Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 250 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

250 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

250 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
113
4 stars
64
3 stars
15
2 stars
10
1 stars
48
1-20 of 198 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 198 total reviews
1-20 of 198 reviews
Inaccurate description of product
1/11/2011

Customer review by ithinkyourfibbing

5.0 stars 1/11/2011 by ithinkyourfibbing
by ithinkyourfibbing

I cannot recommend this product because it was not until the unit was opened at Christmas that we realized that a tuner needed to be purchased for this product. I do not believe this was stated on the website. So...this was a little disappointing. I haven't had time to get a tuner to even see if the unit works. Hopefully it'll be good. The unit was a Xmas present for my shut-in mother. I would just like to ask your IT/website administrators to double check to make sure this info is accurately presented on the site.

Was this review helpful? (145) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ithinkyourfibbing
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Philips Delivers
1/16/2011

Customer review by CTBarginHunter

5.0 stars 1/16/2011 by CTBarginHunter
by CTBarginHunter

As an ex Philips employee I have previously owned many Philips/Magnavox products in the past. They have always provided me years of trouble free service and delivered what I expected. The DVP3345VB seems to follow this standard. This unit replaced a 10 year old Sony DVD/VHS player. Hook up was seemless and as a player both the DVD and VHS picture quality are great. When comparing this unit against similar ones purchasing this one was a no brainer. Philips delivers quality products at a great price.

Was this review helpful? (208) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CTBarginHunter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for the parents
12/29/2010

Customer review by 2PupsInTow

5.0 stars 12/29/2010 by 2PupsInTow
by 2PupsInTow

I purchased this item for my parents who insist on maintaining their VHS viewing abilities. They had no interest in copying VHS to DVD, so this works perfect for them. My Mom set it up without a single problem, something that is a bit of a milestone for her (she is a huge technphobe). Thus, for the older crowd that may be a bit frightened by all the new fangled stuff, I would highly recommend this simple VHS/DVD combo.

Was this review helpful? (74) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2PupsInTow
Reno, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
What a dissapointment, NO TUNER
11/30/2013

Customer review by Spinnergirl1313

1.0 stars 11/30/2013 by Spinnergirl1313
by Spinnergirl1313

If you normally plug your VCR or DVD directly into your TV, this is not the unit for you. It is the tuner inside of a DVD/VCR unit that allows you to get the signal directly from your cable line and then connect your DVD/VCR to your TV. This unit has NO TUNER, which means the only way you're going to get a signal is if you have a cable box that normally attaches to your TV. The cable box actually has the tuner. It would have been very helpful if Walmart had some indication in it's description as to what Tunerless means. I should have Googled it myself, so buyer...be alert and Google Google Google!

Was this review helpful? (54) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Spinnergirl1313
Biddeford, ME
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
ok dvd/vcr combo
12/21/2010

Customer review by drew1969

3.0 stars 12/21/2010 by drew1969
by drew1969

I've used this machine only about 6 times already and it played some dvd's all the way through and some got stuck. The ones that got stuck I played in my more expensive dvd player in my living room and they played. I only got this one because my daughter has movies on vhs tapes that she loves to watch. I only recomended this because of the vhs part.

Was this review helpful? (65) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
drew1969
Yonkers,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Read the Ad carefully!!
12/8/2013

Customer review by Morgan4U

1.0 stars 12/8/2013 by Morgan4U
by Morgan4U

I Bought this to save my old VHS tapes to DVD. The will not do that......Note : It says DVD/VHS not DVR! Believe it or not it will convert DVD to VHS tapes.....Now who wants to do that? Thank Goodness I read the manual before I unpacked everything and hooked it up. When I returned it to Walmart, they couldn't believe that the thing only turned DVDs unto VHS, and not turn VHS into DVDs until they saw it for themselves.

Was this review helpful? (38) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Morgan4U
venice fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Transfer VHS to DVD
2/28/2012

Customer review by factfinder

5.0 stars 2/28/2012 by factfinder
by factfinder

I needed a new low priced vhs player to transfer my VHS tapes to DVD. This has just the functions needed (no tuner). I use this with the Magnavox Z320MW8 Refurbished DVD recorder. All works fine so far.

Was this review helpful? (38) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
factfinder
North East US
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bum Deal
1/6/2011

Customer review by vernelllois

1.0 stars 1/6/2011 by vernelllois
by vernelllois

Device did not work AT ALL... The cable man tried to connect it to every TV in the house...NOTHING. Will return for exchange

Was this review helpful? (41) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vernelllois
houston, tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
12/29/2010

Customer review by 1aaaa

5.0 stars 12/29/2010 by 1aaaa
by 1aaaa

It was easy to set up, is easy to use, and showed a great picture.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1aaaa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Couldn't play back previously recorded tapes.
9/23/2013

Customer review by SeedyEye

1.0 stars 9/23/2013 by SeedyEye
by SeedyEye

After much research, I purchased this in the hope of having a decent machine in my bedroom that I could record and play back VCR tapes, as well as DVDs. The DVD portion was fine, but it could not reasonably play back any tape I put in it. I have three other VCRs that I use frequently (some daily). All tapes I put in the new machine played back with audio cuts, black outs, jittery jumping pictures, and just plain nothing at times. The same tapes would play back fine in the other three VCRs, all of different manufacturers. The machine is going back to the store today.

Was this review helpful? (26) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SeedyEye
Pompano Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointing lack of a tuner,otherwise good
5/11/2012

Customer review by Chadowe

3.0 stars 5/11/2012 by Chadowe
by Chadowe

With the exception of the lack of a tuner, it is a very nice player/recorder. Other than to keep the price low, I don't understand manufacturers leaving out the tuner. Many cable systems, mine included, provide a cable signal that is acceptable to VHS tuners and can be recorded on VHS tapes. It is possible to record using another vcr's tuner by feeding the record out signals of the vcr with tuner to the video in jacks of the DVP3345VB. It is possible to buy vcrs that can record off the air, but they usually are much more expensive.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chadowe
Henderson, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
great for VHS watching.
12/1/2013

Customer review by Patti0835

5.0 stars 12/1/2013 by Patti0835
by Patti0835

My grandson is playing all of his older VHS tapes again.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Patti0835
Stamford, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to use
12/31/2010

Customer review by txgal64

5.0 stars 12/31/2010 by txgal64
by txgal64

Easy to set up and use. Light and compact. Replaced a DVD/VHS combo and price was great.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
txgal64
Bulverde, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
good VHS recording/playback
11/20/2013

Customer review by nonamenow2

4.0 stars 11/20/2013 by nonamenow2
by nonamenow2

I was very happy to find a VHS recorder/player.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nonamenow2
Central Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/5/2013

Customer review by TheDuckster

5.0 stars 10/5/2013 by TheDuckster
by TheDuckster

Everything I have used on the product, UP TO DATE, has met my expectations. Unit was specifically bought to be able to view library of VHS tapes. Have a blu-ray player so that part of the unit was just duplicated but for the price, it was still worth it.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheDuckster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Broken when received & 2nd one was, too.
10/29/2012

Customer review by dsms

1.0 stars 10/29/2012 by dsms
by dsms

We purchased this model to replace a recently broken vcr, and it jammed on the first tape we put into it. My husband returned it to a Walmart store and purchased the identical one at the store to replace the one we received in the mail. It ate the first tape we put in it, so neither vcr played even one tape for us.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dsms
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Did not have tuner. Returned product.
9/30/2013

Customer review by jm18

1.0 stars 9/30/2013 by jm18
by jm18

I bought this to replace a vcr/dvd recorder that I used to record direct TV programs. Nowhere in the review did it mention that this product did not have a tuner. Did not meet my needs so I took it back to the store (where I found out it was cheaper than online), and I ended up paying shipping charges for a product I can't use and don't have.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jm18
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works great
11/27/2013

Customer review by sis858

5.0 stars 11/27/2013 by sis858
by sis858

Works great

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sis858
Gainesboro, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for basic use.
1/8/2014

Customer review by Ghost92376

4.0 stars 1/8/2014 by Ghost92376
by Ghost92376

Overall I am satisfied. However, I rated this product only "fair" for "Meets Expectations". I have a brand new Samsung TV. I could not hook up this DVD player to my TV without a special set of cables that was NOT included. The owner's manual stated these cables were not included, but no mention on the outside box. So there I was, in my living room trying to set everything up, only to find out I need to purchase an additional set of cables. Needless to say I was very upset. Even though not every TV requires these cables, they should be included for those who need them. After all, how much could it cost the company? Also, most customers would be willing to pay a slightly higher price to include those cables so when we get home we know we have everything we need right there to set things up with no extra trips to the store.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ghost92376
San Bernardino, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/7/2012

Customer review by ishm

5.0 stars 11/7/2012 by ishm
by ishm

As a 77 years old senior, I find the Phillips VD/VHS is the easy to operator of my last two brands.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ishm
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 198 total reviews
1-20 of 198 reviews