Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 237 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

3.0 stars

237 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

3.0 stars

237 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

46%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
64
4 stars
34
3 stars
19
2 stars
19
1 stars
101
1-20 of 230 total reviews
46%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 230 total reviews
1-20 of 230 reviews
Kodak Wireless Printer - Good and Bad
10/2/2010

Customer review by wiseshopper2008

4.0 stars 10/2/2010 by wiseshopper2008
by wiseshopper2008

We bought this printer for four reasons: 1. It was a reasonable price 2. Ink cartridges were cheaper then the name brand printers like: HP, Lexmark, etc. 3. It was wireless 4. It doesn't have fax capabilities We really love this printer; we like how it prints documents and pictures. Even though it is wireless, you still need to be near the printer to do your scanning - the scanning is user friendly. We printed out some pictures and they came out beautifully! The only downfall we discovered is that the ink cartridges go quickly.If you are printing a lot of documents and pictures, be aware you will end up going through a lot of ink. Also, these ink cartridges were cheaper two months ago, then the prices went up.

Was this review helpful? (206) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wiseshopper2008
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
Don't buy into the infomercials
4/12/2011

Customer review by jjhoward

4.0 stars 4/12/2011 by jjhoward
by jjhoward

I first saw this unit in a late night infomercial. It's biggest claim was that you will save hundreds of dollars on the cost of ink vs. all it's competitors. It would have been nice if they had mentioned that there is ALOT less ink in those cartridges as well. An attempt to save money and to be less wasteful has ended up in a trip to Walmart each week to re-supply my ever decreasing ink supply. The cartridges are small and inexpensive when compared to the face cost of other units but if you compare the amount of ink you are actually getting, it may be much closer in cost that it initially appears. Now the cost of the cartridges has increased quite a bit so it probably costs me more now. I tend to print alot of C++ coding and other documents and one cartridge lasts about 20-30 pages, with the black needing replaced more often. The wireless is extremely nice and everything that I have printed looked very nice as well. It is much less hassle compared to my HP which constantly needs updated. I have only updated once on this unit, I believe. Overall a great printer, if only they would make the cartridges about 4x fuller than they currently are for the price they are currently at.

Was this review helpful? (50) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jjhoward
LeMars, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Kodak 5250
2/4/2011

Customer review by Rungmeister

4.0 stars 2/4/2011 by Rungmeister
by Rungmeister

The installation process was pretty simple. The only problem was a message on the display that instructed you to go to a non existent folder on the hard drive instead of the CD to install the printer software. The front panel display is easy to navigate through and for the most part is easy to understand. I printed a few documents with the printer about 50 feet away from both of my networked PCs and they printed the documents and photos with out a bit of problem. Quality pretty darn good! Next I used the enclosed paper and printed a file from a digital camera----WOW! Just like they come from the Drug store. And as advertised the ink didn't smudge when the pictures came out of the printer and I picked them up! I did a scan of a photo to my computer(50ft away). Looks good! As far as the color shift that was mentioned in other reviews, I saw only very slight shifts when printing photos on regular paper. The printer works as advertised! Mine print/Scanned every time I asked it to. The print quality on the photo paper is excellent. The only reasons I did not give it a higher rating: 1) The noise when the paper loads is much louder than it should be. My guess is that its because there is no paper cassette to muffle the noise. 2) It has not passed the test of time.

Was this review helpful? (31) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rungmeister
Burgaw, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
waste of money and time
1/2/2011

Customer review by tiadonjay

1.0 stars 1/2/2011 by tiadonjay
by tiadonjay

I purchased the Kodak ESP5250 1 year ago. Product was easy to install, nice step by step animated instructions available. The printer would not print from day 1. Every page had a yellow cast to it. Spend numerous hours with tech support and bought other ink cartridges to try to resolve issue. Needed a new "printhead." Printhead arrived 2 weeks later. Printer will not turn off with the power button, it must be unplugged to reset. Tech support tried, but could not ever resolve this issue. Wireless feature must be reset constantly. This means that 90% of the time, when trying to print wirelessly, you will receive an error message telling you that the network could not be detected - please restart. Pointless to have a wireless printer that you always have to physically attend to in order for it to work. 6 months after new "printhead," printer stopped printing properly again. Pictures would come out with only dark tones and text was missing lines and had white lines going through it. Bought new ink again hoping this would resolve the issue. NO LUCK! Again spending numerous hours with tech support. They were hesitant about giving me another "printhead" even though they were sure this was the issue. And yes, I will agree that the ink is the cheapest namebrand ink on the market. What they don't tell you is that you will be buying ink every month. Trust me, the ink only lasts for about every 40-50 pages. I will not spend another $ or minute of my time on this machine. I just went out and bought another wireless printer (ugh!) Canon PIXMA MX340. Let's see how this goes, but I don't think anything could be as bad as the Kodak ESP5250.

Was this review helpful? (35) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tiadonjay
Sharon, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Worse printer EVER!
11/25/2010

Customer review by Jgarcia87015

1.0 stars 11/25/2010 by Jgarcia87015
by Jgarcia87015

Buyer Beware!! This printer is horrible! I am a professional artist and chose this printer to make prints of my work. When it did work...ha! They were nice. but!!!! Most of the time this printer didn't even print full colors. Lines, faded colors, missing colors, etc. Have replaced more ink cartridges than I can count just to print test pages, nozzle checks, align printhead, clean printhead. Constantly has paper jams. Have to load each page individually to just make a single print. I have gone through all the trouble shooting and help guides and this is not operator error. Black and blue ink leak all over printhead, bleeding into other colors. Yellow on ink cartridge has black/blue all over it. It was brand new fresh out of the package this morning. I've wasted hundreds of dollars on ink and wasted paper (expensive recommended photo paper from Kodak)... I bought it for my business that depends on my ability to be able to print. I have yet to use it where it hasn't had any issues. Have requested a 2nd replacement printhead from Kodak...still waiting to hear back. The current one is only about 9 months old. Kodak customer service is a nightmare too... so if you have any problems, good luck getting anything fixed. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PIECE OF JUNK TO MY WORST ENEMY! Don't wast your time or money!!!

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jgarcia87015
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
Kodak Printer
2/11/2011

Customer review by JazmineM

5.0 stars 2/11/2011 by JazmineM
by JazmineM

This printer is fantastic. The ink cartridges are very very reasonable. When you print pictures it comes out like a professional did them. You can also print 5x7 8x10, really any size picture you want. It has a wonderful program that you d/l to your computer and it is as easy as 123. I highly recommend this color printer to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JazmineM
Mansfield, ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This printer is absolute junk
10/11/2010

Customer review by muppco1

1.0 stars 10/11/2010 by muppco1
by muppco1

We purchased this printer at our local Walmart store last Christmas. Since then we have replaced the ink cartridges 3 times, after only printing 10-20 pages each time. Now it won't print anything except red blotches. We ran the "clean print head" function several times, but it does not help. This printer is absolute junk, and I just want to warn people to stay away from Kodak products.

Was this review helpful? (15) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
muppco1
Cincinnati, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
not sure
11/26/2010

Customer review by yokutwmn

1.0 stars 11/26/2010 by yokutwmn
by yokutwmn

I never got to use product. Had to return it due to printing errors. Went to website for Kodak and followed directions only to find out the printer needed a new printhead. They said they would send a new one but when entering the product info...came back WRONG info??? So I returned it to Walmart n Xchanged it for an HP. Works FAB!!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yokutwmn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent printer
1/21/2011

Customer review by DarthPodar

5.0 stars 1/21/2011 by DarthPodar
by DarthPodar

I purchased the 5210 model of the printer about a month ago and found that the print quality is very good, especially compared to the Lexmark inkjet in my office and my HP 9500 series printer at home. Using the Kodak AiO Home Center software, the printer produces excellent prints, particularly if you use premium paper. For everyday printing it's good too. I don't use the printer for high volume printing (over 100 pages), but for individual 4 x 6 and 8 x 10 prints for friends/family/clients, as well as printing Avery CD labels, it prints very well. My only objection is that it doesn't come with a USB printer cable, so I bought one from WalMart later that day. I had challenges connecting via WiFi, but the USB option works great. I can carry the printer to work with me, and my office computer (Windows XP) can access it, and my laptop (Windows 7) can access it as well. Despite some of the poor reviews listed above, I'm enjoying this printer a lot. I'm buying a 5250 for my office to replace my inkjet Lexmark printer.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DarthPodar
Green Cove Springs, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Kodak 5200 series = PROBLEMS
12/29/2010

Customer review by jcosta01

1.0 stars 12/29/2010 by jcosta01
by jcosta01

I picked up a 5210 model at the local Wal-Mart a week ago as an attempt to save some $$ on ink costs, but I now realize that the cost of the ink does not compare to the headaches and problems associated with this unit. This is by far the worst printer I have ever owned (or worked with). For the record, I am a PC technician by day, but after only 3 hours of operation I have experienced a years worth of issues. Issues include every page printing crooked, software errors, printer connection errors, PC hangs due to print spooler errors (have to reboot pc each time). With my Canon PIXMA, I never had a SINGLE issue in over 4 years of printing. I will be putting my Canon BACK into service TODAY! Do yourself a favor and do your research and find a quality printer. It's not worth the headaches with these Kodak's.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jcosta01
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Disappointed
11/25/2010

Customer review by fritz53

1.0 stars 11/25/2010 by fritz53
by fritz53

It kept bending the top corner when printing. There was a line of ink along the side of the paper. It kept jamming the paper. Defective unit??

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fritz53
Gulf Breeze, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
+++ value for ur basic, run-of-the-mill WI-printer
12/20/2010

Customer review by FormnFunctionataBargain

4.0 stars 12/20/2010 by FormnFunctionataBargain
by FormnFunctionataBargain

Surprised to see so many low ratings for this printer. It works great for me... and considering I bought it on Black Friday, it's even better for the price! Ink cartridges are indeed lower priced, although judging from the printer screen, the ink does seem to be used up faster than other cartridge brands. I've only had this printer like a month so this might be a catch-22. Wireless connection is picked up throughout my apartment from both my laptop and my netbook (Although admittedly, I'm not sure how well it would work from a further distance, eg a large house). Honestly, my only complaint is that it prints a little slow and the paper feed is pretty loud (It's like the paper is too wide and scrapes against the inside when it feeds). Definitely not a plus there! Ran a test-copy in both color and black&white and they looked just like the original. Haven't had a chance to test-scan though so can't attest to that. But if you just want something to print word docs, spreadsheets, or a few color photos here and there (make sure you get the right paper type!), then this is the right printer for you.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FormnFunctionataBargain
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Easy to setup + fast printing
3/23/2011

Customer review by NoAppleProductsEVER

5.0 stars 3/23/2011 by NoAppleProductsEVER
by NoAppleProductsEVER

I bought one of these about 2 months ago for my sister and it was a breeze to install. FOLLOW THE ON SCREEN INSTRUCTIONS EXACTLY. I'm going to buy another one today for myself. When you start buying replacement ink you will thank me. LOW cost real Kodak Factory ink cartridges are available at Wal-Mart.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NoAppleProductsEVER
Tallahassee Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
INKS
11/20/2010

Customer review by charliesu

3.0 stars 11/20/2010 by charliesu
by charliesu

I received a Kodak 5300 All-In-One printer from my kids for XMAS last year. Since, it has been discontinued and I've had to replace the printhead twice. Now I contact them - Kodak - because my black won't even print; and they tell me it's a "hardware" problem and I'll need to purchase a new printer! Thinking I'll go back to Lexmark.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
charliesu
Germantown, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Disappointed
7/12/2011

Customer review by Momoftwo23

1.0 stars 7/12/2011 by Momoftwo23
by Momoftwo23

The first few prints were awesome and I loved how my pictures turned out then the printer went down hill from there. One of the main reasons we purchased this printer was because of the low ink cost, but really when you print 8 pages (I may be exaggerating a little, but you don't get much use out of a cartridge) and have to replace the ink already what's the point of low cost ink, you just have to buy way more ink. If that wasn't bad enough after about the fourth time of purchasing ink we put a brand new color cartridge into the printer and it said out of ink and just kept saying that, so then we bought another brand new cartridge and then it said jammed. We did all kinds of trouble shooting techniques because I'm not the type to give up when there might be a way to fix something. We finally got the jam notice to go away and now it is back to out of ink when the ink is brand new. Really? I'm very upset with this purchase, we've had it about six months and it worked for about a day and so I've been out of a printer for awhile now. I'm just annoyed by this printer do yourself a favor and buy something else. Good luck finding something I am on a quest to find a new printer as well.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Momoftwo23
Newcastle, WY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
DOA
2/5/2011

Customer review by Techmode

1.0 stars 2/5/2011 by Techmode
by Techmode

It came out of box dead on arrival. Replaced twice already with refurbished ones. Uses up ink rapidly.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Techmode
Birmingham,AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Do Not Buy
1/14/2011

Customer review by Ronster3

1.0 stars 1/14/2011 by Ronster3
by Ronster3

Don't let the cheap ink cartridges fool you. They are small and hold only about 1/2 the ink of competitor cartridges and drain quickly. When printing a full color document the print color does not even come close to the screen color and very poor print quality. You can see white dots everywhere even with the printers settings set to best quality.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ronster3
Madison, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Worse than bad - the ink runs out when not used
5/4/2011

Customer review by KCJones001

1.0 stars 5/4/2011 by KCJones001
by KCJones001

I wanted to give this printer a good rating except I found two fatal flaws which make it the worst I've ever seen: 1) the ink really runs out when the cartridge is not used, or at least the chip in the cartridge says this is so. An earlier comment mentions this so I ran a test: I used plastic to seal off the ink flow when installing a new color cartridge. Also, I changed the B/W cartfidge. Then, we printed only b/w. The color cartridge ran out before the b/w cartridge!! Really!! I checked - no ink had ever left the color cartridge but the Kodak SW "emptied" our cartridge anyway. I watched with interest as the color ink level went down, knowing no color ink could even leak out. This is discraceful design. You can try this yourself. I suggest you contact Kodak when you see this for yourself. 2) the print head clogs under moderate to low use and stops working. The print head is not part of the cartridge so the blockage acumulates over time. For me, the problem occured on the original ink cartridge, as we only printed about 5 pages a week. If you print mostly B/W, the color print head clogs up and quits working. Color is broken. Even if you can't use color ink because it won't print, you still have to pay for the color ink (see above) this make the printer extremely expensive to operate. The printer will not work at all if the "color ink is out". One effectively pays for 4x the ink actually used. My conclusion: it is better to throw this printer away than waste any more money on it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KCJones001
Philly, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
undependable
10/31/2010

Customer review by loriac

1.0 stars 10/31/2010 by loriac
by loriac

I bought this printer for my son as he's in his first year of college, the price was right for the Kodak name. I thought I was getting a "Great Buy" What I ended up with was an "Undependable Printer". What a disappointment!!!! The printer always came up as "Disconnected" on my computer everytime you went to go print something. You would have to uninstall the printer and install it again and you would have to do this a few times. Then it go to the point that even that didn't work. I also bought it for the convience of being wireless what a joke that was because it got to the point where it couldn't locate the wireless connection. This is by far one of the worst Kodak Products EVER!!!! So if your thinking of buying this Printer don't waste your money look into one of the upscale models of the Kodak Wireless Printers or look into another Brand. Good Luck to all you Printer Buyers!!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
loriac
Utica NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
a helpful product
11/18/2010

Customer review by busterboy2

4.0 stars 11/18/2010 by busterboy2
by busterboy2

easy to use once u learn how. Nice disign . Ink reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
busterboy2
willcox AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 230 total reviews
1-20 of 230 reviews