Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 37 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

37 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

37 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
24
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
4
1-20 of 37 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews
Extremely Satisfied!
12/20/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/20/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This latop was more than I expected! This was purchased as a much needed upgrade from an EEE netbook laptop. I needed something with a larger screen, larger keyboard with number pad. This is for home web surfing and school research, personal finance software usage, photos, Napster To Go usage, TomTom sync and work use. Although I am fairly new to the Windows 7 op system, I am enjoying it's user friendly capabilities. The screen image is bright and has a bright, clear image. The keyboard suits all of my typing and accounting needs and is comfortable to use. My spouse works with many different laptop brand and types, so when we began our search for the perfect device within our budget, it was hands down it would be a Toshiba and I am not dissapointed one bit.

Was this review helpful? (114) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Conway, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great!
12/21/2010

Customer review by BeauTifuLTraGedY16

5.0 stars 12/21/2010 by BeauTifuLTraGedY16
by BeauTifuLTraGedY16

I was originally planning on getting the previous model (I believe that's what it was. It was a purple Toshiba Satellite) for $100 more, but due to the discontinuation of it in my store, I thought I'd try this one. Same specs, and had a built in webcam which was my first priority because I make music playing videos, etc. The screen is wide, and very vivid. Like the previous reviewer, I'm not as familiar with Windows 7, but I'm liking it a whole lot more than Vista. I'm also getting used to the multi-touch controls on the finger pad, it's similar to Apple's. The numeric keypad is great too, keeps me in practice for my job. Overall, I'd say the price is great, and it's well worth it if not worth more.

Was this review helpful? (71) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BeauTifuLTraGedY16
Murrieta, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It's worth more than the price!
12/23/2010

Customer review by unsin1

5.0 stars 12/23/2010 by unsin1
by unsin1

I am also new to Windows 7 and so far I am liking it. This laptop is awesome. So far had it for a day and no problems. This really the best laptop at this price range. Its basically a steal. The screen is vivid and thanks to its dual core processor, there is no slowing down. I seen laptops with Celeron processors that are more expensive than this laptop. Can't go wrong with this one.

Was this review helpful? (24) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
unsin1
Lake Placid, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Do Not Purchase this Laptop!
1/7/2011

Customer review by hockeymatt

1.0 stars 1/7/2011 by hockeymatt
by hockeymatt

I do understand that some people like this laptop, but I have worked as an IT professional for many years and have helped support thousands of desktop as well as laptop units. As such, my exposure has allowed me to gather a vast amount of feedback from "users". I was a fan of Toshiba years ago, yet something has happened in the past few years and the Quality Control & Engineering Design has fallen dramatically. The #1 problem with this unit is the noise. The fan problems are not just associated to this particular model. One can google toshiba fan noise issues and see a plethora of forums and unhappy users. It is annoying not just to the user but also to neighbors and co-workers...YES it is that loud. If you want to save money and purchase a VERY comparable laptop, you may want to consider the following unit also available at Walmart: HP - Compaq Presario CQ62-209WM Laptop/Notebook Sold in store for $398 ...my intentions are NOT to ridicule those who like their Toshiba Laptop. Rather, I am attempting to inform those of you who are considering purchasing one and would appreciate some feedback from someone who has seen their fair share of machines.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hockeymatt
Centennial, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Short on features
12/28/2010

Customer review by SVTech

3.0 stars 12/28/2010 by SVTech
by SVTech

Was disappointed in features included - only 2 USB ports, NO HDMI Volume thru speakers is insufficient and must be supplemented. Similar priced models by HP, Acer & Gateway include more ports & HDMI.

Was this review helpful? (3) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SVTech
Would recommend to a friend? No
Loaded with bloatware
1/8/2011

Customer review by MrDeez

1.0 stars 1/8/2011 by MrDeez
by MrDeez

Took me over two hours to remove all the junk that came preinstalled. Norton (notorious for slowing down your system, then bugging you to upgrade) is particularly useless because Microsoft provides free antivirus software. MS office trial. Wildtangent games, a bunch of Toshiba branded stuff. For some reason, it wouldn't let me create an account named "Administrator". Tech support suggested restoring the system (which just put back all the stuff I spent hours removing) Physically, the trackpad is awful. Most other laptops I've used have the trackpad recessed a bit. This prevents stray clicks from being brushed by my thumb. Absolute garbage, DO NOT BUY!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrDeez
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great laptop, great price!
1/10/2011

Customer review by megsmominky

5.0 stars 1/10/2011 by megsmominky
by megsmominky

Bought this as a present for myself. Wanted the Toshiba brand, and this had all the specs I wanted at a great price! Very pleased. Super fast, easy set up with D-link router - up and running in about 10 minutes!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
megsmominky
KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Beautiful
12/28/2010

Customer review by desertflower100

5.0 stars 12/28/2010 by desertflower100
by desertflower100

Really lovely computer for 398. I have one for work and this one will be for play. Looks much more expensive than 398 and will suit our needs!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
desertflower100
Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Extremely Satisfied
12/28/2010

Customer review by julaba

5.0 stars 12/28/2010 by julaba
by julaba

I purchased this laptop for my dad without even thinking twice about it. I have used all types of laptops before from the different jobs that I have had and I knew Toshiba is one of the best ones out there. The price was great! Where else would you find a lower price for this one? I am getting 2 more of these for my kids.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
julaba
Marietta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
awesome
1/3/2011

Customer review by SneezyBibi

5.0 stars 1/3/2011 by SneezyBibi
by SneezyBibi

I have been in search for a laptop for quite sometime. I saw this one in my local walmart right next to the one i have been eyeing up for ages (hp garden dreams laptop) This one is actually better. Very fast for everything. i love it! i'm and who can beat the price of 398??? Toshiba is a great brand of laptop. my brother's toshiba has been in iraq with him and the screen may be broken but hooking up to a monitor works just fine. this is why i went with toshiba. I have had several HP's in the past and a dell... they stink. This will help me on my job hunt and keep my typing skills up to par. AWESOME LAPTOP!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SneezyBibi
Rogers, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Buy
1/5/2011

Customer review by satisfied4EVER

5.0 stars 1/5/2011 by satisfied4EVER
by satisfied4EVER

I love this laptop. I had been looking at this same one at office depot $100 more than wal-mart was selling it for.. Needless to say, I never had the money to purchase it. Then Christmas 2010 rolled around, and I did some smart saving. I was finally able to get the computer I was looking at to begin with. I love how fast it is. I did notice however, that the micraphone would not pick up sound from the other parties with noise on my end. The room had to be completely quiet. Over all, I would definately recommned this laptop to anyone... It is a good starter computer, or one for someone who had to do alot of computing for business and/or play. Completley satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
satisfied4EVER
Rocky point, N.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LOVE THIS :)
1/5/2011

Customer review by JosieWhoaaa

5.0 stars 1/5/2011 by JosieWhoaaa
by JosieWhoaaa

This laptop in great. I'm very satisfied with it & I would recommend it to anyone. There's soo much memory space & it runs really fast. The speakers are loud which is nice. My only complaint is the webcam quality, which I'm going to mess around with the setttings to see if I can change that. Overall, I love this :) Very happy :D

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JosieWhoaaa
Massillon, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
toshiba laptop
1/8/2011

Customer review by bsusi

5.0 stars 1/8/2011 by bsusi
by bsusi

awesome laptop with a great price, I purchased this for a christmas present and they were more then surprised...and pleased with everything it does. great buy

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bsusi
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Computer Geek & say this is the Best Bang For Buck
1/9/2011

Customer review by ExperiencedMommyof3

5.0 stars 1/9/2011 by ExperiencedMommyof3
by ExperiencedMommyof3

Beyond my expectations. I had an high end (DV9730 entertainment notebook) from HP that's bricked now. This notebook runs so much cooler and reliable that the HP. If you don't need the rarely used HDMI or a few extra USB ports (that a $10 hub will fix if needed) this model is the way to go! You still get "budget" parts but they are the better budget parts. You are getting a an LED (not sure if this was a free upgrade because it did not have on the details at time of purchase) vs the old LCD. ATI video card that is better IMO than the budget Intel one. 10-Key number pad, N- wireless card for faster speeds, card reader, face recognition software, and Office Started 2010 (not the trail; it will not expire on you!), It comes with windows 7 64-bit meaning it will support the full 8GB of RAM later on. I have ran Photoshop CS3, Adobe Premier without a problem, and pushed this notebook to the limits. I was nervous about the 1MB of L2 cache but so far it has not been a problem. The DDR3 really helps with the speed. It runs smooth and rather fast. I notice little things here & there BUT I am not the normal computer user. I am a computer geek and max this $400 notebook out. Pros: Price, Average battery life (2hrs 45mins on 4 cell is GREAT), Windows 7 64-Bit, Face software, FULL Office Starter Starter, 10-Key, LED, Nice picture, pinch & twirl touch pad, Not shine so no more finger prints, nice size, nice feel to keys, DDR3, upgrade to 8GB DDR3 RAM (nice), very little bloat-ware, plus so much more. Cons: 2 USB ports & no HDMI (not a big deal for me), Speakers are on the VERY quite side. (I'm always muted so I don't mind.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ExperiencedMommyof3
Walmart
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I love this laptop
2/18/2011

Customer review by Jon

5.0 stars 2/18/2011 by Jon
by Jon

This particular laptop is awesome. I love the hardware you guys put in it. I have already been recomending this laptop to friends and classmates. One of my classmates has already gone and gotten one. For the price this machine is amazing!

Jon
Minneapolis, Mn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1st Toshiba ever...
2/1/2011

Customer review by Chris

5.0 stars 2/1/2011 by Chris
by Chris

Sound is low even on high... Mouse needed some tweaking... Battery life is like 2 hours maybe... Overall a great buy...

Chris
Sebring,Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Laptop
2/7/2011

Customer review by No Name

5.0 stars 2/7/2011 by No Name
by No Name

I had a mini laptop and wanted to up grade to a full size. This full size laptop for the price exceeds what I ever dreamed it would. Now all my family wishes they had one

No Name
WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The best
3/7/2011

Customer review by Tpain

5.0 stars 3/7/2011 by Tpain
by Tpain

User friendly and I have recommended to 2 of my friends.

Tpain
Snellville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Graduation Gift
1/10/2011

Customer review by Sonia

5.0 stars 1/10/2011 by Sonia
by Sonia

I recently graduated from college and my father bought me this new laptop and i love it its one of the best that i have used i would recommend it to everyone its very afforable and easy to use even for my father who has never used a computer in his life.

Sonia
Houston,Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
First Laptop 4 Me
3/2/2011

Customer review by djdugan

5.0 stars 3/2/2011 by djdugan
by djdugan

I am impressed with the ease of being able to use. First laptop I have purchased - Great Product !!

djdugan
Billings, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews