Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 758 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

758 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

758 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
459
4 stars
142
3 stars
32
2 stars
32
1 stars
93
1-20 of 717 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 717 total reviews
1-20 of 717 reviews
Great Little Machine!
2/26/2011

Customer review by rikinok

5.0 stars 2/26/2011 by rikinok
by rikinok

I have a 565 sq foot apartment, and I needed a good little vacuum that didn't take up much room. I decided on this one because it does bare floors as well as carpets, I wasn't going to have to assemble it, the price was right, and they've been making Hoovers since I was a baby. I was VERY surprised at how much dirt it picked up, because I had just borrowed my sister's Oreck not a week ago. I had to empty the dirt cup 5 times, which is a lot of dirt for this tiny apartment. Even though the dirt cup is small, I figured I'd maybe empty it twice, so no wonder my allergies were kicking in so much! If you have a large home, this will not be for you, because of the fact the dirt cup is small, and you'll probably get frustrated at having to empty it, but it would be great to keep upstairs, or in a shop, or for a smaller home. I will say that it's VERY easy to empty, as it empties from the bottom, and you really don't have to touch anything. I also like that it's easy to clean the filter, and the cup, and that I won't have to buy filters for it. One other thing I'd like to say about this, is that I have a Pomeranian; a small, very furry dog, and this vacuum had no problems whatsoever getting up dog hair. I LOVE this thing, and I'm very happy I bought it.

Was this review helpful? (436) (44)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rikinok
Oklahoma City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Powerful and Compact
3/21/2011

Customer review by hp9698

4.0 stars 3/21/2011 by hp9698
by hp9698

I purchased the Hoover Nano Cyclonic as a back up while my Dyson Animal DC17 was in for repairs. This is my second Hoover Nano, I also had the original one (not cyclonic) and that worked awesome. This vacuum is pretty powerful and has great suction. I cleaned the living room and 3 bedrooms and had to empty the canister twice. It was full of dirt and hair (I have 2 cats). Impressive cleaning for a $58 vacuum....my $500 Dyson doesn't clean that good!! The one thing that ANNOYS the heck out of me is the placing of the power cord...you have to hold it or you will constantly step on it, stopping you dead in your track from pushing this vacuum. One great feature to mention is that this cyclonic model is basically self propelled whereas the original model is not. So you basically have to pull this vacuum back to you because it wants to "run away from you" !! Good little machine. I recommend!

Was this review helpful? (242) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hp9698
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Incredible Product!
1/2/2011

Customer review by Ravensriver

5.0 stars 1/2/2011 by Ravensriver
by Ravensriver

This is a great vacuum cleaner! Easy to set up, easy to clean and easy to use! It cleans better than any other vacuum I have used before! It is smaller, lightweight and easy to operate. You will NOT be disappointed in this purchase!

Was this review helpful? (176) (50)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ravensriver
NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Unbelievable Product! A++ Worth EVERY Cent!
1/1/2011

Customer review by TryingToHelpOtherShoppers

5.0 stars 1/1/2011 by TryingToHelpOtherShoppers
by TryingToHelpOtherShoppers

I dare any Dyson owner to try their vacuum against this one. I just went to my local Walmart after researching vacuums online. I had narrowed it down to 2. The 2 I wanted to buy were both there, but when I lifted them up they were both SO heavy! I turned around and saw this one, lifted it and was thrilled it was so light. I remembered it getting great reviews, but hey, I've got a 3,000SF house and I figured there was no way a vacuum this small could tackle my big house. But I went ahead and bought because I knew I could always return it if I didn't like it. Boy was I wrong; I LOVE it. It is amazing! I came home and vacuumed a bedroom in our house (that I had just vacuumed with our old vacuum). It picked up SO much dirt and dust. I emptied the container, vacuumed again, and yes, it was full again! I can't believe how much dust and dirt has been in my house this whole time and I didn't even know it!! You will NOT be disappointed with this product. Save the extra $300 from buying a Dyson, and buy something fun! This product FANTASTIC!

Was this review helpful? (220) (63)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TryingToHelpOtherShoppers
Okc, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Amazing Vac
4/6/2011

Customer review by AlwaysFunShopping

5.0 stars 4/6/2011 by AlwaysFunShopping
by AlwaysFunShopping

I was all set to purchase the Shark Navigator after two weeks of research. At the last minute I decided on the Hoover Nano Cyclonic vacuum. My reasoning was that I would do research on it and can always return it if I did not like the reviews. It was important to me that my next vacuum have good suction (have a pet); good value/price; durability; and is compact/lightweight so I can easily use it for my stairs. It has exceeded my expectations so far! Great value for $59 vs. the $159 I was going to spend on the Shark Navigator. I have no idea what the life expectancy of my Nano will be; but my previous vacuum (also a Hoover) gave me 13 good years.

Was this review helpful? (219) (83)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AlwaysFunShopping
Gulf Coast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
pleased beyond explanation.
9/12/2012

Customer review by donnaxo

5.0 stars 9/12/2012 by donnaxo
by donnaxo

a few days ago, my boyfriend and i adopted a kitten from a nearby neighbor. we had noticed a day into the adoption that the kitten was subjected to fleas at his previous home. being the fact that we have carpet all throughout the house and attempting to eliminate fleas from the kitten only wouldn't work, i knew i had to de-flea the entire house taking maximum precaution for his and our comfort. i had been using my mothers vacuum (a bissell powerglide platnium-bagged) since i had moved into my apartment a few months ago. i knew it was time to buy a new vacuum, one of my own, so i could both return my mothers and tackle these fleas head-on. after doing some research, i decided i would pick this vacuum up today (decision made last night). before i went to buy a new one(today), and so that the house would be clean when i gave our little buddy a flea bath and applied flea medicine(yesterday), i thought i'd give my mothers vacuum one more spin before i finally returned it. today, i came home with my new hoover and revacuumed, excited about my new toy, of course. shocked, i emptied the well-filled dirt cup. it had sucked up glitter i had spilled weeks ago, left over carpet febreze powder from probably our whole living length here, and hair that i hadn't known was there in the first place. this vacuum is awesome! when we went to pick it up in the store today, we were informed that because it was marked down to $50, it means they're going to send out a new, remodel or an updated version, so get it at the price while it lasts. great deal. good quality at a great price!

Was this review helpful? (74) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
donnaxo
holiday, florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
silent cleaner
10/20/2010

Customer review by bla4bla

5.0 stars 10/20/2010 by bla4bla
by bla4bla

i got it today and i had to try it right away. easy to put together, very light. silent and cleans like crazy!i have no clue how long it will last but i like it so much so far.

Was this review helpful? (53) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bla4bla
goldsboro, nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Excellent Basic (ie inexpensive) Vacuum
5/1/2012

Customer review by TheReviewMaker

5.0 stars 5/1/2012 by TheReviewMaker
by TheReviewMaker

This is a great vacuum for anyone who doesn't have a huge amount of carpeting. Only our upstairs is carpeted, so this vacuum is plenty for us. Assembly was a breeze (there really isn't any, you just pop the handle into place). This vacuum has great suction, and the pull out handle for the crevace tool is pretty cool and easy to use. Also this vacuum does have the switch to turn off the brush underneath (so that it can be used on hard floors), which is a great and unexpected feature in this price bracket. It makes it easy to go right from a bedroom and into the bathroom (with tile floors). Emptying the bin is simple and easy as well, and cleaner than prior vacuums we've had. Before we had a bagless that had a paper filter in the bin, and it got all nasty and had to be cleaned every time. Not with this one! If your whole house is carpeted you may want a nice Dyson or something, but this vacuum is a great bargain with great features and performance...the best out there in this price range!

Was this review helpful? (46) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheReviewMaker
Candyland, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Get What You Pay For
11/28/2010

Customer review by Cruzian

4.0 stars 11/28/2010 by Cruzian
by Cruzian

I saw that 396 people voted 5 plus 121 people rated this vacuum a 4 http://www.walmart.com/ip/Hoover-Nano-Light-Upright-Compact/10174466 which is a great percentage so the Nano Light was the vacuum I wanted to buy. I went to Walmart and picked up the Nano Cyclonic by mistake thinking it was the Nano Light great mistake because the Cyclonic works great on Carpet, Rugs and Hardwood floor. It was a $60 dollar vacuum and does the job for small living places. I also went to Hoover's website to do more research between the two and the Cyclonic system sold me. So you if you having a hard time between the two I would go with the Nano Cyclonic.

Was this review helpful? (53) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cruzian
Hampton, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Proof that Dirt Devil owns Hoover....
11/17/2011

Customer review by maganna

1.0 stars 11/17/2011 by maganna
by maganna

I had such high hopes for this vacuum after reading all the glowing reviews. I was planning to stay away from the Hoover name because Dirt Devil owns them and I had terrible experiences with the Dirt Devil vacuums. I bought it because of the excellent reviews, the price, the washable filter and also I loved the fact that the handle becomes the wand for attachment cleaning. What I didn't like was that the crevice tool is permanently attached to end. This meant I could not use my higher end dusting brush as well as a dryer vent attachment, bare floor attachment, longer crevice tool, etc. I was limited to either the attached crevice tool, or the brush that comes with it. I have a 9x12 area rug in my living room as well as a german shephard. The first time I used it, the suction was adequate, but you can tell it is not full size powerful regardless of what their claim is. I was without a vacuum for 4 days, so it should have picked up alot more. The second time I used it, the lack of suction was quite noticeable. Bare floor suction (brush roll off# was awful from day one. It struggled to pick up some crumbs as well as some pieces of dry instant oatmeal #my daughter eats her oatmeal dry...go figure!). It was USELESS on the sand on both the slate tile in my kitchen, the laminate flooring in the dining room and the hardwood in the rest of the house. It did not pick up any of it. My final issue was with the hose length. Going into it I knew it was only 5 ft. However, not realizing I wouldn't be able to add an extention wand due to the fixed crevice tool end, it was definitely to short to take care of something like a staircase. Maybe it was defective?? I don't know, but I won't try Hoover again. The next day I did go and exchange this one for the $44.00 Eureka bagless. That picked up tons of hair, dust, and the likes which showed me how lacking the Hoover was. Hope this helps!

Was this review helpful? (51) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
maganna
Bristol, CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great vacuum for a great price...love it ^ _^
5/10/2014

Customer review by Doritos33

5.0 stars 5/10/2014 by Doritos33
by Doritos33

I read a lot of reviews on this vacuum and others but for some reason I was drawn to this one. Some people complained it was too light and seemed like cheap plastic. All I have to say is so far I love this vacuum. Yes it is light and I love that and I don't think it comes across as cheap plastic material. You step your foot on the bottom part of the vacuum to release the handle and it works fine, doesn't feel like it will break or come apart like some people were worried about. I was astonished when I saw how much dirt and lint and everything this vacuum picked up. I keep my house fairly clean and vacuum every couple days but this vacuum picked up so much more than my other vacuum I couldn't believe it. I had to empty the canister after each room and I thought I had the carpets clean. This vacuum works great, is simple to use, washable filters, and is well worth the cost. I would recommend it to anybody.

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Doritos33
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing little vacuum.
12/7/2010

Customer review by panda4777

5.0 stars 12/7/2010 by panda4777
by panda4777

My mother always told me that she would never buy any floor cleaner that WASN'T a Hoover, and I definitely don't blame her! We have never been disappointed with a Hoover vacuum or steam cleaner. I have recently moved into a new house with my fiance and as a Christmas gift, my mother bought me this amazing little machine and I am so impressed with it. The Nano has the same cleaning power as a full sized vacuum for half the price. It picks up all of the pet hair, dirt and dust imaginable on both carpet and tile or hardwood floors! It's an extremely lightweight and handy little vacuum. I would not recommend this for larger houses that have bigger carpeted areas as it may become a little tedious to vacuum with, but it is perfect for medium to smaller sized rooms. I always clean the canister out with canned air after I'm finished, as dust and dirt can get a little caked on around the cyclonic center piece in the canister, but it's by no means a hassle to keep clean. The HEPA filter is easy to clean, although I haven't had to clean it yet. The canister is easy to empty and you don't have to worry about any of the dirt and dust getting onto your hands. If you are thinking about getting this vacuum, do NOT hesitate to pick it up! This is well worth the $60.

Was this review helpful? (34) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
panda4777
Goose Creek, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
mini vac for mini homes
8/27/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 8/27/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I live in a 970 sq ft condo and this thing is perfect! I bought it a little over a month ago and have used it at least once a week since. The cord is not an auto rewind but instead just has hooks on the back. The handle comes out and serves as the crevice tool and extender, however the crevice tool is affixed permanently so you can't use it as just a wand. It does include a brush, but the angle on it makes it just about useless. I have 2 cats and the vacuum is full weekly just from all the fur. The canister is too small if you are looking to clean anything over 1k sq feet but if you just need something for apartments or small chores this will do the job. The cord is short enough that you will likely have to change outlets to go to a different room. The beater bar path is narrow and the left side is significantly set in due to the belt. all in all, this vacuum is cheap enough to afford for any budget but I would not recommend it for larger living spaces.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Gilbert, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Not sure how there are so many good reviews...
2/21/2014

Customer review by MommyofTwo13

1.0 stars 2/21/2014 by MommyofTwo13
by MommyofTwo13

I rarely ever leave a bad review...but this vacuum was a complete waste of money. The only carpet in my home is a large area rug in the living room and this vacuum held up about a week before causing issues. Not only is the suction poor (if you have bits of cereal or pet hair, you'll need to go over the area a couple of times). But, the 'hose' is absolutely HORRIBLE! The 'extender' is the actual handle of the vacuum, and has a VERY small opening (you won't be able to pick up even a piece of cereal with it). If you don't attach the extender, it's really awkward to use and short. The hose clogs really easily due to the weird, bending placement of it at the bottom of the vacuum. Now...onto bare floors. It is terrible! There is no setting to lower the vacuum closer to the ground, so it sets high. Due to the really crummy suction of this vacuum, it will not pick up anything more than loose dirt. If any food particles drop..forget it, you're better off sweeping. I would never recommend this to anyone and will not be purchasing a low-end Hoover again.

Was this review helpful? (30) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from HooverUSA - 2/26/2014

Hi MommyofTwo13, I'm so sorry to read that your Nano is clogging so excessively. Would you mind sending me a email at Ian.McCormick@ttifloorcare.com? I have a few quick questions for you. Thanks!<br /><br />-Ian<br />Hoover Customer Care

MommyofTwo13
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Good vacuum for the price
11/12/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 11/12/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is a pretty good vacuum, though there are some things I wish were different. The cord is a bit shorter than my last couple vacuums. The handle turns into the hose for vacuuming behind furniture or on the stairs, so it doesn't have as much stretch or flexibility as it could have. I do think the design is pretty ingenious, though, having the handle turn into the hose. Seriously, best feature ever! Now my boys can't run off with vacuum pieces and use them as swords because they're always attached! It's also a very light vacuum, and picks up well. The canister is also well-designed and easy to take off, empty, and reattach. This vacuum may not be the biggest or the best, but I really like it, and think it's definitely worth the money I paid for it. It's also small enough and light enough that my 5-year-old can operate it on his own. All in all, I think it's a good purchase!

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice so far
10/5/2013

Customer review by MikeO89

4.0 stars 10/5/2013 by MikeO89
by MikeO89

Just got this today. Pretty impressed with it's performance and handling. There is one thing I'm kind of leery about though. The bagless canister intake and exhaust ports hook up to the vac just by flat contact. You see this when you take off the canister to empty it and put it back on. Makes me wonder why they did it that way instead of having some kind of a sleeve that the ports could slide into. Looks kind of shoddy to me and makes me wonder how those flat contacts are going to keep their seal when the vac has some age on it and parts start to get loose. Time will tell I guess. For right now this vacuum does all I need it to do and is very light weight. I would have given it the 5th star if not for that questionable design. One other thing is there is no listing of the belt part number anywhere, not in the user manual, on the box, or on the machine itself. An oversight by Hoover. Had to go online and look it up to find it.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MikeO89
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
I regret getting this vacuum.
5/13/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 5/13/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

My husband and I have 2 dogs and live a in very small house with little carpet. This vacuum had amazing reviews so we got it. The first one we got stopped working within 6 months so we replaced it with another one and now it has stopped working. We have cleaned it out really well and it just wont pick anything up. It spits everything it picks up right back out. Also it over heats and goes off for about 20 to 30 minutes. This vacuum makes cleaning a small room so frustrating and time consuming. It shouldn't take someone an hour to vacuum a room a little bigger then the size of a bathroom. I never leave reviews but I remembered how we where mislead from these reviews and thought I should let people know our experience with it. Maybe it's a great vacuum for single people that don't have a lot of people at there home but if you have pets or children I wouldn't look into getting this one. Hope this was helpful.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Tahlequah, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Amazing Vacuum with Power!
3/27/2011

Customer review by CaliGirlEveryDay

5.0 stars 3/27/2011 by CaliGirlEveryDay
by CaliGirlEveryDay

I have a small apartment and was looking for something that would last a long time and work with precision. I read many reviews online before I purchased this product, and they all raved at how fantastic this vacuum was at sucking the dirt and hair right out of the carpet. So, I decided to give it a try. The first time I used this vacuum, I was seriously amazed at how much filth and dirt came out of my seemingly clean carpets and rugs!! I had to empty the canister about 6 times - no kidding! It vacuumed up pet hair I didn't even see, dirt that I had no idea was in the depths of the carpet, and everything else in between. The suction on this unit is strong, and I also love how it can go from carpet to bare floors with a little switch (as you may or may not know, when the brush spins, it doesn't actually work on bare floors because it just throws the dirt around. The feature on this machine turns the brush off but still allows for suction). I love that there is a hose on the vacuum with an attached crevice tool as well as a brush. The canister is super easy to unload by simply pressing a button that gets rid of the debris from the bottom. All in all, Hoover has out done themselves with this affordable vacuum that could easily stack up next to the Dyson's - without the cost! You won't be let down with this vacuum, but rather you'll be amazed at how much dirt you never saw in your house until now! Aaaah, I love a clean house! Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CaliGirlEveryDay
Orange County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Usage:Every few days
Lightweight, but powerful
4/20/2011

Customer review by NHMom3

4.0 stars 4/20/2011 by NHMom3
by NHMom3

Was finally tired of not being able to find bags for my vac, and decided it was time to upgrade to a bagless model. Saw this in the store, and thought that for under $60 it was worth a try. Very lightweight and easy to tote around; much more convenient than my old one. I had vac'd my living room with the old vac, and then turned this one loose, and wow! The first pass picked up a LOT of lint- I assume the new beaters were stirring this up, but by doing so it also got to a lot of the old ground-in dirt. Once it gets going, it feels almost self-propelled, and the noise level is low compared to most vacs. There ARE a couple of drawbacks: 1) it can be a chore to uncoil the hose,in order to use the built-in crevice tool. 2) the electrical cord is a bit shorter than I'm used to, but I guess a longer cord would look silly on this little guy. 3) after a couple of uses, the suction didn't seem as strong, and nothing seemed to appear in the dustbin, although I could hear it being picked up. After looking things over, I found that a WAD of lint had become stuck in the hose, and needed to be cleared out. Once this was removed from the hose, and the uptake valves, the vac returned to its original powerful suction. Overall - a great vac for a little price-- you just need to check and clear the hose.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NHMom3
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not great at all
1/30/2012

Customer review by TrishaF

1.0 stars 1/30/2012 by TrishaF
by TrishaF

I had this vacuum for around 2 months and it just stopped working. I have a Border Collie and this vacuum can not take it.

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TrishaF
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 717 total reviews
1-20 of 717 reviews