Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 250 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

250 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

250 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
199
4 stars
33
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 stars
4
1-20 of 249 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 249 total reviews
1-20 of 249 reviews
Canon 60D
1/22/2011

Customer review by Homerunking

5.0 stars 1/22/2011 by Homerunking
by Homerunking

Great camera for the non professional photographer but love shooting great pictures. Must practice with the camera to learn all its many excellent functions.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Homerunking
Long Valley, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome
5/19/2014

Customer review by Hajiboston

5.0 stars 5/19/2014 by Hajiboston
by Hajiboston
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Perfect for proffesioner

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hajiboston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Camera for Future Photographers
4/21/2011

Customer review by GitRdonePhotography

5.0 stars 4/21/2011 by GitRdonePhotography
by GitRdonePhotography

Got this camera for my wife. Much better than the 2ti and 3ti we saw in the store. Has all the creative modes for the beginner (including fully automatic), but also has easy to use advance functions for more involved photographers. Much easier to use than t2i and t3i as most of the advanced controls have their own buttons. I would consider this a good backup camera for professionals. Holds over 2400 pictures in Raw formar on a 64 GB SDXC card. Shoots over 5 frames per second, and the selective auto focus does a really good job most of the time. With a battery grip and an extra battery can shoot well over 1100 photos (I did 1146 and still had a charge). If you are new to photography get one of the "funny" books as the instruction manual will not tell you when to use the different features, only what they are. Plus it will put you to sleep after 5 pages. All in all an excellent camera for the price. If you are serious about photography this is the camera to start with.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GitRdonePhotography
McPherson, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A really good overall camera.
1/11/2016

Customer review by Mr Low Notes

5.0 stars 1/11/2016 by Mr Low Notes
by Mr Low Notes

I bought this camera new May 2012 and it has performed flawlessly since. The flip out screen is very nice for awkward angle shots, the shutter is quiet (quieter than my 70D) and the 9 point autofocus is fast very accurate. Autofocus via live view uses contrast detect and is quite a bit slower but accurate. Exposure metering is very accurate and plays well with my Canon flashes. (580 EX II, 420 EX and 270 EX II) The IR wireless slave flash control is very useful. Does not focus like a camcorder when shooting video. Need a 70D, 7D MkII or Rebel T4i or later for that. (See my 70D review). Ergonomics and menus are very good. You can repurpose most of the buttons on the back too. Uses "multi controller" as opposed to a joystick on previous xxD models. Nice fit for my hands and my wife's who inherited this camera when I got a 70D.

Mr Low Notes
Maryville, TN
Outstanding Canon, as always.
4/19/2011

Customer review by friday1cat

5.0 stars 4/19/2011 by friday1cat
by friday1cat

I'm an photographer with 12 years of pro Wedding / Function photography back in the old days with a pair of [ 120 film ] Mamiya 645's.I've used many Cannon Cameras since the mid 1960's,always impressed with their product. Found the Canon EOS 60D to have a solid balanced feel with easy access to the control buttons, even for this left handed guy. I though getting to the different screens to make changes would take time to get use to, but find them real easy to navigate. If you have experience setting other SLR cameras, this one will come as second nature for you. If not, the instruction manuals and videos will help. Optically It is what I'd expected from a Canon with the benefits of AF [ auto focus ] You have to love that, after years of messing with focus rings, and eye sight in the "Senior years". The lens hood on a 18 - 135 mm zoom leaves a lot of vignette affect at full wide angel. Also got a Canon 70 - 300 mm zoom. It is impressive for a $200.00 lens. Nice balance and easy to hold steady for most day light shots. I can see it will tack some practice tracking a moving subject. Over all Im very happy with the Canon EOS 60D. ----PS. Could not upload photos, because this site can only except up to 5 mb per photo and with 18 megapixels, the photos are 7 or 8 mb ---- Witch makes for a great photos !!!

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
friday1cat
Boston area , MA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Just bought a second!
5/28/2013

Customer review by ACarm

5.0 stars 5/28/2013 by ACarm
by ACarm

I love the Canon 60D. I use it mostly for shooting video, and it is very nice to work with. Manual image controls are simple to use and the live view is super helpful for checking settings (and the rotating screen is an A+ idea). I like the options in video shooting, where you can shoot full HD, or even standard 480p if you don't want to show it in HD, that was a good move by Canon. Just bought my second 60D for video production and I'm excited to get using it in multiple camera situations. As noted in the Cons, it is a little heavy once you get lenses on, but not sure how that could be remedied exactly, maybe in the materials used, but wouldn't want to take away from the solid construction either. Would be nice if the standard battery lasted a bit longer, especially for shooting video. One more little point of feedback, it would be nice if you could natively shoot longer than 12minute video clips. Not that you often need to do that, but it would be nice to not be contained.

ACarm
Central Coast, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
HIGH QUALITY DSLR CAMERA
7/7/2012

Customer review by MINDFREE

5.0 stars 7/7/2012 by MINDFREE
by MINDFREE

I upgraded from the S5-IS because I wanted a camera that would be more versatile than any I have owned before. After six weeks I am pleased with the performance of the Canon EOS 60D. With the right lens and settings I am able to capture crisp quality images under any lighting condition. I use the Canon EFS 15-85mm as my standard lens and it delivers superb images every time. The flip out LCD is also very useful. The built in flash is adequate for most settings, but I use a Speedlite 430 external flash for better results. I was a little disappointed with the video mode; if I don't start the auto focus on the camera by slightly pressing the shutter button the video automatically stops after a few seconds. Taking still photos at night with the ISO values of 1600 to 3200 yield some very good images. The camera with the lens feel balanced though a little on the bulky side; which for my hands is fine. Overall, the 60D is an excellent value for the photo enthusiast.

MINDFREE
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
60d, pro camera packed in half the cost.
8/16/2012

Customer review by 2000SS

5.0 stars 8/16/2012 by 2000SS
by 2000SS

I have been using 5d mk 2s and 7ds for over a year now, and i bought a 60d to add to my personal armory of cameras. I was amazed at the price, and I would say, it is better that the 7d. the images are sharper, and look alot better. post production is a breeze. if i am out on a shoot, and have a moment of downtime, i can edit the raw images quickly and have a majority of a shoot done before i get home. The 7d does have 60fps video shooting, which is great, and a faster buffer rate. The 60d is an amazing camera, a great buy, and you get proofessional quality with half the cost. The flip screen has come in handy on alot of shoots, allowing me to get angles that other photogs couldnt get. I am surprised that the 5d mk2 and mk3's do not have the tilt-screen. overal, amazing camera. if you are looking to upgrade an older camera, this is the one for you. having used both the 7d and 60d, 60d is a better buy, much sharper, and cleans up nicer. ***my main camera.

2000SS
oahu, hawaii
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fast Cameroso
3/5/2011

Customer review by Roblife

5.0 stars 3/5/2011 by Roblife
by Roblife

Well this camera impress me for speed. I returned my t2i and got this instead and do i feel lucky for doing so. Big difference. With this camera I can keep clicking away and it takes the pictures. My t2i i had to sometimes miss a shot because it could not keep up. Also the quick access to settings is a plus. With the second lcd display you know your settings and can change them quickly. Though to be honest I always use the auto settings. WHo wants to be bothered with settings when you having fun just taking pictures. The lens that came with it has amazing range and its good enough for every day shooting. I am only starting to explore all the features of this camera. It will accommodate me while I grow my skills. Some one mention the good battery life I guess some people are hard to please. This is not good battery life its excellent battery life. I had it for like 2 weeks now and yet to recharge it. The battery is still going after like 200 to 400 shots.

Roblife
Chicago,IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Camera, but could have been so much better
8/19/2011

Customer review by KiLLSWiTCH

4.0 stars 8/19/2011 by KiLLSWiTCH
by KiLLSWiTCH

The only thing I have against this camera is the body construction. I wish it had a magnesium alloy body. The swivel screen is a really great feature as it allows you to take shots from awkward angles which otherwise would have been just difficult to do. The autofocus in live view is slow and makes the whole point of using live view rather pointless. Also, the direction pad should be replace with a joystick. Or make the existing pad more comfortable to use. These are the gripes I have about this camera, and other that these issues its a BEAUTIFUL piece of hardware. The moment you hold it, you will like the feel of the body as it conforms to the shape of your hand grip. It has a rather nice rubber grip. The size of the body is good too. It weighs just fine, at least for me. The control layout is nicely balanced as your fingers will be quick to finds its way to the most used buttons. The auto focus is really great with its 9 cross type AF points.

