Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 228 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

228 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

228 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

60%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
65
4 stars
61
3 stars
27
2 stars
23
1 stars
52
1-20 of 210 total reviews
60%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 210 total reviews
1-20 of 210 reviews
Better Than Expected
11/25/2010

Customer review by bartmann3

4.0 stars 11/25/2010 by bartmann3
by bartmann3

I read the reviews of this player, and was somewhat torn on whether to buy this "value priced" player or buy a more expensive one. Last night I decided to go to my local Wal-Mart and try to find this one on display. There were none on display, but I did find several units in boxes on the bottom shelf. Purchased this player for $118 and brought it home. After unpacking, I connected the player to my livingroom system and powered it up. There is a delay when first booting it up but I don't find it troublesome. This player found my Cisco router right away and connected with great signal strength. My router is a decent distance away and I was afraid by the reviews on this product that it wouldn't connect. Set-up Netflix without a hitch and away I went watching my first video through WiFi as smooth as could be. Before connecting to Netflix I did upgrade the software for the unit, it went smooth, but did take about 20 min.. Great product....so far.

Was this review helpful? (142) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bartmann3
Ridge, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great product for Netflix!
11/28/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/28/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We purchased this blueray player only for the Netflix feature. We had it hooked up and set up quickly, with no problems! Our wireless router is in the other room (approximately 20 ft plus through a wall) and the connectivity was great.....played movies with no problems. I actually went and purchased another one for our basement....hoping I might get the same results!

Was this review helpful? (32) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wifi and Netflix works
11/9/2010

Customer review by outdoorspirit

4.0 stars 11/9/2010 by outdoorspirit
by outdoorspirit

Got this today and I was able to get it set up fairly easily. The DVD was just an hdmi cable into TV. Wifi involved setting the password and remembering which type of encryption. Netflix involved getting an update and loading, getting a password and entering online. Setting up new components always takes me a few times to get it right. But the setup looks better and is much easier than using my laptop. We also watched a non blu-ray DVD and it looked great. So it was worth it and was a good value.

Was this review helpful? (39) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
outdoorspirit
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wireless connection is a joke
11/19/2010

Customer review by Sil3nt611

3.0 stars 11/19/2010 by Sil3nt611
by Sil3nt611

I bought this player specifically for the fact that is has a wireless connection. But when I get it all hooked up and 10 ft away from my router it can't connect for anything. I bought it for my parents and their router is actually further away than mine. After about 2 hours of dealing with it I decided it wasn't worth it. I tested out Netflix and it worked on a wired connection as expected. I tried 1 Blu-Ray and it worked as expected. I decided to return it and just run a long ethernet cord instead to a better brand wired player. Any unit that costs this little and has wireless doesn't seem like it's worth anyone's time. If you're looking for a cheap player, this will do as long as you don't need the wireless to work.

Was this review helpful? (33) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sil3nt611
Waco, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Huge savings!!!
11/27/2010

Customer review by MrsEm

4.0 stars 11/27/2010 by MrsEm
by MrsEm

After finding this blu-ray player on the Walmart website, I was prepared to pay $118 for it because it seemed to have everything that I was interested in (i.e. Netflix streaming, true wi-fi - no adapter needed) and VUDU. I went to the store to purchase this item and to my surprise it was on sale for $69 instead of $118. All hail black Friday! I'm watching a movie that I streamed from Netflix with my new Magnavox wi-fi Blu-ray player, and I couldn't be happier. Set up of the wi-fi connection was very simple (took me all of 5 minutes), and I would recommend this item to anyone who wants bang for your buck with a blu-ray player. If I had to complain about any aspect of this item it would be that the netflix application only gives you access to your instant queue and not other categories (recently viewed, new movies, new tv shows, children and family, etc.)

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrsEm
Upstate, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It all Works & Excellent product !
12/24/2010

Customer review by BBCVELLE498

5.0 stars 12/24/2010 by BBCVELLE498
by BBCVELLE498

Paid $118 got a $ 40 gift card,nice to get free money. Read the reviews some good other not so good. All I can say I have good luck with electronics. This blueray for the price and features,can't be beat. Yeah it's not the best,but for what you get it should cost more. VERY easy hook up with HDMI cable cheap one at that. Picture is very good. I did update the firmware. My wireless netgear 3700av router with this unit and netflix is fast and great video quality. Downloads super fast les than 45 seconds for HD movies, I get 7 bars on meter and only using 2.4GHZ &130MBP with ATAT DSL. I also use it with the 5GHZ @300MBP blazing fast to. It helps to be a little tech savy. If your still using g type wireless routers you may not have good luck with netflix downloads. Plays both dvd and bluerays discs like a pro. Very happy with my cheap player.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BBCVELLE498
Chicago,IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
OK for the Price
10/31/2010

Customer review by RobertPdaytona

5.0 stars 10/31/2010 by RobertPdaytona
by RobertPdaytona

it work as it says ...but make sure if you going to used it wireless you have a really strong signal in your room , i got 4 bars out of 6 and it will not stay connected to Netflix . work fine wireless in other room we full signal..

