Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 289 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

289 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

289 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
139
4 stars
68
3 stars
22
2 stars
14
1 stars
46
1-20 of 270 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 270 total reviews
1-20 of 270 reviews
Finally! I no longer live like an animal!
11/19/2013

Customer review by KeepinItDeal

5.0 stars 11/19/2013 by KeepinItDeal
by KeepinItDeal

I just got the vacuum today so this review is only about how well it picks up pet hair, not how well it holds up in general. It picks up pet hair! My rental house has wood floors but I have a couple rugs that hold onto pet hair. You can see in my photos that one rug is black, so it's looked grisly most of the time since I've had it (the past two years). We have a cat and a dog and although the dog doesn't even go in the rooms with the rugs, her fur floats around and lands on everything, as does the cat's. I have tried cleaning the hair off with with rubber gloves, with another vacuum (Dirt Devil Breeze), and yet another vacuum I bought recently, the Bissell Pet Hair Eraser (corded). Not only do the Dirt Devil and Bissell not remove pet hair, they also are messy vacuums--the cords do not retract or wrap well and the Dirt Devil has too many loose pieces; even the hose falls out. Today I vacuumed the black rug with my new Hoover and within two minutes all the hair was gone. I wish I could post a photo of the canister, as it was 1/3 filled with fur and dust. For me, the vacuum is worth it just to vacuum the rug in my bedroom and the retractable cord is wonderful (most vacuums under one hundred don't have that feature including other Hoovers that aren't "Rewind" models). The vacuum is heavy as some users posted, but after all the cheap, ineffective machines I've had, the heaviness actually feels nice. I am so glad I finally spent the money on this machine. Now I can do yoga on my rug and not Downward Dog into dog hair.

Was this review helpful? (37) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KeepinItDeal
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Most incredible vacuum I've ever seen in action.
12/23/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/23/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am a college student, and I was in need of a new vacuum after I broke my roommate's (oops). I decided on this one because I just got a kitten and I wanted a bagless one. When I got my vacuum, I was simply amazed by how powerful it is. When it says it picks up hidden dirt, it's not kidding!! I was vacuuming regularly with my roommate's bagless Eureka vacuum, and after only one week of not vacuuming, I used my new Hoover Pet Rewind and filled HALF OF THE CANISTER with two small rooms. Two!! It's seriously incredible. The parts that get hair off of the couch are great, too. Very powerful and very impressive. It is heavy but not unmanageably so, and its volume is not high pitched and scary like some vacuums. The canister is also very easy to use. I am so, so happy with my vacuum, and I know I will be able to use it long after I graduate and get my own place.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Bowling Green, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very good machine but requires maintenance
4/16/2013

Customer review by 1swing4all

4.0 stars 4/16/2013 by 1swing4all
by 1swing4all

From a vacuum point of view this Hoover Wind Tunnel does a fantastic job. Doing such a good job does require that the cannister be taken off and the round side separated and another vacuum is necessary or air compressor to blow out the dust because this vacuum does pick up a lot of dust from the floor. Also the cannister will stop rotating the debris inside so watch it because the wind tunnel effect is dimenished. Also I have to hand remove the clogs of hair and dust from the cannister as it does not drop out easily. The vacuum is really strong and is probably the best I have ever purchased and I intend to buy a 2nd one because of its power to pick up. Do not try to remove the wind tunnel itself as it is troublesome to put back on and the metal screws can get stripped. Otherwise, I've used this machine now for a while and it really does an amazing job just remember maintenance and your hands will get a little dirty from removing the debris from the container. ---GOOD VACUUM

Was this review helpful? (42) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1swing4all
Orange, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Works Great for Picking Up Cat Hair
9/19/2013

Customer review by Catwise

5.0 stars 9/19/2013 by Catwise
by Catwise
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was in need of a new vacuum and spent a bit of time research reviews online about various 'pet' vacuum models. I needed one that would do a better job than my previous vacuum and really pull up cat hair from the back part of our two living room chairs that our two cats have now decided to make their sleeping perches instead of their cat beds during the day. The attachments work great on the chairs and amount of fur and other dirt pulled up and into the vacuum container is awesome! I will say this vacuum is a bit on the heavy side, so you have to use the wand and mini attachments to vacuum stairs, for it is too heavy to hold and use. Using the vacuum on our area rug and carpeted areas is great too . . .so far I am impressed on how much this vacuum sucks up even over our laminate floor areas . . and when Walmart put this one on featured Rollback, I thought I would give it try and it works great for the $$ spent.

Was this review helpful? (33) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Catwise
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/13/2011

Customer review by PrincessRB

2.0 stars 7/13/2011 by PrincessRB
by PrincessRB

I previously had a Bissell vacuum and it started getting loud after 6 months of use but had no other issue. I decided to try a Hoover this time and I really liked the wined up cord. For the money I spent on this I was really disappointed, it worked no better than by previous $100 vacuum. The wheels started squeaking after 4 months, it's heavy and it's awkward to carry down stairs. It is a mission and a mess to clean out the canister because the little trap door lets out the dirt on the bottom but then the top needs to be unscrewed to get all the hair and excess dirt trapped on the filter out. Also it is difficult to clean out the roller because the bottom is screwed on by about 8 tiny screws, very inconvenient. The suction is great and it seems to pick up a lot of dirt and the bare floor feature is pretty cool, but on those 2 things alone it definitely wasn’t it worth it to me. I’m regretting not returning it that is for sure.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PrincessRB
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
This is a GREAT vacuum cleaner *BUT*
8/6/2012

Customer review by thesanitycruzer

5.0 stars 8/6/2012 by thesanitycruzer
by thesanitycruzer

I say *but* because almost everyone has the same problem. After using it for a few months it starts overheating and shutting off. Well I called Hoover Customer Service and the rep says she gets this shutting off question 20 times a day. Refer to page 12 of your manual, you must clean the rinsable filter frequently to prevent clogging and the subsequent overheating. I did what she said and the vacuum now is running green again. I am having no more problems with overheating and the subsequent shutdowns.

Was this review helpful? (66) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thesanitycruzer
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Best vacuum that I've ever purchased
10/31/2013

Customer review by CulverCookie

5.0 stars 10/31/2013 by CulverCookie
by CulverCookie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Awesome vacuum and what a deal. It is much better than a higher priced vac that was a pain in the neck. The vacuum was exactly as described. I have 3 cats, so pet hair is always a problem but this vac took care of the pet hair and the litter dust that ends up on the floor. One reviewer had mentioned that they didn't like how you emptied the vacuum but we found that it emptied just fine - I love the bottom empty feature. I like the cord return. Great buy, I'd recommend it to anyone - especially if you have pets.

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CulverCookie
Culver, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hoover UH70086
1/10/2011

Customer review by CommodoreJim

4.0 stars 1/10/2011 by CommodoreJim
by CommodoreJim

This has been a great vacuum for my family. The suctioning power is very good and it cleans the floors quickly. My only gripe is that the belt broke recently, and I cannot find a replacement. Hoover.com does not have one in stock and Walmart didn't have one that fit either. Without the belt, the vacuum is basically useless. I would recommend getting a vacuum with more readily available parts as the belts can go out quite often depending on the pile of the carpet.

Was this review helpful? (56) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CommodoreJim
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great DEAL for an awesome vacuum!
9/19/2013

Customer review by floridafolks

5.0 stars 9/19/2013 by floridafolks
by floridafolks
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have bought several vacuum cleaners lately trying to find the perfect one, including a dyson and this is hands down the most powerful vacuum of them all. This was going to be my secondary one for the upstairs, but it's my main one. I also love the rewind feature on the cord, which is so much more convenient than having to rewind the cord. I'm thinking of buying a second one and giving the other vacuums to my kids, who hardly ever clean anyway!!

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
floridafolks
Orlando FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Went thermal within three minutes
2/1/2014

Customer review by widogmom

1.0 stars 2/1/2014 by widogmom
by widogmom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this vacuum after much research and saw the great ratings...but mine went on thermal shutdown after three minutes. Per the troubleshooting instructions, I let it sit for half an hour and tried again...again, it went thermal after three minutes. I called Hoover and they were surprised that I had just purchased the unit...said they would usually look for something like this after six months of use (do your vacuum cleaners usually die after six months?) but not right away like this. They told me to box it up and bring it to my local Walmart. Couldn't get the handle off once assembled; I called Hoover back and they had no idea how to do it, either, so I brought it back to Walmart with the handle sticking out of the top of the box. The people at the service counter were efficient and gracious and refunded my money promptly and without hassle. Both Hoover and Walmart were willing to stand behind their product, and I was only out a very small shipping fee...but it never should have failed in the first place.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
widogmom
Northcentral Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to use
12/11/2013

Customer review by BinaryZombie

5.0 stars 12/11/2013 by BinaryZombie
by BinaryZombie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great Vacuum not to heavy long reach. Only two gripes. The retractable cord (awesome) just does not seem long enough. But meh it still gets me to the next outlet. Other down side was the height selector, its a dial on the front wishing it was a foot switch like the rest. Other than that it has great suction and plenty of room for dirt before needing to be emptied. I found it to be light enough to carry with no problem and the weight allows for easy gliding on the carpet and hard wood floors. Which comes to the next feature I liked you can shut off the brush roller. And on that note. I found if you jam up the roller the vacuum will stop the roller??? I figured this is why it has a lifetime belt. The powered attachment for the vac is air powered. We tried to use it on the steps but found with light downward pressure it would overwhelm the air power and cause the brush roller to stop. Use light light pressure.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BinaryZombie
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
greatest vac ever
12/12/2010

Customer review by DukesLady

5.0 stars 12/12/2010 by DukesLady
by DukesLady

I always thought I kept a clean house-vacuuming at least 2 to 3 times a week. For the past few years I had a vacuum with a bag and was getting tired of smelling all the dirt that accumulated in the bag. I saw the Hoover for pets(I own a 'shed-less' small terrier) and decided to try it. The first time I used the new machine was 1 day after I had cleaned my whole house. Imagine my surprise when I had to empty it three times. Since then, I only need to empty it once during a cleaning. This is definitely the best vac ever!

Was this review helpful? (63) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DukesLady
Dudley, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
GREAT PET VACUUM!!!!!
9/27/2013

Customer review by Dogmomma1

5.0 stars 9/27/2013 by Dogmomma1
by Dogmomma1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the second of this exact vacuum I have purchased. The first was 2.5 years ago and it recently burned out. That being said, I have 2 german shedders and vacuum every 2 days. Lots of hair goes through this vac each week. It has great suction, it is for all floors, and the pet power brush is awesome on their beds(and mine). For what I put a vacuum through and the price of this vacuum, I think it is an excellent value for the money! I had a friend spend 600. on a D*%#@ vacuum and she was not really impressed by it.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dogmomma1
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Impossible to clean the cyclonic filter
9/25/2014

Customer review by Caren

2.0 stars 9/25/2014 by Caren
by Caren

I've had my WindTunnel Pet Rewind for a little over a year. Having a yellow lab in the house can test even the best of vacuums! I've been happy with this Hoover except for the fact that I cannot clean the 'cyclonic' filter. I perform regular maintenance, take very good care of this machine but have noticed that the cyclonic filter fills up with dust/hair. I've actually had to take the cyclonic filter apart to clean it properly but it's a challenge. I thought I'd get on the Hoover website & bite the bullet--purchase another cyclonic filter----no such luck! Website states it's "out of stock" & I cannot even get a price for the thing...what gives here Hoover??? It appears to me that my only option is to continue taking the cyclonic filter apart to clean it properly or buy another vacuum....is this how we treat our customers? I do recommend this vacuum, as it is a good one, however, if users are not handy with tools & if they're short on patience, don't buy this one!

Caren
Augusta, GA
Gender:Female
Great for picking up pet hair !!!
11/7/2013

Customer review by RosieEmma

5.0 stars 11/7/2013 by RosieEmma
by RosieEmma
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After trying numerous vacuums this one finally makes the cut and works so well! I would recommend it and it has made a huge difference in keeping our carpets looking great and pet hair free!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RosieEmma
Tonawanda, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Junk....
11/26/2013

Customer review by ray816

1.0 stars 11/26/2013 by ray816
by ray816
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

When the vacuum arrived - on time - my husband put it together and went to vacuum our rug and the machine died. He waited a few minutes, tried it again, and once again it died. We called the Hoover customer service and the man on the phone was rude and made it seem like my husband had no idea what he was doing. So we called walmart and they told us to return the product since we only had it for a few hours. DO NOT BUY THIS VACUUM. We talked to a lady that worked at the store and ended up buying the hoover wind tunnel rewind plus, basically the same machine. We have two large dogs and the hoover we picked out is awesome. The lady also told us her mother has the pet rewind and has had the same problems we are having. My husband seems to think there is an electrical problem because all the electrical is in the handle where you can't see it versus the wind tunnel where you can connect it. The pet rewind plus is junk - again DO NOT BUY IT!

Was this review helpful? (8) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ray816
New York
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cleans great, wheels fell off
11/14/2013

Customer review by SuperMommaOf3

3.0 stars 11/14/2013 by SuperMommaOf3
by SuperMommaOf3

Cleans floor great. Picks up the dog hair great. However, on wheel feel off after 10 months of use and the other wheel is cracked. The durability is not that great.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SuperMommaOf3
Pratt, KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/14/2011

Customer review by Tiredofbuyingjunk

1.0 stars 10/14/2011 by Tiredofbuyingjunk
by Tiredofbuyingjunk

Vacuum worked great for about two months. Very small bagless container and a pain to work it because it gets caught in there. After about two or months it seems to have less sucking power, vacuum attachment for pick up pet hair quit working. Handle so chinsy the plastic litterly bends as you try and vacuum. Keep in mind i myself wrote great review but vacuum is worthless in just a few months. Save your money and buy something else

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tiredofbuyingjunk
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
So Far So Good!
8/10/2011

Customer review by shadowgizmo

5.0 stars 8/10/2011 by shadowgizmo
by shadowgizmo

Just purchased this vacuum! First of all...I love hoover vacuums. They seem to be a good product for the money. I am used to bags put thought I would be more earth friendly with a bagless. I did a lot of research. There are 3 different models of this actual PETS PLUS vacuum. The cheapest around $99.00 had less options, 1 year warranty. The next model up was about $139.00. The only difference I found was the handle design. When reading reviews a lot of people experienced belt issues with model #2. So I chose this 3rd model UH70086. You can compare the models online at hoover.com. I would assume this is the newer of the models because I couldn't find any reviews on it yet. Needless to say I am glad I chose this model. I was going to purchase a Dyson...but for the $389.00 price tag...I opted for the hoover at the lower $159.00. The best vacuum I have bought to date. The first time I vacuumed my house you should have seen the dirt that came out of my carpet...ewww. And I just vacuumed with my old one! Definitely worth the money. Here is a basic overview: Likes: Attachments great! Long hoses; could be a little longer for my taste, but works OK. Retractable cord; great option Easy to clean out (opens at both ends) Bumper guards for scratch free furniture 12 amps...this is a must have; great suction! Clean out indicator.... All tubes are clear plastic! Great option, so if you get something stuck you can see it! Good on carpet and bare floors Dislikes: Heavy on the arm...I am not a weakling, however after vacuuming my whole house, my arm got a nice work out. If looking for a light weight model, this is not for you. I don't mind it though because it is really suctioning the hair and dirt out of the carpet. I will sacrifice clean for comp fort!

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shadowgizmo
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I like it
3/9/2011

Customer review by jazzfingers101

4.0 stars 3/9/2011 by jazzfingers101
by jazzfingers101

For those reading, in my home I have one full grown lab, a two year old, and a husband that works in the oilfield. We have a lot of dirt and snack crumbs that seem to get everywhere. My previous vacuum was a lightweight dirt devil bought in February 2009 for $50. It still works good, but it didn't have any attachments. The hoover pet vac comes with an air brush, upholstery brush, and two tube extensions. The air brush did an amazing job removing all the pet hair and cookie crumbs from the couch. I usually use a lent brush, but this works way better. The upholstery brush is for hard surfaces and I used it on my bookshelf. It picked up pet hair and large items, but it definitely doesn't dust for you. I'll probably use it just to keep floating pet hair down to a minimum from when I dust. The vacuum itself was extremely easy to assemble. It looks nice and seems like its going to be durable. The weight is about average compared to similar vacuums, unless you currently have a lightweight model. You won't be able to zip through a room with this one, but it seemed fairly easy to use and I love the 3rd position option. It allows you to lay the vacuum down nearly flat to get under furniture without moving anything. It came in handy in the kitchen for me. It worked well on the carpet and on the kitchen floor. It picked up tons of pet hair and did a great job. I didn't have to empty the canister until after I had vacuumed the living room, hallway, kitchen, and used the attachments on the couch and shelves. It was super easy to empty. All I had to do was push a button and the bottom drops out. The filter section comes out easy too and if you use the upholstery brush to dust it you can clean it up quickly. You might want to empty the canister outside though, otherwise you're going to have a lot of dust flying around. So far I'm pretty happy, but only time will tell on how it holds up.

Was this review helpful? (41) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jazzfingers101
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 270 total reviews
1-20 of 270 reviews