Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 31 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

31 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

31 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
15
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
8
1-20 of 31 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews
pre taped tape lets go! What a wast of my time and money.
11/28/2016

Customer review by Mike the pro window installer

2.0 stars 11/28/2016 by Mike the pro window installer
by Mike the pro window installer

Installed roll-on window kit. A few days later we felt cold air coming in! Pre-taped top edge let loose! Big problem with that! Especially after you shrink it with hair dryer! Good luck getting that back on! Maybee I'll call Harry Hodini and have him work some magic on it to fix it! Thanks a lot! We need help! I will buy some more of your double stick tape and see if I can insert it under your roll-on tape.

Mike the pro window installer
What a disappointment!
12/26/2014

Customer review by mab99

1.0 stars 12/26/2014 by mab99
by mab99

It looks so simple, so easy to install, and the price was right, so I bought it expecting a no-hassle installation. Was I ever wrong! The alcohol wipes are about the size of postage stamps, and hardly clean anything. After the first one, I took a sponge and cleaned the molding, and let it dry, then tried the second alcohol wipe to finish the job across the top molding. Then I tried applying the taped film to the top. And tried again. I used the two wipes I had left (which I was reserving for the sides) to clean again, and tried again. IT DOESN'T STICK and that's all there is to it. Now obviously, if it doesn't stick, it isn't going to do the job. So I'll try to attach it using regular duct tape (not aesthetically appealing, but if it works...) and if that doesn't work, I'm heading back to the store to find the competitor's product. VERY DISAPPOINTED!

mab99
Illinois, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Frequency of use:Yearly
The Best and Most Reliable Window Kit
11/13/2012

Customer review by Sandcastle

5.0 stars 11/13/2012 by Sandcastle
by Sandcastle

Yes! Duck brand heat and shrink is without a doubt the very best and most reliable window insulation kit on the market. First of all, the quality. The shrink film is crystal clear and very tough. Its not thin and flimsy and "flyaway" like the others. That makes it easy to handle! The double sided tape that comes with it is really easy and simple to work with. Once properly applied as per the instructions, you will be amazed at its holding strength. My tape rolls had 288 inches in length to work with! Duck brand will help you stay warm, decrease your heating bills, and will help to eliminate wind and cold air coming through your windows! Have a snug winter! Quacks to all of you!

Sandcastle
Pawleys Island, SC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Expert
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Frequency of use:Yearly
Work well
10/16/2012

Customer review by cherbear

5.0 stars 10/16/2012 by cherbear
by cherbear

We live in an old farm house-in Vermont.........so drafts are a big problem and it just gets plain old COLD in the winter...so we are always looking for the ways to manage draft. There is not a winter that these do no go on ALL our windows. the ones we placed on the basement windows are there year round.......and have been there for more than three years now! No problems with clouding etc. They are tricky to put up well-but it is worth the time. One review was less than positive because of the tape-but an easy fix would be to get a fresh roll of double sided sticky tape. These things keep our house toasty! Would not go a winter in VT without them

cherbear
Colchester VT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Expert
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Frequency of use:Yearly
Easiest winderizing I have ever done!
12/10/2013

Customer review by Prairiedoll

5.0 stars 12/10/2013 by Prairiedoll
by Prairiedoll

Every year it's an exhausting task as I attempt to put plastic on my windows. Today I came across Duck Extra Large Patio Door Roll-on Window Kit...hummm...Was curious as to how this was going to work...Like a charm! I couldn't believe it. Went up quickly with no trouble at all..This project is done by myself and the most difficult part was to put my blinds back up..Thank you Duck for making this job effortless. You have a superior product and I will continue to use and try more of your product lines.

Prairiedoll
Manitoba
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Beginner
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Frequency of use:Yearly
Do NOT Purchase!
11/2/2011

Customer review by jmc1959

1.0 stars 11/2/2011 by jmc1959
by jmc1959

No matter what brand you use, these are a little tricky to install. We put this outdoor kit on when it was 75 degrees outside, used hairdryer as instructed and all looked fine, but by the next day, the plastic was coming loose from the tape! Tape was sticking just fine to the window frame though. What a waste of time and money. Never had this problem with the other brand.

jmc1959
St Louis, MO, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Expertise:Expert
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Frequency of use:Yearly
Worked great! Easy to install!
10/15/2015

Customer review by OneFineFeller

5.0 stars 10/15/2015 by OneFineFeller
by OneFineFeller

I have used other brands. This by far is the easiest to install and I am really impressed! I will use this product every winter for now on. =)!

OneFineFeller
Columbus, OH, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Frequency of use:Yearly
Roll on, roll off
11/25/2013

Customer review by Motley12

1.0 stars 11/25/2013 by Motley12
by Motley12

This is the first year we have used the roll on version and boy do I wish we wouldn't have. It went in great, was so much easier to apply but the top keeps coming open and we keep having to restick it. Would not recommend this to anyone as it defeats the purpose of weatherproofing

Motley12
Would recommend to a friend? No
The roll-on feature is the best!
10/28/2012

Customer review by Della

5.0 stars 10/28/2012 by Della
by Della

The roll-on window kits are the best by far! The ease of application makes this product better than any other brands on the market. I apply them in the fall and they stay on until I remove them in the spring. Best part: my windows don't sweat and melt all over the sills.

Della
Racine, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Frequency of use:Yearly
should have stuck to the brand I know works
12/12/2012

Customer review by kathwel

1.0 stars 12/12/2012 by kathwel
by kathwel

I thought i would give this product a try, the roll on seemed like a good idea. WRONG !! Ive had to re stick the plastic to the tape 3 times now....it keeps peeling off and hanging down, allowing cold drafty air into the room. now you tell me how is this weatherproofing.

kathwel
mn
Would recommend to a friend? No
This product is easy to use.
10/17/2013

Customer review by Cindy3

5.0 stars 10/17/2013 by Cindy3
by Cindy3

I buy this product every year, I would not use anything else. It really does work....

Cindy3
North Vernon, IN 47265, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Expert
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Frequency of use:Yearly
good product
7/23/2012

Customer review by grayman05

5.0 stars 7/23/2012 by grayman05
by grayman05

put on 2 windows in winter of 2011, still on my windows after 3 days of 100 degrees

grayman05
j c tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Beginner
Home improvement profile:Other
Frequency of use:Yearly
awesome
11/12/2012

Customer review by isabeltinkerbell

5.0 stars 11/12/2012 by isabeltinkerbell
by isabeltinkerbell

love them they work great easy to use there awesome my mom loves them to

isabeltinkerbell
New Mexico, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Home improvement profile:Other
Frequency of use:Yearly
Has good features
12/14/2013

Customer review by Patches

4.0 stars 12/14/2013 by Patches
by Patches

Is easy to use and you can see through it when done. Love that

Patches
Caroga Lake, NY, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Frequency of use:Yearly
Horrible! Not easy to use. Won't cover 5 windows.
11/27/2013

Customer review by hockeyboy22

1.0 stars 11/27/2013 by hockeyboy22
by hockeyboy22

Having used Duck brand window kits over the past few years for insulation from the New England weather, I decided to try the Roll-On Premium Window Kit in hopes that the "easy custom fit" would save me much time over the traditional kit. Instead what I received is a completely flawed product that cost me additional time, money, and frustration. When attempting to unroll the film across the top of my window, I found that the film did not roll symmetrically off. Despite my careful attempts to try to ensure that everything remained aligned, what ended up happening at the end was an oblique cut of the film (despite following the instructions of having a 2" reserve on either side). This oblique cut resulted in me not having enough film at the bottom of the window to spread across to the double-sided tape. Whats more is that the pre-taped portion of the film is a poor excuse for an adhesive, so the rolling across the top of the window was slightly misaligned to start. Having to completely trash my first attempt, I found exactly the same problem with my second attempt: inability of the film to roll symmetrically -- though luckily I expected this horrible design flaw and gave myself much more than the recommended 2" extensions. This still didn't address the fact that the top "pre-taped" part had absolutely minimal stickyness with the window frame. Hoping that a little heat would help, I finally had to resort to using a significant amount of packing tape in order to create the seal at the top -- another significant loss in time and money. After getting a second window done in the same manner, it was apparent that I would not have enough film to complete a third. I have spent more than three times the amount of money for this "easy roll-on" kit compared to the traditional kit. Instead of providing coverage for 5 windows (with sizing the same as my windows) as advertised, I was only able to painfully cover two windows. I consider myself a relatively handy man when it comes to do-it-yourself projects, but this product is absolutely worthless.

Was this review helpful? (34) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hockeyboy22
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Decent job for the price
1/22/2017

Customer review by Arteest60

4.0 stars 1/22/2017 by Arteest60
by Arteest60
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Have to handle a bit with care, and if you have horizontal blinds, can be a bit tricky to attach up under the canopy, but overall, for the price and size this package offers, it certainly is better than watching the ice form on the inside of the window. At least now there is something, this plastic, between me and the ice. Every little bit helps to prevent the leakage windows are known for.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Arteest60
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ugh
12/9/2010

Customer review by recordingnut

2.0 stars 12/9/2010 by recordingnut
by recordingnut

I followed the directions on the package and thought I had done a great job until I stopped to admire my work. Thats when all the plastic came off the tape and I had to put it back up with packaging tape that I had. I could have done this with regular plastic and package tape.

Was this review helpful? (27) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
recordingnut
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Junk
11/1/2012

Customer review by dohc4

1.0 stars 11/1/2012 by dohc4
by dohc4

Tape sticks to everything but what it is supposed to stick to. Had the same experience with other duck products. Use to use Frost King. They worked great. Wal-Mart no longer carries that brand. Will go to another retailer that carries Frost King.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dohc4
gettysburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Widow
12/13/2016

Customer review by Mell

5.0 stars 12/13/2016 by Mell
by Mell
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My 37 yr old son loved it

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mell
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellant product
12/4/2013

Customer review by GrandmawBuzzy

5.0 stars 12/4/2013 by GrandmawBuzzy
by GrandmawBuzzy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love the wy the top is already to put on with the tape already attached. Easier than the usual sheets of plastic. Could use more of the alcohol pads to clean the surface where the tape goes.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrandmawBuzzy
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews