Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 253 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

253 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

253 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
173
4 stars
35
3 stars
13
2 stars
6
1 stars
26
1-20 of 197 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 197 total reviews
1-20 of 197 reviews
Great card for $15
12/8/2010

Customer review by Robin1972

5.0 stars 12/8/2010 by Robin1972
by Robin1972

I wanted a cheap card to connect to a G network at home. I saw this priced about the same as cheap cards that max out at G standard but this was N which, with the correct wireless router, should connect much faster and is backward compatible with both G and B 802.11 standards. I opened the computer, popped it into an open PCI slot and closed up. Once I turned on the computer, which runs Windows 7 64bit, it recognised the card but was unable to assign drivers - but was fine when I put the CD that accompanied the card in and ran the device manager. Once connected I was then able to update to the latest drivers with Windows Update. It uses a Realtek 8190 wireless N chip on the board. I think its a fantastic deal for $15. Plus shipping was included and really fast for me - I got it in 2 days! The card works well and I get good speeds. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (47) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Robin1972
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Excellent
1/22/2011

Customer review by Multiplasm

5.0 stars 1/22/2011 by Multiplasm
by Multiplasm

Ordered this product off of Walmart Site to Store, took 6 days, which I expected. The product is just awesome. Have this item connected to the Belkin Play N600. I'm at "Excellent" signal two rooms away from the router at 150 Mbps. I'm unable to get full N because I have other devices on the router that are G, and thus the router can't broadcast N and G at the same time; that's with EVERY router ever made. So don't be upset if this device won't get you full N speeds; look at your other devices first. This product is surprisingly small. Clicked in the PCI slot without a hitch. Then installed the driver with the provided CD. Works instantly, with 0 disconnects so far. This piece of technology is just amazing. If you have doubts because of price; just get it. Do it.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Multiplasm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great wi-fi card
4/14/2011

Customer review by Phomie

5.0 stars 4/14/2011 by Phomie
by Phomie

Installed in my desktop running Win 7 Home Premium 64 bit. New 'hardware found' came up and I browsed to the cd disk that came wth the card. Windows instantly found the correct driver on the cd and insalled it. I've always used Netgear or Belkin cards in the past which always install their own useless wireless control panel software. None of that here, just hardware and driver. Works great and is a very solid built card. Easiest hardware I have ever installed.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Phomie
Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great value
6/15/2011

Customer review by TripleDDD

5.0 stars 6/15/2011 by TripleDDD
by TripleDDD

$15 for an N card, what else needs to be said. Some drops and noise, but I am also located 250 ft from a shared router and 2.4GHz phones, so really not that bad. Delivered on time. Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit did not auto install drivers, the install disk worked, and once I updated the latest drivers from the web, I went from 30% signal to consistant >70% on strength and quality with no packet losses. Works on Skype, MagicJack, Ventrillo with minor latency (again, see my distance from router which may be the issue).

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TripleDDD
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wireless adapter that works with Linux OS
4/1/2011

Customer review by ScottinMO

4.0 stars 4/1/2011 by ScottinMO
by ScottinMO

This wireless PCI card will work in all the regular Windows OS, but you have to choose carefully when you are building a Linux system. Not all adapters work in Linux. I am running Linux Mint Julia 64 bit, and with a little research (Google) and patience, this adapter works. Since configured, it has worked flawlessly, and the price is great.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ScottinMO
Southern Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This is a great product.
12/29/2010

Customer review by wulf1367

5.0 stars 12/29/2010 by wulf1367
by wulf1367

This was a very helpful product, and i would reconmend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wulf1367
Junction city ks.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/30/2011

Customer review by mamawdj

5.0 stars 5/30/2011 by mamawdj
by mamawdj

We have two desktop computers. I have the modem/router on my desktop. My husband was using a USB connected wireless router. He was having all kinds of connection problems. Since installing this device, he has not had any problems connecting to the internet. He said it was the best thing he has purchased in a while.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mamawdj
Clayton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
wireless adapter
7/7/2011

Customer review by libsm

5.0 stars 7/7/2011 by libsm
by libsm

The product came fast and works perfectly fine. My only complaint is there is no instruction manual on how to install the product in your computer. I find a manual would be very helpful to those who don't know much about computers, like me. We had to call my brother to help talk us through the installation. Overall the product is as described and works good.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
libsm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good product
12/28/2010

Customer review by fortuitous

5.0 stars 12/28/2010 by fortuitous
by fortuitous

In use for about 2 weeks. Works like a charm on Windows 7 64bit with good connection and signal strength. No issues with resuming from standby or hibernate modes.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fortuitous
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for extending wireless connection
10/11/2011

Customer review by Xjr1

5.0 stars 10/11/2011 by Xjr1
by Xjr1

It work 200 yrd from the router, at the same connection speed as in the same room.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Xjr1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Exactly what I needed.
6/30/2012

Customer review by mynodha

5.0 stars 6/30/2012 by mynodha
by mynodha

Everything seems to be USB today. Earlier I bought a USB wireless adapter (dongle) but it didn't work. This plugged right in and worked without issues. No wires... and I still an available USB port. I don't know how fast it is, but I not complaints!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mynodha
Columbus, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Easy to Install / Works Great !
9/18/2013

Customer review by DeBo13

5.0 stars 9/18/2013 by DeBo13
by DeBo13

This wireless adapter installed in my (2004 - Dell - Desk-Top Computer - Windows XP) in under 1/2 hour. 1. Be sure you have a wireless router... 2. Be sure you have an available PCI Slot on the back of your computer... 3. Turn off your computer and un-plug all wires... 4. Open computer and remove slot plate cover... 5. Firmly insert adapter and secure, be sure it will fit the slot... 6. Close computer and attach your wires. 7. Turn on your PC and insert the Install Disk... 8. Follow menu instructions and add the router password, (located on the back of router or call your provider) and your computer is now wireless and can be moved to most locations in your home! You Do Not Need the 'Ethernet Cable' anymore or connected for this procedure! And that's how it worked for me.... ! Good Luck with Yours !!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DeBo13
Panama City Beach, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worked great while it lasted.
9/3/2011

Customer review by OneRandomShopper

3.0 stars 9/3/2011 by OneRandomShopper
by OneRandomShopper

**Warning: Wordy review with some useless details.** I was using this Wintec FileMate PCI Wireless-N Network Adapter for nearly a month with no problems at all until two weeks ago. It was literally working one minute and then decided it wasn't going to connect anymore the next. There was no movement or tinkering involved and it was installed by someone I know who's worked with computers for a little over a decade. [NOT Geek Squad.] I could still see all the wireless networks in my area but it just wouldn't connect-- I kept getting an error message telling me to refresh the list because available networks may have changed. And Windows XP's Device Manager told me the card itself was still working properly. Being well-educated in computer "stuff" myself, I was stumped. I tried everything from putting the modem right next to it, changing slots, switching computers [red flag came up at this point], rebooting and bringing it to an expert [I repeat, NOT Geek Squad] -- but still nothing. The "ACT" [I'm assuming that stands for "Active"] light just kept on blinking and the "LINK" light never came back on. The [Realtek Wireless LAN Utility] software that comes with it is decent, but to be honest I stuck to using Windows Zero Config while it was working. With my current problem all it would tell me was "Not Associated" anyway, even though my modem's signal clearly reaches. [Yes, I quadruple-checked the network key and other wireless settings like I always do.. *Dramatic eye-roll.*] The software itself is kind of outdated but it's not a big deal. Rather, it doesn't make much of a difference. But I'm the type of person who likes to have the most recent version.. so I just downloaded the newest one from the Realtek website. For now I guess I'll just return it, get the same model and see what happens. If the same problem happens again then it's definitely not worth getting a third time. If anyone can figure out what caused my problem [other than the device being faulty, which it probably was], kudos to you and I hope you can post a solution up for everyone else to see. P.S. I also bought CNET's CWU-906 Wireless-N USB Adapter at the same time and it works just fine on the same computer [which is located one floor and three rooms away from the modem] and every other Windows XP computer I've plugged them both into. [Sorry, haven't tried it on that Vista crud or the awesome Windows 7.] It uses the same "Realtek Wireless LAN Utility" software as the FileMate. In my opinion this little white stick was the better half of what I bought. It might work better with an extension cable for some, since its size unfortunately half- to partially blocks the USB ports around it. P.P.S. If you've made it this far congrats and thanks for reading. I hope this was at least a little helpful.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OneRandomShopper
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The Bad and The Good on this card with cards Specs
7/27/2011

Customer review by Itzmepete

2.0 stars 7/27/2011 by Itzmepete
by Itzmepete

Got this card because my old Linksys G card was NOT compatable with my new Netgear N600 (Excellent) and caused my system to loop into a reboot mode over and over. Figured this out on my own as Netgear was no help. Now for the Bad and The Good. The Good 1) $15, picked up after a week. 2) Hook up was easy, didn't need the install disk. Windows installed a newer driver than what was on the disk. 3) Good range, not great and just a bit better than my old Linksys WMP54GV4 G card. The Bad 1) Data transfer speed, I got between 4 and 7 mps speeds, should be and I expected much better and way much faster as it is a "N" card capable of 150 mps. 2) While the card is a "N" card, Wifi is 2.4 Ghtz so DON'T expect the range or speed to be much better than your old G card. While "N" band is advertised as higher speed and more range it ONLY gives you more range and speed when 5 Ghtz is incorporated in the card and used with a router with a 5ghtz set up. This wifi card IS a "N" card but not a 5ghtz but a 2.4 ghtz so range is not there. It will NOT see or connect to a 5ghtz router unless its a dual band router (2.4 and 5 ghtz ) and then only see and connect to the 2.4 signal. I switched back to the older (CD Included) driver with same results. My wifi router was 4 feet away. The stats, Desktop running WinXP, I used a new Netgear N600 Dual Band (2.4 and 5 Ghtz) BGN router (excellent). I tested speeds with 2 different sites (speedtest and speakeasy) with the ability to test locally in my city. I then disabled the wifi card and tested via cat cable connected to my router and got consistent 12 to 16 mps speeds. Just F.Y.I, my router was set up properly to handle 300mps speeds, my cable company speed is +16 mps cable modem with boost. My 3 year old Gateway laptop running Vista has built in wifi B and G card signal but no N BUT has 2.4 and 5 Ghtz and is connected to my 5 Ghtz network tests at 18 to 20 Mbs consistantly. "G" network is supposed to be capable up to 54 Mps speeds. "N' supposed to be up to 300Mps. Upload speeds were consistant at 3 to 4 MBs (that is my max from my ISP) but 5 Ghtz (on my laptop on "G") was slightly quicker to respond (ping). Would I recommend? If you have a max speed of 6 MBs from your ISP provider or your old card is non compatable with your new router and can live with the 6 to 8 mps max speed and want a cheap easy fix, I would recommend. If you like me have over 8/10 MBs isp speed (I have 16) and a new wifi 5 ghtz router capable of high speed I would not recommend as you won't get those speeds with this card. Basically a bit better preformance than my Linksys wifi card with way much easier set up and no compatability issues but speed is not there. I'm taking it back as it defeats the purpose of having a 5 Ghtz wifi router and the better range and speed. If you want Range you must get a 5 Ghtz card. You will get range and better speed even if its just a G card on the 5Ghtz band. In my opinion and from my tests, N is worthless on 2.4 Ghtz.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Itzmepete
Atlanta, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So far so good
4/4/2011

Customer review by JustMyWeirdIdeas

5.0 stars 4/4/2011 by JustMyWeirdIdeas
by JustMyWeirdIdeas

Using with a dlinkgo Wireless N 150 Router which is in the front of the house and the older desk top pc is in a building in the back yard. Only a 7 Mbps speed but a lot faster than dial up.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JustMyWeirdIdeas
Piedmont, Al.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wireless Adapter
3/14/2011

Customer review by kalenak

5.0 stars 3/14/2011 by kalenak
by kalenak

Works great. Easy to install. Great price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kalenak
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing for the price
9/25/2012

Customer review by patchiga

5.0 stars 9/25/2012 by patchiga
by patchiga

I was skeptical over its performance considering its cheap price. But i was pleasantly surprised. My connection borders between excellent and extremely good with close to 50 feet separation from the router. Good product to say the least.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
patchiga
OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Easy to install and Linux code available online
10/13/2012

Customer review by stumptownguy

5.0 stars 10/13/2012 by stumptownguy
by stumptownguy

software works (CD) and was easy to install. I would not recommend included encryption software if you are going to use multiple devices on your router. I also installed this adapter on Umbuntu with code that is available on line.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stumptownguy
portland , or
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
easy install
12/8/2013

Customer review by Wally9933

5.0 stars 12/8/2013 by Wally9933
by Wally9933

I have used this for a week and already see vast improvement over the USB Type. Install and load the drivers that come with the disk find your service, done. Very strong signal and you freed up a USB Port.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wally9933
Chisholm, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good product, great price!
5/17/2013

Customer review by dqualls

4.0 stars 5/17/2013 by dqualls
by dqualls

After a lot of time (and patience) I still could not get the downloaded linux driver to work on linux, so I had to install WinXP instead. The included Windows driver worked great on WinXP after it was configured correctly. It is my opinion that unless you are a real Linux guru, do not purchase this product for use on a Linux computer. If you are planning to use this wireless adapter for a Windows XP computer, it works great.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dqualls
Webb City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 197 total reviews
1-20 of 197 reviews