Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.8out of 5 stars
3.8 out of 5 | 289 reviews
5 stars
139
4 stars
68
3 stars
22
2 stars
14
1 stars
46
Sort by: 
1-20 of 270 reviews
1-20 of 270 reviews
Impossible to clean the cyclonic filter
9/25/2014
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've had my WindTunnel Pet Rewind for a little over a year. Having a yellow lab in the house can test even the best of vacuums! I've been happy with this Hoover except for the fact that I cannot clean the 'cyclonic' filter. I perform regular maintenance, take very good care of this machine but have noticed that the cyclonic filter fills up with dust/hair. I've actually had to take the cyclonic filter apart to clean it properly but it's a challenge. I thought I'd get on the Hoover website & bite the bullet--purchase another cyclonic filter----no such luck! Website states it's "out of stock" & I cannot even get a price for the thing...what gives here Hoover??? It appears to me that my only option is to continue taking the cyclonic filter apart to clean it properly or buy another vacuum....is this how we treat our customers? I do recommend this vacuum, as it is a good one, however, if users are not handy with tools & if they're short on patience, don't buy this one!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Do not buy this vacuum!!
9/25/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this unit to replace my vacuum that had a bag, not a canister. I do have a dog that sheds, but I have to empty the canister at least twice when I vacuum the whole house and the dog hair gets trapped in the plastic case in the back ,so I have to unscrew the cover and dig the hair out by hand. The hair and dirt in the canister doesn't just dump out, I have to pull it out with my hand or a screwdriver. The cord gets hot when running and the vacuum has shut down when too hot. This model is too bulky and awkward to use. If you have a bad back, this is NOT the one to buy. If I still had the packaging, I would return it to the store where I purchased it. I will say in it's favor, it does suck up the pet hair and dust, pretty well, but I don't like this vacuum and I plan to replace it when I find the one that meets my needs and doesn't cost an arm and a leg.
Hi! That particular design is a little bit older but as you know is a solid performer. Hair, large dust, and other debris can get stuck to the cyclone in some cases. Keep in mind that you can twist the cyclone's lid off to detach it from your dirt cup rather than sticking a screwdriver up from the bottom after emptying the dirt cup. The cord should be pulled out to a yellow piece of tape towards the end of it to keep it from getting too warm. We have made some changes to our bagless designs over the last few years. If you're looking for a lightweight bagless upright that has all of those same features, we'd recommend the Whole House Bagless: http://bit.ly/12p75t8 . Hope this helps. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
AGREE, POOR DESIGN!
8/30/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I wanted this vac a long time, I have another Hoover wind tunnel that I love. After getting this one I am more than disappointed. Like so many others before me write...the clear plastic between the front & the brush roller gets so much debris in it & u have to unscrew something like 8 screws to clean it. The power on/off is on the handle, it keeps turning off when I'm using it just from the lightest tap of the on/off switch. It is quite heavy & the dirt cup is hard to clean/empty. Mine actually gets dust in the motor where you aren't even suppose to clean. I have to use a needle & tooth brush to remove it. I don't expect it to last long before that problem causes the motor to burn up. I love Hover products & swear by them. Sorry to say this is not up to their usual standards.
Hi ESmith, it sounds like there may be an issue with the switch in your handle. We're sending you a private email so that we can better assist you with this. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Big Regret
10/19/2011
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This vacuum was amazing for the first couple of months that we had it, but then the suction dropped dramatically. Turned out there was a crack in the canister, in more than one place. The entire cyclone part of the filter is cracking off, and all of the vacuumed up debris end up inside of the part of the vacuum it shouldn't. This vacuum was treated like a new car, so there is no reason that it should already be out of commission. I have always used Hoover, my dog's name is even Hoover, but this will most certainly be the last product from this company that will ever enter my house. Aside from this defect, the design of this vacuum is horrible. The appeal of this model was the pet hair aspect of it, yet all of the pet hair gets compacted inside of that clear plastic part on the front, the place where you can see the bristles. I assumed, being that this vacuum is marketed as an ideal product for a household with pets, that it would be easy to clean. Nothing disgusts me more than a dirty vacuum sitting in the house. If I wanted to keep the pet hair in my home, I wouldn't have spent my money on a pet vacuum in the first place, so harboring pet hair and dirt inside of the chambers of this vacuum is really disgusting. Very disappointing.
We are very sorry to hear you are disappointed with your purchase. Please call our Customer Care Department so we can help address the problem. 1-800-944-9200, 8am - 7pm, M-F EST. Thank you.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Pretty Good Vacuum
7/26/2012
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a pretty decent vacuum. My dad got it for me as a housewarming gift and there are a lot of things I really love about it. I live and work on a cattle ranch and have two dogs that work with us, and so dirt and pet hair is a constant problem in my house--I vacuum very thoroughly at least once a week, if not more. What I love about this vacuum is that it sucks pet hair and dirt right out of the carpet as well (or better in some cases) as my mom's Dyson, and that it's easy to empty and that it's fairly quiet and easy to push. It also comes with some great attachments for upholstery, and the cord rewind feature is great!!! However, the tile in my kitchen, mudroom and entryway need to be vacuumed with the sucker hose attachment because the vacuum itself won't pick up very well on hard surfaces, even if you adjust the setting accordingly. However, most vacuums fail in that department. It's also quite heavy--I'm thankful I don't have to lug it up or down any stairs. Also, the filters are a little daunting to clean, it can be done but it's not nearly as easy as I would like. I'm young, this is my first vacuum, and I'll happily use it until it no longer works because it does a great job for me, but after that I imagine I'll invest in a Dyson like my mom's.
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment, we appreciate the feedback! It sounds like the brush roller is spinning the debris away before the suction can pick it up. You should move the height setting up to a higher setting. This will allow the suction to pick up the debris on the hard surface. Hopefully this will solve your problem!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Much Improved - Great Vac for the Price!
12/12/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Hoover has greatly improved their product in the last few years. I have an earlier model Wind Tunnel, and swore I would never buy one again. They are a top-rated vac, so I decided to take a look, and was impressed. The old model had a foot pedal with plastic hinge pins that broke off early on. No more - the new one has a solid pedal. The old one did not have a detent to hold the brush height setting in place, so it kept moving. Gone. The old one was very loud and hard to push. This one is very quiet and easy to push. Add the retractable cord feature (love it!) and the cyclonic action, and you have a vac that performs as well as brands priced much higher. If you are considering one, go for it - you'll like it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great suction but short hose
6/23/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love the suction on this vacuum. My husband and I both have hair to our waist and we also have a chocolate lab so as you can imagine hair is a big issue in our home. The vacuum cleans our carpets, hardwood floors, and tile floors wonderfully. The problem is the short hose when using the attachments. We have 2 sets of stairs and this vacuum is not light. I literally have to balance it with my foot on the steps once I've reached the 3rd step. I did find that you can buy an extention hose for around $40. This seems a little excessive since the entire vacuum was $113.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Cheaply made for short lifetime - save your money!
1/20/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I wish, after the wonderful customer service, that I had a great review. I do not. We received this vacuum for our wedding - the first one had a wheel that broke within a couple of weeks. I called and received a brand new one! I was so impressed and happy - for the first few months. Now the vacuum does not work, barely picks up, brush does not spin and pet attachment brush does not spin - I have cleaned and unclogged everything to no avail. We will go with a cheaper vacuum next time and choose a different brand. I do not recommend this vacuum - save your money.
Hi Lexigurl, if your brushroll is not spinning, it may be time to check the belt. You can check your belt by laying the vacuum down, removing the screws on the nozzle guard as well as the nozzle guard itself, and you'll see both belts at that point. If either belts are stretched or broken, just place an order for them here: http://bit.ly/1ei7fr9. As for the turbo tool brush, this can occur when there is a clog somewhere. We know that you mentioned cleaning everything out, but if you haven't tried this already: remove the hose from both ends and run a broom handle straight through it and see if any debris comes out.. This should restore suction to your WindTunnel. Let us know if you need any more help!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
First Hoover
10/27/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is my first Hoover which replaced my Bissell. I hated the filter on the Bissell and dreaded cleaning it. I haven't cleaned the Hoovers filter yet so I cannot compare. But my first time use of this new Hoover was great! I have carpet, tile, a rug on tile and it cleaned all very well. Cat hair plus dirt. Cleaned the stairs great with the attachment and our sofa. It's not on the light side. The weight reminds of the old school upright bag vacuums from the 70s and 80s, but I'm not complaining because this vacuum is 100 times better then the Bissel I had.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best vacuum i've ever owned.
12/13/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this vacuum in 2009 or 2010. I have a chocolate Labrador house dog, possibly mixed with Chesapeake Bay, and he sheds worse than any dog i've owned previously. This vacuum picks up every hair from the wall-to-wall old carpet, and makes the matted areas look fresh and fluffed again in the process. Emptying the canister is super simple, just pop the bottom open, and twist the top up to let everything fall out. After all this time, this vacuum still amazes me. I don't know what happened to all the one-star reviewers here, but i love this vacuum.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
LONG time Hoover customer-Just Purchased
5/17/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have 3 other Hoover products. I bought the WindTunel Pet Rewind to replace another Hoover WindTunnel that blew a bearing. I've used the new vacuum just once & found the cord is adequate however, it should NOT exit the vacuum at the bottom. I use a plastic ring around the handle to keep the cord up and out of the way to avoid getting it caught up as I run the vacuum. My previous Hoover WindTunnel lasted nearly 10 years & hopefully this one will endure at least that time. If I find other issues with this product, I will report here.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Terrible!,,
2/21/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Got this around mothers day of 2011, and it was great for about 3 months... After that the suction dropped. I cleaned the filters regularly and emptied the canister after every use... Less than a year of owning it, it stopped working all together. It doesn't even turn on anymore! Everything was just cleaned including the filters!! The indicator for filters was green showing no signs of a clog and it just stopped. We have three kids and two dogs so it is used daily, sometimes twice a day! Overall a horrible vacuum!!
The thermo switch will shut the unit off if air is not getting to the motor, which is caused by a clog. After allowing the unit to cool down for 45-60 minutes, check and clean the lower base hose, the main hose and your dirt cup filter for clogging. If you need further assistance, please visit http://hoover.com/locator/ for a listing of local service dealers.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great...for the first year or two....
7/23/2014
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this vaccum with the impression that it would last a while. Well.. after doing proper maintenance on it ina timely manner... all was good. UNTIL debris built up in the cyclonic filter, which is a one piece unit. The vaccum goes until the sensor shuts off the motor for overheating. We cannot access the inner cyclonic filter in order to remove debris. So I have a working machine... that apparently is useless because Hoover made a cyclonic filter that cannot be completely cleaned out. 
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I'm returning mine.
10/12/2011
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Since we have a couple of dogs, the "pet" influenced our purchase. However, poor design of the brush roller area allows dirt and hair to pack into the hollow plastic tubing that is part of brush roller assembly. The only way to get it out is to unscrew the bottom, take it off and dig it out. I called customer service to see if there anything I could do, but was told that was the way it was designed. I refuse to take the thing apart every other vacuuming so I'm returning it to store.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works great as long as you take care of it!
5/20/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I received this second hand and have to admit I was worried; it was filthy and smelled terrible. After a few hours of taking it apart and cleaning it, it works brand new and haven't had any problems. I have a cat that sheds to the extreme and it picks up and does not get clogged. I make sure to empty after every use and make sure it's clean. "A clean vacuum is a happy vacuum" It was a bother to clean thoroughly but was worth it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Happy Customer
1/2/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have 3 kids and 2 large dogs, both dogs shed incessantly. I am always amazed after I vacuum to see how much pet hair and dirt this maching picks up. We were a little worried today when it stopped working but after a little research in the manual we found out there is a thermal protector to keep the maching from over heating. 30 minutes later, worked like a charm. a year later... couldn't be happier with our decision!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best Vacuum I have ever had
8/24/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have 4 pets, which is why I bought this particular model. It picks up more dust, dirt, and pet hair than any other vacuum I have had. The only pain is that due to the amount of pet hair in my house, I have to clean out the bottom brush once a month - but this is expected since there is a lot of hair, it means that it actually picks it up. I don't know any vacuum where hair does not get wrapped around the brush.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Rewind cord has my wife
9/30/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Two big dogs and a six year old along with a Grandps and his little dog who staying for 4 of the 7 days a week; this vacumme holds up (or should I say picks up) aginst a lot of tracked around debris. That is not the best part. My wife smiles really big and says, : I don't care if the vacumme works or not, I love this cord". The retractable cord is the best. Keep up the great work.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Does a good job on carpets
4/13/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Requires periodic maintenance every 3-4 months to clean it internally, tales about 20 minutes. I have two German Shepherds who shed a lot and go in and out 20 times a day. Vacuum does a good job on carpet, lacks suction on hardwood, so I bought an accessory with a closed 12 inch wide brush on the end. Using the hose and the new accessory brush does a great job on hardwoods. 
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
10 months of service: A good machine
12/8/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Have had this machine since February; meets our household needs and has never failed. As an added order of maintenance, I use compressed air and blow out the filters every-other-month. At the same time I wash the dirt cup and cyclone, then let dry for 24 hours. My wife and I both are pleased with our second Hoover. We will purchase Hoover again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641774, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-10.1.1, SHA-cd91c60c037ec69024941e99664518ad4edafe94, CID-