Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.4out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 | 152 reviews
5 stars
94
4 stars
41
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 stars
5
Sort by: 
1-20 of 144 reviews
1-20 of 144 reviews
I would purchase tbis item again if I required one.
8/24/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The safe did what it was suppose to do.The combination and key entry worked fine.The only problem was the weight because the FedEx delivery simply dropped the safe OUSIDE in front of my garage We were both home and the Fedex people made no attempt to at LEAST bring it to the door.Aside from that all is great.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I would buy this safe again
6/26/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
product is what I wanted. It has given me trouble a couple times opening it
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Just what Iwas looking for
2/21/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Great Price
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Exactly What I Needed
11/1/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The only negative comment I can think of is that it took considerable effort for an 81-year old to get the box up 15 steps to the second floor. Other than that, the safe is perfect for my use. I store jewelry, passports, a couple of handguns, etc. and some important papers. It's large enough to hold everything I need to protect. The combination worked perfectly the very first time I tried it and the key makes entry very easy. I couldn't be happier with this purchase.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Heavy Duty
12/21/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This was exactly what we were looking for. It is heavy, so be prepared to have a way to transport it (especially if its going on the second floor) 90 lbs. I used a blanket--wish I had a dollie. But easy to use. I recommend.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I would buy again
1/15/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The product arrived quickly. Very sturdy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect for what we want
12/27/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Exactly what we wanted- it IS heavy, so be prepared on how you will transport from one level to the next to where it will finally settle.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Just what I wanted
11/25/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great safe that gives me what I needed, waterproof as well as fireproof. I knew before buying that it did not have bolt down design, but I was able to live with that. Interior size was very adequate for most people. That said, it's a great buy for the size and features. If you purchased & whine about the lack of bolt down you didn't do your homework.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Hope it holds up
2/11/2012
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
not enough detail contained on the web site about the product and it construction. Instruction booklet and sticker showed different instructions,leading to confusion.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fireproof safe
12/9/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Nice to store documents and items against fire or watwr damage.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good value
11/17/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Can not bolt down.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Bought 2
4/15/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Can,t bolt down
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
As advertised
12/29/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
As advertised
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Miserable delivery
6/28/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The product on itself may be good, the packaging however is its weakness. There is nothing else than a thin layer of carton to protect it during transportation and the guys moving this very heavy item do not mind if ever they could damage it. I do not know if the item was damaged by Walmart at their warehouse or by Fedex who delivered it to my door but I had to return it. Walmart sent me another safe over and the new one arrived in almost the same condition: so damaged that the integrity of the safe was compromised and it could not protect my valuables against fire or flood. I returned it and got refunded. Do not order this item to be delivered home, it would arrived broken. What is not mentioned in the description of this item is that the exterior is made of heavy duty composite plastic. It might be just fine to keep valuables out of fire or water damages but if it drops on the floor from very little height, it could brake under its own weight. Walmart customer service has been very kind and efficient on my case though.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
First Alert 2092F Safe
3/4/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is a very heavy and well made safe. As others have noted, the handle is a bit "cheesy" but if the handle were to break, entry into the safe would absolutely not be gained. It's really not a big deal, and if you don't act like a 600 lb gorilla when opening it, the handle should last indefinitely. I like the safe a lot. Plenty of room, and when filled with what I have in it, the total weight approaches 200 lbs. It is also pretty bulky and a thief (snatch and grab) would indeed have a very difficult time making off with this safe. The only problem I encountered ... no keys were shipped with the safe. I had to call First Alert and order them (free), but in order to do so, I had to fax them a notarized statement that I was the owner of the safe. Good policy. In addition, after informing Walmart of the problem with the notarized statement etc. etc. they (Walmart) refunded me $15.00 for the hassle and inconvenience. Not bad Walmart. Not bad at all.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (42)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
perfect size 1.3 cu ft
3/18/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
It comes in a larger box then the actual safe package ...all corners had thick corner pads inside.to protect during shipping although about 90 lbs...its hard to get a hold of to pick up...plan on a trolly of some kind . maybe even a mechanics rolling board to put on to roll around. The safe itself took a few trys to get open...shelf and space is good..I am glad i got the 1.3...unless you have alotof things to keep the fire rating etc was a bit better than the smaller ones...I did not want electronic...there is also a key that works independent of the combo...think about that/consider vs the competitors. This was to replace a safety deposit box at the bank with less than half the space.$55 a year.. I had it shipped to the store so that in case there was damage..visable on the outside I could check it there instead of shipping it to the house.The gal at Walmart was helpful and helped get it to the car
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
What I Expected
10/13/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After reading a lot of reviews about a lot of safes, I decided on this one for several reasons. With a very limited income, I needed something affordable. I also wanted a safe that is rated to protect dvds, external hard drives, etc. in the event of a fire. Being waterproof was also a requirement in case of being soaked by water from fire hoses. I got the safe with a dial combination rather than electronic because I didn't want to have to think about batteries, etc. Another benefit of this is the override key, which makes it easy to use if I want just to open it with a key instead of using the combination, or if something happens to me and a family member needs to get into it but has trouble with the combination. Some reviewers had trouble getting the combination to work, but I got it after the first try. The manual explains how to use the dial better than the sticker on the safe itself. I've tried it many times and it always works. Some reviewers also said that things get slightly damp inside, which I found to be true, so I'm using tightly sealed plastic containers. Also, I bought online an inexpensive, small, reusable silica dehumidifier, which I hope will work. I hope I never need to find out if the safe does everything it says it does in a fire.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (97)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Value - Roomy
7/12/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I think this safe is excellent for anyone who needs room to store documents or other valuables. I like the combination, so that you don't have to always have a key with you. Another nice feature is that it has a key over-ride just in case. The only thing that is a bit of a down side to this product is that it does not let you choose your own combination. The combination is lengthty. Good for security and having said that, I have not had a bit of trouble remember the combination that has been assigned to me.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (116)No (16)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Really good safe at a great price
4/11/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Summary: If you need something more than just a metal lock box -- but something less than a full-sized business safe -- at an affordable price (under $200) with the added benefit of it being fire- & water-proof under most conditions, this one is worth being on your short-list of choices. Details: I looked at reviews for several different sizes, manufacturers and models of safes and settled on this one. It seemed to be the best match for what I needed, and -- as usual -- Walmart had the best price I could find (most others in the $200-225 range). It was heavier than I expected for it's size, almost 100 lbs, so it is hefty. I had it delivered to a store close-by for pickup (which was way better & cheaper than having it delivered), so it came in a shipping box, lined with styrofoam and containing the actual product box which was also well packeged. You'll want a pickup or SUV to take this home; it'll fit in a car trunk but you'll probably have to tie the lid down. Interior of safe is very roomy; plenty of space for documents, jewelry and other small valuables -- even a couple of full-sized handguns and ammo (if you're so inclined). Most of today's laptop computers probably wouldn't fit in it, but smaller mini-laptops, a Kindle Fire, PDA's, a Tom-Tom or Garmin auto GPS, etc would fit with room to spare. The plastic shelf can be moved to 3 levels within the safe or removed completely. The inside panel of the door has a small space in the top, about the size of a Quarter roll for really small items and a set of hooks for keys, necklaces or thin bracelets (like a tennis bracelet). The overall size of the safe, for me, was large enough to be useful but small enough that it doesn't take up much floor space. You could tuck it in a corner, cover it with small cloth and put a plant on top -- hide it in plain sight and it would not be obvious at all. I purchased the manual combo lock because I didn't want to have to rely on a battery operated lock. The combination is different than your old school locker combo or a combination padlock you might pick up from the local hardware store, so be prepared for a little bit of learning and be patient; the number and rotation pattern takes a little getting used to... I would recommend you open and lock it several times BEFORE you put anything of value in it, just to get the feel of how it works. It's not hard, just tricky. The combo numbers are preset and nothing in the booklet tells how to change the numbers. I've read other reviews on this safe where users said you can call their help line and they can tell you how to change the numbers (as of this writing, I haven't called to find out). There is a sticker on the safe with the combo numbers and spin pattern; keep it and hide it somewhere. Also, a barrel-type key lock hidden under a removable tab at the bottom of the combo dial (pictures don't show it) opens the safe if all else fails. The handle is plastic, but it seems pretty heavy-duty. It doesn't feel cheap or flimsy at all when you use it to open & lock the door. The door is secured by horizontal 1/2-inch diameter (or a little larger) bolts, so when you close & lock it, it is very tight. The safe sits on 4 round plastic feet about 1/4 - 3/8 -inch thick. I've read where others have drilled holes and mounted it to the floor, but I think you'd really have to go through alot to do this (industrial drill & bits, re-seal to maintain water & fire -proof characteristics, etc). Beside, they make a bolt-down model of this same safe. Size, features and price; this was the best choice for me for a household safe.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (45)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent product
11/14/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This safe was delivered right to my door. It weighs about 100 lbs., so I was surprised to see the delivery guy at my front door. I was able to slide it into the bedroom and unpacked it there. I use the key most of the time because it is easier and faster to get into the safe. It had one of those gel packs for moisture which I kept. I keep the wife's jewelry and a couple of handguns in the safe. If you are unable to slide it along the floor, you will need a substantial hand truck or dolly to move it. If you are planning on stealing the whole safe, make sure you have a strong partner to help lift it into the getaway car.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (38)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643940, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-10.1.1, SHA-cd91c60c037ec69024941e99664518ad4edafe94, CID-