Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 235 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

235 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

235 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
190
4 stars
28
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 stars
3
1-20 of 234 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 234 total reviews
1-20 of 234 reviews
1/10/2011

Customer review by 123takepics

5.0 stars 1/10/2011 by 123takepics
by 123takepics

I am an almost total amatuer. The photos I am taking with this camera are stunning. The 18 MP resolution is remarkably detailed. I can zoom in on photos and see details that at full image size on my computer I cannot even see! I had asked a photographer frind of mine for advice and they said use the program feature because the camers is so good I will not need to learn much about how to use the settings (I will learn them). Buy it, snap lots of pics and ENJOY !! I think you will loove this camera.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
123takepics
Cortlandt Manor, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Camera for a beginner.
11/5/2011

Customer review by BigTy035

5.0 stars 11/5/2011 by BigTy035
by BigTy035

The 60D is a great camera. I'm an amature photographer. My work looks professional. Great camera for a good price. Love everything about the 60d.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigTy035
Sanford, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great upgrade from first generation Rebel XT.
12/12/2013

Customer review by Redgoat2006

5.0 stars 12/12/2013 by Redgoat2006
by Redgoat2006

I got the body only as I already had three Canon Lens. Great buying experience.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Redgoat2006
Northeast Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Buy
4/22/2011

Customer review by RosesandButtercups

5.0 stars 4/22/2011 by RosesandButtercups
by RosesandButtercups

I haven't even really begun to use the great features on this camera, but it is fantastic. I went from a Nikon to a Canon, it is going to take time to get used to but everything seems to be great I love the fact that my LCD screen is protected and the HD video. I can't wait to explore more with the options.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RosesandButtercups
Boyertown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/20/2011

Customer review by roboito

5.0 stars 5/20/2011 by roboito
by roboito

Nice. I like the quality of the High ISO images even when using the kit 55-250 or the 28-135. Easy to set up custom settings. Menu very easy to navigate having moved from Olympus E system.

Was this review helpful? (3) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
roboito
La Porte, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Camera
6/4/2014

Customer review by Sureshot

5.0 stars 6/4/2014 by Sureshot
by Sureshot

This was originally for a gift. I wound up returning it as the recipient decided they wanted a full frame Canon 6D, so the camera was returned. But I did try a friends Canon 60D and it's basically a Canon 7D in a smaller, lighter and less expensive body. You lose out on just a few bells and whistles, but the image quality is the same and although the focus system is not the same I found the focus system on the 60D more consistent. I have owned three 7Ds and two of them had focus issues. During the time that I used the 60D I never had any focus issues and I used the same Canon "L" lenses that I used on my 7D. This is a light weight and high quality DSLR and it produces excellent photos. It has features for a beginner DSLR user and the needed features for a serious amateur or an excellent CMOS sensor DSLR for a professional User that may need a light travel camera with articulating LCD.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sureshot
Rockies, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great camara. nice photographs
5/6/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/6/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Easy to use .well built.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
upstate ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great camera for beginner
5/7/2014

Customer review by sergevich

5.0 stars 5/7/2014 by sergevich
by sergevich

very good pictures with this camera

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sergevich
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Don't hesitate
2/24/2013

Customer review by Woo

5.0 stars 2/24/2013 by Woo
by Woo

Got this to replace my XS. Excellent camera. Bought it refurbished and wouldn't hesistate to by another one from Adorama. Looking at lenses now. Shot over 1000 pictures in the last week and haven't had one problem.

Woo
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great value, great camera
3/24/2013

Customer review by iamacamera

5.0 stars 3/24/2013 by iamacamera
by iamacamera

After having several digital cameras using lenses that start with N (my first digital camera used that lens mount) I am delighted to be back with Canon. This is really a good camera. I have used it for over three years now after having used a Hasselblad in the camera room for thirty years. This little jewel of a camera delivers very sharp photographs of both portrait and advertising subjects for me day after day, month after month. I would highly recommend it to anyone. Perhaps its most useful feature is one that is unique to this camera, at least it was, is its articulating screen. In a professional environment, where I photograph people, I often have people who want to see the screen. All I do is turn it around backwards, so it is out of view, and the question never comes up. Other than that I have used it to photograph the landscape, my passion, as well as limited wildlife and it performs with excellence. I often make prints to 24x30 and even 30x40 and they hold together very well. It is an excellent choice.

iamacamera
New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great upgrade from Rebel
5/30/2012

Customer review by zander

5.0 stars 5/30/2012 by zander
by zander

I got this camera after reading reviews and watching videos. It came down to this one of the T3i. I wanted the flip out screen, and the 60d having more cross type AF points seemed better. More is better right? The ISO performance kills my previous XSIs performance. It gets grainy when you get into the 2000s, but its not unbearable. I tend to do black and white when I'm using high ISO anyway. But I can get shots that would simply have been impossible on the XSI. I haven't played around with the video mode much, but so far its head and shoulders over my old hand held cam. Ergonomics are much better for me. I have decent sized hands, and the 60d fits perfect in my palm. The Rebel feels like a toy in comparison. It has a good weight to it also. I also love the way the shutter sounds. Like a pro camera clunk instead of the high pitched snap the XSI has. I'm definitely loving this camera.

zander
Phoenix AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice Compact DSLR
5/10/2012

Customer review by TW

5.0 stars 5/10/2012 by TW
by TW

This 60D has been a nice transition piece between my Rebel and 5D Mark ii. Though lacking in the level of iso performance you would expect to see from the higher end dslr's, it is still an impressive leap from my Rebel. The flip screen was a major turn-off before the purchase, however, I have since used it for numerous perspective shots as well as a great deal of 1080p video. I would recommend a larger card 32GB+ as the file size is rather large if you shoot RAW.

TW
Stillwater, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
One superb camera
11/18/2013

Customer review by jyo1

5.0 stars 11/18/2013 by jyo1
by jyo1

I have been using this camera with 18-135 lens for almost 3 years now. It gives excellent image quality. Though the build is plastic it has been very sturdy. Having been taking great pictures with this camera.

jyo1
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The proud owner of two 60D's
9/16/2013

Customer review by Quiettsolopursuit

5.0 stars 9/16/2013 by Quiettsolopursuit
by Quiettsolopursuit

I purchased my first 60D in April of 2013, even though I thought that I wanted a 7D. I sunk most of my money into three quality lenses, and had to "settle" for a 60D. Since the two bodies share an identical sensor, I thought that the 60 D would be OK until I could afford a 7D. I'm a nature, wildlife, and landscape photographer, I seldom shoot video, and photo quality is my number one objective. I have two minor beefs with this camera, one is the location of the on/off switch on the left side of the body, under the mode control wheel. Could they have made the switch any harder to operate? Fortunately, battery life is so good that I turn the camera on when I step outside in the morning, and don't turn it off until I come back inside. My other beef is that Canon doesn't make a split prism focusing screen for this camera, and their precise focusing screen only works with f/2.8 or faster lenses. I can switch to live view and zoom in to 10X for precise focusing, but I would have liked a split prism screen as well. The articulated display is a life saver, or I should say, a neck saver when I'm using the live view. I can place the camera on the tripod and see the screen without having to lay on the ground to do so, a real plus when shooting aquatic plants and insects, believe me! What I love most about this camera is that I can look through the viewfinder, and tell what exposure compensation I need to use 99% of the time. The viewfinder is clear and bright, and very large when compared to the old DSLR that I had. The information is presented in a clear, logical way. The controls for setting the ISO, drive, metering mode, and auto-focus mode are on the top of the body, next to the LED display, and easy to use. It took me a little while to get used to the dial used for setting the exposure compensation, but I have trained my thumb well, and that's no longer a problem. This camera continues to amaze me. I have another brand of 150-500 mm telephoto lens, the auto-focus can pick birds out of the brush that they are hiding in, and the images are sharp and clear. When I switch to the Canon 70-200 mm L series lens, the sharpness blows me away. The 60D allows you to store and use three different sets of "offsets' for image quality, and I have fine tuned those to match my three lenses. I can also store one entire set-up as well, which makes it easy to have one set-up for landscapes, and another for birds and wildlife. I don't see how I could be happier with the images that the 60D produces, or in its operation. So much so that I decided to pick up a second body for an extended vacation that I'm about to leave on. That way, I'll have the telephoto lens on one body for wildlife, and the second body will be for landscapes and waterfalls, to save the time and trouble of switching lenses dozens of times per day. I'll admit that I would still like to have a 7D for its metal body and weather sealing, but I doubt if the images it would produce would be any better given that the two cameras share the same sensor. And, I now have two solid, dependable, excellent performing bodies for about the same cost as one 7D.

Quiettsolopursuit
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
welcome camera
1/30/2014

Customer review by bessy mathew

5.0 stars 1/30/2014 by bessy mathew
by bessy mathew

good to use for all purpose and easy to use with confidence

bessy mathew
san diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Most unexpected purchase ever
2/3/2014

Customer review by Adam

5.0 stars 2/3/2014 by Adam
by Adam

Talk about an unexpected purchase, I had walked into a well known national electronics store to buy a 32G memory card for my Canon Powershot SX20 IS. I walked out with an accessory for that memory card, an EOS 60D with the 18-135mm kit lens. Along with a 70-300mm lens. And I am not one for impulse purchases, it usually takes me 6-7 months to commit to a purchase like this. I have no regrets in the purchase. Five months after purchase, I took the 60D (along with its big brother, the SX20) on a trip to Africa, and while I was still learning the ins and outs of the 60D, let me say that I was more than impressed with the quality of the camera, and the pictures it produced. The images are extremely sharp. The images that weren't sharp, I contribute to my own inexperience with the camera. (In one case, I had a polarize filter on when I had the 70-300 at 300mm. That will produce images that are not sharp.) I had the same exact same learning curve with my SX20 three years prior. Battery life is ULTRA LONG from the two Canon branded batteries I have for the 60D! I was getting between my two batteries more than 2,000 photos per battery. For those who say short battery life, my question for them is the display screen on? The weather sealing on the camera is excellent. While at Victoria Falls, the mist made for an extremely wet environment. While the SX20 was hiding the in the camera bag, the 60D took the moisture in stride, in 100+ F degree temps I should add. It even took the massive amounts of dust in Kruger National Park in stride. Do I have complaints about the camera? Yes, there are a few things that I would like to see different. I would love to see in a firmware update for the camera to create a folder on a daily basis, instead of me having to manually do it, like my Powershot SX20. I also found the button to check the depth-of-field preview in an awkward spot, in my opinion. In Live View, there were a couple of times that I didn't get the photo because I had failed to hold the shutter down long enough for the photo to register. There should be a sound in Live View when the photo has been taken, even if it is just a beep. The 60D is an excellent camera for the money, and in wildlife photography it does shine brightly! I highly recommend this camera to anyone who is looking for a professional level camera!

Adam
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just Get it
2/14/2014

Customer review by Gus

5.0 stars 2/14/2014 by Gus
by Gus

I know there are a bunch of other brands and models, but this is truly one of the best cameras you can get for it's price. I've been using this for around 3 years now and I've grown so fond with this camera that I don't know what I would do without it. Yes, there's the 70D now and the 7D, but this lacks none of the reliability and good performance canon is famous for. I've used and abused it in though environments and it has never failed on me. Good weight to size ratio, good burst, nice resolution (just buy yourself a better lens than the kit lens) and did I mention reliability?. The only thing that you should be aware of, is that 1. you should give it it's periodical maintenance, and 2. the rubber grips will get lose with time, but I guess this is normal, mine are starting to come off but I'm aware that they can be replaced. Overall, this is a great camera! Just get it!.

Gus
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
HIGH QUALITY DSLR CAMERA
7/7/2012

Customer review by MINDFREE

5.0 stars 7/7/2012 by MINDFREE
by MINDFREE

I upgraded from the S5-IS because I wanted a camera that would be more versatile than any I have owned before. After six weeks I am pleased with the performance of the Canon EOS 60D. With the right lens and settings I am able to capture crisp quality images under any lighting condition. I use the Canon EFS 15-85mm as my standard lens and it delivers superb images every time. The flip out LCD is also very useful. The built in flash is adequate for most settings, but I use a Speedlite 430 external flash for better results. I was a little disappointed with the video mode; if I don't start the auto focus on the camera by slightly pressing the shutter button the video automatically stops after a few seconds. Taking still photos at night with the ISO values of 1600 to 3200 yield some very good images. The camera with the lens feel balanced though a little on the bulky side; which for my hands is fine. Overall, the 60D is an excellent value for the photo enthusiast.

MINDFREE
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great step up from 450D
9/27/2011

Customer review by Jonny

5.0 stars 9/27/2011 by Jonny
by Jonny

This is the perfect camera for the amateur making the step up from a first SLR. The tilting screen seems like a gimmick but you find yourself using it constantly and wonder what you did without it. Most impressive is the performance at high ISOs, with images at 3200 still usable in print, anything lower than 1600 ISO is superb image quality and only rivalled by pro-level SLRs. The only possible negative is the price, although compared to the pricier 7D with very similar features, this represents a pretty good deal. Read the reviews from 3rd party website before you buy, but you WILL buy it.

Jonny
London, UK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Better than great
11/11/2011

Customer review by Avid User

5.0 stars 11/11/2011 by Avid User
by Avid User

I've had this camera for one year and it still amazes me on the quality of photos, ease of use, and functionality. I purchased the 'body only' because I had lenses from an EOS Elan iie film camera that I had kept in the closet over the early digital years. I was excited when the 60d came out because I felt it would finally replace that camera. Like I said, it still amazes me. This past month I purchased a 580exII flash unit and a 10-22 zoom. Each time, the camera functionality has been superb. That's why it's better than great!

Avid User
Pearland, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 234 total reviews
1-20 of 234 reviews