Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 48 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

48 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

48 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

51%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 stars
15
1-20 of 45 total reviews
51%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews
Don't Waste Your Gas
3/21/2011

Customer review by JamaicanSuperGurl

1.0 stars 3/21/2011 by JamaicanSuperGurl
by JamaicanSuperGurl

If you buy this, you will surely be making a trip back to Walmart to return it. It have 12 speeds ranging from high to super mega high. I tried to make some cookie dough in this but the mixer kept jumping over the dough because it couldn't actually mix through it. Didn't need another demo, not for $90. Don't waste your money....or your gas.

Was this review helpful? (97) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JamaicanSuperGurl
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Not as bad as I thought
6/16/2011

Customer review by Katie001

3.0 stars 6/16/2011 by Katie001
by Katie001

At first I thought this mixer was a nightmare. If your read all of the one star reviews you will see what I mean. I happened across someone who owns this machine, and she told me that if you want the beater to scrape the side of the bowl, you have to turn the mixer over. On the bottom there is a place where you can change the position of the bowl. It takes two seconds and then most of my issues are fixed. I still wish that the bowl turned on a motor rather than with the momentum of the beaters, but now that I can actually mix the sides of the bowl it is much better. So... if you can't take it back, at least it is usable!!!

Was this review helpful? (61) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Katie001
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Not at all what I was wanting
2/6/2011

Customer review by alwaysforever3790

2.0 stars 2/6/2011 by alwaysforever3790
by alwaysforever3790

This looks very nice on a counter top, but as far as actually doing the job of mixing, FORGET IT!!! The bowl doesn't spin unless you spin it and everytime I used it I ended up lifting up the beaters and mixing it by hand. Completely defeated the purpose of a stand mixer. Final comment....VERY disappointed!

Was this review helpful? (50) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
alwaysforever3790
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
6/30/2011

Customer review by firstlady23

4.0 stars 6/30/2011 by firstlady23
by firstlady23

I found this mixer on sale, so I bought it. I was really worried when I got home and read the negative reviews. I have made cake batter, thick frosting, and even royal icing and have had no serious problems. I do have to use the spatula to mix toward the beaters a little, but this is not a big deal to me. This mixer has an automatic overheat shut-off, which I was happy about due to burning out two hand-mixers before I bought this. I wanted a mixer that could do more than a hand mixer but didn't cost $200-$300. This one is just what I wanted.

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
firstlady23
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Mixer falls flat-do not waste your money
1/31/2012

Customer review by israyfan

1.0 stars 1/31/2012 by israyfan
by israyfan

In the interests of full disclosure, I will acknowledge that I received this product specifically to try it out for a review. It was made clear, however, that I should be honest. In no way did anyone influence what I would say. This mixer is a famous brand stand mixer want-to-be and falls way short of that goal. Yes, it's at a substantially lower price point, but sometimes, it's best to pay more and know you'll be more satisfied with the results. Please don't expect to get a quality stand mixer for $98. For those of you who appreciate detail, I'll review each component before I discuss what I made with the mixer. OVERALL My first reaction when I picked it up was how light it was in the box. I was expecting to need help to carry it to my car. I walked a good city block with it, no problem. When I got home and took it out of the box, I thought it looked pretty sleek with the black motor housing and body. And then I realized it's made entirely of plastic. That's why it's so light. This is a plus for anyone who doesn't have the counter space for a stand mixer (present company included -- I have to make room), but it's also a detriment because it's too light to perform well. Even the wheel that the bowl sits on is plastic. The only nonplastic parts are the bowl, beaters and dough hooks. MOTOR The mixer does have a nice variety of speeds, but doesn't seem to be able to handle even the simplest jobs well, such as making basic boxed brownies. More on that below. Even at higher speeds, the motor is relatively quiet. The problem arises with the vibration of the motor housing. The whole top part vibrates loudly and bounces around even on the simplest jobs. If you hold your hand over the top, it is less noisy and active, but why would anyone deal with that? The whole point of having a stand mixer is to make mixing easy. PERFORMANCE I tested the mixer with three items from easiest to hardest in terms of demand and load, and it performed miserably each time: 1) Basic boxed brownies, 2) Gooey butter cake and 3) Wheat bread. I followed the instructions and began with the lowest possible speed for each item I made. The instructions note that higher speeds can cause a "snow storm effect." Even at the lowest speed, the mixer spewed the dry ingredients for all three items -- and I added them gradually sensing this problem was going to happen. It didn't just spew brownie mix, flour and powdered sugar -- it also spit out the melted butter I poured in VERY SLOWLY. The second crucial problem is that the bowl rarely turns. I guess the momentum of the beaters/dough hooks are supposed to make the bowl turn, but that doesn't work. I had to physically turn the bowl myself by hand. In addition, the mixer does not distribute the ingredients in the bowl or mix them adequately. Most of the time, there was a large amount of unmixed ingredients that the beaters/dough hooks ignored. I had to turn the mixer off, move the ingredients in the bowl closer to the beaters and then start over mixing. It took me longer to make my items than it would have had I used a hand mixer because I kept having to stop, scrape the bowl with a spatula, move the ingredients around and start over. Add to this the aggravation of the bowl not turning and the plastic housing vibrating and jumping around. It jumps around so much, it acts like it's going to break. This mixer is made cheaply and does not do the job. Please do not waste your money. You will be disappointed. I am going to give this mixer away to my local charity and continue using my hand mixer. At least I know I have to scrape the bowl and turn it myself when I use it. I should not have to do that with a stand mixer. Having to do so defeats the whole purpose of the stand mixer.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
israyfan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Cheap Quality!
2/15/2011

Customer review by Ismet

1.0 stars 2/15/2011 by Ismet
by Ismet

I mainly bought it to knead bread dough. The first time I used it the top part got released while it was spinning! I had to hold and push it down! It can not handle kneading bread dough! I did not try mixing other things. I am not sure if this problem is general to this model or I have a bad mixer! I am returning it back and will get KitchenAid (It has better rating)

Was this review helpful? (21) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ismet
Would recommend to a friend? No
Oster Stand Mixer
5/20/2011

Customer review by Jellybeans501

5.0 stars 5/20/2011 by Jellybeans501
by Jellybeans501

I bought this mixer for my daughter-in-law as a gift. She phoned yesterday to say how much she loved her mixer. It was perfect for mixing up all those baked goodies her family loves. We discussed purchasing another name brand and she said she had looked at several and thought that this would be the best for her and her kitchen.I am glad that I made this purchase over the more expensive stand mixer. I know she is also.Has plenty of power and is a heavy duty stand mixer.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jellybeans501
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Anniversary gift
8/10/2011

Customer review by puppyluv06

5.0 stars 8/10/2011 by puppyluv06
by puppyluv06

my husband got me this mixer 2 weeks ago for our 1 year wedding anniversary, and I love it. I do a lot of cooking I've already kneaded bread dough, made cakes, cookies, all sorts of things and I have not had an issue, the beaters are easy to clean by hand as well as going through the dishwasher well. The bowl is just the right size and I love the way it has a slight lip so stuff doesn't fly out as bad. I also have a 13 month old and this is a god sent for me, The bowl turns with the momentum of the beaters so I can peak in at the little one and see shes still napping from time to time. I also can hold the bowl stationary to mix one spot more, if necessary. I'm not sure why the reviews on this product are so low, my husband also got this on clearance for $50 I couldn't believe it. Even if he had paid full price it is totally worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
puppyluv06
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
awesome mixer for the price!
10/5/2012

Customer review by 303075

5.0 stars 10/5/2012 by 303075
by 303075

Despite the bad reviews I have enjoyed my stand mixer immensely! My husband got this for me for my birthday so I've had it for about a month. My 12 yr old daughter and I use it frequently, around 3 times/week (probably more#. There are five kiddos in our family so we bake.... A LOT :) I have not used it for kneading bread yet, but will eventually. We have used it for cakes, cookies, frostings, icings, and mashed potatoes #it makes the creamiest mashed potatoes..mmmmm). If it doesn't seem to be creaming well then you should check the position of the bowl. There are two settings found under the spinner plate. Also using a paddle instead of beaters will make it more efficient. Check out the equipment and read your manual to see all of it's attachments and goodies. Follow it's guidelines for settings and speeds. It's a great product and the manual usually covers most problems. Sometimes you just need to read and figure out how it works before you say it's rotten. Also, I own an oster blender that has lasted 10+ years, works great too. Love my stand mixer and looking forward to years of using it! Happy Baking to all!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
303075
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Consumers beware: Do not buy this stand mixer
4/13/2011

