Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 52 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

52 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

52 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
39
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
1
1-20 of 43 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews
Great idea - poor heating element
12/26/2010

Customer review by PeanutsandPickles

3.0 stars 12/26/2010 by PeanutsandPickles
by PeanutsandPickles

I was given the cupcake maker as a Christmas gift this year. I was so excited when I opened it because I have a serious love for cupcakes. My husband thought it would give me some new and fun ideas for them. We started it up and followed the directions and the first batch came out beautiful! I was so happy! However, we added mix to the maker for the second batch and checked it after 5 minutes. The cake mix was still pure liquid. I set a timer for 5 more minutes, same thing. My husband felt around the edges and noticed that it didn't feel as hot. So we unplugged it and waited about an hour and plugged it back it. It never heated up at all. It's like the heating element went out after the first use. I will be taking it back and getting a new one because I love the idea so much. But I'm really hoping that it doesn't break again.

Was this review helpful? (29) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PeanutsandPickles
Coweta, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Not terribly practical
5/17/2011

Customer review by quiltingfool

3.0 stars 5/17/2011 by quiltingfool
by quiltingfool

OK, here is my review after using my cupcake maker for the first time. I used a cake mix, and at the same time as I used the maker, I also baked cupcakes in a muffin tin in the oven. The cupcake maker heats up easily and is quicker than the oven by about half. It's a little tricky to fill the paper liners without spillage, but I managed. The ones from the maker came out lighter in color than the ones from the oven, but were done fine. If you are baking in the summer and don't want to turn on the oven, this would be great. Or for a motor home. But to be really honest, I can't see any other advantage over baking in the oven. It only makes 8 at a time, so would take a number of uses to use up a cake mix. You can buy a mini cupcake tin if that's the size you want, and the paper liners are available everywhere in many patterns and colors. You can only buy the paper liners for the baker from Babycakes, at $2.99 per 100 and a fortune to ship, and they only come in white. It seems to work fine and I have no complaint about it, other than it doesn't seem practical, given the difficulty of getting the paper cups and how many times you'd have to fill it to use up a cake mix. I'm thinking about returning it to the store. Sometimes the old fashioned way is better than the cute gadget.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
quiltingfool
Livermore, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Quick and easy!
12/20/2010

Customer review by carawe

5.0 stars 12/20/2010 by carawe
by carawe

I love this cupcake maker. I have made brownie bites and muffins in it so far, and they have been perfect. I use the paper cups when I am using it, and there is little to no clean up! So simple!

Was this review helpful? (44) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
carawe
tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
1/2/2011

Customer review by LovingLife11

2.0 stars 1/2/2011 by LovingLife11
by LovingLife11

Only was able to use this produce a few times before the heating element went out. I was very disappointed that this produced only lasted less then a week. I will be taking this produce back.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LovingLife11
IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Great for kids.
5/24/2011

Customer review by MammaBear95

4.0 stars 5/24/2011 by MammaBear95
by MammaBear95

I purchased this item for my daughter's 8th birthday party. The girls helped make the cupcakes and then decorated them. They really enjoyed it. The cupcakes where the perfect size and the girls were able to decorate several a piece. They cook really quick and are easy to pick up and eat. My daughter really likes the cupcake maker and we have used it several times since we purchased it. The only thing wrong is that the latch broke the first time we used it. But, it seems that everything my teeage son touches breaks. Not sure if this was the machines fault or my sons.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MammaBear95
Seminole, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
I love mini cupcakes!
7/11/2011

Customer review by PennyPinchingMom68

3.0 stars 7/11/2011 by PennyPinchingMom68
by PennyPinchingMom68

It is my love for mini cupcakes that led me to purchase the Babycakes Cupcake Maker. However, it is not all what it cracked up to be . . . First, let me say, that is a nice looking machine. Very sturdy. Vibrant color. But it only makes 8 cupcakes at a time which I thought at first wouldn't be a problem but do you know how long it takes to use up cake batter when you can only do 8 at a time??? Second, so far I have not experienced the problems with the heating element that others are reporting. My other reason, aside from my mad love for mini cupcakes, to purchase this item was so I wouldn't have to heat up the whole house in order to whip up a batch. The machine, however, does get VERY hot . . . you will need a fork to remove your cupcakes and when putting in more batter be sure not to touch the hot metal. Simple sounding, I know but give it a try. Also, the plastic sides do get hot. Third, the cupcakes do not brown evenly. Now, since most folks using icing this would not be a problem. However, if you intend to leave them nekkid for a decorating party with a group of kids, the sickly pale ones may turn off many cupcake lovers. Or maybe you just love nekkid cupcakes. Whatever . . .some are very pale but are cooked throughout. So, I guess what I am saying is that I could have skipped this purchase and just bought another 12 cup mini cupcake pan. And that is what I will recommend to friends and family. It is a very neat concept but not a completely great reality.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PennyPinchingMom68
Herrick, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
5/25/2011

Customer review by kmkeller

5.0 stars 5/25/2011 by kmkeller
by kmkeller

this little cupcake maker is awesome. It makes dessert in 8 minutes and there is no mess to clean up and you do not have to heat the kitchen up with the oven on. Perfect for taking treats in for your kids birthdays to school..

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kmkeller
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not used every day, but handy
1/11/2011

Customer review by ceeceeb

5.0 stars 1/11/2011 by ceeceeb
by ceeceeb

I bought this for my husband a year ago (he likes kitchen gadgets) and I've definitely used it more than he has. It's not just for cupcakes, but we make mini muffins (apple, then raspberry today - snow day), mini johnny cakes (for tonight's dinner), and I have yet to use the mini pie crust or frosting tools. I enjoy it with the kids as something we can do, the non stick surface works great, I've never sprayed it with anything, and I use a wooden skewer to both remove and test my goodies. It works well with mixes, but also includes some recipes that work great and taste good too. My only suggestion is to watch what you're making like a hawk - Jiffy mix muffins are done in 5 mins, their blueberry muffins take 6.. but once you know, you can walk away and set the timer, and have fresh hot baked goods in minutes that won't stuff the children but are still a fun activity.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ceeceeb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per month
Great for college students!
9/17/2011

Customer review by Chens13

5.0 stars 9/17/2011 by Chens13
by Chens13

My roommate and I bought this cupcake maker last week and we absolutely love it! The surfaces are easy to clean, don't require any non-stick spray, and have a nice, polished look. I read some reviews about the product smoking or giving off a foul odor during its first use, but that did not happen with ours. Directions included in the box inform the consumer about this issue and how to avoid it. Always read your directions! The cupcakes themselves cook very quickly-usually no more than 5 minutes is required. The cakes come out a nice golden color and are surprisingly moist inside. The small cake liners you buy in the store work just fine for the machine, but technically, you don't really need them; the nonstick surface allowed us to take all the cupcakes out without damaging a single one. All in all, the cupcake maker was a great buy and I'm sure we'll be using it a lot in the future.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chens13
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Versatile little machine
7/21/2011

Customer review by Kitchenade

5.0 stars 7/21/2011 by Kitchenade
by Kitchenade

Versatile little machine that makes hors d'oeuvres, cupcakes, little pies and more. This particular machine did not have the crimped-edges on the cupcake wells, as depicted on the recipe booklet, so if that's important to you, look for another model. Used the machine for mini pies, quiches, cornbread cupcakes and baked wontons, so nice for filling with various mixtures. If you want cupcake papers, you'll have to order them from www.thebabycakesshop.com, as they do not come with the machine and the mini cupcake liners you use with a conventional mini cupcake tin will not fit the machine. Wipe clean interior a bonus, although very juicy, sugary mixtures, such as pie fillings, will require a little more attention to get the surface clean.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kitchenade
Hardeeville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
A great little cooker
2/6/2011

Customer review by littlecorn

5.0 stars 2/6/2011 by littlecorn
by littlecorn

It is wonderful. Have baked many different items with it. I do not have to heat up our 5th wheel or use up alot of propane by using our stove. I love it!

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
littlecorn
Sanger, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
lOVE IT!
1/22/2011

Customer review by Stampwhenican

5.0 stars 1/22/2011 by Stampwhenican
by Stampwhenican

i PURCHASED THIS TO USE WITH MY SPECIAL EDUCATION STUDENTS AT SCHOOL, BUT FIND IT'S GREAT FOR PORTION CONTROL HERE AT HOME TOO! I AM DIABETIC AND CAN USE THE SUGAR FREE CAKE MIXES TO MAKE THESE LITTLE CUPCAKES. PERFECT SIZE! LOVE IT!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stampwhenican
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cupcake Maker Not So Great
2/11/2011

Customer review by ShoppingDiva1973

1.0 stars 2/11/2011 by ShoppingDiva1973
by ShoppingDiva1973

I was given this cupcake maker as a gift for Christmas and when I opened the box, pieces of the plastic casing fell out of the box. It had been severely damaged, but the box looked perfect. I couldn't find one in a local WalMart so I did the Site to Store. That also had a perfect box, but when I opened it to use it, the top had a deep, long gouge in it and the whole back corner was shattered. I purchased one at a local department store and it is perfect. The cupcakes were at least excellent when I finally had a piece of equiptment that wasn't damaged.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShoppingDiva1973
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
This is perfect for snacks and appetizers
8/21/2011

Customer review by marybelleella

5.0 stars 8/21/2011 by marybelleella
by marybelleella
Walmart associate

I bought this because my stove had died and i wanted a way to bake. Its easy to use and my family loves the little cakes. Once the maker gets hot it bakes really fast so you have to watch later batches closer so they don't burn. I've made muffins, cupcakes, and corn bread so far and plan on trying several of the things in the little recipe book. I will continue to use it even after i get my stove.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
marybelleella
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Walmart associate
Love this product!
10/14/2011

Customer review by GMCMom

5.0 stars 10/14/2011 by GMCMom
by GMCMom

I was really skeptical of buying this product based on some of the prior reviews, however sometimes you just have to take a chance on a time saving product and see for yourself. I am absolutely thrilled with this Babycake maker. Some reviews said you HAD to have the cake cups and others said to just oil the cups and bake. I have done the latter. I oil the cups and go. I have made cupcakes, garlic cheese biscuits, cornbread, cinnamon rolls and more. It is awesome! Everything cooks fast, evenly and cleanup is a breeze! Just wipe with a paper towel or a soft cloth and it's ready to use again. I would definately recommend it to anyone who does home cooked meals daily like I do. You can fix your bread for the meal and them fix your dessert in less than 15 minutes! Absolutely LOVE it!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GMCMom
Milledgeville,GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not Up To Expectation
5/21/2011

Customer review by Lespoir

3.0 stars 5/21/2011 by Lespoir
by Lespoir

I have used this item several times Must use little paper cupcake holders or batter sticks to the unit Cupcakes are really cute and it does bake them quickly 8-10 minutes I think using a silicone or stick free cupcake pan would do better.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lespoir
Monticello, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every few days
kids love it
2/24/2011

Customer review by marmar4468

5.0 stars 2/24/2011 by marmar4468
by marmar4468

works great the kids made like 32 cupcakes, used mini cupcake cups and made not mess, only i little thing i would change would be to put an on off switch on it had to unplug and let cool before we could take the cupcakes out

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
marmar4468
livingston, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
6/16/2011

Customer review by neeta39

5.0 stars 6/16/2011 by neeta39
by neeta39

This is the best if you are having small children help make cupcakes. It is very easy to use and quick. My older kids even love it to make breakfast muffins before school.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
neeta39
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
1/10/2011

Customer review by patticakes1319

2.0 stars 1/10/2011 by patticakes1319
by patticakes1319

Works but I recommend spraying with pam so they remove easier. Outside seems to cook quicker then inside, so test before removing.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
patticakes1319
Would recommend to a friend? No
So Far So Good...
7/15/2011

Customer review by KcBabe88

5.0 stars 7/15/2011 by KcBabe88
by KcBabe88

Just got this. Packaged nicely. There was a tiny chip in enamel near the handle clasp which doesn't affect usage but still didn't like to see it. There than that it performed nicely when I made brownies. 2nd batch I was busy and had my daughter just unplug unit and they became overdone but not burnt. You need to take cakes out of unit as soon as they're done. Instructions say to use paper cups with brownies but I just sprayed oil in them and they were easy to take out of the holes. Haven't tried cupcakes yet but will next also using oil spray instead of paper cups. There was no bad smell from unit. Overall every satisfied and my daughter loved spooning batter into the cups!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KcBabe88
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews