Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 2.8out of 5 stars
2.8 out of 5 | 27 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
13
Sort by: 
1-20 of 26 reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews
Good product!!!
12/16/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The Roll On portion of this product makes it much easier to install. I still put a strip of double sided tape under the top roll on portion. I have used other brands and the plastic is usually so thin you have to handle it with kid gloves. The plastic with this product seems a little more thick than the others. Thick plastic is helpful especially when you apply heat to it. i am satisfied with this product and have installed it on all my windows in my home that need it. I have not used 3M products so i am not sure how to judge Duck products against them. Installation with any of these insulation kits takes practice and I have had 8 years practice of installing these products. If installed correctly your home will be warmer and your heat may not run as much. Using the alcohol wipes to clean the surface where the double sided tape will be applied does help with adhesion. Good product, stay warm!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
don't buy - film won't stick to tape!
12/5/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have used window film from 3M and others before but this is the first time I bought this one. What a disappointment! The plastic film has very poor adhesion to the supplied double sided tape. The outside air pressure bowing the film inward before shrinking with hair dryer was enough to separate the film from tape. Garbage. I'm going to home depot to get the real thing.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (28)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Never stays up
10/12/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Tried this over a couple of years and have never been able to get the plastic to stay up. Sometimes the adhesive gives before I can step away, sometimes it gives overnight. Got a replacement from Walmart and tried again without any better results. I've tried cleaning the surface multiple times without success. Tried putting down a layer of rubber cement to help adhesion and that worked a little, but not much. Also tried using duct tape (Duck brand as well as 3M) and clear packing tape to hold the film in place without much luck. The frustrating part is that after the adhesive gives, because the film was heated to shrink it, it's too small and tight to try fastening it again. The edges of the plastic no longer reach the edge of the window frame. Very frustrating.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
What a disappointment!
12/26/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It looks so simple, so easy to install, and the price was right, so I bought it expecting a no-hassle installation. Was I ever wrong! The alcohol wipes are about the size of postage stamps, and hardly clean anything. After the first one, I took a sponge and cleaned the molding, and let it dry, then tried the second alcohol wipe to finish the job across the top molding. Then I tried applying the taped film to the top. And tried again. I used the two wipes I had left (which I was reserving for the sides) to clean again, and tried again. IT DOESN'T STICK and that's all there is to it. Now obviously, if it doesn't stick, it isn't going to do the job. So I'll try to attach it using regular duct tape (not aesthetically appealing, but if it works...) and if that doesn't work, I'm heading back to the store to find the competitor's product. VERY DISAPPOINTED!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Absolute junk
11/14/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Used this on a set of southerly facing french doors. Beware if you put it on windows that get any sort of sun. I specifically did not take the blow dryer to it knowing that the heat from the sun would probably take out any wrinkles, but as soon as the sun hit the film, it pulled it so tight that it ripped, and the film was put on rather loosely. I then taped it so that I could get through the winter, but within a week the plastic pulled away from the pre-taped top edge and then the wind tore it to shreds. The sticky tape is still attached to my door frame holding approximately an inch of the plastic in place - the rest is gone. Absolute junk. Stick to the inside stuff, this is not worth the price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Came off in first rain storm
11/26/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Was blown off during a rain storm, winds 20mph. Waste of money.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
pre taped tape lets go! What a wast of my time and money.
11/28/2016
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Installed roll-on window kit. A few days later we felt cold air coming in! Pre-taped top edge let loose! Big problem with that! Especially after you shrink it with hair dryer! Good luck getting that back on! Maybee I'll call Harry Hodini and have him work some magic on it to fix it! Thanks a lot! We need help! I will buy some more of your double stick tape and see if I can insert it under your roll-on tape.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The Best and Most Reliable Window Kit
11/13/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Yes! Duck brand heat and shrink is without a doubt the very best and most reliable window insulation kit on the market. First of all, the quality. The shrink film is crystal clear and very tough. Its not thin and flimsy and "flyaway" like the others. That makes it easy to handle! The double sided tape that comes with it is really easy and simple to work with. Once properly applied as per the instructions, you will be amazed at its holding strength. My tape rolls had 288 inches in length to work with! Duck brand will help you stay warm, decrease your heating bills, and will help to eliminate wind and cold air coming through your windows! Have a snug winter! Quacks to all of you!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Is this the real deal?
12/15/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Have used this every year for the past 4 yrs. Always highly approved of product until this year. Material difficult to put up, as if folded wrong @ factory. Then after it was installed the tape came off & plastic ripped at edges. Cheap, cheap, cheap but the price did not come down that much.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Easy to use
12/31/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Easy to use , works as described, could cost a little less but overall nice producr
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Work well
10/16/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We live in an old farm house-in Vermont.........so drafts are a big problem and it just gets plain old COLD in the winter...so we are always looking for the ways to manage draft. There is not a winter that these do no go on ALL our windows. the ones we placed on the basement windows are there year round.......and have been there for more than three years now! No problems with clouding etc. They are tricky to put up well-but it is worth the time. One review was less than positive because of the tape-but an easy fix would be to get a fresh roll of double sided sticky tape. These things keep our house toasty! Would not go a winter in VT without them
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Disappointing
11/6/2016
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I find this product to be disappointing because the pre-taped top edge does not stay stuck on my wood trim. Also, they do not give you any extra wiggle room from top to bottom of the slider. I purchase it because I want the clear view through the plastic, however it does not stick very well for me.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great idea....but
11/17/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Despite negative reviews I was confident that this would work for me. Wrong! Within hours the top roll on adhesive strip that makes installation a breeze started falling down. Of course I had already shrunken the plastic and trimmed it to look nice so there was no way to pull it up high enough to secure it with packing tape - I had to trash it. Four windows worth and a couple hours of work down the drain. The temperature outside was in the proper range, I prepared the surface of the frame exactly as directed so the product itself is just simply a great idea but completely inferior.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Out door plastic
11/23/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Not enough tape on the top of the roll Plastic very thin for out doors
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Easiest winderizing I have ever done!
12/10/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Every year it's an exhausting task as I attempt to put plastic on my windows. Today I came across Duck Extra Large Patio Door Roll-on Window Kit...hummm...Was curious as to how this was going to work...Like a charm! I couldn't believe it. Went up quickly with no trouble at all..This project is done by myself and the most difficult part was to put my blinds back up..Thank you Duck for making this job effortless. You have a superior product and I will continue to use and try more of your product lines.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Doesn't hold
2/16/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
the first one i bought, I installed according to instructions, had it put up and the strip at the top and the plastic came apart within 24 hours. The second one, made sure the plastic was on, even used a stable gun once the double sided tape started to fail. Made it 2 months and the wind just took it off. No excuse for the wind to blow it off unless the double side tape was faulty. Next year I'll just have to install it from the inside.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Do NOT Purchase!
11/2/2011
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
No matter what brand you use, these are a little tricky to install. We put this outdoor kit on when it was 75 degrees outside, used hairdryer as instructed and all looked fine, but by the next day, the plastic was coming loose from the tape! Tape was sticking just fine to the window frame though. What a waste of time and money. Never had this problem with the other brand.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Roll on, roll off
11/25/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is the first year we have used the roll on version and boy do I wish we wouldn't have. It went in great, was so much easier to apply but the top keeps coming open and we keep having to restick it. Would not recommend this to anyone as it defeats the purpose of weatherproofing
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The roll-on feature is the best!
10/28/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The roll-on window kits are the best by far! The ease of application makes this product better than any other brands on the market. I apply them in the fall and they stay on until I remove them in the spring. Best part: my windows don't sweat and melt all over the sills.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
should have stuck to the brand I know works
12/12/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I thought i would give this product a try, the roll on seemed like a good idea. WRONG !! Ive had to re stick the plastic to the tape 3 times now....it keeps peeling off and hanging down, allowing cold drafty air into the room. now you tell me how is this weatherproofing.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641771, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-