow and found a small pond of water, so we began looking around the tent and all of the seams of the windows were leaking like a water faucet. In addition, all of the corners around the bottom were leaking and the triangle reinforcement pieces were leaking. We had at least 12 leaks!! We spent the entire night holding cups and putting bowls and towels around the inside of the tent. Thankfully, the rainfly did keep the top of the tent dry or we would have been swimming. So, if you are planning on camping in any rain what so ever, I would NOT recommend this tent to anyone. I'd pay the extra money and go name brand. Needless to say the tent was returned at the end of our camping trip and we will be on the search for a name brand tent. No more OZARK TRAIL for us!!!

Was this review helpful? (50) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hrslvr05
IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
The tent held up to a thunder storm
6/15/2011

Customer review by Sarah163

5.0 stars 6/15/2011 by Sarah163
by Sarah163

My boyfriend water proofed the tent before we left for a weekend camping trip. It rained the whole weekend and there was minimal leakage. The bottom of the tent didn't leak at all probably due to the bottom seem being elevated. Overall the tent was easy to put up and take down. I am extremly happy with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sarah163
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
5/30/2011

Customer review by Campernovice1

2.0 stars 5/30/2011 by Campernovice1
by Campernovice1

Bought it yesterday and used it last night. Set-up was not too bad, but the two orange poles have to go through two small loops. The poles connectors get hung up on it, making what could be the easiest tent I've ever put up, a little frustrating. Surprise thunderstorm came in last night and the rain fly blew off like nothing.

Was this review helpful? (51) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Campernovice1
Northwest , NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
WOW!!!
7/23/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/23/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I ordered this tent online and and glad to say that I am crazy happy about the decision. First, it took only three days to recieve the tent via FedX. As soon as I opened the package I set up the tent to insure there was no issues like those I have seen on other reviews. I had no holes anywhere. Set up was easy and can be done with one person but a second person would be a big help. To my surprise it was actually larger than I was expecting and the tent colors were darker than in the picture but actually look better than the picture. My little family (two dogs, wife, and 2yr old son) and I have room to have our queen air bed inflated and a table and chairs, and all of our food inside at the same time. Needless to say I can see this tent staying in use for a long time while our family grows.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Heavy Rain
7/4/2011

Customer review by ray15

5.0 stars 7/4/2011 by ray15
by ray15

We put up the tent for the first time this past weekend I was a bit worried about the storm that passed through our area on saturday, but with the wind and the heavy, heavy rain I came home from work and there it stood. Only a bit of water came in through one of the back vents with all of the wind, otherwise dry as a bone. thanks for a great tent, great deal and very roomy for my entire family plus

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ray15
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Perfect
9/29/2011

Customer review by AnjasArts

5.0 stars 9/29/2011 by AnjasArts
by AnjasArts

This tent fit a Queen and twin air mattress, plus 2 crib mattresses plus room for our dog and stuff. We've had this tent up in our yard for 2 weeks. It has handled wind gusts of up to 60 mph and strong rains. I love this tent!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AnjasArts
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Ended after 11 days of camping...
8/21/2011

Customer review by SlytheCamper

2.0 stars 8/21/2011 by SlytheCamper
by SlytheCamper

We bought this tent online for our trip in America. When we first used this tent it was great. Set-up was easy with two people, lots of room inside (perfect for two single air matresses + luggage, definitely not eight people as advertised), height in the center comfortable (you could eat inside at a table + chairs), well ventilated with all the big windows. The only design problem I saw was the too short rainfly. It covers only the top of the tent, as on most tents sold in the US. That means the vast majority of the tent is single walled and so highly exposed to rain. Also the quality of the materials looks quite cheap and thin. It is good to keep a lighter weight to the tent but for example the floor was very fragile. We used a tarp under it, but even with that we have had small holes due to little stones on the ground. Anyway apart from that no other problem, nothing broke or torn. One night it was raining a bit and we had a little water in the tent. But on the 11th and last night, we had a torrential rain all night, and were woken up by several leaks all over the place. We tried to move the stuff to leave it in the remaining dry places.... So in the morning when the rain stopped, we decided it was no longer useful to keep this tent if it couldn't hold up in the rain, because when you camp you are fairly sure to encounter rainfall. Therefore the tent ended in the campsite bin ! RIP

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SlytheCamper
France
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Must be good
6/24/2011

Customer review by Tentless

5.0 stars 6/24/2011 by Tentless
by Tentless

My Grandson's set it up slept in it and left it up to dry out. When I went to take it down it had been stolen. My daughters tent was right next to it and was untouched. This tent is truely irresistable

Was this review helpful? (15) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tentless
Portsmouth, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
7/31/2011

Customer review by KampinWithKidz

4.0 stars 7/31/2011 by KampinWithKidz
by KampinWithKidz

Very roomy! Package states that you can fit two queen sized mattresses in the tent, which you can....WITH ROOM TO SPARE!!! Most tents say they sleep so many people or fit so many beds, and when you buy it and open it up, you ask yourself where did they get these numbers from??! With this tent, I am not sure if you are actually able to sleep 8, (maybe 6 comfortably), but I liked that there was about 2 feet to spare when having 2 queen-sized mattresses in the tent! Lots of space between the mattresses and lots of space to stand up inside of the tent (no more laying down to wiggle into or out of your clothes). There is a place in the center of the tent that can hold your hanging lantern, and a door mat to place your shoes before entering the tent. Quick and easy assembly with 2 people. Only downsides of owning this tent is...1) the most frustrating part would be the zippers. They constantly get caught up on the nylon flaps that cover the zipper. Hard to see how to get yourself out of that mess when its dark or your hands are too full to use both hands to free the zipper.......2) Would be nice to have a curtain to divide the tent into rooms. Not a necessity, just a nice thing to have. Overall, good sized tent, decent enough quality tent, for the price.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KampinWithKidz
manitowoc, wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great tent with "Design Flaw"
9/5/2011

Customer review by Draklith

2.0 stars 9/5/2011 by Draklith
by Draklith

Rain fly doesn't cover side windows. So in a strong storm, rain drains down from the rainfly to bottom of window stitching, and collects. Then weeps in. If rain fly could be extended 15 inches over side windows. The same way it is for the front and rear. It wouldn't have drowned me out last night. Thanks for the shower Ozark, this tents going back...

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Draklith
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 181 total reviews
1-20 of 181 reviews