Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 224 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

224 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

224 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

62%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
89
4 stars
40
3 stars
11
2 stars
26
1 stars
58
1-20 of 219 total reviews
62%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 219 total reviews
1-20 of 219 reviews
Waste of Time and Money!
7/10/2014

Customer review by NHP1

1.0 stars 7/10/2014 by NHP1
by NHP1

I bought this through Walmart.com on 6/30 and was really excited to have purchased a carpet and hard floor cleaner in one. I had it shipped to my local store, picked it up on 7/8 and put it together, used if for 2 minutes on 7/9 on my tile floor and it quit working. The brushes stopped spinning and no suction is present. I checked all of the trouble shooting items, made sure the filter screens were clean and the only thing that would run is the pump for the detergent. I emailed Customer Service through Hoover's website and they responded to me asking me to call Customer Service directly today 7/10. I called Customer Service explained to the lady what happened and it was suggested that the best thing to do was to take it back to where I purchased it since i just got it or take it to a service center (which none are near me per Hoover's site). Needless to say, I will be returning this to Walmart tonight and getting my money back and finding another cleaner that will do both carpets and hard floors.

Comment from Giselle - 7/15/2014

Hi NHP1, we pulled your records and want to further assist. Your Max Extract should have powerful suction at all times. You will receive a private email shortly. We have a couple of questions. Thank you.

NHP1
Maricopa, AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
GREAT MACHINE! When works.
9/10/2014

Customer review by Enrique1956

1.0 stars 9/10/2014 by Enrique1956
by Enrique1956

I bought this Model four months ago,it was washing and drying perfectly, until stop sucking the water from the carpet. I called the 1-800 number to get instructions, where to send it to be repaired, they gave me the the phone number in Riverside Ca where they were going to take care of it,So I took it to the repair shop and they told me it was going to take between 2 or 3 week to get the replacement parts, but they hold it for more than a month. I got it fixed and started to use it again. It only worked one time, the second time the machine was not watering the carpet, so I took it again to the repair shop, the person in the repair shop, told me the same history, it is going to take from 3 to four weeks to get the parts, because Hoover takes to much time in supply the parts needed. Now, I DO NOT have the machine because it is in THE REPAIR SHOP, this machine stays more time in the repair shop, than my home.One advise, DO NOT shop MODEL FH50230 G13C, If You do not want to be dealing with the repair technician and the replacement parts from Hoover.

Enrique1956
Riverside, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
It's a Leaker
5/9/2016

Customer review by NonVacRepairGuy

1.0 stars 5/9/2016 by NonVacRepairGuy
by NonVacRepairGuy

Have had this unit just a short time. Was impressed with the ease of use, and how well it cleaned carpets and furniture. Unfortunately, it started leaking. Not just a dribble, but it would practically empty out the clean water and soap tanks if left sitting between cleanings. Was very frustrated also on getting repairs under warranty. The recommended repair center has searingly poor reviews as well as long repair timelines--6-8 weeks. Closest respected repair center did not even want to work on it. Took it apart and found out that the back of the pump housing had disintegrated. Source of the extensive leaks. I can get the parts, but wait a minute, why am I having to do this??? Not a good experience from the standpoint of product quality, product support, and service network. Does that make 3 strikes?

Comment from Karissa - 5/12/2016

Hi there! Oh no, your Max Extract Deep Cleaner shouldn’t leak like this. We want to assure you that quality is an important factor of our products. Each service center is independently owned and the repair time depends on their workload. A warranty claim may take up to 21 business days for parts to be sent over to the service center. This is not always the case. Once the parts are sent the unit is then repaired and given back as soon as possible. We will be reaching out to you privately for further assistance. We look forward to hearing from you!

NonVacRepairGuy
Racine, WI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
broke immediately
4/13/2016

Customer review by kmbuckeye

2.0 stars 4/13/2016 by kmbuckeye
by kmbuckeye

worked great the first time I used it, but all the water ran out the second time. Got so disgusted trying to get it to work I finally emptied it out and it's been sitting in the closet for over a year. Got to do something, though because with 9 dogs, I can't afford to get the carpet professionally cleaned every month at $100 a pop. will try to take it to Morrison's in Canton OH to see what they can do. hopefully it will still be under warranty. of course can't find the receipt OR the extended warranty I bought with it. trust me when I say that after looking for it all this time I now have a warranty book so they are all in the same place.... my family worked for Hoover for years and has always had good faith in the quality of the products....

Comment from Giselle - 4/14/2016

Hi kmbuckeye! Your Max Extract should not be giving you any trouble. Taking the cleaner one of our authorized service centers for inspection is the best option. Your cleaner has a 2 year limited manufacture's warranty that covers manufacturing defects and labor. To gather more information regarding your warranty period, please contact us at 1-800-944-9200 Mon - Fri between the hours of 8AM - 6PM EST with model number and MFG code on hand. This information will be located behind the unit towards the bottom on a white Hoover data sticker. Hope this helps!

kmbuckeye
Magnolia, Ohio, United States
This machine does a great cleaning job
9/26/2011

Customer review by Obsessed with Clean carpet

5.0 stars 9/26/2011 by Obsessed with Clean carpet
by Obsessed with Clean carpet

I am a 55 year old man. My home has wall to wall carpet in most of the house. The house and carpet is twenty years old now. I have had children, and now grandchildren that crawl on my carpet. I also have had a pet house dog that keeps me vacuuming at least once and most of the time twice day. I purchased a (Made in North Canton Ohio)Hoover Steam Vac. that has been used at least a few Hundred times, and a couple of hours each time. This new one is easier to use, and does a excellent carpet cleaning job. I hope it lasts as long as the old one did. I sure wish this new one was made in the USA. Buy the way, the old one still works, it just leaks. This new one seems to be made as sturdy as my old one, and it isn't any louder. I hope this helps people with their decision on the purchase of a new carpet cleaner.

Obsessed with Clean carpet
Smithsburg Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Leaking Solution Tank Valve
1/12/2015

Customer review by SDWC

1.0 stars 1/12/2015 by SDWC
by SDWC

I bought this machine a little over 3 years ago. I have used it less than 6 times. Yesterday, I needed to use it to clean up a large stain made by my sick dog. When I filled the solution tank, all the solution ran out of the machine, down the kitchen counter where I was filling it, onto my stainless steel dishwasher, and onto the floor. Now, I have permanent streaks down my dishwasher caused by the concentrated Hoover detergent! After a few minutes of looking it over, my husband and I discovered the stem valve under the tank was falling out and could not be kept in. I called Hoover this am (as yesterday was Sunday), and after waiting on hold 20 minutes, I was told the valve is not a replaceable item and that I would have to purchase an entire new tank assembly. It turns out the tank assembly is not even in stock and it could take 4-6 weeks to receive it! I needed to use this machine yesterday, not months from now! I complained to the representative and the best she could do was offer me a 15% discount on the part! After reading some of the other reviews, I am not the only one who has had this happen to their machine. Hoover should recall this product, correct the problem, and provide owners a free, replacement tank.

Comment from Giselle - 1/12/2015

Hi SDWC, we understand your frustration and want to help. You're correct. You should not have an problems with cleaner after only 6 uses. We read all the same reviews you have and forward the information to our quality department for improvement efforts. We'd like to advise these efforts have been implemented. You will receive a private email shortly for further assistance. We have a couple questions.

SDWC
Warrenton, VA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
poor quality
2/9/2014

Customer review by jyoung

1.0 stars 2/9/2014 by jyoung
by jyoung

I purchased MaxExtract 77 to replace my Max Extract All-Terrain which stopped working after about 18 months when the motor suddenly began smoking and then died.   I read the reviews for this and disregarded the large number of negative comments about the leaky water tank.  After about 2 months of purchasing this product, it began leaking large amounts of water constantly from the water tank and dripping down the sides of the machine.  Eventually, the plastic spring stopper at the bottom of the water tank became completely useless at stopping the water leaking, so I had to use my finger to cover the hole while i filled the water tank.  Today, 8 months after purchase, the motor began smoking and then died.   This is the worst purchase i've ever made.

jyoung
Atlanta, GA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
I need to change my review!
8/23/2013

Customer review by CodeRancher

4.0 stars 8/23/2013 by CodeRancher
by CodeRancher

After writing my mixed review I went to finish wiping down my cleaner and making sure all the screws were tight... and I discovered what was actually wrong, the fitting at the end of the attachment hose had slipped apart, the detents that hold it together were worn. Needless to say, this caused a huge vacuum leak! I used epoxy to fix it in a way that will be something of a pain if it needs to come apart again but will still be doable without destroying it. And just like that, it's back to sucking some serious floor, like when it was new! Make no mistake, everything I said about poor parts support still goes, I need a couple of plastic parts, the handle won't stay locked up anymore, and that problem subjects it to more abuse than normal. So for now that's still going to cost you a star. But otherwise it's fully functional, after 2.2 years of moderate use! Awesome! I have revised my star ratings accordingly btw, to me positive reviews written a month or two after purchasing aren't worth a lot, it's the ones written after years of service and still going strong that make me want to buy. I like things that are in it for the long haul; I hate things that become junk because some critical plastic part isn't out there to be had.

CodeRancher
Central CA Coast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Waste of Money!
7/7/2016

Customer review by titanic423

1.0 stars 7/7/2016 by titanic423
by titanic423

Used the carpet cleaner twice. It didn't have enough suction to clean the carpet and leaked constantly.

Comment from Karissa - 7/8/2016

Hi titanic423! Your Max Extract Deep Cleaner should extract all the water that has been dispensed. We have a few suggestions to help get your cleaner up and running. Please give the following steps a try: 1. Remove the clean water tank and ensure the quick pour spout cap is in place. 2. Use a damp cloth to clear the red filter screen located in the top left corner where the tank sits in. 3. Remove the nozzle and locate the second filter screen and clear any debris. The nozzle can also be rinsed. 4. Ensure the hose is seated all the way down in the holster on the side of the machine. 5. Remove the clean water tank and check the seal located on the platform. Make sure the seal is seated properly and isn't broken or cracked. Once completed the unit should begin to extract the water as it should. If further assistance is needed feel free to give us a call at 1-800-944-9200 M-F from 8am-6pm EST. We’re here for you!

titanic423
York, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Cleans Better Than the Bissell
3/13/2012

Customer review by Vizavis

4.0 stars 3/13/2012 by Vizavis
by Vizavis

Cleans much better than the more expensive Bissell model that only lasted a couple of years. Cleans much closer to the walls and kitchen cabinets than the Bissell without marring surfaces. The Bissell had constant issues with the suction not working or the clean water not pumpimg any water. The only thing I don't care for about the Hoover is the fact that you run out of clean water long before the detergent dispenser is emptied. You also fill up the dirt water tank much sooner than the Bissell and need to empty the tank quite often. And I mean OFTEN. Otherwise I would have given a 5 star rating. Time will tell on the durability but so far it is a great product for the price and does a better than expected job on my floors.

Vizavis
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Loved it the first 3 times I used it then.....
10/17/2014

Customer review by KSF1962

1.0 stars 10/17/2014 by KSF1962
by KSF1962

This machine was a Christmas gift. I was thrilled the first 6 months (3-4 uses) then the solution tank started to leak. I haven't used anything other than the Hoover brand cleaning solution that came with the unit, so it's not that I used the "wrong" cleaning solution. I have read many reviews stating the same issue. I looked at the two small plungers located at the bottom of the tank (the source of the leak) and found that one has a larger gasket than the other. The side of the tank with the smaller gasket leaked and when I switched sides the leak followed. It seems like this was set up to fail after a few uses; not what I am used to with Hoovers. If it wasn't a gift it would have been returned!

Comment from John - 10/18/2014

Hi KSF1962, Your tank should not be leaking like that and we can help. We just sent you an email to provide further assistance. Thanks!

KSF1962
Santa Rosa, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
This works well for us, most of the time
2/12/2013

Customer review by dapriest

4.0 stars 2/12/2013 by dapriest
by dapriest

This machine works very well for us, much better than the Hoover Floormate that it replaced. I've had it for Nine months, and it does an excellent job on our 2,500 SF of laminate flooring, which is cleaned at least once per week with this machine. My only complaint has to do with the pop valves on the base of the water tank. The original valves failed, leaking water and detergent all over the place. Rather than deal with service, I bought another tank from Hoover 2 months ago. Now, THAT tank has failing valves. I will have to seek service this time, but I fear I've found a weakness in the design. I've noticed other complaints regarding the same issue. If not for this issue, I'd give it 5 stars.

dapriest
Saint Louis, Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Easy To Use
12/1/2013

Customer review by cleaning

3.0 stars 12/1/2013 by cleaning
by cleaning

I bought this a few years ago to replace another hoover I had, Had for several years just because I wanted an upgrade with two huge dog's in my home + a teenage son and his friend's constantly in and out of my house I try to do my carpets monthly any way I have no real complaints I think the cleaner does a good job for my rugs the only part I do not like is the attachments I have tried it several times on my stairs and on my furniture it just doesn't have the power to clean that well or extract the water so if your are buying this primerly to do your furniture or your stairs I do not suggest this product, Also in saying that with every use when I am done I totally strip this unit down and clean out every possible thing that I can I take screws out to get any stuck pet hair the piece that the brushes spin I pull that apart get everything stuck out of there I guess I cleaned this unit a little to well or just to much because the plastic front piece of the machine the part that the water first go through when extracting out of the carpets has a little clip on top that you pull back to remove that piece of the machine for cleaning it out well unfortunately I snapped it so I do suggest that when you take this cleaner apart to clean it beings it is primarley plastic unit just take precautions.

cleaning
Essington, Tinicum Township, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Worked great for two years
2/23/2016

Customer review by Yofrendonna

2.0 stars 2/23/2016 by Yofrendonna
by Yofrendonna

I purchased this carpet shampooer three years ago and used it about three times a year usually prior to holidays because I wanted, as most people do, to have my carpets look nice for company. Unfortunately the brushes stopped turning even though I was meticulous about making sure the unit was thoroughly cleaned after use and prior to putting it away. It seems the turbine that turns the brushes seized up and needed to be replaced. I have only used the shampooer less than a dozen times. It will be more economical for me to rent a machine

Comment from Karissa - 2/28/2016

Hi Yofrendonna! That doesn’t seem like Hoover quality. Your Max Extract carries a two year warranty that covers for any manufacturing defects. This sounds like something our service center may need to take a look at. To locate a service center in your area please visit: http://hoover.com/locator/. If you have any other questions feel free to give us a call at 1-800-944-9200 (M-F 8a-6p EST). We’re here for you!

Yofrendonna
Newport, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
The leaking tank
2/4/2016

Customer review by marymae4u

2.0 stars 2/4/2016 by marymae4u
by marymae4u

I've had this cleaner about two years.The tank leaking has only gotten worse. At first, I thought it was me not draining the water out of the tank after use but discovered even if the water was drained and I put more water in it , it still leaked. My bissle that I had for years gave me no problem and this almost 300 dollar machine is giving me a problem. I know Hoover has received many complaints about the same problem and should do something about like maybe replace the tank at no cost to the customer. VERY DISAPPOINTED

Comment from Kenya - 2/4/2016

Hi marymae4u! In no way do we want you to be disappointed in us. We do state not to leave solution in the tanks as it can cause leaking by the rubber valves. If the tank has already started to leak it will only get worse over time. At this time we’d recommend replacing the tank. Replacement tanks are available here: http://bit.ly/1IpwdKi or here: http://bit.ly/1QJ2dtm. To determine if your Max Extract takes a series A,B tank or a series C tank, take a look at the MFG code. Codes that end with an A or B (ex: B12A or C13B) will take the series A,B tanks. Codes that end with a C (ex: G14C) will require the series C tanks. We hope this is helpful!

marymae4u
Fort Leonard Wood, MO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best carpet shampooer EVER! But!!!
1/5/2016

Customer review by Cyndez

3.0 stars 1/5/2016 by Cyndez
by Cyndez

First time using this shampooer was perfect! Carpet came out beautiful! Second time I used it, it leaked from the clean water tank. The gasket in the bottom of the tank is faulty. I read all the other reviews on this product and it seems that 95% of the customers experienced the same problem. So I contacted Hoover and the only thing they would tell me, is that I had to purchase a new tank, cost plus S&H is $44.58. I'm not very happy about this, Hoover should recall and replace this part at no cost to the customers. This is just my opinion.

Comment from Kenya - 1/10/2016

Hi Cyndez! Under normal use the clean water tank shouldn't leak. For product longevity and to prevent leaking, we recommend using only the Hoover solution designed for your Max Extract 77. It's also recommended to empty the tank after each use. When solution is left in the tank it will eventually leak out. Hope this is helpful!

Cyndez
Reno, NV, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Leaky water tank
6/5/2015

Customer review by mommypink

1.0 stars 6/5/2015 by mommypink
by mommypink

We purchased this MaxExtract 77 (FH50230) when we moved into our house about a year ago. After using it 4 times it began leaking water constantly from the water tank, the water was dripping down the sides of the machine and water was leaked all over our carpet. We only used Hoover cleaning solutions in the machine. We are very disappointed in this machine because we expected it to last a long time. We now have an expensive machine that leaks all over the place and that cannot be used. We are very unhappy with this machine. We now have to rent a cleaner to clean our carpet.

mommypink
Georgia, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
6/6/2013

Customer review by loxie

1.0 stars 6/6/2013 by loxie
by loxie

I bought the MaxExtractor mfg. #A13C model # FH50230 after we had fire and lost everything. I always bought Hoover, it's the only one I would buy. I am very aggravated with this one. Had problem with leaking. Sometimes leaving a bigger mess than when I started. Finally figured out it's leaking from the rubber piece under the tank. You have to have the tank in there just right. Well, used it this morning left it sit to come back do more later. Well had big puddle the tank was almost empty because it just steadily leaked water out. Very unhappy. Would not recommend this model to anybody!!!!

Comment from Ian - 6/9/2013

Hi Loxie, we are so sorry to hear about your loss. We stand by our cleaners, and we’d like to make this right. After reading your review, we’ve looked at why a tank may begin leaking. Most commonly, using non-Hoover cleaning solutions, especially those that have bleach, or storing the tank with solution still inside are key causes for the leaks we’ve seen. Our engineers have made some changes to the tank, and all Max Extract 77s sold today include them. That should lessen the likelihood of any leaking even if some solution is left in the tank every once in a while. But never use bleach! That could damage not only the cleaner, but carpets as well. You should not have to worry about a leaky tank on your Max Extract 77. Under normal use, your tank should never fail. Please give us a call at 1-800-944-9200. We want you to love your Hoover cleaner.

loxie
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Worst Cleaner Ever
5/4/2013

Customer review by Bigmama

1.0 stars 5/4/2013 by Bigmama
by Bigmama

I purchased the steam cleaner for almost 300.00 along with the 2 year service warranty and I've had it repaired and/or replaced about 7 different times now. I hate this cleaner, it is more trouble than it's worth. The only place that services it is about 15 miles away, about a half hours drive so it makes it very inconvenient to have to keep having it serviced every other time I use the darn thing. I have had trouble with the water dispensing correctly to the extension wand not working correctly. You name it, it has gone wrong with the machine. I do not recommend this product to anyone!!

Bigmama
Morrison, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Horrible Cleaner
9/24/2011

Customer review by Mommy of 3 plus 2 dogs

1.0 stars 9/24/2011 by Mommy of 3 plus 2 dogs
by Mommy of 3 plus 2 dogs

I have used this Cleaner 3 times since i purchased it. However i had to go over each room at least twice. My 3rd attempt to use this the clean water wasn't dispensing, it wasn't sucking up the water out of the carpet. I have cleaned these after each use so i know nothing was clogged. I have only used the machined required cleaner solution. really upset i spent almost $300.00 dollars for this thing plus purchased a two year service plan . Here's the Catch there's only one service center in my area(about 10 miles from where i live) which is only open during the week during my work hours.

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 9/24/2011

Please contact our Customer Support Dept for addiotional help. 1-(800) 944-9200 Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. EST

Mommy of 3 plus 2 dogs
Gahanna,Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 219 total reviews
1-20 of 219 reviews