Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 826 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

826 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

826 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
493
4 stars
157
3 stars
39
2 stars
36
1 stars
101
1-20 of 784 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 784 total reviews
1-20 of 784 reviews
I would like my money back
5/31/2012

Customer review by Ricky

1.0 stars 5/31/2012 by Ricky
by Ricky

Had this thing for less than 2 months and used it for my small apartment.Then one day I was vacuuming the living room and it shut off. After that it quit working. The vacuum had no more suction. I took most of it apart and checked the hoses, brushes, and belts. All was fine. I tried to return it back to the store, but was told that it was past the acceptable return date. So, in the mean time I went to the store and bought the same exact one to use temporarily until I could call Customer Service to find a repair location. I brought the new Hoover Nano home, turned it on, and the vacuum wouldn't work. The motor was running, but got no suction. I even tried using the wand attached to the hose, but got nothing. I just dropped off the old vacuum at the repair location and returned the new one back to the store. At this point I don't want the vacuum back from the repair location. I feel mislead and cheated. This product is not worth [$] All I want is money back.

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 5/31/2012

Thank you for your comment! A clog in your unity will cause a block in the air flow. When there is not enough air getting to the motor to cool it down, the thermo fuse is programmed to shut the unit off. Please check owner’s manual for troubleshooting assistance with this. Hopefully this helps!

Ricky
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
I HATE this vacuum cleaner!
9/25/2012

Customer review by Mad in Tennessee

1.0 stars 9/25/2012 by Mad in Tennessee
by Mad in Tennessee

If you want a vacuum that eats your area rugs, then this is for you! It sucks up the edge, chews up the rubber backing,and then spits the billion pieces all over the room! With my old Hoover vacuum, when I vacuumed the area rugs, I simply laid the handle down and "Popped a wheelie" so to speak, to raise the suction off of the rug. Not this one...the handle lays down almost to the floor, which is just enough time for it to eat the rug! And who thought it was a good idea to attach the cord to the bottom of the machine so that you run over it like 1,000 times!!!Yes, there is a tiny hook to attach it to the top of the handle, but that holds it for about a minute because the cord is so short. And wait until you use the brush attachment! It's great when you pull the brush off and half of the dirt that you just sucked up falls onto the floor that you just "cleaned". I can't believe someone approved this design!! And it's the 2nd Hoover I've taken back in a month. The other one ate my rugs, too! No wonder this one is on clearance.....

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 9/25/2012

We are sorry to hear about the issue with your carpet cleaner. Please call our Customer Care Department so we can learn more about the problem issues. 1-800-944-9200, 8am - 7pm, M-F EST. Thank you!

Mad in Tennessee
Johnson City, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great vacuum
2/1/2015

Customer review by BathroomSolutions

4.0 stars 2/1/2015 by BathroomSolutions
by BathroomSolutions

I honestly don't know why so many people are having issues with this vacuum. I very rarely have problems with vacuums myself. I don't abuse them and suck up up things I shouldn't (like carpet threads). I am actually a female remodeling contractor so I am extremely mechanically inclined. However I haven't needed to do anything with this vacuum except change the hepa filter. I brought it a few times to work and the hepa filter had to be replaced because I sucked up drywall dust. OK, it wasn't designed for that. My bad. But otherwise nothing has broken on it and everything works perfectly. Granted it is not a full sized vacuum and I usually use it on laminate floors but also on low shag carpet. It sucks really well for a smaller vacuum. I honestly couldn't be happier with this vacuum. My husband lugs out the big vacuum to clean the cat hair off of our couch and I just use this vacuum with the brush attachment and it works well. I honestly think people are simply beating up their vacuums. Please don't hate me for saying it but I think it's true.

BathroomSolutions
Harriman, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Awesome!
5/20/2014

Customer review by Nomadica

5.0 stars 5/20/2014 by Nomadica
by Nomadica

I have a Miele and it wouldn't fit in my RV so I bought the Nano because of it's small form factor. This vacuum surprised me! It sucked up more dirt than it's $1,200 counterpart! After a couple months it stopped sucking, the same problem another reviewer posted about, but instead of complaining I replaced the hepa filter and solved the problem. I have had this vacuum over 2 years now and it has been a joy to use. I now use it in the house and the Miele is no longer an option. Yes, the cord is short, no I don't like the attachments, or the pedal for turning the carpet brush on. I will say the performance of this vacuum is incredible! I would like to get this same vacuum with a longer cord, same small form factor, longer flex hose, easier foot pedal operation, and better attachments. I have had deep cleaning vacuums but in all honesty I can say I've never had one clean this well. I never even expected it to do it.

Nomadica
North Carolina, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
A little powerhouse!
10/3/2011

Customer review by Heather the Housekeeper

4.0 stars 10/3/2011 by Heather the Housekeeper
by Heather the Housekeeper

I use this in my home which has all hardwood floors and fiberfloor. It is easy to go from bare floor cleaning to carpet ( which we have area rugs ). The cleaning power is amazing but the height of the unit is too small. I am 5'10" and I had to bend over quite a bit when using it which is not too comfortable. The extension wand does not reach very far. I had to hold the unit in one hand just to be able to reach the corners of the ceiling. Also I had to keep unplugging it to move from one area to another because the power cord is not that long. If they ( Hoover ) would correct those 3 things it would be an awesome machine! #1 - make it taller, #2 - longer hose/extention wand, and #3 - longer power cord. Thank you - Heather. I would recommend this to my "shorter" friends but also tell them about the cord and hose. "Hoover if you change these things, can u please send me a new one?" lol

Heather the Housekeeper
Indiana, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I love it
11/1/2012

Customer review by Harleybikerlady

5.0 stars 11/1/2012 by Harleybikerlady
by Harleybikerlady

I love this vaccuum. For me it is perfect. It does a great job of getting all the cats hair and she has long hair. I bought it about a year ago and loved it than and still do. The ease of it is so convienient. I can go from the floors to the nozzle in a matter of seconds. I love how it empties, push one button and wa-la....It is light weight....I bought several others before this one, all different kinds, makes and models, I kept returning them, found this one and fell in love. I am just now having to replace the belt, oh well, normal wear and tear....the only thing I would change about this wonderful little machine, I would make the cord longer, possibly retractable and somehow find a way to make the handle go down so I could store it in a closet, Other than that, it is awesome and has been a great investment for me for the last year plus...I use it a lot, often times daily...

Harleybikerlady
North Charleston South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Impossible to change belt!!
3/7/2013

Customer review by veryupset

1.0 stars 3/7/2013 by veryupset
by veryupset

Yeah, in general it's a decent vacum, but when we needed to change the belt the first time, it was impossible. I even downloaded the page for instructions how to change the belt and IT'S OWN MANUAL DOESN'T GIVE THE CORRECT INSTRUCTIONS. (It gives the standard instructions on how to change a belt, but this vac isn't setup AT ALL like a standard vac.To change this belt is different then any other type of a similar vacum. I've changed a zillion belts on all the similar type models, but this one has an real booby trap. The belt is impossible to reach unless you also remove the whole piece that you step on to activate the carpet rollers. It's a mechanism with a spring and it just makes it EXTREMELY DIFFICULT to change the belt properly. You need to go for 4 years of college to get this straight. Mind you, this is the first (and probably last) time I have bought a Hoover in over 25 years of buying vacum cleaners. What a bummer. I want my money back. I had to go out and by a new vacum cleaner. By the way, I NEVER WRITE REVIEWS, UNTIL THIS VAC CAME ALONG. THIS VAC NEEDS A REVIEW, AND A BAD ONE AT THAT. I wonder what they were thinking when they made this vac? 

Comment from - 3/18/2013

Thanks for taking the time to write, even if you don't normally do so. We checked the manual and didn't see any errors in the instructions. No other parts should have to be removed other than screws, nozzle guard and brush roller. Can you give us a call at 1-800-944-9200 Monday-Friday 8am-7pm EST.? We'd like to walk you through the process.

veryupset
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
so disapointed
8/25/2013

Customer review by jazzymamas

1.0 stars 8/25/2013 by jazzymamas
by jazzymamas

Ok so I have now had mine for 6 months. Month one awsome so impressed. Month two...locking tab breaks off of hose.....great not so awsome...but still Working. Month three, still working although annoying because every few min you must reattach the hose as without locking clip it now pops off randomly while in use. Suction beganing to lack. Hose for stairs almost usless this is month four and ohh now the  belt breaks no no it shredded and while doing so broke a metal ring off that belongs somewhere in the under part...although im not sure where as it fell out as I took the bottom cover off. Now I wonder which came first metal clip broke and shredded the belt or vice versa. In any case month 5 and 6 have seen it sit in a corner so that I may occationally mutter nasty things to it......what a waste of time and money.

Comment from Ian - 9/7/2013

Hi Jazzymamas, we know this has to be frustrating. We'd recommend taking your Nano into one of our authorized service center locations near you: http://hoover.com/locator/ so that we can take a close look at it and get it working for you again. Let us know if you need any more help. Thanks so much

jazzymamas
Houston, TX
Gender:Female
Don't waste your money
5/8/2015

Customer review by jag_girl

1.0 stars 5/8/2015 by jag_girl
by jag_girl

I own a larger vacuum so I bought this one for quick clean ups because it was light and bag-less. It worked great the first time I used it even though I did think the cord was too short. In just over a month of light duty it had clogging issues (despite emptying the cup after each use and cleaning the filters) then the belt stretched out and I couldn't find a local place to purchase a new belt. I thought about returning it but didn't. It's been sitting in the garage for a few months now so I logged on today intending to order a couple of belts. I decided to check out the reviews first because I wanted to see if other people had the same issues. After seeing so many people report the same stuff I'm not going to waste money on new belts. It doesn't work for quick clean ups if you have to spend more time cleaning and unclogging than vacuuming and it's disappointing to see that a company like Hoover would put their name on such trash and back it up with nothing other than apologies. It's also going to feel very wasteful when I have to put a vacuum that looks new in the garbage because that's where it belongs. Again, shame on Hoover for wasting resources on such poor quality.

Comment from John - 5/8/2015

Hi jag_girl, We want you to love your Nano, which should be great for quick clean ups like you bought it for. It seems like you are doing the correct maintenance by cleaning the filter and emptying regularly. We want to get a bit more info from you, so we are sending an email now. Thanks!

jag_girl
Olympia, WA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Great at first... not so anymore
4/22/2014

Customer review by leslie5488

2.0 stars 4/22/2014 by leslie5488
by leslie5488

I bought my vaccum about 6 months ago and I loved it for a 1045 sq inch. apartment. It worked amazing for a lightweight vaccum. All of a sudden, the hose began getting clogged so I began cleaning it often. Yet, it wouldn't pick up any dirt like it used to. My husband took it apart and cleaned out the remainer of the bottom hose. When put back together, it doesn't pick up anything. The brush seems to work fine, but it doesnt sucction correctly, and leaves all the carpet hairs in front of the vaccum. We took it apart again, cleaned out the bottom hose again, and when we tried to use it, it just turned off whie connected. Now I can't get it to turn on WHATSOEVER! Im so annoyed with this because it took me forever to make up my mind about the perfect vaccum and it totally dissapointed.

leslie5488
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
something jammed the first month I had it
5/5/2016

Customer review by Unhappy cleaner

2.0 stars 5/5/2016 by Unhappy cleaner
by Unhappy cleaner

I bought this machine for my home. I accidentally sucked up a corner of a throw. Instead of the machine shutting down automatically it jammed and I had to force the blanket free. Ever since then it made a horrible noise when I tried to use the carpet beater. Now it just doesn't want to suck up anything at all. I think I broke the belt since I don't see one anywhere but I'm really not sure. I came on this website to see about getting a belt but the belt is out of stock....................so does that mean this is a common problem???? All in all I am pretty disappointed with this purchase.

Comment from Michael - 5/6/2016

Hi there! Oh no, we don't want you to be disappointed with your Nano Cyclonic. We want to help. It may sound like the belt stretched or the brushroll may need to be turned on. To turn the brushroll on, hit the brushroll switch while the unit is reclined. If the belt became stretched, we recommend changing it, which you can find belts locally by using our service center locator here: http://hoover.com/locator/. Hope this helps!

Unhappy cleaner
Wynantskill, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Light weight & under $100
7/13/2014

Customer review by JohnL

4.0 stars 7/13/2014 by JohnL
by JohnL

Last machine was bag, so didn't get the instant visuals on what it was picking up, but I was still impressed (or disgusted) with what was still coming out of my carpets. Lighter & quieter than last machine but, has an annoying high pitch squeal. Electrical cord comes out from the bottom and gets in the way, but there is a hook near the bottom of the handle that I wedged it into that worked great, except that it shortens usable cord length by about 3 feet. Also, cord storage doesn't seem to be in the most convenient spot. On the plus side, it has a switch to turn off the roller brush, which is good for bare floors and when using attachments, so it's not constantly spinning in one spot on your carpet. Best of all, the wife likes it!

JohnL
Broomfield, CO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Excellent and it can be repaired at home!
5/28/2016

Customer review by Creed

5.0 stars 5/28/2016 by Creed
by Creed

My fiancé bought this for me after I gave up on a very expensive vacuum that needed repairs for the 2nd time. I have a few area rugs and mostly bare old pine floors. It's lightweight works on rugs, vinyl tile and hardwood but the best part about it is if it gets clogged or needs a new belt it can be repaired at home! We used a Phillips screwdriver and a long refrigerator coil cleaning brush and it works like new! Buy it and you'll be pleasantly surprised.

Creed
Delaware, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I LOVE THIS VACUUM!
3/25/2016

Customer review by Mama2Romeo

5.0 stars 3/25/2016 by Mama2Romeo
by Mama2Romeo

I purchased this when we bought our new home 4 years ago. I was thinking due to it's lower price, I might replace it in a year or so. It had met and EXCEEDED every expectation I have had! I am always amazed at how much teeny, tiny dust particles it picks up, as well as the obvious things for which I run the vacuum. I have not replaced it, and if I ever have to, I will replace it with exactly the same one. It is so versatile, [carpet, hardwood, tile, window sills, baseboards, corners of rooms where the little fuzzy webs congregate, etc.] and there is no cleaning job that it will not handle.

Mama2Romeo
Missouri, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great when it works
12/27/2012

Customer review by Christi

1.0 stars 12/27/2012 by Christi
by Christi

I chose this one because I was looking for something lightweight, bag less, a brand I'd heard of and full-sized power. Initially it was great. However, halfway through my apartment, the red indicator was on, meaning the bag area is full. It was not. Instead, it was clogged. It clogs every time I use it, often before I've finished. It sounds like a helicopter now, though there doesn't appear to be anything in the way of the brush or rotator. The clogs are hard to find, and happen everywhere. Right now, it's not working. It's on, brush is turning, and I've taken it completely apart again... I've run a wire through the entire hose line. I'm on this site to see if there's a reset button I'm missing. Deeply regret my purchase.

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 12/27/2012

We're sorry to hear about the problems. We recommend emptying the dirt cup after each use, and making sure to wash the filter every three months to prevent clogs. In the meantime. if you've cleaned the filter and can't locate the clog, we recommend bringing it in to a dealer to be serviced. Local service dealers are listed at http://hoover.com/locator/

Christi
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Vacuum for the price
8/10/2014

Customer review by kaymay66

5.0 stars 8/10/2014 by kaymay66
by kaymay66

We bought this vacuum to replace an older one for the upstairs in our house. I use a top of the line vacuum on the main floor. I was so impressed with how well this one works, I have been bringing it downstairs when I vacuum there. Does a fantastic job and makes the nap of the carpet really stand up. The canister does fill up fairly quickly but it tells me it is doing a good job of picking up the pet hair. My ONLY complaint is with the cord. Needs to be longer and needs to have a guide that brings the cord up near the handle. Always having to bend over to move it out of the way as it comes off the machine right on the floor. Really surprised a little quality testing didn't reveal this to be a customer issue??

kaymay66
Northern Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Buy Something Else
11/2/2012

Customer review by SWMN

1.0 stars 11/2/2012 by SWMN
by SWMN

I bought this as I figured it'd be a reliable brand and I was really in need of something but didn't want to spend a ton of money. Unfortunately you get what you pay for. While it has good suction and works fairly well when it's actually working, I can't finish my entire condo because it overheats and quits. You would think letting it sit for even a couple hours would be fine, but it is typically days before it will start again. It also has a very short cord and I can't even get from one end of my living room to the other. (And it's not that big) I would not recommend this unless you have a very small studio apartment, as it just won't be able to finish anything bigger (at least not in the same day).

SWMN
South Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Horrible!!!!!
9/28/2012

Customer review by Sami

1.0 stars 9/28/2012 by Sami
by Sami

This is the worst Hoover product I have ever purchased (this is the third). Other two did their job - not terrific but no major issues. 1. Hose is too short to do stairs (or anything else above waist height)easily. 2. Even with brush turned off, dirt blows through tube when hose is removed and attached to handle. 3. Handle is very awkward to use with hose. 4. Brush attachment is worthless. It picks up very little if any. I just needed a good, inexpensive vac for around my home, where two adults over 50 and one small dog live. Well, this vac is inexpensive, but good? No way. Only good things I can say about this vac is it's easy to empty and light. Otherwise it is worthless.

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 9/28/2012

We appreciate the feedback. We are sorry to hear about your frustrations and would like to resolve the performance issues. Please call into our Customer Care Department for assistance. 1.800.944.9200 Mon-Fri 8am-7pm EST .

Sami
Amarillo, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Amazing longevity
10/17/2015

Customer review by rebbruce55

4.0 stars 10/17/2015 by rebbruce55
by rebbruce55

I love my vacuum, it's been amazing!! My family has had it for years. My parents let me take it with me when I moved into my own apartment for college over a year ago and it's worked wonderfully, even when I've forgotten to empty the container, never losing suction. I noticed today, though, when I went to clean my couch that I wasn't getting any section. All the filters are cleaned, the container is empty and there are no clots as far as I can see. The brush looks great as well. I can only assume it's the motor, but I've loved this vacuum cleaner and will just buy another if I need to.

rebbruce55
Georgia, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Overheating,i NO CLOGS
4/6/2016

Customer review by Stumped housekeeper

3.0 stars 4/6/2016 by Stumped housekeeper
by Stumped housekeeper

There are NO clogs anywhere in the product yet it does not suck anything up, The canister dirt bin stays pristine. If the canister portion that holds dirt is off the machine sucks GREAT with a lot of power, however, once reattached ,... NOTHING, excepting an over heat and shut off ! What would cause this? Since all is clear throughout the machine I am puzzled !

Comment from Kenya - 4/12/2016

Hi Stumped housekeeper! That sounds frustrating and we want to help. If your Nano has lost suction, this indicates a blockage in the vacuum’s air path. The blockage could be in the hoses or the filters. Try this: 1. Twist off the lid of the dirt cup. Remove the two filters. Tap out the Hepa filter. Rinse both filters under running water to clean and allow 24 hours to air dry. 2. Twist the baffle tube from the dirt cup. Using a brush or towel, remove hair/debris and clear filter holes. 3. Remove the secondary filter from the vacuum’s base. Rinse it under running water to clean and allow 24 hours to air dry. 4. Disconnect the hose from both ends. Run a broom stick through the hose to knock out any clogs. 5. Check the lower hose for obstructions. Use a grabber tool or something similar to remove any obstructions. We recommend replacing the filters about once a year. Replacement filters are available here: http://bit.ly/1JQXKli under the Parts & Accessories tab. Hope this helps!

Stumped housekeeper
1-20 of 784 total reviews
1-20 of 784 reviews