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RobertPdaytona
daytona beach,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Magnavox MBP5130
5/2/2011

Customer review by bluHills

3.0 stars 5/2/2011 by bluHills
by bluHills

Not a bad player for the money but you can get a better product for around the same or lower price. It wasn't very hard to setup at all. I'm mean connecting it to a router is no harder than any other device. I didn't like the apps that came with it. It does have Netfix, which is why I bought it in the first place. But even to use it with Netflix you have to use your computer to go to the Netflix's website and put the movies you want to see in your "instant queue" before MB5130 will play it. There is no ability to connect to Hulu or Hulu plus. No Pandora. No Amazon. I didn't realize this until I got it home and started reading about other internet connected devices. This device is also extremely slow. Wow, is it slow! Sometimes I find myself pressing the button several times before it finally creeps along with what I want it to do. Overall, it's okay. But keep looking... I think you can find better for around the same price. I think I'm gonna end up taking it back.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bluHills
Nashville, Tn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome Bluray player
12/23/2010

Customer review by Hotstarz

5.0 stars 12/23/2010 by Hotstarz
by Hotstarz

Best buy for the money! Love the instant connection to the internet with the built in WiFi, we subscribe to Netflix and play movies instantly, we have a wireless router in our home so it was pretty simple to set up. why pay more? this is all you need for DVD and Bluray viewing. highly reccomended!

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hotstarz
Salina, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great and here's a WiFi secret...
12/5/2010

Customer review by notanexprt

5.0 stars 12/5/2010 by notanexprt
by notanexprt

Works great with wifi. Here's a secret way to get a better signal. Simply pull out the little white wifi antenna on the rear; it's just plugged into its own dedicated usb connection. Be careful not to pinch the antenna too hard.. the manual warns against messing with the antenna as though this is rocket science. Then add an external extension usb cable but check to make sure the antenna's internal led is blinking. Some extension usb cables are different. I tried three different cable brands before I got the antenna to light up. The way to know if you're getting the best signal is when downloading Netflix, Vudu the light on the antenna blinks rapidly and continuously.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
notanexprt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
VERRRY slow!
2/21/2011

Customer review by MamaFroggieof3

2.0 stars 2/21/2011 by MamaFroggieof3
by MamaFroggieof3

I was excited about getting this blu ray player with a built in wireless connection for such a great price, now I know why it was so cheap. I guess the old saying of 'you get what you pay for' applies here. The movie quality is good and the set up is easy enough but the speed in which the player turns on/off, opens the drive and plays the movies is unbelievably SLOW! So I would say if you are a very patient person who doesn't mind waiting minutes to start your movie than this is a great deal. I however, am going to return mine and keep looking.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MamaFroggieof3
Anna,TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
dont waste your money
11/9/2010

Customer review by scamwatcher

1.0 stars 11/9/2010 by scamwatcher
by scamwatcher

I bought this because of the wireless capability so i could use netflix, long story short it has a range of about 10ft. Would not work in my livingroom were everything else ie. computors and game systems all work great with my wireless connections. Dont waste your money if this is why you want this thing, you would have to buy a 80 dollar booster somewere to get it to work, so you might as well buy a blue ray for the higher price .

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
scamwatcher
Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Poor wi-fi reception
2/14/2011

Customer review by DanielB52

1.0 stars 2/14/2011 by DanielB52
by DanielB52

The unit has poor wi-fi reception in a location where another wi-fi device, e.g., a laptop, reports an excellent signal. I returned the unit. Also, the technical support was atrocious -- highly uninformed about the product.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DanielB52
Would recommend to a friend? No
One of the worst I could have picked.
5/9/2011

Customer review by PharmacyHermit

2.0 stars 5/9/2011 by PharmacyHermit
by PharmacyHermit

I thought I was getting a good brand name player. Startup takes forever and I'm never sure by the button on the front if the power is on or off. Device is very slow to respond to the remote. We've now watched 2 movies on Nexflix and they are constantly being interrupted while the player searches for internet signal. The router is on 25-30 feet away! If this ticks me off much more it's going back to the store; I'm still in my 15 day window.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PharmacyHermit
Greensboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Deal...NETFLIX is AWESOME
11/29/2010

