Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 662 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

662 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

662 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
346
4 stars
188
3 stars
45
2 stars
18
1 stars
65
1-20 of 593 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 593 total reviews
1-20 of 593 reviews
COMPAIRING THIS HARD DRIVE RECORDER WITH A VCR?
12/11/2010

Customer review by Devoted2

4.0 stars 12/11/2010 by Devoted2
by Devoted2

After using this hard drive recorder, you will throw rocks at your old VCR. I have noted that many of the questions about this unit, seem to flow from comparing them with VCRs. The obvious benefits are better quality recordings, more record time, ease of locating what was recorded, no tapes to mess with, etc. A huge improvement over a VCR, is simply being able to watch a show that you recorded, while recording another show at the same time. One can see all of the features in the listing. Unlike VCRs this unit does not play back through the coax cable on your TV's channel 3 or 4. The coax/antenna cable is only attached in and out of this hard drive recorder so it can get the antenna signal. What is done on this recorder, does not affect the coax/antenna signal to the TV and/or your TV's internal tuner like a VCR did. As you may recall VCRs, have an input or bypass select that determines whether one is allowing the signal to pass through the VCR, directly to the TVs internal tuner or whether one is watching the tuner or tape within the VCR. As stated, that is usually done via the coax/antenna on channel 3 or 4, of the TV's tuner. Unless one puts their VCR input, in the bypass mode, they cannot watch other channels through their TV's internal tuner. That is because that coax/antenna signal is being interrupted by the VCRs tuner. While this hard drive recorder obtains a signal from the coax/antenna line, for recording purposes, It does not interrupt that antenna signal or play back to the TV through that coax/antenna line. Instead, the outputs of this h/drive recorder, connect to the TV like a typical DVD player. It plays back via an HDMI cable or a 3 connector cable set, plugged in to one of the HDMI or auxiliary inputs on the TV. One only sees the content of this h/drive recorder when they select the input on the TV that the recorder is plugged into. In laymen's terms, this recorder's output is viewed on one's TV, just like any other channel on the TV. The recorder's playback channel on your TV would be HDMI 1, 2, or aux 1, 2, etc. Thus, changing the channel on the TV won't affect what the recorder is doing. Likewise, changing the channel on the recorder won't affect what the TV is doing on all of the other channels. One can even use the PIP (picture-in-picture) feature if their TV has one. For example: One could keep tabs, in the corner of the screen, of a live PIP program on TV channel 10, while watching a recorded program on input, channel HDMI 1 or vice-versa. Whether the recorder goes to a channel by programming it to time record or went to a channel by selecting it manually, this unit always records the channel that is presently showing on the recorder's internal tuner. If one is watching a live TV show through this units internal tuner, a message will pop up on the screen and tell you that it is about to change channels for a timer recording. All one has to do to keep watching a live show, while the unit is recording a different show, is change the channel on the TV. Once the h/drive recorder, goes into the recording mode, it will not allow one to accidentally change the channel. The only way to stop a current recording is to physically go to the recorder and press the stop button. Another great feature of this recorder over VCRs, is that it will go into the timer record mode whether it is on, being used or turned off in stand-by. There is no more missing a show that you set it to record, because someone was watching something on it at the time or forgot and left the VCR on. One does not need a Digital to analog converter box to use this recorder on an old style, analog, TV. This recorder has its own internal tuner that will receive either the old analog type signal or the new digital format. One simply selects TV or DTV on the remote, when programming the timer or watching a live show. Note: As stated, changing the channel on the TV that the recorder is connected to for playback, will not effect the recorder's functions. However, if one connects the coax/antenna input of this recorder, directly to the coax/antenna output, of a cable box or DTV converter box, changing the channel on that box, will affect the recorder. The input of the recorder will only be able to receive the signal output of the channel that was selected on the box. It is best to connect the recorder separately, in a way that allows the channel to be changed for live TV viewing, without affecting the recorder. Personal Tips: 1. While this unit will record shows directly to a recordable DVD, I find it easier to record everything to the hard drive. I can later high-speed, dub/transfer, anything I want from the hard drive to a DVD. This method eliminates the old VCR tape problems of remembering to put in an empty disk, calculating record time left on the disk, etc. 2. I have all of my hard drive video recorders powered through small APC, battery backup, Uninterrupted Power Supplies, of the type used on computers. I purchased several of them for $20.00 each on a Black Friday sale. They provide 10 to 20 minutes of continuous backup power for my recorders. This provides additional surge protection and prevents a loss of my timer programming during momentary power outages. I hope this is helpful, DV

Was this review helpful? (520) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Devoted2
Columbus Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Good but missing a few needed features
11/28/2010

Customer review by ASC2078

4.0 stars 11/28/2010 by ASC2078
by ASC2078

I have 4 of the Phillips and/or Magnavox recorders of this type. They far surpass the old tape VCRs for convenience, capacity and ease of use. This new Magnavox MDR515H/F7 500GB HDD and DVD-R, has some good improvements over the previous models. Some excellent, previous reviews. on here detail the features. Thus, I will not list all of the improvements. I will however, point out 3 badly needed missing features on these units. First, they need A/B remote control selector capability, like some of the old JVC, VCRs had. This would allow one to use 2 units in the same environment without the remote controls conflicting with each other. Second, unless, I just cannot figure out how to do it, there is no way to upload or download the contents of the hard drive to another USB mass storage device. One needs to be able to back-up the internal hard drive and/or transfer the HD's contents to their other recorders. It will write to DVDs, but DVDs do not have enough capacity to transfer a whole hard drive. The ability to create folders to group programs would also be helpful. One thing I miss on this newer Magnavox MDR515H/F7, is the recording light. My older Phillips units have a blue indicator light that comes on when it goes into recording mode. At a glance, from across the room, one can tell if the machine came on as programmed. Likewise, if I see that blue light on, at some odd time, I know that a setup mistake was made like punching in AM instead of PM. All in all,,, I would highly recommend this unit. A few feature tweaks and it would go from good to fabulous. Hope this is Helpful, DB Columbus Ohio.

Was this review helpful? (243) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ASC2078
Columbus Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Excellent recorder
3/9/2011

Customer review by wdtrnr

5.0 stars 3/9/2011 by wdtrnr
by wdtrnr

I rate the MDR515H/F7 at five stars because I’ve found it to be an excellent recorder which does everything that it’s advertised to do. As a former VCR user I had a steep learning curve facing me when I got the 515. But, by first reading the excellent review posted by wajo2 on 11-3-10 and its many links to additional information, plus, thoroughly reading the very adequate manual, I found that setup went reasonably smoothly and daily usage of this unit has been more than satisfactory. The only serious setup problem that I encountered was when I caused the unit to lock up (my fault) during setup and had to unplug it for several hours (overnight) before the time display reverted to the dot pattern that indicates that the unit is ready to be re-setup. After that everything went smoothly. As far as the negative comments that have been posted, I feel that being familiar with the available information before you dive into the setup and usage of this recorder will go a long way toward making your experience with the 515 a pleasant and successful one.

Was this review helpful? (138) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wdtrnr
Carlisle, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A NEW AND IMPROVED Magnavox HDD/DVD Recorder!
10/4/2011

