Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 228 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

228 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

228 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

60%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
65
4 stars
61
3 stars
27
2 stars
23
1 stars
52
1-20 of 210 total reviews
60%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 210 total reviews
1-20 of 210 reviews
Jeez, such a deal.
12/3/2010

Customer review by robosama

4.0 stars 12/3/2010 by robosama
by robosama

Well not only does it work fine, but it was so easy to setup even a caveman could do it. I was expecting problems setting up the WiFi, but as long as you know your SSID & WEP (you have them written down somewhere right?) you'll be fine. You get two free movies on Netflix and I think there's an offer for VuDu as well. But for 8 bucks a month (Netflix streaming only, 10 bucks if you also want discs) we may just cancel our HBO. If you're perplexed when nothing shows up under Netflix after you're set up...its because you have to build your Instant View list online with your computer...you don't actually browse with the BluRay...you browse the list you've built. Thats about it!...Definitely was worth the 69 buck black friday price...and still not a bad deal for 118. Oh yeah, some of the other products say they are wifi but you have to buy an additional adapter. With the Magnavox you don't need anything additional except an HDMI cable.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
robosama
Scottsdale, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Better Than Expected
11/25/2010

Customer review by bartmann3

4.0 stars 11/25/2010 by bartmann3
by bartmann3

I read the reviews of this player, and was somewhat torn on whether to buy this "value priced" player or buy a more expensive one. Last night I decided to go to my local Wal-Mart and try to find this one on display. There were none on display, but I did find several units in boxes on the bottom shelf. Purchased this player for $118 and brought it home. After unpacking, I connected the player to my livingroom system and powered it up. There is a delay when first booting it up but I don't find it troublesome. This player found my Cisco router right away and connected with great signal strength. My router is a decent distance away and I was afraid by the reviews on this product that it wouldn't connect. Set-up Netflix without a hitch and away I went watching my first video through WiFi as smooth as could be. Before connecting to Netflix I did upgrade the software for the unit, it went smooth, but did take about 20 min.. Great product....so far.

Was this review helpful? (142) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bartmann3
Ridge, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Magnavox MBP5130
5/2/2011

Customer review by bluHills

3.0 stars 5/2/2011 by bluHills
by bluHills

Not a bad player for the money but you can get a better product for around the same or lower price. It wasn't very hard to setup at all. I'm mean connecting it to a router is no harder than any other device. I didn't like the apps that came with it. It does have Netfix, which is why I bought it in the first place. But even to use it with Netflix you have to use your computer to go to the Netflix's website and put the movies you want to see in your "instant queue" before MB5130 will play it. There is no ability to connect to Hulu or Hulu plus. No Pandora. No Amazon. I didn't realize this until I got it home and started reading about other internet connected devices. This device is also extremely slow. Wow, is it slow! Sometimes I find myself pressing the button several times before it finally creeps along with what I want it to do. Overall, it's okay. But keep looking... I think you can find better for around the same price. I think I'm gonna end up taking it back.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bluHills
Nashville, Tn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Huge savings!!!
11/27/2010

Customer review by MrsEm

4.0 stars 11/27/2010 by MrsEm
by MrsEm

After finding this blu-ray player on the Walmart website, I was prepared to pay $118 for it because it seemed to have everything that I was interested in (i.e. Netflix streaming, true wi-fi - no adapter needed) and VUDU. I went to the store to purchase this item and to my surprise it was on sale for $69 instead of $118. All hail black Friday! I'm watching a movie that I streamed from Netflix with my new Magnavox wi-fi Blu-ray player, and I couldn't be happier. Set up of the wi-fi connection was very simple (took me all of 5 minutes), and I would recommend this item to anyone who wants bang for your buck with a blu-ray player. If I had to complain about any aspect of this item it would be that the netflix application only gives you access to your instant queue and not other categories (recently viewed, new movies, new tv shows, children and family, etc.)

