Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1196 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

1196 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

1196 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
768
4 stars
260
3 stars
68
2 stars
47
1 stars
53
1-20 of 1175 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1175 total reviews
1-20 of 1175 reviews
Very nice!
2/1/2017

Customer review by pickypat

5.0 stars 2/1/2017 by pickypat
by pickypat

My 82 year old hubby has been using Norelco for years, he is very happy with the new one and the additional features from 10 years ago.

pickypat
Canton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Used it several years... good shaver
1/22/2017

Customer review by Jdiddings

4.0 stars 1/22/2017 by Jdiddings
by Jdiddings

I have used Phillips Norelco shavers since I started shaving 50+ years ago. I very much enjoyed this shaver.

Jdiddings
Olean, NY 14760, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great shave
1/17/2017

Customer review by lunker4

5.0 stars 1/17/2017 by lunker4
by lunker4

A joy to use. clean close shave. Customer service is great if there is an issue.

lunker4
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Very reliable and saves a lot of time.
6/17/2012

Customer review by mikeed8986

5.0 stars 6/17/2012 by mikeed8986
by mikeed8986

I have been using this electric razor now for at least 4 months now and couldn't be happier. I received a different electric with a self-cleaning base for Christmas and was unhappy with it's daily performance. Since I had to shave every morning for work, this became a problem since it couldn't get the stubble closer to my skin. I was able to return it but I loved the self-cleaning feature which saves a lot of time of having to clean the razor for optimal performance. Then I found this Philips Norelco that self-cleans, shaves as close as a wet-razor every morning, and can still mow through a week-old beard when you need it to. The battery lasts me all week before I have to leave the charger on which only takes an hour for a full recharge! My only gripe about this razor is the trimmer which doesn't cut very well at all and is quite on the noisy side. With all the noise it makes when you put it to your side burns, you would think it would be cutting a lot more. All-in-all, I couldn't be happier with this razor.

mikeed8986
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
The last of the good Norelco razors
1/8/2016

Customer review by OnyxZ

4.0 stars 1/8/2016 by OnyxZ
by OnyxZ

I've been using Norelco rotary razors for over 30 years. I'm probably on my 5th one or so. I've watched Norelco come up with new features and new styles as the years have gone by, This razor, the 1250x looks to be the last of the good ones, unless Norelco smartens up and fixes the newest ones. First, the 3D shave is wonderful, flexing every way possible works, close shave, very comfortable. And on THIS razor, the pop up trimmer is just OK, a few models ago, with the large swing up trimmer was the BEST, this smaller pop up trimmer is OK. BUT MUCH better than the NEWEST razors that don't have a built in trimmer, you have to pop off the whole shave head and pop on a separate trimmer, NO NO! I refuse to keep track of separate parts that will get lost, especially when I travel. Love the shape, easy to hold, battery lasts at least a week between charges. I'd buy THIS razor again (although you can't find them any more), but I will NOT buy any of the newest ones with the separate trimmer. PLEASE Philips/Norelco, FIX THAT in future models!

OnyxZ
Northern VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
After 43 years of using blades, this one has converted me
12/28/2012

Customer review by Anthony1953

5.0 stars 12/28/2012 by Anthony1953
by Anthony1953

Having gone through various blade razors over the years, occasionally I would get tired of razor cuts and try an electric, which always ended up making my skin feel like it had been through a belt-sander. I had given up on electrics, but before this Christmas, on a whim when I saw it in the store, I bought myself a Norelco 1250XCC with the Jet Clean system because I noted that you could use this razor wet, with foam. I will NEVER go back to a blade again as long as this razor performs the way it does. My skin is smoother than it ever was with a blade, there is no irritation, it's fast, and I find myself wishing I could shave more than once a day with this product. Up to now shaving was a necessary and somewhat annoying (and occasionally hazardous) chore. Philips can use my name, my recommendation, whatever they like to sell this product. I will never use another razor, unless they update it to make it better, although I have no idea how they COULD make it better. At whatever price, the 1250XCC Senso-Touch 3D razor is a winner.

Anthony1953
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great electric shaver but not a razor.
10/12/2011

Customer review by Eli95

5.0 stars 10/12/2011 by Eli95
by Eli95

I did not go into this purchase thinking that this could produce a shave as close as a razor when going against the growth of the hair. That said, I truly love this product. When I use the razor consistently (everyday) with shaving cream I get a truly close shave with no cuts. In fact if I do use a razor and try to get a close shave, against the growth of the hair, I inevitably receive a cut or two. I have had this product and have tried it under different scenarios and have found a routine that works great for me especially since I am one that has to shave everyday. One note, the dry shave is tough on the skin especially if you are trying to get a close shave and it is never truly as close as with the shaving cream or as comfortable either. I would not recommend a dry shave with sensitive skin. I would recommend this product to anyone if they can overcome the price. This is truly a luxury not a necessity especially at this price.

Eli95
Ozaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Excellent shaver
10/30/2014

Customer review by RegNil

5.0 stars 10/30/2014 by RegNil
by RegNil

I bought this shaver about 9 months ago. It took me a long time to decide on a shaver because I get ingrown hairs. My last shaver had a height adjustment for the blades so I could cut my hair above my skin. Other shavers would pull my hair before cutting them, causing them to spring back below the level of the skin and then grow under the skin. It took me a long time to let go of my shaver, but all things come to an end. This shaver has done a great job for me, even without the blade height adjustment. I especially love how easy it is to clean it. It was a big deal to clean my last shaver; cleaning this one is as easy as 1, 2, 3. The only thing I would want to be different is to be able to plug it in and use it with a cord when it has run out of power. Occassionally, I forget to charge it, and have to wait till it's charged up to use it. With a cord, instead of a charging stand, this shaver would be perfect.

RegNil
Pleasanton, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Useful!
7/13/2014

Customer review by LongUser

5.0 stars 7/13/2014 by LongUser
by LongUser

I use this Razor almost daily in the shower for my face and head and occasionally some regrowing body hair. Works fine with a nice liquid shower gel or shampoo or liquid shaving gel. The shave is not quite as smooth as a top quality multi blade razor but close and definitely faster and also without a mirror, safer. The only place I have had any problem with nicks or scratches is on the very loose scrotal skin, do not go there ever! The battery indicator is great, I know my average face and scalp use is about 3-4 minutes. If I use a regular razor part of the time I can travel 3+ weeks without a charger. I sometimes use it for a dry shave if I need a quick touch up, works fine that way or one can put on a dab of liquid shaving gel, I have never tried it with the lathering gels and creams. It does not slide well just damp with water, needs to be dry or lubed. I had a similar Model before this one that worked just a well but failed a few days out of Warranty. Phillips quickly replaced it anyway with my currant slightly upgraded Model, has the convenient Battery Indicator.

LongUser
Salem, OR, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Philip Norelco Shaver
6/17/2012

Customer review by bigpapaiam

5.0 stars 6/17/2012 by bigpapaiam
by bigpapaiam

I love this shaver I had to take a step or two back when I seen on how awesome this shave was. I have th XL shaver by the same company that I have been using for some time now and it wasn't doing a good job so I was having to go back over my beard over and over again just to get a clean shave. I told my wife that I needed another shaver so my search begin with which one will give me a close shave. I search on consumers reports first just to give me an ideal on where to start searching. I came across this one alone with others. I'm a black man and have had problem with engrown hairs so I had that to deal with every since I join the military back in the early 70's so that play a big role into looking for a good shaver. So I brought it not knowing what to expect and low and behold this shaver was awesome. It got all of my engrown hairs and I was able to get a close shave. I don't have to keep going back over it again and again. If you trying to find a good shaver and if you are a black man that have to deal with engrown hair this shaver is off the chart, you want regret it.

bigpapaiam
Lakewood, WA
Gender:Male
Great while it worked
8/28/2016

Customer review by Yahir

1.0 stars 8/28/2016 by Yahir
by Yahir

I received this as a Christmas gift in 2014 and have loved using this throughout the week so supplement actual razors and to try to save my face a little since I have to shave daily due to being in the military. This product worked great on my face and gave me an incredibly close shave that would rival the best wet shave razors out there. A few days ago I went to go use it and to my runs-rise the razor was dead so I checked to make sure it was plugged in correctly and tried to charge it again and nothing the razor is now a a paperweight or a bathroom decoration either way make sure you hold on to your receipts I never received one since the razor was a gift but apparently nothing can be done to fix it with out a receipt

Yahir
fairbanks, Alaska
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Yet another good shaver
11/7/2012

Customer review by Backpaqer

4.0 stars 11/7/2012 by Backpaqer
by Backpaqer

This is my 3rd philips shaver, the first got stolen, the second got old and it seemed like a good time to upgrade to the latest as a new set of batteries and blades were likely to cost the same as a new unit. First impressions on the upgrade are that the blades seem larger than my previous unit - not bad but not better I think. The pop-out trimmer doesn't pop out as far as on the previous model so it isn't as easy to do the fiddly things - still getting use to it, but what I can do, it does a good job. Love the display on it, looks great. Easy to wash too, much easier than the old one. I like how the power plug for the old one works perfectly with this one as I bought this one in the US and the old one in Australia - and I live in Australia - means I don't need to use an adaptor and the Australian plug has a curly-cord which keeps things from getting tangled up easily unlike the plain-straight cord that came with this unit. The dock provided is cute, but given how long this unit holds charge, it's not something that gets a lot of use (I've used it only once in about a month!).

Backpaqer
Melbourne VIC, Australia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Charging System Engineering is terrible
11/12/2013

Customer review by Gene44

5.0 stars 11/12/2013 by Gene44
by Gene44

I am extremely satisified with shaver... I could not ask for better results; it shaves almost as good as my 5 bladed razor... very close! HOWEVER, I have constant problems with the Jet Ceaning System. (EXTREMELY FRUSTRATED!!) I cannot explain how frustrated I am in words... well, not with respect! When I first experienced problems, I contacted someone who could not speak English well. He insulted me many times and finally hung up on me... I was so frustrated, I had to ask God to forgive me for the words I said! Sorry, the rules state I cannot include personally identifiable information, such as full names. Is God a "full name?" ;) Oh well. Norelco did replace the Jet Cleaning System, but I have problems with it, also. Sometimes it works great, sometimes not; today, the shaver would not lower all the way into the cleaning solution! First time for this! I called my wife to help me (drastic measure, so you know how frustrated I must have been!) Oh well. I tried changing the system, (arrows on front) from "Auto" to "Intensive" ... "NO JOY!" (Suibmariner Term)! ... oh well. now what?

Gene44
Broken Arrow, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
The Shaver itself works great.
2/2/2015

Customer review by ChrisMN

2.0 stars 2/2/2015 by ChrisMN
by ChrisMN

I bought this one with the Jet Clean system because it had great reviews and the shelves were filled with them at the time and replacement parts seemed to be readily available. The manual states that it recommends replacing the Jet Clean liquid every two weeks, so after using it I went back to buy some. The liquid is nowhere in stores and it's hard to find online anymore either. I've looked in dozens of stores and I haven't been able to find any replacement heads for it either. The shave works alright. My neck still is irritated and gets a heat rash but it works better than any other electric shaver I have tried. I just wish the products for it were available because now I have this expensive shaver and I can't use it because the head needs replaced and I don't have liquid. The manual also states that you shouldn't use any other comparable liquid or products with it because it would void the warranty. Make sure that you can find these products in a store near you before buying. I also recommend you don't waste your money to buy the cleaning system. I'm not so sure it does any good.

ChrisMN
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
cuts long whiskers much better than my old arcitec
6/26/2012

Customer review by Michael8u

5.0 stars 6/26/2012 by Michael8u
by Michael8u

I shave both my head and face almost every day. I used the Phillips arcitec for about 3 years until the motor got too noisy and loose. I stayed with a Philips product because I was always pleased with the performance of my arcitec. The arcitec always struggled with 2 or 3 days growth and unless the blades were brand new, I needed to supplement the shave with a bladed razor. The Senso touch 3d mows right through any length of whiskers as if it were a lawnmower cutting grass, even with blades that are 3 months old. It was always a chore getting the arcitec head clean unless I used compressed air. The Senso touch head disassembles for much easier cleaning. The only thing I really miss about my arcitec is the compact design of the shaver head. The Senso touch head is a little bulky, probably to accomodate the disassembly feature. I would still recommend the Senso touch over the arcitec.

Michael8u
Appleton, WI, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
cuts close and quickly
4/16/2013

Customer review by Grayhair

4.0 stars 4/16/2013 by Grayhair
by Grayhair

My previous razor was a Phillips Arcitec, and it worked equally well. On the bad side, it didn't have the storage for more than a days worth of trimmings, and needed constant cleaning. Clean up wasn't easy with that razor, because the cutter heads could not be removed. When I could no longer clean out the hair that I could see, and not getting a close shave, I went out to get a replacement head, but no one had them. I did purchase one at your web site, and have a back up razor now. I like the cleaning of this razor much better, even though the retaining plates for the cutters, are difficult to open, to the point of broken finger nails. The thing that I don't like is the cleaning reminder. It is the same color as other information displayed , then only displayed for about a second, and if not being watched for, will be missed. If you fix these two things, I would give it 5 stars.

Grayhair
Griffith, Indianna
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
A nice shaver with minor drawbacks.
6/18/2012

Customer review by Sky421

4.0 stars 6/18/2012 by Sky421
by Sky421

I've used Norelco shavers for 30 years. The head design of this model is superior to previous models because of ease of cleaning and it seems to have a bigger coverage area. It is fast, quiet and lends itself to quick and easy cleaning. I used to worry about older shavers getting the body wet but not this one. I don't like the light show associated with remaining battery life because there is no gauge to tell when its about to run out of juice other than a red light that illuminates when you are getting low. You can still get a shave or two out of it even when the light turns red. The biggest negative is the fact that when the battery goes you can't continue to shave with the cord because the cord plugs into the stand. Five minutes of charging will allow you to finish your shave but this feature is a real inconvenience. I find the shaver works better and seems to run faster if using an electric pre-shave on my face before I shave. Otherwise, it fits into my hand well and gives me a close comfortable shave daily. Previous models that could run on a cord as well as battery were more versatile.

Sky421
Denver, CO, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Best electric razor I have ever used.
8/4/2012

Customer review by HISRAG

5.0 stars 8/4/2012 by HISRAG
by HISRAG

I am 92 and have been using electric shavers for about 60 years. I switch to Norelco about 50 years ago. I have had several shavers and used a Norelco Reflex plus for about 10 years and thought it was OK. Then in 2008 I purchased a Philips-Norelco 8020 flexing heads and it is the best shaver I have ever used. It is waterproof. It has a reuseable container for Nevia shaving cream with a pump that squrts out the Nevia to the shaving head and it give the smoothies shave you can possible get. You do not need pre or after shave lotion. I just let water run thru the shaving heads to clean them. I have found no reason to take the heads apart for cleaning as the water does a great job. I replace all the heads which are in one unit every 1 to 2 years. Excellent. I would recommend this type of shavers to anyone. Thanks Philip-Norelco.

HISRAG
Dallas, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Don't waste your money.
7/11/2014

Customer review by Nope

1.0 stars 7/11/2014 by Nope
by Nope

Had to return original product within 60 days of purchase due to cleaning station malfunction. Second one worked about the same length of time. Store would not exchange again. Too much of a hassle to box back up and pay for the cost of shipping and then have to buy a new one anyway while this one is gone as couldn't just get cleaning station replaced, had to send the whole razor. Battery holds a charge for about 2 days so I can't take it on business trips without the cord. Doesn't shave as close as my old product from a different maker. Poor product overall, it's now my backup. Had to go buy a new one, different model and manufacturer after only 5 months because it was such a bad shave and wouldn't clean. I have lost partial use of two of my fingers on my right hand so it was very difficult to open and clean manually due to the small access and parts. I believe it was a tremendous waste of money. It wouldn't cut all my whiskers, always left some uncut even after 5 minutes of shaving. Hope others had better luck. Lesson learned, stick with what works and don't believe all the advertising. Seriously doubt this review will ever be published due to my poor rating.

Nope
Portland, OR, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Best electric razor I have ever owned.
11/3/2011

Customer review by TucsonDon

5.0 stars 11/3/2011 by TucsonDon
by TucsonDon

I previouly owned a old electric razor and I went to buy new a set of new blades. While I was looking I glanced at the Phillips Norleco SensoTouch 3D Electric razor 1250X 3 and started reading the contents on the box. A sample of the razor was shown as a display model. Phillips Norleco offered a 30 day guarantee just to try the razor. I decided immedialtey to buy the SensoTouch 3D Electric razor 1250X 3. It is a exlasty as advertised. It takes a third to the time to chanrge, a single change can last from a week to to days. This model is so light it is a pleasure to use. Best of all it gave Me the best shave I have had in years. With the new design it shaved all the hard spots on my face with ease. I love this razor and if you give it a try I am sure you feel the same.

TucsonDon
Tucson, AZ, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 1175 total reviews
1-20 of 1175 reviews