Customer review by wajo2

5.0 stars 10/4/2011 by wajo2
by wajo2

Replacing my deleted Review of 11/03/2010 The Mag 515 is a std def (SD) DVD recorder (DVDR) with hard disk drive (HDD), DVD burner and digital tuners for antenna and cable TV. It's the 7th generation of a design that began in 2007 with the award-winning Philips 3575 designed specifically for the U.S. digital transition. All models in this series have had the same basic operating system and all were built by the same Japanese company, Funai Electric, Ltd. Basic features of the 515 include: -500GB HDD. -DVD burner. -NTSC/ATSC/QAM tuners for antenna or cable TV. -36 timer-rec programs. -DV input. -6-hour autorecord buffer. -Pause live TV & rewind live TV (w/buffer). -Chase play a recording in progress. -Simultaneous play & record. -Coax digital audio out. -1080p HDMI upconvert. -Amplified coax passthru of SDTV and HDTV signals. * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * DIFFERENCES IN THIS MODEL: If you looked at or have one of the previous models in the sries… Philips 3575 > Philips 3576 > Mag 2080 > Mag 2160 > Mag 2160A > Mag 513… you might only need to know about the important improvements listed below: LARGER HDD - 500GB Holds 103-629 SD hours of recorded titles, depending on rec mode selected. DAY-OF-WEEK ADDED TO GENERIC TITLE Now includes the day-of-week each title was recorded on, which helps identify which of your favorite shows it is... but the best is NEXT item! AUTO-TITLE FOR TIMER RECORDINGS OUR #1 WISH! They added a third option to the timer "Program Change" menu. As an example, after setting a program for "CSI," click on that program in the timer list and select "Edit Title Name" option, then enter "CSI" in the same manner we title recordings now. "CSI" then gets transferred to the 1st line of that show's HDD Title (every recorded instance) instead of the previous generic date/time info. Now, with a show name, you can start catching up on your CSI episodes by going to the first "CSI" you see and not give a 2nd thought to date and time! TIMER PROGRAM SKIP Now has a "skip-one-time" option in the Timer Programming list/menu. "SKIP" is 1st item, which you can change for any program to a checkmark by arrowing up/dn, which indicates Skip is ON. Reverts to normal active program (Skip OFF or no checkmark) after that program is skipped once. You can set the checkmark again if you wanted to skip that program again. BETTER REMOTE CONTROL New remote, NC003UD. 29 of 47 buttons non-square (11 of 47 on 2160 & 513 remotes). Same rect. shape & size but larger buttons arranged better and spread out more over the available surface area, e.g., only 3 # buttons across top in same space as 4 before, so most top buttons are now rectangular and ~2X larger. CH+/- and Skip/Replay buttons are now large rockers. AUTO CLOCK DEFAULT OFF Eliminates many problems caused before by bad time-signal data. People didn't even know that Auto Clock was ON as default, they just knew things went "bad" or froze up after a short time. Here's "The 11:57 Procedure" you can use to test YOUR unit for a good Auto Clock time signal: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=12298425&postcount=11#Set2 REDUCED "ARE YOU SURE" MENU DIALOGS TO ONE REMOVED CONFUSING AUTO PREVIEW ON END-CUTS INCREASED POWER BACKUP TIME TO 1-HOUR The Wish List that helped Funai make these improvements for U.S. customer is here: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=19080385&postcount=10447 Only disappointment is that, while the remote IS much better, it still operates the 2160, 2160A and 513. Users of the Philips 3575/3576 units that preceded these Mags can use them in multi-unit setups since the Philips and Mag remotes don't clash (operate each other). Users of multiple Magnavox machines will have to use one of the "klugey" methods described in this help file to isolate one machine for playback, etc.: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=18758451&postcount=9698 * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * FOR NEWCOMERS TO DVDRs OR THIS BRAND OF DVDR: The 515 can record from an antenna or from cable TV. It can also record from cable boxes and satellite receivers or copy from DVRs, as described in this help file (see STB, TIPS and DVR subjects): http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=12298438&postcount=13 The 515 is so easy to use it can be operated by the entire family, from kids to VCR timeshifters to gearheads. Timeshifters can reliably record a bunch of shows unattended and with NO tapes or discs, while gearheads can upgrade their HDD or create an "HDD farm" of multiple 2.5" and 3.5" external (E-SATA) HDDs with unlimited storage, <1-min. drive swapout, HDD portability, and external power for less internal heat and stress, as described in #5 here: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=12355769&postcount=39#HDDpioneers The DVD burner is also DIY replaceable with a $67 OEM drive, as described here: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=12355769&postcount=39#DVDremove For the past ~4 years, this same Philips/Magnavox HDD-DVDR design has proven to be a simple, reliable, and cost-effective way to record your daily and weekly shows on analog and digital channels, completely unattended, so you can go on a long vacation or business trip and you'll never touch a disc! It's the only device you'll need to copy your family's home movies or your DVR recordings to a stand-alone, no-monthly-fee HDD, where you can edit or not, then high-speed dub to DVDs for a perfect mirror-image of the original. You can also record/copy direct to DVD, if you prefer. You won't need a digital converter box wherever you've got one of these, and the HDD will spoil you rotten! * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * Be aware that the manual has several important omissions, errors and misleads, as described here: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=12355737&postcount=38 A few examples from that help file are: 1.UNDOCUMENTED: Making front- and end-cuts in Edit. In the Scene Delete menu, only REW stops on 1st frame and only PLAY and FF stop on last frame. 2160, 2160A and 513 also have a totally confusing and unnecessary auto-Preview after an End Cut that should be IGNORED. 515 doesn't have this! Here's the help file on Editing: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=12298466&postcount=17 2. WRONG: Placing this recorder behind a cable box. It should be 1st on the incoming cable coax unless you order PPV/VOD thru the box, then you need a 2-way splitter on the incoming coax. It should NEVER be behind a cable box where it can only record the channel the box is tuned to. For info on Connections and placing this recorder 1st on the coax, see the CONNECTIONS subject in the list of help files: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=12298409&postcount=10 3. MISLEADING: Recording 16:9 widescreen (WS) "as 4:3": It HAS TO record a 4:3 aspect IAW the DVD std, which was built on the old VHS std, but that std allows a combo of square/non-square pixels, variable horiz. rez, compression and decompression within that 4:3 frame. THAT'S what allows your HDTV to compress and stretch the 4:3 pic to natural 16:9 WS aspect when it's set on its "Wide" setting, i.e., some video hocus-pocus, and it looks beautiful! However, the DEFAULT setting for aspect ratio is 4:3 Letter Box in the Video > TV Aspect menu, and you have to change that to 16:9 Wide during setup or none of your recordings will be 16:9 WS! More on aspect and 16:9 WS is here: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=12371974&postcount=62 * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * IF YOU NEED MORE INFO OR HELP ON ANYTHING, IT'S HERE: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?p=12244086#post12244086 * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * Disclaimer: I don't represent or work for Funai in any capacity… or anyone else, for that matter! :)

Was this review helpful? (64) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wajo2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 10 contributor
This Is The Deck I've Been Looking For
6/24/2011

Customer review by robthesounddude

5.0 stars 6/24/2011 by robthesounddude
by robthesounddude

As a professional in the television and film industries, I'm pretty demanding. The machines I have in the house are all professional level decks. So when they started to age and I knew that I would eventually have to replace one of both, I started researching what was out there to replace my old Panasonic DVD Player/VHS combo decks (I have two and had a dead Panny DVD Recorder/VHS combo in a third room). All sources I checked lead to the Magnavox MDR515H/F7 500GB HDD and DVD-R with Digital Tuner. I was already a member of the AVS forum so I checked out their massive amount of resources on various decks and found their incredible board on this deck. It helped me make up my mind on my purchase. I had the deck delivered to my closest Walmart store along with an HDMI cable and a box of Sony DVD-RW discs, which came highly rated. The cable and discs came within a couple of days and the deck about a week later. Now being a professional in the biz and working around very expensive high level gear, you'd think I'd be a pro at setting up home video gear. Nope. I'm just like everyone else. So do be informed that this deck has so much in it, you will have to pre-read the manual front to back before setup, and maybe a few times to get the feel of it. After you use it for a while, you'll see that it is actually very well thought out and somewhat intuitive, though there are a few functions that you're just going to have to break down and read the manual BEFORE you try to make them work. I keep the manual right with the deck just in case. Through repeated use and practice, you'll eventually learn how all the functions work. Man, does this device have a lot in it! Now, to my set up. First, for a comprehensive initial introduction to the 515, read the excellent review a few down from this one by user "wajo2". I can't improve on that. And be sure to check out the AVS forum. The members there got me through a difficult start as I'll describe. Initially, everything started out fine and I was having a great time putting the deck through it's paces. But then, while I was trying to use a feature that let's you change the title of something you recorded, the deck locked up on me. I had read that this deck on rare occasion can lock up and on even rarer occasion, you have to take it back to the store and have another shipped to you. I did buy the extended "no questions asked" warranty for this deck. But after going to the AVS forum, the friendly members there advised me to first, pull the power and let it sit overnight, which I did. Then they said to hold the power button in and then plug the power cable in while still holding in the power button until the "On" indicator showed in the display. I did this and the machine came back to normal and I've been using it daily ever since without a hiccup. I won't repeat all it's features as you can read about those in the product description and in others' reviews. And it does have a few very minor quirks as well as features they just couldn't put in the deck or it's software (such as the TvGuide scheduler for auto recording programming) but that is nitpicking. So trust the word of a professional, if you need to replace that old, dying VHS or combo deck, and you don't want to go with a Tivo, this IS the deck to consider! We will be getting another one right away for the other bedroom and maybe a third for the den!

Was this review helpful? (47) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
robthesounddude
Central Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Last HDD based recorder in the USA
12/31/2010

Customer review by Astrol

5.0 stars 12/31/2010 by Astrol
by Astrol

Some history--- I'm fairly experienced with DVD burning having owned several different units through the years. Previously, the best ever for me has been a Toshiba XS32, a full featured HDD based recorder from the early-mid '00s. Never had a hard drive issue with it other than small capacity but the burner went flukey so I replaced that with 2 different LG burners through the years, unfortunately losing the ability to read a fair number of XS32 burned discs of various formats along the way due to some hit-or-miss compatiblity. I also upgraded the stock 80GB HDD buying another 2 160GBs as well. That is as high as they allowed with that older Toshiba model. Over time, with the advent of the Digital conversion and the sometimes working, sometimes not status of the XS32, I fell out of the practice of burning DVDs and preferred to off-load the cable DVR to the HDDs I had accumulated until full ... an expensive habit to say the least. So, after having been away from recording on anything other than my cable DVR for at least a couple of years, it is something of a revelation to now own a 500GB HDD based DVD recorder with this level of quality and ease of operation (the old ones like the XS32 needed manuals approaching Encyclopedia thickness). Web reviews from long time HDD/DVD recording fans point to the Magnavox models as being well designed and very reliable. Due to the Funai absorption of most DVD recorder makers out there, it turns out this Magnavox is very similar to the 160GB Philips 3575 I tried out a few years ago but has some marked improvements. Aside from the 'are-you-kidding-me' massive HDD, the on-DVD editing is just a real treat after years of one burn/one time with DVD-Rs. I hate to think of the coasters I produced with the XS32 by not being completely thorough. All of the actual scene editing still needs to be done on the HDD of course but the flexibility of burning and then still being able to edit important data is way cool and a thoughtful touch. The manual is a work in progress in some respects but there are many resources available on the web like the www.AVSforum.com website which has a long established recorder forum offering friendly advice and featuring many helpful tips. After having made recordings the past few weeks including a good deal of Christmas fare, I just burned my first disc with the 515 today and the entire process was as painless as could be. After burning I was still able to edit titles on the DVD and also add short titles to fill up the disc as much as possible by overwriting the empty space. About the only thing missing from this machine's repertoire is the ability to combine/merge titles on the HDD when editing. Title division is possible however. The finished product after finalizing was viewed on a Panny BD60 BluRay player and I must say the quality was more than I expected. All in all this Magnavox is a very respectable unit with more than enough features to satisfy most any Disc burning fans still out there. I now look forward to returning to DVD burning instead of constant DVR erasing and loss of material. Kudos to both Funai and WalMart for keeping the HDD based recording units available in the U.S. After the Digital conversion, many of these machines just disappeared to the point that now this unit is the only one of it's kind worth buying here in the States. IMO, at anything near this pricing, the value received is off the charts.

Was this review helpful? (33) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Astrol
D.C. Metro area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Tuner missed many channels
7/16/2011

Customer review by Kuzman

1.0 stars 7/16/2011 by Kuzman
by Kuzman

I was looking to replace a 4-5 year old Phillips DVD recorder and this looked like a great option. After scanning for channels on the unit, I found that the tuner had only added ~40% of the channels delivered from my cable company. (Both my TV and the Phillips DVD recorder find all the channels ok.) If I tuned a known, good channel that the tuner hadn't added, I got a "Scramble Channel" display. After calling tech support and explaining the situation I was told that the tuner was bad. I returned the unit and purchased another. New unit, same problem. Again I called tech support. The first person told me that I needed another cable from the unit to the TV. (I was using an HDMI out cable and they said I needed a coax in addition.) Don't know how another output cable was going to make the tuner pick up more channels? So I called tech support again and got another person. This one told me that the tuner wouldn't get all channels and that I would just need to watch those channels through my TV. Kind of defeats the purpose of having a HDD/DVD! So I returned this unit as well. Disappointing adventure, as otherwise I found the unit to be pretty feature rich and was looking forward to using it. BTW, I say people stating that the DVD drive drawer wouldn't open. In the short time I had the unit I learned that the unit had to be set on "DVD" for the open/close of the DVD drawer to work. If the unit is set on HDD, the drawer will not open.

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kuzman
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
No monthly fees!!
12/8/2010

Customer review by Pumpkin101

5.0 stars 12/8/2010 by Pumpkin101
by Pumpkin101

We had finally gotten sick of recording to VHS tapes but did not want to be stuck with a monthly fee using a DVR through the cable company or Tivo. This DVR works perfectly. We split the cable signal so that it goes directly to this DVR as well as the TV so we can watch a different show than what is being recorded. Very easy to program the shows to record and can specify if they repeat daily or weekly etc. Very easy menu system to find the recorded shows on the hard drive. We plan on using the dubbing feature to convert some home movies to DVD but have not tried that feature yet. This is the perfect DVR to replace your VCR without any monthly fees!!

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pumpkin101
Southern NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good DVR.
2/19/2011

Customer review by TracyMN

4.0 stars 2/19/2011 by TracyMN
by TracyMN

I wanted to buy a DVR because I refuse to pay cable monopolies outrageous rates for their DVRs. Ok fine you have to set things up in 2 different places, but its a small price to pay not have a continuous $15-20 additional every month. That being said, I what I really wanted was a Panasonic DVR because they have built in TV guides, which are not available anymore. So I settled for a Mangnavox. For the price it is an awesome DVR. I don't really need 500GB, but all the extra features this one has compared to the MDR513, paying the extra $50 didn't really bother me. I've only had this for about 2 weeks, but it works great! I really like the DTV tuner, i record most of my programming in 1080i. Its awesome! I have yet use the any dubbing features, but the DVR suits my needs. I especially like the skip button that fast forwards 30s at a time or whatever you wish to set it to. I must caution though, this DVR is my 2nd one. The first one I bought had a failed clock i.e. it would not update at all. There is no point in a DVR if the time doenst update. Also, everytime I unplugged it, it would be not power up until, I did a soft reset, ie leave it unplugged for 2 hours before I plug it in again. So i had to return it, I had no issues with Walmart taking it back. I decided to give it one more try and thankfully, I've had no issues so far. This dvr definitely beats recurring monthly fees, and for the price its great. However, quality can be an issue.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TracyMN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Digital Tuning Trouble
1/8/2011

Customer review by SGeeker

3.0 stars 1/8/2011 by SGeeker
by SGeeker

My house, like many throughout the US, suffers from a weak cable signal. Both of my HD TVs have sensitive enough tuners to have clear pictures. When I hooked up the Magnavox MDR515H/F7 DVR, the reception was blocky and breaking up. I even tried disconnecting all splitters and other devices, but it wasn't enough for the DVR to be able to clearly tune in a single digital channel. I had to box it up and returned it. I need a DVR that can reliably record each and every digital channel.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SGeeker
Would recommend to a friend? No
poor quality
8/2/2011

Customer review by 1234567123456712345671234

1.0 stars 8/2/2011 by 1234567123456712345671234
by 1234567123456712345671234

First one DOA; no sound; returned. Second one failed after 4 months (90 day warranty); does not power up at all. Fortunately purchased extended warranty but still really annoying. Clearly poor quality product. Avoid. Works fine when it works--but that's not often.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1234567123456712345671234
Would recommend to a friend? No
Major Feature Missing
12/5/2010

Customer review by scrapon

3.0 stars 12/5/2010 by scrapon
by scrapon

This model will not delete tv individual sub-channels as in example: channel 6.1 6.2 6.3 6.4 You have to delete all or none. So if you don't want 6.3 or 6.5 etc. sorry your stuck with them! I took this model back and had to buy the older 513 model. It lets you delete any individual channel. If you buy this model you will be surfing through a lot of channels that you can't delete. If this problem does not concern you go ahead and buy it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
scrapon
Milwaukee suburbs, Wi.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Throw away your VCR!
7/27/2011

Customer review by miguelx

5.0 stars 7/27/2011 by miguelx
by miguelx

I'm still kicking myself for waiting so long to buy this thing. Life is simpler now; life is better. This was the best entertainment purchase I've ever made, period. The unit was a breeze to set up and basic recording and playback are as easy as pie. It is a fairly complex machine though, and there is a learning curve. That's because it has a lot of functions, but don't be intimidated, just keep the manual handy and take it one step at a time. Each step is simple, there are just a lot of those simple steps you can take, so don't try to learn it all at once; just focus on what you need to know at the moment. As has been mentioned in other reviews, take the time to check out this web page... http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=12244086&postcount=1 You'll find some invaluable information there, but if it seems a bit thick don't let it confuse you. Just remember, simple steps, one at a time.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
miguelx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Alternative to Cable and Dish Network
10/8/2011

Customer review by JoMo46

5.0 stars 10/8/2011 by JoMo46
by JoMo46

We originally signed up for Charter Cable TV service, but found that the signal would go out when it rained, got too hot or cold which we got lots of promises that the problem would be cured soon, but after 3 years of inferior service we decided to change over to Dish Network, which worked much better. Recently, we decided to 'Ditch the Dish' and start using FTA as a way of saving money, but didn't want to give up DVR as our busy schedules made it impossible to watch TV during scheduled broadcasting times. This led to searching for a FTA Receiver with built-in HDD and DVD Recorder for which we decided on the Magnavox MDR515H/F7 500GB HDD and DVD-R with Digital Tuner. We couldn't be happier with our decision as the Magnavox was easy to setup and use. It provides the ability to record programs and pause live TV which was very important to us. We highly recommend this product to anyone looking for an alternative to Cable or Dish Network.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JoMo46
Buford, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best of a very limited bunch.
8/1/2011

Customer review by Colony1995

3.0 stars 8/1/2011 by Colony1995
by Colony1995

Having just moved to the USA from Europe, I was amazed to find such a limited choice of dvd recorders here. A lot of people in the UK who have satellite or cable also have a DVD recorder to back up/copy recordings from their satellite/Cable boxes. In fact the major satellite provider in the UK even gives you a "copy" option in the saved programs list which permits a one button transfer via HDMI from the sat box to the HDD. There's a huge choice of devices on the market and generally the newer generation models provide better functionality, performance and user interface than this Magnavox model. Having said that however you can only choose from what's available and having scoured the internet here for the last couple of months decided to buy this and see how it would perform. I took the precaution of downloading the hook up notes from the AVS forum (http://www.avsforum.com ) which I would recommend anybody new to this should also take the time to download and print. Once I had it all connected it worked fine and so far I have had no issues with copying to the HDD and then dubbing onto DVD. So in summary I would say that it does what it's supposed to do although some of the operations are cumbersome and time consuming. Scene & title editing are a pain and anything else that relies on advanced use of the remote, which looks like it came out of the Ark and would be more at home with and old VHS recorder! You will need some patience with it but nevertheless it's good value for money from the limited choice available.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Colony1995
Ocala FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
WOW!
3/24/2011

Customer review by BKCP

5.0 stars 3/24/2011 by BKCP
by BKCP

IF you want a recoder that will recorded programs to watch later that is just as if you are watching it while it was being broadcasted you have got to get this. Play back on 1080 is wonderful! Take your VCR and DVD recoders and kick them to the curb! HDD is the way to go. This unit is simple to use and easy to setup. I love this unit so much I am ordering another one just for safe keeping. Thank you Walmart for stocking this product!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BKCP
Sumter,SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works as advertised
4/25/2011

Customer review by BNC4477

5.0 stars 4/25/2011 by BNC4477
by BNC4477

Product does what it says it will. Like Tivo, but without a subscription. DVD recording also works great.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BNC4477
Boonville, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Magnavox 515 Died
8/28/2011

Customer review by stevations

1.0 stars 8/28/2011 by stevations
by stevations

Be careful not to sneeze too close to the machine or it might break.....small power outage in the neighborhood.....power restored to the neighborhood....all electronics in the house are fine except the Magnavox 515, no power, no display....only used it one week.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stevations
virginia beach va
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
BUY IT
9/7/2011

Customer review by ACEARUE

5.0 stars 9/7/2011 by ACEARUE
by ACEARUE

I did a one day shipping to the house. I ordered it late in the afternoon and it was shipped the next day and I received it the following day. The unit setup easily without any hassle. Of course, I already had a PIONEER DVR bought off the shelf in a Wal-Mart store in 2007. The two units have similar Menu options for setup so I had some understanding in configuring the Maganox DVR. I did not use the built-in digital receiver since I am using cable TV service with upgraded channel packages. I took the output from the cable box ran it to the 'Input' (backside) of the DVR. This allows me to record any channel I tune on the cable box. The Magnavox DVR appears to be very good in design and operation. I would recommend this unit to anyone asking for a recommendation. I did buy the 3 year Warrenty package only for pure protection. I did buy a warranty package for my PIONEER unit but nothing ever happened to that unit. It is a roll of the dice on purchasing the Warranty package.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ACEARUE
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
I Think This Is an Absolutely Great Product
2/12/2012

Customer review by NeilDNPoleAK

5.0 stars 2/12/2012 by NeilDNPoleAK
by NeilDNPoleAK

This is the latest in a line of great DVDR products from Funai. My recent purchase of this Magnavox MDR515H/F7 is my sixth Funai DVDR (all still work great incidentally). The 500GB HDD is excellent. I know I should never use a HDD for long-term storage, but I do, and the Funai machines have all served me very well regarding HDD life. Of course, I copy truly important titles to DVD and then to multiple products for archiving. All others I just like to retain for my convenience. If they go away someday because of a HDD failure I won't feel too bad. This machine is no different from it's predecessors in that it is straightforward and extremely easy to use. Even editing and dubbing has been made very user-friendly and easy to do. Of course, I speak from a strictly home-user perspective. Professionals and videophiles might prefer something more exotic perhaps. I am able to do all I wish to do so far as editing is concerned and the results are great. One incidental comment here is that while the machine permits title dividing, it does not combine titles, but that might be expecting too much of a machine of this class, and the need for combining titles is very rare for me indeed. This is not an HD machine but I am not interested in HD so that is unimportant to me. I record only at the LP rate on both the HDD and DVD's and cannot detect any difference whatever between the recorded products and original TV broadcasts and SD video cameras. The machine has ample input and output connections on the back, plus inputs on the front, including a DV IN which work great with my digital video cameras. I've read some reviews critical of the Magnavox remote controls but I have none important enough to warrant comment. The remote for this model is changed from the preceding 320GB version but either remote works on either Magnavox machine for me, at least so far. Both work quite well for all my purposes. As a modest home user of this product I am very satisfied. It is reasonably priced and somewhat a rare breed today. I have not found anyone selling anything comparable for the past few years and, even when other products were available, they were certainly not reasonably priced as these Funai machines are and not as user-friendly for we home users. I suggest this is a great product and a monumental step up from video tape recording for home users. After using a DVDR for a few years I don't even like to work with my old video tape recorders any longer unless I absolutely have to.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NeilDNPoleAK
North Pole, AK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 593 total reviews
1-20 of 593 reviews