KiLLSWiTCH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Now I know...
12/22/2010

Customer review by Toddster

5.0 stars 12/22/2010 by Toddster
by Toddster

I have been wanting a Canon EOS DLSR camera for a year or longer. Until now, I have been a point and shoot photographer. Anytime, I was able to get a good shot, I would credit my success to luck and God. Now I can say that God has let me buy this camera so I won't need as much luck. I purchased my EOS 60D at Best Buy with the 18-135mm Lens Kit. It is everything I expected it to be and more. It is quiet enough to capture candid shots of my children without giving away my intentions as well as taking brilliant pictures of animals in their natural habitat as long as I stay hidden they don't know I am there. The instruction manual is easy to read and understand, which is a bonus itself. It takes time to read through the large amount of information, but there is something to learn on every page. This camera may cost a lot of money, but if you are someone who enjoys taking pictures and showing them off, it is worth every cent. God Bless you all.

Toddster
Bedfortd, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great step up from Rebel
1/17/2011

Customer review by Carltoon

5.0 stars 1/17/2011 by Carltoon
by Carltoon

I have been shooting with the Canon Rebel line for many years now, and upgrading to the 60D is wonderful. The larger viewfinder, higher ISO, and of course the ability to shoot HD video is fantastic. It is a great camera for someone better than amateur but not quite to the professional level. Great photos, great quality and great video. I wish it were less expensive, but I am very pleased with it.

Was this review helpful? (21) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Carltoon
Layton, Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Video Review
2/22/2011

Customer review by fotovideo

3.0 stars 2/22/2011 by fotovideo
by fotovideo

Moire is a serious issue. If you intend on shooting a lot of video, you will have shots that could be considered not usable because of the horrible moire issues. I own the camera and use it every day. I'm incredibly impressed with the photos. The video would also be incredible, if there were no moire issues. Yes, Canon, you fixed the audio levels problem on the T2i, and promote that highly in your literature for the 60D. Too bad you don't let me see or adjust this vital setting while recording video, rendering the feature virtually useless. On-Screen levels, and adjusting during recording needs to be in future firmware. The noise floor on the audio input also renders it useless for basic audio capture. If you use 2nd system Audio, then this is not an issue for you. So if you would like to get high quality audio recordings, it will not be through this input jack. Again, if you only shoot photos, this may not be as big of an issue for you, however for those of you who want to be shooting at least 1/2 of the time video, I would look elsewhere.

fotovideo
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Performance and Features
5/3/2011

Customer review by PK-JIN

5.0 stars 5/3/2011 by PK-JIN
by PK-JIN

I got this camera half a week ago and so far, it is a beautiful one! The 60D has good basic features such as the 18MP sensor and 5.3fps burst rate. The body tends to be a little handful for small hands (or those used to the smaller Rebel series) but I got used to it within 2 days or so. The menu and GUI is nicely organised and aesthetically pleasing. Speaking of the menu - the camera comes with lots of nice other features, such as silent shooting and built-in wireless transmitter (yes!). The thick manual booklet was of great help for me to get started on the camera, for the buttons were positioned very differently compared to the 400D (Rebel XTi) that the 60D replaced. The LCD screen, besides it being tiltable, is bright, vivid, and crisp. As advertised, +1 million dot resolution, and it is not easy to tell the difference between two pixels. Overall, the 60D is a great mid-range DSLR, and I am very pleased with it so far. However, I will have to see how the polycarbonate resin body will do in case of future exposure to harsh shooting conditions.

PK-JIN
Sentani, Papua, Indonesia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Camera
2/23/2011

Customer review by abmax

5.0 stars 2/23/2011 by abmax
by abmax
Walmart associate

This is a great camera. I started taking pictures right away, in the auto mode! It will take a little time to figure out all the settings, but will be worth the time!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
abmax
Park Rapids, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Hard to fault
3/5/2011

Customer review by Canonfan

5.0 stars 3/5/2011 by Canonfan
by Canonfan

It's hard to fault this camera, especially for the price. I wanted something like the 7D, but with a little less weight and a bit more compact for traveling, and with a bit more control and "quality" than the T2i (I have all three cameras). The 60D feels very nice, quite similar in feel to the 7D. I've been using the 60D mainly with the 15mm-85mm EF-S lens, but it works very nicely with the excellent 70-200mm F/2.8 IS II lens. Pictures are well saturated, crisp, not over-sharpened, and the 60D handles a wide range of exposures well, from 30-second night exposures to 1/4000 sec sports photos without any problems. Noise is well controlled up to ISO 800, begins to become noticeable at ISO 1600. I don't recommend ISO 3200+ for anything but low quality snap-shots. ISO 100 shots are absolutely stunning at all exposure durations. Battery life is extremely impressive. This is a serious alternative to the 7D, especially for the weight conscious photographer who doesn't want to give up the control features of the 7D. Video is up to par with the 7D. Highly recommended!

Canonfan
Dayton, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Won't work with Yosemite 10.10!
9/3/2015

Customer review by RGH

1.0 stars 9/3/2015 by RGH
by RGH

I love this camera except for one thing. We now run an all-MAC household - all the computers are MAC, as are all devices. They are all up to date re OS, which means that there is no way to get photos from the EOS into any of the MAC devices. Canon should warn people before they buy the camera that they cannot use it with Macs, as this failure to keep the utility updated means the camera is useless. I've downloaded the supposed "fix" - the Utility2 - and it doesn't work. I'm not sure if this is a firmware or a software issue, but it is unacceptable. If there is a genuine solution to this issue, then your failure to post it prominently on the EOS60D page is an information-delivery issue. either way, again, this is unacceptable.

RGH
Boone, NC
Great all around camera
10/15/2015

Customer review by Ranchhand

5.0 stars 10/15/2015 by Ranchhand
by Ranchhand

I bought My 60D 3 months ago.Brand new to me and I have not regretted the money well spent, The egonomics for one are good for someone with large hands, the grippy texture helps to hold the solid heft of the camera with a 70 to 300 EF lens at work..this is no studio queen..this is out of doors, on the field and in the weather. Never fails. Ive two lenses..the mentioned 70 to 300 and an 18 ro 135 EF-S. Beautiful captures in extremely low light conditions, If you work your craft, get to know the Camera,you will not be disappointed with the excellent results. Lightning shots, stars, eclipses..all are in your grasp. Sunsets are an extreme joy to capture in full manual mode. Colors are rendered faithfully as you desire. In full auto mode, it is easy to get the wow factor shots as well. Video is a wonder as well. Need a Black and White movie? Why yes, again, in full manual mode, you can. There is only one drawback.. A monaural mic. That is easily rendered moot by adding any stereo mic available to be kitted to the 60D. Shoot both Jpeg and RAW, single and both at same time. This Camera will go where ever you are ready to go..when you are ready to go. The Battery life of the OEM battery is amazing! As for bumps,and bruises..sadly i dropped it last week. The material is physically discolored..that is it. The Camera works perfectly, the fall was onto the floor from the center console of a 11 F 250 onto the rubber floormat..a distance of around a foot. It may not sound like much...but it did impact, and still works. I would recommend this Camera to everyone.

Ranchhand
Texas
This is product is awesome!
10/24/2015

Customer review by Shubham

5.0 stars 10/24/2015 by Shubham
by Shubham

This product is worth buying. One of the best cameras in the market. Nothing better than this.

Shubham
More than I Expected
8/18/2011

Customer review by Jeff

5.0 stars 8/18/2011 by Jeff
by Jeff

This is my first DSLR, but not my first camera, nor my first Canon product. I am an accomplished amateur photographer. This camera replaces a Canon G9. This camera is more than I had hoped for. It's the best digital camera I have owned to date. The image clarity and quality is superb, sharp, and colorful. The camera does an excellent job of gauging exposure capturing shots that previous camera mus-judged and over/underexposed. Focus is lightning quick (using 18-135 IS kit lens). The viewfinder is nice and bright due to the pentaprism design and contains all the information you need about the shot. The tilt/swivel display is a great addition and very practical! Through the detailed menu system you have a number of choices of camera operation. You have a number of RAW and JPG mode choices, and 1080p video in a number of different modes. You will not be unhappy with your choice if you get the 60D.

Jeff
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 249 total reviews
1-20 of 249 reviews