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsEm
Upstate, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It all Works & Excellent product !
12/24/2010

Customer review by BBCVELLE498

5.0 stars 12/24/2010 by BBCVELLE498
by BBCVELLE498

Paid $118 got a $ 40 gift card,nice to get free money. Read the reviews some good other not so good. All I can say I have good luck with electronics. This blueray for the price and features,can't be beat. Yeah it's not the best,but for what you get it should cost more. VERY easy hook up with HDMI cable cheap one at that. Picture is very good. I did update the firmware. My wireless netgear 3700av router with this unit and netflix is fast and great video quality. Downloads super fast les than 45 seconds for HD movies, I get 7 bars on meter and only using 2.4GHZ &130MBP with ATAT DSL. I also use it with the 5GHZ @300MBP blazing fast to. It helps to be a little tech savy. If your still using g type wireless routers you may not have good luck with netflix downloads. Plays both dvd and bluerays discs like a pro. Very happy with my cheap player.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BBCVELLE498
Chicago,IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
No Netflix
12/5/2010

Customer review by JenVG

1.0 stars 12/5/2010 by JenVG
by JenVG

I purchased this item on Black Friday and was excited by the value of a wireless Blu-Ray player fpr 69! I checked out other reviews and everyone said they were able to stream Netflix and how easily everything set up. After trying unsuccessfully for two days to set this up, I finally got a customer service rep from Magnavox on the phone who told me the wireless card was bad. Back to Wal-Mart I went. Exchanged for a new unit and brought it home. SAME PROBLEM! Call customer service again, this time I'm told it needs a firm ware update. Fine, update takes about twenty minutes. Get online and can't find the Netflix app. Call customer service again. Netflix is NOT AVAILABLE on this unit. This is going back tomorrow. I'm so ticked I can barely see. I guess I should have realized when it said Vudu on it that that would be the only thing you could use, but I didn't know Vudu was a pay-for-rental movie/ tv episode app. If you want to stream Netflix, this is not the Blu-Ray player you want.

Was this review helpful? (2) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JenVG
South Euclid, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Great features, but lacks on performance
1/2/2011

Customer review by BLOCKHEAD22

3.0 stars 1/2/2011 by BLOCKHEAD22
by BLOCKHEAD22

After the Black Friday ad with incorrect information both online and in the circular (showed two model numbers as being equivalent), we finally got this unit as it was the one we wanted after reading the original ads. The unit nice size Blu-Ray player and loads the BR discs with reasonable speed. It also has many apps to choose from (most are in the Vudu option). But, every time we use it the unit has no wireless connection - we have to go back to the menu and manually enter our password and do at least two connection tests before we are back online each time we use it. Yes, we've done the slow updates and are running the current software. Annoying to say the least. We used the Pandora app and it worked ok - the unit kept losing our wireless connection. No, it wasn't our network, it is the device. Also, the device does not remember our Pandora log in even though we've selected that option. The SD card feature was easy to format. Read the reviews of other products and purchase one of those.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BLOCKHEAD22
Olathe, KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product for Netflix!
11/28/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/28/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We purchased this blueray player only for the Netflix feature. We had it hooked up and set up quickly, with no problems! Our wireless router is in the other room (approximately 20 ft plus through a wall) and the connectivity was great.....played movies with no problems. I actually went and purchased another one for our basement....hoping I might get the same results!

Was this review helpful? (32) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wifi and Netflix works
11/9/2010

Customer review by outdoorspirit

4.0 stars 11/9/2010 by outdoorspirit
by outdoorspirit

Got this today and I was able to get it set up fairly easily. The DVD was just an hdmi cable into TV. Wifi involved setting the password and remembering which type of encryption. Netflix involved getting an update and loading, getting a password and entering online. Setting up new components always takes me a few times to get it right. But the setup looks better and is much easier than using my laptop. We also watched a non blu-ray DVD and it looked great. So it was worth it and was a good value.

Was this review helpful? (39) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
outdoorspirit
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wireless connection is a joke
11/19/2010

Customer review by Sil3nt611

3.0 stars 11/19/2010 by Sil3nt611
by Sil3nt611

I bought this player specifically for the fact that is has a wireless connection. But when I get it all hooked up and 10 ft away from my router it can't connect for anything. I bought it for my parents and their router is actually further away than mine. After about 2 hours of dealing with it I decided it wasn't worth it. I tested out Netflix and it worked on a wired connection as expected. I tried 1 Blu-Ray and it worked as expected. I decided to return it and just run a long ethernet cord instead to a better brand wired player. Any unit that costs this little and has wireless doesn't seem like it's worth anyone's time. If you're looking for a cheap player, this will do as long as you don't need the wireless to work.

Was this review helpful? (33) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sil3nt611
Waco, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Good value for the Price
10/2/2011

Customer review by PCM1

3.0 stars 10/2/2011 by PCM1
by PCM1

I originally purchased model #MBP5120 with a regular price of $68 only to find that it does not have a Netflix app. Also had numerous problems with the internet connection. Customer service at Funai provided good support but the fix required a Firmware update which had to be accessed from the internet, burned to a CD and than loaded to the DVD player. This model(5130) was listed in the store at $98.00 but on the Walmart web page for $78.00. It has the Netflix, Blockbuster and VUDU apps but nothing else. Also was told by the sales associate that this model is being discontinued. Set up was better than the cheaper model. Still performed a firmware update but it seems to work fine. If all you need is player to watch Blue Ray and occassional Netflix movies, this is well worth the price. However, if this is to be your primary DVD player, I recommend paying the higher price for a Samsung or SONY model as it exhibits a stronger router signal than the Magnavox unit.(5 bars vs 3).

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PCM1
Patchogue, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Works well!
11/28/2010

Customer review by Greg2x

5.0 stars 11/28/2010 by Greg2x
by Greg2x

I was one of the poor saps that bought the 5120 model on Black Friday thinking it streamed Netflix. It doesn't. Walmart exchanged it for this one no problem. At $118 I wouldn't consider this unit but at $69 this unit is a bargain! It's not the most stylist unit out there but it plays dvds, blu-rays and streams Netflix well. I'm very happy. I bought the extended warranty and recommend that highly. This unit was made by Funai. Anyway, connecting was easy and quick. One thing that held me up though is that the unit saw my network but it shortened the name leaving two words out. The unit didn't connect until I typed in my full network(SSID) name manually. Also, to get the internet and Netflix to work I had to set my router to extended range. Lastly, don't forget to setup the units mac address if you have your router set for mac filtering. This is exactly what we needed being on a tight budget. I just hope it lasts.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Greg2x
Jeffersonville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great and here's a WiFi secret...
12/5/2010

Customer review by notanexprt

5.0 stars 12/5/2010 by notanexprt
by notanexprt

Works great with wifi. Here's a secret way to get a better signal. Simply pull out the little white wifi antenna on the rear; it's just plugged into its own dedicated usb connection. Be careful not to pinch the antenna too hard.. the manual warns against messing with the antenna as though this is rocket science. Then add an external extension usb cable but check to make sure the antenna's internal led is blinking. Some extension usb cables are different. I tried three different cable brands before I got the antenna to light up. The way to know if you're getting the best signal is when downloading Netflix, Vudu the light on the antenna blinks rapidly and continuously.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
notanexprt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great Deal...NETFLIX is AWESOME
11/29/2010

Customer review by 1Shopaholic1

5.0 stars 11/29/2010 by 1Shopaholic1
by 1Shopaholic1

Despite all of the mixed reviews about this product I decided to try it anyway. I purchased my player from Walmart specifically because it is one of the few Wi-Fi players (offering Netflix) that do not require you to purchase a seperate adapter. When I first hooked it up it did not take long at all to get started. I set up my wireless connection within 5 minutes. I was a little skeptical when after connecting to my network my player only showed a signal strength of 1 bar. However once I activated my Netflix, I saw that I had nothing to worry about. My videos were of great quality and did not freeze or stop to buffer...it has been pretty much smooth sailing from there. Compared to most players out there that offer the same capability this is a great deal. When you factor in the price of the Wi-Fi adapters most players will cost you at least $200, so at $118 this is definitely a steal. As for those people experiencing poor signal strength or difficulty setting up your connection I would advise that you go through each step individually because initially my player said that it could not access my network and that I needed to manually configure my connection however when I pressed OK it proceeded to successfully set up my connection anyway. I would definitely recommen this product!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1Shopaholic1
OHIO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Pandora app was removed
4/4/2011

Customer review by ugabdawg

3.0 stars 4/4/2011 by ugabdawg
by ugabdawg

Was very happy with product especially at the Black Friday price I got the player and probably would have given it 4 or 5 stars if I were to have rated it a month ago. Is it the top of the line, no but you couldn't go wrong with a player that had Netflix, Pandora and built in wireless for $79. In fact at the time you'd have to spend about double the price to get all of those features. It's slow to start up and load compared to other players but I could live with it for the price. In fact I bought 2 of them. It was nice being able to stream Pandora through my receiver and speakers. However, just recently Magnavox REMOVED the Pandora app from VUDU. What a bunch of crock. Overall the player is decent and still has Netflix but how can they just up and pull an important app like that? I would not rebuy it, even at that price if I knew it was missing that app, it's too important to me. Guess I should have stuck with the bigger name players. No more Magnavox for me!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ugabdawg
Would recommend to a friend? No
VERRRY slow!
2/21/2011

Customer review by MamaFroggieof3

2.0 stars 2/21/2011 by MamaFroggieof3
by MamaFroggieof3

I was excited about getting this blu ray player with a built in wireless connection for such a great price, now I know why it was so cheap. I guess the old saying of 'you get what you pay for' applies here. The movie quality is good and the set up is easy enough but the speed in which the player turns on/off, opens the drive and plays the movies is unbelievably SLOW! So I would say if you are a very patient person who doesn't mind waiting minutes to start your movie than this is a great deal. I however, am going to return mine and keep looking.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MamaFroggieof3
Anna,TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
for the reason i bought this, it works great
1/7/2011

Customer review by motjuste

4.0 stars 1/7/2011 by motjuste
by motjuste

i recently got rid of my phone and cable to save money, only keeping an internet service. i had hulu and the boyfriend purchased netflix and we liked that better so i dropped the hulu. i bought this only for netflix. connecting to my wifi was easy and quick, the update for netflix software was making us fall asleep but it finished and we were able to watch movies from our instant queue in no time. YOU NEED TO ADD THEM TO THE INSTANT QUEUE. it's not too much of an inconvenience though because you can do it from your laptop or iphone app in bed so... i'd say this product is worth it. all i needed was a tv and hdmi cable and we were good to go. MAKE SURE BOX SAYS NETFLIX/VUDU if thats what you're purchasing it for.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
motjuste
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Poor wi-fi reception
2/14/2011

Customer review by DanielB52

1.0 stars 2/14/2011 by DanielB52
by DanielB52

The unit has poor wi-fi reception in a location where another wi-fi device, e.g., a laptop, reports an excellent signal. I returned the unit. Also, the technical support was atrocious -- highly uninformed about the product.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DanielB52
Would recommend to a friend? No
OK for the Price
10/31/2010

Customer review by RobertPdaytona

5.0 stars 10/31/2010 by RobertPdaytona
by RobertPdaytona

it work as it says ...but make sure if you going to used it wireless you have a really strong signal in your room , i got 4 bars out of 6 and it will not stay connected to Netflix . work fine wireless in other room we full signal..

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RobertPdaytona
daytona beach,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome Bluray player
12/23/2010

Customer review by Hotstarz

5.0 stars 12/23/2010 by Hotstarz
by Hotstarz

Best buy for the money! Love the instant connection to the internet with the built in WiFi, we subscribe to Netflix and play movies instantly, we have a wireless router in our home so it was pretty simple to set up. why pay more? this is all you need for DVD and Bluray viewing. highly reccomended!

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hotstarz
Salina, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 210 total reviews
1-20 of 210 reviews