Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 237 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

3.0 stars

237 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

3.0 stars

237 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

46%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
64
4 stars
34
3 stars
19
2 stars
19
1 stars
101
1-20 of 230 total reviews
46%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 230 total reviews
1-20 of 230 reviews
This printer is a nightmare
3/25/2011

Customer review by Melody

1.0 stars 3/25/2011 by Melody
by Melody

Yes the ink is cheap but you get what you pay for, the ink doesn't last long at all. In fact we've bought some brand new ink cartridges that as soon as we put them in said that there was no ink in it at all. It's a nightmare to print things out, I've purposely been not using this printer because the print quality is horrible even when it says the ink is full sometimes. I wouldn't wish this printer on anyone!! I usually like Kodak but in the case of this printer, I give it a huge thumbs down. I would like it if it wasn't for the ink issues, which have been giving me a huge headache since I got it. I print everything out at my school so I can actually see it instead of using this thing. Another thing is that even if the print test page looks good, it might not show anything at all on the page you are trying to print. My dad uses it more than I do and he complains about it a lot and always has to ask me to help him with it, owning this printer has been nothing but one huge bother.

Melody
NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Buy a pair for stereo!
1/24/2011

Customer review by SpokesDude

5.0 stars 1/24/2011 by SpokesDude
by SpokesDude

I bought my first 5250 as an inexpensive printer/scanner for our vacation home. I liked it so much, I bought a second one to replace a pricey Canon printer at home. It makes borderless color prints just as you would expect from Kodak -- virtually perfect. It is also smart enough to recognize that when you are using plain old bond paper, it reduces the amount of ink to prevent soak-through. While this will always reduce the quality of the image, there's really no way any ink jet printer can make a great bond paper image. The only way to get higher quality photo reproduction on bond paper is with an expensive color laser printer. According to Kodak Support, the 5250 Perfect Page software does not perform all the corrections that their Perfect Page literature discusses. This is a big disappointment, since skew correction would be a welcome feature, especially when scanning copied or faxed documents. Aside from that, both my 5250's have been flawless.

SpokesDude
Princeton NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
DON"T BOTHER WITH THIS ONE!
11/29/2011

Customer review by immortalambitions

1.0 stars 11/29/2011 by immortalambitions
by immortalambitions

well, last year at christmas, my husband bought me a kodak camera and this KODAK ESP 5250 All-in-One scanner/printer. I was more than thrilled. Well the first printer didn't work stright from the box. We returned it and got a new one. It worked great, at first. the ink seemed to run out relatively quickly. Well, the printer said it had run out of color in the color cartridge. I went to the store and bught a new one, put it in and ERROR: CARTIRDGE NEEDS REPLACED!! WHAT!!?? straight from the box!!?? soi thought well maybe this was an older one who's shelf life has expired (i had noticed some others there with different packaging). SO i took the cartridge back to the store and got one with different (updated) packaging. Popped it in and.....ERROR: CARTIRDGE NEEDS REPLACED!! So i am done. I will NEVER purchase another kodak printer again, and i doubt that i will even accept one as a gift. At this point, you could not pay me to take one.

immortalambitions
Would recommend to a friend? No
VERY NICE(SIMPLE)
10/20/2011

Customer review by okkydok

4.0 stars 10/20/2011 by okkydok
by okkydok

After you understand the features & trick's,this is a great little printer ! As for the other reviews I would suggest getting one of your (parents) to help you understand how it work's . (JUST A LITTLE HUMOR CALM DOWN) The "paper jams" 70% of them are because the little gray bar inside the paper tray ,you have to slide it to adjust for the size of the paper your using and make sure all the paper goes under the slide none on top of it. that is how you know the amount of paper is correct . As for the ink problem the cartridge shape is flawed the little lip about halfway down has a L shape to it that keeps the ink from flowing down like it should ! But if you remove it & shake it well , you will get a lot more ink out of it ! Also if you don't need very high quality prints go to preferences & put it on the good setting that will save a ton of ink! But otherwise this is a very nice home printer. With a lot of features not found on printers in this price range . And the software with it is a great value.Printers by nature are not plug & play use the software & use the install disk !

okkydok
NASHVILLE,TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
So far so good.
11/14/2010

Customer review by Bones

5.0 stars 11/14/2010 by Bones
by Bones

I just recently purchased this printer. I bought it in a hurry in with the need to scan and copy a bunch of documents for a potential employer. So far this printer has been nearly excellent in almost all aspects of performance. There are only a few quirks I have noticed so far I do not enjoy. When looking for the wireless network it does not correctly display the name of the networks it has looked for. In actual replacement it displays the router's brand. Not a huge deal but it was a mild neusance due to local activity near by. It also would not connect to the network when given the "supplied" network key, it required the "WPS Quick Connect" feature to intiate the connection. Since then I have had zero issues with connectivity. So far the printer seems to do okay on ink as I have burned through roughly 120 pages of black ink with intermitten color printing out full-page PDF documentation files. I still have a reported 50% of black in left. Will update review at a later date if I remember. So far so good Kodak. I am from the Greater Rochester area so that is why I bought a Kodak!

Bones
Canandaigua, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Still wastes ink
6/8/2011

Customer review by kellog260

3.0 stars 6/8/2011 by kellog260
by kellog260

I abandoned an HP printer to purchase this Kodak...got what I thought was a good price for a wireless and was psyched to start saving on ink. Wasn't bad at first, quality of copies is good and definite ease of use. Then I discovered that even though I copied exclusively in black, the color ink was disappearing too! I knew that Lexmark was known for using all colors to create black printing, making it one of the most expensive to keep supplied and Iearned to look for a separate black cartridge in models in order to avoid this. I thought that was what I was doing with this highly touted Kodak ink-saver and now I feel tricked! The color ink costs more than black, of course, and even if I am saving overall, it's still maddening to see both cartridges losing ink over time! I will keep looking for a better answer.

kellog260
Upstate New York
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worst Printer in HISTORY!
2/22/2011

Customer review by AggravatedStudent

1.0 stars 2/22/2011 by AggravatedStudent
by AggravatedStudent

ABSOLUTELY DO NOT BUY THIS PRINTER. THis printer looks like it is a good deal, but it is a complete nightmare! The wifi doesn't work with any of my laptops, even with customer support. The usb connection is the only way to print and it sometimes has a 10 minute lag. The page feeding is HORRIBLE! It always takes in 5 pages at an angle and prints badly. There is no manual two sided printing selection available under the printer settings. The paper JAMS at least HALF the TIME, and it is not easy to remove the rear access cover. WHile updating the firmware, the printer froze, and caused error codes to show everytime i turn it on. The ink has issues, and when i print black and white, i get a blank page. ABSOLUTELY THE BIGGEST TECHNOLOGY FRUSTRATION OF MY FAMILIES ENTIRE LIFE

AggravatedStudent
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? No
Disappointment
1/22/2012

Customer review by rlcraig

1.0 stars 1/22/2012 by rlcraig
by rlcraig

I have had this printer for less than a year. I have not used it much until recently, when I decided to go back to school. I have to print papers 3 or 4 times before they come out correctly. I have to clean the printer heads before each print job in order to insure that I may possibly get a good quality print. I cannot print of all of my pages at once. I have to print each page seperately to make sure that it prints. I feel like I am buying ink all the time. Now that I have started school, I am buying ink at least twice a month. I thought when I bought this printer it would save me money, instead it has cost me more. I have to buy more ink than usual and paper since the printng is very poor. Even with a brand new ink cartridge, it still does not print correctly.

rlcraig
Would recommend to a friend? No
Unhappy customer
5/19/2011

Customer review by Scrivey

2.0 stars 5/19/2011 by Scrivey
by Scrivey

I already had a good all-in-one printer, but I wanted a wireless printer, too. The first time I tried this printer it was "very loud". (I said it sounded like a thrashing machine.) My other printer is pretty quiet so this was a noticeable difference. I don't do much printing & when I do it is usually in black. Problem was not only did the ink run out much faster, but when the black was empty, I still couldn't print in color. It was empty, too! Doesn't matter if the ink is cheaper if you have to replace it more often. Would cost me more in the long run. I will forget about having a wireless. printer for now. I can only hope that Kodak would want to keep customers& keep them happy. What would make me happy is to get my money back for this printer.

Scrivey
Would recommend to a friend? No
Connecting printer is DIFFICULT
5/26/2011

Customer review by thisisinsane

3.0 stars 5/26/2011 by thisisinsane
by thisisinsane

We have a wireless system in our home with 3 laptops and 1 desktop. I was able to install and use this printer wirelessly after 10 tries on the printer and 2 on the laptop. Currently I am on my THIRD software removal and re-install on the desktop with 2 more laptops to go. Why? Because once installed the AIO Center will not open - it cannot be found. So there is no way to go setup the wireless unless you do that when you install the software. The result is you have to uninstall and re-install the software and check this out - it takes Three to Five minutes each. I am not a newbie to IT. I can hang with the best of them, but this one has me stumped. It's probably so simple it's embarrassing, but then why doesn't Kodak fix it if is so simple?

thisisinsane
Would recommend to a friend? No
Second Kodak Purchase
6/13/2011

Customer review by EDNA

4.0 stars 6/13/2011 by EDNA
by EDNA

I bought my first Kodak printer approximately one year ago. Since then, I haven't had any problems from this printer. It was a major switch for me because I originally only bought HP printers and after seeing the Kodak advertisements on TV, I decided to try one (plus I was spending a fortune in ink with the HP brands). It was the best printer purchase I could have ever made. I just bought the ESP 5250 in March 2011, not to replace the first one because I gave the first one to my daughter for college. I absolutely love this printer. It was easy to set up and install. Of course I pretty much knew how it was packaged because of my previous purchase. I love the wireless capability because I use my laptop frequently and don't have to worry about moving to the printer to plug a USB cord in to print. Even with the wireless capability, it prints just as fast as if it were connected to a USB. It is a bit loud, but that doesn't bother me. The print quality is always great, even on draft printing. As far as ink purchases, I would definitely say that I am saving bundles because I do a lot of party printing and can print about 3-4 jobs (depending on the size, usually about 30-50 invitations) and just normal printing before having to purchase new cartriges.

EDNA
Little Rock, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
frustrated
6/22/2011

Customer review by bvlaredo

3.0 stars 6/22/2011 by bvlaredo
by bvlaredo

I purchased this printer b4 reading reviews. Purchased 11-2010, 1st breakdown 4-13-2011, got it replaced, 2nd breakdown 6-9, told it was printerhead, sent replacement, installed, problem not fixed, replaced printer with new printerhead today, will keep printer, return printerhead because it did not work in new printer. These above, along with discrepancies of warranty issues discussed with techs, are my cons. PROS - I get great colored pic's, haven't had issues with ink shortages, don't care to use Wi-fi so that's probably why I haven't had those problems and I trusted the KODAK Brand. Maybe this 5250 just turned out to be a LEMON. If I have anymore issues, I will demand a full refund and/or another similar replacement

bvlaredo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great pictures
1/31/2011

Customer review by Vernb7

5.0 stars 1/31/2011 by Vernb7
by Vernb7

I have a printer(can't name it) that prints beautiful photos but since it has 6 separate cartridges I am always running out of ink and it is expensive. You can't even use black if one of the colors is out. I bought a Kodak AIO 3 in August '09 and have had marvelous results. I specially like the Kodak paper which automatically sets up the printer. Today I traded the old one for a 5210 which didn't work at all. Kodak in turn is sending me a 5250 replacement. The quality of my prints could not be better so why would I want anything else but a Kodak. Kodak service is excellent. When I have a problem that I can't resolve I phone them after 5 or 6 PM and never have to wait. They always resolve the problem. Thanks, Kodak!

Vernb7
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
5210 all in one series
2/25/2011

Customer review by Bethm1310

1.0 stars 2/25/2011 by Bethm1310
by Bethm1310

I just bought the 5210 series about 2 months ago. This is my SECOND going on third kodak printer I have owned. TWO have failed....My second one has already quit working. I litterally printed two papers, then went to bed. I woke up and was going to print out some stuff for school and the thing would not turn on. It said it was "starting up" than it would just shut off. I called the Kodak customer service and they are sending me a "better" version the 5250 version. We wills ee how this works out. If this one fails I will be getting a cash refund and buying a different brand!!! My first kodak printer said it had a paper jam when it didnt. i will post on here again after I see how this "better" version works!!

Bethm1310
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Print heads and ink usage
6/12/2011

Customer review by gmk369

3.0 stars 6/12/2011 by gmk369
by gmk369

I've read many of these reviews and they all say the same thing. Do I need to say it again? My first print head went after just a few months and another one now after 2.5 years. At least it sounds better than most of you, but I'm a very low volume user. Ink usage? My guess is it's not too bad, and the cartidges are much cheaper. I would like it if it didn't just stop and force a new cartridge, because I think I could get out many more prints before replacing. The printheads can ONLY be purchased from Kodak, which has caused me a large print backlog, because you first have to get Kodak support to agree you need one. They should sell these things by the 2 pack, so you have an extra when it's needed.

gmk369
Full time in our motor home
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The Worst Printer
1/15/2012

Customer review by riveter

1.0 stars 1/15/2012 by riveter
by riveter

I rated this printer one star because the scale does not go into the negative range thereby limiting the accuracy of my rating. I have had two of these printers and both were a nightmare, printer wise. The scanner function is good though. Whenever I print, the pages come out incomplete, like the cartridge is out of ink, even though I have only printed a few pages on the new cartridges. I only print occasionally, so I can only assume the cartridges dry out. The test page show 55 pages printed in the life of the printer and I have changed cartridges twice. Bottom line is I can't rely on the Kodak printer working when I need it. I went with a Kodak because the ink was cheaper. Never again.

riveter
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great wireless printer
11/18/2011

Customer review by Mell

5.0 stars 11/18/2011 by Mell
by Mell

I love this esp 5250 Kodak printer as it does almost everything fast and wireless. Colors are brilliant and even better with Kodak paper than my other major brand of paper. I am going to by another one of these printers(the Esp 5250) to put in my truck as the old one there is acting up. The wireless feature will be a big help in the truck too. Don't need a bunch of wires hanging around in the truck. The feature that really sold me on this printer was the fact that you can shrink/enlarge by as little as 1% at a time. I use this feature a lot. Other companies that I looked at their printers seem to have dropped this feature(if they ever had it). It just does it all, at an affordable price.

Mell
Arcadia, Florida/Rising Sun,Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
NOTHING CAN TOUCH IT
10/23/2010

Customer review by MLou

5.0 stars 10/23/2010 by MLou
by MLou

I have had countless printers over the past 20 years - mostly HP - never Kodak. This time, it crossed my mind that Kodak has been in the business of picture making for decades, so wouldn't it follow, they would have a quality reproduction ability? And sure enough - not only is the reproduction of photos and documents A-1, but the cost of replacing cartridges is lower than I could ever have imagined. In the past, replacement cartridges have been the cost of a new printer - not with Kodak - not only is it reasonable, but like the little bunny we know so well, the colours last, and last, and last, and............................I recommend this above all others for 3 - 1 satisfaction.

MLou
Chemainus BC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Printer - Good Price
1/8/2011

Customer review by srw2

4.0 stars 1/8/2011 by srw2
by srw2

I've run this printer for over a year. The only trouble I've ever had is that the wireless has become disconnected from my network a couple of times. No real big deal - cycling power fixes it. Print quality is very, very good for the price of the printer and ink. I've printed a lot of photos along with school and work stuff. The ink is about a third the cost of HP, which is primarily why I bought it; however, it does use it a little faster than the HP cartridges in my old printer. Still, it's a lot more economical than any HP I've ever owned and the quality is at least as good. I've been very happy with this printer and would definitely recommend.

srw2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worst Printer I ever owned
12/1/2011

Customer review by randr

1.0 stars 12/1/2011 by randr
by randr

"KODAK ESP 5250 All-in-One printer" I had purchased this printer because it was a "Kodak" and expected to save money on ink..Big mistake on my part...I thought i was buying a quality printer but my experience was anything but positive. The ink runs out quickly and the print quality is poor/fair at best...the printed color is not always accurate...tried replacing ink and cleaning the print head and still didn't improve quality...recently, i purchased more ink (Kodak ink) for the printer, 20 pages printed and two days later the printer errors and states that the "INK CARTIRDGE NEEDS REPLACING"...I can't afford to save anymore money with this printer

randr
usa
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 230 total reviews
1-20 of 230 reviews