Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.5out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 | 148 reviews
5 stars
118
4 stars
12
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 stars
8
Sort by: 
1-20 of 146 reviews
1-20 of 146 reviews
Picture me sad :O(
10/27/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had a friend recommend this product & was quite disappointed with the overall affect it had on my skin. I purchased it approximately 2 weeks ago & started using the evening of purchasing. I applied lightly on freshly washed skin, having just showered, & was impressed by the lightness of the gel & how quickly it disappeared into the skin. My skin felt smooth, soft & there appeared to be no tightness or oiliness even 24 hours after applying which was a real plus in my book. I work out almost every day & am prone to hot flashes <tropical vacation any one?>, so I shower every evening & have used the new gel regularly. I know my skin is extremely sensitive & since I use sunscreen daily it does get washed more than once a day, followed up with a light application of Cetaphil Moisturizing Lotion. A recommendation by my dermatologist. My skin does not break out, but it does have the occasional dry patch & needs to be treated gently due to several basal cell cancer surgeries that have been taken place. About a week into using the product I noticed the skin on my face was feeling a little tight & when I rubbed my forehead the skin basically flaked off on my fingertips as if it was scaly. My first thought was dehydration, but then I remembered the new moisturizer in the evening & decided to keep an eye on the situation. I stopped using the Cetaphil & have exclusively used Garnier for the last week & my skin has become dry, less supple, has more visible lines & feels very tight when I smile or laugh. All of which tells a story of its own! Apparently this product is not for me but it might work for others. I stopped using the product today & have gone back to the Cetaphil. One application of that product has brought the softness back to my face & all will improve by applying daily. The only reason I was looking for something different is due to the oiliness factor which sometimes appears with the Cetaphil. That may have something to do with the amount of exercise done on a daily basis, but I will continue to search for a product that helps with aging factors leaving the face clean & soft.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fantastic product for all ages ans all skin types
3/30/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am a 62 yr old grandmother and I have a 36 yr old daughter and 2 teenager grandaughters all we all love this product. Love the way it hydrades without any creamy or slimy residue.I get mistaken fo the mother instead of the grandmother all the time and the girls get asked all the time what they use to keep such clear complexions. Cant beat the price either.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
My searching journey has been worth it!!
2/15/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Thank you, as a woman in her 50's, well ok, 56, as I aged I noticed my skin was changing. I noticed more wrinkles, not something I wanted to notice. I use Garnier products now and no others, the reason is simple, when you find a product for your skin or hair "Stick with it" when I purchased your "Rescue Gel Cream" immediatly I noticed results. Results are a very important word for me, as women we spend alot of time and money on products as we age hoping they will keep the clock STOPPED, when I added your Rescue Gel cream to my other Garnier products, that was it. I told two friends that are my age and we went out and they purchased the Gel Cream. Both friends immediatly noticed a positive change in my face and asked me, Pat, what are you doing different?? Nothing else needed to be said, after two days one friend called and said, WOW, my skin is so soft and my "agie wrinkles", thats what she calles her wrinkles, are not as noticable, my other friend called and said, Pat from now on stop being stingy when you find new products especially these types of products, if you went into their homes you will find the same products as mine, ALL Garnier, thank you for rescuing my "Agie Wrinkles", funny when I think of how many times I walked by your products in the beginning and then purchased two products, I never looked back. There are products out there that are very expensive, I am now on disability and now I have to count my pennies, your products do not hurt your pocketbook and most importantly do exactly what they say. I look pretty darn good for my age.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This product is great!
3/14/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My skin is so dry due to the Chicago weather, so on lunch I'm in CVS & I see this product. I was hesitant about the price because I work downtown Chicago, so the cost is more than at your neighborhood CVS. I needed it-my face hurt. I purchased it and sooo glad I did. I use it every morning/night. I absolutely LOVE this product & will continue to use it until they stop making it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
YES!
3/19/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Just to let everyone know, I needed to get an account on here to review this product. That is how much I love it. Basically, I have been having some major skin issues recently, and I felt so distraught. I didn't understand why, I had an oil free moisturizer, and an acne face wash, and I had no idea why I kept breaking out and having inflamed skin. Bottom line is, everyone needs a great moisturizer, it is what stays on your skin, so it must be great quality. I bought this after seeing great reviews, and I must say I feel an immediate difference. My skin feels perfectly balanced, I feel like I could toss this on and tackle the day. Other moisturizers may be greasy and heavy, but this is light and refreshing. I feel like my skin is right where it should be. I recommend this product very much. It is fantastic for me, I had combination skin and have been breaking out more often than I ever have before. I strongly believe this will turn me away from all this skin turmoil! And by the way, a little goes a long way with this product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (29)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
SKIN ACTIVE by GARNIER/FOR OILY-COMBO SKIN!
9/5/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am 54 years young and have oily/combination skin. I've been on the search for that ONE product that's going to finally do the trick and make my face matte,NOT shiny...looking like an oil slick! My best friend suggested the Garnier Skin Active Gel,because she had been using this product,but for her,the Skin Active for dry skin....she does switch back and forth though,esp in the summer,her face tends to get oily. I am so so thankful to my BESTIE for telling me about this product because of course I know about the Garnier brand and have used,still do use,a few products by Garnier but haven't heard about this particular product before. The reason this product by Garnier is so different and unlike any other I've ever heard about,is because you apply the Skin Active after you've washed your face and after you've applied your primers,but before your foundation. This gel helps to lock in the moisture without making your face,for me especially my T-Zone,greasy or oily and it does last all day!.I would definitely recommend Garnier Skin Active if you have any of the issues I've talked about. Even if you are prone to having dry skin or dry patches,the Skin Active Gel does come in 2 different types,for oily-combination and for dry skin. You won't be sorry,especially at its very affordable price. I paid approx $6.50 for this amazing product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE :)
7/27/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I recently purchased this product and I totally love it.... I was using Clinique Moisture Surge which runs over $50 and I must say this is a great cheap alternative..... Lets just say that i will NOT go back to purchase Clinique Moisture Surge..... The only issue I had with this Garnier product was that the first couple of days for some reason my skin felt a little stingy when I applied, but it did not irritate my skin or anything....The stingy feeling might have been from my skin being perhaps too dehydrated or maybe sensitive from other products, but after about 3 days I no longer experienced that feeling.... This moisturizer makes my skin feel soft and does not make me oily or anything.... I have tried many products from different makes and this is definetly on TOP of my list.... I apply this before my makeup and it allows a smooth application and it looks GREAT !!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Quenched my dehydrated skin
3/3/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart associate
I love LOVE this gel-cream. It's soothing, calming and sinks right in. My skin gets really dehydrated - medication, stress and weather are the culprits. Still, my skin isn't dry and heavy creams just sit on top of my skin, waiting to clog my pores. I also use it as a super hydrating mask - just slather it on! Bonus - it smells really good (my boyfriend agrees) - super light and not at all fragrance-y.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Happy Accident
7/16/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have sensitive, oily, acne prone skin. Forced to spend a few nights away from home, I made desperation trips to Dollar Stores and grocery stores. The only places available for shopping in the area. The local Dollar had this, and the Moisture Rescue Foam Cleanser. For the past month, I have been pleasantly surprised with the qualities of this more gel-like than cream-like product. Fainltly fragrant, cool, soothing. Sinks in. Feels like next to nothing on the skin. My face, neck and chest are happier with this product, and the cleanser, than they were with products costing many times more. I am enjoying less redness, less OIL, less irritation. The only thing left to do is to check the pH of these products. With my very oily skin, this is a very nice product. For some with drier skin, this won't provide enough moisture in the winter. I may even supplement with the Moisture Rescue Moisturizer.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
AMAZING MOISTURIZER
4/7/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Even though I live in a very humid area I still suffer from dry skin. Any other moisturizer I use has to be reapplied or dries my skin out more. This moisturizer makes my skin feel like velvet! I love it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The most disgusting smell...
8/30/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I cannot believe how bad this smells. Every single time I think maybe I was overreacting and open it, it's so bad I wonder how it's even made or purchased. And the smell lingers on my face!! It smells like rot with a hint of cucumber. Now I can't even stand the smell of good cucumber scents because it reminds me of this!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Amazing product!!!
4/8/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been looking all over for a product like this. I went to all the expensive stores like Sephora and Ulta to find a great moisturizer that would not clog my pores since I am very prone to breaking out. I seen this at Walmart and thought I'd give it a try since it was such a great price. I have been trying many face products to get rid of my acne and they have dried my face out so bad to where it was flaking. :( I immediately went home and washed my face and right after I put this amazing green gel moisturizer on my face and WOW! I love this product! It instantly moisturized my face and no more dry spots! My face is so smooth and soft. I will not be trying to find another moisturizer anymore. I'll stick with this one. :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Blah
8/17/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It felt good on my skin but I didnt notice any difference.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
So excited about this stuff!
4/9/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
ive been using garnier for a very long time. ive always loved the hair care products, always worked wonders for me. i was browsing in the facial cleansing area in walmart one day. and mind you i have combination skin (more dry than oily though) but both make me break out, or get dry patches. i saw the moisture rescue gel cream and decided to try it. i loved it so i went back, got the moisture cream for dry skin in the pink jar and have never turned back. only a few nights later one of my girlfriends asked me what id been doing to clear my face, so i handed her the orginal jar i baught and told her to use it morning and night. she called me a few days later raving about how awesome it is. i use the garnier refreshing towelette make up remover every night, a mask, and the gel cream in that order, and my skin is nearly flawless! im so happy garnier started making other products besides just stuff for your hair. will use till death do us part!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Would give no stars if I could
8/3/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Does absolutley nothing it says it does, left my face 10x more dry than when I used it. Was said to be good for combination skin but seems to only work on oily skin. Complete waste of money and time.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Smells disgusting
8/3/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The smell is horrid and it's more drying than anything (hello alcohol is like the 2nd ingredient).
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
My search is over... this is simply the BEST!!!
1/23/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been searching for the last year for a good mixture from my skin with face wash, anti aging and moisturizer. Many combinations leave my skin feeling greasy. I used to have an amazing moisturizer but it was discontinued by Neutrogena. I tried so many combinations including moisturizer/anti-aging mixed together. Finally gel moisturizers are being brought to the U.S.A. They have been popular in Europe for a very long time and are the best. This product is amazing. It mixes well with my other products. I use a salicylic acid face wash that has moisturizers in it, an anti-aging product and this moisturizer. As long as they make this, I will always use it. My skin is moisturized, smooth and so so soft. The tub lasts a long time too. The amazing thing about gel moisturizers is that a little bit goes a long way. It also absorbs into the skin like water. So you only need a little bit to do your whole face and neck.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This is the best moisturizer
7/9/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have Rosacea, and always skin being troubled. This is the best that is not expensive, but great quality of moisture to my skin. So far, I like it and I recommends to people [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Ladies wise up alcohol in your face moisturizers
6/8/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 50 contributer
It feels great for a few min & its cool,its the alcohol in it. It is a gel, you can just open the jar & smell the alcohol. I love all Garnier, but this & the pink gel. To me a moisturizer or whatever is NO GOOD if you apply it & after a few min you can roll it off your face & that is what this does. This product needs a lot of work! I do not like putting anything with that much alcohol on my face! Not what I expect from Garnier! I have the jar right here & applied & giving the review as I am using it! Now, what if I put make-up over this??? The makeup is not going to be smooth its going to roll with it & feel grainy!! Stop purchasing these products & then they will have to stop making them with, so much alcohol!!NOT GOOD Read on the box about all the alcohols in it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Amazing Results
1/20/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After the first use of this product my face felt extremely soft and smooth. It is really cooling and calming to put on and has results that last all day.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640694, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-