Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 503 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

503 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

503 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
314
4 stars
113
3 stars
24
2 stars
17
1 stars
35
1-20 of 423 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 423 total reviews
1-20 of 423 reviews
Exceeded Expectations
1/22/2011

Customer review by Patspurchases

5.0 stars 1/22/2011 by Patspurchases
by Patspurchases

I purchased this DVD player for my husband for Christmas. The screen is a great size, the controls are easy to see and operate (there are no extra bells and whistles to confuse things), and the picture quality is beautiful. The screen swivels so you can adjust for glare or to allow someone else to watch (or not watch). The only thing that could make it better is if they put a case in with it.

Was this review helpful? (392) (41)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Patspurchases
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Portable DVD Player / Sound is Loud & Clear
2/11/2011

Customer review by DancingGeek

5.0 stars 2/11/2011 by DancingGeek
by DancingGeek

This player was just what I was looking for. I wanted a larger screen than the average 7-9inch portable player, and I got excited when I saw this under $100. I admit I was alittle concerned by the bad audio reviews. I don't know why, because when I played it for the first time, the sound was loud enough to compete w/our television and be heard clearly across the room. In short, it's pretty darn loud at half volume. Picture is clear, vibrant too. Easy to operate, and I love it's sleek design too. I'm not the least bit disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (523) (60)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DancingGeek
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Top 1000 contributor
better than expected
12/11/2010

Customer review by seetoit

4.0 stars 12/11/2010 by seetoit
by seetoit

hesitate to buy but sound good picture good no problems to date

Was this review helpful? (157) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
seetoit
houston texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great for the Kids
6/28/2011

Customer review by MECHANIK

4.0 stars 6/28/2011 by MECHANIK
by MECHANIK

I bought this for a family vacation out of town. I have A 2 & 5 yr old, this dvd player kept them occupied the whole time so they were not getting bored or out of hand. The dvd player battery seems to last very long with a full charge. The volume is pretty good in a home or room, but when on the road you get the wind noise and road noise & does not sound that loud. But we have an audio input on our stereo and was able to use our car stereo for sound which kept them more into the movies. FYI - comes with car charger, wall charger, remote, headphones & video out cables. Does not have video inputs. Which could be used for hooking up gaming systems or other equipment.

Was this review helpful? (82) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MECHANIK
arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
GREAT picture / sound quality for this commuter!
1/1/2011

Customer review by Shmarty

5.0 stars 1/1/2011 by Shmarty
by Shmarty

WOW!! I was hesitant to purchase a portable dvd player in the first place, but decided on two different players - this Sylvania 10" player and a Phillips 9" from another store. This one beat the Phillips out of the water - the price is fantastic, the picture quality is amazing, and the sound through the headphones is crystal clear. The sound quality is not as great without the headphones, but what do you expect from tiny speakers? I reverse commute on the train, and this is exactly what I needed! GET IT - you won't be disappointed. Plus, you can always return it if you don't like it, but I was ridiculously surprised and amazed at the picture and sound quality.

Was this review helpful? (316) (86)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shmarty
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great value!!!
6/8/2011

Customer review by Travelingmoviefan

5.0 stars 6/8/2011 by Travelingmoviefan
by Travelingmoviefan

This portable dvd player exceeded my expectactions. The 5 hour built in battery actually lasted me over 7 hours without recharging and showed no signs of going dead after a 7 1/2 hour trip to the beach. Best $100.00 I have ever spent on a dvd player. The only thing that got me was the glare on the screen, but what can you expect in a car with no tinted windows on a clear sunny day while traveling? The sound was good and no skipping at all even on some rough roads. The best part is that you can use it anywhere and also when your power goes out from a thunderstorm you can keep watching your movies. Great choice!!!

Was this review helpful? (61) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Travelingmoviefan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/5/2011

Customer review by kharvickfan

5.0 stars 6/5/2011 by kharvickfan
by kharvickfan

My only complaint is that there isn't a carstrap to attach it to the head rest since our 18 month old has to hold it and can have trouble with it. Other than that I think the picture quality for the price is outstanding, reminiscent of flat screen LCD TV's. The big screen is wonderful and has a pretty decent speaker for the price. The swivel screen is a sweet feature, comes with a remote control and car charger so it's an amazing value. I think on our first charge we got pretty close to 5 hours so that claim is pretty accurate. No complaints at all and after having purchased it I have no complaints based on the price, the only thing we wish it had was the straps for the head rest. Thank you Wal-Mart!

Was this review helpful? (49) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kharvickfan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
10/7/2011

Customer review by syfygirl01

4.0 stars 10/7/2011 by syfygirl01
by syfygirl01

The player seems to function okay, but I notice that I hear a slight "whirring" noise as the DVD spins and the cover of the area where you insert the DVD doesn't seem to be securely closed. When I apply a little pressure on top, the "whirring" noise ceases. I am hoping that this will not be a problem in the future. Other than that, with my limited use thus far, the player seems to be a pretty good device.

Was this review helpful? (40) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
syfygirl01
Orange, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Good DVD player. Low price
8/27/2013

Customer review by Walnut1481

4.0 stars 8/27/2013 by Walnut1481
by Walnut1481

I bought this unit to play dvd's in an area where I travel to work, and where there is no internet, cell reception, or television. The quality is adequate, but light weight. The construction is far from heavy duty (something mentioned on almost all the other player reviews). However, with gentle care, I believe it will last and work for two to three years. It's small and easy to bring along, fitting nicely in a briefcase. The remote is super light weight, and very small, and superfluous. The unit works well without it because with a small screen player, the screen is always close, and the controls are duplicated on the player face. I'm glad I bought it at this point. I bought this one because it was not very expensive compared to the others and because although the reviews expressed some problems, they seemed to be the same problems that the more expensive player reviews mentioned. The screen resolution is average, but ok. Volume is relatively weak, but comes through fine on ear buds or headphones. The swivel screen is useful.

Was this review helpful? (35) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Walnut1481
Charleston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good buy
8/23/2011

Customer review by bbardot

4.0 stars 8/23/2011 by bbardot
by bbardot

I read the reviews and was slightly hestitant in this purchase. After researching many portable dvd players- I decided to purchase this one because as far as size and cost- there is not one available. In other reviews people talk about the DVD player freezing and working poorly. This is due to low battery- nothing else. Had they plugged in the machine they would have realized that it works fine and there is nothing to "cue" you into the fact that the battery is getting low except for the freezing. Also this machine does not recharge while plugged into the cigarette lighter. Only when plugged into the wall... Good purchase and very please with it.

Was this review helpful? (41) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bbardot
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Decent player, but there are issues
2/9/2011

Customer review by CollinProf

3.0 stars 2/9/2011 by CollinProf
by CollinProf

This is not a bad player, but do not expect too much from it. Positive points: 1. Large screen is nice 2. Good battery life 3. Swivel screen can be useful 4. Composite connectors to plug into a TV Negative points: 1. The viewing angle is very restricted, so you must look perpendicular to get a decent bright look. 2. The remote has a cheap feel, but works OK. 3. Rather noisy operation - annoying if you're close All in all, a mediocre/decent product but you get what you pay for, so not too bad for the price.

Was this review helpful? (57) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CollinProf
Dallas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
too early to tell
2/23/2011

Customer review by FortMyersShopper

3.0 stars 2/23/2011 by FortMyersShopper
by FortMyersShopper

I purchased this DVD player online and received it in early February. Less than three weeks and ten hours of play time later, the unit would try to load, then display "no disc" and stop. We really like the screen size and features, expecially for $98, so we returned the unit to a local Wal Mart and re-purchased it online again, this time with the 3 year extended warranty for $17. Wal Mart accepted the unit for refund without the original packaging.

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FortMyersShopper
Ft Myers, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Sylvania Needs to Fix Problems-Don't Waste Your $$
6/28/2011

Customer review by CATLuvs2Shop

1.0 stars 6/28/2011 by CATLuvs2Shop
by CATLuvs2Shop

I read the reviews which mentioned the volume was low and hard to hear; yet others mentioned the volume was fine--no problem! The same issue included the dvd locking up or freezing on the player. I really wanted a 10" or larger player, which is difficult to find. Soooooooo, I decided to order it and hoped that I received a machine that had no problems. Unfortunately, that was not the case. The first dvd I put in was an off brand and froze. The second dvd was part of a complete season and also froze. The volume was terrible at the highest level. With any background noise, you wouldn't be able to hear anything. I was very disappointed. It was returned immediately. Don't waste your money purchasing this machine until Sylvania makes changes to the speaker system and player.

Was this review helpful? (42) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CATLuvs2Shop
Toooooooo Hot Arizona!
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
9/3/2013

Customer review by Galyjo

5.0 stars 9/3/2013 by Galyjo
by Galyjo

Ordered online (easy); item was ready for pickup in 2 days (fast). Unfortunately, after charging and making sure it was set to DVD mode, no matter what DVD I put in, the unit kept "loading" but not playing. I returned the DVD player to the store (no problem there). I was very disappointed as I thought this model had everything I wanted. So I took a chance and found a store that had this model in stock (make sure you call the store first as even though it listed online that certain stores had the model I wanted, when I called, I found out they didn't). After holding my breath, when I hit play IT WORKED!! I really like everything about this portable DVD player. The sound is good, the picture great - love the bigger screen - and feel that it was a great value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (31) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Galyjo
Chester County, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice DVD
12/19/2010

Customer review by corvette85

5.0 stars 12/19/2010 by corvette85
by corvette85

This DVD player works great. It is very durable. All the acc. come with it.

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
corvette85
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good picture/sound, Strange button fuunctions.
9/18/2013

Customer review by Max6519

4.0 stars 9/18/2013 by Max6519
by Max6519

Bought this for a 12 hour car ride. My daughter watched movies the whole trip. Very easy to use, love the swivel design. Battery life was good and the car adapter being included was awesome. The only complaints are the buttoms. Very strange design. The pause button is also the volume up button and the stop button is also the volume down button. To pause or stop you do a single push, to change the volume you need to hold the button down.. The buttons do take quite a bit of effort to push and are quite loud. This makes the unit feel very cheap. It does come with a remote but I did not play around with it, it seems equally as odd. There are more buttons on the remote than my home theater system and very small ones at that. Overall the unit did what I needed. The sound and picture were great, the design and user interface are just strange but I can live with that.

Was this review helpful? (28) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Max6519
Phoenix
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
excellent
7/15/2014

Customer review by overthinkingmother

5.0 stars 7/15/2014 by overthinkingmother
by overthinkingmother

I researched this item quite a bit. I read the good and the bad. In the end I decided to give it a try. It was cheaper than amazon and the return policy seemed easier to deal with just in case. It came less than 24 hours after I ordered it, that was an absolute shock to me. The picture is clear, the volume is perfect and best of all it lasted a 6 hour plane ride. I recommand this to anyone who is traveling with small child.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
overthinkingmother
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product!
3/5/2011

Customer review by briteyes62

5.0 stars 3/5/2011 by briteyes62
by briteyes62

Love this DVD player. It works great, pic is perfect, sound is great, all features work, including the remote control. I bought this to use while traveling around. Very light weight. I recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
briteyes62
Salina, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Real Value
1/6/2011

Customer review by nanate

4.0 stars 1/6/2011 by nanate
by nanate

Very pleased with sound and ease of operation. Many DVD players do not have good sound ,this one does.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nanate
Lucama ,NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
So Disappointed
12/15/2010

Customer review by mooshka

1.0 stars 12/15/2010 by mooshka
by mooshka

At full volume sound was too low. Could barely hear it. Picture was distorted and most features didn't work right. Or they worked once and not the next time. For the price one could live with a little distortion but not with bad sound and most features wouldn't work. Plus there were way too long pauses between activity. It was for a gift and I just had to return it as it was no good.

Was this review helpful? (26) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mooshka
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 423 total reviews
1-20 of 423 reviews