Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 51 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

51 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

51 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
26
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 stars
10
1-20 of 42 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 42 total reviews
1-20 of 42 reviews
Don't even think about it
10/12/2010

Customer review by BigBlue75

1.0 stars 10/12/2010 by BigBlue75
by BigBlue75

We recerived this as house warming gift from my parents. This is the biggest pile of GARBAGE out there. The first died in a matter of weeks. Returned it for the same item. The second? Lasted less than a WEEK. I will be returning this to the store and either getting store credit or a different model. It's NOT worth the time/hassle no matter HOW inexpensive it is.

Was this review helpful? (38) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigBlue75
Would recommend to a friend? No
Didn't Last a Year!
11/27/2010

Customer review by ChiBlogger

1.0 stars 11/27/2010 by ChiBlogger
by ChiBlogger

When we saw this microwave sitting on the shelves for 50 dollars, it should have been a clue. They were all on one shelf, FULL, and waiting for the next sucker to pick them up. It was too good to be true and not even a year from the date, ours decided to go on strike this very night. At first we were just fine with it. Food was hot, quick to heat, and only a minor adjustment from our Panasonic 1200 Watt to this 900 Watt thing. Tonight, I guess this microwave just had enough. The manual did not help. Customer service did not help and neither did the manufacturing website. We are stuck until further notice. If you want a temporary product, this is great. But if you're in a house like mine--full of coffee drinkers, soup eaters, and kids who need hot cereal before school, I suggest you do NOT purchase this machine. Hamilton Beach is better known for their blenders and roasters and steamers. This microwave was a mistake. On the day before it's demise, it made a weird "beeeep" noise and I guess that was its protest. A day later, entering my time to heat up got nothing but two swift beeps and no action. I am not pleased.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChiBlogger
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Don't waste your money
11/10/2010

Customer review by Prism53

1.0 stars 11/10/2010 by Prism53
by Prism53

Bought this microwave because of the compact size and 900 watts. Thought it would be comparable to my older Sharp Carousel. What a joke! About the only thing it's good for is heating a cup of liquid. Can't make baked potatoes, they get hard and burn, can't heat frozen sandwiches for the same reason. I am bringing the Sharp back up from the basement. By the way, the Sharp is 17 years old and still looks and works great. I just wanted some more counter space in my new house. You get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Prism53
Burton MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
dont buy
11/19/2010

Customer review by pokahontas828

1.0 stars 11/19/2010 by pokahontas828
by pokahontas828

i brought it, and the same day i plugged it in.. and tried to cook something it would work. i enter the minutes i wanted and pressed start, and all it did was beep once, but it didn't start. then i tried to press the pizza button and still nothing.. Ive had three people re-read the instruction and still nothing.. its not worth the buy especially since u cant cook in it! i am returning it today.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pokahontas828
jacksonville, fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great product - perfect for my home.
11/1/2013

Customer review by Granlea

5.0 stars 11/1/2013 by Granlea
by Granlea

This microwave oven is much more than I expected. The size and wattage are exactly what I needed and the the appearance is very becoming in my kitchen. The pull door in stead of push button door, is so much easier as I have arthritis. The amount of cooking options totally happily surprised me and having color option, I was able to match it with my other appliances. I love my Hamilton Beach 0.9 cu ft Microwave Oven.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Granlea
Burlington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
didn't last a year of minimal use
10/21/2013

Customer review by unwired0812

1.0 stars 10/21/2013 by unwired0812
by unwired0812

bought new at Walmart and after 8 months it just quit. It made a burned electrical smell, won't respond to the buttons even after waiting 30 seconds with the plug pulled as recommended by the recording from Hamilton Beach. Complete garbage, no quality !

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
unwired0812
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Would not recommend
2/10/2014

Customer review by patvik

1.0 stars 2/10/2014 by patvik
by patvik

Had this microwave for probably a year now, maybe a bit longer, it made a strange noise then smelled like it was on fire (it wasnt of course) but I unplugged it and wont use it again, just have to get a new one, will make sure its not this brand..

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
patvik
ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
does the job well
1/27/2014

Customer review by squirt12701

5.0 stars 1/27/2014 by squirt12701
by squirt12701

I purchased this 1/14/11.. I have had not 1 problem with it. I got the black one to go with my blk Hamilton beach toaster oven. I have always used Hamilton Beach appliances. in my opinion they make a durable product... to heat water i set @1:30 not 2 min.and popcorn @2:5 not 3 min. ...it is very hot...i have the 900 watt one...even with frozen food I set according to box instructions and i have to reduce the time by 1 minute...I also use the quick cook settings on occasion and it works every time...I get just what i expected for the price and more..it does great baked potatoes.. luv it

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
squirt12701
Catskills, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Exceeded My Expectations
6/24/2013

Customer review by smouse73

5.0 stars 6/24/2013 by smouse73
by smouse73

I've had this microwave about 3 years and have loved it. It is 900 watts so it has as much power as one of those giant behemoth sized microwaves yet it is compact. The turntable is just large enough so that microwave popcorn bags don't get stuck, so there's really nothing you can't do with it that you could with a larger one. I've cooked baked potatoes and about anything else you can think of you could cook in a microwave and they come out amazing. Overall, I have no complaints about this microwave.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smouse73
Hannibal, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worth the money
9/9/2013

Customer review by kibbe1jc

4.0 stars 9/9/2013 by kibbe1jc
by kibbe1jc

I'm a college student and don't have much money to spend on these kinds of things. I didn't expect much from this microwave considering it's less than $50. I've had it about a week, and so far it does its job as well as you can expect for a bottom of the line microwave. It heats up ramen and leftover pizza. It's just the right size, too. It doesn't take up a ton of room but you can still fit a large dinner plate in it. The only complaint I have so far is that it doesn't have an "add" button that will add a minute or 30 seconds to the already running time. That's easy enough to work around though.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kibbe1jc
Marquette, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
More than your Money's worth
9/4/2013

Customer review by KautiousOne

5.0 stars 9/4/2013 by KautiousOne
by KautiousOne

The features of this product surpassed my expectations. At 900 watts of power, generally being used to reheat as opposed to preparing foods it is an excellent product that is able to defrost, heat in a minimal amount of time and with its many pre-settings is convenient for use. The outer finish is easy to clean and keep degreased with frequent use.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KautiousOne
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So far...
1/23/2011

Customer review by souleaterwolf

4.0 stars 1/23/2011 by souleaterwolf
by souleaterwolf

Came online to read the reviews on this after buying from my store. All the reviews seem bad, which surprises me. Well, let's start. First, I should start by saying I've only had this for a few days. I'll change this if something goes bad like the rest. But SO FAR the microwave is working great, better than the one i replaced. The only problem I've noticed is that the frozen burritos I've microwaved in it tend to turn out soggy if I don't pay attention to them and flip them over part way. Other than that, it cooks faster, it looks nicer, overall, I like it so far for $50. If you have a issue setting a timer, press the timer button, put in the time, press the timer button again, and then push start. If you like to leave the microwave unplugged like I do to save energy, just press "reset" before you try to cook anything, because it insists you set the time lol...if you press "reset", it'll let you cook without setting the clock ^-^ (also, if you set a timer, the timer will disappear while it's counting down, that doesn't mean it's stopped, it's still counting down, if you press "start" it'll show you how long it has left). Not sure what happened with the other person not being able to make it cook, but my guess is they couldn't figure out how to make it let them get past setting the clock :P Well, if you run into the same problem as them, now you know how to fix it~

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
souleaterwolf
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Little machine
12/2/2010

Customer review by LABAS

5.0 stars 12/2/2010 by LABAS
by LABAS

I have no idea what everyone is "beefing" about, but I simply love this little microwave. I have owned it for more than one year and have had not one single problem. It looks fantastic. I only wish that it came with an inside light that went on when the door was open. Other than that, it was just what I was looking for, My previous one was bought from Costco. I paid over $100 for it. It was stainless steel but did not last long. I was looking for a small one and really did not even think about the price. I merely wanted a small black microwave that looked good. I thought that this was the best looking one around. I never even read the negative reviews. Now, I am so glad that I didn't because I would have passed up a phenomenal little bargain. I bought it for looks alone. I simply love it and it operates like a champ. SUZI Q

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LABAS
Nokesville, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/7/2013

Customer review by Zennaa

2.0 stars 8/7/2013 by Zennaa
by Zennaa

This is the first microwave that I have seen that does not have an alert beep that lets me know the item is done cooking. I also don't care for the "clock" red light staying on all the time.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zennaa
Seattle WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointed
6/17/2013

Customer review by superWMTshopper

1.0 stars 6/17/2013 by superWMTshopper
by superWMTshopper

I purchased this product 8 months ago. It no longer heats food. I spoke to a repairman and said to purchase a new one. Do Not Buy this!~:-(

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
superWMTshopper
Houston, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
EASY TO OPERATE
9/24/2013

Customer review by WAKY

5.0 stars 9/24/2013 by WAKY
by WAKY

FOR THE PRICE CAN'T BEAT. HAS FEATURES OF HIGHER PRICED UNITS.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WAKY
CALVERTON NEW YORK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
You don't get what you pay for
1/25/2011

Customer review by Bultaco

1.0 stars 1/25/2011 by Bultaco
by Bultaco

My wife complained about my 20 year old Panasonic because it was too big. It worked beautifully. We needed a new microwave adn got this one. Wrong on all useful accounts. It heats very unevenly. I like Jimmy Dean Sausage Bisquits. This thing destroys them. Cooking two at once, which is the usual way of doing it, one is hard and crunchy on one side, the rest is maybe warm. The other is hardly warm at all. I watched as it was heating a sauce in a bowl. there was about a two inch circle of boiling off to the side of the bowl, taking it out, the rest of it was still cold. At least stirring leveled that out. Maybe they made these things better a year ago according to one review, but the current crop is junk!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bultaco
orange county, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
The product was one day early on dilivery .
11/18/2013

Customer review by Luckykid

5.0 stars 11/18/2013 by Luckykid
by Luckykid

I enjoy this product and it and it early Delivery. I well make more orders with walmart and the use of their products as long as the price is good .

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Luckykid
Canton, Ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Affordable microwave
4/17/2012

Customer review by mhst

5.0 stars 4/17/2012 by mhst
by mhst

I was looking for a cheap microwave and this one was the lowest among those brands I trust. All my appliances are Hamilton Beach. I never baked never cooked in it. I used it for warming up my food, milk for almost 2 years. Im pleased. Its compact and nice.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mhst
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Microwave oven
7/29/2013

Customer review by Eme55

5.0 stars 7/29/2013 by Eme55
by Eme55

I am well pleased with this microwave! I have ordered two of them with absolutlely no problems! Hamiltion Beach is the way to go!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Eme55
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1-20 of 42 reviews