Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 29 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

29 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

29 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
16
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-20 of 28 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews
6/27/2011

Customer review by veguitaflem

4.0 stars 6/27/2011 by veguitaflem
by veguitaflem

Light weight and easy to handle generator. Ergonomically simple too, with exception of pull start. The chrome piece around the pull port has already frayed the rope. I recently used for several hours to carge small RV and run lights, TV and microwave. It will not run the AC (overload control shuts unit down). Units is also hard to start sometimes. It requires a lot pf pumping of the promer bubble and full choke (especially when cold). I am hoping this gets better as the unit breaks in. If unit gets better with operation I would possible buy another to link with so that I might run my camper AC. I'm not sure if this is possible though.

Was this review helpful? (59) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
veguitaflem
Veguita, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Outstanding Generator
10/2/2013

Customer review by Sleepy2

5.0 stars 10/2/2013 by Sleepy2
by Sleepy2

I bought this generator to replace my RVs defective Onan Microlite generator. The Cummins dealer declared the parts required were no longer available and they recommended that I replace it with a new Microlite (same wattage) for almost $4000. I saw a youtube video showing the Hyundia HY200si supplying a RV with an Air conditioner. Thus I bought the unit and it works great (A/C, Microwave, etc.). The secret is after the Gen is running, turn OFF the Econ switch! The generator is well built and starts every time. I saved $3500 and I love it!

Was this review helpful? (38) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sleepy2
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/23/2012

Customer review by scooot

5.0 stars 10/23/2012 by scooot
by scooot

great product! started on fourth pull. well made and super quiet!

Was this review helpful? (24) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
scooot
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Very quite generator
10/9/2014

Customer review by Rider7767

5.0 stars 10/9/2014 by Rider7767
by Rider7767

I supervise a shop which repairs large generators up to 200 KW. My team and I have a very good understanding of electricity and electronics. We have very good test equipment and a calibrated load bank. After receiving the generator I ran it at half load for about an hour and then the testing began. It did not come with oil in it, but it was supplied. Its overall build quality looks good with good fit and finish. At first we primed it and it started right away. I was amazed at how quite it was. Very quite. I hooked a load bank and took it up to its max of 2000 watts (16.67 amps). It held 2000 watts well. I then dialed up the load, and at about 2075 watts (17.29 Amps), the overload light flickered on. We then ran it up to 2200 watts (18.33 Amps) and the generators held for about 30 seconds and kicked off. We turned it off and let it cool down for a few minutes and restarted. Everything was back to normal. We then hooked up an oscilloscope at a 1500 watts load and the sine wave was very nice. Just about perfect. The generator operated at a perfect 60 Hz with only minor stumbling under fast load changes. The generator weighs in around 75 lbs. with fuel and oil. At first look this generator will be great for camping and back up power. Sound: we do not have a sound meter. I used an app load on my phone, but cannot be 100% sure of its accuracy. On low (eco mode) it was around 57 decibels. Under 2000 watts it came in at 64 decibels. Almost everyone here has some sort of generator, and we tested them all the same way. Not to mention the large ones we work on. This generator out of the box has hit the mark very close. If it holds up, and it looks like it will, this generator line will give the big name brands a run for their money.

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rider7767
La follette, tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Good price for features
8/21/2013

Customer review by MGBIL

5.0 stars 8/21/2013 by MGBIL
by MGBIL

This is heavy and it is large (compared w/Honda 2000.) It also gives you 400 more running watts if you need them. At a little over half as much as the Honda, price is its best feature. It is a little more difficult to start (3 to 9 pulls/1 for the Honda) and it seems a bit louder. Durability and portability are the issues with this gen. A handcart solves one problem and time will resolve the other. I LIKE this machine and have faith in it - we'll see what happens.

Was this review helpful? (27) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MGBIL
S. L. Ut.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
One word WOW
6/9/2014

Customer review by TunaBreath

5.0 stars 6/9/2014 by TunaBreath
by TunaBreath

I had purchased a competitors Inverter for charging trolling motor batteries and found the unit to be very noisy and it leaked gasoline. I returned the unit and purchased the Hyundai unit. I have found that the unit is quiet, capable of handling heavy electrical loads and it starts. The gas consumption with a light electrical load has exceeded my expectations. I am glad I went blue!

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TunaBreath
Minneapolis MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
works great.
6/20/2014

Customer review by Johnnymon

5.0 stars 6/20/2014 by Johnnymon
by Johnnymon

we got this because we needed power at a nascar race for our camper. it was easy to setup and started right away. ran nice and was not loud at all. we used it all weekend and it powered out 36' camper, microwave and all. It handled everything we tossed at it. The only thing I would have liked to work would have been the AC unit but for that we would need something much bigger and we wanted a small unit. I brought 10 gals of gas for the weekend and only used 5, it does use up more with a bigger load on it but once in save mode it lasted almost 4 hours on the 1.8 gal tank. For the price its a great bang for the buck, I would love to have one of the honda 3000's but we dont came without power much to justify the 2 to 3K you pay for one of the honda's If this last a few years I feel I got my money out og it.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Johnnymon
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for everything but the A/C
7/26/2014

Customer review by Fillie

4.0 stars 7/26/2014 by Fillie
by Fillie

Before I ordered this unit, I watched a, what I thought, was a very good video of a guy running his 13,500 BTU roof A/C unit on his 26' travel trailer. We have a 2014 22' trailer with a 13,500 BTU A/C, so after watching his video over and over, I went ahead and ordered one. It will run the fan even on high with no problem, but as soon as I kick in the compressor, it overloads and shuts down. It will run microwave and refrig. and all other accessories, so I will keep it. Fortunately we don't have very long stretches of hot weather, so running the fan will suffice. It is pretty darn quite but alittle heavy (70#), and you seem to have to chock it even when it's been running for awhile. All and all, seems to be a pretty good unit for the price ($568) including tax. My buddies $1000 Honda wont run it either.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fillie
Yakima Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
EZ TO START- WELL DESIGNED-SL LOUDER THAN EXPECTED
12/23/2013

Customer review by TAKAT

4.0 stars 12/23/2013 by TAKAT
by TAKAT

FAST SHIPPING- REC'D IN GOOD CONDITION. EZ START. LITTLE HEAVY-- LITTLE LOUDER THAN EXPECTED.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TAKAT
hawaii
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Generator
8/4/2014

Customer review by Curbies

5.0 stars 8/4/2014 by Curbies
by Curbies

I operate a food truck and needed a generator that would be quiet and reliable. This Generator has met my needs. I have been using it 5 days a week for about six months and it starts on the second pull every time. I run it about 5 hours at a time (1/2 load) on 1 gallon of gas. Some reviewers say its louder than a Honda, it is very close. I have set up next to other trucks running a Honda EU2000 and was able to compare them. You really have to pay attention to hear a difference. With that said, why pay twice as much for Honda. After about 2 months of use I did notice that my generator was getting louder. I removed the blue covering and the black cover over the muffler and noticed that the bolts that hold the muffler to the engine were loose. I tightened them and it ran quieter than when I first got it. The fix was simple and didn't take very long to do. CHECK THE OIL! This generator will use oil. I change the oil often (remember I use it almost daily) and I noticed that it does get low. Checking your oil and changing it regularly is a good practice to get into anyway. Friction causes heat and heat causes damage, so regular oil changes will keep your generator running fine for a long time. It only takes about 10 minutes. You cannot connect two these together (which would be a nice feature) but running another cord is less expensive than a parallel kit anyway. So, not a deal breaker. This generator has proven itself to me, so not only do I recommend this generator, but I will be purchasing another Hyundai HY2000si generator in the near future to accommodate changes in my power requirements.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Curbies
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
11/17/2012

Customer review by T2IV

4.0 stars 11/17/2012 by T2IV
by T2IV

Worked as advertised out of the box. Oil filler could be a little longer to avoid spills when filling/topping off. The unit is a little heavier than I'd anticipated -- about 25 lbs (50%) heavier than than the 1600/2000 Watt competitors (which average about 50 lbs). But you get an additional 400 watts running/200 watts peak for the additional weight. Seems to be surging a little with no load (although that could just be that I don't have enough fuel in it during the test runs). Can't find a tri-fuel conversion kit available in the U.S. (doesn't appear to be enough clearance between the air filter and fuel tank) but should be a good backup in the event of a power failure/earthquake.

Was this review helpful? (15) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
T2IV
Orange, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worth it for the money
10/7/2013

Customer review by Loustoy

4.0 stars 10/7/2013 by Loustoy
by Loustoy

I got it today for a great deal $482 plus tax it was worth it. Its lounder then the Honda & bigger but for the price it is worth it. I only tested with saw but I will test with a 13,500 Marine AC next weekend. About 30 feet away it sounds like a weed wacker motor.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Loustoy
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Work's exactly as described on site and forum..
6/12/2014

Customer review by Bugieman

5.0 stars 6/12/2014 by Bugieman
by Bugieman

Will run your big a/c, thought it wouldnt until i shut down power inverter on fuse panel in 28ft toy hauler. You guy's that said it worked had me wondering, until I shut everything else down. Work's perfect, run's them big a/c units other 2000 watt unit's won't. Thank's everyone, Great deal Walmart, fast delivery also, oh ya and very quite

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bugieman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Unit
7/15/2014

Customer review by JimRH

5.0 stars 7/15/2014 by JimRH
by JimRH

Setup was quick and easy. I added the oil that was shipped with the unit and gas and it fired on 2nd pull. The Manual did not have a detailed break in discussion so I ran it unloaded for about an hour in both econ and regular mode. I then loaded it with my RV air conditioner, small refrigerator and a few lights and it did great although it was a bit too much load for the econ mode.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JimRH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Quiet
7/19/2014

Customer review by Marcus79

5.0 stars 7/19/2014 by Marcus79
by Marcus79

I was very glad that this generator performed as advertised. I started up right away and was quite. It's very stylish and powerful. Very happy with my purchase. The price very good compared to similar brands. We took it camping the same week we received it. I bought it for my 18 foot travel trailer when there is no hooks. It ran everything just fine.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Marcus79
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice and quiet!
7/8/2014

Customer review by Hunterextreme

4.0 stars 7/8/2014 by Hunterextreme
by Hunterextreme

I haven't had an opportunity to really put it to a load test for any lenght of time, but the initial start up was encouraging. Quite running, just a little larger than it's counterpart that Honda makes, but at a third the cost I don't think you can go wrong with it. The only complaint so far is I'm not impressed with the location of the fuel fill, its very hard to prevent any overflow or spillage from going straight down on the controls/switches, so use caution when filling and don't overfill.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hunterextreme
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great generator for the price.
11/10/2014

Customer review by TheNorthernCanadianGuy

4.0 stars 11/10/2014 by TheNorthernCanadianGuy
by TheNorthernCanadianGuy

The generator is very quiet not as quiet as the Honda but close. You can have a conversation right beside it. Its a true 2000 watt with a 2200 surge. Most generators are not. I had it running for 8 hours a day for the weekend in -10 'C weather. Some people that have purchased this product from other sites said they got a used product. They are tested at the factory. You will see a bit of oil on the dip stick and some gas in the lines. But no gas smell from the gas tank, a clean air filter and exhaust. This is because they bypass the gas tank and put the muffler on after. Overall I'm happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheNorthernCanadianGuy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just what I wanted. Half the price of a Honda.
10/7/2014

Customer review by Stads2

4.0 stars 10/7/2014 by Stads2
by Stads2

The generator was exactly as expected. I did a thorough preflight to make sure spark plug was tight and oiled the dry air filter. It is heavy and maybe not as quiet as the Honda but I think it might be more powerful than the Honda. I have only used it for two days running a chainsaw on a 50 foot cord. It performed perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stads2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
BE PREPARED
9/5/2013

Customer review by GRANDPA0913

5.0 stars 9/5/2013 by GRANDPA0913
by GRANDPA0913

GETTING READY FOR THE NEXT SUPERSTORM MY FAMILY WILL NOT BE WITHOUT POWER FOR 2 WEEKS NEXT TIME!

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GRANDPA0913
BAYONNE, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
NICE FOR THE PRICE
11/4/2014

Customer review by RAMBLINMAN2014

5.0 stars 11/4/2014 by RAMBLINMAN2014
by RAMBLINMAN2014

IT TOOK 15 DAYS TO RECEIVE IT BUT OTHER THAN THAT I'M VERY PLEASED WITH THIS GENERATOR. AFTER PUTTING OIL AND GAS IN IT STARTED ON THE VERY FIRST PULL, AMAZING! AND ITS VERY QUIET AND IN ECO MODE YOU CAN WHISPER TO EACH OTHER STANDING RIGHT OVER IT. HOW LONG WILL IT LAST WELL TIME WILL TELL BUT BEING A FULL-TIME RV'ER AND BOONDOCK 80 PERCENT OF THE TIME IT WILL GET A WORKOUT AND I WILL KEEP UPDATING IT'S DURABILITY.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RAMBLINMAN2014
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews