Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 15 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

15 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

15 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

53%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
1-15 of 15 total reviews
53%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Will not be upgraded to Android 2.2
12/30/2010

Customer review by nonicknameaaa

3.0 stars 12/30/2010 by nonicknameaaa
by nonicknameaaa

When I bought the phone I expected android programs to work on it. Guess I should have looked into it further but now Im stuck with a $200+ phone that won't run an Android 2.2 app. According to the Motorola website the T-mobile cliq xt will be upgraded to 2.2 but the one walmart sells will not.

Was this review helpful? (110) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nonicknameaaa
St Louis
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT PHONE! Works with 2.X
6/9/2011

Customer review by vawiiman

5.0 stars 6/9/2011 by vawiiman
by vawiiman

This phone is fantastic. A lot of reviews here about how there is no upgrade to Android 2.1, but if you are fairly tech savvy, or know someone who is... not a problem. Root you phone (Google "root motorola cliq xt" for instructions), overclock it, and install the 2.X firmware. BAM my phone is now on par with other Android devices twice as expensive and running. I am currently running 2.3.3 Android firmware and it is running great. Even if you don't upgrade, the phone is still really cool. Not quite as powerful as a full fledged Android or iPhone without the root, but it is still pretty awesome. I like the Motoblur features. Turns your phone into a one stop shop for all your social networking at the tip of your fingers. 99% of us don't even need 2.X unless you just HAVE to have wireless tether or angry birds. LOL. Sure, the stock version doesn't run many of the Android apps, but for the money, you will be hard pressed to find anything better. 5 STARS

Was this review helpful? (77) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vawiiman
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Phone
11/25/2010

Customer review by TractorKing

5.0 stars 11/25/2010 by TractorKing
by TractorKing

We got tired of the $200+ phone bills so went with Walmart's plan and these phones. They work great.

Was this review helpful? (53) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TractorKing
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Old Android version
12/6/2010

Customer review by Rudy77

3.0 stars 12/6/2010 by Rudy77
by Rudy77

I didn't realize when I bought it that it has Android 1.5 installed. Unfortunately, that limits the apps that are available. Phone is nice but would be a better value if it had a more current version of Android. 1.5 is a pretty old version when you compare to most phones being sold now.

Was this review helpful? (51) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rudy77
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Really needs software upgrade to android 2.1.
12/20/2010

Customer review by dunga007

4.0 stars 12/20/2010 by dunga007
by dunga007

Lot of applications from market place can not be used due to android 1.5. Motorola is supposed to release the update this quarter. but that has not happens yet. Hope it comes soon. Without that phone is a average value.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dunga007
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Look elsewhere
2/9/2011

Customer review by melenet

2.0 stars 2/9/2011 by melenet
by melenet

When I bought my first Cliq XT in October, since it was the best device Walmart Family Mobile sold and it has Android. i noticed the interface being sluggish. It works alright but I was excited about news that the Android version would be upgraded and hoped that the bugs would be fixed. I added a second Cliq XT for my wife. Recently T-mobile and Motorola announced that they changed there mind and there won't be upgrades for Cliq XT. Realizations that I've had once i found out there will be no efforts to fix the phone: I can't take advantage of the latest Google maps, my bank USAA has an awesome app for the Android but not for 1.5, I keep hearing talk about angry birds but I can't do it with my phone, and my Google Voice app keeps telling me to update the app even though it fails everytime. In fact many popular apps I search for have prerequisites for a newer Android OS. Spending $500 total on 2 phones is a big committment to the Walmart Family Mobile service, one saying that I like the service and am going to stick with it. Unfortunately i am becoming increasingly dissatisfied with my phone choice. I continue to recommend the service, just not this phone.

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
melenet
Medford, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
No upgrade to 2.1 android
1/2/2011

Customer review by nhbigdog

3.0 stars 1/2/2011 by nhbigdog
by nhbigdog

Motorola is not upgrading this phone to android 2.1 on the walmart mobile system.If you buy it from T-mobile you will get the upgrade. so plan on being stuck with 1.5. the phone does work okay but it does need to be rebooted almost daily. Too bad because I always liked motorola products next time I will subscibe to ATT and use an Htc or Samsung, someone who has better product support.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nhbigdog
Chester, NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good phone, once you upgrade to 2.1
4/12/2011

Customer review by TwilaKara

3.0 stars 4/12/2011 by TwilaKara
by TwilaKara

If you're not techie enough to root the phone and upgrade it to 2.1, I wouldn't recommend it. Most of the apps will be outdated before you know it. By the end of it all you'll be left sitting with a razr in a smartphone package at a $250 price point. However, it can be rooted to 2.1, and once over clocked seems to work very nice :)

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TwilaKara
Fairport NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
An outdated phone
2/21/2011

Customer review by johngalt007

1.0 stars 2/21/2011 by johngalt007
by johngalt007

I bought this phone for $250+ taxes as part of Walmart Family Mobile plan. I am satisfied with the service, but very disappointed with the phone. I had spent so much money in the hope that the os would be updated to android 2.1 as Motorola's web site had promised. Motorola reneged on its promise and now I am stuck with an outdated phone on which most of the modern apps would not run.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
johngalt007
Westbury, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Android phone
1/13/2011

Customer review by picturetaking

4.0 stars 1/13/2011 by picturetaking
by picturetaking

Love the phone but it would help to have a printed user manual in the box with the phone. Takes good photos and video and the flash is a good addition to the phone.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
picturetaking
murrells Inlet, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Phone!!
12/24/2010

Customer review by TRH22

5.0 stars 12/24/2010 by TRH22
by TRH22

This phone is awesome and its great that I can use it with a cheaper plan. Wal-Marts family mobile plan is awesome. This phone does everything and is great to have. It keeps me in touch with everyone. Would definately recommend!

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TRH22
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great phone great plan
2/28/2011

Customer review by HillLarryIs

4.0 stars 2/28/2011 by HillLarryIs
by HillLarryIs

got this phone for the walmart plan and it works great

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HillLarryIs
Newton NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Poor performing phone
9/11/2011

Customer review by Rewwiee

1.0 stars 9/11/2011 by Rewwiee
by Rewwiee

This phone will not work in my home. I do not recommend buying the phone if you do not have additional home phone service. During the initial register call, I was asked to provide social security #, drivers #, home address, etc. Could not understand the English of the customer service rep.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rewwiee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice Phone/Computer/Toy
1/4/2011

Customer review by DAPRocker

5.0 stars 1/4/2011 by DAPRocker
by DAPRocker

We are very happy with these phones. They do most everything any on the market does, and my son even said the display is better than his friend's iphone...

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DAPRocker
Woodstock, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Horrible phone
10/14/2011

Customer review by Dalyna

1.0 stars 10/14/2011 by Dalyna
by Dalyna

This phone doesn't register incoming call and texts on a regular basis. It does not send or recieve pictures as advertized even with the data pack. It crashes when playing certin games on it like scrabble.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dalyna
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day