Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 76 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

76 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

76 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
47
4 stars
19
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
5
1-20 of 67 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 67 total reviews
1-20 of 67 reviews
Great Concept BUT
1/4/2012

Customer review by Synq

3.0 stars 1/4/2012 by Synq
by Synq

I recommend anyone interested go to the company website to make sure this fits your car or truck. I found out the hard way and now I'm stuck with a rack I can't use. Allen Sports USA will tell you the make, model and YEAR that this rack can be used for. My truck was listed but the year was not which made a difference. http://www.allensportsusa.com

Was this review helpful? (101) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Synq
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Allen Sports MT-1 Folding One-Bike Carrier
6/20/2011

Customer review by basiduewndh

5.0 stars 6/20/2011 by basiduewndh
by basiduewndh

This rack is built like a tank and should last a lifetime. Definitely worth the small price and I would encourage anyone looking for a good bike carrier/car carrier, to purchase this product. I believe this rack will fit just about any vehicle made, and once installed your bike and rack will not move or sway. Easiest bike rack to install that I've ever owned and better than most higher-priced racks being sold.

Was this review helpful? (60) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
basiduewndh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
6/17/2011

Customer review by KALEY2

5.0 stars 6/17/2011 by KALEY2
by KALEY2

THIS IS A GREAT BIKE CARRIER. REALLY SIMPLE TO USE. BIKE DOES NOT MOVE AT ALL. I DID TAKE A BUNGEE CORD AND CONNECTED IT TO THE FRONT WHEEL AND THE BIKE FRAME.

Was this review helpful? (39) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KALEY2
CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
3/1/2011

Customer review by taproot7

5.0 stars 3/1/2011 by taproot7
by taproot7

very nice bike carrier, nice design,I'm pleased

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
taproot7
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It looks cool, but very nerve racking
4/20/2011

Customer review by Trixiesdad

3.0 stars 4/20/2011 by Trixiesdad
by Trixiesdad

I'm planning a big bikecamping trip and I live alone so I was pretty excited when I found the one bike bikerack. It's coolness factor is pretty high, and I like the way it folds up. It's also moderately priced. But my biggest problem was strapping the rack to my car. The way the buckles are, I was so paranoid that the top buckles would loosen and the bike would fall off. Also, when car is driving, the bike would bounce up against the car I had to actually bunji the bike to the rack. I did use the extra lashings to tie the bike down as well. Another concern, is the straps the hold up the frame. There is no locking mechanism, but a velcro strip. These are just concerns though because my bike didn't fall down, it was just that the paranoid. For it's price, the fact that it could fold down, and it's compact makes it a good product, it'sjust, the way the bike is setup causes paranoic worry.

Was this review helpful? (24) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Trixiesdad
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Great Product!
4/22/2012

Customer review by Lcer

5.0 stars 4/22/2012 by Lcer
by Lcer

First, a little background. I'm a single female under 5 feet tall, and 59 years of age. The car that this product is used on is a Ford Escape SUV. The bike has non-conventional bars between the seat and handlebars. I had to purchase a bar that is placed between the seat and handlebars to use all carrying methods, except #1. I love to bring my bike to different parks to ride. Transporting it has been challenging for me. I have tried many different methods. 1. Putting the back seat down and putting bike in rear of car. This works, but I don't like having to put the seats up and down constantly. Also getting the bike in and our of the car is a little awkward, at times. 2. I have hitch. I purchased one of those bike racks that have a pole that inserts into the hitch, extends upward to about 6 inches from top of rear window. It accommodates 3 bikes, has locks, and conveniently can allow for the opening of the hatch door when bike is not on it, since it folds downward. I am unable to use this method for a few reasons. Once the bar is placed on the bike, the space where the bike rack arms are to be put into is not large enough to accommodate the the arms of the rack. Secondly, even if the space were wide enough, being short, I am unable to lift my mountain bike high enough to be put on the rack arms. 3. I bought a sort of tray that attaches to the hitch and has 3 loops to accommodate the front wheels of three bikes. This works pretty well, as it is low enough for me to lift the bike on to. However, I have to put multiple tie down straps to secure the bike. Also, since the tray is quite heavy, once it is put on the hitch, I leave it on. This presents a problem when backing up the car, as I cannot tell where the farthest end of the tray is. I also, really don't like having to keep it on the back of the car all riding season long. 4. And finally, the Allen Sports MT-1 Folding One-Bike Carrier. The best product ever! It doesn't have to be kept on the car for the duration because it installs and uninstalls in minutes, whenever I need it. I can adjust how high the rack arms are by adjusting the straps that hold the rack to the car. It is no longer too high for me to lift the bike onto. The arms are small enough to fit in to the space left on the bike after the bar is placed between the seat and handlebars. I don't need any additional tie downs to secure the bike. I use the length left over from the bottom strap to secure the front wheel by threading through the spokes and tied onto the strap. The bike does not move at all during transporting. And the price is right. I think I paid over $100 for each of the other 2 carriers I wrote about. Also, I bought online at Walmart, knowing that if I had to return the product, I could just bring it to the store. - WON'T BE DOING THAT! Happy riding! - from shorty!

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lcer
Ridgefield, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Superb folding bike rack for single bike
6/4/2011

Customer review by ChapJ

5.0 stars 6/4/2011 by ChapJ
by ChapJ

The rack is compact - folds up quickly and easily and fits into approx. 17" x 7" bag - so easy to carry in the trunk when not in use. It is light weight yet very sturdy and holds the bike steady and securely. The straps are long enough to fit varying size cars. The finish of the product is excellent, inspiring confidence that it will last a long time and not scratch or damage the bodywork of the car.

Was this review helpful? (28) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChapJ
Issaquah, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
well-built
4/1/2011

Customer review by MDrider

5.0 stars 4/1/2011 by MDrider
by MDrider

Rack is well built and sturdy. Hold bike very stable and is easy to mount.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MDrider
Dunkirk, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Doesn't fit Woman's Bike
2/11/2014

Customer review by professor227

1.0 stars 2/11/2014 by professor227
by professor227

I bought this to carry a new bike home. Put it on my car - was so excited and then went to pick up my bike. I couldn't get the bike to mount on it. WHY doesn't it say somewhere on the box that you need an adapter to mount a woman's bike? Took it back and got a refund.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
professor227
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
easy setup
4/26/2011

Customer review by trsunshine

4.0 stars 4/26/2011 by trsunshine
by trsunshine

although the instructions are easy to follow, the straps are extremely long and you need to wrap them and tie them off...unless you think you can cut them(?) Otherwise, it's sturdy and does the job!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
trsunshine
Yankton, SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Product
1/20/2014

Customer review by GH980

4.0 stars 1/20/2014 by GH980
by GH980

I wanted a single rack to transport my bike, but didn't want to break the bank. I read reviews and watched the video. I used it today and drove 20 miles, on the freeway at 70mph. The rack and bike were secure and worked the whole time. The only thing extra I did was buy some small bungee cords from the auto department. I used a couple of the bungees to help secure the bike to the middle of the rack. I used one bungee to secure the front tire so it wouldn't turn or the handlebars wouldn't turn. I also put a small towel down between the trunk lid and the mount, to save any issues of marks on the trunk. I use it on a 2010 Camaro and it works great! Quick to install and remove. The unit is compact too, doesn't take up much trunk space. I liked the fact that my vehicle was listed on the back of the box, so I was confident it would work. Definitely worth the money!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GH980
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Allen Folding Carrier
8/8/2011

Customer review by luvinbikin

5.0 stars 8/8/2011 by luvinbikin
by luvinbikin

Purchased this carrier for my hybrid bike and am very pleased. Easily installed on my Lexus sedan (simply read the instructions; it's very simple). Carrier is very sturdy, and remains firmly in place once installed. My bike doesn't move once it's secured. (Used excess length on strap to secure the front wheel so it doesn't swivel). Compact folding design makes it easy to carry on my back (in the included pouch) while riding. Overall, a great product at a great price!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
luvinbikin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The Best
9/18/2011

Customer review by Nanny4two

5.0 stars 9/18/2011 by Nanny4two
by Nanny4two

At first I was a little leery about buying this. After researching other bike racks I kept coming back to this one. It is very SOLID AND STURDY, EASY to FOLD, COMPACT and just all around GREAT!!! I can't wait till later this week to try it out when I go camping. I am Very Excited and Satisfied with this purchase and would recommend this item to anyone!!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nanny4two
Pevely, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great for the price
7/27/2012

Customer review by ComradeCommuter

4.0 stars 7/27/2012 by ComradeCommuter
by ComradeCommuter

Straps easily onto my 2000 Honda Civic, held up well for the 850 mile drive from Utah to CA through the Nevada desert in July (I bought it specifically for the move). The center pad is too small for my 23 in frame to rest on, in fact it lined right up with my metallic water bottle holder, which melted a gash in the rubber pad in Nevada. But I just move the holder now, use old sweatbands to cover the inside pedal and rest that pedal against the rear bumper (not ideal, but relatively secure). Get a couple bungees to secure the front tire with the frame and you're good to go, just make sure to cover up potential scratch points on your bike (brakes, exposed brake cables, handle bars) and that the water bottle holder isn't the part resting on the pad, or it'll snap and you'll end up with scratches on your trunk like mine.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ComradeCommuter
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
8/13/2012

Customer review by Frankee67

5.0 stars 8/13/2012 by Frankee67
by Frankee67

I drive a Toyota Corolla. I used this to move 1100 miles. It worked as advertised.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Frankee67
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Good Bike Rack at a good price
7/15/2011

Customer review by Z4Bimmerman

4.0 stars 7/15/2011 by Z4Bimmerman
by Z4Bimmerman

This rack met my expectations for a small, folding trunk mount rack. It works as described by the manufacturer. I use it on my BMW Z4. Very solid fit and bike hold. The only problem that I had is that one of the strap clamps that hold the bike in place broke when I put pressure on it. Be carefull with these two clamps, they are not as strong as the strap clamps that hold the rack to the car. Excellent bang for you buck here.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Z4Bimmerman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sturdy little bike carrier
6/4/2012

Customer review by anniet702

5.0 stars 6/4/2012 by anniet702
by anniet702

I'm really pleased with this purchase. The set-up is quick and easy, and it worked great. I first used it to return a new Huffy Beach Cruiser to Walmart that I wasn't happy with, and then used it to bring my new bike, a Schwinn mountain bike, home. It worked equally well with both bikes. I drive a Pontiac Sunfire, and I was a little nervous at first, both because my car has a spoiler, and because the beach cruiser is clunky and heavy, but everything was fine, and the carrier didn't budge. I drove on a major highway, at about 55 mph. When I bought this carrier, I also bought the Adapter Bar, and I highly recommend that to anyone transporting women's bikes. Not sure I could have transported the beach cruiser without it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
anniet702
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Price right for 1 bike transport, w/minor drawback
1/17/2013

Customer review by Katburg

4.0 stars 1/17/2013 by Katburg
by Katburg

I was very happy to find a 1-bike rack that was priced right for my budget. It's compact collapsible design is great, a draw-string back pack bag makes it easy to carry along and store in a small space. BUT, once the bike is resting in the cradle-hooks the tires are not secure enough to keep from banging into the back of your vehicle or spin uncontrolled. The solution is fairly simple: take your cable lock and intertwine it between both tires/spokes and lock it up so things are tight and can't move. Since I found a solution I am keeping the rack - neatly collapsed and in its carrying bag.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Katburg
Laguna Beach
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Light Weight and Easy To Use!
1/26/2012

Customer review by tncntrygrl

4.0 stars 1/26/2012 by tncntrygrl
by tncntrygrl

The Folding One Bike Carrier is very light weight and easy to use. I folds up and can be stored in (the storage bag that comes with the carrier), the trunk or the hatch of any vehicle. It can be attached to the vehicle in the matter of 5-10 minutes. It is secure and the bike does not touch the vehicle at all. The only complaint is the bike sometimes causes the carrier to slid to one side of the vehicle cause the bike to extend over the sides of the vehicle. There is no locking system for the bike on the carrier. So extra caution must be taken when leaving the vehicle/bike un-attended.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tncntrygrl
Sevierville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
PT Cruiser
8/12/2012

Customer review by Shopped2day

5.0 stars 8/12/2012 by Shopped2day
by Shopped2day

I'm a fifty year old woman and this fit on my PT Cruiser great! Able to do it by myself..but insanely easy to use with 2 people strapping it to car...held my 24" girls cruiser bike securely...did use 2 bungy cords so the tires wouldn't rotate...but that was my personal choice. Would recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shopped2day
nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 67 total reviews
1-20 of 67 reviews