Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 107 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

107 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

107 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
73
4 stars
26
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
1-20 of 99 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 99 total reviews
1-20 of 99 reviews
Good Value - Roomy
7/12/2011

Customer review by DixieDuke

4.0 stars 7/12/2011 by DixieDuke
by DixieDuke

I think this safe is excellent for anyone who needs room to store documents or other valuables. I like the combination, so that you don't have to always have a key with you. Another nice feature is that it has a key over-ride just in case. The only thing that is a bit of a down side to this product is that it does not let you choose your own combination. The combination is lengthty. Good for security and having said that, I have not had a bit of trouble remember the combination that has been assigned to me.

Was this review helpful? (103) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DixieDuke
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
What I Expected
10/13/2011

Customer review by dldj

4.0 stars 10/13/2011 by dldj
by dldj

After reading a lot of reviews about a lot of safes, I decided on this one for several reasons. With a very limited income, I needed something affordable. I also wanted a safe that is rated to protect dvds, external hard drives, etc. in the event of a fire. Being waterproof was also a requirement in case of being soaked by water from fire hoses. I got the safe with a dial combination rather than electronic because I didn't want to have to think about batteries, etc. Another benefit of this is the override key, which makes it easy to use if I want just to open it with a key instead of using the combination, or if something happens to me and a family member needs to get into it but has trouble with the combination. Some reviewers had trouble getting the combination to work, but I got it after the first try. The manual explains how to use the dial better than the sticker on the safe itself. I've tried it many times and it always works. Some reviewers also said that things get slightly damp inside, which I found to be true, so I'm using tightly sealed plastic containers. Also, I bought online an inexpensive, small, reusable silica dehumidifier, which I hope will work. I hope I never need to find out if the safe does everything it says it does in a fire.

Was this review helpful? (67) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dldj
Plymouth, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Really good safe at a great price
4/11/2013

Customer review by Brig57

5.0 stars 4/11/2013 by Brig57
by Brig57

Summary: If you need something more than just a metal lock box -- but something less than a full-sized business safe -- at an affordable price (under $200) with the added benefit of it being fire- & water-proof under most conditions, this one is worth being on your short-list of choices. Details: I looked at reviews for several different sizes, manufacturers and models of safes and settled on this one. It seemed to be the best match for what I needed, and -- as usual -- Walmart had the best price I could find (most others in the $200-225 range). It was heavier than I expected for it's size, almost 100 lbs, so it is hefty. I had it delivered to a store close-by for pickup (which was way better & cheaper than having it delivered), so it came in a shipping box, lined with styrofoam and containing the actual product box which was also well packeged. You'll want a pickup or SUV to take this home; it'll fit in a car trunk but you'll probably have to tie the lid down. Interior of safe is very roomy; plenty of space for documents, jewelry and other small valuables -- even a couple of full-sized handguns and ammo (if you're so inclined). Most of today's laptop computers probably wouldn't fit in it, but smaller mini-laptops, a Kindle Fire, PDA's, a Tom-Tom or Garmin auto GPS, etc would fit with room to spare. The plastic shelf can be moved to 3 levels within the safe or removed completely. The inside panel of the door has a small space in the top, about the size of a Quarter roll for really small items and a set of hooks for keys, necklaces or thin bracelets (like a tennis bracelet). The overall size of the safe, for me, was large enough to be useful but small enough that it doesn't take up much floor space. You could tuck it in a corner, cover it with small cloth and put a plant on top -- hide it in plain sight and it would not be obvious at all. I purchased the manual combo lock because I didn't want to have to rely on a battery operated lock. The combination is different than your old school locker combo or a combination padlock you might pick up from the local hardware store, so be prepared for a little bit of learning and be patient; the number and rotation pattern takes a little getting used to... I would recommend you open and lock it several times BEFORE you put anything of value in it, just to get the feel of how it works. It's not hard, just tricky. The combo numbers are preset and nothing in the booklet tells how to change the numbers. I've read other reviews on this safe where users said you can call their help line and they can tell you how to change the numbers (as of this writing, I haven't called to find out). There is a sticker on the safe with the combo numbers and spin pattern; keep it and hide it somewhere. Also, a barrel-type key lock hidden under a removable tab at the bottom of the combo dial (pictures don't show it) opens the safe if all else fails. The handle is plastic, but it seems pretty heavy-duty. It doesn't feel cheap or flimsy at all when you use it to open & lock the door. The door is secured by horizontal 1/2-inch diameter (or a little larger) bolts, so when you close & lock it, it is very tight. The safe sits on 4 round plastic feet about 1/4 - 3/8 -inch thick. I've read where others have drilled holes and mounted it to the floor, but I think you'd really have to go through alot to do this (industrial drill & bits, re-seal to maintain water & fire -proof characteristics, etc). Beside, they make a bolt-down model of this same safe. Size, features and price; this was the best choice for me for a household safe.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Brig57
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent product
11/14/2013

Customer review by taxedny

5.0 stars 11/14/2013 by taxedny
by taxedny

This safe was delivered right to my door. It weighs about 100 lbs., so I was surprised to see the delivery guy at my front door. I was able to slide it into the bedroom and unpacked it there. I use the key most of the time because it is easier and faster to get into the safe. It had one of those gel packs for moisture which I kept. I keep the wife's jewelry and a couple of handguns in the safe. If you are unable to slide it along the floor, you will need a substantial hand truck or dolly to move it. If you are planning on stealing the whole safe, make sure you have a strong partner to help lift it into the getaway car.

Was this review helpful? (26) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
taxedny
PSL, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Safe is Exactly as Described
12/3/2013

Customer review by TerpinAZ

5.0 stars 12/3/2013 by TerpinAZ
by TerpinAZ

This safe was purchased to replace an older Sentry safe with an electronic keypad. Over the years the electronic keypad failed to the point that I would have to enter the combination multiple times before the safe would open. This First Alert safe with the conventional combination dial works perfectly, and has a slightly larger interior than the Sentry Safe. I have only used this safe for one week, but at this time I am extremely satisfied with it.

Was this review helpful? (25) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TerpinAZ
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
First Alert 2092F Safe
3/4/2014

Customer review by whatsitmatteranyway

4.0 stars 3/4/2014 by whatsitmatteranyway
by whatsitmatteranyway

This is a very heavy and well made safe. As others have noted, the handle is a bit "cheesy" but if the handle were to break, entry into the safe would absolutely not be gained. It's really not a big deal, and if you don't act like a 600 lb gorilla when opening it, the handle should last indefinitely. I like the safe a lot. Plenty of room, and when filled with what I have in it, the total weight approaches 200 lbs. It is also pretty bulky and a thief (snatch and grab) would indeed have a very difficult time making off with this safe. The only problem I encountered ... no keys were shipped with the safe. I had to call First Alert and order them (free), but in order to do so, I had to fax them a notarized statement that I was the owner of the safe. Good policy. In addition, after informing Walmart of the problem with the notarized statement etc. etc. they (Walmart) refunded me $15.00 for the hassle and inconvenience. Not bad Walmart. Not bad at all.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
whatsitmatteranyway
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sturdy Safe
10/27/2012

Customer review by igiveupwiththenickname

5.0 stars 10/27/2012 by igiveupwiththenickname
by igiveupwiththenickname

I was a little apprehensive at first when I picked up my safe. The box was much bigger than I had expected. Luckily the young lady at pick-up opened the box for me and showed me the larger size was due to packing. Also I was extremely lucky the young man that took the safe out to my car could lift it into my back seat. I didn't realize it weighed 100 lbs. Anyway, I am very happy with my new safe. It turned out to be just the size that was listed on the web site so it fit perfectly where I intended to put it. It is extremely sturdy. Luckily the keys work because I haven't figured out how to open it with the combination as yet. I'm sure it's just me not following the instructions exactly as printed. I was impressed with the amount of space inside.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
igiveupwiththenickname
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect for my needs.
1/1/2014

Customer review by movienut27

4.0 stars 1/1/2014 by movienut27
by movienut27

I had read some reviews that said this is plastic..... which it is. However, I found it to be very sturdy and well made. Comes with one shelf - many slot options to make the shelf space as tall or short as you need.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
movienut27
Ct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/17/2012

Customer review by twoed

5.0 stars 3/17/2012 by twoed
by twoed

This safe is just as it is described and great for household use. Hope we never have to find out how fire and flood proof it is! The first one we received had been damaged by a forklift but was immediately picked up and replaced.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
twoed
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Safe is built well and provides security.
2/29/2012

Customer review by Razorbck

5.0 stars 2/29/2012 by Razorbck
by Razorbck

I am pleased to have the security of such a well-built safe. In case of fire or flooding, I know my documents will be safe. The one-time investment in this product beats paying for a safe deposit box at the bank.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Razorbck
Clarkesville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Purchase meets/exceeds expectations....
3/4/2014

Customer review by Giarc13

5.0 stars 3/4/2014 by Giarc13
by Giarc13

I am quite happy with the purchase. It has much plastic in the design, which is actually good because it means that those parts will not be prone to corrosion, but does not feel cheap. Although I do wish the handle was a little more heavy duty. Aside from that, great value. I like that this brand/model has a keyed option. People were complaining about the complexity of the combination, but I found it very straight forward, and merely wondered at those peoples... capacity. Bigger than I expected, and 100 lbs. is no joke.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Giarc13
Olympia, Wa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fantastic medium size safe.
1/4/2014

Customer review by MVANCO

5.0 stars 1/4/2014 by MVANCO
by MVANCO

This safe is well priced. It meets my requirement for a medium size safe to safely store my handguns and ammo. This is the second purchase of this model/make.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MVANCO
Warren, MI.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent for home, not office though.
7/17/2012

Customer review by DavyK

5.0 stars 7/17/2012 by DavyK
by DavyK

Instructions at firstalert.com are much clearer, especially for the combination. Had trouble first time around opening the door until I went to the website and found that it's vacuum sealed. After that, no problem. I passed on the digital because batteries need to be replaced about every 6 months and I didn't want to deal with it since it has the combo plus two keys. If I was in and out a lot, I'd opt for the digital version, though. The packaging around the safe was solid and about as good as one could get it. The box had good stiff cardboard. But the outer box at the top seal was a mess: looks like someone sealed it, then opened it, then resealed with a lousy taping job. The customer service guy at Walmart did a nice job and very helpful. Spent much time finding me a special cart to lug the thing out to my try.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DavyK
Tallahassee, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
perfect size 1.3 cu ft
3/18/2014

Customer review by Benge6xCg

5.0 stars 3/18/2014 by Benge6xCg
by Benge6xCg

It comes in a larger box then the actual safe package ...all corners had thick corner pads inside.to protect during shipping although about 90 lbs...its hard to get a hold of to pick up...plan on a trolly of some kind . maybe even a mechanics rolling board to put on to roll around. The safe itself took a few trys to get open...shelf and space is good..I am glad i got the 1.3...unless you have alotof things to keep the fire rating etc was a bit better than the smaller ones...I did not want electronic...there is also a key that works independent of the combo...think about that/consider vs the competitors. This was to replace a safety deposit box at the bank with less than half the space.$55 a year.. I had it shipped to the store so that in case there was damage..visable on the outside I could check it there instead of shipping it to the house.The gal at Walmart was helpful and helped get it to the car

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Benge6xCg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good safe for home use. Key feature is very handy.
12/1/2013

Customer review by sqeezeey

4.0 stars 12/1/2013 by sqeezeey
by sqeezeey

We bought this safe after we were having problems with a similar size safe but with an electronic key pad . Walmart delivered safe in about 2 days even with the free ground delivery. The safe is heavy but we could easily slide the safe across carpet and tile floors. We like the convenience of the key feature.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sqeezeey
Mission,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/6/2011

Customer review by enforcer17

5.0 stars 11/6/2011 by enforcer17
by enforcer17

Excellent product, exactly the right size, plus waterproof and fire resistant.

Was this review helpful? (10) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
enforcer17
Hudson Valley, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great safe ... exactly what I needed
8/6/2012

Customer review by Dldmny

4.0 stars 8/6/2012 by Dldmny
by Dldmny

I had been searching for a safe for important documents kept in three-ring binders. The safe met my expectations and I appreciate having a key to override the combination lock,

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dldmny
Seguin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good, solid item
11/4/2013

Customer review by Mietek123

5.0 stars 11/4/2013 by Mietek123
by Mietek123

Meets my needs, very solid, very complicated code which is good!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mietek123
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better and bigger than I expected
12/19/2012

Customer review by Yankee27

5.0 stars 12/19/2012 by Yankee27
by Yankee27

Great item and bigger than I expected. More space in the inside than I expected. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Yankee27
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't Buy This product!
3/4/2014

Customer review by Digitalphotog1

1.0 stars 3/4/2014 by Digitalphotog1
by Digitalphotog1

Receive this safe in a undamaged shipping box. Unpacked and read the instructions. Safe opened with the key but not the combination lock. The door would not lock with the key or combination. Plastic parts were broken inside the door as I could hear the rattling inside. My only recourse was to return to the store for a refund as the other option was to return to the manufacture prepaid ( my expense) to have it repaired. A piece of junk IMHO.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Digitalphotog1
East Kingston, NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 99 total reviews
1-20 of 99 reviews