Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 50 reviews | 2 out of 5

2.0 stars

50 reviews | 2 out of 5

2.0 stars

50 reviews | 2 out of 5

22%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 stars
28
1-20 of 50 total reviews
22%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews
Not Reliable, Worthless On Hard Floors
4/11/2011

Customer review by HCPST

1.0 stars 4/11/2011 by HCPST
by HCPST

For the price, I expected this to be a fairly good vacuum. On carpet, it was pretty good at first. On a tile floor, though, it wouldn't pick up crumbs or small pieces of mud even on the first day I had it. That was a huge disappointment. A week after I bought the vacuum, it started malfunctioning. First it would only work at all when you pushed the brush roll button for the carpet. If that button wasn't pushed, you would think the thing wasn't plugged in. No noise or suction at all. That problem magically fixed itself a week later. Now it sometimes won't turn on at all. I never know if the thing will work or not. It's a surprise every time I pull it out of the closet. Not cool for a practically new vacuum. It has hardly worked enough in the two months I've had it for me to do any vacuuming! Tomorrow, I'm begging the local store to take the thing back so I can get a new vacuum. What someone else said about the dirt cup being messy to empty is also true.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HCPST
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
Exceeded my expectations...
12/16/2010

Customer review by CritcalShopper2010

5.0 stars 12/16/2010 by CritcalShopper2010
by CritcalShopper2010

I started my search for a new vacuum with a Dyson and it had a defect, but I also did not like the design of the hose and connections - it was too springy and it was very hard to maneuver. Then, I came across this one! I was looking for a cyclonic vacuum and one that had washable filters. The price was cheaper than the dyson and for only $20 I added 2 more years of warranty - giving it 4 years of warranty. Here are the pros and cons: Pros: Super suction Washable Filters Large dirt cup Brushroll On/Off at fingertips (love this when going between hard surface, carpets, and high pile rugs) Brushroll propels itself Suction slider for more or less attachements store right on the wand cord rewind Seems well made (which also seems to add to the weight - see below) Cons: A little heavy - i think heaver than what's listed on the product details (but since it's a canister you are not pushing that all around) Takes up more space to store than an upright

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CritcalShopper2010
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Returned it to the store!!!
5/2/2011

Customer review by juiceplusmom

2.0 stars 5/2/2011 by juiceplusmom
by juiceplusmom

I had to replace my Hoover bagless s3755 because it was recalled. They did not have a replacement in stock, so I decided to give this one a try. It was exciting at first.... then I took it up the stairs. Well, it weighs a ton! Which I was worried about. Then I had my kids doing some vacuuming and the complaints started really coming in. My 9 yr old daughter got to where she hated to vacuum because it was awkward and very heavy!! It was a struggle for her to carry. My 11 yr old son even had trouble carrying this up/down to a different level. Then, the last time using it, the machine wouldn't turn off!! Thankfully, I was still in my 90 day return window. I kept debating on whether to return or not... but this was the decision maker. I am so relieved that I returned it!!! It certainly was not worth the money ~ unless you hope to build muscle lugging it around.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
juiceplusmom
N GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Awesome for Carpets!
11/21/2010

Customer review by Maryson

4.0 stars 11/21/2010 by Maryson
by Maryson

I just bought the vacuum cleaner today and I am very satisfied so far. Originally I was going to go for the Hoover Windtunnel 33456, but when I got to my Walmart, that had said online they had it in stock, they actually didn’t have it. Instead I found this one. (I was annoyed with the fact that there were no reviews, so for that sake I wanted to leave one) When I came home I tried it out right away and it is pretty awesome just for the first time use. I can’t say how it is going to turn out after a few months, or a year use though. I especially like it because I have mostly carpet in my home. It is good on hard floor too, but it seems best on carpet and it feels like it is in a good, sturdy overall quality. Pros and cons for me are the following: Pros: Very good suction power Easy to navigate and pulls forward by itself Long sturdy plastic hose Awesomely easy to take off bottom base to access metal hose part Metal hose part pulls out and extends (this is great if you are tall and/or have tall ceilings) No bags, and dirt canister is easy to take off and empties with a click of a button Lamps that indicate what is on Easy to go from carpet to hard floor with a push of a button Filter is easy to access and take out To me it seems pretty quiet. With the windtunnel and Multi-Cyclonic feature I thought it was going to be loud, but it was surprisingly quiet. (At least compared to the Patriot vacuum I use when I go clean at the neighbors house) Cons: Messy to empty (preferable to do so outside. I tried once inside and I ended up having to vacuum half of it back up, so the next time I did it ouside right in the garbage can.) Asseccories seem a little bit low budget, but I tried out the brush to get some spider webs in the ceiling and since the brissles are stiff it got spiderwebs pretty nicely. Cord doesn’t go in unless it is totally straight A little tiny bit heavy, but it is not really that disturbing, unless you are going to haul it up and down a lot of stairs.

Was this review helpful? (48) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Maryson
Hermiston, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great for a price!
12/21/2010

Customer review by Densh

5.0 stars 12/21/2010 by Densh
by Densh

Hi, I bought this vacuum as a Christmas present for my family. I have use it ones yet, so I can't say how long it going to last. The price and the features are reasonable, the suction on this one is just right, ( I can't tell that I was amazed by it, my father had a "Rowenta" and it had the best suction I've ever seen) this one sucks only what needs to be sucked. I like on-board tools they very handy, you don't have to stop and look for a it. I would like to see on/off button for the whole unit, not just for brushroll. Hoover had that feature on it's Platinum series, but pay 150$ just to get that wouldn't worth it. Overall it is a good built unit for the money you pay and it does what it should. P.S. Like lady in previous review mentioned you better go outside to dump the canister, do not do it inside of the house otherwise you have to vacuum again :)

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Densh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Amazing machine! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
11/22/2011

Customer review by The Happy camper!

5.0 stars 11/22/2011 by The Happy camper!
by The Happy camper!

This vacuum cleaner is amazing! It's powerful enough to pull my carpet nearly off the floor when I push it across the room and, when the head is turned on, it almost seems to pull me across the room with it! My old, Phantom canister vacuum died last week after 14 years, so I bought this one on-line. It arrived today and, when I passed it over just a small area across my living room rug, it pulled things out that my old vacuum never did! We own 3 cats, and not only did it pick up the cat hair on the rug, but it pulled up particles deep within the fibers without any loss in suction power (like that other fancy $500 vacuum with the British-sounding announcer!) Dust, dirt, you name it--it was in the canister. The only complaint I have is that it is a bit on the heavy side, and the extra long power cord doesn't retract as well as it should (I have to straighten it, pull it out a little while pushing the retract-button), but all-in-all, this is how a vacuum should function!

The Happy camper!
Cleveland, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Garbage!!!!
5/8/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 5/8/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased the vacuum, used it five times and it broke. My house is small and has a mixture of hardwood floors and area rugs. I am a clean person and wanted a normal vacuum. The vacuum was a little cumbersome, the canister got stuck on its own cord and on furniture or in tight corners. As for performance it didn't work that well on my wood floors, it sucked up a lot of dust but with a bit of dirt or a crumb, it would spit it back out and I found myself going over areas a second or third time. On rugs it performed a bit better but the head would get jammed and I had to clean it out before starting again. On the fifth use it broke. It smelled like burning and started making a horrible noise. I called the 1800 number on the box. They refused to exchange my money even with a receipt but offered a belt replacement. Two uses after the belt replacement it went again. I have since bought a Dyson, it was twice the price but it was completely worth it!

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 5/8/2012

We appreciate your feedback. The belt snapping can indicate an issue with the brush roller. Please check for any clogs and clean it. The owner’s manual will have troubleshooting assistance with the proper way to do this. Thank you!

An anonymous customer
Cleveland Heights, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Disappointing - Returned to Store
3/7/2011

Customer review by LeanMeanCleaningMachine

2.0 stars 3/7/2011 by LeanMeanCleaningMachine
by LeanMeanCleaningMachine

We expected a lot from this vacuum because it is priced higher than it's counterparts. It seems quite sturdy and well made. However, the price you will pay for the sturdiness is a very heavy appliance. For this reason, it is awkward to maneuver and difficult to tote around. I had hopes that the suction would be superior because of the "superior" price. However it was simply . . . adequate, nothing to brag about. The on/off switch is in an awkward location. You either have to bend down to it or hike up your leg to turn it on and off with your foot. It was messy to change the dirt cup. The bottom line is that I was afraid I would throw my back out trying to carry it. We are returning it to the store.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LeanMeanCleaningMachine
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
good vacuum but not for me
1/20/2011

Customer review by mytobee

3.0 stars 1/20/2011 by mytobee
by mytobee

This vacuum is made very well. The suction is excellent and exceeds my expectations especially on the hardwood floor. It is easy to empty. I am somewhat disappointed in the quality of the attachments. The bristles of the dust brush are pretty stiff and scratched my t.v. cabinet. The vacuum is heavier than I expected and the head is very large and hard to maneuver around and under certain furniture pieces. This wasn't the vacuum for me as I prefer one that is lighter and easy to maneuver but I think it is a good value and made well.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mytobee
Birmingham, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
No parts being made for this vacuum yet.
5/31/2011

Customer review by bnev

1.0 stars 5/31/2011 by bnev
by bnev

This is a good small canister vacuum! However, I have now purchased two of them, and I have no idea when one under warranty repair will be returned. the first vacuum had the brush roller seize up. When we called to get a replacement brush adaptor, we were told no parts were being manufactured yet and we would have to purchase another entire vacuum! So, we did!!! Four weeks later the motor burnt out on one, I returned it to an authorized warranty dealer on April 2, just received the sixth message that the part is on backorder AGAIN!!!! We are moving 5 states away and Hoover says picking up the vacuum at the authorized dealer at the old address is my problem not theirs!!!! The dealer has been very kind, apologetic and is willing to split the shipping costs!!! Hoover's first rep said they could re route the return of the vacuum, the second and third reps, AND the customer Service MANAGER never apologized, simply said it was MY problem that I had purchased a defective vacuum and needed it repaired and was moving 10 weeks after it was left at the dealership! Both of these vacuums have vacuumed a mere 2000 square feet, they were both purchased in January 2011, I don't have much hope they will last thru the end of the year!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bnev
Would recommend to a friend? No
Looks great but........
2/10/2011

Customer review by BantaGal

3.0 stars 2/10/2011 by BantaGal
by BantaGal

This was a rush purchase as the old Hoover canister failed just before the holidays. Based on the reviews we bought this model and here is our experience: -Plastic wand release pedal broke off -Accessories easily fall out of the handle where they are stored -Power Head does a poor job of picking up the fine dust we have in the central valley and not great with pet hair -No wide brush provided Looks great but the old, very basic Hoover canister vacuum did a better job

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BantaGal
Tracy, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Worst vacuum ever
11/8/2012

Customer review by tennplayer

1.0 stars 11/8/2012 by tennplayer
by tennplayer

This vacuum had to be repaired before it was even out of warranty. The on/off button for the power brush head broke first, then the rubber seal around the opening from the vac into the canister came off. These were fixed and then after a couple months the rewind cord started rewinding all on it's own while I was using the vacuum. The final straw was when I was carrying the vac upstairs and the plastic neck where the wand goes into the power brush head broke. Also this vac is very hard to pull as you are using it. The hose goes into the cansiter at too low a point and the wheel in front is not good enough to make pulling easy. I didn't like the location of the main on/off switch as you couldn't tell it from the cord rewind button. When I wrote to Hoover to let them know how bad the quality was there was no apology and the representative I spoke to on the phone tried to say that it must have been something I did to the vac and that no one else had complained about the quality or design. Well I see other complaints on this site and on Amazon there were complaints just like mine also so I feel vindicated.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tennplayer
Cumming, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Not what I was looking for
1/15/2011

Customer review by MOPSmomof3

3.0 stars 1/15/2011 by MOPSmomof3
by MOPSmomof3

After my Kenmore canister died, I started looking for a new canister vac. We have a large house (2500 sq.ft.) and about half carpet and half wood/tile floors. So I need it to handle both. It worked great on the carpet, but it did not come with a hard floor brush and if you turned of the floor brush it picked up almost nothing on my hardwood/tile floors. The bagless part seemed easy enough to use. I have only ever had a canister so I am used to pulling a vacuum behind me and this one was a little hard. It did not want to just follow me, I really had to tug on it and that worried me. I in the end returned it to the store since it would not do everything I needed it to.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MOPSmomof3
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Clunky, not as user friendly as my previous Hoover
10/17/2012

Customer review by Dustyanddirty

1.0 stars 10/17/2012 by Dustyanddirty
by Dustyanddirty

Power head has a delay engaging, extension cord rewinds while vacuuming, accessory tools fall off storage location, hose is very difficult to disengage from wand, when emptying dust and dirt the umbrella tube is almost impossible to disengage and clean. By the time you get it out you are covered in dust and dirt and have to start the cleaning process all over.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dustyanddirty
Hayward, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Worst vacuum I've ever owned!
8/9/2014

Customer review by mightypeeved

1.0 stars 8/9/2014 by mightypeeved
by mightypeeved

I was totally sold by the in-store demonstration, but since bringing it home, it is the worst vacuum cleaner ever!  If your home isn't filled with just sand (like the used in the demo), but rather regular household things like cat and dog fluff, kids bringing in bits of grass, or other normal household dirt...then this vacuum cleaner IS NOT for you.  It has useless suction power, is not nimble to get into hard to reach places and leaves stuff on the floor that its brush head can't pick up.  I paid more than I had planned to spend, because the guy convinced me it was better than the European brands that I have had in the past, but I am so so so disappointed with this purchase.  I WOULD NEVER EVER EVER RECOMMEND THIS VACUUM CLEANER TO ANYONE.  If negative star ratings were available, I'd give it minus 5 starts.  

mightypeeved
New Zealand
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Not Happy With Purchase
2/11/2012

Customer review by grishka

2.0 stars 2/11/2012 by grishka
by grishka

We thought we'd try a canister vac. Oops. The canister section get's hung up going around doorways etc... The handle to head connection doesn't stay tight; thus, when pulling back on the head, it breaks connection intermittently stopping suction. Head/handle section doesn't like to stand up with out being ginger with it. The red tubular section clogs with pet hair requiring dis-assembly every third or fourth usage. The umbrella tube tends to fall out when emptying the canister. You don't always notice that it fell out. So it ends up in the trash can and then the dump. I have ordered two replacements already. I would not purchase this model again. I am not saying that I wouldn't purchase another Hoover; although the design short comings tend to persuade me to look at other brands.

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 2/11/2012

We appreciate your comments about your canister vacuum and understand your frustration. Please check your owner’s manual for cleaning instructions. The umbrella tube requires removing for cleaning and locking back in place after the dirt cup is emptied. Also, make sure enough pressure is applied to the wand/hose connecting to the power head. Thank you!

grishka
Lexington, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Poor design wouldn’t last
8/23/2011

Customer review by VS17

2.0 stars 8/23/2011 by VS17
by VS17

Even though suction is pretty good, product designers didn’t work hard enough on other details. Power nozzle hinge made of thin and chip plastic felt quite flimsy from the very beginning and no wonder it broke after several months of very moderate use. Well .... this vacuum goes to garbage now :( Cleaning canister is very awkward and messy. Additionally, there is no way to get all the dirt out of second chamber. The footprint of this fairly small vacuum is quite large since you can’t store it upright due to uneven back surface.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VS17
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works OK, some parts don't hold up well
5/17/2014

Customer review by JeffC

2.0 stars 5/17/2014 by JeffC
by JeffC

This vacuum was a gift and it works OK. The problem is that some parts aren't made to "hold up" after some use. The first part that broke was the hinge that holds the dirt cup lid closed. It's made of plastic and broke after some time. Fortunately, I can still put the lid back and connect the canister to the main unit and it works OK. I did drop the dirt cup after detaching it from the base unit and the share-shaped connector that ties the airway between these two parts broke. IMO the design of the dirt cup is inferior, since this connector is an extension of the dirt cup rather than the base unit. Again, I was able to repair this. Thirdly, the far end of the wand (where the attachment tools connect) has developed cracks in it, which means the integrity of the connection is weakened, and as a result the button that locks the wand to the tools sometimes just pops out. After a bit of struggling with some long-nose pliers I can put the button and spring clip back in place, but the spring has lost it's original stiffness and is more apt to pop out of place from time to time. Another trivial issue is the on/off power light. Don't look directly at it from above, just glance at it - otherwise you'll see stars for a few seconds. It seems the light could be muted just a bit.

Comment from Ian - 5/19/2014

Hi JeffC, it sounds like you may have a loose connection between the wand and the pivot on the power nozzle. I'd recommend taking it into one of our service center locations near you: http://hoover.com/locator/ so we can take a look at it and have you back up and running. If you have any more questions, feel free to send me an email at Ian.McCormick@ttifloorcare.com and I'll be happy to help. Thanks!

JeffC
NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very dissapointed
6/13/2013

Customer review by retusmc

2.0 stars 6/13/2013 by retusmc
by retusmc

I bought this vacuum on 12/03/10. Six weeks after I purchased it the on off switch broke. The repair shop that I took it to wouldn't touch it. Problems with Hoover paying for warranty repairs. I replaced the switch myself. Now where the hose attaches to the wand the connectors have shorted out and the power head works intermittently. This vacuum is poorly designed. It should have a better connection at the hose and wand to prevent the shorting issue. When it works properly it's a great piece of equipment. Unfortunately the design problems outweigh the positives. My grandparents and parents had Hoover's and so have I, but this will be the last Hoover I purchase. It's over priced for the value received.

Comment from Ian - 6/13/2013

Hi Retusmc, that has to be frustrating. We're reaching out to you via e-mail to see if we can better assist you with this. Thanks so much!

retusmc
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
a good sturdy vacumn
4/18/2011

Customer review by germanflower

4.0 stars 4/18/2011 by germanflower
by germanflower

this vacumn came timely and it is pretty green, sturdy, not too heavy, not to big and it has good suction. I would clean the canister outside. It has good suction. I had the old hoover canister was recalled and I loved it. I'm happy with this one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
germanflower
inland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews