Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 240 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

240 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

240 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
194
4 stars
28
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 stars
4
1-20 of 239 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 239 total reviews
1-20 of 239 reviews
1/10/2011

Customer review by 123takepics

5.0 stars 1/10/2011 by 123takepics
by 123takepics

I am an almost total amatuer. The photos I am taking with this camera are stunning. The 18 MP resolution is remarkably detailed. I can zoom in on photos and see details that at full image size on my computer I cannot even see! I had asked a photographer frind of mine for advice and they said use the program feature because the camers is so good I will not need to learn much about how to use the settings (I will learn them). Buy it, snap lots of pics and ENJOY !! I think you will loove this camera.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
123takepics
Cortlandt Manor, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Camera for a beginner.
11/5/2011

Customer review by BigTy035

5.0 stars 11/5/2011 by BigTy035
by BigTy035

The 60D is a great camera. I'm an amature photographer. My work looks professional. Great camera for a good price. Love everything about the 60d.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigTy035
Sanford, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Just bought a second!
5/28/2013

Customer review by ACarm

5.0 stars 5/28/2013 by ACarm
by ACarm

I love the Canon 60D. I use it mostly for shooting video, and it is very nice to work with. Manual image controls are simple to use and the live view is super helpful for checking settings (and the rotating screen is an A+ idea). I like the options in video shooting, where you can shoot full HD, or even standard 480p if you don't want to show it in HD, that was a good move by Canon. Just bought my second 60D for video production and I'm excited to get using it in multiple camera situations. As noted in the Cons, it is a little heavy once you get lenses on, but not sure how that could be remedied exactly, maybe in the materials used, but wouldn't want to take away from the solid construction either. Would be nice if the standard battery lasted a bit longer, especially for shooting video. One more little point of feedback, it would be nice if you could natively shoot longer than 12minute video clips. Not that you often need to do that, but it would be nice to not be contained.

ACarm
Central Coast, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great value, great camera
3/24/2013

Customer review by iamacamera

5.0 stars 3/24/2013 by iamacamera
by iamacamera

After having several digital cameras using lenses that start with N (my first digital camera used that lens mount) I am delighted to be back with Canon. This is really a good camera. I have used it for over three years now after having used a Hasselblad in the camera room for thirty years. This little jewel of a camera delivers very sharp photographs of both portrait and advertising subjects for me day after day, month after month. I would highly recommend it to anyone. Perhaps its most useful feature is one that is unique to this camera, at least it was, is its articulating screen. In a professional environment, where I photograph people, I often have people who want to see the screen. All I do is turn it around backwards, so it is out of view, and the question never comes up. Other than that I have used it to photograph the landscape, my passion, as well as limited wildlife and it performs with excellence. I often make prints to 24x30 and even 30x40 and they hold together very well. It is an excellent choice.

iamacamera
New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
HIGH QUALITY DSLR CAMERA
7/7/2012

Customer review by MINDFREE

5.0 stars 7/7/2012 by MINDFREE
by MINDFREE

I upgraded from the S5-IS because I wanted a camera that would be more versatile than any I have owned before. After six weeks I am pleased with the performance of the Canon EOS 60D. With the right lens and settings I am able to capture crisp quality images under any lighting condition. I use the Canon EFS 15-85mm as my standard lens and it delivers superb images every time. The flip out LCD is also very useful. The built in flash is adequate for most settings, but I use a Speedlite 430 external flash for better results. I was a little disappointed with the video mode; if I don't start the auto focus on the camera by slightly pressing the shutter button the video automatically stops after a few seconds. Taking still photos at night with the ISO values of 1600 to 3200 yield some very good images. The camera with the lens feel balanced though a little on the bulky side; which for my hands is fine. Overall, the 60D is an excellent value for the photo enthusiast.

MINDFREE
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
60d, pro camera packed in half the cost.
8/16/2012

Customer review by 2000SS

5.0 stars 8/16/2012 by 2000SS
by 2000SS

I have been using 5d mk 2s and 7ds for over a year now, and i bought a 60d to add to my personal armory of cameras. I was amazed at the price, and I would say, it is better that the 7d. the images are sharper, and look alot better. post production is a breeze. if i am out on a shoot, and have a moment of downtime, i can edit the raw images quickly and have a majority of a shoot done before i get home. The 7d does have 60fps video shooting, which is great, and a faster buffer rate. The 60d is an amazing camera, a great buy, and you get proofessional quality with half the cost. The flip screen has come in handy on alot of shoots, allowing me to get angles that other photogs couldnt get. I am surprised that the 5d mk2 and mk3's do not have the tilt-screen. overal, amazing camera. if you are looking to upgrade an older camera, this is the one for you. having used both the 7d and 60d, 60d is a better buy, much sharper, and cleans up nicer. ***my main camera.

2000SS
oahu, hawaii
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fast Cameroso
3/5/2011

Customer review by Roblife

5.0 stars 3/5/2011 by Roblife
by Roblife

Well this camera impress me for speed. I returned my t2i and got this instead and do i feel lucky for doing so. Big difference. With this camera I can keep clicking away and it takes the pictures. My t2i i had to sometimes miss a shot because it could not keep up. Also the quick access to settings is a plus. With the second lcd display you know your settings and can change them quickly. Though to be honest I always use the auto settings. WHo wants to be bothered with settings when you having fun just taking pictures. The lens that came with it has amazing range and its good enough for every day shooting. I am only starting to explore all the features of this camera. It will accommodate me while I grow my skills. Some one mention the good battery life I guess some people are hard to please. This is not good battery life its excellent battery life. I had it for like 2 weeks now and yet to recharge it. The battery is still going after like 200 to 400 shots.

Roblife
Chicago,IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Camera, but could have been so much better
8/19/2011

Customer review by KiLLSWiTCH

4.0 stars 8/19/2011 by KiLLSWiTCH
by KiLLSWiTCH

The only thing I have against this camera is the body construction. I wish it had a magnesium alloy body. The swivel screen is a really great feature as it allows you to take shots from awkward angles which otherwise would have been just difficult to do. The autofocus in live view is slow and makes the whole point of using live view rather pointless. Also, the direction pad should be replace with a joystick. Or make the existing pad more comfortable to use. These are the gripes I have about this camera, and other that these issues its a BEAUTIFUL piece of hardware. The moment you hold it, you will like the feel of the body as it conforms to the shape of your hand grip. It has a rather nice rubber grip. The size of the body is good too. It weighs just fine, at least for me. The control layout is nicely balanced as your fingers will be quick to finds its way to the most used buttons. The auto focus is really great with its 9 cross type AF points.

KiLLSWiTCH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Now I know...
12/22/2010

Customer review by Toddster

5.0 stars 12/22/2010 by Toddster
by Toddster

I have been wanting a Canon EOS DLSR camera for a year or longer. Until now, I have been a point and shoot photographer. Anytime, I was able to get a good shot, I would credit my success to luck and God. Now I can say that God has let me buy this camera so I won't need as much luck. I purchased my EOS 60D at Best Buy with the 18-135mm Lens Kit. It is everything I expected it to be and more. It is quiet enough to capture candid shots of my children without giving away my intentions as well as taking brilliant pictures of animals in their natural habitat as long as I stay hidden they don't know I am there. The instruction manual is easy to read and understand, which is a bonus itself. It takes time to read through the large amount of information, but there is something to learn on every page. This camera may cost a lot of money, but if you are someone who enjoys taking pictures and showing them off, it is worth every cent. God Bless you all.

Toddster
Bedfortd, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A Great Step-Up Camera
4/8/2016

Customer review by djohnfot

5.0 stars 4/8/2016 by djohnfot
by djohnfot

I used a 10D, then a 30D and was thrilled with both but this 60D is easily the best of the lot. It fits my rather large hands better than the Rebel T3 I also owned for a couple years (the T3 is a great beginner camera that I give five stars to) and is therefore more comfortable to use. The 60D has a much better viewfinder than a Rebel and better focus points. Noise level is low throughout the ISO range. Image quality, of course, is excellent. I love the flippable viewing screen. My only complaint is that Canon decided to move away from the Compact Flash card to the Secure Digital format cards. I guess to make it more amateur friendly. Anyway, this is a great camera.

djohnfot
Keizer, Ore, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Video Review
2/22/2011