Customer review by 1Shopaholic1

5.0 stars 11/29/2010 by 1Shopaholic1
by 1Shopaholic1

Despite all of the mixed reviews about this product I decided to try it anyway. I purchased my player from Walmart specifically because it is one of the few Wi-Fi players (offering Netflix) that do not require you to purchase a seperate adapter. When I first hooked it up it did not take long at all to get started. I set up my wireless connection within 5 minutes. I was a little skeptical when after connecting to my network my player only showed a signal strength of 1 bar. However once I activated my Netflix, I saw that I had nothing to worry about. My videos were of great quality and did not freeze or stop to buffer...it has been pretty much smooth sailing from there. Compared to most players out there that offer the same capability this is a great deal. When you factor in the price of the Wi-Fi adapters most players will cost you at least $200, so at $118 this is definitely a steal. As for those people experiencing poor signal strength or difficulty setting up your connection I would advise that you go through each step individually because initially my player said that it could not access my network and that I needed to manually configure my connection however when I pressed OK it proceeded to successfully set up my connection anyway. I would definitely recommen this product!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1Shopaholic1
OHIO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
for the reason i bought this, it works great
1/7/2011

Customer review by motjuste

4.0 stars 1/7/2011 by motjuste
by motjuste

i recently got rid of my phone and cable to save money, only keeping an internet service. i had hulu and the boyfriend purchased netflix and we liked that better so i dropped the hulu. i bought this only for netflix. connecting to my wifi was easy and quick, the update for netflix software was making us fall asleep but it finished and we were able to watch movies from our instant queue in no time. YOU NEED TO ADD THEM TO THE INSTANT QUEUE. it's not too much of an inconvenience though because you can do it from your laptop or iphone app in bed so... i'd say this product is worth it. all i needed was a tv and hdmi cable and we were good to go. MAKE SURE BOX SAYS NETFLIX/VUDU if thats what you're purchasing it for.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
motjuste
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Netflix only shows instant queue movies.
1/8/2011

Customer review by bewma

3.0 stars 1/8/2011 by bewma
by bewma

Unlike using netflix thru my Wii which let me see all the movies available , this DVD only shows your instant queue. It is a pain to log onto a computer to pick your movies so you can start up the dvd to watch them.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bewma
Boston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
You get what you pay for
3/12/2011

Customer review by gossdbf

1.0 stars 3/12/2011 by gossdbf
by gossdbf

Needing a second Netflix receiver I bought this clunker after reading some positive reviews. If you like me have had any experience with the great Netflix interface the PS3 has you will be sorely disappointed by this device. It is extremely slow, only shows movies that are on your instant queue and the wireless connection is sketchy. I regularly have to unplug it and let it sit for a few minutes to get it to connect again. It is only about 10 feet from my router. My PS3 is on a different floor and never has connection issues!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gossdbf
Trenton, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
black friday exchange
12/27/2010

Customer review by teto4411

5.0 stars 12/27/2010 by teto4411
by teto4411

i exchanged my 5120 for this 5130 no questions asked this blue ray player has everything i wanted runs smoother through menus and loads up faster than older model only thing is it took a while when you download updates and install them but then again its a dvd player not a computer so i was ok with it other than that great picture quality

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
teto4411
denver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works well!
11/28/2010

Customer review by Greg2x

5.0 stars 11/28/2010 by Greg2x
by Greg2x

I was one of the poor saps that bought the 5120 model on Black Friday thinking it streamed Netflix. It doesn't. Walmart exchanged it for this one no problem. At $118 I wouldn't consider this unit but at $69 this unit is a bargain! It's not the most stylist unit out there but it plays dvds, blu-rays and streams Netflix well. I'm very happy. I bought the extended warranty and recommend that highly. This unit was made by Funai. Anyway, connecting was easy and quick. One thing that held me up though is that the unit saw my network but it shortened the name leaving two words out. The unit didn't connect until I typed in my full network(SSID) name manually. Also, to get the internet and Netflix to work I had to set my router to extended range. Lastly, don't forget to setup the units mac address if you have your router set for mac filtering. This is exactly what we needed being on a tight budget. I just hope it lasts.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Greg2x
Jeffersonville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 210 total reviews
1-20 of 210 reviews