Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 22 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

22 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

22 reviews | 3 out of 5

50%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
11
1-20 of 21 total reviews
50%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 21 total reviews
1-20 of 21 reviews
Good product!!!
12/16/2012

Customer review by MuddyFlaps

5.0 stars 12/16/2012 by MuddyFlaps
by MuddyFlaps

The Roll On portion of this product makes it much easier to install. I still put a strip of double sided tape under the top roll on portion. I have used other brands and the plastic is usually so thin you have to handle it with kid gloves. The plastic with this product seems a little more thick than the others. Thick plastic is helpful especially when you apply heat to it. i am satisfied with this product and have installed it on all my windows in my home that need it. I have not used 3M products so i am not sure how to judge Duck products against them. Installation with any of these insulation kits takes practice and I have had 8 years practice of installing these products. If installed correctly your home will be warmer and your heat may not run as much. Using the alcohol wipes to clean the surface where the double sided tape will be applied does help with adhesion. Good product, stay warm!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MuddyFlaps
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
don't buy - film won't stick to tape!
12/5/2010

Customer review by alientech

1.0 stars 12/5/2010 by alientech
by alientech

I have used window film from 3M and others before but this is the first time I bought this one. What a disappointment! The plastic film has very poor adhesion to the supplied double sided tape. The outside air pressure bowing the film inward before shrinking with hair dryer was enough to separate the film from tape. Garbage. I'm going to home depot to get the real thing.

Was this review helpful? (27) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
alientech
Would recommend to a friend? No
What a disappointment!
12/26/2014

Customer review by mab99

1.0 stars 12/26/2014 by mab99
by mab99

It looks so simple, so easy to install, and the price was right, so I bought it expecting a no-hassle installation. Was I ever wrong! The alcohol wipes are about the size of postage stamps, and hardly clean anything. After the first one, I took a sponge and cleaned the molding, and let it dry, then tried the second alcohol wipe to finish the job across the top molding. Then I tried applying the taped film to the top. And tried again. I used the two wipes I had left (which I was reserving for the sides) to clean again, and tried again. IT DOESN'T STICK and that's all there is to it. Now obviously, if it doesn't stick, it isn't going to do the job. So I'll try to attach it using regular duct tape (not aesthetically appealing, but if it works...) and if that doesn't work, I'm heading back to the store to find the competitor's product. VERY DISAPPOINTED!

mab99
Illinois, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Frequency of use:Yearly
Never stays up
10/12/2015

Customer review by anon

1.0 stars 10/12/2015 by anon
by anon

Tried this over a couple of years and have never been able to get the plastic to stay up. Sometimes the adhesive gives before I can step away, sometimes it gives overnight. Got a replacement from Walmart and tried again without any better results. I've tried cleaning the surface multiple times without success. Tried putting down a layer of rubber cement to help adhesion and that worked a little, but not much. Also tried using duct tape (Duck brand as well as 3M) and clear packing tape to hold the film in place without much luck. The frustrating part is that after the adhesive gives, because the film was heated to shrink it, it's too small and tight to try fastening it again. The edges of the plastic no longer reach the edge of the window frame. Very frustrating.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
anon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Absolute junk
11/14/2015

Customer review by Kalilee

1.0 stars 11/14/2015 by Kalilee
by Kalilee

Used this on a set of southerly facing french doors. Beware if you put it on windows that get any sort of sun. I specifically did not take the blow dryer to it knowing that the heat from the sun would probably take out any wrinkles, but as soon as the sun hit the film, it pulled it so tight that it ripped, and the film was put on rather loosely. I then taped it so that I could get through the winter, but within a week the plastic pulled away from the pre-taped top edge and then the wind tore it to shreds. The sticky tape is still attached to my door frame holding approximately an inch of the plastic in place - the rest is gone. Absolute junk. Stick to the inside stuff, this is not worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kalilee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great idea....but
11/17/2015

Customer review by PRDinDC

1.0 stars 11/17/2015 by PRDinDC
by PRDinDC

Despite negative reviews I was confident that this would work for me. Wrong! Within hours the top roll on adhesive strip that makes installation a breeze started falling down. Of course I had already shrunken the plastic and trimmed it to look nice so there was no way to pull it up high enough to secure it with packing tape - I had to trash it. Four windows worth and a couple hours of work down the drain. The temperature outside was in the proper range, I prepared the surface of the frame exactly as directed so the product itself is just simply a great idea but completely inferior.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PRDinDC
Would recommend to a friend? No
duck roll on window kit
1/19/2016

Customer review by monicadventureland

1.0 stars 1/19/2016 by monicadventureland
by monicadventureland

The roll-on tape separated from the film when I blow dried it. Now I have two three inch and five inch holes at the top! How do I get a refund?

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
monicadventureland
Would recommend to a friend? No
The Best and Most Reliable Window Kit
11/13/2012

Customer review by Sandcastle

5.0 stars 11/13/2012 by Sandcastle
by Sandcastle

Yes! Duck brand heat and shrink is without a doubt the very best and most reliable window insulation kit on the market. First of all, the quality. The shrink film is crystal clear and very tough. Its not thin and flimsy and "flyaway" like the others. That makes it easy to handle! The double sided tape that comes with it is really easy and simple to work with. Once properly applied as per the instructions, you will be amazed at its holding strength. My tape rolls had 288 inches in length to work with! Duck brand will help you stay warm, decrease your heating bills, and will help to eliminate wind and cold air coming through your windows! Have a snug winter! Quacks to all of you!

Sandcastle
Pawleys Island, SC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Expert
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Frequency of use:Yearly
Work well
10/16/2012

Customer review by cherbear

5.0 stars 10/16/2012 by cherbear
by cherbear

We live in an old farm house-in Vermont.........so drafts are a big problem and it just gets plain old COLD in the winter...so we are always looking for the ways to manage draft. There is not a winter that these do no go on ALL our windows. the ones we placed on the basement windows are there year round.......and have been there for more than three years now! No problems with clouding etc. They are tricky to put up well-but it is worth the time. One review was less than positive because of the tape-but an easy fix would be to get a fresh roll of double sided sticky tape. These things keep our house toasty! Would not go a winter in VT without them

cherbear
Colchester VT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Expert
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Frequency of use:Yearly
Worked great! Easy to install!
10/15/2015

Customer review by OneFineFeller

5.0 stars 10/15/2015 by OneFineFeller
by OneFineFeller

I have used other brands. This by far is the easiest to install and I am really impressed! I will use this product every winter for now on. =)!

OneFineFeller
Columbus, OH, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Intermediate
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Frequency of use:Yearly
Easiest winderizing I have ever done!
12/10/2013

Customer review by Prairiedoll

5.0 stars 12/10/2013 by Prairiedoll
by Prairiedoll

Every year it's an exhausting task as I attempt to put plastic on my windows. Today I came across Duck Extra Large Patio Door Roll-on Window Kit...hummm...Was curious as to how this was going to work...Like a charm! I couldn't believe it. Went up quickly with no trouble at all..This project is done by myself and the most difficult part was to put my blinds back up..Thank you Duck for making this job effortless. You have a superior product and I will continue to use and try more of your product lines.

Prairiedoll
Manitoba
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Beginner
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Frequency of use:Yearly
Came off in first rain storm
11/26/2013

Customer review by happywifeinOH

1.0 stars 11/26/2013 by happywifeinOH
by happywifeinOH

Was blown off during a rain storm, winds 20mph. Waste of money.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
happywifeinOH
Madison,OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Do NOT Purchase!
11/2/2011

Customer review by jmc1959

1.0 stars 11/2/2011 by jmc1959
by jmc1959

No matter what brand you use, these are a little tricky to install. We put this outdoor kit on when it was 75 degrees outside, used hairdryer as instructed and all looked fine, but by the next day, the plastic was coming loose from the tape! Tape was sticking just fine to the window frame though. What a waste of time and money. Never had this problem with the other brand.

jmc1959
St Louis, MO, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Expertise:Expert
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Frequency of use:Yearly
Doesn't hold
2/16/2015

Customer review by NEAbbott

1.0 stars 2/16/2015 by NEAbbott
by NEAbbott

the first one i bought, I installed according to instructions, had it put up and the strip at the top and the plastic came apart within 24 hours. The second one, made sure the plastic was on, even used a stable gun once the double sided tape started to fail. Made it 2 months and the wind just took it off. No excuse for the wind to blow it off unless the double side tape was faulty. Next year I'll just have to install it from the inside.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NEAbbott
Would recommend to a friend? No
Roll on, roll off
11/25/2013

Customer review by Motley12

1.0 stars 11/25/2013 by Motley12
by Motley12

This is the first year we have used the roll on version and boy do I wish we wouldn't have. It went in great, was so much easier to apply but the top keeps coming open and we keep having to restick it. Would not recommend this to anyone as it defeats the purpose of weatherproofing

Motley12
Would recommend to a friend? No
The roll-on feature is the best!
10/28/2012

Customer review by Della

5.0 stars 10/28/2012 by Della
by Della

The roll-on window kits are the best by far! The ease of application makes this product better than any other brands on the market. I apply them in the fall and they stay on until I remove them in the spring. Best part: my windows don't sweat and melt all over the sills.

Della
Racine, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Frequency of use:Yearly
should have stuck to the brand I know works
12/12/2012

Customer review by kathwel

1.0 stars 12/12/2012 by kathwel
by kathwel

I thought i would give this product a try, the roll on seemed like a good idea. WRONG !! Ive had to re stick the plastic to the tape 3 times now....it keeps peeling off and hanging down, allowing cold drafty air into the room. now you tell me how is this weatherproofing.

kathwel
mn
Would recommend to a friend? No
This product is easy to use.
10/17/2013

Customer review by Cindy3

5.0 stars 10/17/2013 by Cindy3
by Cindy3

I buy this product every year, I would not use anything else. It really does work....

Cindy3
North Vernon, IN 47265, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Expert
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Frequency of use:Yearly
good product
7/23/2012

Customer review by grayman05

5.0 stars 7/23/2012 by grayman05
by grayman05

put on 2 windows in winter of 2011, still on my windows after 3 days of 100 degrees

grayman05
j c tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Expertise:Beginner
Home improvement profile:Other
Frequency of use:Yearly
awesome
11/12/2012

Customer review by isabeltinkerbell

5.0 stars 11/12/2012 by isabeltinkerbell
by isabeltinkerbell

love them they work great easy to use there awesome my mom loves them to

isabeltinkerbell
New Mexico, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Home improvement profile:Other
Frequency of use:Yearly
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1-20 of 21 reviews