Customer review by fotovideo

3.0 stars 2/22/2011 by fotovideo
by fotovideo

Moire is a serious issue. If you intend on shooting a lot of video, you will have shots that could be considered not usable because of the horrible moire issues. I own the camera and use it every day. I'm incredibly impressed with the photos. The video would also be incredible, if there were no moire issues. Yes, Canon, you fixed the audio levels problem on the T2i, and promote that highly in your literature for the 60D. Too bad you don't let me see or adjust this vital setting while recording video, rendering the feature virtually useless. On-Screen levels, and adjusting during recording needs to be in future firmware. The noise floor on the audio input also renders it useless for basic audio capture. If you use 2nd system Audio, then this is not an issue for you. So if you would like to get high quality audio recordings, it will not be through this input jack. Again, if you only shoot photos, this may not be as big of an issue for you, however for those of you who want to be shooting at least 1/2 of the time video, I would look elsewhere.

fotovideo
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Performance and Features
5/3/2011

Customer review by PK-JIN

5.0 stars 5/3/2011 by PK-JIN
by PK-JIN

I got this camera half a week ago and so far, it is a beautiful one! The 60D has good basic features such as the 18MP sensor and 5.3fps burst rate. The body tends to be a little handful for small hands (or those used to the smaller Rebel series) but I got used to it within 2 days or so. The menu and GUI is nicely organised and aesthetically pleasing. Speaking of the menu - the camera comes with lots of nice other features, such as silent shooting and built-in wireless transmitter (yes!). The thick manual booklet was of great help for me to get started on the camera, for the buttons were positioned very differently compared to the 400D (Rebel XTi) that the 60D replaced. The LCD screen, besides it being tiltable, is bright, vivid, and crisp. As advertised, +1 million dot resolution, and it is not easy to tell the difference between two pixels. Overall, the 60D is a great mid-range DSLR, and I am very pleased with it so far. However, I will have to see how the polycarbonate resin body will do in case of future exposure to harsh shooting conditions.

PK-JIN
Sentani, Papua, Indonesia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A really good overall camera.
1/11/2016

Customer review by Mr Low Notes

5.0 stars 1/11/2016 by Mr Low Notes
by Mr Low Notes

I bought this camera new May 2012 and it has performed flawlessly since. The flip out screen is very nice for awkward angle shots, the shutter is quiet (quieter than my 70D) and the 9 point autofocus is fast very accurate. Autofocus via live view uses contrast detect and is quite a bit slower but accurate. Exposure metering is very accurate and plays well with my Canon flashes. (580 EX II, 420 EX and 270 EX II) The IR wireless slave flash control is very useful. Does not focus like a camcorder when shooting video. Need a 70D, 7D MkII or Rebel T4i or later for that. (See my 70D review). Ergonomics and menus are very good. You can repurpose most of the buttons on the back too. Uses "multi controller" as opposed to a joystick on previous xxD models. Nice fit for my hands and my wife's who inherited this camera when I got a 70D.

Mr Low Notes
Maryville, TN
Hard to fault
3/5/2011

Customer review by Canonfan

5.0 stars 3/5/2011 by Canonfan
by Canonfan

It's hard to fault this camera, especially for the price. I wanted something like the 7D, but with a little less weight and a bit more compact for traveling, and with a bit more control and "quality" than the T2i (I have all three cameras). The 60D feels very nice, quite similar in feel to the 7D. I've been using the 60D mainly with the 15mm-85mm EF-S lens, but it works very nicely with the excellent 70-200mm F/2.8 IS II lens. Pictures are well saturated, crisp, not over-sharpened, and the 60D handles a wide range of exposures well, from 30-second night exposures to 1/4000 sec sports photos without any problems. Noise is well controlled up to ISO 800, begins to become noticeable at ISO 1600. I don't recommend ISO 3200+ for anything but low quality snap-shots. ISO 100 shots are absolutely stunning at all exposure durations. Battery life is extremely impressive. This is a serious alternative to the 7D, especially for the weight conscious photographer who doesn't want to give up the control features of the 7D. Video is up to par with the 7D. Highly recommended!

Canonfan
Dayton, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great upgrade from first generation Rebel XT.
12/12/2013

Customer review by Redgoat2006

5.0 stars 12/12/2013 by Redgoat2006
by Redgoat2006
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got the body only as I already had three Canon Lens. Great buying experience.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Redgoat2006
Northeast Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
More than I Expected
8/18/2011

Customer review by Jeff

5.0 stars 8/18/2011 by Jeff
by Jeff

This is my first DSLR, but not my first camera, nor my first Canon product. I am an accomplished amateur photographer. This camera replaces a Canon G9. This camera is more than I had hoped for. It's the best digital camera I have owned to date. The image clarity and quality is superb, sharp, and colorful. The camera does an excellent job of gauging exposure capturing shots that previous camera mus-judged and over/underexposed. Focus is lightning quick (using 18-135 IS kit lens). The viewfinder is nice and bright due to the pentaprism design and contains all the information you need about the shot. The tilt/swivel display is a great addition and very practical! Through the detailed menu system you have a number of choices of camera operation. You have a number of RAW and JPG mode choices, and 1080p video in a number of different modes. You will not be unhappy with your choice if you get the 60D.

Jeff
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very happy with this!
11/5/2014

Customer review by calebbodaniel

5.0 stars 11/5/2014 by calebbodaniel
by calebbodaniel

Just recently bought the refurb'd 60D. Already extremely happy with the purchase. I'm upgrading from a T3i. Everything from how the camera feels to image quality is better. I know both cameras have the same sensor, but the 60D images are still better than the Rebel's. First, the camera fills my hand better and feels more balanced. Second, I love the more choices for ISO selection. Third, even though there are still only 9 focus points, they are all cross type points on the 60D. Fourth, looking through the pentaprism viewfinder is so much nicer than on the Rebel, and the focus points are a lot more visible. Also, when I preview a picture on the LCD it highlights which focus point I used. Last, and this may sound weird, but the shutter sound on the Rebel just sounded kind of cheap and "chirpy". I really like the way the 60D sounds and it also has quiet mode as well for sensitive situations.

calebbodaniel
Evansville, IN
An amazing execution of technology!
4/30/2011

Customer review by TheRepairMan

5.0 stars 4/30/2011 by TheRepairMan
by TheRepairMan

Like others, it's my 1st DSLR, but my 4th digital camera, and I've been taking pictures for over 40 years. I've owned a few great film cameras, too. I've even done some pro commercial work, and I am blown away with the Canon 60d. There's a learning curve to using all it's features, but it is also so easy to use. Both my wife and daughter picked it up and immediately started taking great pics. The body and kit lens are well balanced, a little on the heavy side for smaller folks but feels just perfect in my hands. I could only be happier if the price was a little lower, but compared to the T3i and the 7d this is the better bargain in my opinion. It's a great piece, and the only real upgrade you will need are lots of subjects, and time to travel to places to shoot. Did I mention this Canon is my all time favorite electronic toy, and it's one serious toy for sure! Yeah, it is a love affair.

TheRepairMan
Eastern Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great upgrade from Rebel
5/30/2012

Customer review by zander

5.0 stars 5/30/2012 by zander
by zander

I got this camera after reading reviews and watching videos. It came down to this one of the T3i. I wanted the flip out screen, and the 60d having more cross type AF points seemed better. More is better right? The ISO performance kills my previous XSIs performance. It gets grainy when you get into the 2000s, but its not unbearable. I tend to do black and white when I'm using high ISO anyway. But I can get shots that would simply have been impossible on the XSI. I haven't played around with the video mode much, but so far its head and shoulders over my old hand held cam. Ergonomics are much better for me. I have decent sized hands, and the 60d fits perfect in my palm. The Rebel feels like a toy in comparison. It has a good weight to it also. I also love the way the shutter sounds. Like a pro camera clunk instead of the high pitched snap the XSI has. I'm definitely loving this camera.

zander
Phoenix AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just Get it
2/14/2014

Customer review by Gus

5.0 stars 2/14/2014 by Gus
by Gus

I know there are a bunch of other brands and models, but this is truly one of the best cameras you can get for it's price. I've been using this for around 3 years now and I've grown so fond with this camera that I don't know what I would do without it. Yes, there's the 70D now and the 7D, but this lacks none of the reliability and good performance canon is famous for. I've used and abused it in though environments and it has never failed on me. Good weight to size ratio, good burst, nice resolution (just buy yourself a better lens than the kit lens) and did I mention reliability?. The only thing that you should be aware of, is that 1. you should give it it's periodical maintenance, and 2. the rubber grips will get lose with time, but I guess this is normal, mine are starting to come off but I'm aware that they can be replaced. Overall, this is a great camera! Just get it!.

Gus
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 239 total reviews
1-20 of 239 reviews