Customer review by ColoradoMom3031

1.0 stars 4/13/2011 by ColoradoMom3031
by ColoradoMom3031

I am extremely disappointed with this mixer. Whoever is considering purchasing this product, Please save your money!!! The only thing I find worthwhile about this mixer is its attractiveness. The mixer only blends in one section of the bowl; you must continually lift the handle and stir your mixture by hand. I tried to make both a yellow cake and a cheese cake the stand mixer failed me on both occasions. I had to basically hand mix the yellow cake because the mixer only blended the ingredients in the very center of the bowl leaving about 2 inches of powdery unblended mixture. With the cheese cake, it would not blend the cream cheese. The mixer just pushed the cream cheese to the side. I had to find my older hand mixer to complete the job. Needless to say, the Oster Stand Mixer is going back to Walmart today!!! For those that are considering this stand mixer because of the price and appearance, save your money, and invest it in a mixer that is of a better quality.

Was this review helpful? (9) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ColoradoMom3031
CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great in theory - horrible in execution
8/10/2011

Customer review by AuntieAnela

1.0 stars 8/10/2011 by AuntieAnela
by AuntieAnela

If you only want to mix batters or other items that need the beaters - this is the machine for you. If you want to mix dough - get something else. I got this as a present and was thrilled when I first saw it. It looks nice, it has beaters and hooks, the bowl is offset for easy ingredient adding, 12 speeds, etc. Then I actually used it. The first thing I made was bread. I must have got the ratio EXACTLY right because it did a decent job. I had to continually move the dough back into the path of the hooks to get it to mix and the bowl wobbled a bit, but it eventually did the job. I figured I could work with the bowl wobbling. Next I made mashed potatoes. The mixer worked wonderfully and the potatoes were so light and airy. I only used the 1st speed and they came out so tasty everyone in the house commented on them. Then I made bread again. Same recipe I made the first time. Must not have got that ratio exact this time. It was a nightmare. The head locks into place, but as soon as the dough got a little stiff the head flew up. It was like the lock didn't exist. So I'm standing there holding the head down. Now the bowl not only wobbles, it's jumping all over the place. Next thing I know, the bowl jumps off its seat and tries to fly out of the mixer. The only thing that kept that from happening is the fact that I was holding the head down. Now I have these scratches in the bottom of the bowl from the hooks. Used the darn thing again last night. Made dough again - different recipe. I ended up having to stand there holding the head and the bowl. As soon as I moved either one of my hands either the head flew up or the bowl skittered off its seat. So now I'm holding the head down with my elbow, the bowl with that hand and trying to move the dough around so it would actually mix and knead with my other hand. The second I was done I washed all the pieces, got the box out of the garage and dug out my receipt and warrantee info. I'm returning it today. If the bowl locked into place this just might still be a usable machine, but since it doesn't it just isn't worth keeping.

Was this review helpful? (9) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AuntieAnela
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Im Impressed
7/22/2011

Customer review by DebbraWayne

5.0 stars 7/22/2011 by DebbraWayne
by DebbraWayne

For the price I paid for this mixer very impressed on how well it preformed making 3 three tiers cakes in one weekend, far exceeded my expectations. Though it doesnt turn on its own at low speeds it will on high. Does the job very well, even with buttercream icing. Cant say how durable it is since I just got this but thinking it will last for quite awhile and I make alot of cakes per month and so far very happy.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DebbraWayne
Perry, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
not what was expected for price
4/1/2011

Customer review by southern251

2.0 stars 4/1/2011 by southern251
by southern251

i recieved this item as a christmas gift. i have been wanting one for years. I thought would be great but was very dissappointed when i used to make biscuits and cookies for christmas dinner as other reviews state it does not mix the ingredients as some are just to thick for it and if its not to thick it still wont mix all ingredients i ended up mixing all by hand took it back to walmart to get refund and was told there was several malfunctions with the item. So dont waste your money or time on this one.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
southern251
jacksonville, nc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Works great!
9/27/2012

Customer review by songbirdbeth

4.0 stars 9/27/2012 by songbirdbeth
by songbirdbeth

I haven't had this for even a month yet we have made bread dough many times and pizza dough and cookie dough. It worked really good each and every time. I had to use a rubber spatula to be sure all the flour was mixed in. That's something that always needs done, with any mixer. And it's a minor thing, not worth fussing over. It didn't bog down or overheat. I am very pleased with this.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
songbirdbeth
in the kitchen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love my new mixer
1/17/2012

Customer review by Educates

5.0 stars 1/17/2012 by Educates
by Educates

My first experiment with my new mixer was a small cake mix. The bowl did not seem balanced or spin correctly. I never did figure out if I did not have enough weight in the bowl or what happened. The second thing I made was cookie dough and I love the mixer. It blended everything evenly with little effort and no mess at all. I was very happy. Yesterday I used the mixer on a bread dough recipe. It combined the ingredients and worked the dough as well as if I had done it by hand. I could not believe how easily it worked and was ready before I knew it. The bowl was balanced and worked fine after my first 'experiment'. The mixer is easy to clean. I popped the beaters and bowl into the dishwasher. I wiped off the mixer and it looks great.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Educates
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very Pleased
10/16/2012

Customer review by JB052

5.0 stars 10/16/2012 by JB052
by JB052

After reading all of the bad reviews I questioned my judgement in buying this mixer. I'm glad I did buy it. I believe that most complaints would be quickly resolved if people would read the operating instructions. This mixer is powerful, looks good, easy to clean, and has done an excellent job for me.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JB052
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good value
1/5/2012

Customer review by 77owl88

5.0 stars 1/5/2012 by 77owl88
by 77owl88

I wanted to buy American, but returned my first choice: it was too heavy and too big. This Oster unit looks good, is a manageable size and weight, works like a champ and was a great value. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
77owl88
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Product
3/16/2012

Customer review by blue2583

4.0 stars 3/16/2012 by blue2583
by blue2583

This is a great mixer in my opinion and gets the job done. I've used it many times and one time for fondant. I broke my hand held mixer when making fondant and this one did fine. Now i was very cautious and would recomend that for all mixers when mixing fondant. Unfortunately the mixer comes with only two attachments...standard beaters and dough hooks, no whisk :(. Overall I am satisfied with it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blue2583
New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
I can finally get rid of my hand mixer
1/27/2012

Customer review by RFMom1

4.0 stars 1/27/2012 by RFMom1
by RFMom1

I have been using an old-school hand mixer up until now. When I first used the stand mixer I was impressed that it wasn't overly bulky like others brands appear to be. It was very easy to use (not at all intimidating for a first time user). I didn't have any problems with the attachments not mixing everything together. I made the fluffiest and most delicious mashed potatoes I've ever made! The only thing I do wish is that it included more attachments. Otherwise, a great product that I've enjoyed using very much!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RFMom1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Save your money to get a Kithen Aid
12/21/2012

Customer review by JanetLP

1.0 stars 12/21/2012 by JanetLP
by JanetLP

My mom bought this mixer for me so we could make bread together while she was in town in June 2012. I wasn't impressed that the bowl wouldn't spin on it's own with the dough hooks or the beaters, I would have to sit and spin it...whats the point of a stand mixer I might have well just used a hand mixer. I have used it monthly since getting it for bread, cookies and other treats and again it was so-so, the speeds were either super slow or super fast no great medium. I was beginning to make my Christmas cookies last week when half way through one of my batches of sugar cookies (not that big by the way) the mixer stopped. The motor completely burnt out after 6 months and the whole thing is worthless! If I were you I'd save my money and wait a little longer for a Kitchen Aid. I have gone through 2 stand mixers in 8 years, Sunbeam and Oster, when others I know have had their Kitchen Aid for 35 years. I would NOT recommend this mixer to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JanetLP
Sandy, UT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews