Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 57 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

57 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

57 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
24
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 stars
15
1-20 of 44 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews
Must-have appliance
10/24/2010

Customer review by edlisa2j

5.0 stars 10/24/2010 by edlisa2j
by edlisa2j

This is the perfect size for 2 people. We use ours almost daily for steel-cut oats, quinoa, wild rice, brown rice, etc. The only thing I wish it had is a beeper to let you know when it's done. Clean up is always a breeze and it's a great size to fit in the cabinet on the rare days we aren't using it. Because it's so easy to use and the food cooks so well we're actually eating better! Just a great little addition to the kitchen.

Was this review helpful? (66) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
edlisa2j
Central Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Almost perfect
8/16/2011

Customer review by Gnat58

4.0 stars 8/16/2011 by Gnat58
by Gnat58

I wanted a rice cooker for one or two people, and this little guy is just the ticket. On smaller batches, there is sometimes spillage that seeps from under the lid, so I set it on a plate when in use. Interestingly, the largest batches cook the best with no spillage. Another thing to be aware of is, if it sits in the pot too long on "warm", the rice will brown a bit. You can prepare more than just rice, so I find I use it almost daily. This is one of those inexpensive, easy-to-store appliances that I would no longer live without! The instructions that came with the pot are minimal, but there is abundant info online if needed.

Was this review helpful? (37) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gnat58
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great product
1/24/2011

Customer review by raenadog

5.0 stars 1/24/2011 by raenadog
by raenadog

I was tired of the quality of quick cook rice, so I gave this rice cooker and some traditional rice a try. I am glad I did! This is the perfect rice cooker for small batches. It is easy to use and very affordable.

Was this review helpful? (26) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
raenadog
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
9/19/2011

Customer review by COHawaiianson

1.0 stars 9/19/2011 by COHawaiianson
by COHawaiianson

I have bought and exchanged this item 3 times in the store. Each time it had the same problem, the light goes off and it will not work anymore. My sister bought the same one about the same time I got my first one and hers is still working.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
COHawaiianson
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Horrible buy!
11/8/2011

Customer review by Daish401

1.0 stars 11/8/2011 by Daish401
by Daish401

This is the second exchange and it broke once again! We will be going back to the store again to exchange. Bad product - poorly made. The cooker just decides to stop cooking your rice when it wants... Wish Wal-Mart would read these review and stop carrying such a bad product!!

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Daish401
Would recommend to a friend? No
MY FAVORITE APPLIANCE!!
12/8/2011

Customer review by SUNBABE

5.0 stars 12/8/2011 by SUNBABE
by SUNBABE

HAVING USED THE RIVAL RICE COOKER SEVERAL TIMES A WEEK FOR OVER A YEAR, I AM SOOOO HAPPY AND WISH I HAD FOUND IT SOONER! I EVEN FRY AN EGG IN IT! IT HEATS SO FULLY AND QUICKLY! THEN, TURNING THE EGG, I SLAP A SLICE OF CHEESE... ADD TOAST... AND VOILA! A HOMEMADE BREAKFAST SANDWICH IN 2 MINUTES! PERFECT FOR A STOVELESS STUDIO...OR ON THE ROAD!

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SUNBABE
LUTZ, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
8/18/2011

Customer review by ady3

1.0 stars 8/18/2011 by ady3
by ady3

The lights went off and stopped working within three days of use.

Was this review helpful? (19) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ady3
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Wouldn't heat up the second time I tried to use it
1/8/2012

Customer review by DennisTheMenaceNE

1.0 stars 1/8/2012 by DennisTheMenaceNE
by DennisTheMenaceNE

The first time I used the rice cooker I could smell toasting plastic. The second time I tried to use it it would not heat up. Sometimes you can spend too little on a product. This is one of those times.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DennisTheMenaceNE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works great!
3/3/2012

Customer review by Doccpu

5.0 stars 3/3/2012 by Doccpu
by Doccpu

I have tried for years to cook rice on a stove with out drying, burning or crusting it on the bottonm of the pan. Put in a 50/50 mix of white and heavy brown rice and it cooked it to perfection. I'm keeping this guy!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Doccpu
mid town
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
You get what you pay for
2/29/2012

Customer review by Anaia

4.0 stars 2/29/2012 by Anaia
by Anaia

It was one of the cheapest rice makers which is why I bought it (I am on a tight budget). If you want perfect rice, get a more expensive one. The rice comes out cooked normally, but I think the Warming function is a tad too hot and the rice cakes together at the bottom of the pot. I just unplug the machine when it's done cooking to avoid this. Otherwise it works fine.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Anaia
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
This cooker RIVALS (nyuk, nyuk) my pressure cooker
9/4/2012

Customer review by DestinyInMiami

5.0 stars 9/4/2012 by DestinyInMiami
by DestinyInMiami

A great product at a super affordable price. I've only cooked 1 and 2 cups, and it has come out perfect every time, except for a slight browning on warm for the suggested 10 to 15 minutes after cook time (that runs 30 minutes). After that first time, I kept the lid CLOSED after the cooking stage ended, but turned the cooker off, and it has turned out perfect every time since. Be sure and read the instructions. For some odd reason, it comes with its own measuring cup. A "cup" of rice in Rival's world is actually 3/4 of a cup, so make sure you read the directions first. I'm not prone to buying big, bulky cookers or gadgets for the kitchen because of kitchen clutter, but I have a flat top stove that is not dependable, and kept burning my rice every time. This issue has resolved my problem for under $15, and it's fabulous! Makes lots of rice perfectly, and it takes up very little counter space.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DestinyInMiami
Miami
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice of the price
11/23/2013

Customer review by ford1997

4.0 stars 11/23/2013 by ford1997
by ford1997

How's good for the price and cooks fast. Great for small family or single person

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ford1997
brooklyn,ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It WAS good...
10/3/2011

Customer review by VeggieGirlMarie

2.0 stars 10/3/2011 by VeggieGirlMarie
by VeggieGirlMarie

At first my rice cooker worked fine for quite a while, but then it just recently stopped working. The light does not change from warm, and it won't go into the cook setting. Then this morning when I tried one last time, there was a funny smell (like something was beginning to burn) which kind of scared me so now this rice cooker is unplugged and sitting on my counter. I will shortly be buying a new one because I use it so often, and I will not be buying this one again.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VeggieGirlMarie
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Broke after two uses
2/8/2013

Customer review by Duae

1.0 stars 2/8/2013 by Duae
by Duae

I bought one because my old rice cooker had finally given out after around 8 years of steady use. I thought this one was perfect for two people, because it's small. I used it twice, it stopped working. I waited a few months, thinking I had just purchased a defective one. Bought a second one, on the second use it again emitted a burned rubber smell and stopped working. Don't waste your money!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Duae
Wilkesboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Broke the 3rd time using it!
9/13/2011

Customer review by jackied88

1.0 stars 9/13/2011 by jackied88
by jackied88

This rice maker broke the 3rd time using it. I plugged it in and turned it to "cook". The light turned on and a min later when I looked at it the light was off (when plugged in one of the lights is always on). I tried 6 different outlets in my kitchen which worked for other appliances! It stayed warm... but never cooked again!!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jackied88
Colorado Springs
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
doesn't work at second time
10/30/2012

Customer review by jychstar

1.0 stars 10/30/2012 by jychstar
by jychstar

I used to have a Rival 6-Cup Rice Cooker and it worked fine until 2 years later ( I used it almost everyday). So recently I bought a new one but it doesn't work at second time use. Then I exchange for another one and it went off at the second time use again. I have to return it again and consider changing another type.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jychstar
Norman,OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
if it would keep working it would be great!
9/2/2012

Customer review by FrugalRwe

1.0 stars 9/2/2012 by FrugalRwe
by FrugalRwe

I bought this appliance and it worked great the first 2 times. I went to use it again and it wouldn't turn on at all. I was so up set because it actually worked really well, and my sons and I really enjoy rice and beans. I do not recommend this product, pay for the more expensive brand if you want something with quality and long term use in mind.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FrugalRwe
Mechanicsburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Just set it and forget.
9/16/2013

Customer review by TitoLove

5.0 stars 9/16/2013 by TitoLove
by TitoLove

Could never get my rice right, either too soggy or mushy or uncooked. This machine makes perfect rice every time.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TitoLove
East Meadow, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good cook helper
9/26/2011

Customer review by littlelittlelady

5.0 stars 9/26/2011 by littlelittlelady
by littlelittlelady

This rice cooker really does a big favor for me. It cooks fast and exactly meet two girls' require.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
littlelittlelady
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not sure about the negative reviews
1/29/2014

Customer review by SPinVA

5.0 stars 1/29/2014 by SPinVA
by SPinVA

I've had my little rice cooker for 3+ years now, and it's still working fine. I'm Asian, and I'm using it about once a week or so for rice, quinoa, and other whole grains. The only wear and tear I've seen is that the non-stick surface is getting scratched, but that's my fault for using any old spoon with it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SPinVA
Fairfax, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews