Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.1out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 | 1627 reviews
5 stars
805
4 stars
453
3 stars
152
2 stars
102
1 stars
115
Sort by: 
1-20 of 1559 reviews
1-20 of 1559 reviews
Missing lot of hair.
9/17/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Isn't first time i use electric shaver. But even with my expectations on tech advances, this shaving compare to a electric shaver i had 10 years ago, was so poor. When i finished i have so many missing hairs, that i try to get rid of them in few more passes. At the end still many missing hairs and my face was so irritated. Bottom line, maybe a top expensive shaver could do the job.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not Really Impressed
12/11/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I change to a new razor every couple of years instead of buying replacement heads. I always buy Norelco 70$-100$ model. Usually when i start i new razor i immediately notice how much better the new one is compare to the old dull one. This razor did NOT cut any better than my older model. In fact i found myself going over areas several times to try to get a clean shave. The idea of making the mustache trimmer a second removable head is a complete failure. Now every time i need to use the trimmer i have to remove the regular head and put it on. I'm no expert on this but I'm guessing that it will lead to wear after several hundred changes in a year, not to mention the amount of wasted time it takes to do. Had i seen this before i ordered i would not have gotten this model. The bragging items on this model are touch sensitive on/off button and water proofing that would let you shave in the shower. Neither of these are important to me since i shave in front of mirror at sink. This product wasn't for me. Hope my observations help.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (113)No (15)
Report
Was this review helpful?
TOO MANY PARTS!
1/6/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I've had two (2) Norelo Electric razors in the past. They were neither one the "most" expensive models. In fact they were the mid-range razors. I liked both of my previous razors very much and used them for ~ 3 -5 years until one of the "On-Off" switch boards totally wore out on the inside and the other outer screen wore out. I couldn't buy replacement parts for either for much less than a new razor so I “retired” them both. This Norelco 1150x is a great feeling and shaving razor! It seems to do a fantastic shaving job! I do have one (1) problem with this 1150X razor. I can't see taking the "Shaving" head off and putting on the "Trimming" head every time I want to trim my fu-man-chu. I cut & trim it about 2 times per week & don't like having to pull off & pop on the different heads. I use my old razor w/ the flip trimmer to cut & trim my fu-man-chu. With my old razor all I have to do is grab it and flip the trimmer out to get to work . . . no hunting parts & "pulling" & "popping" before getting started.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (42)No (13)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It's OK
9/21/2015
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have had several Norelco shavers, and have been happy with them all. I bought this one because they no longer make heads for my old one. So the first question is how long will they make heads for this one? The older Norelco shavers had essentially nothing around the heads. This one has a lot of plastic around the heads, thus making it hard to get to some tight spots and getting next to sideburns without trimming them. The "grill" across the cutters has three types of openings as opposed to one on the older one. It might give a somewhat closer shave than my old shaver, but it pulls if you move it over your face very fast. Slowing down eliminates the pulling. It seems to charge fast compared to my old shaver, so that can be a plus. I have not tried shaving dry, so my comments are with wet shaving. It is physically bigger than my old shaver, as is the charger, both negatives when traveling. The trimmer does a good job. With the pluses and minuses I would say this shaver is OK, but not as good as my old one.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Sorry, not recommended
9/26/2014
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I'm older and so have a good deal of shaving experience. I've always wanted to try a Philips rotary shaver, so got this one. However, I am disappointed and will return it. Comparing it to a usual straight-foil shaver the rotary has a larger metal and plastic area touching the skin and so it adheres and pulls the skin, not good. The shape of the cutting area is obviously odd, so you must keep turning the shaver this way and that to get everything. The rotary motor (the RPM) sounds rather slow. I don't think it shaves as closely as my old Panasonic straight-foil shaver. The shaver hurts: it seemed to shave some skin as well as bristles around the lips, leaving the area sore for a couple days. Simple cleaning is easy: just hold it under the tap. Deeper cleaning is ridiculously tedious: Remove just the heads (not the whole unit), then remove a retaining band before you can even get a brush in. If it shaved very well then much could be forgiven... but I'm returning the thing and will get another Panasonic straight-foil.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
More than satisfied!
9/1/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been using electric razors for over 40 years. I was due for a replacement and chose the Norelco 1150X because it seemed to meet all of the requirements I was looking at a price within my range, $105 dollars. My wife found it on sale for $50. Of course I placed my order and waited. I have been using my razor for about two weeks now and the 1150X has given me the closest, smoothest, lightest touch shave I have ever had with an electric razor. The design does make a difference. 2D performance lives up to the statement of flexibility, close and smooth shaving. I found that using a pre electric shave lubricant enhances the shaving experience and relieves any burning sensation you may encounter with a new razor and one that delivers a close shave as the 1150X does. I am more that satisfied with my 1150X and would recommend to anyone who is looking for a close and comfortable shave "right out of the box".
Was this review helpful?
Yes (125)No (64)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I like it - second one
10/12/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I like the razor. It's my second one. The last one still would be working if I didn't accidentally drop it....still works just makes a noise that wasn't there. So I threw the noisy one in my gym bag and put the brand new one on the shelf. Thanks for the quick shipping.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
very nice
5/16/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I'm 44 and have used electric razors since I could shave. Tried all makes and models over the years and this is by far the best. I know there are the next generation 3-D models out there, but they are over my price range. This model is so nice it seems to just float on your face. I always have trouble around my neck and curves but this hugs your face and gives a quicker and cleaner and softer shave. trimmer is a separate head but I find it to be a superior trimmer than others that flip out of the base. It is wider and seems more powerful than others I've had. charging cord plugs into base unit, not shaver. not a big deal but you need to take the base if you travel. also, no travel case included. Overall, great deal and a great shaver.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (160)No (28)
Report
Was this review helpful?
8/24/2011
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Norelco 1150x Electric Razor I've been a Norelco user for over 50 years and during this time have enjoyed the comfort, convenience and economy of rotary electric shaving. When I compare the comfort and quality of shave of this razor and the economy model triple headers I've been using, I don't feel like the price differentials that Norelco charges are justified. Unless I were into shaving in the shower (I'm not) or while scuba diving (I'm not) I'd go for the lesser priced models. Not having a travel case, having to carry the stand to charge when traveling and having a separate detachable trimmer are all inconvenience items that are avoided with some of the lesser priced models.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (54)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent electric shaver - cost is too high
1/2/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
When my son was first beginning to shave he had very sensitive skin. Ordinary electric shavers raised red bumps on his skin that were painful and looked like a bad acne break out. I bought him this shaver and it did not do that to him. My husband borrowed it one day and he really liked it, said it didn't pull at all and did a better job than his. So I bought another one for him. Eventually, one was misplaced and hasn't been found for awhile, so I bought a 3rd one for them. My only complaint is that these shavers never seem to go on sale with a decent mark-down. Luckily I found an "instant off" off coupon that was online only to make the cost reasonable for it. I'd been watching the store and online prices for awhile and the coupon made it the best deal
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great razor
11/6/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
My 4th Norelco razor. Used all the others till the re-chargable batteries died. Love the floating head on the model I purchased and its waterproof so you can use it with shaving cream or in the shower. The best Norelco I have owned so far.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (58)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Shaver
12/21/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My last Norelco shaver died about a month ago. I pulled out my prior Norelco (which I used as a backup just in case) and started using it. Boy what a difference. Started getting razor burn. So I sped up my research on the various new models to choose from and decided to spend a bit more than I usually do and buy a more expensive shaver this time. Most of the shavers I've purchased over the years were on the lower end of the product line. Of course in the past there weren't reviews on the internet from customers about various shavers. Still I read good reviews from happy customers even for the less expensive models. Now, the shaver that died lasted quite a number of years and provided me with a decent shave with very little razor burn. I wasn't sure if I really would get a noticeable improvement with this new more expensive unit so I was happy to find out that I did. The unit was very quiet. My previous one was OK in terms of noise (the backup was really noisy... I had forgotten the difference over the years). This new one is so quiet one may wonder if its working. But more importantly was the nice shave I got with almost absolutely no burn at all. After the first few days, my skin was use to the shave and no burn at all. With my previous unit (the one that died) I only would get razor burn if I tried to get a really really close shave under my neck by shaving over and over again and again.... but with this new one I could get as close as the other shaver and not feel any burn at all. Now I haven't yet tried a wet shave with the unit yet (which wasn't possible with my previous unit). When I was looking at various models I saw the "3D" units which are even more expensive than this one. In fact since I got this one on sale at Walmart the 3D ran more than double this one. (I got this one for $75 at Walmart which was a great price.) My older shavers were more like $40-50. Not sure how much better the 3D versions work but I'm quite happy with the SensoTouch 2D model 1150X. this one was more expensive than what I'm used to spending on a shaver but in my mind from the results it was worth the extra $$.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (330)No (45)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Had preferred a blade
11/11/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I had preferred a blade, but with the ability to wet shave with shave cream, I get a better shave. In the past the one thing that held me back from a Norelco was the fact I had a beard that needed precise trimming on the sides. They solved thatelima with the snap-on trimmer. Meanwhile, the charging stand is so compact that you can easily take it with you for extended-stay trips. I highly recommend this product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (37)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good value, works well, seems to be good quality
9/29/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been using Norelco electric razors for more than 40 years and have been pleased with their performance and durability. I used my last rechargeable for almost 20 years, but finally got fed-up with the hassles of replacing the NiCad cells every few years and decided to buy new. I bought this model as it came with the charging stand and has Li-ion batteries which may hold up better than the NiCads. It charges very quickly, shaves well (but so did the old one) and seems to hold charge for a long time. Only real negative about this model is that the trimmer is not a pop-out like the older models, instead you need to pull the whole head off and replace it with the trimmer. Also I am not so enamored with the funky blue styling and the fiddly charging stand, I actually preferred to old model in many ways. Summarizing, yes it is a good electric razor; but it is a little bit like the new version of MS Office, they just changed stuff to make it different, not better.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Looks Nice, Be Careful...
6/16/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this as a surplice gift for my husband due to its nice look, very high review and sale price on Walmart.com. He loved it when he received this. However, I am sorry, that product is bad gift:1). shaver head keeps fall off as he shaves (bad design). 2). This shaver does not cut well for his thick hair. I always see he has red cut marks on his face after shaving. Right now, he is using shaver cream to put on before shaving, seem to be a little better.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Sorry I bought this model
6/14/2012
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
As a long time Norelco user, I am disappointed with this razor. It just feels flimsy, and lacks the heft of my old one. There is no carrying case, and if you plan to take the charger, you must take the awkward charger/stand. There is no way to look and determine the charge level, until it is ready for a recharge; also, no indication when it is fully charged unless you happen to walk by within a 30 minute time frame.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
high quality and easy to use
8/29/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This was the Christmas gift I bought for my husband, he was used to manual razor so this is new experience for him cos I like him to have a little bit beard then we use beard stylist a lot, and it was broken by accident and I called Philips and they just sent me new replacement without saying anything. and the person who took my phone was so nice, professional. I like Philips products a lot, and they do offer one of the best service in the world. super !
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Only one minor inconvenience
4/28/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The trimmer is a separate part, requiring the user to change heads. It was much more convenient when the trimmer was a part of the shaver.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
9/6/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Unreal how lightweight it is. Can't even believe that it is working but amazing results. Haven't charged it yet in over two weeks. Great.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Converted from blade to electric razor
1/4/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been shaving more than 20 years, almost on daily basis. I have been a blade user since beginning. I wanted to move from blade to electric razor some years ago and I tried with Barun 360 series. It was a disaster, I felt shaving was incomplete with hairs half cut and left over on face. I was sceptical when I started Norelco 1150X sensotouch, but all my sceptism vanished. It is a great shaver, very gentle on skin (mine is a sensitive skin), very close shave similar to wet shaving. This product was sold in Walmart stores for $75/- about 2 months ago. Now price has gone upto $90/-. Missing is carry pouch for travel/ storage. The battery power can be increased to accomodate upto 3 weeks shave, instead of 2 weeks shave.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641747, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-