Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 24 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

24 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

24 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
6
1-20 of 24 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 24 total reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews
Ugh
12/9/2010

Customer review by recordingnut

2.0 stars 12/9/2010 by recordingnut
by recordingnut

I followed the directions on the package and thought I had done a great job until I stopped to admire my work. Thats when all the plastic came off the tape and I had to put it back up with packaging tape that I had. I could have done this with regular plastic and package tape.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
recordingnut
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Horrible! Not easy to use. Won't cover 5 windows.
11/27/2013

Customer review by hockeyboy22

1.0 stars 11/27/2013 by hockeyboy22
by hockeyboy22

Having used Duck brand window kits over the past few years for insulation from the New England weather, I decided to try the Roll-On Premium Window Kit in hopes that the "easy custom fit" would save me much time over the traditional kit. Instead what I received is a completely flawed product that cost me additional time, money, and frustration. When attempting to unroll the film across the top of my window, I found that the film did not roll symmetrically off. Despite my careful attempts to try to ensure that everything remained aligned, what ended up happening at the end was an oblique cut of the film (despite following the instructions of having a 2" reserve on either side). This oblique cut resulted in me not having enough film at the bottom of the window to spread across to the double-sided tape. Whats more is that the pre-taped portion of the film is a poor excuse for an adhesive, so the rolling across the top of the window was slightly misaligned to start. Having to completely trash my first attempt, I found exactly the same problem with my second attempt: inability of the film to roll symmetrically -- though luckily I expected this horrible design flaw and gave myself much more than the recommended 2" extensions. This still didn't address the fact that the top "pre-taped" part had absolutely minimal stickyness with the window frame. Hoping that a little heat would help, I finally had to resort to using a significant amount of packing tape in order to create the seal at the top -- another significant loss in time and money. After getting a second window done in the same manner, it was apparent that I would not have enough film to complete a third. I have spent more than three times the amount of money for this "easy roll-on" kit compared to the traditional kit. Instead of providing coverage for 5 windows (with sizing the same as my windows) as advertised, I was only able to painfully cover two windows. I consider myself a relatively handy man when it comes to do-it-yourself projects, but this product is absolutely worthless.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hockeyboy22
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Junk
11/1/2012

Customer review by dohc4

1.0 stars 11/1/2012 by dohc4
by dohc4

Tape sticks to everything but what it is supposed to stick to. Had the same experience with other duck products. Use to use Frost King. They worked great. Wal-Mart no longer carries that brand. Will go to another retailer that carries Frost King.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dohc4
gettysburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
excellent product for indoors
1/14/2012

Customer review by 4tony

5.0 stars 1/14/2012 by 4tony
by 4tony

have bought this kit every year and never failed me i live in massachusetts so we got cold the tape that comes with it is in my opinion not the best but any tape will work so get it put it up and stay warm ---save money

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
4tony
north oxford ,ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
11/23/2010

Customer review by sabbie

5.0 stars 11/23/2010 by sabbie
by sabbie

this works great,but it will not work if the temp is under 40 degrees. it will keep the draft out.great product for the type of weather we have in cleveland,ohio.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sabbie
hudson,ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
happy happy happy
2/21/2014

Customer review by happyasapig

5.0 stars 2/21/2014 by happyasapig
by happyasapig

New window to reduce your heating or cooling bill is more likely the best solution. Unfortunately I do not have the $15,000 they quoted to do this. This is a fantastic much cheaper solution that works for both summer and winter and still looks as if its not there. Even if you redid it each year it would take 300 years to cost the same as new windows. I will stick to these until I sell thank you.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
happyasapig
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellant product
12/4/2013

Customer review by GrandmawBuzzy

5.0 stars 12/4/2013 by GrandmawBuzzy
by GrandmawBuzzy

I love the wy the top is already to put on with the tape already attached. Easier than the usual sheets of plastic. Could use more of the alcohol pads to clean the surface where the tape goes.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrandmawBuzzy
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I liked this product
11/30/2012

Customer review by obarbie

4.0 stars 11/30/2012 by obarbie
by obarbie

its easy and simple to put up and does the job its suppose to, but tape isnt any good I went by other reviews and bought my own clear tape , just in case and sure enough I needed it

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
obarbie
hilton ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 500 contributor
would not BUY again
10/22/2014

Customer review by NuggyLulu

3.0 stars 10/22/2014 by NuggyLulu
by NuggyLulu

It was a mess nothing like the kit u can buy that doesn't have the tape already on it.....

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NuggyLulu
Gallitzin,Pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
window sealant
12/31/2014

Customer review by bammamac

5.0 stars 12/31/2014 by bammamac
by bammamac

This was my first time trying this product. I am impressed. The seal is nice and tight. No wind pent rates the seal. Blocks drafts perfectly. This will definitely be a yearly ritual. Great price and fast delivery.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bammamac
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product
1/16/2014

Customer review by Myassisdragon50

5.0 stars 1/16/2014 by Myassisdragon50
by Myassisdragon50

Went up very easy. As I am a widow with no one to help with these things, I found it so easy to put up in just a couple minutes

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Myassisdragon50
Corning NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Work well
10/16/2012

Customer review by cherbear

5.0 stars 10/16/2012 by cherbear
by cherbear

We live in an old farm house-in Vermont.........so drafts are a big problem and it just gets plain old COLD in the winter...so we are always looking for the ways to manage draft. There is not a winter that these do no go on ALL our windows. the ones we placed on the basement windows are there year round.......and have been there for more than three years now! No problems with clouding etc. They are tricky to put up well-but it is worth the time. One review was less than positive because of the tape-but an easy fix would be to get a fresh roll of double sided sticky tape. These things keep our house toasty! Would not go a winter in VT without them

cherbear
Colchester VT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Expertise:Expert
Gender:Female
Frequency of use:Yearly
good product
7/23/2012

Customer review by grayman05

5.0 stars 7/23/2012 by grayman05
by grayman05

put on 2 windows in winter of 2011, still on my windows after 3 days of 100 degrees

grayman05
j c tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Home improvement profile:Other
Expertise:Beginner
Gender:Male
Frequency of use:Yearly
The roll-on feature is the best!
10/28/2012

Customer review by Della

5.0 stars 10/28/2012 by Della
by Della

The roll-on window kits are the best by far! The ease of application makes this product better than any other brands on the market. I apply them in the fall and they stay on until I remove them in the spring. Best part: my windows don't sweat and melt all over the sills.

Della
Racine, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Female
Frequency of use:Yearly
awesome
11/12/2012

Customer review by isabeltinkerbell

5.0 stars 11/12/2012 by isabeltinkerbell
by isabeltinkerbell

love them they work great easy to use there awesome my mom loves them to

isabeltinkerbell
New Mexico, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Home improvement profile:Other
Expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Female
Frequency of use:Yearly
The Best and Most Reliable Window Kit
11/13/2012

Customer review by Sandcastle

5.0 stars 11/13/2012 by Sandcastle
by Sandcastle

Yes! Duck brand heat and shrink is without a doubt the very best and most reliable window insulation kit on the market. First of all, the quality. The shrink film is crystal clear and very tough. Its not thin and flimsy and "flyaway" like the others. That makes it easy to handle! The double sided tape that comes with it is really easy and simple to work with. Once properly applied as per the instructions, you will be amazed at its holding strength. My tape rolls had 288 inches in length to work with! Duck brand will help you stay warm, decrease your heating bills, and will help to eliminate wind and cold air coming through your windows! Have a snug winter! Quacks to all of you!

Sandcastle
Pawleys Island, SC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Expertise:Expert
Gender:Male
Frequency of use:Yearly
Easiest winderizing I have ever done!
12/10/2013

Customer review by Prairiedoll

5.0 stars 12/10/2013 by Prairiedoll
by Prairiedoll

Every year it's an exhausting task as I attempt to put plastic on my windows. Today I came across Duck Extra Large Patio Door Roll-on Window Kit...hummm...Was curious as to how this was going to work...Like a charm! I couldn't believe it. Went up quickly with no trouble at all..This project is done by myself and the most difficult part was to put my blinds back up..Thank you Duck for making this job effortless. You have a superior product and I will continue to use and try more of your product lines.

Prairiedoll
Manitoba
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Expertise:Beginner
Gender:Female
Frequency of use:Yearly
This product is easy to use.
10/17/2013

Customer review by Cindy3

5.0 stars 10/17/2013 by Cindy3
by Cindy3

I buy this product every year, I would not use anything else. It really does work....

Cindy3
North Vernon, IN 47265, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Expertise:Expert
Gender:Female
Frequency of use:Yearly
Decent Product
5/9/2014

Customer review by Estix

4.0 stars 5/9/2014 by Estix
by Estix

I liked this product, and it did what I needed it to, but only with a little extra help. The tape at the top and the double sided one that comes with it wouldn't stick to the semi-gloss painted walls. I ended up using some cheap packing take to get it to stick and stay up.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Estix
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Has good features
12/14/2013

Customer review by Patches

4.0 stars 12/14/2013 by Patches
by Patches

Is easy to use and you can see through it when done. Love that

Patches
Caroga Lake, NY, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Female
Frequency of use:Yearly
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews