Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.3out of 5 stars
3.3 out of 5 | 223 reviews
5 stars
89
4 stars
40
3 stars
11
2 stars
26
1 stars
57
Sort by: 
1-20 of 218 reviews
1-20 of 218 reviews
Paid for itself after first use!
8/25/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I'm a Teacher and teach 1st grade. We have area rugs in our classrooms that had not been cleaned in 3 years. I decided I was going to bring mine home over the summer and get them cleaned because as you can imagine they were in "desperate" need of cleaning. Another teacher found out what I was doing and asked if I would do hers also. I figured we had several area rugs at home plus the 3 rugs from school so I would have the Carpet Cleaner we normally use clean them. I called the carpet cleaner out and they wanted $300 to clean everything I had plus extra to remove the spots. They estimated app. $50 to remove the spots. My husband and myself decided it was time to invest in a quality cleaning machine and see if they worked like they claimed. This would be the perfect test. We purchased this unit and brought it home. I went online and watched all of the videos at Hoover.com and also read the manual. I was a little leary because people had talked about the plastic parts, suction, etc. I could see where if the unit was "Man Handled" that one could break the unit. It is not a commercial unit but is very well built and easy to use and clean. Additionally, Hoover backs it out of the box with a Full 2 Year Parts and Labor Warranty. I found the unit very easy to assemble. It took app. 1 minute. I took some before and after pics of one of the rugs. I proceeded to clean all of my rugs one saturday and was pleasantly surprised when the carpets looked like brand new when I was finished. They only took less than 2 hours to dry. They were not wet underneath after cleaning like I thought they would be. The suction is excellent and gets the water out. The water was blacker than coffee that came out of these carpets. After 1st use, the unit has paid for itself and saved me a few extra dollars. Anything I do with it in the future will be money in my pocket. Now I can keep my rugs cleaned more frequently. Since doing so, my allergies have been much better. I feel better now having my students sitting and working on a clean rug vs. what they were before. The only regret that I have is not doing it sooner! I would highly recommend this unit to anyone with 100% confidence. The worse that happens is that it breaks and you take it to Hoover and get it fixed under their warranty. I don't see that happening as long as you take care of it and follow the recommendations.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (159)No (23)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I need to change my review!
8/23/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After writing my mixed review I went to finish wiping down my cleaner and making sure all the screws were tight... and I discovered what was actually wrong, the fitting at the end of the attachment hose had slipped apart, the detents that hold it together were worn. Needless to say, this caused a huge vacuum leak! I used epoxy to fix it in a way that will be something of a pain if it needs to come apart again but will still be doable without destroying it. And just like that, it's back to sucking some serious floor, like when it was new! Make no mistake, everything I said about poor parts support still goes, I need a couple of plastic parts, the handle won't stay locked up anymore, and that problem subjects it to more abuse than normal. So for now that's still going to cost you a star. But otherwise it's fully functional, after 2.2 years of moderate use! Awesome! I have revised my star ratings accordingly btw, to me positive reviews written a month or two after purchasing aren't worth a lot, it's the ones written after years of service and still going strong that make me want to buy. I like things that are in it for the long haul; I hate things that become junk because some critical plastic part isn't out there to be had.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Older model lasted longer
8/7/2012
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this cleaner to replace an older hoover I had for 9 years. I have had it a year now and use it to clean the carpet in my house once every three months. I went to use it today and the plunger that holds the cleaning fluid fell out! Also, the bottom of the hose has become detached and I haven't even used the hand attachments yet. I only use Hoover products with this machine. I spent a lot of money for this machine and now it is useless.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Continuous Issue
12/18/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Use it mostly on carpet mainly pet stains. Which it works very well. The only issue I seem to continually have is the pop valve on the bottom of the liquid container contantly stays in the popped out position and all the detergent runs out on the floor. Also witching from wash to rinse, I wish I would have spent the extra money to the automatic...the dial is very hard to turn back and forth.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Better off spending less
8/2/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this not even a year ago because my 6yr old basic Hoover steam vac died. I wanted the $150 silver model as it was the new model of my previous machine and I had no issues... None of my walmarts had it in stock, only this one. Worked great the first time, second time it didn't suck up and noticed all metal hinges in the dirty tank had rusted. Used the small attachment and on the first use it cracked apart... Same time that happened one of the spinbrushes fell apart. Hoover sent replacements. The last time I used it, noticed it left my carpet SOAKED but appeared to be sucking...well, the dirty tank was filling. Went to use it again and found out HOW the dirty tank was filling......... Clean tank was auctioning directly INTO the dirty tank. Hoover is sending me a NEW machine because there is no local service center to me, but I had to cut the cord and pull the stickers to send to them...... And now I wait. The more basic models are far better of an investment.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (22)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Poor Quality
7/21/2011
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
VERY CHEAP ASSEMBLY!!! Save your money!!!!!!! I have had a Floormate for over 4-years, so I thought this product would work well....boy was I wrong. Bought one and started cleaning the carpets. On the third water change the brush speed selector on the base of the unit broke. I called Hoover to see if they would send me a replacement part to avoid taking the unit back to the store. They said I would have to get a whole new base b/c they don't just sell the knob. So I took the unit back to Wal-Mart and swapped it out for another unit. I purchased the extended warranty b/c I’m skeptical of the durability of this unit over the next 2-year. I take it out of the box, assemble and start cleaning. Will not suck any water off the carpet. The base is broken in another location (it’s broken out of the box this time). SOOO I have a wet carpet, a second broken Hoover (NEW) in 24-hours and my third trip to Wal-Mart. They took no time in designing these units.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (30)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Despite the initial reviews I'll have to admit...
4/26/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is a very good cleaner and am pleasantly surprised at how well and how FAST (77 brushes help a lot!) I was able to clean the carpet in our entire house. Purchased online (4/13/14) at a much lower price than the in-store price and then picked it up in store the same day. For the past couple of months I've been renting a Rug Doctor from the local Dollar General and that was OK, but it took about 2x longer than with the Hoover MaxExtract77. The one problem out of the box however was a leaky clean water tank... it was a medium size leak that I could not pin point, but it did not affect the cleaners functionality or performance. Mostly annoying especially when I paused cleaning to move something or get the phone, etc. After I was through with cleaning the carpet I went online to Hoovers website and sent Hoover an e-mail through their system describing my problem. Exchanged a couple of e-mails with CS rep, and today (4/25/14) I had a brand new clean water tank at my door step (FedEx). I think with proper care and maintenance this cleaner will last awhile.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (26)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Quality of machine not what I expected
10/25/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I recently called Hoover to get stainless steel screws replaced on the top of my dirty water holding tank. Customer service informed me that I could not get screws to replace rusted ones on the top of the water tank that I would have to get a new top to my tank. My husband purchased 6 new screws for .12 cents and the top pf the tanks was 15.00 to purchase. Three of the screws in the top were stainless and did not rust..why were the other three of lesser quailty? Why did they not have replacement screws? I was only told to climb the ladder up to a more important person to okay the screws?? I was also told I was not allowded to take the rusted screws out in the first place..Silly... I own the machine and do not want to take the chance of possibly getting rust on my carpet. I believe Hoover needs to do a better job in the QA department. The machine cleans well but the cost does not match the construction. I will investigate the quality of my next machine a little closer. I will recommend to others maybe a different brand.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
useless after a few months
3/9/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I noticed the water leakage the first time I used it and called Hoover immediately who said to make sure the little stoppage thing was in correctly. Once I did that, it seemed to work great. But the stoppage thing was always an issue with the leaking....had to store the machine in the garage because of the leaking or completely empty out all the water (and detergent so waste of money). It's been 6 months since I've purchased this machine and now the stoppage thing is not working at all so any water you put in, pours right out. Terrible design flaw with that. The stoppage thing is so delicate and plastic, it obviously does not stand the test of time....the least Hoover should do is give you a few extra of those for the amount of money you spend on their machine. Also the whole cleaner is made out of plastic so light to carry up the stairs but where they put the handles makes you tilt the machine to go up stairs, hence causing the water leakage again. What a HUGE mistake buying this product. Had always used Bissell machines but decided to give Hoover a shot....never again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wife says:"Best thing we ever bought!"
8/7/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We have had this for about 3 months and have cleaned 5 full rooms of carpet and tile throughout the house numerous times due to a large breed 6 mo. puppy...This Hoover absoutely ROCKS!!! Light tan/off white color carpet with numerous puppy urine stains, throwup, doghair and all over Dirt, and grime. This hoover brought all the carpets back to better condition than when we first moved into the house. Be prepeared to spend some time at it though. If you want great results you need to move slow and really let the carpet get soaked and then spend 2xs the time letting it extract. I have been using the walmart generic pet solution at 1/2 the price of the hoover solution and it works fantastic. Only thing I would change...This same model has an upgrade with an additional trigger on the handle to release extra carpet cleaner solution....I wish I had gotten that one. I have not used the furiture/stair attachment yet. I did our tile 2 days ago...with the free tile floor solution it comes with in the box...I was shocked at how much dirt it pulled off the tile...I'll never mop again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (49)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
7/2/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart associate
I had used a family friends Hoover steam cleaner and was fairly happy with it, but wanted one of my own. We had had a rug scrubber (the kind with just whirling brushes) that we used for years. But it didn't extract the dirty water so I had to wait until the carpet was dry to vacuum what dirt was still close to the top and hope for the best. Not with this Hoover Multi surface cleaner/steamer/extracter. I have tried the Rug Dr. before, but it's so darn heavy and hard to manuever, I was amazed with now easy the Hoover was to use, and the best part was, I could rinse the carpet with fresh clean water after I had shampooed it, to make sure there was no sticky residue left on the carpet for fresh dirt to cling too. The only minor complaint that I have is that the directions left out a few minor details, that had I used common sense I would have seen, but I rinsed my floors first (not even noticing the switch that said "Rug Shampoo") but it made my carpets just that much cleaner, I am sure. Totally please with my new Hoover Extracter!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Put High-Dollar rental unit to shame!
4/16/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was Leary of this unit at first due to the hit and miss reviews but I took a chance anyways due to all of the included extras. First, it comes boxed with 2X concentrates for hard floor and carpet, the stair tool, power hand tool and about 12' of hose. It has a 3 year warranty and you can add 2 more at the register. Second, it does hard floors also. Just snap on the squeege and wash away, or even rinse. I was amazed at how clean it got my tile. If you are expecting it to do grout, sorry but there isn't a cleaner out there that will do a good job on grout. You have to do that the old fashioned way-elbow grease. Third, I was amazed at the job it did on my carpet. I rented the Rug Doctor Wide Track just 4 weeks earlier and went over my carpet about 8 times. I just went over the carpet again with this unit and I was disgusted at what the Rug Doctor left. All in all, the carpet looks and feels new. Fourth, I cleaned the stairs with the powered hand tool and was pleased at the job it did. The only complaint is that because it runs on vacuum you have to hold the tool just right to keep the brushes going. My guess is that if the hose connection gets in a bind the vacuum is lost temporarily. Finally, it operates more like a standard home vacuum cleaner so it moves easily, is comfortable and the tank system is easy to use. Will it last? Time will tell, but if I get another few uses, it will still have paid for itself compared to rental fees.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (258)No (19)
Report
Was this review helpful?
hoover max extract 77 :(
4/13/2011
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought the machine because I have 2 dogs and 2 kids and light colored carpet. I am constantly trying to find some way to keep my home fresh and clean under the circumstances. I bought this machine and immediately used it on my living room carpet and fell in love. I then used it in the upstairs hallway and half of my stair case. I woke on day 2 of ownership with the intention of finishing the stairs from the previous night only to find that the clean water is maniacally dumping into the dirty water tank as soon as it turns on. I called hoover and they said I should take it back to where I bought it from since I have had it less than 48 hours and they never heard of this problem. I ended up getting a refund. To be honest, i liked the ease of use of the machine and when it worked. it worked REALLY well....im sad that it didnt keep up the good work...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Poor Quality, Brushes wont spin
1/14/2011
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I will have to say that the quality control on this unit is very poor. I bought one brand new in the box from my local Wal-Mart, took it home and the brushes would not spin. I read the instruction manual over and over, checked the internet for people having this same problem and the brushes would not turn on. The suction and the spray part worked fine on the first unit. It made no difference if you were going forward or backward, handle up or handle down, still no brush spin.I adjusted the side lever back and forth that controls the brush speed and still no brush spin. I boxed this unit up and took back to the store and got a replacement exact same unit. Un-boxed it and same problem, brushes would not spin and the plastic housing where the vacuum motor mounted to the vacuum was warped and blowing out air, so there was a loss of suction power on the second unit. I took 2nd unit back to the store and gave up on trying another Hoover Maxextract 77 and purchased a Bissell ProHeat 2X Upright Deep Carpet Cleaner, 9200. Pulled it out of the box and immediately noticed how much better built the Bissell was versus the Hoover Maxextract 77. The Bissell worked like a charm. In short the Hoover Maxextract 77 sucks and that's all it would do. Save your money and buy a Bissell.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (52)No (16)
Report
Was this review helpful?
overpriced but cleans well
8/31/2011
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this Hoover to clean up water & musty smell after leaks from Hurricane Irene. I originally wanted a less expensive model, but my Walmart didn't carry it in store. I knew I didn't want a Bissell because on my 2 previous ones the motors burned out. I've only used this Hoover 1 time in 2 rooms and it did a good job cleaning. It pulled lots of dirt from the carpets. You do have to go over it in "dry" mode a few extra times, but it does work. The 2 things that I don't like about it are the: The wash/ rinse knob. It hurt my fingers switching it back & forth so much. I also think it's over priced. Like I said if I could, I would've went for the less expensive model. Sorry, I don't know about the upholstry tool or hard surface cleaning, I haven't used it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Waste of Time and Money!
7/10/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this through Walmart.com on 6/30 and was really excited to have purchased a carpet and hard floor cleaner in one. I had it shipped to my local store, picked it up on 7/8 and put it together, used if for 2 minutes on 7/9 on my tile floor and it quit working. The brushes stopped spinning and no suction is present. I checked all of the trouble shooting items, made sure the filter screens were clean and the only thing that would run is the pump for the detergent. I emailed Customer Service through Hoover's website and they responded to me asking me to call Customer Service directly today 7/10. I called Customer Service explained to the lady what happened and it was suggested that the best thing to do was to take it back to where I purchased it since i just got it or take it to a service center (which none are near me per Hoover's site). Needless to say, I will be returning this to Walmart tonight and getting my money back and finding another cleaner that will do both carpets and hard floors.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
High expectations
11/28/2010
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Very happy with the product, on the first use but when tried to use it again after the holiday weekend found the brushes would not work. Checked the book for troubleshooting and was directed to make sure the screen was clean, it was and the problem persisted. Turned the unit over to see if something was jammed in the brushes but found it had developed an air leak and that the brushes are powered by air pressure and will not work when a leak occurs. Returned it for a new one and going to give the product a second chance just in case this was a fluke.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (78)No (25)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great value
2/12/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I got this as an early Valentine gift and I've got to say, it may not last as long as a diamond but I was just as happy to get it. I've been shopping around for a cleaner but finally decided on this one because of how easy it was to clean after the job is done. All the pieces snap on and off just like it promises to and all you have to do is give it a squirt with your sink sprayer. If you've ever had to try to clean another carpet cleaner you'll understand why I was so psyched that the cleanup took about 2 minutes from unplugging it to putting it away. I did have the problem that a few other reviewers had about the brushes not spinning but my problem was easily resolved by turning the machine on and lowering the handle as if I were going to use the machine. Once that was resolved (with a little fiddling) it did a great job on my carpets, which are light beige and a nightmare to keep clean with a Welch Corgie, two cats, a seven year old and a mechanic for a husband. Not to mention our driveway is spotted with red clay. I did have to refill the tank a few times but overall it pulled up 99% of the spots on my carpet so I'm very pleased. No more elbow grease required. Oh! Another plus was that, inside the clean water tank is a seperate detergent canister so it keeps the two seperate. This was awesome for me since I tend to over estimate how much I'll need and end up throwing out half a tank of detergent and water with the other models I've used. This was quite a value for the money spent since we caught it on sale.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Did a lot of research
4/6/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was finally able to use this machine this week. It worked great. Got all of the stains out of the carpet. I only used it on a few places, but it left the carpet clean and soft. You have to make sure that you go over several times "dry" in order for it to dry faster. I'm on a learning curve.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wonderful Product!
4/11/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I LOVE this machine! i have shampooed my carpets AND all my furniture! it works GREAT! I almost put this product back after reading the reviews however i have not had ANY problems with it. it removed alot of stains from my furniture and made the carpet thats at least 6 years old look brand new!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642861, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-