Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 958 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

958 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

958 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
682
4 stars
135
3 stars
19
2 stars
16
1 stars
106
1-20 of 957 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 957 total reviews
1-20 of 957 reviews
Much better than blue tape! ...but
1/19/2015

Customer review by hdmcbiker

5.0 stars 1/19/2015 by hdmcbiker
by hdmcbiker

My husband and I are renovating our house. I have the task of cutting in the wall to ceiling paint. Have never had great luck with blue tape so I decided to pay more and try Frog Tape. Both ceiling and wall are textured with light orange peel. First day I taped and painted with only mostly acceptable results. After visiting the website and learning how to use Frog Tape with textured walls I am TOTALLY happy. No bleeding at all but it is time consuming when doing a whole house. No touch ups either! The results are only as good as your line and taping process. One small problem I am intermittently having is the ceiling line paint and texture is lifting (in bubble form) when I remove the tape. I am painting the wall. Not sure what is causing this. All walls and ceilings have been cleaned and completely new texture applied. Two coats of primer and two coats of flat white paint on ceiling at least one week old. No construction in process to create dust. Am I pressing too hard on the tape?

hdmcbiker
Orange County, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Frequency of use:Yearly
Great Product
3/8/2013

Customer review by Tanya

5.0 stars 3/8/2013 by Tanya
by Tanya

After using one particular product, the paint still bled beneath it in certain areas despite ensuring it was placed smoothly. In other areas, that product pulled some of the paint off along with it when it was removed. After all the hard work, my project was ruined. Other products did the same thing and as a result, I was hesitant to try something else because I was beyond frustrated. My husband brought home some FrogTape for me to try. However, by that point, I had already given up. After a few weeks of staring at the ugly results from the other projects, I was determined to finish the job and reluctantly gave the FrogTape a shot. Even though it wasn't the "Delicate Surface" version, I was so happy and very pleasantly surprised to discover that t it worked perfectly! My only regret was not using it in the first place! I am motivated to start working on the next project because I'm confident that it won't create another problem to set me back after I peel it off! I will never use anything else!

Tanya
Corpus Christi, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Frequency of use:Monthly
Will be a FROGTAPE customer for life! :)
8/15/2012

Customer review by Genna

5.0 stars 8/15/2012 by Genna
by Genna

I started a major painting project on my house, painted three of 8 rooms so far. I have a big old Pennsylvania farmhouse and every room has extensive trimwork, so it's a big job. The first room I used Frogtape on the trim and the results were beautiful. For the second room, I used the blue tape because it was less expensive. There are reasons it's less expensive, folks! The blue tape leaked everywhere, even tho I followed instructions, along with using the spoon smashing of the edge method recommended by the salesman. (Why I continued to think this was a good idea, I don't know.) I had to spend an extraordinary amount of time on touch ups. Savings? Hardly. Yesterday, when I went back for more paint and tape, FROGTAPE was my only choice and will continue to be. I even told my story to someone standing next to me, who chose your tape over the other! A huge difference in the quality and ease of use, along with beautifully clean, sharp results. Unparalleled performance! Thanks!

Genna
Valencia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Frequency of use:Yearly
Simplicity + Accuracy = Perfection
4/21/2014

Customer review by nancg

5.0 stars 4/21/2014 by nancg
by nancg

We know, You HATE to paint-- Fear ye not, the gallon paint can any longer! As a home remodeling contractor, I paint constantly. It's my favorite part of the job and I rarely bring in others to do it for me. Frog Tape has its own line item on my job cost sheets for every project. People are constantly amazed at how perfect the lines for my finished moldings and ceilings are. Frog Tape, properly applied, is flawless. Time is money for me. Frog Tape not only provides a waterproof barrier to prevent"paint bleed" onto other surfaces, but cuts my actual painting time down by over 50%. Crooked wall or ceilings are no problem, Frog Tape is perfect for use to "fool the eye" when you have wall-to-ceiling plaster or sheetrock joints that are not perfectly square. Do your part to stamp out the plague of shaky, ugly, hand-painted lines! Surprise yourself or someone else...Paint one room using Frog Tape, then stand back and admire your handiwork. It will look like a pro did it!

nancg
Charleston, SC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Frequency of use:Monthly
No crisp lines at all
3/7/2016

Customer review by LindaH

1.0 stars 3/7/2016 by LindaH
by LindaH

This stuff is horrible. I used it several years ago when I painted my living room and literally had HOURS of repair work to do after I pulled off the tape. Did not make crisp lines at all. I called the FrogTape people, and they said it was my fault--didn't follow the directions. Yeah, whatever--the "directions" they specifically mentioned were not listed anywhere on the container. Since years had passed, I thought I'd give it another try since I was doing a job that required extremely straight, crisp lines with no raggedy edges. My daughter drew a cityscape on our bathroom wall, so I used the frogtape around the edge before I painted it. Out of the entire bathroom wall, there was only one 3" line that was crisp. The rest looks AWFUL. No idea how I'm going to fix this. Probably have to paint over the whole thing. Argh. NEVER USING THIS PRODUCT AGAIN, AND WOULD DEFINITELY NOT NOT NOT RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE.

LindaH
Madrid, IA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Frogtape surprised me again!
4/8/2014

Customer review by SuzyQ

5.0 stars 4/8/2014 by SuzyQ
by SuzyQ

The first time I used Frogtape, I was surprised how easy the tape went on and how well it stuck to the woodwork I was protecting. I had a much easier time taping my wood moldings, the tape stuck longer and tighter than anything else I have ever used and with way less leakage. But Frogtape surprised me again! I taped around the cherry moldings in my bathroom six months ago. Due to a back injury I wasn't able to begin painting until this morning. The Frogtape stuck all this time! Several friends warned me with the tape being on so long, it might stick to the woodwork and not come off without scraping! That was a scary thought! So I checked it several times over the last 6 months and I could lift the tape off the wood and stick it right back on. Well tonight my bathroom walls are painted and dry and I just took off the Frogtape. Not only is there almost no touch up, the tape peeled off the woodwork so easily, I just had to write and tell you about it!

SuzyQ
Xenia, OH 45385, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Frequency of use:Yearly
It Leaps From Paper To Walls
12/15/2012

Customer review by Tsufu

5.0 stars 12/15/2012 by Tsufu
by Tsufu

This last review of mine will focus on, what perhaps, I will call the watercolor effect. I say this in terms of working in watercolor on paper. Lines or edges are hard to get, especially with the unintentional bleeding of colors. FrogTape can be used in place of the usual tapes to hold down the paper itself. Then, if lightly placed and positioned, it can be used to get certain effects. In terms of walls within a building, it maintains the same idea. A professional muralist may be skilled to have their own techniques, but homeowners may also want more than the plain wall. Using tape, you can section off selected areas into color blocks, as well as try to shape other areas. Everything has to be pretested before making any final marks. If I had my way, I could use a darker shade of green and a brown for my other uses. P.S. , I love to experiment, but I am still wondering where the yellow type is sold. I have no way to compare the two types.

Tsufu
New York City, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Frequency of use:Weekly
Very disappointed
2/25/2014

Customer review by Lglony

1.0 stars 2/25/2014 by Lglony
by Lglony

After reading the high reviews on this product, I was excited to try it. We were going to paint our bedroom and one of the bathrooms. We ran out of the blue brand of tape about half way through taping the ceiling line in the bedroom. It was a perfect opportunity to compare both tapes. The existing paint had been cured for about 3 weeks prior to taping. Both types of tape were put on the same and removed immediately after painting. A friend who is a professional painter said to always remove the tape within 1 hour of painting so it does not pull paint off the wall. I used this tape in the bathroom to create a stripe, but due to the issue in the bedroom, I decided to try a small area first. I allowed the paint to completely dry prior to removing it in the bathroom to see if that helped but there was no difference. There were two different brands of latex paint used for the two rooms and both were major brands. The walls were prepped as directed. This tape removed a significant amount of paint in both rooms along with seepage underneath. I am going back to the blue tape.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lglony
Prior Lake, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Waste of time!!!
4/13/2015

Customer review by CowgirlupNFL

1.0 stars 4/13/2015 by CowgirlupNFL
by CowgirlupNFL

This product came highly recommended by my brother so we thought we would give it a try. I abhor painting and was expecting this to make things neater and quicker. Boy, were we wrong!!! Our first clue was that the tape didn't want to stick securely to the trim surface but since we had the tape and are 10 miles from the nearest store, we got to work with what we had. BIG MISTAKE. After painting primer on the wall and then the coat of latex paint, when we pulled the tape off, it pulled primer, fresh paint, tape and all. WHAT A MESS!!! Now, we're having to spend more time fixing the problems that this tape caused than if we had just hand cut in the primer and paint. NEVER buy this product. It is horrible and causes more work. Just what we wanted to do, paint AGAIN to fix the problems caused by this inferior, worthless product. The ONLY good thing about the Frogtape product is the very expensive plastic case it came in!!!

CowgirlupNFL
Tallahassee, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Frequency of use:Yearly
Worth every penny, and then some!
3/8/2014

Customer review by Vindaloo

5.0 stars 3/8/2014 by Vindaloo
by Vindaloo

I'm meticulous when it comes to painting. Previously I was frustrated at the results when I hand-cut in a vertical line where we changed from one paint tone to another. Last night I applied green Frogtape vertically while my wife held a straightedge so I could lay down the tape next to it. I then used a credit card to press down the edge along the entire 8' vertical length of Frogtape. Quick and easy, I then painted the new wall color, gave it about 30 minutes before easily removing the Frogtape. Wow, stunning, what a difference! The line is sharp, crisp with no bleeding under the tape. I've read a couple reviews where the people weren't happy and I'm puzzled what they were doing or wanted. I also used green Frogtape to mask off the vertical casing edges before painting the wall right up to the casing. Same fantastic results. Time savings were substantial, results were professional. Will be using Frogtape on all future painting projects. Neighbour now asking me to paint their interior. Guess what my first purchase will be? Couldn't be happier with Frogtape.

Vindaloo
Victoria, BC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Frequency of use:Weekly
Finally!!! I love painting
3/9/2014

Customer review by Tricky

5.0 stars 3/9/2014 by Tricky
by Tricky

I have always been good at painting as a homeowner but I would always dread getting started and using the "other" painting tapes. No matter how focused I was on getting good adhesion to baseboards and cured paint surfaces....I would always get paint bleed and it would tick me off as I spent quite a bit of time trying to do things right. Today I decided to buy Frogtape for the first time for the first paint job in our new house. I taped the baseboard tops and some walls that were painted by the builder about a year ago. When the painting was done I got ready for the moment of truth.....pulling off the tape and looking for paint bleed. FINALLY!!!! no paint bleed! I am not only a big fan now of Frogtape but it is actually inspiring me to do more painting because I can feel confident that I will get the results that I spend so much time preparing for with taping. I won't tell my wife though :). Cheers to Frogtape.

Tricky
Barrie, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Frequency of use:Yearly
It does what it promises every time
7/7/2013

Customer review by macc

5.0 stars 7/7/2013 by macc
by macc

I can't tell you how many hours I've spent going along the sides of a wall with one of those tiny little brushes because it was the only way to get a straight line. Then went back over it all with the other color to fix my own mistakes and still in the end I would only end up with a straighter line than I had started with, but one that could easily be seen for all the dips, wobbles and waves it truly was to anyone who took the time to notice. With a military husband, this became a frequent routine and with four children under the age of eight I began to dread every new move for the chore it was to make each place feel more like our home and all because that blue tape just never did what it said it would. I nearly gave in to those stark white walls forever before I found the green guy and I suppose that's what I love best about frogtape, it does exactly what it promises. I can use it on anything and as long as I put the time in to get a straight line this tape will make it happen every time. I highly recommend it to anyone wants a nice clean line for any paint job.

macc
tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Frequency of use:Yearly
Frogtape and working with paper
8/29/2012

Customer review by Tsufu

5.0 stars 8/29/2012 by Tsufu
by Tsufu

The process of handmade cards can involve temporarily taping down items to reposition as you go along. The use of Frogtape makes the process easier as you work with the design. I tried it with 3 types of paper surfaces, some of which I had problems using other adhesives. One attempt was with a bronze/golden coated poster paper, which I attached to another matte card stock type that had a punched out decorative edge pattern. It pulled off both surfaces without taking off the finish, or leaving residue from the tape behind. The other paper was a thick textured yellow paper and I folded the tape over the creased edge. I also was able to work with it with no problems and the tape does not rip as you take it off the roll. It would act as a coverup for damaged creases, or added protection. Both tries were left on for the most part of a day. The type of paper surface which would be affected are those with overlays of thin strands, or porous/loosely constructed paper which shreds/breaks down easily. But as of yet, I don't know of anything that can help that situation anyway.

Tsufu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Frequency of use:Monthly
BEST PAINT TAPE ON THE MARKET!
5/11/2016

Customer review by Perfectlines

5.0 stars 5/11/2016 by Perfectlines
by Perfectlines

Frog Tape Multi surface create professional results in painting my crown moulding and trim. The lines are precise. Its easy use and apply. Highly recommend for all level of painters.

Perfectlines
Long Grove, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Frequency of use:Yearly
Sorry to say
10/12/2012

Customer review by nxl7699

1.0 stars 10/12/2012 by nxl7699
by nxl7699

I'm sorry to say that I had a very bad experience with this tape. I used it in my home office to paint a single wall. I carefully taped off the 2 side walls, the ceiling and the baseboard. As I have slightly textured walls I was very careful to ensure the tape was pressed into the recesses of the texture. The next day I painted the wall and allowed it to dry for more than 24-hours. Today I very carefully pulled off the green tape and have found that I have paint bleed on the ceiling, both side walls and the baseboard. As the previous owner did not leave any extra wall paint I now have to repaint the ENTIRE ROOM AND ALL THE BASEBOARDS. I'm frustrated and angry. I have the receipt and will try to return the remaining tape. If anyone who has had a good experience with this tape can tell me where I went wrong, I'd love to hear it. Especially now as I'm facing repainting an entire room.

nxl7699
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Frequency of use:Yearly
Disappointing results
9/9/2014

Customer review by Annoyed2014

3.0 stars 9/9/2014 by Annoyed2014
by Annoyed2014

I purchased Frog Tape as I heard that it was a superior product over other painter't tapes, and wanted things to go well. I started out using the narrow tape as I was unware that there were different widths. The narrow tape did not stay stuck in places and I had to restick it as I was painting. I also used some of the wide tape. I found it difficult to work with. It would curl up and stick to itself while trying to tape with it, and was hard to get apart. It was also hard to rip off, and had to keep using smaller lengths. When done painting, the smaller width tape would rip and did not come off very easily (baseboards#. With the smaller width, it pulled paint off when removing it along where it met the wall, and especially at the corners, so now I have paint missing at the edges. I removed the tape after painting the second coat which was done the next day after the first coat. Also at the open edges where two edges meet, there was some slight seepage of paint on the other wall #using the wider tape). Very frustrating after 4 days of painting, and now I have to figure out how to fix the mess.

Annoyed2014
Winkler, MB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Frequency of use:Yearly
Best tape ever!
7/14/2012

Customer review by mrawesome

5.0 stars 7/14/2012 by mrawesome
by mrawesome

This is the best painters tape I have ever used hands down. I recently painted stripes in my dining room. I started by using the blue painters tape because that is what I always used but I was never happy with the results. After putting a few pieces on the wall to block off a space for sample colors I peeled the blue tape off and there was horrible bleeding. In many places the top layer of drywall came with the tape. These walls were already primed and painted before so I never thought the drywall paper would come off, it did. So I went back to the home improvement store and they recommended Frog Tape. I had never heard of it before but the store clerk said it works wonders. Took a roll home and never looked back. I went right into the project and started using the Frog Tape, after the painting was over it was the moment of truth. I peeled the tape off and my jaw dropped at the incredibly clean lines, perfect! No drywall came with the tape and the lines were as sharp as a razor. I could not be happier with the Frog Tape, I will never buy any other kind of painters tape again. LOVE Frog Tape!

mrawesome
Gilbertsville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Frequency of use:Monthly
I will never skimp on cheaper tape again.
2/12/2013

Customer review by CreatingSuzanne

5.0 stars 2/12/2013 by CreatingSuzanne
by CreatingSuzanne

We bought our first house in 2011, complete with all it's ugly colour rooms. Needless to say money was tight and the projects were plenty. I thought paint would be a great way to put our stamp on the place while we saved to afford bigger projects and surprise expenses. Wanting to save wherever I could I opted for lower priced tape products. What a huge mistake. I ripped off paint and had to repaint because I never got a clean definitive line. I wouldn't paint our family room baseboard because it we have hardwood and I didn't want to ruin it. I finally (18mths) later picked up a roll of Frog Tape. Why did I wait so long? I've spent today painting all the trim and and all the lines are incredibly clean and my hardwood floors are in perfect condition. Even with a messy painter like me in control of the brush. Now I want to repaint all the rooms that have less than perfect lines!

CreatingSuzanne
Ontario
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Frequency of use:Monthly
Worst painting mistake ever!
11/24/2013

Customer review by sweaver63

1.0 stars 11/24/2013 by sweaver63
by sweaver63

Definitely does NOT work with all paint surfaces as indicated. Worked fine on the cured primer; but then. . . I used a satin finish on my walls then was going to paint one wall a different color. First negative, tape would not adhere to the satin. Ok, so I read the fine print inside the roll. "Let the paint cure for at least three days". What, so I have to take an extra three days to finish my room! Well I ended up letting it cure for five days. The tape seemed to adhere ok so I did my finish work. Went back in the room about 20 minutes later to check out my work, and the expensive green tape had curled away from the wet pain! I still left it in place until the paint was dry, but the result was awful! So now twice the work, extra clean-up, twice the sanding, more paint, a good old "Cheap" roll of dollar store masking tape; and I have results a pro would be proud of!!!

sweaver63
Gainesville Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
My go to product for professional looking results!
2/26/2013

Customer review by geishagurl

5.0 stars 2/26/2013 by geishagurl
by geishagurl

I gotta give props to the good ol folks who make Frog tape. Don't leave home without it, well maybe leave it at home but definately don't try to get straight paint lines with out it. It works fantastic and trust me, Ive been cheap and bought the other brands. Total waste of money to get the cheap stuff. This is like super paint block, perfect line everytime, wonderstuff on a roll, absolutely amazing. I have even used it and then flipped it over and used the other side sans paint and it still stuck and kept paint bleed at bay. This is THE only painters tape to use. I professionally decorative paint furniture and am always very pleased with the results that Frogtape allows me to achieve. I recently painted a table with harlequin pattern and checkerboard patterns in black and white and the lines where absolutely perfect and crisp. Thanks Frogtape!

geishagurl
Sacramento, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Frequency of use:Daily
1-20 of 957 total reviews
1-20 of 957 reviews