Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.7out of 5 stars
3.7 out of 5 | 51 reviews
5 stars
26
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 stars
10
Sort by: 
1-20 of 42 reviews
1-20 of 42 reviews
Hey, it does what it'd designed to do...
2/25/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
My title says it all.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Didn't Last a Year!
11/27/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
When we saw this microwave sitting on the shelves for 50 dollars, it should have been a clue. They were all on one shelf, FULL, and waiting for the next sucker to pick them up. It was too good to be true and not even a year from the date, ours decided to go on strike this very night. At first we were just fine with it. Food was hot, quick to heat, and only a minor adjustment from our Panasonic 1200 Watt to this 900 Watt thing. Tonight, I guess this microwave just had enough. The manual did not help. Customer service did not help and neither did the manufacturing website. We are stuck until further notice. If you want a temporary product, this is great. But if you're in a house like mine--full of coffee drinkers, soup eaters, and kids who need hot cereal before school, I suggest you do NOT purchase this machine. Hamilton Beach is better known for their blenders and roasters and steamers. This microwave was a mistake. On the day before it's demise, it made a weird "beeeep" noise and I guess that was its protest. A day later, entering my time to heat up got nothing but two swift beeps and no action. I am not pleased.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Don't even think about it
10/12/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We recerived this as house warming gift from my parents. This is the biggest pile of GARBAGE out there. The first died in a matter of weeks. Returned it for the same item. The second? Lasted less than a WEEK. I will be returning this to the store and either getting store credit or a different model. It's NOT worth the time/hassle no matter HOW inexpensive it is.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (43)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Don't waste your money
11/10/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought this microwave because of the compact size and 900 watts. Thought it would be comparable to my older Sharp Carousel. What a joke! About the only thing it's good for is heating a cup of liquid. Can't make baked potatoes, they get hard and burn, can't heat frozen sandwiches for the same reason. I am bringing the Sharp back up from the basement. By the way, the Sharp is 17 years old and still looks and works great. I just wanted some more counter space in my new house. You get what you pay for.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
More than your Money's worth
9/4/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The features of this product surpassed my expectations. At 900 watts of power, generally being used to reheat as opposed to preparing foods it is an excellent product that is able to defrost, heat in a minimal amount of time and with its many pre-settings is convenient for use. The outer finish is easy to clean and keep degreased with frequent use.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
So far...
1/23/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Came online to read the reviews on this after buying from my store. All the reviews seem bad, which surprises me. Well, let's start. First, I should start by saying I've only had this for a few days. I'll change this if something goes bad like the rest. But SO FAR the microwave is working great, better than the one i replaced. The only problem I've noticed is that the frozen burritos I've microwaved in it tend to turn out soggy if I don't pay attention to them and flip them over part way. Other than that, it cooks faster, it looks nicer, overall, I like it so far for $50. If you have a issue setting a timer, press the timer button, put in the time, press the timer button again, and then push start. If you like to leave the microwave unplugged like I do to save energy, just press "reset" before you try to cook anything, because it insists you set the time lol...if you press "reset", it'll let you cook without setting the clock ^-^ (also, if you set a timer, the timer will disappear while it's counting down, that doesn't mean it's stopped, it's still counting down, if you press "start" it'll show you how long it has left). Not sure what happened with the other person not being able to make it cook, but my guess is they couldn't figure out how to make it let them get past setting the clock :P Well, if you run into the same problem as them, now you know how to fix it~
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product - perfect for my home.
11/1/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This microwave oven is much more than I expected. The size and wattage are exactly what I needed and the the appearance is very becoming in my kitchen. The pull door in stead of push button door, is so much easier as I have arthritis. The amount of cooking options totally happily surprised me and having color option, I was able to match it with my other appliances. I love my Hamilton Beach 0.9 cu ft Microwave Oven.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Worth the money
9/9/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I'm a college student and don't have much money to spend on these kinds of things. I didn't expect much from this microwave considering it's less than $50. I've had it about a week, and so far it does its job as well as you can expect for a bottom of the line microwave. It heats up ramen and leftover pizza. It's just the right size, too. It doesn't take up a ton of room but you can still fit a large dinner plate in it. The only complaint I have so far is that it doesn't have an "add" button that will add a minute or 30 seconds to the already running time. That's easy enough to work around though.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
does the job well
1/27/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this 1/14/11.. I have had not 1 problem with it. I got the black one to go with my blk Hamilton beach toaster oven. I have always used Hamilton Beach appliances. in my opinion they make a durable product... to heat water i set @1:30 not 2 min.and popcorn @2:5 not 3 min. ...it is very hot...i have the 900 watt one...even with frozen food I set according to box instructions and i have to reduce the time by 1 minute...I also use the quick cook settings on occasion and it works every time...I get just what i expected for the price and more..it does great baked potatoes.. luv it
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Would not recommend
2/10/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Had this microwave for probably a year now, maybe a bit longer, it made a strange noise then smelled like it was on fire (it wasnt of course) but I unplugged it and wont use it again, just have to get a new one, will make sure its not this brand..
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
didn't last a year of minimal use
10/21/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
bought new at Walmart and after 8 months it just quit. It made a burned electrical smell, won't respond to the buttons even after waiting 30 seconds with the plug pulled as recommended by the recording from Hamilton Beach. Complete garbage, no quality !
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Little machine
12/2/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have no idea what everyone is "beefing" about, but I simply love this little microwave. I have owned it for more than one year and have had not one single problem. It looks fantastic. I only wish that it came with an inside light that went on when the door was open. Other than that, it was just what I was looking for, My previous one was bought from Costco. I paid over $100 for it. It was stainless steel but did not last long. I was looking for a small one and really did not even think about the price. I merely wanted a small black microwave that looked good. I thought that this was the best looking one around. I never even read the negative reviews. Now, I am so glad that I didn't because I would have passed up a phenomenal little bargain. I bought it for looks alone. I simply love it and it operates like a champ. SUZI Q
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Exceeded My Expectations
6/24/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've had this microwave about 3 years and have loved it. It is 900 watts so it has as much power as one of those giant behemoth sized microwaves yet it is compact. The turntable is just large enough so that microwave popcorn bags don't get stuck, so there's really nothing you can't do with it that you could with a larger one. I've cooked baked potatoes and about anything else you can think of you could cook in a microwave and they come out amazing. Overall, I have no complaints about this microwave.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
dont buy
11/19/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
i brought it, and the same day i plugged it in.. and tried to cook something it would work. i enter the minutes i wanted and pressed start, and all it did was beep once, but it didn't start. then i tried to press the pizza button and still nothing.. Ive had three people re-read the instruction and still nothing.. its not worth the buy especially since u cant cook in it! i am returning it today.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Little Microwave
3/18/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
If you don't have a lot of counter space, but you need a microwave that can still boil a cup of water or reheat pizza in a reasonable amount of time, this is the microwave for you. It has all the usual functions of a larger, more expensive microwave, such as defrost, popcorn etc.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Disappointed
6/17/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this product 8 months ago. It no longer heats food. I spoke to a repairman and said to purchase a new one. Do Not Buy this!~:-(
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Cheap price but less features
12/25/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
No add minute option. LED display is little shacking and not stable
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Better than expected.
3/2/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Good small microwave. Heats food in no time. Doesn't take up too much space.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Door hook fell off after 3 years
10/18/2014
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I thought this was a great microwave and bragged it up to my girlfriend who always seemed to over-cook food in it. I kept telling her it was more powerful than hers at home, and then I was surprised to find out it was only 900 watts. That being said, I have to advise against this product due to the unreliability of the door hooks. One fell off last night and the oven shut completely down...no way, no how was it ever going to light up again. Such a shame to have a nice machine take a dive for such a small piece of plastic.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very good microwave
2/22/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Fits dinner plates fine and heats up very fast (2 minutes to reheat refrigerated food, depending on the food of course). Nice functions and features, child lock and it beeps a few times after it finishes to remind you your food is ready.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642870, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-