Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.4out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 | 1188 reviews
5 stars
764
4 stars
259
3 stars
65
2 stars
48
1 stars
52
Sort by: 
1-20 of 1167 reviews
1-20 of 1167 reviews
EXCELLENT!!
9/3/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Shaver is not available in N. Dallas Walmarts at time of writing this review so I got one at Target. I hated Norelco shavers for years 'caus they would yank the long hairs, not cut them. After reading mostly great reviews from all retailers, I decided to give it a try. AM I HAPPY I DID! Charged from dead in less than 45 min.; ready to shave in about 4 min. SUPER quiet! Triple heads glide over my face, cutting off a 4 day beard in about 3 min. Yes, that's what I said. (An average medium beard.) I couldn't believe it! SMOOTH, ALL hair is gone; long, short and in between. Side-burn trimmer works great... shaver heads not in the way. Trimmer does make a little more noise and cutting is noisy. (It lets you know you're cutting something.) Clean up was a snap! Norelco got it together this time with the 3D heads. As far as longevity, that remains to be seen. I'll tell ya about that in about 6 mo. Something is really wrong if you don't find this product as described by myself and other satisfied guys. Get over the price and try it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (89)No (15)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Only used for a month but love this shaver so far.
11/24/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have always thought the Philips Norelco shavers were super cool looking - very futuristic. I had never tried a rotary shaver before and was hesitant to move away from the foil type shavers that I have used for years. I decided to give it a try. The first thing I noticed when I turned it on was how quiet it is. MUCH quieter than my Panasonic which my wife has always complained about. The first shave wasnt great but I know you are supposed to give your beard a chance to get used to a new type of shaver. Been using for about a month now and the shave is pretty close and very comfortable. After the first charge, I let the battery drain almost all the way. This took nearly a month! Time will tell if this shaver continues to perform well but so far I am very happy with it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best Razor I've ever had in my life
1/3/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I've only had this razor just over a week. So far it is the best razor I've ever had in my entire life and I am 52 yrs old. I've always used electric and mostly always Norelco but I have tried other brands. This is the closest shave I've ever had. I just hope it continues as the razor is used more and more. This shave is way better than any new razor I've ever tried. I dry shave. Other razors would never give me the perfect shave this razor does. Other razors have been rough on my face causing iritations while still leaving stubble. This razor gives me a nice clean shave and it just glides over my skin and I can barely feel it where other ones you can feel it. I figured because I couldn't feel it it wasn't giving me a good shave but it is just incredible the shave I get. My only complaint is the cost but I hope this razor will last longer than the other razors that I've discarded after a year or so always trying to find something better. If it lasts longer the cost will justify itself. I'm hoping it lasts forever but even if it doesn't so long as it lasts longs enough I will purchase an identical one!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Shaver
5/21/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This shaver does a great job for a electric razor. It provides a close shave. Much quieter than my old razor. The charging stand is the down side to this shaver, you must plug the shaver into the stand so when traveling you have to take the stand with you to recharge if traveling for a week or more. It would have been a better design if you could have plugged the electric cord directly into the shaver. The shaver head also gets in the way sometimes when you using the trimmer but not a hugh issue for me. I have had the shaver for a few weeks now and hope it lasts for years like the old one.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (37)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Pretty good but not worth the money
12/3/2011
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have just completed 22 days of shaving with this model and found it overall to be a decent shaver. It is quiet and it glides well accross your skin when your face and the shaver is dry. Wet shaving is really bad without shaving cream. It sticks to your face, resulting in a lot of missed areas. The 3 D motion doesn't seem to perform any better than my 5 year old model that I only paid $30 for. In fact, I think the 5 yr old version actually shaved closer than this one. I am planning on returning it for the 2D model to see if that is any better or at least better for the value. At $160+ this product does not give you the closeness it should.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
it works good
8/8/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
MY shaver is jammed up with hair right now. I'll have to take the heads apart and see if I can fix the heads. Thanks
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very reliable and saves a lot of time.
6/17/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been using this electric razor now for at least 4 months now and couldn't be happier. I received a different electric with a self-cleaning base for Christmas and was unhappy with it's daily performance. Since I had to shave every morning for work, this became a problem since it couldn't get the stubble closer to my skin. I was able to return it but I loved the self-cleaning feature which saves a lot of time of having to clean the razor for optimal performance. Then I found this Philips Norelco that self-cleans, shaves as close as a wet-razor every morning, and can still mow through a week-old beard when you need it to. The battery lasts me all week before I have to leave the charger on which only takes an hour for a full recharge! My only gripe about this razor is the trimmer which doesn't cut very well at all and is quite on the noisy side. With all the noise it makes when you put it to your side burns, you would think it would be cutting a lot more. All-in-all, I couldn't be happier with this razor.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent Upgrade
2/11/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have used Norelco rotary razors for years. Twice in that time, I tried foil razors just to be sure I was not missing out on a better shave. Most recent, I tried the Panasonic Arc4 which was a decent shave, but loud, and had numerous places on my face that it just didn't want to shave well without going over, and over, and over it. Went back to my old Norelco for a month or two, and finally decided to bite the bullet and upgrade to the SensoTouch 3D. Just a week in, and it already shave better than anything I have had previously. My beard is course and lays very flat against my face. For me, you just cannot beat a rotary Norelco.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Worth every penny
6/30/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My last Norelco razor was over 4 years old and showing signs of wear and tear, so when I read about the Philips Norelco SensoTouch 3D Electric Razor in a recent issue of Consumer Reports and saw that it was highly rated, I decided to shell out the money for a new electric razor. I've been using Norelco electric razors for almost the last 10 years and this model is by far the best I've owned during that timeframe. They've spaced the razor heads at wider angles allowing for a quicker, smoother and more effective shave than previous Norelco shavers. This model is also quieter than the other Norelcos I've owned and it's just an all around good looking electric shaver. Not to mention, you can't beat the price that walmart.com is selling it for.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
After 43 years of using blades, this one has converted me
12/28/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Having gone through various blade razors over the years, occasionally I would get tired of razor cuts and try an electric, which always ended up making my skin feel like it had been through a belt-sander. I had given up on electrics, but before this Christmas, on a whim when I saw it in the store, I bought myself a Norelco 1250XCC with the Jet Clean system because I noted that you could use this razor wet, with foam. I will NEVER go back to a blade again as long as this razor performs the way it does. My skin is smoother than it ever was with a blade, there is no irritation, it's fast, and I find myself wishing I could shave more than once a day with this product. Up to now shaving was a necessary and somewhat annoying (and occasionally hazardous) chore. Philips can use my name, my recommendation, whatever they like to sell this product. I will never use another razor, unless they update it to make it better, although I have no idea how they COULD make it better. At whatever price, the 1250XCC Senso-Touch 3D razor is a winner.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The last of the good Norelco razors
1/8/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I've been using Norelco rotary razors for over 30 years. I'm probably on my 5th one or so. I've watched Norelco come up with new features and new styles as the years have gone by, This razor, the 1250x looks to be the last of the good ones, unless Norelco smartens up and fixes the newest ones. First, the 3D shave is wonderful, flexing every way possible works, close shave, very comfortable. And on THIS razor, the pop up trimmer is just OK, a few models ago, with the large swing up trimmer was the BEST, this smaller pop up trimmer is OK. BUT MUCH better than the NEWEST razors that don't have a built in trimmer, you have to pop off the whole shave head and pop on a separate trimmer, NO NO! I refuse to keep track of separate parts that will get lost, especially when I travel. Love the shape, easy to hold, battery lasts at least a week between charges. I'd buy THIS razor again (although you can't find them any more), but I will NOT buy any of the newest ones with the separate trimmer. PLEASE Philips/Norelco, FIX THAT in future models!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Complete Piece of Trash
4/10/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This razor may look all fancy to you and may entice you by all its nice features, but when it actually comes to using it you're better off using an old fashioned razor. It caused a lot of irritation and I actually bled in some areas. It missed a lot of hairs and left a high stuble. It did a better job cutting off my skin than the hair. Before this one I had the 2D sensotouch, and surprisingly it was a lot better. With the 2D you would never bleed and if any, only a small amount of irritation. If your thinking I'm saying this because I'm some bozo that doesn't know how to shave(as I did of some other reviews), well I think my 10 years of shaving without any such problems justify my point. Good luck to you maybe I just got a faulty device or something, but personally I'm going back to the 2D.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great shaver
3/7/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have used many shavers over the years, and this is the best and closest shave ever. no stray hairs and smooth.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Cockeyed Design
9/16/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This shaver shaves fairly well. However, the blades are expensive to replace, $55.00 retail. The blades are tricky to open up for cleaning. The blade assembly is delicate and could easily be damaged or broken. You must take a power cord and adapter as well as a charging stand to charge it when on a trip. Also, you cannot shave with it using the cord only. You can only shave if the battery is charged. Then, there is the trimmer. The trimmer is very ineffective. It is too narrow and doesn't trim well at all. All in all, this shaver is cockeyed... Previous Norelco model shavers have a much better form factor and simply are more convenient to travel with, and clean. The design of this model and it's family of shavers are a mistake.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Stopped working after about 30 shaves
6/27/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This was an adequate shaver for the first six months of using it (for a total of about 50 times), as long as I went over and over the areas under my ears and jawbone, but then it just stopped working. It turns on, but it doesn't shave. I maintained it and cleaned it religiously, so I don't know what to say, except this was a ridiculously expensive shaver to rent for a few months' barely satisfactory use. I would not recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great electric shaver but not a razor.
10/12/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I did not go into this purchase thinking that this could produce a shave as close as a razor when going against the growth of the hair. That said, I truly love this product. When I use the razor consistently (everyday) with shaving cream I get a truly close shave with no cuts. In fact if I do use a razor and try to get a close shave, against the growth of the hair, I inevitably receive a cut or two. I have had this product and have tried it under different scenarios and have found a routine that works great for me especially since I am one that has to shave everyday. One note, the dry shave is tough on the skin especially if you are trying to get a close shave and it is never truly as close as with the shaving cream or as comfortable either. I would not recommend a dry shave with sensitive skin. I would recommend this product to anyone if they can overcome the price. This is truly a luxury not a necessity especially at this price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
LOVE the SensoTouch
11/23/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I absolute disagree with the poor review! We must have used this about the same amount of time and mine is working just fine. In fact, it's my favorite razor! I do think it's pricy but it's well worth NEVER buying any disposible razors ever again. I really have enjoyed shaving with this product. Would recommend to any and everyone!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (49)No (33)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent shaver
10/30/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this shaver about 9 months ago. It took me a long time to decide on a shaver because I get ingrown hairs. My last shaver had a height adjustment for the blades so I could cut my hair above my skin. Other shavers would pull my hair before cutting them, causing them to spring back below the level of the skin and then grow under the skin. It took me a long time to let go of my shaver, but all things come to an end. This shaver has done a great job for me, even without the blade height adjustment. I especially love how easy it is to clean it. It was a big deal to clean my last shaver; cleaning this one is as easy as 1, 2, 3. The only thing I would want to be different is to be able to plug it in and use it with a cord when it has run out of power. Occassionally, I forget to charge it, and have to wait till it's charged up to use it. With a cord, instead of a charging stand, this shaver would be perfect.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Does not live up to all the hype that's advertised
3/3/2012
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Does not give the close shave that I expected - it is quiet easy to use and clean, but disappointed in the result.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Useful!
7/13/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I use this Razor almost daily in the shower for my face and head and occasionally some regrowing body hair. Works fine with a nice liquid shower gel or shampoo or liquid shaving gel. The shave is not quite as smooth as a top quality multi blade razor but close and definitely faster and also without a mirror, safer. The only place I have had any problem with nicks or scratches is on the very loose scrotal skin, do not go there ever! The battery indicator is great, I know my average face and scalp use is about 3-4 minutes. If I use a regular razor part of the time I can travel 3+ weeks without a charger. I sometimes use it for a dry shave if I need a quick touch up, works fine that way or one can put on a dab of liquid shaving gel, I have never tried it with the lathering gels and creams. It does not slide well just damp with water, needs to be dry or lubed. I had a similar Model before this one that worked just a well but failed a few days out of Warranty. Phillips quickly replaced it anyway with my currant slightly upgraded Model, has the convenient Battery Indicator.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642855, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-