Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1629 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

1629 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

1629 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
801
4 stars
453
3 stars
151
2 stars
105
1 stars
119
1-20 of 1561 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1561 total reviews
1-20 of 1561 reviews
Great but 2D isn't a good choice for me.
1/31/2017

Customer review by bag2retire

4.0 stars 1/31/2017 by bag2retire
by bag2retire

Moving up from a 7345XL that served me well. The DualPrecision heads GyroFlex 2D contouring system sounded great, but doesn't give me the close shaves that the 7345XL gave me. Wet shaving is comfortable but not as close as my old shaver (even when used dry). Maybe the 3D models would be a better choice for me. The beard trimmer is awesome and I love it! The 2D heads are probably the problem and rethinking that my choice should have been the higher priced 8100 series. Still it's a solid shaver, just not what I expected.

bag2retire
Round Rock, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
very nice shaver
2/1/2017

Customer review by bman44

5.0 stars 2/1/2017 by bman44
by bman44

This is my 4th Norelco shaver. Three of them are still working. Never have any problems. Have never had to have any repaired. I use lectric shave to prepare my beard. The shaver does the rest. Very nice close shave. Easy to clean. Charges fast. I have used shaving cream with it but prefer to use the lectric shave. I use one of my other shavers to trim my sideburns. Never have to deal with cutting myself.

bman44
Nashville, TN, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
The Norelco Shaver is a good, long-lasting product.
1/17/2017

Customer review by RLHill

4.0 stars 1/17/2017 by RLHill
by RLHill

I've owned a bunch of Norelcos over the years. They are remarkable in that they maintain a good charge for quite long. The shaver does a good job of what it's designed to do. Shave. The heads do wear out, in time, but that's expected. I use the trimmer attachment occasionally but preferred the former model that had the trimmer built in...not a separate plug-in. All in all, I am quite satisfied with the Norelco product.

RLHill
Charlotte
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Nice shaver
1/17/2017

Customer review by Blitzemon

4.0 stars 1/17/2017 by Blitzemon
by Blitzemon

I've been using Norelco shavers for a long time. I always get a great shave. This new shaver has a nice look. I do say, that it is a little noisier than I thought it would be, but respectable shave none the less.

Blitzemon
New Jersey, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
great shaver
1/17/2017

Customer review by Rockmover

4.0 stars 1/17/2017 by Rockmover
by Rockmover

This shaver is great but a bit noiser than my older one witch is also a Philips

Rockmover
Asheville, NC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
This product has NO features!
10/4/2012

Customer review by Stevareno

1.0 stars 10/4/2012 by Stevareno
by Stevareno

Very poor design on the Senso touch. There's no internal storage for stubble, so the razor has to be cleaned & washed after every use. Not only inconvenient & time consuming, but razor has no time to dry out from being rinsed every day. Water runs into the palm of your hand from the razor while shaving! No battery meter on this one. You have no idea where the battery charge is at, until the 5 min. left light comes on. At that point, too late to recharge for that shave! No pop up trimmer here either. The head has to be removed & replaced with the trimmer head. Guess I won't be doing much trimming! How long will this razor last, snapping & popping the trimmer on & off all the time. I had to keep my old razor just so I could have a trimmer. All in all, not happy with this one. Very poor design, & inconvenient. The old XL design was much better thought-out, where it only had to be cleaned once a week, had a pop-up trimmer, & a battery guage. What a novel idea!

Stevareno
Portland, OR, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Older models gave a closer shave!
6/17/2012

Customer review by Mark9999

3.0 stars 6/17/2012 by Mark9999
by Mark9999

I have used Norelco Electric Shavers for many of my 62 years, and am frankly disappointed with this newer addition. Older models had more "float" in the heads, allowing for a closer shave. However, what bothers me most is the difficulty in separating the head from the blades for cleaning. There is no indent for thumbnail to be used in the separation of the two halves of the shaving heads, usually causing the compacted shaved whisker hairs to fly everywhere when you finally pry the two sections apart. Worse yet, the "shaver base" used for storage and charging is a lightweight flimsy joke, and the little suction cups attached to the base are recessed so high up the base, they DO NOT REACH THE COUNTERTOP, making them USELESS ( Very poor design ) ; and causing the base and Shaver to have to be lifted off the counter simultaneously, and separated manually prior to each use. I NEVER HAD A PROBLEM WITH THE CHARGER BASE LIFTING, WITH THE UNIT, ON ANY PREVIOUS DESIGN. This unit is my 6th Norelco Shaver, and most likely my LAST!

Mark9999
Venus, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Poor quality
12/28/2016

Customer review by bigdog2

1.0 stars 12/28/2016 by bigdog2
by bigdog2

We have had Philips before, but this one is not a good choice. The head does not give a close shave. The battery does not stay charged!!!

bigdog2
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Long life batteries and a smooth shave
6/17/2012

Customer review by oldwrench

4.0 stars 6/17/2012 by oldwrench
by oldwrench

Norelco has impressed me with the batteries in this shaver. This is my fourth cordless razor and by far the longest lasting on a charge. I can easily get a month on a charge and the best any of the others could manage was a bit over two weeks. Shaving is fast and the heads glide smoothly. It works better on sweaty skin than my previous razors did. The cut is good, but I don't think as good as my older Norelco. I think the fact that the heads are in a larger mount, and there is a wider margin around the outside of the heads causes this. It also makes it hard to get close enough under your nose. That said, it probably is why the heads seem to glide easier across your skin. The touch switch is nice, the charging stand is nice too for using at home. I would like to have a plug in socket for the cord on the razor, for use on extended travels. Having to take the stand along is a bit awkward. Overall it's a very good razor and a good value.

oldwrench
Minnesota, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
If it ain't broke don't fix it!
6/18/2012

Customer review by Jerry40

2.0 stars 6/18/2012 by Jerry40
by Jerry40

I received my first Norelco shaver as a gift in 1993. Within two weeks I preferred it to shaving with a blade. Although the Norelco did not shave as close as a blade, it was easier to use, never drew blood, and could be used more than once a day. That last feature made it possible to be close shaven for business in the morning and close shaven for social life in the evening. My first Norelco had a separate stand for recharging and a switch to select American or European current. I don't recall whether it had a sideburn trimmer. Later models eliminated the separate recharging stand (one less item to squeeze into one's travel kit), had automatic current selection (no danger of melting one's shaver by failing to select the appropriate current) and a sideburn trimmer opened by the flick of a finger. This latest model reintroduces the separate charging stand and requires a change of heads to use the trimmer. Two steps backwards, and the shave isn't any better, if it is as good. Oh, and the price has increased. So, that is why I would not recommend this model.

Jerry40
Easton, Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Not bad, but try other models to find YOUR best fit!
1/29/2016

Customer review by jdelmonaco16

3.0 stars 1/29/2016 by jdelmonaco16
by jdelmonaco16

Okay, I don't do reviews that often. However, it seemed important to do this one because I missed something prior to making my purchase of Philips Norelco 6100 Electric Shaver. I'm not unhappy with the Philips Norelco line of electric shavers. Their reputation and reliability deserves mentioning. Also, I received many positive recommendations by friends. When making my final decision/purchase though, I overlooked the importance of floating heads! Having sensitive skin, it would have been better to choose floating shaver heads over the flexible neck and plastic triangular base of the 6100. The 6100 doesn't cut as close because there's more plastic in contact with your skin than razors! Other than that the 6100 does do what it's supposed to do. It charges quickly and the battery last even longer than listed. With that being said, I should have chose another model for a closer and more comfortable shave!

jdelmonaco16
Dedham, MA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Shaves well, watch out for detachable head!
6/17/2012

Customer review by BillV

4.0 stars 6/17/2012 by BillV
by BillV

The razor works well as a shaver after using it for 3 weeks to get used to it. No problems shaving quickly, cleanly, closely unless my skin is a bit damp. That is where the problem comes in! I have literally had the shaving head come off the razor several times when my skin has been a bit sticky. Once the shaving head came off, landed in the sink and exploded into its many sub-components. Clean up and re-assembly was neither fun, nor straight forward. The sideburn trimmer is a joke! The trimmer head is nearly as wide as the shaving head, the trimmer blades are for a coarse, rather than fine cut. Did I mention I am bald and don't have sideburns, but could use a decent trimmer for ear and nose hair? I bought this razor as a replacement for an older Norelco rechargeable that had seen its better day. I want to say the rechargeable battery on this model is truly a good one. Lasts ten to fourteen days depending on use.

BillV
Oklahoma City, OK, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Nothing like a blade...
12/22/2015

Customer review by caesardru

2.0 stars 12/22/2015 by caesardru
by caesardru

Had another brand of shaver yrs ago, which was pretty good. Thought I'd give Norelco a try these many yrs later. Fund that it didn't compare AT ALL w/ the one I had back then. Takes too long to shave my face. Doesn't begin to shave me close enough for A DAY. Have to keep going over and over the same area, just to catch and cut the hairs. Tried all the movements one can do to get the job done (up and down, back and forth, circle motions). Nothing really helped, just had to spend the time working my face over and over. Took over 7 min. avg., each time/day. Could have shaved w/ blade and lather in half the time and gotten a smoother cleaner shave w/ NO stubble at all. Once over two directions and I’d be done for the day. Sorry…., I just don’t care for ‘this type’ of shaver. Plan to send it back, now that I’ve tried it for 4 weeks. And ask for my money back, like the warranty states.

caesardru
Indianapolis, IN, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
This product was a dissappointment compared to past Norelco products I have purchased.
6/18/2012

Customer review by cheddarhead07

3.0 stars 6/18/2012 by cheddarhead07
by cheddarhead07

I was dissappointed with this product because it has not performed to the level that I thought that it would. My old shaver has a retractable trimmer that is easy to use by simply pushing a button to use it. With this shaver you need to physically change the attachment that is on the unit. I think that the contured shaving feature is nice, but it is not that important to me in lieu of the other features that I have had to sacrifice with my old shaver (also a Norelco). I also expected the shaving heads to be far superior to my former shaver--they are not. I have not really noticed a difference in the quality of the cut itself. If I had to do it all over again, I would have purchased another shaver similar to the one that I had prior to purchasing this one. The fact that I still use my old shaver rather than using this new one, speaks volumes in regard to how I feel about the product.

cheddarhead07
La Crosse, WI, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Mediocre Norelco Product
8/14/2013

Customer review by weirdbeard

2.0 stars 8/14/2013 by weirdbeard
by weirdbeard

I had two Norelco razors from the 70s and 80s that shaved great and still work well today. Very easy to clean. I got the Senso Touch 2D a couple of years ago and was very impressed at first. I love the cordless feature and the batteries last a long, long time. Also, I was impressed with how quiet it is compared to my old Norelcos. Sure, it doesn't shave as close as a blade, but it gets the job done in a tight. This razor seemed easy to clean in the beginning--just open the top and hit the blades with some canned air. Then one day I opened the top and all three blades, foils and everything fell out on the bathroom counter. It was/is a hassle to get everything put back together. I guess something broke inside, because it was very hassle free in the beginning. Now, I put cleaning my Senso Touch on my "weekend project" list, because it takes so much time. That's just not right...

weirdbeard
Texas, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
the best electric razor I have used.
10/9/2011

Customer review by David70

4.0 stars 10/9/2011 by David70
by David70

I love the ease and efficiency of using an electric razor, but.... I have a pretty course and fast growing beard, I guess. I really should shave twice a day with the electric razor to keep my face looking 'properly groomed". I insist on having a 'slick' face upon retiring for the night. My wife does not like to feel my sandpaper face against her cheek, especially in bed. I can accomplish that with the last shave, just before going to bed. In contrast, I can shave before bed, using a safety razor, and my face will be be presentable, groomwise, for the entire next day. One shave a day with a safety razor equals two shaves a day with the electric razor. I guess even the inconvenience of wetting my face, lathering up, shaving is worth the difference in getting a closer shave. The electric razor wins hands down on convenience, but the less close shave is not worth the convenience.

David70
bedford, in
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Wonderful on sensitive skin
6/17/2012

Customer review by Garret

5.0 stars 6/17/2012 by Garret
by Garret

I've always had trouble with traditional razors. The skin on my face is so sensitive, I'd always get razor burn, ingrown hairs, etc. With this electric razor, I'm able to shave everyday, I don't need aftershave lotions, disinfectants, etc. Best of all: NO RAZOR BURN. Ever. My only problem with this product, is that there is a minor bit of stinging if I go too far down my throat while shaving under my chin, but that's below the hairline, so it's not a huge issue. This is great to use in the shower. I get a smooth close shave every time with no facial irritation. The battery life is great, I use it for 3-4 days between charges, and have yet to see the low battery light turn on I do keep a traditional razor around for trimming my sideburns and the area just under my nose, as the edging razor attachment doesn't shave very close and I've not found a good use for it yet.

Garret
Charlotte, NC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Norelco 1150x
6/17/2012

Customer review by JoGr

5.0 stars 6/17/2012 by JoGr
by JoGr

For over 30 years, I have only used Norelco shavers and the 1150x is the best one yet. The shave is comfortable and yet so close that I can often skip a day. It is very quiet, and I only have to recharge the batteries about every two weeks. I definitely preferred the pop up trimmer that was on my old shaver, but I understand that with the new head design, having a trimer included in the head was not possible. My old shaver had a much larger capacity to collect shaving clippings and I only had to clean it about once a week. The new head design is much thinner and very easy to remove... so I usually clean it after every shave. Rinsing the head with water only creates an additional mess, so I find it much easier to remove the head and use the included brush to clean the shaver and empty the clippings. I only shave dry, so I have never used the wet shave feature.

JoGr
Chicago, ILL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Razor ok- Charging base is flimsy, and won't stay upright
10/9/2011

Customer review by elgordo7

2.0 stars 10/9/2011 by elgordo7
by elgordo7

I received this as a gift replace my Norelco 7735X. It feels more cheaply made than the older 7735X, as does the charging base. As far as actual shaving, I would say it does not do quite as well as my old one. Unfortunately, the batteries have given out on the 7735X, or I would still probably be using it. For as much at we paid for the 1150X, I was expecting more. The charging base is not weighted, and relies on suction cups to stay upright. This works fine for the first 24hrs or so, until the cups lose vacuum, come free, and dust starts to collect under them. I'm sure it is cheaper to ship a non-weighted base, but this is not somewhere Phillips Norelco should have tried to save money. I could overlook the charging issues, as it does hold a charge for a decent amount of time, but it just doesn't shave that well. I would not recommend.

elgordo7
Minnesota, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Great Razor
11/9/2012

Customer review by Jimmie5654

5.0 stars 11/9/2012 by Jimmie5654
by Jimmie5654

This is only the second electric razor I have owned and I have to say “WOW!!” It gets an extremely close shave without the hassles of a disposable straight razor. The razor was also very easy to clean. The directions had included two methods for cleaning. The simple method, of cleaning, was to just run warm to hot water over the head. The more complex, of cleaning, thorough method actually involved taking the head off and cleaning it with a little brush. Naturally I did the simple method after every 2 to 3 uses, after a month of use I had decided the razor probably could use the more thorough approach. After I had popped the head off of the razor I was surprised to find that the simple method of cleaning did a fine job at keeping the head clean and clear. The only issue I had with the razor, and it was largely MY OWN FAULT, was seating the power cord properly into the base. I found that if it isn't seated correctly it will pop out of the base after it is set down on the counter, subsequently not charging your razor. Over I am very happy with the purchase of my Norelco SensoTouch 2D and I definitely recommend it to any and everyone!

Jimmie5654
Nashville, TN, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 1561 total reviews
1-20 of 1561 reviews