Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 253 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

253 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

253 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
173
4 stars
35
3 stars
13
2 stars
6
1 stars
26
1-20 of 197 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 197 total reviews
1-20 of 197 reviews
Mostly good - get it
6/8/2011

Customer review by McKiesling

4.0 stars 6/8/2011 by McKiesling
by McKiesling

Set-up is simple and quick. Utility software that it comes with is pretty good; nothing fancy but it supplies you with what you need, advanced user or not. Internet speed is mostly commendable - a few issues with videos buffering or pages loading but the rest of what I use it for (downloading/gaming) doesn't seem to have any issues. I experienced a notable number of disconnects. For the past few days it's been stable but for the first week or so I had some issues with my connection. Nothing too bad just annoying while gaming. I'm an avid gamer and computer geek so there is some experience and knowledge behind this review. I would absolutely recommend giving this product a try, keeping in mind it's inexpensive and it can be returned if need be.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
McKiesling
Kansas City, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great card for $15
12/8/2010

Customer review by Robin1972

5.0 stars 12/8/2010 by Robin1972
by Robin1972

I wanted a cheap card to connect to a G network at home. I saw this priced about the same as cheap cards that max out at G standard but this was N which, with the correct wireless router, should connect much faster and is backward compatible with both G and B 802.11 standards. I opened the computer, popped it into an open PCI slot and closed up. Once I turned on the computer, which runs Windows 7 64bit, it recognised the card but was unable to assign drivers - but was fine when I put the CD that accompanied the card in and ran the device manager. Once connected I was then able to update to the latest drivers with Windows Update. It uses a Realtek 8190 wireless N chip on the board. I think its a fantastic deal for $15. Plus shipping was included and really fast for me - I got it in 2 days! The card works well and I get good speeds. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (47) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Robin1972
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Excellent
1/22/2011

Customer review by Multiplasm

5.0 stars 1/22/2011 by Multiplasm
by Multiplasm

Ordered this product off of Walmart Site to Store, took 6 days, which I expected. The product is just awesome. Have this item connected to the Belkin Play N600. I'm at "Excellent" signal two rooms away from the router at 150 Mbps. I'm unable to get full N because I have other devices on the router that are G, and thus the router can't broadcast N and G at the same time; that's with EVERY router ever made. So don't be upset if this device won't get you full N speeds; look at your other devices first. This product is surprisingly small. Clicked in the PCI slot without a hitch. Then installed the driver with the provided CD. Works instantly, with 0 disconnects so far. This piece of technology is just amazing. If you have doubts because of price; just get it. Do it.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Multiplasm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great wi-fi card
4/14/2011

Customer review by Phomie

5.0 stars 4/14/2011 by Phomie
by Phomie

Installed in my desktop running Win 7 Home Premium 64 bit. New 'hardware found' came up and I browsed to the cd disk that came wth the card. Windows instantly found the correct driver on the cd and insalled it. I've always used Netgear or Belkin cards in the past which always install their own useless wireless control panel software. None of that here, just hardware and driver. Works great and is a very solid built card. Easiest hardware I have ever installed.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Phomie
Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great value
6/15/2011

Customer review by TripleDDD

5.0 stars 6/15/2011 by TripleDDD
by TripleDDD

$15 for an N card, what else needs to be said. Some drops and noise, but I am also located 250 ft from a shared router and 2.4GHz phones, so really not that bad. Delivered on time. Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit did not auto install drivers, the install disk worked, and once I updated the latest drivers from the web, I went from 30% signal to consistant >70% on strength and quality with no packet losses. Works on Skype, MagicJack, Ventrillo with minor latency (again, see my distance from router which may be the issue).

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TripleDDD
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
DO NOT INSTALL THE WIRELESS UTILITY!
9/24/2011

Customer review by robbery525

4.0 stars 9/24/2011 by robbery525
by robbery525

At first i thought "what a great deal!" when i put the product in and installed the drivers, i thought i was going to have a good thing with this card. Turns out, this card caused me a lot of problems. The first few days it had decent speed. then it dropped to about 1-2Mbps. I went to speedtest.net and found out it was actually averaging about 1 Mbps (over about 10 attempts) the highest it went was 4Mbps, the previous test and test after that dropped back down to about .5Mbps, being the only computer on in the house. So after a little tinkering rather than just returning it, I decided to plug in my usb adapter, and delete all software/drivers for the card. Reinstalled using just Windows update and my speed jumped to a consistent 6-8 Mbps. FINAL WORDS: after uninstalling the cd software and just letting windows run the card, I more than doubled my speed. For the price, it caused a lot of hassle, but in the end it is worth it (if you let windows install the drivers. the cd drivers are outdated anyway)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
robbery525
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wireless adapter that works with Linux OS
4/1/2011

Customer review by ScottinMO

4.0 stars 4/1/2011 by ScottinMO
by ScottinMO

This wireless PCI card will work in all the regular Windows OS, but you have to choose carefully when you are building a Linux system. Not all adapters work in Linux. I am running Linux Mint Julia 64 bit, and with a little research (Google) and patience, this adapter works. Since configured, it has worked flawlessly, and the price is great.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ScottinMO
Southern Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Easy to Install / Works Great !
9/18/2013

Customer review by DeBo13

5.0 stars 9/18/2013 by DeBo13
by DeBo13
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This wireless adapter installed in my (2004 - Dell - Desk-Top Computer - Windows XP) in under 1/2 hour. 1. Be sure you have a wireless router... 2. Be sure you have an available PCI Slot on the back of your computer... 3. Turn off your computer and un-plug all wires... 4. Open computer and remove slot plate cover... 5. Firmly insert adapter and secure, be sure it will fit the slot... 6. Close computer and attach your wires. 7. Turn on your PC and insert the Install Disk... 8. Follow menu instructions and add the router password, (located on the back of router or call your provider) and your computer is now wireless and can be moved to most locations in your home! You Do Not Need the 'Ethernet Cable' anymore or connected for this procedure! And that's how it worked for me.... ! Good Luck with Yours !!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DeBo13
Panama City Beach, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
wireless adapter
7/7/2011

Customer review by libsm

5.0 stars 7/7/2011 by libsm
by libsm

The product came fast and works perfectly fine. My only complaint is there is no instruction manual on how to install the product in your computer. I find a manual would be very helpful to those who don't know much about computers, like me. We had to call my brother to help talk us through the installation. Overall the product is as described and works good.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
libsm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/30/2011

Customer review by mamawdj

5.0 stars 5/30/2011 by mamawdj
by mamawdj

We have two desktop computers. I have the modem/router on my desktop. My husband was using a USB connected wireless router. He was having all kinds of connection problems. Since installing this device, he has not had any problems connecting to the internet. He said it was the best thing he has purchased in a while.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mamawdj
Clayton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This is a great product.
12/29/2010

Customer review by wulf1367

5.0 stars 12/29/2010 by wulf1367
by wulf1367

This was a very helpful product, and i would reconmend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wulf1367
Junction city ks.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It performs well for the price you pay.
1/3/2012

Customer review by qwest4riches

4.0 stars 1/3/2012 by qwest4riches
by qwest4riches

This is not a big name brand product and that is why it is cheap. I do not know if it performs any better than big name brand products, but I will say that it does not work as good as my integrated wireless network on my Toshiba laptop that was bought in 2009. For some odd reason the signal is lost frequently especially when I am running Pandora.com. The signal penetrates through a bathroom (two walls) into the kitchen where the wireless modem is hooked up, which is about 30 feet. According to the software that came with the device, it has about 85% signal strength from that location. It was also a little difficult to get it working once the device and software was installed. It may be my fault that the device does not function exceptionally well. When my internet demand is not that great like gamers and I only use it for casual internet usage this device does its job just fine for the money I paid for it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
qwest4riches
Ankeny, IA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good product
12/28/2010

Customer review by fortuitous

5.0 stars 12/28/2010 by fortuitous
by fortuitous

In use for about 2 weeks. Works like a charm on Windows 7 64bit with good connection and signal strength. No issues with resuming from standby or hibernate modes.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fortuitous
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A cheap card that acts like a cheap card ...
2/6/2013

Customer review by CaptNeo4

1.0 stars 2/6/2013 by CaptNeo4
by CaptNeo4

This card was a disappoitment. First, it took a full two weeks to arrive! I have been spoiled by NewEgg. Walmart uses the least cost carriers for their deliveries; I have had this experience with them before. Slow is their norm. I wish it was better; I am a Walmart stockholder. Second, I pulled the card out of my PC after spending a day trying to get it to work properly. It was a buggy performer from the start. It would not hold a connection. Third, updating the driver from Realtek was impossible. MSN lists the RealTek support site as having security or maleware issues and would not allow a download. I wrote RealTek informing them of this issue and asked them to send me the driver. They did not respond. Fourth, After reading some of the other problems others have had with this card, it may have more issues than just needing a driver update. Windows Compatibility lists this card as incompatable with Windows 7. In summary, I got what i paid for. Glad to read some people didn't have any problems installing right out of the box. For me, this card was a lesson on being penny foolish.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CaptNeo4
Morton, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
9/27/2013

Customer review by medic620

1.0 stars 9/27/2013 by medic620
by medic620

Had my on board ethernet card go bad so I decided to go wireless. After waiting over a week it finally arrived. Installation was easy. I had to use the CD to complete the install. This card worked great for about 1 hour then it lost the connection in the middle of browsing. Reinstalled the software and it worked for about 5 minutes. I called tech support and left a voice mail. Charles called me back after about 1 hour. After explaining the problem he said a tech would be in any minute and he would walk across the building and explain my problem. Charles called me back several hours later and said the tech suggest a total reinstall of my windows xp spac3. A local tech suggested doing a restore which I did. Now Mozilla will not load but I can connect with IE with the same lack of reliability. I am going to return this card to Walmart and spend a little more on hopefully a better card.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
medic620
Hudson, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Exactly what I needed.
6/30/2012

Customer review by mynodha

5.0 stars 6/30/2012 by mynodha
by mynodha

Everything seems to be USB today. Earlier I bought a USB wireless adapter (dongle) but it didn't work. This plugged right in and worked without issues. No wires... and I still an available USB port. I don't know how fast it is, but I not complaints!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mynodha
Columbus, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for extending wireless connection
10/11/2011

Customer review by Xjr1

5.0 stars 10/11/2011 by Xjr1
by Xjr1

It work 200 yrd from the router, at the same connection speed as in the same room.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Xjr1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worked great while it lasted.
9/3/2011

Customer review by OneRandomShopper

3.0 stars 9/3/2011 by OneRandomShopper
by OneRandomShopper

**Warning: Wordy review with some useless details.** I was using this Wintec FileMate PCI Wireless-N Network Adapter for nearly a month with no problems at all until two weeks ago. It was literally working one minute and then decided it wasn't going to connect anymore the next. There was no movement or tinkering involved and it was installed by someone I know who's worked with computers for a little over a decade. [NOT Geek Squad.] I could still see all the wireless networks in my area but it just wouldn't connect-- I kept getting an error message telling me to refresh the list because available networks may have changed. And Windows XP's Device Manager told me the card itself was still working properly. Being well-educated in computer "stuff" myself, I was stumped. I tried everything from putting the modem right next to it, changing slots, switching computers [red flag came up at this point], rebooting and bringing it to an expert [I repeat, NOT Geek Squad] -- but still nothing. The "ACT" [I'm assuming that stands for "Active"] light just kept on blinking and the "LINK" light never came back on. The [Realtek Wireless LAN Utility] software that comes with it is decent, but to be honest I stuck to using Windows Zero Config while it was working. With my current problem all it would tell me was "Not Associated" anyway, even though my modem's signal clearly reaches. [Yes, I quadruple-checked the network key and other wireless settings like I always do.. *Dramatic eye-roll.*] The software itself is kind of outdated but it's not a big deal. Rather, it doesn't make much of a difference. But I'm the type of person who likes to have the most recent version.. so I just downloaded the newest one from the Realtek website. For now I guess I'll just return it, get the same model and see what happens. If the same problem happens again then it's definitely not worth getting a third time. If anyone can figure out what caused my problem [other than the device being faulty, which it probably was], kudos to you and I hope you can post a solution up for everyone else to see. P.S. I also bought CNET's CWU-906 Wireless-N USB Adapter at the same time and it works just fine on the same computer [which is located one floor and three rooms away from the modem] and every other Windows XP computer I've plugged them both into. [Sorry, haven't tried it on that Vista crud or the awesome Windows 7.] It uses the same "Realtek Wireless LAN Utility" software as the FileMate. In my opinion this little white stick was the better half of what I bought. It might work better with an extension cable for some, since its size unfortunately half- to partially blocks the USB ports around it. P.P.S. If you've made it this far congrats and thanks for reading. I hope this was at least a little helpful.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OneRandomShopper
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good product, great price!
5/17/2013

Customer review by dqualls

4.0 stars 5/17/2013 by dqualls
by dqualls
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After a lot of time (and patience) I still could not get the downloaded linux driver to work on linux, so I had to install WinXP instead. The included Windows driver worked great on WinXP after it was configured correctly. It is my opinion that unless you are a real Linux guru, do not purchase this product for use on a Linux computer. If you are planning to use this wireless adapter for a Windows XP computer, it works great.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dqualls
Webb City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/1/2011

Customer review by Flyback

5.0 stars 9/1/2011 by Flyback
by Flyback

I purchased a high-dollar Cisco-Linksys adapter from an online merchant after upgrading my router from 10/100 to 1000. I had always used Linksys products with outstanding results -- not this time. It locked-up my computer, wouldn't even clear POST. The merchant quickly sent a replacement, and you guessed it. It locked-up my computer too. Well, there's only a finite number of days, weeks, and months in a life time, so I ordered this adapter (at less than half the price of the Cisco adapter) from Walmart. It's working flawlessly. My computer is back online and from now on I'm checking with Walmart for my network PC's. I still think Linksys made the best networking products available. I just won't purchase anything after the Cisco/Linksys merger. I'm not in business to be their Quality Assurance Department!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Flyback
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 197 total reviews
1-20 of 197 reviews