Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.6out of 5 stars
3.6 out of 5 | 25 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
7
Sort by: 
1-20 of 24 reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews
What a difference!
10/29/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I installed this on my sliding glass patio door. I have a plexiglas panel insert in this door with a doggie-door. It doesn't fit very tight and let lots of cold air in. I put this product over the whole door then taped around the opening for the doggie-door, sealed it good, re-installed the doggie-door, used the hair dryer to smooth out the wrinkles. So far, we have about a 10 degree difference in that area. Looking forward to savings on my heating bill and plan to leave it in place for next summer as well, since I have another access for my backyard. Should be better for my plants sitting in the window, too.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good buy and does what it is supposed to do
2/12/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I actually bought this particular size because I could cut it in half and use on my two windows in my living room. It goes on nicely and easily and then you use your hair dryer to smooth it out. Then you can't even tell it is on the window unless you look real close or touch it. These windows were never seated right and alway are drafty. I just leave it up year around because it also works for keeping the extreme heat out too.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I'm surprised how much cold it blocks
11/27/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I'm surprised how much cold it blocks from a sliding glass door. I saw it at a friends house and didn't even know it was there until I touched it. Very clear and easy to install. Downstairs bedroom is much warmer.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Helps to eep out the cold.
2/18/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Didn't realize how much thios product would really help until I installed it and it's easy to install too.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
11/17/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
A clean window/sill makes set up easy. Follow directions, instant draft protection.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
What a disappointment!
12/26/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It looks so simple, so easy to install, and the price was right, so I bought it expecting a no-hassle installation. Was I ever wrong! The alcohol wipes are about the size of postage stamps, and hardly clean anything. After the first one, I took a sponge and cleaned the molding, and let it dry, then tried the second alcohol wipe to finish the job across the top molding. Then I tried applying the taped film to the top. And tried again. I used the two wipes I had left (which I was reserving for the sides) to clean again, and tried again. IT DOESN'T STICK and that's all there is to it. Now obviously, if it doesn't stick, it isn't going to do the job. So I'll try to attach it using regular duct tape (not aesthetically appealing, but if it works...) and if that doesn't work, I'm heading back to the store to find the competitor's product. VERY DISAPPOINTED!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
pre taped tape lets go! What a wast of my time and money.
11/28/2016
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Installed roll-on window kit. A few days later we felt cold air coming in! Pre-taped top edge let loose! Big problem with that! Especially after you shrink it with hair dryer! Good luck getting that back on! Maybee I'll call Harry Hodini and have him work some magic on it to fix it! Thanks a lot! We need help! I will buy some more of your double stick tape and see if I can insert it under your roll-on tape.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The Best and Most Reliable Window Kit
11/13/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Yes! Duck brand heat and shrink is without a doubt the very best and most reliable window insulation kit on the market. First of all, the quality. The shrink film is crystal clear and very tough. Its not thin and flimsy and "flyaway" like the others. That makes it easy to handle! The double sided tape that comes with it is really easy and simple to work with. Once properly applied as per the instructions, you will be amazed at its holding strength. My tape rolls had 288 inches in length to work with! Duck brand will help you stay warm, decrease your heating bills, and will help to eliminate wind and cold air coming through your windows! Have a snug winter! Quacks to all of you!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
JUNK
1/3/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This stuff is terrible! You might as well just buy the regular stuff because the roll on section of this doesn't stay on. I wish I still had the box so I could complain to the manufacturer. Don't buy it, just buy the normal window film with the extra tape roll!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Work well
10/16/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We live in an old farm house-in Vermont.........so drafts are a big problem and it just gets plain old COLD in the winter...so we are always looking for the ways to manage draft. There is not a winter that these do no go on ALL our windows. the ones we placed on the basement windows are there year round.......and have been there for more than three years now! No problems with clouding etc. They are tricky to put up well-but it is worth the time. One review was less than positive because of the tape-but an easy fix would be to get a fresh roll of double sided sticky tape. These things keep our house toasty! Would not go a winter in VT without them
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
no
11/26/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Not bad for the price. I see why the large up in price from last year but it was a fail,the top roll out feature was a good idea but the tape on top will not hold for more than a few minutes. About five minutes after installing I could hear the top failing needed to buy more double sided tape a big hassle
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Does not work at all
11/25/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The tape doesn't hold the plastic. within hours of installing, I noticed the plastic flapping in the draft, only to find that the tape had not held the seal. Completely useless.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
sticks to nada
11/24/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Very dissatisfied with this product. Poor tape wouldn't stay stuck to the wall. Had to use gorilla tape to hold to wall. Won't be using this product next year.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Easiest winderizing I have ever done!
12/10/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Every year it's an exhausting task as I attempt to put plastic on my windows. Today I came across Duck Extra Large Patio Door Roll-on Window Kit...hummm...Was curious as to how this was going to work...Like a charm! I couldn't believe it. Went up quickly with no trouble at all..This project is done by myself and the most difficult part was to put my blinds back up..Thank you Duck for making this job effortless. You have a superior product and I will continue to use and try more of your product lines.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Do NOT Purchase!
11/2/2011
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
No matter what brand you use, these are a little tricky to install. We put this outdoor kit on when it was 75 degrees outside, used hairdryer as instructed and all looked fine, but by the next day, the plastic was coming loose from the tape! Tape was sticking just fine to the window frame though. What a waste of time and money. Never had this problem with the other brand.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Roll on, roll off
11/25/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is the first year we have used the roll on version and boy do I wish we wouldn't have. It went in great, was so much easier to apply but the top keeps coming open and we keep having to restick it. Would not recommend this to anyone as it defeats the purpose of weatherproofing
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Blocks some of the draft
12/9/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 1000 contributer
This does what it should more or less, and was not too difficult to install. The only issue is with tape that goes around the outside. It seems different than a few years ago, does not stick as well and is harder to separate tape from the paper. Oh well its done for the winter ☺
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The roll-on feature is the best!
10/28/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The roll-on window kits are the best by far! The ease of application makes this product better than any other brands on the market. I apply them in the fall and they stay on until I remove them in the spring. Best part: my windows don't sweat and melt all over the sills.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
should have stuck to the brand I know works
12/12/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I thought i would give this product a try, the roll on seemed like a good idea. WRONG !! Ive had to re stick the plastic to the tape 3 times now....it keeps peeling off and hanging down, allowing cold drafty air into the room. now you tell me how is this weatherproofing.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Worked great! Easy to install!
10/15/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have used other brands. This by far is the easiest to install and I am really impressed! I will use this product every winter for now on. =)!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640658, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-