Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 79 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

79 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

79 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
38
4 stars
15
3 stars
10
2 stars
7
1 stars
9
1-20 of 70 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 70 total reviews
1-20 of 70 reviews
good compact and useful
5/13/2011

Customer review by motoman001

5.0 stars 5/13/2011 by motoman001
by motoman001

i bought this rack because it was getting a bit expensive to always use the pickup truck for long trips before bike rides. for its intended purpose it works great. it has functioned flawlessly on both my wife's merc as well as in my hatchback focus. i do reccoment to use a set of bungee cords or something else to hold the wheels still and keep them from rotating while driving because the way it angles the bikes, at least on my hatchback, cause the wheels to move a lot in the wind. other than that great item. My Wife's bike is also a lady's specific and i did have to get the adaptor for her bicycle to use in the carrier but it worked fine as well. all in all for under 100 bucks spent total the item is great.

Was this review helpful? (71) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
motoman001
miami, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Glad I bought this
7/18/2011

Customer review by KurlyGrl

5.0 stars 7/18/2011 by KurlyGrl
by KurlyGrl

My 2 sons have each gotten a new bike for this summer and the bikes are too big to throw in the trunk of our Nissan Rogue. My older son has a 20 inch bike and my younger son has an 18 inch bike. A Rogue will not accommodate bikes of these sizes with the boys also in the car. I supposed if we folded down the seat, but then where would the kids sit? But I digress. We needed something to transport the 2 bikes around and I came across this particular carrier. After reading several positive reviews I decided on this one. The price was right and it isn't something you have to permanently attach to your car. It's very easy to put together. If you look at the picture shown, you don't even need the directions to unfold it. It's strong and sturdy and those straps are very thick and heavy to hold the bike on securely. It fits the 2 bikes perfectly and the bikes do not even wobble when you are driving at highway speeds. I love this product. The only suggestion I would make to someone with a smaller SUV like mine (and maybe it's specific to Rogues, I don't know) is to NOT secure the bottom strap UNDERNEATH the back bumper as it is all plastic down there and potentially would not bear the weight. Plastic is too pliable and can crack. It seems too flimsy under there to bear such a load. What we do now is secure the bottom strap in the seam for the trunk closure. In other words, the 2 straps are secured in the top seam of the trunk, like the picture and directions show, and the bottom strap is secured in the seam where the trunk closes. So, it's like the whole contraption is only secured to the trunk door. Using the trunk door is 100 times more secure than the strap being on the flimsy underside of the car.

Was this review helpful? (59) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KurlyGrl
White Plains, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A good buy
5/30/2011

Customer review by Lauradee

5.0 stars 5/30/2011 by Lauradee
by Lauradee

This has been purchased for local use, but I definitely could use it on a long trip. It's easy to put On and easy to fold and put away. The bag is great for easy storage. I have only found one problem with this product...I feel like I'm not strong enough to get it as tightly tied as I would like...but I'm a girl so that's normal with some things. Otherwise; this has been very easy to use :)

Was this review helpful? (53) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lauradee
jonesboro Ar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very Pleased
4/26/2011

Customer review by BioRat

5.0 stars 4/26/2011 by BioRat
by BioRat

I bought this rack to get help get me and my bikes home from college for the Summer. I have been able to use it to make some day trips before school gets out and am very impressed. Having borrowed similar items from my friends, here are some of the things that set this rack apart from anything else that I have seen: 1. Folds down to an incredibly small size. It stores right in the trunk of my car without getting in the way. 2. It comes with its own storage bag. 3. It's super easy to use. Can't wait to take this on a few road trips when school gets out!

Was this review helpful? (55) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BioRat
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Thumbs up
3/24/2011

Customer review by SoxFan2004

5.0 stars 3/24/2011 by SoxFan2004
by SoxFan2004

While not as inexpensive as the other Allen 2-bike rack, the MT-2 delivers big time when it comes to carrying your bikes, and then practically disappears when it needs to be put away. If Transformers were to make a bike racks, this would be it. Very cool product.

Was this review helpful? (46) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SoxFan2004
Venice, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
worth it
10/2/2011

Customer review by msanouk

5.0 stars 10/2/2011 by msanouk
by msanouk

was very skeptical in buying especially since part of it rests on my hyundai santa fe's back window. but it was easy to assemble as 1-2-3 once i read the instructions slowly. only had to read the instructions once. tip/hint: don't let the carrier touch the ground or get dirt on it (just like the instructions say) if you are worried about scratching your window and be careful in getting the metal hooks of the bike carrier attached to their key points first (to get them out of the way). getting the bike on was easy. i tied the front wheel into place with the extra straps flapping around (as the instructions say). good idea to since it is the only thing that might cause problems. the bike is on solid once you adjust the straps. i drove back roads home and haven't been on a highway yet but the carrier didn't sway around or cause difficulty. just bought some extra velcro bike straps to secure that front wheel but otherwise this bike carrier is so worth the buy. after deassembling i noticed plastic scuff marks on my window but they wash off. good price. good value. solid and convenient.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
msanouk
virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Not good on Honda CRV
8/19/2011

Customer review by BuckeyeSDJ

2.0 stars 8/19/2011 by BuckeyeSDJ
by BuckeyeSDJ

Easy to follow directions. Truly a great carrier, but did not do well on our Honda CRV. The rubber boots appeared too firm for the strength of the metal on the rear hatch door, so I reinforced with one sided adhesive foam rubber tape. On trip to North Carolina carrier would slip and would readjust at every stop. Besides the adjustment appeared to make trip down. On return did not use foam tape. The lower rubber boots caused damage that made 2 small indentations in the metal under the rear license plate. Wife very upset from damage. It would be nice to know in the online purchase information what vehicles works best on instead of fits most vehicles. The pictures show to top boots on the glass and the lower boots on the license plate. Was not comfortable with pressure on contoured rear window.

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BuckeyeSDJ
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Gets the Job Done
4/16/2014

Customer review by Matt18

4.0 stars 4/16/2014 by Matt18
by Matt18

While this product is far from the best out there I must admit it gets the job done. With only a top and bottom strap I found there was quite a bit of lateral movement that this carrier allowed for and the bikes would bounce up and down a bit. However I used this to move two bikes on the highway all the way from DC to Denver with no problems so it definitely works. Best of all the pads did provide enough cushioning so they didn't even leave a mark on the car.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Matt18
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Really a Good Bike Rack
6/27/2011

Customer review by bigbeartriathlete

4.0 stars 6/27/2011 by bigbeartriathlete
by bigbeartriathlete

I'm very happy that I bought this rack. Easy to install, and small when broken down and stored. My only complaint is that there is no strap included to tie down the wheels (especially the front). The directions recommended purchasing an additional strap, and a $2.00 bungee cord did the trick perfectly....

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bigbeartriathlete
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Faulty design
3/21/2011

Customer review by BarackObama13

2.0 stars 3/21/2011 by BarackObama13
by BarackObama13

I bought this bike carrier because of the compact design. It utilizes self-contained "spring pins" to lock / unlock the arms on this unit. The problem is that these pins are difficult to push and then swing the arms into the proper position. If you use a tool, like a screwdriver, to push the pins inward to disengage the arms, you run the risk of over pushing and the pins disappear into the tubing. Once this happens, you can't get the pins out! I'm returning it today and buying the 102DB which has great reviews. Buyer beware!

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BarackObama13
United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
great
4/26/2011

Customer review by momsbaby

5.0 stars 4/26/2011 by momsbaby
by momsbaby

me and my husband love taking the portable carrie it fit well in my compact car and it also works great on his suv truck when were going on weekend trips.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momsbaby
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Rack - Great Service
8/1/2011

Customer review by Citystar221

5.0 stars 8/1/2011 by Citystar221
by Citystar221

Bought this rack to use for weekend trips out to trails around town. It comes fully assembled, sets up and installs super easy, and holds my bike extremely solid onto my car (BMW sedan). I had one question during installation, and called the company. The girl I spoke with was really helpful. A great rack from a great company!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Citystar221
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Compact and very easy to setup
10/2/2013

Customer review by Cabiker

5.0 stars 10/2/2013 by Cabiker
by Cabiker

This is what I wanted, a rack to quickly setup and mount my bike on the back of my 2000 Ford Focus ZX3. It takes me just minutes to mount/unmount the unit. Very well constructed and designed and a great value for the price. Once the bike is mounted, it is very sturdy when driving around...does not rock or sway. Really impressed by its simplicity. I do agree with other reviews, the pins needing to be depressed can be a bit tough but after some practice, I can depress them easily with my thumbnail. The only issue I found is I have a bottle holder mounted on the "down tube" (the tube from the headset to the crankset) and it bumps up against the bike rack but I quickly remedied this by placing a 1/2" styrofoam in between it. Otherwise, I am very pleased with this product

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cabiker
Fremont, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice Rack
4/11/2011

Customer review by Hammbone77

4.0 stars 4/11/2011 by Hammbone77
by Hammbone77

Tried to save money and buy the cheaper Allen 3 bike carrier and ended up taking it back and getting this one. Haven't had any problems at all with this one and I use it 3 or 4 times a week. Sturdy and holds my bike nicely. Although it doesn't look like it will hold both mine and my wife's bike. At least not on my car. Maybe on my wife's van it will but not on a car.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hammbone77
Columbia SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Folding Two Bike Carrier
3/10/2012

Customer review by Bobatthebeach

3.0 stars 3/10/2012 by Bobatthebeach
by Bobatthebeach

This folding two-bike carrier does mount to my CRV as described in their directions. Unfortunately, one of the spring-loaded thumb buttons (that you depress to lock and unlock the folding arms in place) soon malfunctioned and became jammed within the tubing. I was unable to retrieve it and had to return the item to Wal-Mart. Wal-Mart is excellent at accepting returns with no questions asked and gave me my full money back. I do feel that this item may be prone to such a malfunction again, so I did not swap it for a new one.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bobatthebeach
Virginia Beach, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
4/23/2011

Customer review by SYDIL

2.0 stars 4/23/2011 by SYDIL
by SYDIL

I have a Mitsubishi Outlander and this bike rack was not very suitable. The bike rack did not fit evenly causing the bikes to wiggle even when the car was traveling at 15MPH. Returned the product after three months.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SYDIL
Forida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Very Flimsy
5/2/2014

Customer review by frauko

1.0 stars 5/2/2014 by frauko
by frauko

We bought this carrier for our mini-van and I took it back today. There are no side supports so it wiggles pretty bad and we got scratches all over the van from the bikes. We only took a 5 mile test drive to the nearest bike shop. The owner checked to make sure it was installed correctly (it was) and told us he wouldn't recommend the product to anyone. It was really cheap compared to other carriers and now I know why. Also, for women's bikes, this doesn't work well at all. We put one mountain bike and one women's beach cruiser on it and had to flip the beach cruiser over because the handlebars didn't fit with the other bike.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
frauko
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cool Design!!!
3/24/2011

Customer review by SoozJ

5.0 stars 3/24/2011 by SoozJ
by SoozJ

Got my Allen Folding 2-Bike Rack the other day. Love it! Super easy to set up & use. Carries our bikes really well. Folds down to tiny package that tucks away in the trunk of my car. The included travel bag really helps keep the straps organized!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SoozJ
Southern CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Value / Great Rack!
2/9/2012

Customer review by CaliforniaCyclist

5.0 stars 2/9/2012 by CaliforniaCyclist
by CaliforniaCyclist

Great rack for one or two bikes. Easy to install. Be sure to review the chart with the vendor to ensure it works with your car. It works for one of ours - not the other.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CaliforniaCyclist
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very unstable and cheaply made
7/17/2012

Customer review by Granitejanet

1.0 stars 7/17/2012 by Granitejanet
by Granitejanet

We purchased this bike rack to take our 2 bikes down to the Outer Banks, NC on vacation. First of all, we had to use rubber to place between the metal parts and my car to keep it from scratching the paint as nothing like that was supplied or used on the metal parts of the rack. Second, we had to stop less than an hour into the trip to readjust the rack as the bikes had started to slip sideways - both ways of the trip. Thankfully we had a container of bungie straps in the car to hold the bikes on the back of the car! Third and Finally, one of the support bars didn't hold up the bikes AT ALL!! I am very sorry that I purchased this rack and will be looking for another, sturdier rack for other trips. Unfortunately I don't have the receipt to return this useless rack and will just pitch it in the trash.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Granitejanet
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
1-20 of 70 total reviews
1-20 of 70 reviews